Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell Waterproof/Rain Jacket

Write Your Review

4.24 /5

Filter Reviews

All 215 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell Waterproof/Rain Jacket

4.24
True To Size
July 27, 2020

not rain proof

stupid jacket pretty much immediately soaks thru when its raining more than the tiniest sprinkle, what a waste of money

Response from Patagonia
July 27, 2020

Hi Jordann, we're really sorry that this jacket is not keeping you dry. We went ahead and emailed you in case you'd like to return it for a refund/merchandise credit. Thanks so much for your review.

July 15, 2020

Perfect fit

Nice jacket. I really like the rain visor because it keeps the rain out of my eyes lol

June 17, 2020

Thru-hike to urban stroll

Perfect shell. Waterproof - definitely. Used this on my John Muir Trail thru-hike and also use it as my everyday/any day raincoat and windbreak. True to size and I would recommend it to all my hiker gals!

January 18, 2020

Great, BUT

I loved this jacket. Lightweight and great look. I bought it about two months ago and have worn it about 5 times. I washed it according to the instructions and parts of it turned colors. Like became straight up orange and I’m baffled. It’s spreading to other parts of the jacket. And I have ensured that I’ve even stored it in a garment bag to keep i... Read Moret isolated and yet it keeps discoloring. I have no idea why. For a jacket from Patagonia this defect is really disappointing!

Response from Patagonia
January 30, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we are so sorry to hear about the discoloring that occurred when you washed it. We hope that you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us so we can get you a replacement. Thank you for the feedback!

December 14, 2019

I’d give a 5 stars

I’d give a 5 stars overall if the price wasn’t that pricey. I’m a single mom, despite the pricey jacket, it was worth the pay, because my daughter liked it and she said it keep her warm, and she since been wearing it almost every day at UAlbany in New York. She is a Californian and it’s her first time experience New York weather :(. So Patagonia ja... Read Morecket is a great choice for her. I read about Nano puff jacket. I’m trying to save up and get her the Nano puff hoodie jacket too. During this time of the year, She definitely can use this jacket over there. If I can afford it, I’d buy one for myself too- their jacket is light weight, soft and pretty insulated.

November 25, 2019

Don’t wash it

I washed my jacket and followed the instructions exactly. I washed it all by itself too. It turned blue in certain parts. I highly recommend not buying the white color. I’m very upset and this jacket is now a waste of my money....

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Olivia! Thank you for your feedback, and we're very sorry to hear about the discoloration on your Torrentshell Jacket. I went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

November 22, 2019

Great jacket.

I already love this and I have only been able to us it 2 times.

November 14, 2019

Good

Good

November 13, 2019

torrentshell

love this jacket. fit is fine. However, just fyi..I don't have a problem with the fit on your vests...large too big, medium too small at waist and they also run way too long :(

November 11, 2019

Great!

Perfect shape and length. Lightweight.

November 10, 2019

Not what I expected

Very thin jacket and tight in chest when zipped

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Erica! Thanks for your feedback. If this was too thin for your needs, we'd recommend the [Women's Cloud Ridge Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-cloud-ridge-rain-jacket/83685.html) as it is a bit heavier and thicker. We're also always happy to give you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase. Please also feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this jacket if you'd like to do so, but haven't already.

November 6, 2019

Light, comfortable, but unfortunately not waterproof

I was excited to continue to support Patagonia's exceptional efforts towards using almost exclusively recycled products to create their clothing lines by buying a new raincoat with the H2No design. However, during my recent Mt. Kili trek, I discovered that the jacket is in fact not waterproof. I did like it's fit, breathability, and light... Read More feel, but had to return it as it did not keep me dry except during light rain.

Response from Patagonia
November 25, 2019

Thank you for your feedback on the Torrentshell Jacket, Lindsey! The Torrentshell is the most affordable waterproof jacket that we make but because of that it's not the most breathable and is not ideal for being active in very humid places. Please feel free to return the jacket for a [refund](https://www.patagonia.com/returns) and check out the [Calcite Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-calcite-jacket-for-alpine-climbing/84996.html?dwvar_84996_color=LIT&cgid=womens-jackets-vests-rainwear) for a more breathable waterproof option.

November 6, 2019

Great coat

Light and simple and does the job. Keeps me dry and I can layer underneath.

November 6, 2019

Waterproof, comfortable and stylish

This jacket is fully waterproof and keeps me dry in the rain. I ordered a size small, which runs a bit big. I actually like the longer sleeves and length, as it provides more protection from the rain.

November 5, 2019

Sleeves comically long...

I've never had issues with sleeve length, but this jacket's sleeves fully covered my hands. The arms and body were also quite baggy. However, the chest was still tight. I went with the clothing measurements and got a large: my chest is ~38" and I wear a 36B/34A, and am about 150lbs, 5'5". The fabric was too shiny as well; ... Read Morenot matte like the picture. Disappointed overall.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Monica! Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit and the fabric. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 5, 2019

Bad

Zipper came off after one days use

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Oluwagbotemi, thanks for writing a review! We're truly sorry to hear that the zipper came off the first day you used it. We definitely expect higher quality from our gear so we're also pretty disappointed. We'll reach out to you with further assistance to make this right!

October 30, 2019

Great For Weather Bad Zipper

This is a powerful jacket. I hiked in 10 degree weather with it, in snowy/rainy conditions. It is completely water proof and blocks the wind. However, the zippers continually snag. They get caught on the lining and are frustratingly difficult to get back on track. Not only is it the front zipper, but the side pockets as well. This is very annoying,... Read More especially in the middle of a tough hike when all you want is to quickly slip on another layer. Once zipped up however, the jacket performs very well and is extremely warm.

October 29, 2019

Very Satisfied!

I bought this jacket for my college daughter for those wet campus days! It is perfect, she wore it immediately, it was a great fit. She can use it year around, I’m planning to purchase one for myself!

October 25, 2019

perfect

I bought this to replace my favorite LLBean jacket that went missing. I was skeptical of it living up to the quality of my old one, but it did! My favorite part is the zips under the armpits for ventilation so I can run in it! Also gets an A+ for having a hood big enough to fit all my curly hair into. And I didn’t have to size up to be able to fit ... Read Morebulky sweaters underneath. I’m impressed!!

October 24, 2019

Great buy!

Loving my jacket! Perfect for early autumn weather! super light and looks good

October 21, 2019

Great Jacket with a Zipper Issue

As far as comfort and staying dry in a rainstorm, this jacket gets two thumbs up. But it does have an issue with the zipper placket. The outer placket is fine; it's stiff enough that it stays out of the way when zipping the zipper. But the inner placket underneath the outer (which I'm sure is meant to keep the rain out of the zipper) is f... Read Morelexible and has a tendency to crease and get in the way of the zipper track. It's frustrating to either be in the jacket and trying to get it off or the opposite and the zipper gets jammed. If the inner placket were faced with something to make it stiffer, it would stay out of the way.

Response from Patagonia
November 8, 2019

Hi Karen, thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with this feedback! It's truly crucial to improving products for future seasons. Your satisfaction is guaranteed so you're always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

October 12, 2019

Great All Terrain Jacket!

I've put this jacket through the mill. Last winter I actually used it all season as a shell while skiing. I even took it all the way to Montana and wore it skiing for two weeks out there! It does great in all conditions, and I would recommend to anyone looking for an all around rain jacket!

October 7, 2019

Love the fit

The jacket looks nice, fits well, and hopefully will be very useful on a rainy day. Hasn't rained yet, so I haven't been able to try it out.

September 30, 2019

perfect color and fit

Had to replace a lost older version of this jacket. The new color was even nicer. ;-)

September 28, 2019

Wind/Rain Jacket

High quality, great fit. Never disappointed with a piece of Patagonia clothing.

September 27, 2019

Strange Sizing

I love Patagonia products and would like to buy more. Unfortunately I am prevented from doing so by your sizing. Recently I tried on a Torrentshull jacket. It was great except the for the sizing. I had to go up to an XL for hip width (I usually take a size 14ish) and even then it was tight. The fabric that was not added to the hips was added to the... Read More shoulders which were very sloppy and the sleeves which were about 4" too long (and I have long arms). So it appears that your designer believes that when women got a little bigger around the hip area, their shoulders expand and their arms lengthen. Very very strange. It would be nice if you took a hard look at your sizing so we could all enjoy your clothes. Thanks for listening.

