Back to Product

M's Torrentshell Jacket

Write Your Review

4.01 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 295 Reviews

Clear All

M's Torrentshell Jacket

4.01
True To Size
January 5, 2020

Light weight heavyweight

The jacket is top notch. I used it while trout fishing in the Cranberry Backcountry on 1-3-20. We biked I’m on a 40 degree day with drizzling rain. I wore it all day and stayed completely dry!! It kept the wind and rain at bay all day. It’s light weight and packable (I never got to take it off to pack though) I would 💯 recommendation this product.... Read More

January 3, 2020

Great jacket with great customer

Great jacket with great customer service.

January 3, 2020

Slick Jacket with all the drip

Excellent piece out of Patagonia again. Being a windproof jacket this actually keeps me pretty warm even in 50 degree weather with a couple choice layers (capilene cool faults) underneath. I love the pit zips when I need to vent after rigorous activity. The jacket is very lightweight and I have no trouble taking it everywhere. This is a great piece... Read More that should last decades!

December 31, 2019

Nice jacket-comfortable and keeps me

Nice jacket-comfortable and keeps me dry.

December 27, 2019

Perfect light weight jacket

As the title suggests, it’s a perfect rain jacket that’s not bulky and packs away in one of its own pockets. Watch the video on the Patagonia site about the jacket for a detailed description. Well constructed as usual. I’m 5’ 11” , 200lbs medium build, and the Large size was perfect.

December 25, 2019

10/10 customer service

super fast shipping and my boyfriend loooooves it (got it for him)! got in a size up so he can wear swetashirts underneath. had an issue with the order and their customer service was wonderful- so kind and helpful.

December 25, 2019

The jacket is waterproof, comfortable,

The jacket is waterproof, comfortable, sleek and good looking. What more could one want?

December 20, 2019

extremely warm coat, great pockets.

extremely warm coat, great pockets. love the inside zippered pocket for iphones!

December 20, 2019

Nice jacket, but not waterproof

I purchased this jacket in 2017, so maybe the product has changed and my review no longer applies. FWIW, I bought the Torrentshell expecting typical Patagonia quality and I’ve been disappointed. Firstly, it is definitely not waterproof. I live in NW Oregon, so I spend a lot of time in the rain. After a half hour or so in the rain, the jacket starts... Read More leaking. After an hour it will wet through completely. Secondly, the zipper is difficult to start and operate (described my several reviewers).

December 6, 2019

Nice feel, better zipper. Only

Nice feel, better zipper. Only had for a few weeks.

December 5, 2019

Ms Torrentshell Jacket

This Jacket is so great! It arrived just in time for a rainy week and is holding up excellently. It's insulation works great and its large enough for a fleece or Nano Puff Jacket underneath. Two people have already complimented me on it. Also, the color is great! (Tasmanian Teal)

November 27, 2019

"Wet's-out" Easily

I got this jacket to keep the rain out during all 4 seasons. While it kept the rain out, I often found myself so sweaty after going cycling or hiking that it really didn't make a difference. Also, while it worked great for walking the dog around the block during fall/winter, it didn't work as well during spring/summer due to humidity. I&#... Read Morex27;d recommend skipping this, I'm still looking for a good 4 season rain jacket or waterproof shell, so I can't make any recommendations. Pros: Great Fit Will keep the rain out Cons: Horrible in humid weather Horrible for any kind of high-output activity

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2019

Hi Patrick! Thanks for your feedback on this item, and we're sorry to hear it didn't work out for you. If you would like to initiate a return, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). A great alternative I would recommend checking out is our [Cloud Ridge Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-cloud-ridge-rain-jacket/83675.html). This lightweight, waterproof, and breathable jacket is ideal for humid conditions, and sounds like it might be the perfect fit for your needs!

November 26, 2019

Dependable

A lightweight rain shell you can count on

November 23, 2019

Some flaws

This jacket is a great value for a rain jacket. However, every single time I am late for school in the morning, the zipper gets caught on the water cover and is very time consuming to undo. I have noticed that the Jacket starts to soak, I have only owned this for a few months. Another issue that I had was that this is way too warm for me and not br... Read Moreeathable, so I can't wear it mountain biking without being too hot. On the other hand, It is pretty durable and nothing has broken yet.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

Hi Tevin. We're sorry to hear you've been having some issues with your jacket. If these persist, you are welcome to [send it back](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) to us under warranty. For a more breathable rain jacket we'd recommend the [Cloud Ridge](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-cloud-ridge-rain-jacket/83675.html).

November 22, 2019

Decent piece of rain gear.

Decent piece of rain gear. Nothing extraordinary

November 20, 2019

Zipper Keeps getting stuck

The zipper keeps getting stuck, will be returning this shell.

Response from Patagonia
December 6, 2019

We're sorry the zipper keeps getting stuck! We've emailed you a free shipping label so you can send that back to us at no charge. Thank you for your review.

November 17, 2019

Good for Chicago Fall-Winter Shoulder Season

I bought the men’s small. I have sufficient space to add an inner layer of jacket. Since it traps heat really well. I’ve used it in mid-November Chicago and the two-layer gets me around the city in ~15-20 °F temperature comfortably. The hood and collar shields my face from moderate snow/rain well.

November 17, 2019

Just what I was looking

Just what I was looking for to wear when raining or cool outside. Very happy with jacket.

November 16, 2019

Torrentshell Jacket is the best!

I love this jacket. It's light, fits well, looks sharp and functional. I do wish it had an inside pocket for glasses and little stuff. Otherwise, this is the best deal in town!

November 13, 2019

Great Rain Jacket

Extremely water resistant. The water just beads up and falls straight off the jacket.

November 13, 2019

A good rain jacket, could be better

I haven't used it in heavy rain but it did well in a light rain. I do wish it had at least one breast pocket for easy access to my phone. Also, the material is quite loud. I know most people don't care about this and most rain jackets, even winter jackets, make loud swooshing sounds as the material moves. I just wish this one were quieter... Read More.

November 13, 2019

Great Jacket

Good fit, light weight and keeps the rain and wind out. Not super breathable but again this jacket is meant for more cold and rainy. Good for all outdoor activities in spring/winter/fall.

November 10, 2019

Great packable rain, wind protection

Great packable rain, wind protection

November 6, 2019

Lighter weight than garment it

Lighter weight than garment it replaces. Will it provide equivalent warmth? Too early too know. Sleeves disproportionately long.

November 3, 2019

Great waterproof shell

This jacket has a great somewhat fitted style, can still be worn over fleece. I’m 5’11” 170 lbs and medium works well. Hood is wonderfully adjustable. Can wear this at least 3 seasons.

November 3, 2019

Stunning Product

Lightweight and breathable, while still being warm. Very comfortable and practical while still being fashionable. Highly recommend this company!

October 28, 2019

Incredibly NOT waterproof

Long time Patagonia user. Of the myriad of products owned, this one fails us every time and is basically useless. My wife and I both own this jacket. The first time used was at a bull fight in Madrid's spring. We experienced a brief, but heavy downpour. We were both soaked to the bone and became very cold. We were miserable. Wish the H2N0 coul... Read Mored perform like Gore-tex. I've been researching replacements for quite some time as we're headed to Thailand in a couple of weeks and really hope to have a lightweight yet effective rain jacket. Too bad we can't take our "Torrentshell" jackets.