Response from Patagonia
October 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback to us. We are constantly evolving our sizing in hopes that we can outfit as many body types as possible. Recently, we have started to further expand sizing, and we are sorry to hear that the fit has felt awkward to you. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this jacket back to us and we hope we can offer a size that works better for you in the future.

September 26, 2019

Not waterproof but still love it

I absolutely love wearing this jacket out, except in the rain!! It's definitely a wind breaker and light weight and can be packed away and barely takes up any room but it's not waterproof. Maybe bc I washed it before I wore it, but I purchased it from DICKs sporting goods and I always wash my clothing before I wear them, sensitive skin. I... Read Moret's very stylish and fits me perfectly, I just wish it was waterproof since I did buy it specifically to wear on rainy days here in New York. It's perfect to wear over my Patagonia pull overs during autumn when it starts to get cold and windy. I only wish the fabric was waterproof, maybe I need to send it in to get re-coated but it does say on the sleeve H2N0, so I'm not sure if my material is just defective.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2019

Hi Nicole! We're sorry to hear your jacket isn't keeping you dry. This is a waterproof piece so that shouldn't be the case. With that being said, you are more than welcome to set up an exchange [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 23, 2019

Torrentshell jacket

I have not been rained on yet but the jacket fit and feel is great. I wish the salmon color were a bit more orange :)

September 19, 2019

Not GORE-TEX

I actually had to size down for the jacket, but it’s very comfortable. It’s only breathable when the zippers are zipped down (which I prefer). I hate having to layer underneath to keep warm. The quality is great and you can tell that it was stitched well.

September 18, 2019

Functional

I bought this for trekking in Slovenia Julian Alps in September. I stayed dry on a rainy day and it kept me warm on a windy day. The under arm ventilation is a big plus. I’m 5’3 and 108 lbs, chose XS. The sleeves are just right size(often times they are too long for me) and I’m very happy about it.

September 13, 2019

Shielded against strong wind really

Shielded against strong wind really well on my hike today. I have to wait to try it in the rain, but I know my torrent shell pants work perfectly against heavy rain. The shoulders and arms are a little big for my liking. Size down was just a bit too tight at bottom of jacket.

September 13, 2019

Wrong color

The jackets great except the color on the website is SO DIFFERENT then actual jacket (resin yellow). I was really excited about this color combo until I received it in the Mail. It is so much more muted in person. A light grey and soft butter yellow. My husband calls it my rotten egg jacket. Only reason I kept it was because I needed it THAT day an... Read Mored so I had to remove the tags. Be careful purchasing colors online. Not recommended useless you see it in person first

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We are sorry to hear that the color isn't quite what you were expecting. Even though you took the tags off and wore it, we want to be sure you are satisfied and would recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. You can reach out if you need any [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) doing this.

September 8, 2019

Dry in Cambodia’s Monsoons!

I love the Torrentshell jacket and pants! I bought them to wear for field work in Cambodia”s Kapot Province on the southern coast in the middle of monsoon season. I have been happily dry even in the torrential down pours. They are also very easy to pack and fit into a small bag.

September 1, 2019

Torrentshell Jacket

I love Patagonia's Torrentshell Jacket. I have it in several colors. I love this year's new color, the yellow and brown. It's beautiful!! Love, Love, Love. If you like yellow, it's a must have.

September 1, 2019

Not waterproof

Does not stand up to any level of rain, after about 10 minutes of rain the pockets fill with water and all my layers were soaked underneath. I never write reviews but Patagonia is supposed to be great quality but this jacket is terrible. Would not recommend wasting your money on this.

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that this happened. Please note, if you are ever unhappy with the performance of one of our products, we urge you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) it back to us. We are happy to get you taken care of.

August 27, 2019

Great jacket

I love this jacket. It is so versatile - I can layer under it for winter hikes on days when the temp is above freezing, or I can wear it during a drizzly summer evening walk or just hanging out. Pit zips are critical, and easy to maneuver. Very light and easy to pack. I wear this all year in Wisconsin, except during the coldest months. I especially... Read More like how adjustable the hood is. Would never travel without this jacket at any time of year.

August 22, 2019

I really wanted to like this jacket

Based upon reviews and a friends recommendation, I carefully looked at the size chart and chose the M in teal. My daughter who lives in PGH, picked it up for me and sent it. I eagerly opened it up and immediately knew that no way was this going to fit. I was so disappointed. I am in my 60's so although I am fairly active, I have the weight gai... Read Moren going on around my middle and at 5'2" and although not obese, not what I was in my 20's. It was humiliating to not even be able to get it close to being zipped. The fit is meant for younger women who have not yet experienced the joys of menopausal spread. I love the mission of Patagonia. I want to support you. But I ended up buying a similar jacket from LL Bean because they seem to know women are not all 110 pounds and that as hard as we try, middle weight gain is a fact of life for some of us. Do you have any idea how discouraging it is to purchase something you are excited to own only to have the fit so small you feel like you must be hundreds of pounds over weight instead of about 15. ( I weigh 127 pounds) Not all Boomers climb mountains. Help us help you pursue your mission and design clothing that is not just for the active under 50's women.

Response from Patagonia
September 2, 2019

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience with our sizing both in the past and with this jacket. Feel free to give our customer service representatives a call at 1-800-638-6464 so they can make your return as seamless as possible. They can also go over possible sizing alternatives with you.

August 18, 2019

Patagonia Lives up to its Guarantee

This is my second version of this jacket. I loved the first (purchased 8 years ago) and love the newest version as well. Patagonia truly guarantees for life.

August 15, 2019

Best Rain Jacket

Breathable, light weight, and comfortable. It fits well, a bit on the larger side, but you're able to have multiple layers underneath the jacket. Best rain jacket I've ever owned.

August 12, 2019

Love it!

This rain jacket works great, took it hiking in the rainy season. Under constant rain for a couple hours, the sleeves did get wet and the water seeped through to my arms. But, my core stayed totally dry and that's most important to me so I would recommend the jacket! The hood is well designed, the jacket went low enough to cover my butt (tmi?)... Read More, and I love the bright colors.

August 11, 2019

Torrentshell Jacket

Jacket was great for summer travel to a rainy region. Packed well in a small suitcase! Would recommend. I ordered a small. I gave 4 stars because it fit well on top, but was snug on hips—may be an issue for other women with hips. /Telephone customer service was beyond excellent. Not only did my agent answer the phone quickly, but he was charming on... Read More the phone, gave advice about the product and then emailed me (with a human email address) afterwords to make sure everything worked out. Love Patagonia.

August 10, 2019

Torrent shell Jacket

I love this jacket, especially the color. It has a nice fit. I bought a large so I could fit a thin sweater underneath. It definitely protects me from the rain.

August 10, 2019

Torrentshell

Great rain jacket! My previous one lasted years and so far it seems my new one will follow suit. Looking forward to the adventures.

August 10, 2019

Wool cable knit + lining

Patagonia put a nice fleece lining inside this hat so it will block both cold and wind

August 10, 2019

Great!

This is a tried and true light rain jacket thatsperfect for packimg along if the weather changes. I am 5.3 and went with a medium for extra layering room but it is a bit big.. .overall its a great jacket to pack along,

August 10, 2019

Lovely Jacket! Runs a little small.

I originally ordered a medium Torrentshell Jacket. I had to swap it in for a large. I would consider myself of average build, but have large cup size. If you're like me, consider bumping up a size. Plus, now I'll be able to wear my pfd under my rain jacket!

August 10, 2019

Great quality and functionality, as

Great quality and functionality, as to be expected with all Patagonia​ gear.

August 10, 2019

Great for rain, not meant for warmth

Like the color, packs easily, comfortable, well made. Keeps the rain out well - but keep in mind it's not meant for warmth - needs a layer under it for that.

August 10, 2019

Love except for velcro

I am not a fan of velcro on jackets because if you hug anyone, you can ruin their sweater. I wish they had little flaps to cover the scratchy part. More colors would be great as well. Fantastic jacket though!

August 10, 2019

Rain Jacket

This jacket was exactly what I was looking for. High quality and fits perfectly!

August 10, 2019

Just right

I am 5’6” 140lbs and the small fits perfectly. The hood is roomy and the pockets are deep. Great shell!

August 10, 2019

Perfect Rain Jacket

High quality and I love the light purple color. I searched for a rain jacket for a long time and this is exactly what I wanted!

August 10, 2019

I love this jacket, as

I love this jacket, as soon as I got it there was a huge down poor of rain and I put it on and it kept me dry and comfy! I recommended one for my boyfriend and he loves it too. Its a great lightweight jacket to protect from the elements! I will recommend it again!

August 10, 2019

Shell

It was a life saver in rainy Scotland!!👍

August 10, 2019

Solid choice for biking in the rain

Really solid rain jacket, have been using for biking to work. In heavy rain (at least on a bike) some water does get inside the chin area, and you need to tighten the velcro straps around the wrists to keep water from getting in there, but overall the hood works well and I stay completely dry everywhere else. Always love putting on the cheerful col... Read Moreored coat on gray days. I bought medium, I'm 5'5 and 130 pounds and it fits perfectly, room for a sweater under too on colder days.

June 25, 2019

Mint green AND I can wear my climbing helmet under it? WIN.

First heads up that the vjosa green is more a mint green than a kelly green, but still GORGEOUS! My favorite part of this coat is the hood. It stays put and is far enough over your head to not let rain fall on your nose. It also fits OVER a helmet! I'm 5'4, 140 lbs and a medium is perfect.

June 19, 2019

Torrentshell for Lebanon

My boyfriend loves to travel, and insisted that I get a Patagonia rain jacket. The Torrentshell packed great for our trips to Lebanon and Spain, lightweight and easy to clean. I like the length and adjustable sleeves and hood shape. I'm 5'4" (163cm) and wear a women's Small. The sleeves were slightly long for me, so the velcro a... Read Moredjustments were needed. I got the Birch (white) and love the color. This did not keep me warm in the wind, so don't get this thinking it's lightweight insulation. It's just for waterproofing. Works best over an insulation layer. Wish I had had more of those long sleeves...spring in Lebanon is chilly!

June 10, 2019

Great fit and style

I ordered my Torrentshell from South Africa, to be delivered in the US to a friend. Firstly, the customer service from the Patagonia customer service crew was amazing - calling the hotel and organising a tricky pick-up situation. The jacket eventually arrived in SA and i LOVE it! I am tall (5'11") and slender and the jacket fits well. The... Read Morere's enough space for warm layers to be put underneath, but not too big that it looks oversized. The arms are long and could cover the tops of gloves to keep the cold out. Generally, this is a great product and I look forward to many years of adventure in it.

May 8, 2019

BEYOND UTILITARIAN

Simple, straight-forward rain jacket that you can wear alone or layered with a sweater jacket for chillier days. The medium was way too roomy (sloppy looking) so went with a small. The over-all fit was better, but then a little snug around the derriere once zipped. Used for bird-watching so it's nice to have a hood when you can't carry an... Read More umbrella.

May 8, 2019

Rain jackets

Of all the jackets I tried, the size small was just too small and not enough room to layer. At 5’2” medium would have been too big. Really wanted one to work.

Response from Patagonia
May 22, 2019

We are very sorry to hear that you had some troubles with sizing. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) this back to us. You are also welcome to [contact](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) us and we can give you some more information on specific measurements.

May 8, 2019

Works really well!

Excellently water proof. The only down side is that this jacket is loud and a bit stiff at first. Otherwise, it's great!!!

May 8, 2019

Awesome jacket

I love my new Torrentshell jacket. I bought it to replace a 10 year old Torrentshell that is still going strong. However, the old jacket has velcro on the placket and my clothes suffered as a result. The new jacket has velcro only at the wrist closures. When I was shopping for a new jacket, I looked at many other brands. They either had abundant ve... Read Morelcro or very high prices. The Torrentshell sits in the sweet spot of minimal velcro for a fair price. I look forward to many years of clothing-friendly wear!

May 8, 2019

I accidentally hit 4 stars.

I accidentally hit 4 stars. I would give the jacket 5 stars. Love it!

May 8, 2019

Great All Around Jacket

Just received my Torrentshell Jacket and have used it once. Nice jacket and overall good quality.

May 8, 2019

good fit, great quality

My wife loves her new Torrentshell jacket...high quality, waterproof material. Relatively stylish for being so sporty. Available in XXS, which is hard to find. Even so, it's still a size too big on her. Would be great if Patagonia would back away from the industry-wide trend of vanity sizing everything...and maybe even make a size that fits p... Read Moreetite women, and men for that matter.

May 8, 2019

Great Rain Jacket

I bought this to take on a fishing trip to Cuba. The weather on the ocean down there can be really bad ... This rain jacket was perfect. It rained hard on the ocean, several times, and I stayed perfectly dry. In fact, it did such a great job that I left it with the fishing guide, who didn't have a rain coat! I'll be purchasing another one... Read More to replace the jacket I left there. Breathable, light, did a great job in a hard rain!

May 8, 2019

Stay dry

Love my hooded weatherproof rain slicker.

May 8, 2019

Great rain jacket

Nice light, easy to pack rain jacket. Great for summer when you need to keep out the rain and the chill.

May 8, 2019

Great rain shell

Ordered this shell to layer while hiking in Scotland. Kept me totally dry and it was breathable so I didn’t get too hot while moving in it. Highly recommend!

April 17, 2019

Not Waterproof...

I live in Patagonia clothing, but this misses the mark for me. I wore this in a steady light rain, and was soaked down to my bottom layers within an hour. I even had standing water in the jacket's pockets! I am rather disappointed and in no way would I refer to this as a rain jacket.

April 2, 2019

Torrentshell Jacket

Hello, I haven't used in the rain yet but my sister has one and she loves it. I am looking forward to using it in the rain soon. I have been happy with your products in the past. Thanks:))

March 15, 2019

Love this jacket but...

I recently went searching for a lightweight, active rain jacket and decided on the Patagonia Torrentshell. I fell in love with the men’s Torrentshell in Forge Grey, as I love neutral colors and the Forge Grey option is such a perfect shade however, I was disappointed to see that the women’s Torrentshell is not offered in that color, only a purple-g... Read Morerey option. I purchased a small men’s Torrentshell to see if that would work as the measurements are close to a women’s medium but the hip area was far too narrow. Patagonia, please offer the women’s Torrentshell in the Forge Grey option! It’s a beautiful shade that I think would be very popular among females and is a great neutral than just traditional black jackets.

March 3, 2019

Very Disappointed

I purchased this jacket 2 weeks ago when I was told by a staff member in the Patagonia shop that with jacket was completely waterproof because it had the H2NO technology which is Patagonia’s version of Gortex. Oh boy were they wrong. After only being out in light rain for 1.5hours on what would have been a lovely hire had I not been soaked through ... Read Moreto my second layer. Very disappointed 😔

February 19, 2019

Loses waterproofness way too quickly

I had an older version of the torrentshell that only lost waterproofness after a few years of use, not unreasonable for a raincoat, I thought. I got a new one shortly after moving to Seattle, thinking that I'd need a serious raincoat to keep me dry as I commute by bike everyday rain or shine. After just a few months of wearing this jacket, it ... Read Morehas unfortunately lost its waterproofness, especially in the arms. I really wanted to like this jacket, but now I don't know where to turn for a reliable raincoat to get me through life in rainy Seattle.

February 17, 2019

Sizing seems dramatically off

In just trying this on out of the package, the zipper got itself caught on the lining. The fit was too tight to actually wear something beyond a t-shirt underneath, not appropriate for our California rain where it's nice to wear a rainjacket over a vest. Will return; disappointed. The technical spec seem much more dramatic than the jacket itse... Read Morelf.

February 14, 2019

Absolutely NOT waterproof

I really don’t know how anyone that actually needs a raincoat could rate this higher than a 1star. It’s cute and all but it’s 100% not waterproof at all. Wore it in the rain on and off for half an hour and I was soaked through to my bottom layer. It’s not even TRYING to be waterproof. Such a disappointment.

February 4, 2019

Not waterproof

I wore this jacket on a nine mile hike in the rain. I was drenched in the inside! I have never received-treated it, but have only worn it twice so I figured it would be fine. It was a huge disappointment to be so wet and freezing.

January 28, 2019

DONT wear to Costa Rica in the rainy season, or any heavy rain at all

I live in Seattle and got this jacket because I thought it looked great for hiking and commuting in the PNW. I initaially loved this jacket and was recommending it to all my friends. The jacket worked well for our drizzly spring, however, I went to Costa Rica in the summer and got caught in a 20-minute downpour hiking and this jacket failed miserab... Read Morely. I even lost my iPhone because the pockets FILLED with water, are you serious?!! (I know I shouldn't leave my phone in my pocket but it was in a bag and case, but unfortunately, those both were not meant for submersion or sitting in standing water). I also was completely drenched which made the rest of my hike very uncomfortable I understand jackets occasionaly need re-waterproofing, but after several months of light use?!! what a joke! I had a much cheaper Columbia rain jacket I used to wear and that didn't need Nixwax washing until several YEARS of use. I am EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED in this product and do not recommend this if you want to stay dry. I love Patagonia and thought this was a great addition to my gear, but it just left me soggy, cold and phoneless in Costa Rica for a week.