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2019

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to provide us with this feedback, it's crucial to improving products for future seasons. We're really sorry to hear that your Torrentshell Jackets aren't keeping the two of you dry. We suggest trying to give them a wash as this can help refresh the waterproof membrane and bring back the waterproof ability. However, if that doesn't help you're more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We've reached out to you directly with some further assistance!

October 27, 2019

Great Jacket

Bought this in May for an upcoming trip to Ireland, it rains a lot there, so this was perfect. I wear it all the time when it rains or when its a little cold walking to class. Very light and compact for traveling.

October 27, 2019

Exactly what was advertised and

Exactly what was advertised and fit as expected. Another great Patagonia product.

October 27, 2019

zipper issue

My issue is the zipper which is not easy for me to zip up. I typically have to try 2 or 3 times, and when you mis-zip it gets stuck pretty bad. This is obviously frustrating.I think the supporting material around it needs to be more heavy duty. Even when you get it right, the material tends to get caught in the zipper and you have to zip, un-catch,... Read More zip a little more, uncatch, etc. A fine product overall, but this important use issue should be corrected.

October 26, 2019

Return customer

I have never been unhappy with any Patagonia product.

October 23, 2019

Great jacket!

Does it's job well - keeps rain out, decent warmth (not a ton obviously). The zipper flap can be a little tricky because it gets caught sometimes, but its easily avoidable. Other than that, no complaints!

October 22, 2019

Perfect rain jacket

My son loves his new rain jacket. It's lightweight and keeps him dry. And it looks good, too!

October 11, 2019

Very pleased

Great product, and Patagonia was very helpful with an exchange after I ordered the wrong style first and then the wrong size. Thank you!

October 10, 2019

Great jacket great company

My wife got me this jacket back in December and in nc it’s not been that cool. I lost a lot of weight and the jacket no longer fit me. They did not hestitate to let me exchange it for a smaller size. This jacket is great I’d you get caught I. The rain on a motorcycle.

October 9, 2019

Ready for wet weather!

Sturdy, classic jacket. Love it.

October 7, 2019

Excellent jacket! Expect a regular

Excellent jacket! Expect a regular (not slim) fit. Repels water well and a nice light-medium weight

October 6, 2019

Perfect Rain Jacket

Bought the coat a few says before the cyclocross World Cup in Wisconsin, heavy rain the whole weekend. Survived one fantastic wet, wild and muddy weekend while keeping me dry and cool the whole time on the sidelines!

October 4, 2019

My Son Absolutely Loves his

My Son Absolutely Loves his Torrentshell Jacket!! He had been contemplating for awhile about getting one but said best thing he had bought in a while.

October 1, 2019

Light and looks good for

Light and looks good for work or play. H2No is the way go!

September 30, 2019

Just Right

I love this Jacket, it is just right for life in interior Alaska I often use it as a shoulder seasons layer during spring breakup, and as the rains come during the fall berry season. It's also great layer for protecting myself from the wind.

September 24, 2019

I had the same jacket

I had the same jacket from 2 years ago and the inside started peeling they exchanged it no problems, hoping this model lasts longer. Great fit as always with Patagonia.

September 24, 2019

Feels pretty sloshy in a hard rain

Fit is great(rare in a rain jacket), zipper gets stuck from time to time because of the overlap(generally worth it for me). The biggest thing is that when you're in a hard rain, you feel wet in the jacket. the Gore products are much better for true hard rain when you're not wearing base/mid layers. Being in North Carolina, we rarely need ... Read Morethe mid/base layers that would make this jacket fit for purpose.

September 23, 2019

Love the color, light weight

Love the color, light weight and fits great. Just wish it came with the packing instructions!

September 22, 2019

Excellent Jacket

Went to London and Croatia recently. This was the perfect jacket for layering. Great weight, stylish and versatile. Perfect for all conditions

September 21, 2019

Workhorse rain protection on the Southern Coast of Oregon

Both my wife and I have Torrentshell's. We live year-round right on the ocean. These jackets hang next to our front door and are used constantly when the weather turns wet. They used for everything from getting the dogs out to paddling sea kayaks. There are other shells in the closet, but these are the go to coats for every day use. The highes... Read Moret praise I can give them is once you put one on, you can forget your wearing it, as it does what it was designed to...simply and completely.

September 20, 2019

Water-proof but not does not "breath"

Definitely is water proof, but I don't wear it when it's not raining.

September 20, 2019

Level 1 Hurricane

My wife and I have owned this jacket for the past 4-5 years. I gave a 5 star rating, only because a 4.5 was not available, and the issue is small. The only complaint about my jacket has been detailed by others--the zipper can get stuck as you start to zip it up (with in the first inch). We wore our Torrentshells on our trip to Niagara Falls this p... Read Moreast month. On the cave of the winds walking tour, you are in the shower and mist of the falls most of the time, and if you like you can walk to a deck just in front of the bridal vail falls, called the Hurricane Deck (google it). The force of the wind and water is equivalent to that of a level 1 hurricane. I decided to test the jacket. I pulled tight the hood, sleeves, and waist and walked up to the deck. It was surprisingly hard to stand there, but I faced the falls for a minute and then turned around and let it beat at my back as well. Once we were top side, the only water that got in was through obvious place the face. My beard did not allow for a clean seal (not that I would have expected a clean shave to have either), but I did have some water down the front of my chest, but not much. My back was completely dry. The jacket exceeded my expectation in that test.

September 18, 2019

Good jacket overall

It’s a good jacket overall but I really miss not having a chest pocket(s) outside and in. Things can fall out of the hand pockets. But if you want to keep a wallet or some such on your person it’s difficult.

September 12, 2019

Great Jacket !

First rate design, fabric, good fit as sized. Not expedition grade, but the price is right and great color selection. What’s there not to like ?

September 12, 2019

1st day I had it

1st day I had it with me, it poured! Works as advertised, kept me dry in the mountains of NH!

September 9, 2019

Lightweight and waterproof

works as described. lightweight so good for warm weather, and kept me completely dry.

September 5, 2019

WaterProof

Jacket fits well, is lightweight and kept me completely dry in a downpour.

September 3, 2019

Zipper issues

The zipper gets caught in the fabric very often

September 1, 2019

Torrentshell jacket

When my old jacket started to flake inside I decided to buy a new one. When I received I found that this new version does not have the very handy inside pocket anymore. Ouse first this for my mobile and my money and other precious things, which are better not stored on the outside pockets. Why has this useful feature been removed? It is a less usef... Read Moreul product now, which I regret very much.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you are missing that feature and we appreciate the helpful feedback on that. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us and we are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) recommend a jacket that does have an inside pocket.

August 29, 2019

Super size it

I have no doubt about the quality being top notch. And if I have a problem the customer service is gonna take care of me, but I’ve been wearing a Patagonia medium from vests, jackets to pullovers for over 20 years. I threw this on and felt I was swimming in it. Is this just ‘Merica slowly tipping the scales? Guess I need to actually size the produc... Read Morets now before ordering online.

August 29, 2019

Not Waterproof

I have used Patagonia equipment for over 40 years, and had absolutely great use and experiences with everything except this jacket. It’s not waterproof. I washed it in the recommended product from Patagonia, and it’s just not happening. Unless you want to feel totally clammy and slogged, don’t buy this jacket, but one of their Gore-tex products. Th... Read Moreey cost more, but in the end you stay dry. It is very windproof and light, so if that is all you intend to use it for - fine.