January 2, 2019

Not waterproof

I really want to like this jacket, the fit is good and the hood is adjustable, fits comfortably. Wore this hiking in Yosemite this past weekend and it was maybe about 1.5hr on and off medium rain, the rain completely gone through and my second layer of jacket got wet. I was surprised the product description said it's completely waterproof.

December 16, 2018

Nice jacket, bad zipper design

While most features of this jacket seem great including a full size hood, the zipper continuously gets caught on the inside fabric. This is really frustrating when you are standing in the rain and can't zip the jacket fully. I would also add the I typically wear an XS, and purchased an XS in this jacket, but it runs slighly large.

December 3, 2018

Great Jacket

This is a great rain jacket. It is lightweight but gets the job done. Love the vents and it is loose enough to wear a layer under if its cold out.

November 30, 2018

Great waterproof jacket.

I've had this jacket over a year now and wear it at least three days a week. I traveled and literally trekked two weeks across Ireland in very chilly/damp conditions and it really held up. It's good even in low 40 degree weather if you put a heavy sweater under it. I do jog in it often and it's a great heat container, but you will sw... Read Moreeat inside it. I just take it off as soon as I finish my run and turn it inside out to dry. My one complaint is the zipper. It gets stuck a lot - I think the flap should actually be larger that covers it - that is what it gets stuck in all the time. But I would still buy this jacket again and again. It has been 100% waterproof for me in very heavy rains and long, wet hikes. I can usually wear a large pretty easily in all brands. I bought this in XL so I could pair it with heavy duty sweaters and wear it into the warmer parts of winter. I'm so glad I did. I use this jacket more than anything else in my outerwear closet.

November 23, 2018

AWFUL!!!

DO NOT waste your money on this jacket. This is the worst rain jacket I have ever worn. It does not even deserve to be called a rain jacket. This is a shame to all rain jackets. Doesn’t even keep me dry when it sprinkles.

November 6, 2018

Tomato

The tomato color is much more pink/coral than the red tomato color as pictured.

October 30, 2018

Fabulous Rain Jacket

As a 5'5," 110lb individual, finding rain jackets that fit are rare, and those that do often do not meet the conditions I am in. The hood is amazing!!!!!! It completely shields you from the rain, but doesn't impede vision. The jacket provides enough room to fit any sweater, puffer, sweatshirt underneath, which is great. When the rain... Read More hits the jacket, the water actually beads off, preventing any and all soaking of clothing. Overall fantastic jacket, and the fact that it is fair trade is an awesome bonus!

October 20, 2018

Great jacket, but holds sweat

This jacket looks great (I love the Tomato color for making me more visible on roadways) and it keeps the rain out, but I feel damp inside from sweating when all I'm doing is walking (even with the underarm vents zipped open). I've always had this problem with waterproof clothing, which is why I generally avoid it (I don't believe th... Read Moreere's any such thing as "breathable" rain gear...). I like this jacket well enough to suck it up and just deal with the clammy feel when I'm out walking, but I couldn't wear it for any actual hiking. I am 61 yo, 5'8", 155 lbs.

October 10, 2018

Does not hold up in heavy rain

This jacket is great for light rain and wind! The sleeves are too long but I like them rolled a little. So far this jacket has been amazing in my rain shower little town however this jacket is NOT made for a constant downpour, even if the down pour is for only about 10 minutes. If you are going out in heavy rain, choose a different jacket!

September 1, 2018

XS too big now

The jacket itself is great. I owned a previous XS Torrentshell for 7 years before it stopped being completely waterproof. I have no doubts about the quality. I am just bummed about the size. This version's XS is a lot bigger than the previous versions, the length for everything is too long. However, the XXS is too small to layer underneath. I ... Read Moream 5'2 and weigh 104 lbs. It's probably perfect for taller people, though.

July 24, 2018

I wish it came in petite sizes

I am 5'1" and 113 lb. I ordered the x-small but it was too long. Loved the fabric and the way it is made but didn't look good on me. Will be returning. Would recommend to my taller friends.

July 22, 2018

The best waterproof jacket I’ve ever owned

I walked 3 MILES in down pour rain and not only were my clothes completely dry underneath, it was breathable and comfortable in the 100% humidity weather. Even when I took off the jacket it dried within minutes so I didn’t have to carry around a wet jacket. Honestly the best waterproof jacket I’ve ever owned.

July 5, 2018

Love this jacket but..

I just bought this jacket for an upcoming trip to China. Bought in Maraschino red color and it is gorgeous. Haven't tried it out in the rain yet but I am very excited. When I opened the bag,the jacket smelled horrible. Indescribable smell. I first tried this jacket on at my local REI but they only had an XS,which fit but I would like to be abl... Read Moree to wear a sweatshirt underneath if I have to. Overall beautiful jacket.

April 26, 2018

Great Fit But Not Waterproof

While I have been absolutely thrilled with the style and fit of this jacket,I was extremely disappointed when I wore it on my commute to work and got quite wet. After walking in roughly 25 mins of light rain,water had soaked right through the jacket. Sadly,I will have to replace this jacket with something more waterproof as it will not keep me dry ... Read Moreduring my daily commute,and definitely not during outdoor adventures.

April 18, 2018

Need every color!

I bought my first one of these jackets about 2 years ago to test out for running in Northern Japan. It can be snowy,windy,icy,rainy--you name it--up here. Present day,I own about 6 of these jackets. I absolutely love them. When it is really cold,I layer it with a tight thermal shirt and an extra hoody,and if it's not too cold I get away with j... Read Moreust the tight light thermal underneath. You'd be very surprised how warm it keeps you due to it holding in (and keeping out) moisture. I own a couple larges to use more for when I need to layer up more,and some mediums that fit my body better when not layering as much. Bonus: these jackets look awesome so I wear around for errands and still get comments on it.

March 26, 2018

Wind and water proof

I bought this jacket a few months ago in the fall and so far I really like it. It's thin which I know will be good on warm,rainy summer days. So far in the cooler weather it has been amazing with a warm sweater underneath. It fits a little big but that's good because you definitely want to have room for a thick layer underneath if it gets... Read More chilly where you live. I got the navy colour and I really enjoy it. The only problem I have with this jacket is that adjusting the tightness around the hood is a little confusing but overall it's a solid rain jacket. Can't wait to wear it this spring!

March 9, 2018

Miss a few features from the old version

I owned a version of this jacket for 6-7 years,and received this new one when my old pal just couldn't be repaired anymore. While it certainly does the job of keeping me dry,two things bug me almost every time I wear it: 1) No interior pocket. I really,really miss this,especially when traveling and hiking; and 2) Lower quality zipper. I fight ... Read Morewith this thing every time I try to zip up. It's easy to fix,but in my old version,it was much smoother. I still like the jacket (actually prefer it to the stretchy one,which I also tried) but man do I wish I could have kept my old one.

February 27, 2018

Perfect rain jacket

This is my first Pata jacket. I'm 5'2,97 or 99 lbs (weight varies depending on how much I eat. LOL),bought size xs,fits perfectly. I'm actually looking slimmer than I really am in this jacket,yet I can move freely,and able to add one think under layer plus another thin one and still look not bulky. The color black is deep and beautif... Read Moreul. Feels like I am glowing in it. Haven't tested it in rains yet but I am already amazed how incredible this jacket is capable of blocking the wind. It keeps me warm in windy days with one LLBean fleece jacket underneath and temperatures around 60 (Side note that I am extremely sensitive to cold.) In warmer windy days with temperatures above 73,I don't sweat in this jacket neither. I don't understand how this is even possible?! But I am deeply impressed. I have to admit I'm not a hiker nor athletic type of person. I bought this jacket simply because its fame. But I am really really in love with it now. I ended up buying the down sweater hoody as well,hoping it can save me from being freezing in winter. I just hope I've chosen the right size (I bought size xs too but some reviews said it ran huge. Not sure. It's still on the road flying to me. Will come to update once I try it on) Very excited!! Becoming a fan of Patagonia!

January 6, 2018

Ran small,for me.

Jacket is awesome,but frustrating that it was so tight in the bust area. I usually wear a small in Patagonia brand but this jacket gave me the ever so attractive pancake boob. Had to exchange but love my medium. Ordering online is always a gamble but the exchange was very easy and I am now just waiting on my refund for the jacket I sent back. They ... Read Morewere honest at exchange that I would be waiting up to 6 weeks since they were on an exchange/return backlog.

December 10, 2017

Too long!

I'm 5'5",138 lbs. Using the online size helper,I ordered size M. Fits great - if only I were at least 5'9". It's way too long. Sleeves cover my fingertips,and the whole jacket is just proportioned wrong for someone of my height. Patagonia needs to warn shoppers about this. (Seems like a great jacket otherwise....) Gave... Read More it 3 stars for apparent quality,but I have to return it.

December 3, 2017

Isn't Waterproof

This is the first review I've truly felt compelled to write about a clothing product from any company or vendor. I got the Torrentshell jacket to be my standard,compact,waterproof shell for hiking and backpacking. Occasionally I hike in the rain,so naturally I needed a jacket that could keep me dry. After just 20ish minutes in LIGHT rain,thi... Read Mores jacket begins fully soaking through on the arms and torso. After about 1 hour in light rain,whatever mid-layer I'm wearing under this shell gets completely wet. I've experienced this both on only the 2nd wear of this jacket,as well as after washing it as per Patagonia's recommendations for jacket care. Bottom line is it is not "completely waterproof" as advertised and was actually very disappointing.

December 3, 2017

Dependable Comfortable Product!

Comfortable and sizing chart was spot-on! I have a W-med and am 5'7' 145lb, pics are w/ 2 layers underneath. H2no performance without wicking away body heat. Pull cords narrow the hood to almost full face mask. Roll up hood and practically eliminate the need for a scarf. Classy and lightweight- perfect performance thus far (hike, jog, cau... Read Moreght in cold rain). Love it.

November 5, 2017

perfect raincoat

this rain coat is perfect. here in alaska i con not go anywhere without a raincoat. this one keeps me nice and dry but is not too heavy to pack away in a light day pack. i take this with me everywhere i go in the summer.

October 23, 2017

Excellent shell!!

I bought this a couple of months ago for my trip to the PNW this month. From the rains of Olympic,the cold and snow of Mt. Rainier,to the windy coasts of Oregon and California,this jacket held up very well! I was always dry and comfortable. I only overheated once,and that was because of a steep 1.5 mile trail that really got me sweating. I highly r... Read Moreecommend this product if you're looking for a great shell to go along with your Better Sweater. That's the combo I used and didn't need anything else.

October 19, 2017

Excellent all weather shell

Got this for a trip to Ireland/Scotland. Excellent for wind and rain of any proportion! Spent 2 weeks climbing through fields,mountains and bogs exploring stoneworks and the jacket was great! I stayed dry and warm with only a sweatshirt underneath in mid-October. The only downside was the zipper flaps getting caught in the zipper if not careful... ... Read Morenot sure that doesn't happen with any gear with waterproof flaps though,as my pants do the same (a different brand). Packs well in small space!

October 16, 2017

A Good Rain Jacket

The first day my wife took this jacket out,it was raining heavily and we had to canoe 15km to our campsite. This jacket performed exceptionally well and kept her fleece layer dry. We spent about 3 hours under heavy rain and this jacket came through for her.

October 5, 2017

Pretty & comfortable. Packs down small

Great rain jacket & windbreaker. Love the color. :-)

October 2, 2017

Dry and warm!

So glad I bought this system! I wore my Torrentshell jacket and pants during a hike on Mount Rainier during the first snow of the season. It was wet and snowy and cold. My rain gear worked beautifully! The fabric,construction,fit,and pockets all function great and make this an excellent investment.

September 16, 2017

Great raincoat

I love my Torrentshell because it fits well,has pockets,and is lightweight for coming or cycling. They run small. The large fits me exactly and I am 5'7 and 120 pounds.

September 16, 2017

Perfect color. Excellent style!

I could not be happier with this rain gear. It has a perfect fit!

September 16, 2017

Love it! Super light and feels very durable

I bought this a month ago on clearance and I've loved it so far. It feels very durable,it's easy to carry,and the waist is quite flattering. I wore it biking in SF,it was super windy and my arms were pretty cold because the wind shoots through the sleeves,so I'd recommend bikers to wear long sleeves underneath.

September 16, 2017

Great Product

This is the 2nd time purchased one of these jackets. Fit great,looks great and love how practical it is.

September 10, 2017

Isn't really waterproof

I bought this jacket a while back and it worked fine at first..however after a few times wearing in the rain (normal rain,nothing extreme or torrential) it seems to have lost its 'waterproofness' completely. Even in light rain I am soaked after 20 mins. Hiking with my daughter the other day,I was soaked..might as well not have been wearin... Read Moreg the jacket,and she was completely dry wearing a lightweight adidas jacket!! ...I am very disappointed with this product as I really like the brand and my other Patagonia gear is great.

September 9, 2017

Love it!

I like the color,I bought a large just in case I need to where a sweatshirt or fleece under it.

September 9, 2017

Love it!

I bought my raincoat for college and it hasn't let me down. I absolutely love it! It's perfect! Not to heavy and mostly it keeps the rain away!

September 9, 2017

Great value

I had my eye on this jacket for a while and finally bought it about a month ago. So far,so good! Love the packability,fit,and color. It keeps me dry and the hood is very well designed. Also like that at 5'9",it fits well - sleeves and length are totally fine! I'm often a small (size 4-6) on top,and the Medium fits perfectly.

August 27, 2017

Great jacket.

Bought for trip to Alaska. Wore it almost daily with layers. Loved the adjustable sleeves and hood for wet days. Other then one day,this was my go to outerwear. Best jacket ever!

August 26, 2017

Stayed Dry!

The jacket stayed dry on the inside during a muggy rainstorm in the Sierras. Great jacket!

August 26, 2017

Great jacket

I love that this jacket is lightweight and travels well. It was perfect on a recent trip in which we were hiking in weather that required layers and waterproofing at times.

August 20, 2017

Excellent Item

Light,solid,versatile. This jacket is perfect for wilderness and city life alike. Love it.

August 19, 2017

Light weight rain jacket

love this rain jacket,perfect for packing,light weight and it's loose enough to layer

August 19, 2017

Not Waterproof!

I love this jacket,its perfect to throw on top of other base layers and light enough to carry with you in travels just in case the weather turns. I recently took this jacket with me to a very rainy city,I was glad to have it with me but when the showers began,after 5 minutes of walking under strong rain I started to feel humid under the jacket. I d... Read Moreont think this jacket is meant to be waterproof just water resistant under light rain or a quick walk under regular/strong rain. Overall that is my only complaint,its a good jacket besides that,great windbreaker.

August 19, 2017

High quality

I love this raincoat. It's lightweight but durable. I really value knowing this brand is ethical and I'm paying for that instead of just a flashy name.

August 16, 2017

Worth Every Penny

I love in Florida and bought this jacket for a vacation on an island off the coast of Maine. It was not only perfect for the rainy,cold & windy nights 10 miles out off the coast,but it's also perfect for hot weather & rain because it's so thin. It kept me warm when I needed it to but also worked for when it got hot out So I wouldn... Read More't sweat under neath it. Kept the rain out & kept me dry inside. The fit is very flattering as the women's is cut to excentuate an hour glass shape,although it looks straight in the photos on the website. I got the navy blue & it's a beautiful color & the material is very good quality. I could go on and on. I'm very impressed and would buy one of these for all my friends if I could! Highly recommend!

August 16, 2017

Missing Pockets!

I just bought this to replace my old Patagonia rain jacket that I loved,but wore into the ground. This version does not have any inside pockets and has only the two traditional hand/glove pockets. I need more pockets! Other than that it has kept me dry so far!