Response from Patagonia
September 6, 2019

We are sorry to hear that this jacket has not been performing well for you. Please note, if you are ever unsatisfied with a product you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us. Let us know if you need any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=help) with this.

August 27, 2019

Lightweight, packable, rain jacket

Bought this jacket to take to Ecuador. Between the Amazon, Galapagos and the mainland coast, we ran into rain of varying forces, and the jacket did exactly as advertised: It kept me dry. From an all day Amazon downpour in a canoe, to a windy, coastal drizzle surf check, the jacket preformed well. The pit zips allowed for decent breathability and I ... Read Morelove that I can stuff the jacket into a tiny space in my pack. I can wear a thin layer underneath for extra warmth, but I would recommend going up a size if you want to wear a thick layer beneath the jacket. So far this jacket has been a great addition to my lightweight foul weather gear.

August 25, 2019

The jacket/windbreaker was exactly what

The jacket/windbreaker was exactly what I was looking for for my future traveling. It’s well-made very functional breathable waterproof and priced well. MJ

August 15, 2019

Torrentshell is rock solid

I bought this for a recent trip to Australia and it performed as expected. It packs small, keeps out rain, and is very affordable for the performance it delivers.

August 15, 2019

Very NIce Jacket

This jacket is the perfect weight for three season wear. Sometimes you need something to keep you dry when it's warm. This is perfect. It's well made, packs down. I keep it in my car for those times when a quick shower pops up. I have a heavier rubberized raincoat, but the Torrentshell is the one I go to first. Some shells are too short, ... Read Morebut this goes well below my waist, almost covering the seat of my pants. I like everything about it, right down to the pit zips. It's a simple, efficient jacket.

August 13, 2019

Great raincoat for warm climates

LARGE continues to get larger. I have been a large at Patagonia for over 30 years but now I am very close to being a medium and I am not getting smaller.

August 12, 2019

Rain Rain Gone Away

This is a really great rain jacket. I love that the material is thin and the jacket can pack down small for storage when I don't need it. By far the best rain protection I've ever owned!

August 12, 2019

Torrentshell Parka is Great!

I bought the Torrentshell Parka in Navy blue, in a medium (I normally wear medium shirts). It has a trim fit that looks good, and is formal enough for dashing between government offices covering my work jacket. It fits fine over a suit-coat in the shoulders -- it would be nice if the extra-long version was still available, as the suit-coat protrude... Read Mores at the bottom. Very comfortable, quite dry!

August 11, 2019

Great replacement Rain Jacket .

I had my rain jacket for 17 years . The waterproofing inside was starting to flake off . Patagonia replaced it true to their 100% satisfaction guarantee . I'm a customer for life .

August 11, 2019

Scotland Rain

I bought this jacket for a trip to Scotland and it kept me dry during every rainy day. Fit is great and the hood was used during a very wet afternoon tour of Edinburgh castle grounds.

August 10, 2019

Great jacket and definitely serves

Great jacket and definitely serves the purpose.

August 10, 2019

Basically perfect

Bought to replace an old North Face light rain shell they no longer sell. Packs into pocket / zipper pouch, good ventilation, kept me completely dry.

August 10, 2019

Great Rain Coat

Great rain coat in any type of downpour. Keeps you totally dry and cool all at the same time.

August 10, 2019

Jacket has too much material

Jacket has too much material in stomach area. Looks like I’m 3-4 months pregnant. Not real happy with product

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We're sorry you're unhappy with the design. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and let us know if you have any questions.

August 10, 2019

Worth a little extra for the best

This is exactly what I need & want for an upcoming extended trip where I’m packing light. Highest quality, good fit, nice appearance. It’s Patagonia - enough said.

August 4, 2019

leaky

i understand that rain jackets are prone to let water through a bit, and more when the jacket ages, but after wearing this jacket FOR THE FIRST TIME, it let in a plentiful amount of water, leaving me completely drenched. This is the second Torrentshell I have had, the first had the same problem so I had it replaced. Please fix this jacket, because ... Read MoreI know Patagonia lives up to better standards than this

Response from Patagonia
August 7, 2019

We are very sorry to hear about the multiple troubles with this specific jacket. We can understand the frustration and are happy to help you with [sending](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the replacement back for a credit . We can also discuss a different jacket option since the Torrentshell isn't working out for you. Please [contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us for assistance with this.

July 25, 2019

Decent back up rain jacket

Jacket is super comfortable and looks very stylish, and is lightweight enough where it stuffs away in your backpack easily. Also, it does a great job of blocking out the wind. However, breathability is next to none, and the waterproofing is so-so. Decent jacket for light rain and if you're planning on sitting still, but don't recommend it... Read More for sustained rain or if you're planning on moving a lot.

Response from Patagonia
July 25, 2019

Thanks for this helpful feedback. We recommend our Torrentshell for a more causal use, so if you are needing a more breathable jacket, we might advise a different piece. If you end up wanting to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it, please feel free to do so. We are happy to [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) if you need it!

July 19, 2019

Stuck

I like this jacket although the zipper gets caught on the material every time. It’s not great if you’re in a hurry. I use this on my motorcycle and it definitely keeps rain and wind out, however other than getting caught every-time in the material around the zipper

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2019

Sorry to hear that the zipper on your jacket has been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) it to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

July 18, 2019

A nice and light rain/wind-proof jacket but with one flaw

Made out of breathable nylon and H2No material looks like it can hold the rain and wind at bay, so not only a rain gear item but also a stylish windbreaker. which is where Patagonia lost the high marks. The hood storage with a string and hook is poorly designed (it unfolds as you move), and the way the collar looks with the hood stored leaves a lot... Read More to be desired, it exposes the H2No white plastic looking material in part of the collar, which makes the jacket look cheap and unwearable to the point that cannot be utilized as a classy or stylish windbreaker. The whole collar needs to be fleeced with a soft material (ideally with the same color of the jacket), and the hood needs to be redesigned similar to the North Face Resolve 2 jacket which looks really nice when the hood is stowed securely and nicely in the back of the jacket, without affecting the look of the collar, which allows it to be worn as a windbreaker. As far as its relaxed fit, it fits well to the contours of my body, and since I have a 44" chest and around 6 feet, the jacket fits me like a glove without been too tight or long but just right, and still with room to comfortably wear either my Micro-puff or Better Sweater as layer on those very cold and rainy days. I recommend this jacket if you want solely a rain-wind jacket on the trail that is breathable and surprisingly warm (I wore in cold and windy weather in the 50s with just a t-shirt and I was fine), but this piece does not transition from the backcountry to the city at all. The collar is weird and not presentable at all in an urban setting. I hope it gets redesigned, because it does an injustice to the rest of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
July 22, 2019

We appreciate all that detailed and thoughtful feedback. You are correct in saying this jacket isn't a great crossover piece from the city to the backcountry. We do recommend this for a more causal use. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us, please feel free to do so. Let us know if we can [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact)!

June 23, 2019

Not H2No

Wore it fishing in the rain. Soaked-through within a short amount of time. Only good in dry weather.

Response from Patagonia
June 24, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this jacket. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and don't hesitate to contact our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team with any questions.

June 14, 2019

Looks sharp and works perfectly

Put this to the test trekking for hours though a total downpour hiking to glacier grey in Torres del Paine and stay almost totally dry (a little bit on the shoulders where the pack straps were) and am super happy overall. Sleeve length is perfect for me (about 6'3") and the two-tone color scheme on mine (navy & orange) looks really sh... Read Morearp and gets compliments as a piece of casual wear so appreciate the versatility.

May 30, 2019

Sheds rain well

The only thing to note when purchasing this shell is if you want a loose feel or to wear over layers I would suggest buy a size bigger. Other than that, this shell jacket repels rain well. I live in a reputably wet and rainy area of Hawaii if not the most rainy. My first time using the torentshell jacket was during a category 4 hurricane when we ha... Read Mored 64 inches of rain in 48 hours and I was thankful to have it. I have used the jacket paired with the cloud ridge pants and I am very satisfied with its ability to shed water in constant heavy downpour. I also use the pair when pressure washing ATV's and it withstands the constant blasting of backsplash. The water beads off the shell very well in the beginning then surface tension starts to grip the surface making me think the jacket will get saturated and leak through but it has yet to fail me. I have recommended this product to others and will continue to do so. The people who have taken my recommendation and bought the product have thanked me for recommending a great rain shell. Good work Patagonia!

May 19, 2019

Great!

Good fit, great fabric.

May 9, 2019

Got a replacement, still love it

My 7 year old torrent shell went in for repair as it had finally been worn out. Couldn’t be repaired so I got credit and immediately bought another one. Looking forward to the next seven years in navy.

May 8, 2019

Men's torrentshell

Very nice a comfortable, material is soft and lightweight. I'm 5'3 and xsmall fits perfectly with enough room for a movement

May 8, 2019

Torrentshell

Keeps the elements out, with vents to keep you cool! What could be better!

May 8, 2019

great jacket

great jacket - lightweight but keeps the weather out - I like the simple and basic design -

May 8, 2019

Torrent shell jacket

Love the jacket. The small plastic piece on the end of the drawstring came off in the laundry, but other than that, great light raincoat/windbreaker.

May 8, 2019

Just right

Super lightweight, blocks the rain, and fits right. Well designed hood. I got exactly what I needed.

May 8, 2019

disappointed

Poor quality, returned. Zipper kept getting stuck on inner lining. Expected better from Patagonia.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2019

Sorry to hear that the zipper kept getting stuck. Feel free to [contact us](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) and we would be happy to help you out with a replacement.

May 8, 2019

great attention to detail

great attention to detail and extremely adjustable, only complaint is that the sleeves a little too long.

May 8, 2019

TORRENTSHELL

As everyone before me stated the zipper requires three hands

May 8, 2019

There is No Reason to Buy Products at Any Other Store

I just bought more Patagonia rain jackets for me & my daughter. I had an old one where the lining was starting to peal off and the sales-person said I should bring it in for a warranty exchange, which I did the following week (and now have a rain jacket in each of my houses). The fact that Patagonia would stand behind its products for that long... Read More is not even believable. Why would anyone buy a product made by Patagonia from ANY OTHER manufacturer? It would not make any sense! You guys rock!

May 8, 2019

This is a great jacket

I love this jacket. I love how it packs down and I love how it keeps me dry. The underarm vents are fantastic and necessary, since the jacket retains heat really well. My only issue with the jacket (and thus 4 stars) is that the fabric often gets caught when I zip it up. Nearly every time you zip up the jacket you need to get the fabric out of the ... Read Morezipper.

May 8, 2019

Bought men's size for the color

I want to love this jacket, but there are some things I'm not 100 percent with. Pros: 100 percent waterproof, adjustable cuffs, color. Cons: Had to buy men's size to get the willow herb green color, noisy, only 2 pockets. I hoped with Patagonia there would have been a secure zipped inside pocket for my phone/tissues. This is a bare bones... Read More jacket that I'm still learning to love.

May 7, 2019

Good value, but wears out fast

I’ve gone through 3 of these jackets so far. Past editions have lasted me about a year or two of moderate use. I use it for snowsports, backpacking, hiking, and work primarily (I work for the US Forest Service). The first couple of editions I had would delaminate from the inside, even with only moderate use. When I took it back to Patagonia, they g... Read Moreraciously honored their ironclad guarantee and let me trade it out for a new one. They did give me a short but friendly lecture about making sure I was caring for it properly. I would wipe it off with a sponge and mild soap because I know they say washing rainshells in a machine can wear them out faster, but apparently not so with the Torrentshell, they recommend machine washing, emphasizing keeping it clean over reducing the number of times you run it through the wash, but still even with my altering of care strategy, subsequent Torrentshells wore out fast. I want something durable that I can use in the field instead of just posturing in while walking to the coffee shop in Georgetown or the Hamptons or wherever 😉. Anyway, the most recent edition I got, they must have changed something up or incorporated feedback because I’ve had it for about two years (I think?) and it hasn’t started to delaminate at all like in the past. If it keeps up, it will definitely be worth the price! Also, decent breathabikity for a rain jacket and stays dry for the most part even with heavy rain, though you will sweat pretty good in it if you are making a climbing or working hard.

May 5, 2019

Just right rain jacket

I purchased this jacket (size M) for my 13 year old boy who is growing fast (currently 5'9" about 110lb); it's roomy on him, but fits well with some "growing room". Works fine for us when it is rainy out. Cuts the wind nicely too, but is not warm, just a protective layer agains the elements.

April 14, 2019

Soaks through since new.

This jacket soaks through every time i wear it. If I had to do over again I would save for Gore-tex.

April 11, 2019

Not waterproof

I bought this jacket last year to replace a cheapie I had gotten from Target 15 years ago, which started to leak. The problem with the Patagonia jacket is it repels water for about a half hour. I discovered this because I had to walk in the rain for quite awhile and after about 30 minutes started to feel a lot dampness in the interior of the jacket... Read More. And, it was more than damp. Water was beading on the inside of the jacket. The jacket will go in the next Goodwill run I do.

April 6, 2019

Great light weight jacket

I ordered the large and usually wear an xl for most things. This jacket is a perfect fit. I would say this jacket is more for a light to medium rain with minimum wind. It has ZERO warmth however I knew what I was buying the jacket for and got what I wanted. If you're looking for a warm wind proof jacket then do not get this. IF you just need a... Read More jacket for the rain and to keep you dry and cool this is the PERFECT jacket. Thanks Patagonia!

April 4, 2019

Major Flaw!

Jacket is great except 2 major issues as follows. Purchase this rain jacket 1 1/2 months ago The fabric behind the zipper will get caught into the zipper almost 100% of the time. It is a huge dissapointment that they didn’t offer to even explain the issue and resolve it. Second is the stitching will fray easily, which will eventually fall apart.... Read More

April 2, 2019

Zipper design

This jacket has a zipper that is improperly designed. The rain flaps get caught in the zipper repeatedly making it non functional. This is a replacement jacket of an earlier version that had a flaking, deteriorating inner layer and was replaced by Patagonia for a discount. Additionally, the hood does not adjust well. I cannot recommend this jacket ... Read Moreand would advise serious consideration of another brand. I am returning this one.