August 9, 2017

A staple to my travel layers

I have had this jacket for about 5 years and it has exceeded my expectations. It works well in hot summer torrential downpours as well as icy spring drizzles. The fit is deceptively good. Perfect without layers and still fits well with a thick sweater and vest. It is a year round travel essential for my wardrobe

August 2, 2017

Works also in tougher spots

I've had this jacket for years now,and I've had yet to test it in a really tough place. That test happened a few weeks ago in the Alps - I was on an approach to a high hut and a cloud rolled in,and it started to pour (there wasn't supposed to be rain around there just then,but that's mountains for you). And I mean pour: I had t... Read Moreo pour water out from my boots due to water leaking in around the boot tongue,everything in my pack not specifically protected was soaked,visibility was pretty limited - but my torso and head were pretty much dry,apart from some moisture from my body,obviously. Hood worked as well as I supposed it would (you can cinch it really well around your head,and yet it doesn't restrict visibility. Got the XL back then,can fit a thin down vest underneath if needs must. I didn't buy this for alpine stuff really,but it seems to work well in those circumstances,too.

July 18, 2017

Perfect rain jacket!

I live in Alaska,and we are constantly battling the weather. Almost all of my gear is from Patagonia and I can't say enough about all their products. This jacket is no exception,it's beautiful,durable,and great for those rainy days over my fleece pull over.

June 17, 2017

Amazing

I bought this a month ago to take to University in the Fall,but ended up using it on my trip to Scotland. It was perfect for the weather and outdoor activities.

June 10, 2017

Well designed and made

Nice color and kept me dry. Nice features and I like the zip vent. Nice style too

June 5, 2017

Light,reliable and sleek.

I've had my Torrentshell for something like 4 or 5 years and it's served me extremely well. It fits true to size,is super light and easy to wear and has definitely served it's purpose,whether I was canoe-camping,hiking through mist and rain or using it as a shell when belaying on a windy day. It's starting to wear out after all ... Read Morethis time,but it's definitely a staple of mine,in the city or in the outdoors.

June 3, 2017

Great jacket!

I bought this jacket in the sea green color,which matches my nano puff jacket,as I was going to Vancouver BC. The jacket was perfect to wear over the nano puff and also thin enough to roll up and put it in my small tote just in the case of a rain shower. Love the jacket and so perfect for travelling.

May 31, 2017

The perfect rain coat!

I bought this coat for the second time (lost the first one) and use it everyday in the Seattle winters as well as for hiking and skiing. It's sized to add a fleece layer and really is waterproof. I'd add to the length a little bit and would add some stretch around the base,it feels super rigid especially if you gain a few extra pounds. Ot... Read Moreher than that and the limited color selection,I love it.

May 30, 2017

versatile item on my packing list!

Extremely satisfied with this purchase. Fits well even with warm layers below,pit zips are a life saver & it packs down quite small for the durability it offers. I bring it with me on backpacking trips and keep it in my car for rogue rainy days here in the NM desert! Favorite features: the hood,long length,& color!

May 25, 2017

Patagonia does what the say they do!

I had a Torrentshell Jacket that started to peel on the inside. I sent it back to Patagonia for repair. It couldn't be repaired so instead I received a brand new jacket at no charge! How awesome is that! Patagonia's products are high qualityand long lasting,and the Torrrentshell Jacket is a perfect example. I wear it in the pouring rain a... Read Morend stay dry. I love the zippers on the side that provide ventilation. It's perfect for all kinds of precipitation.

May 21, 2017

Durable! Great product!

Fits perfectly and is a great layering piece. Keeps me warm and dry with the rain! I want this in every color.

May 16, 2017

Just what I needed

I bought this for my trip to New Zealand. Weight is a factor,so I bought this as it is super light and compact jacket. Just what I needed to get through any wet water,and light enough to hike in,the pit zips are a nice feature.

May 13, 2017

New,improved features but want more

I purchased this as a replacement for the same jacket purchased many years ago. I notice improvements in the front packet as there is no longer velcro which was very annoying. I would like it if the zipper was the kind that zip from the top or the bottom...just saying that when you dit with the jacket zipped there is a lot of pressure on the lower ... Read Moreconnection. Otherwise I love this purchase

May 11, 2017

What I wanted

Have only used this jacket once since buying,but very pleased. I was on a boat in very rough seas with rain as well. kept me dry and cozy. I am 5'4",120 lb,bought a small. Fits as I wanted,roomy enough for fleece underneath but not hanging on me.

May 6, 2017

The Best Trendy Rainjacket Available

Since late 2016 I have had the Torrentshell Jacket sit in my cart. I have bought The North Face and Columbia rainjackets and they have been proven to be water-resistant,not water-proof. I was skeptical purchasing this jacket because of its price and the fear that it was going to fall flat like the others. I bought this as a birthday present for mys... Read Moreelf and it have yet to let me down. I wear it to school often and even on days it is downpouring,adding to the half mile walk to the building I am dry. Even after washing 3 times now,it has held up to its water-proof expectations. Sizing is pretty accurate too. I would recommend you order what size of hoodie/sweatshirts you wear,so you can layer if needed.

May 2, 2017

Fits great!

My husband bought me this jacket and matching pants for my birthday. I usually look dumpy in outdoor gear because I'm a small woman but these pieces fit me perfectly and look great Thanks Patagonia!

April 29, 2017

Great jacket!

Bought the Women's Torrentshell Jacket a month ago prior to a trip. I needed something that could be used alone or for layering with wind and rain and span temeperatures ranging from the 20'sF to 70'sF while traveling through Washington,Montana,Oregon,and Alaska. Typical Patagonia: great fit,looks great alone or as a shell with layer... Read Moreing underneath. Fits true to size for me. I have ordered Women's L from Patagonia forever and most items fit as long as they are not Slim Fit.

April 28, 2017

If you want to stay dry,don't buy this coat.

I bought this raincoat in December in preparation for a three month trip to Ireland where I would be spending a lot of times outdoors. The coat worked fine for a couple days of light drizzle,but as soon as it rained harder,I was wet within 20 minutes. After this point only three weeks into my trip,the coat continually failed to keep me dry for more... Read More than 15 minutes. I even washed it (as directed by a Patagonia representative) in hopes of improving its performance,but nothing improved. I am now living in rainy Sitka,Alaska and constantly damp because my five-month-old raincoat isn't even water-resistant.

April 20, 2017

Nice and lightweight

This is a great lightweight rain jacket that you can easily fit another sweater or jacket under. Im 5'4 135lbs with 34D chest and went with the size small after repeatedly trying on both the small and medium with and without jackets underneath. I found that I was swimming in the medium even with a better sweater jacket underneath.

April 16, 2017

The Pit Zips are Gold

I got this recently to have a lightweight rain jacket and it certainly works well. I live in a humid area and in the summer there's torrential rain so wearing a regular rain jacket is too heavy and is like being steamed alive. The weight and durability is great and I use the pit zips all the time.

April 10, 2017

Nice Jacket

This is a comfortable jacket. Just wish it had an inside pocket(s).

April 9, 2017

Be prepared!

Excellent lightweight rain jacket that's easily packed.

April 9, 2017

Lightweight and great!

Great lightweight,breathable and so weatherproof! This is my favorite rain jacket so far!

April 8, 2017

Nice

Bought this jacket for spring skiing and misty biking days. Love it.

April 8, 2017

Couldn't imaging this NOT being my rain jacket!

Patagonia is one of my all time favourite brands. With strong sustainability and customer service foundation,they continue to evolve and advance on both fronts. I have had this rain jacket for several years. It's light but durable and great for walking,hiking and adventure travel. Mine is black and I love that it retains its dark colour lookin... Read Moreg practically like new. The hood comes in handy instead of an umbrella:) Great layering piece too.

April 8, 2017

Love the fit

I love my new rain jacket. Fits nicely and keeps me dry. I haven't been outside in a heavy rain for very long but so far all is great!

April 6, 2017

YAY Torrentshell!

I'm a teen,5'6' 130 lb.,typically size 4,but I bought this in a L so it has plenty of room to layer over other warmer jackets. Based on my experience with nano puff sizing,the M would have probably fit me fine in the arms (like the L),but better in the torso.

March 25, 2017

Ideal

Immediate- right style,right color,truly waterproof

March 25, 2017

Great rain jacket

Great rain jacket. I would recommend sizing up if you are in between sizes and have a broad shoulders.

March 20, 2017

All in all a great buy!

My old raincoat was literally disintegrating (not patagonia). so I picked this up during the sale. The brick color was not my first choice,but the price was right,and It's actually very beautiful. Packs small! Runs a little small,but I can get a base layer underneath no problem.

March 18, 2017

Lightweight,waterproof,cuts wind

This jacket is perfect,it's lightweight keeps me dry and warm!

March 18, 2017

my favorite jacket!!

I wear this jacket literally everywhere,it always keeps you just the right temperature. It's functional and fashionable. Another win for Patagonia!