April 2, 2019

When XXL is not XXL

I really liked the style and craftsmanship of the jacket and ordered it in the size I've been wearing in jackets for several years, XXL. I realize I'm large and occasionally have had tightness across the midsection, but I could barely get the jacket across my shoulders and could barely zip it up. It became obvious that it would never fit ... Read Morecomfortably so I had to return it. Unfortunately I can't wear Patagonia clothing.

March 16, 2019

Totally disappointed

I bought the Torrent Shell at a retailer less than a year ago. The jacket has NOT been waterproof since day one. In hind sight, the Large seems to be a bit restrictive for my size especially when more than one layer is added underneath. I have purchased Patagonia products since the 1980s so have no doubt that their products are top of the line. I... Read Moren this case though I am totally disappointed.

March 8, 2019

Overpriced trash

Zipper broke literally the 3rd time I wore the jacket. Waste of money. Brand new jacket is completely ruined now. Spend your money elsewhere. Overpriced. Cheap construction. Basically paying for the label.

March 4, 2019

short-lived

I've had two of these. Like the fit, the quality, everything but the waterproofness. The H2No is good for eighteen months, maybe two years. If you live in a rainy place or wear a raincoat a lot (I live in Portland), it's probably wise to invest in Gore-tex and spend more for a coat that will be waterproof for longer.

February 24, 2019

My second Torrentshell

Not that it matters, but I would like to mention that I have a strong preference for Patagonia. I like their stuff. This review is unfortunate. I’ve blown through 2 Torrentshell jackets. V1.0 was the original with the white interior lining layer. That layer came apart, shedding white shell liner. No amount of duct tape kept it waterproof. This took... Read More about 1.5-2 years. I bought another one, as I thought maybe I was being too hard on it. The updated jacket no longer has that white lining, but the waterproof failed within about a year. It makes for a nice wind breaking shell, but does not keep you dry. Same review for the pants, unfortunately. Patagonia NYC did take the first jacket back for recycling. I’ll drop number 2 off shortly. I use them for running, cycling, hiking, fishing.

February 16, 2019

Perfect Rain Jacket

I like everything about this jacket. It fits me really well...I'm 6"1" and 195 lbs. and bought a Large. There's plenty of room for a thick fleece jacket underneath. The hood has great adjustments so you can get it to fit like a hat with a cool little bill. The material is really nice with just a little soft crinkle to it when yo... Read Moreu move. Zipper and flaps seem very well-designed. The problem I have with Patagonia stuff is that it's so good that I never get to buy stuff because my ancient stuff is still perfectly good. I have one of the first puffball jackets they ever made...still perfect...a soft shell jacket...perfect...3 fleece jackets...perfect...you get the idea.

February 16, 2019

Depends what you are doing.

If you are wearing this as and outer shell with a coat and layers underneath it fits well. If you only wear a t-shirt under this it is way too big. I am usually on the larger side of a medium so I got a medium since it was a coat (which usually run bigger). Even though that I knew it would be a bit bigger is was really big on me. If you want to wea... Read Morer causally and get the rain shadow stretch or the Houdini. These are both lighter and nicer to wear for a longer period of time. This jacket is also very crunchy and stiff so get a lighter jacket if you want to wear causally but when it rains hard it is good so like for intense outdoor use.

February 10, 2019

Good outer layer with minor issues

It does what a rain jacket is supposed to do - keep you dry. It isn't super breathable, but at the same time I'm not completely soaked from my own sweat within. I got a medium (5'10" 145lbs) and it fits well over the snap-t pullover. It also fit well over a five layer system as an outer waterproof layer (base, thermal, snap-T, h... Read Morei loft down jacket, torrentshell). The only gripes I have are the lack of a chest pocket, the zippers and how they catch on the fabric (but you just have to be careful when zipping up), and the fact that the very ends of the sleeves soak through pretty fast.

February 5, 2019

Great Casual Rain Jacket

The rain jacket is overall very good but it will soak through in heavy rain or too long of an exposure in rainy weather

February 4, 2019

Not waterproof as stated

Wore this through the rain twice while walking my dog and came home soaked. It defeated the purpose of this jacket because I strictly bought it for rainwear as it is stated. I have a cheap rain jacket from Costco that repelled water better than this jacket so I'm quite disappointed. I have no idea where this 'H2no' technology went be... Read Morecause it really doesn't work. If you're looking for a windbreaker and something lightweight and packable then this is for you. However, if you want a jacket that has all those functions AND is water repellent, this is definitely not for you.

January 30, 2019

mostly enjoy this jacket, but not in the rain

This jacket is warm and fits great. I wanted to like this jacket but I really need a reliable waterproof/breathable jacket. As someone has mentioned, after a couple rains, the jacket was no longer waterproof. I am quite disappointed, particularly given the cost. I just thought a Patagonia jacket would be worth the cost.

December 28, 2018

works great

Just got this to deal with some heavy rain. Worked great. I can understand the zipper issue, but as others have mentioned, just need to be careful. Hood adjustment is excellent, better than my Mountain Hardwear comparable model. I took a large and wore it over my R2 jacket. I typically take L in this brand. I considered buying this for weeks, doing... Read More all the research I could and while it's still early to tell, right now I'm with the 5-star reviewers. Shook dry easily.

December 28, 2018

hood doesnt actually stow

The jacket is fine, I'm just kinda frustrated at this "simplified" hook and loop thing for stowing the hood when not in use. It doesnt "stow" the hood it simply involves tucking the hood down the back of the jacket, which as one can imagine, is very uncomfortable and looks ridiculous. Not to mention if youre walking around ... Read Moreit ends up flopping out the back anyway, as the hook and loop thing fails to secure it in any meaningful way. Honestly if they just didnt mention the hood stowing system, I'd probably give this jacket 5 stars, but like if youre going to claim to do something, then you'd better do it, all im saying.

December 21, 2018

Poor fitting

The Men's jacket does not have an athletic cut and is wider at the chest than at the waist. For the XS, the chest (armpit to armpit) width is 21 inches and the waist (bottom) width is 19.5. I don't know in what world it makes sense to make the bottom narrower than the chest. What this means, for me, is that the jacket size is appropriate ... Read Moreat the chest but I can barely close it (no space at the bottom), and sizing up makes it too large. Tried both S and XS in the store.

December 15, 2018

Great jacket

I've had this coat for a few months now, enough to form a good opinion. First off, I normally wear a size medium for Patagonia with the nano puff and t shirts fitting perfect. For some reason a medium in this style, I was swimming in but a small fit me just about perfect allowing me to layer one sweatshirt under it. I'm 5'10 about 1... Read More50 with a athletic/climber build. My only complaint is that the pockets are very small and there isn't a chest pocket hidden on the inside. If Patagonia would make bigger hand pockets and add the inside chest pocket it would be a perfect rain coat.

December 3, 2018

Cape Horn

Just wore my Torrentshell jacket to Cape Horn and environs, and I stayed totally dry and warm (with 2 other layers). I was totally happy with the way it performed. Walked on Cape Horn itself, went by Zodiac to glaciers all along the Beagle Channel, braved a sleet & rain storm on the shore of Lake Grey in Torres del Paine National Park, stayed d... Read Morery and warn throughout. Why buy more expensive gear?

November 22, 2018

Great rainshell

I have had absolutely zero issues with my jacket. It has performed wonderfully in heavy rain, and the zippers are fine as well. My only suggestion is rather than blindly yanking on the zipper, watch to see what you are doing. This approach has worked well for me for many years after I learned to dress myself. Can’t hurt, might help.

November 19, 2018

Peeling within a year of use

I've been convinced that I would need a quality waterproof rain jacket and based on the marketing/concept of Patagonia I definitely went for the Torrentshell, no matter how much would cost in compare to the other brands similar jackets. After a (not even)year of use it began to peel the liner like crazy. I took care well and follow the instruc... Read Moretions of the manufacturer, but within so little time I have a trashed piece of gear that is really hard to repair. I not even used like crazy for extreme situations, it's a pitty but I would never buy the same jacket, or even others Patagonia jackets for these reason.

November 18, 2018

Not suitable for torrential rain

I purchased this jacket early in the summer 2018. I was fine for the first couple of rains, but then began to absorb water and finally pass it through to the inside. I washed it in soap made for waterproof, breathable garments and had the same result. The jacket is also sized slim or form fitting. I have a 47" chest, and the jacket just fits ... Read Moreover a thin fleece sweater. It's as if it were designed for wearing in town and not for outdoor activities like hiking in which you might need to wear some insulation. I'm a strong supporter of Patagonia's mission, but am seriously disappointed in this jacket.

November 13, 2018

Awful zipper

I LOVE the color and fit of this jacket but the zipper is bad that it's basically useless. EVERY time I try to zip it on or off it catches. Have to return it, so bummed.

October 5, 2018

Zipper is awful

Either I have a defective product or the zipper on this jacket is generally awful. It takes me at least 30 seconds each time I take it on or off to get the zipper to work. Keeps getting stuck and makes it so that by the time it's finally on or off, I'm sufficiently irritated. Would have taken back to a patagonia store, but I don't li... Read Moreve near one.

October 2, 2018

Waterproof ?????

I'm reading here in the description that the jacket is waterproof but after using it in the rain, its more water resistant. The jacket does get wet and quickly for that matter. The cuffs up to the elbow were soaked after 5 minutes, the shoulders of the jacket also became very damp in that time. Im very confused on why this is marketed as a wea... Read Morether proof jacket... Didnt last 5 minutes in the rain before my clothes started getting wet underneath. Its a very nice casual jacket, light rain, but dont think your gonnna stay dry in heavy rain.

September 11, 2018

Missing something...

AGAIN...previous versions had some Velcro to greatly enhance the usefulness of this jacket. I’ve also suggested if Patagonia didn’t want the Velcro...a simple two way zipper would also work very well . Like many other Patagonia jackets... it’s either zipped up or not. It it’s not zipped the jacket opens up literally falling off ones shoulders... zi... Read Morepped up, you bake like a French fry. Very disappointing.

September 6, 2018

Soaked in the rain

I have used LOTS of Patagonia gear that I have been super happy with, and was really happy when I found this advertised as a lightweight, waterproof jacket. I liked the style and fit of the jacket, and then took the jacket to task - 3 separate 30 - 45 minute bike rides in light and heavy rain, and I was soaked in an instant. I arrived to work each ... Read Moretime completely wet, as if I hadn't worn a jacket at all. This is the first occasion that I have been disappointed in a Patagonia product. I have since contacted customer support, and they have indicated that I can take the jacket to my local Patagonia shop for assistance with exchanging. I plan to do so, and hope that the next "waterproof" jacket I get from Patagonia will hold up to the rain. I would recommend this jacket for dry conditions only. I wouldn't recommend even for a light rain - it soaks through within about 15-20 even in a light rain.

August 31, 2018

Wets out in an instant. If it rains you will be wet.

I purchased this shell for a 2018 AT thru hike. I kept it with me the entire trip. I had some angst about a purchase when I read a review on sectionhiker dot com where the site owner said it wetted out in an instant. He thought it might be defective because Patagonia gear tends to be great. I was inclined to agree. The jacket did help me stay warm ... Read Moreon my hike as it effectively blocks wind but it is heavier than typical thru hiking rain shells and I've never had a piece of gear that wetted out so quickly. I tried applying DWR but that didn't help. Perhaps my jacket is defective. I would have otherwise returned it if I wasn't on the trail for 5 months. On a positive note it still looks good even after 2200 miles:)

August 30, 2018

Love this jacket

I've owned my jacket for a couple of years now. It has served me well from the top of Mount Washington on a 35 degree day with 40MPH winds and rain/snow/sleet. It kept me dry and blocked the wind. Then it kept me protected from the wind, rain and waterfall spray in Iceland. It was even effective during a climb of a glacier in Northern Norway. ... Read MoreMy only complaint is that the zipper does not work as easily as I'd like but the jacket does exactly what it is supposed to do! Great gear!

August 28, 2018

Terrible sizing!

I found a local store that had some in stock so tried it on as I was looking for a rain jacket and this jacket had some decent reviews. It looks and feels nice. The pockets are Not mesh so you may have some wet hands during rainy days instead of it drying out. The hood fits relatively well. The BAD part is the Sizing! Large barely fits... arms are ... Read Morefine but body, esp. the chest, was a bit tight and could NOT wear any layers other than a shirt underneath. The XL is TOO big! The arms were extended to my palms/fingers while the body was ROOMY enough so you can wear layers underneath it. I had it zipped up and Pulled the front Outward a FEW INCHES to show how ROOMY it was and that's just wearing a shirt underneath. The entire jacket was relatively Huge! Lots of people are talking about the Crazy sizes and fit of Patagonia clothing and the Torrentshell is another example of how messed up it is.

July 23, 2018

Harry B

This jacket has come to its end for me. After 10 years of some pretty grueling use, including Kilimanjaro, the plastic lining is peeling off and to be honest, it was never particularly dry in a down pour. Im unsure if this is because i mis treated the jacket thru washing or because at this price point its basically just low end. I tried talking to ... Read MorePAtagonia for the supposed life time warranty but never got any replies to my e mails. I figure i am not cheap enough to care about a 10 year old 129 dollar jacket. I will upgrade to another jacket with Patagonia because they really are good, but honestly, this jacket is really just a windshield at best.

July 9, 2018

Versatile and packable

I use this Torrentshell as raincoat/windbreaker and a parka shell. This is my second Torrentshell (the first was a pullover). The jacket folds flat into my briefcase which makes it handy while traveling. I sure appreciate the handwarmer pockets and the pit zips. There is condensation when I walk awhile in warm,humid conditions; with a Nano Air unde... Read Morerneath in cooler weather,it remains dry. I think the fit,style and quality are 5 star.

May 12, 2018

Looks great,works great!

I bought this for some traveling I have planned in the fall,and as a rain jacket while at home in in-between. It does what it is supposed to do and doesn't look ridiculous while doing it too. Though,it literally is a shell so if you plan on using it as just as rain jacket,get a down sweater or something for underneath.