March 11, 2017

Great fit

I bought this in red,which is a nice deep red,not bright. The fit is very flattering. The sleeves are a bit long. The hood/collar is a little stiff and I'm hoping the fabric relaxes as I wear it more. Would definitely recommend this jacket.

March 5, 2017

Just what I wanted!

I love the fit the color and the light weight of this jacket. Great for our weather here in pine knoll shores nc !

March 4, 2017

Amazing jacket!!!

I bought this not that long ago and this jacket is literally the best. I can wear it anywhere and it's not too hot and not too cold,I can layer and it's amazing.

March 4, 2017

Great lightweight waterproof jacket

This is perfect for Seattle weather. It's also great for backpacking.

February 27, 2017

Great for rain or wind!

I'm 5'10'' and 125 lbs and bought a size medium so that I could layer. Fits perfectly over my better sweater fleece -- super comfy and warm. I love it! It really blocks the wind nicely. Sleeve are perfect length,but I have very long arms. I also love that the hood is very large.

February 26, 2017

Generally good,generous fit

I've worn this for wet snowfall and as a waterproof layer for sledding but haven't had a real rain to test it in yet,so this is mostly a fit review. I bought this on sale after years of thinking about getting one to replace my old,no longer waterproof jacket. I bought the small remembering that the XS had been a little tight around the s... Read Morehoulders when I tried it on in store maybe a year ago. Possibly the sizing has changed,or possibly there's a large gap between XS and S,but this one is definitely a little big on me. I actually like that for the sleeves because it can easily go over puffy jackets and they are plenty long (all Pata sleeves are long on me). The extra room in the torso means the zipper kinks in an awkward way over my belly,but honestly it's a rain jacket so who really cares? I like having the big hood that can go over a helmet,and this one has two separate locations for cinching - the back cinch does the top of the hood,the chin cinches do the face - which is way easier to remember/figure out with cold fingers than my old jacket where they're right next to each other. The front zips up nice and high,but is not tight over my face and neck like many jackets - it's comfortable on its own,and will definitely fit over other fully zipped jackets. The soft lining over the face is also nice. The zipper and zip pockets work smoothly and the pockets are plenty big for hands or cell phone. Overall I'm happy with this and looking forward to a jacket that doesn't soak through next time it rains. It's not the most attractive fit though,so if that matters to you I recommend trying on in store or looking for one with more shape to it.

February 25, 2017

Great jacket!

I'm very happy I bought this product! Great quality!

February 25, 2017

Great fit,looks perfect

I love this jacket. My red Patagonia rain jacket from 10 plus years ago finally quit holding out moisture. I got a size up and a blue,which I'd always wanted anyway. It fits well and is long enough. I wear a 2 or extra small in clothing but got a small to fit a sweater underneath. It's perfect. It's so worth it to spend a smudge more... Read More and buy from a responsible company,and get a well fitting long lasting product. I do wish the labels were less prominent,but I always wish that when there is a brand name visible.

February 25, 2017

Just what I need for my trip to Alaska in July.

It is lightweight and the color is great for me.it fits great.

February 20, 2017

Runs tight

Bought this in small. Looking at the picture,the jacket appears to be straight cut and claims to be regular fit. I wear a small top and a size 2-4 pants. This jacket was fitted,but was tight if I wore anything underneath other than a long sleeved tee shirt. Will be returned.

February 8, 2017

Not waterproof!

I purchased this jacket a week ago. The fit was great,and I the jacket has great features. BUT,today I wore it for the first time in the rain for a hike. Water was soaking through the material after just 30 minutes. So disappointed!

February 4, 2017

Love it

Love this jacket. Bought it to replace my 20+ year old version of it.

February 4, 2017

Love the look!

Bought for my 18 year old daughter. She loves it. Arrived quickly.

January 21, 2017

Another great jacket!

I was very upset when Irealized I had lost my Patagonia rain jacket. Although I'd had it for a long time (10 years?). It still looked great and kept me dry. So after accepting the loss of an old friend,I knew that the only acceptable replacement would be another Patagonia jacket. Not only does my new friend keep me as dry,but it's even l... Read Moreighter weight,so even better for traveling. Thanks Patagonia for another great product!

January 21, 2017

Love,love,love!

It is working great! Light-weight,rain resistant,and enough to keep me warm. Only worn it twice so far and I really like it.

January 21, 2017

Great Everyday Rain Jacket

I work on a boat in Hawai'i,and between torrential downpours and skiffing out to the mooring,I have quite a bit of use for a rain jacket. I purchased this one several months ago,and it has not let me down. It keeps me dry and breaks some of the wind. On really hot days,it isn't the most breathable,and the zipper presses against my neck so... Read Moremewhat uncomfortably when I zip it all the way up,but those are minor irritations to what I think is a wonderful product. It is affordable,it does its job well,and I always feel stylish wearing it.

January 21, 2017

Comfortable, lightweight, waterproof and warm!

Bought this a month ago for a trip to New Zealand and was not disappointed. Perfect coat for the unpredictable weather. Lightweight to pack and carry and pull out as needed but kept me warm and dry in the cold windy and rainy days that hit New Zealand (love New Zealand BTW!).

January 15, 2017

Packable waterproof jacket.

This jacket serves many purposes for me. It is packable,lightweight,waterproof,windproof and is still durable in the backcountry. Bonus-hood fits over my helmet. I only wish it had a chest pocket to access phone or notebook while wearing a pack belt.

January 12, 2017

Great jacket,great customer service!

This is a replacement jacket for one I bought several years ago through another retailer. This time the sales people at the store told me how to take care of it so it would last even longer than the last one! I love Patagonia and everything the company stands for,and will encourage everyone to buy their outdoor gear from Patagonia.

January 12, 2017

Casual and cute!

This is my favorite rain jacket. It is very think so it easily fits in my bags,which is very convenient. Would recommend.

January 11, 2017

Good,simple rainjacket

Pros: It keeps out the rain,hood works great,fits well,looks good. Waist and hood cinches work well. Cons: Frustrstingly,the main zipper often catches when attempting to zip up and the lack of a chest pocket is a notable inconvenience (something I now see as a must-have in my next rain jacket).

January 11, 2017

Not at all as expected:(

I bought this jacket for my daughter who is a tour guide on her college campus. I couldn't believe for the price how thin & short the jacket is. It also had a strange smell. We washed it but it still slightly smells. We love everything else we've purchased from Patagonia but not this jacket.

January 11, 2017

Excellent jacket

Great rain jacket perfect for hiking and everyday in the rain.

January 11, 2017

Great Quality,Great Fit

I bought this as a gift. The quality of the jacket is great and the fit is perfect. Love Patagonia!

January 11, 2017

My daughter loves it!

I bought this jacket for my daughter who went off to college in Washington and it's been a lifesaver! She loves it!

January 11, 2017

worked out great

Bought jacket for trip to patagonia,got days of rain,and it held up great!

January 11, 2017

Great!

This is a great,high quality rain coat. I'm super happy with it. I got the purple color and it's a lighter,more muted purple than it appears to be on the screen,which was a pleasant surprise. The hood is a bit big for my head and obscures my vision sometimes (especially if the coat isn't zipped all the way up),but no biggie.

January 11, 2017

Durable

I think this jacket is a great middle of the road water resistant raincoat I do wish however they would've not change the plain zipper for a zipper with the flap. the flap pops open and it also doesn't give an extra color in the jacket for pop but the fit is great and it does what it's supposed to

January 11, 2017

Great Lightweight Jacket!

I bought this jacket for my wife for Christmas. She loves the jacket and recommends it highly due to the quality of the material and construction.

January 4, 2017

LOVE!

I'm so happy with my purchase! I ordered the XXS in Black (I'm 4'11,100lbs). My ultralight down hoody (XS) fits wonderfully underneath for added warmth when needed. Thank you Patagonia for offering little sizes! I hope to see more colors and options in XXS (smaller hats would be nice too) :) P.S. I chatted with a very nice customer s... Read Moreervice rep online who helped me out with the dimensions to ensure I ordered the correct size.

November 24, 2016

Functional Jacket

Needed lightweight raincoat to protect down in drizzly San Francisco Bayarea weather (*when it does rain). Very efficient,functional. Ordered a XL to layer in the color Sulphur Yellow (SULY) very nice!