May 3, 2018

Great Jacket

I normally don't write reviews,but i felt compelled as I almost didn't buy the jacket due to the poor reviews. I can assure you that the jacket is %100 percent waterproof,and anybody that says otherwise is experiencing wetting due to condensation on the inside of the jacket,not rain seeping through. If you choose to wear this garment duri... Read Moreng some sort of aerobic exercise,then it is likely the jacket will wet out due to condensation,but there are things you can do to prevent/mitigate this: 1. I would recommend unzipping the pit vents to dump excess heat. 2. wear some sort of moisture wicking synthetic layer underneath. 3. Have a dry layer accessible for after exercise (the condensation in the jacket will air out in a matter of minutes once the jacket is off and will stay dry if you arnt exerting more aerobic energy.) With that being said,when wearing the jacket casually its performance is bomber: aesthetically pleasing,easy to layer,%100 waterproof and few issues with condensation ( shoulder areas can condensate if the jacket is on for a while,but thats just because its a high contact area.)

April 28, 2018

Gets soaked!

Only reason I would even give this one star is because it looks nice. I received this as a Christmas present and was really excited because I had heard how great Patagonia products were. Unfortunately,I've tried this jacket multiple times in different levels of rain and every time,it gets soaked. There is virtually no DWR finish. Once water hi... Read Morets the jacket,it just sits there and the material becomes soaked. Within minutes,you can feel the dampness on your skin or your shirt underneath. And this jacket is only 5 months old and it's been doing this from day 1! I had hoped to be able to use this jacket on backpacking and hunting trips,but I will just stick to Sitka Gear from now on and actually stay dry with Goretex. Glad I didn't buy this jacket because it would have been a waste of money! Spend the extra money and get something made with technology that is actually effective.

April 27, 2018

Not waterproof at all

I have been carrying this shell around for a while,waiting for a really rainy day. Well we got one this weekend,and unfortunately,the jacket soaked through quickly. Was pretty much instantly wet under the backpack straps,and pretty quickly saturated everywhere else. A lot better than nothing,but far from waterproof. When I got inside,my shirt was p... Read Moreretty much soaked.

April 27, 2018

Nice jacket with good design but it soaked......

I came to Boston last year and I found the weather was extremely wet here and it rained a lot. So I decided to get myself a rain jacket and finally found this Torrentshell. However,this jacket is not as waterproof as Patagonia said,because it got soaked even it was only drizzling! Every time I wore this jacket while it was drizzling outside,I found... Read More the inside of my pockets was too wet to hold my stuff. After wearing it for 3 to 4 times,it still performed not well,so I decided to bring it to store and get replacement.

March 16, 2018

Nice! Bravo Patagonia (again)

Bravo Patagonia! This jacket & pant are both awesome. Be advised they are definitely ultra-thin and ultra-lightweight. That is good if that's what you're seeking. But for some,it might seem too thin to wear casually. Having mentioned that,this jacket has incredible attention to detail and style. It fits athletically,just like you&#x27... Read More;d hope it would. And literally ricochets off water as if it was made of the non-nutritive cereal varnish featured in Clark Griswold's sled.

January 12, 2018

Bad Zipper - gets stuck and leaks

Huge fan of Patagonia and older Torrentshell designs but there's major design flaw with this one: the zipper. Two zipper problems: 1) Gets Stuck: I agree with the other reviews about it getting stuck. I have the same problems. It easily gets caught probably 90% of the time. Usually not that big deal but annoying nonetheless. 2) IT LEAKS!: Ot... Read Moreher claims in these reviews about leaking I fear are from people who don't understand rain jackets and what an entry level rain jacket can do and what "waterproof" really means. Leaking at the arms and shoulders doesn't seem like a problem in reasonable expected conditions. But the zipper definitely leaks!!! Rain will drip under the weak flap design and leak right through. I've stayed perfectly dry in several rains storms except that the front of my shirt around the zipper is completely soaked. Happens almost instantly in any kind of healthy rain storm. Please fix Patagonia so I can continue to buy entry level rain jackets from you. If you thought this was helpful please click yes below - I'm curious how many reads this gets,if it was worth my time. Would also love to hear that Patagonia heard this as well,yes?

January 7, 2018

Exactly as advertised

Absolutely waterproof,but doesn't make me hot,exactly what I was looking for

December 20, 2017

Easily packable

I recently discovered this rather simple jacket and I now carry it everywhere with me. It's quite light and perfectly waterproof. Is it really breathable ? It's certainly designed for intense workout but I use it for running and I've never been disappointed with it so I guess it's alright. It's very unpretentious but it doe... Read Mores the job well whether it's to commute to work or go for a run when I'm in Europe in the winter

December 17, 2017

Keeps you Dry

Awesome jacket to keep you dry. I've worn this when it was raining buckets and it kept me completely dry. The vents under the arms are perfect for venting heat when wearing this in warmer weather,but still want to stay dry. Fit is great too,not too bulky. Sleeves are a tad bit longer than I like but nothing to downgrade the rating. 5'11 2... Read More15 Wide shoulders and athletic build fits great

December 6, 2017

Serves more than its purpose

I love this jacket. Its very versatile and defiantly keeps me dry like it should. I wear it regularly on rainy Michigan days,when I hike Colorado 14ers,and even wore it over my down jacket on a warm ski day. My only complaint is that the zipper gets stuck pretty often and can frustrate me.

November 14, 2017

From Wetsuit to warmth in the wind.

I just spent a couple days surfing on the Oregon coast in typical November weather: air temp: 42 degrees. Water temp: 52 degrees,rain and wind. As soon as I get out of the water and back to the car,I pull my wetsuit down to my waist,dive into my down sweater hoody and then my Torrentshell jacket. In a few minutes,I'm toasty and my fingers are ... Read Morewarm enough to do battle with the lower half of my suit and my booties. These two jackets are must haves for winter surf sessions.

November 14, 2017

Incredible Value/Weight ratio

I was wearing it during the last typhons in Japan. I felt really confident walking in the streets while it was heavily raining,and didn't feel wet at all. Considering this one is really lightweight,the waterproof performance is incredible. I love all the possible adjustments,especially those for wrists. I would have loved it to be a bit warme... Read Morer,but regarding the weight,it makes sense to just wear and a sweater underneath. Also,note that inner material is not very confortable (but acceptable) when it touches your skin on your arms,so you'll prefer wearing long-sleeves clothes.

November 10, 2017

Great Basic Rain Jacket

Great basic rain jacket. Reliable for around town when the sky opens up as well as to be used as a quick rain shell on day hikes and even backpacking trips. Not breathable enough to be used in extended times in wet conditions - but great as a rain shell when you're in a pinch. Wish there were a more casual parka version to be used strictly i... Read Moren casual settings. The women have the Lash Point Parka - would be nice for the men to also have a non-technical rain shell/trench coat/parka. Something like the outer shell of the Tres 3 in 1? Everlane makes the Elements Anorak which I love - seems like Patagonia should have a similar product for men. Missed opportunity for them!

October 13, 2017

Great for Rain and Snow

I have had this jacket with me out in Montana for about a year now and I love it. I bought it to wear while riding my bike to work and it has performed great in snow and rain. Its my go to shell when there is precipitation. The only thing I wish it had was chest pocket.

October 1, 2017

Great Jacket

Always love the way Patagonia fits and feels. Thanks!

September 30, 2017

Good windbreaker

The windbreaker is good for like light rain but when heavy downpours come,the rain kinda gets through and you'll still feel the cold on ur skin. I love the zipper pouch in the front I just wish there was a pouch for your hands. Nevertheless I still wear this very frequently and I'm happy with my purchase 8 months later

September 17, 2017

Great waterproof jacket

Purchased a month ago for my Boys who are in College. They LOVE it! Perfect for a shell,and wearing in the rain to walk to classes

September 17, 2017

Hurricane Tested--and Passed

I bought this jacket a few weeks before Irma hit the Tampa area,and it came in extremely handy when I had to be outside in the high winds and rain. It performed as expected--shed the rain easily,and kept me dry. The hood is well designed and allows visibility with protection. I'll get many years' use out of this jacket.

September 16, 2017

Awesome

Best jacket ever!! I am pretty sure this is not going to be my first rain jacket from patagonia Got to love Patagonia

September 16, 2017

Very Disappointed!

I've had this coat for a little while now. I just got back from a road trip to Homer Alaska. It is September here and can be and was very rainy. This jacket provide no protection. I was walking along the beach while it was raining and got soaked. So soaked I bought another rain jacket on my drive home and it wasn't a Patagonia product. In... Read More the past I have always been very satisfied with Patagonia products but this time I was let down.

September 16, 2017

It leaks

Was here in New Orleans,outside during a heavy rain. I got wet after a while. Don't want this to be public..

September 16, 2017

Great if you are tall and thin.

It seems that Patagonia items are made to fit a thin frame. If you are muscular or overweight,you'll likely find their items fit too tight in the shoulders and upper arms.

September 9, 2017

Excellent product!

I bought this product about 3 weeks ago,right before Hurricane Harvey hit Texas. I live in Central Texas,so all we got was the downpour,but no flooding. I wore this jacket for about 20 minutes before my girlfriend decided she wanted it,and promptly took it and wore it non-stop for the next 3 days. Although I haven't gotten a chance to use it d... Read Moreuring any serious rain,she was quite happy with my purchase and said it was the best rain jacket she'd ever worn. I plan on layering this with the Men's Down Sweater when I move to Oregon in a month as a shell. Only complaint is that it runs about an inch longer than I would like. I'm 6'0" and 160 pounds. I love this jacket,and would happily recommend it to anyone.

September 9, 2017

It is fine.

This jacket is okay. It does not provide hardly any insulation,and it is somewhat noisy due to the material. However it comes in handy when it is rainy outside. When using the hood,it covers down pretty low,which can make it hard to see in front of you very far. Otherwise it is a good jacket.

September 9, 2017

Functional jacket to have

This is my second torrentshell. It's a great jacket to have for wet conditions,also can layer underneath it if it's cold. It will keep you so dry.

September 9, 2017

Really nice rainjacket!

In the past I always bought LL Bean rain jackets even though the tore around the neck and leaked around the cuffs. I'm glad I switched to the Patagonia Torrentshell Jacket. It sheds water much better than my previous jackets. Only thing I don't like is that there is no pocket in the chest area for putting a camera or phone. I bought a lar... Read Morege since I like it to extend down past my rain pants.

September 9, 2017

Great jacket

Great jacket. Turns out right after i got it we had torrential downpours. Jacket it waterproof and vents under arms are very accommodating.

September 9, 2017

Great all around jacket

Bought about a month ago and just waiting for the weather to cool down more so I can wear it more. Perfect for my early morning bike ride though and wind and rain don't stand a chance at getting through. Definitely recommend.

September 1, 2017

Not exactly waterproof...

I wanted to like this jacket. I really did. The packability,the fit,the features are all great. It's comfortable and convenient. The bottom line,though,is that it barely stands up to a drizzle much less the torrents of its namesake. I wore the jacket on multiple outings in inclement weather. Each time the fabric quickly soaked through and go... Read Moret to my skin or layers. I hoped that I could fix the problem by washing it with NikWax Tech Wash and Direct Wash-in,and although there was a slight improvement it didn't solve the problem. The final straw was after getting caught in a surprise downpour,my cell phone was ruined because I (stupidly) tried to protect it in the jacket pocket. The only reason why I never contacted Patagonia for a replacement was because the jacket got misplaced (err,stolen) shortly thereafter. I have a friend who had a similar experience with his Houdini jacket,so I decided to go elsewhere for my light raingear needs. I'd like to note though,that it pains me to write this because I strongly believe in Patagonia and their products. This one just doesn't hit the mark.

August 21, 2017

Solid Rain Jacket Great Purchase

I bought this for a bike camping trip around Lake Tahoe. I needed a tougher rain jacket than the one I had prior,so I picked this one up. It was heavier duty that I originally thought,but that was not a problem as rain in the hills around Tahoe can be downright cold. Fortunately,it never rained,but it did the entire week I returned home. I took adv... Read Moreantage of the stuff-pocket sack and stowed it in my commuter bag upon returning home. I got to use this rain jacket several times,and was very impressed with how well the hood fit ove my bike helmet,and how dry I stayed. The pit zips worked great to keep my temperature down as well. I highly recommend this jacket.

August 19, 2017

Men's Torrentshell Jacket

Very pleased! Unfortunately,I look a wee bit silly without the pants... really need to get the pants.

August 19, 2017

good

i like this product. i have no problems with it. good product.

August 7, 2017

Great jacket

Enjoy jacket and fit for moderate climate use. If colder,heavy sweater may not fit underneath. Had earlier version for 20+ years,this one runs slightly smaller and not quite as long.

August 5, 2017

Nice fit

I am on my 3rd replacement as I use this as a daily driver and for most outings. I just throw it in my bag and forget about it. There used to be two mesh catch-all interior pockets,then one,and now none with this one. I like them as they are good for cellphones,food,gloves,etc. Oh,well. The fit is still great with it sort of slim. 5'10" 1... Read More75 and the medium is nice for me

August 5, 2017

The best.

Seriously best rain jacket I've ever owned. Just buy it

July 29, 2017

Love It!!

Fantastic jacket,I love it. Particularly,like how it all rolls up into the hood.

July 18, 2017

Lightweight and effective rain protection

I've worn a Patagonia raincoat all over the world for more than 30 years. My last one,a precursor to the Torrentshell but quite similar,finally gave out recently. The Torrentshell offers a nice lightweight jacket suitable for the tropics (love those zip open pits) or colder weather with an underlayer. I just field tested my new one in the rain... Read Moreforests of Borneo and it performed beautifully. Stayed dry,breathed well,easily adjusted for long drizzles and drenching downpours. Packs down to nothing,so great for travel.

July 10, 2017

Back to the Drawing Board

I have never met a Patagonia product I didn't love'until now. I bought this rain shell about a year ago to help stave off rainy Chicago spring weather. I keep thinking I just need to wear it more often or change the way I wear it. Alas,no. Four things will likely keep me from ever wearing this product again: 1. It's big. I wear 35&q... Read Moreuot; sleeve length shirts and the Large Torrentshell arms are so long I have to roll them up. 2. The zipper always gets caught. Every time. The closeover flap is on the right side of the jacket. If you're right handed,it's really easy to get the material caught in the zipper. I now empathize with what you lefties have been going through all of your lives. 3. The visor closes down over my eyes. Always. No matter how I adjust the hood,the visor always closes down too far so that I either cannot see,cannot wear it with the hood up or I have to flip the visor back. 4. It's a total hot box. Whatever moisture this jacket prevents from without is more than counteracted by the moisture your own body heat will produce from within while wearing this jacket. With or without armpit vents open. Sorry,Patagonia'I still love you,but this one needs to go back to the drawing board!

July 6, 2017

Not Water Proof!