November 24, 2016

horrible job at keeping you dry

I bought this a month and a half ago for a three month research project in the Area de Conservati'n Guanacste and in the Monteverde Cloud Rainforest,both located in Costa Rica,and have been severely underwhelmed by the reliability of this rain jacket. As a long time Patagonia customer,I was excited to get my rain jacket and have something whic... Read Moreh I thought would be a useful piece of gear. The first time I wore the jacket,it worked well. However,after the third of fourth time wearing,I noticed that after less than 20 minutes in the rain,I was soaked. The rain just seems to soak through from the outer layer,and never fails to leave me wet and freezing,even if the rain is light. Another gal doing research with me bought the exact same jacket,and we both noticed the same problem. After a week,it had become completely useless in protecting me for the rain-- I'm glad I also brought a Columbia rain jacket with me,because it's been much more effective at keeping me dry.

October 28, 2016

Lightweight and stylish

I bought two of these a few weeks ago so I could keep one at work and one at home (always good to be prepared). It is a bit bigger than I would've liked in the middle,I ordered a S and am probably an XS,however I will be able to wear it over bigger jackets now. My biggest issue with raincoats in the past has been the deterioration (flaking) ... Read Moreof the water resistant liner,however this jacket liner seems to be seamlessly connected,and I have a feeling will not be an issue. Thanks Patagonia!

October 23, 2016

perfect for damp seattle weather!

Well made rain shell that fits beautifully. Very water resistant. I have not been wet yet,even in a steady downpour. Jacket shakes out well and drys quickly. I am 5 9,and weigh 130. A small fits perfectly.

October 20, 2016

Hood fits over my bike helmet!

Yep,it does. This is a great feature that I use quite often as I bike nearly every day regardless of weather in the Pacific Northwest. I ordered a L and I like that it is roomy enough to layer over top of another coat or fleece (which is what I will be doing in the winter). I am normally a M in most Patagonia shirts,but I like L in coats and jacket... Read Mores. The weight of the jacket is great,pretty light and the material is not noisy. The sleeves are long (but not too long,they don't look sloppy) which I like,especially when leaning over on my bike. The only weird thing is that there are no snaps or anything to close the flap that covers the zipper. Every other rain jacket I've owned has that feature. It hasn't been a problem until the other day when I was hiking and it started pouring rain. I'm pretty sure water leaked through the zipper. My shirt was wet there and only there. It wasn't a huge deal,but something to be aware of. Everywhere else was perfectly dry. That's the only reason I'm giving it 4 stars.

October 18, 2016

Great,lightweight,packable water coverage

Wonderful piece--good price point,very functional in town or in the field.

October 9, 2016

Great rain coat!

For summer rain it is not too hot. When it is cold can layer underneath to keep warm. Love it!

October 5, 2016

Sick rain coat

I bought this because I needed a good rain coat that actually had a lining,and this surpasses my expectation.

October 3, 2016

Love my Torrentshell!

This jacket is comfortable,lightweight,and keeps your dry! The colors are great. I love that there are zipper flaps under the arms for ventilation.

October 3, 2016

Great in a serious rain storm

I used this for the first time during a significant monsoon storm in the bottom of the Grand Canyon. It was great. I was completely dry inside while out working in the storm. It is lightweight to pack and held up well in harsh conditions.

October 2, 2016

Great raincoat

This is a perfect rain coat. I used it for rainy or windy days surf fishing in the fall. Also use it for every day rainy days running to stores,traveling to work,watching sports. Hood is perfect for windy,rainy days. Great coverage. I have this coat in several colors. Love it

October 1, 2016

LOVE it but would go a size down!

I bought this last month to use hiking in the rain and commuting on my bike. It works wonderful but its a little large on me. I am 5'3 and 115lbs and bought a small. I should of bought an XS. I layer under it with a cotton sweatshirt and I still have room. Other than that I love this jacket. Keeps me dry and the hood works great.

October 1, 2016

Awesome rain resistance!

I am so happy with this rain jacket! I was kept completely dry while stuck in a down pour. The fit is a little tight in the middle but overall I love the jacket!

October 1, 2016

Great Waterproof Jacket!

I wore this in a steady downpour during a half-hour bike ride and stayed completely dry! It's a great product and great value.

October 1, 2016

Fits Perfectly!

My torrentshell is perfect for cooler rainy weather and it is honestly pretty cute. I love it! I am officially a Patagonia fan!

October 1, 2016

Love it!

I feel no wind and no rain - love it. I stood at the helm of the ferry crossing the Delaware Bay during a tropical storm and I was warm and felt no wind

October 1, 2016

Perfect raincoat!

I bought this over a month ago to stay dry during fall soccer and flag football games. Not only have I stayed dry but I've been able to add layers below to stay warm. Great way to stay dry!

September 19, 2016

Zipper gets stuck

I bought this rain jacket in August 2016 at a Patagonia store on vacation due to unexpected inclement weather while at the jazz festival in Telluride Colorado. I absolutely love the jacket and its neat features, except....the fabric from the placket was getting stuck in the zipper every time I put it on. I considered returning it, but due to the ra... Read Morein every store in Telluride was sold out of rain jackets! Once home, I decided to sew the placket down by adding a second row of stitching to the finished jacket, effectively keeping the placket fabric away from the zipper pull tab. It worked like a dream! I've attached two photos of my handiwork. I realize that not everyone can sew, therefore I'm suggesting to Patagonia that they revise the design of this wonderful jacket to save customers the frustration that I had! If the zipper would have been designed so that it did not get stuck, I would have given this jacket 5 stars.

September 16, 2016

Great first impression!

Just received this jacket in the mail and it's exactly what I was looking for: a lightweight waterproof shell. The product photos look pretty pouffy, but the jacket is actually super thin. I'm between a M-L in American sizes (depending where you shop). I ordered a large and it's pretty big on me, which will be good for layering. The ... Read Moresleeves are a bit long, but maybe I'll like that when I'm caught in the rain.. 4 stars because it's not a perfect fit. Not sure how well it'll perform, but will update my review when I have something to add :)

August 22, 2016

Great jacket

This jacket does what it is supposed to do--keeps you dry. It has a nice roomy fit (I got a medium but I have a small frame) to layer under. I tested it in a good rain shower while walking my dog. The hood works well and I didn't get sweaty. I wish it had a double zipper and the arms are a bit long (even for a medium) which is why I didn'... Read Moret rate it "excellent". Everything else is great.

August 18, 2016

All Weather!

I LOVE this coat.. it got me through the summer rain storms of the mountains in Alberta and the cold harsh winters of Northern Ontario. I use this coat as a shell for my down coats and it works great! Its water proof and wind resistant to the max. I wore it almost every day for 8 months straight and it held up great! Loved it so much that I had to ... Read Morebuy another one.

July 22, 2016

missing the old style of this jacket!

This jacket is nice and I'm sure it will get the job done but I had an older Torrentshell jacket and I loved that jacket - I think it was much nicer. The air vent was much longer,which was really nice because this jacket can get really hot when wearing it during warmer weather. Also the pockets were huge - went the entire length of the front o... Read Moref the jacket. Also when you fold this jacket up into the pocket there is nothing to hook it from. I think the fit is true to size. It's not too big or too small. It allows for some layers underneath. I am fairly tall and sometimes have problems with clothing fitting because my chest,waist,and height proportions aren't the standard. My chest,torso length and sleeve length usually requires at least a L when I usually need a S to fit my waist,I got a M and it fits great.

June 26, 2016

Perfect weight

I wasn't sure if I'd like this given the weight but it's perfect. I like that I can wear it in spring and fall and I can layer it with my vests for some added warmth. It's the prefect jacket for inclement weather and it folds up into nothing. Wore it to an outdoor concert in May at night. Love.

June 25, 2016

Kept me dry in three thunderstorms so far

I really really love this rain jacket. The color is great and the zipper openings near the armpit comes in handy. More than once I've had to run to my car in the rain and luckily this keeps my torso and arms try. The only bad thing I can think of is that I put some money in the side pocket and forgot to zip it up and now the money is gone. Abs... Read Moreolutely a great lightweight jacket

June 22, 2016

Best for Your Dollar

Living in WA I have had a lot of rain jackets (Northface,Columbia,off-brands,the works). This one has been the best for my buck. I have the violet blue... and I love this thing. It has a longer waist to cover full length of torso,room in bust (but not too much room) for someone a bit fuller,and contour to identify your womanhood. I am able to easi... Read Morely add a mid-layer. This jacket is comfy and durable. From the Tundra of AK to the Rockies of CO.... it travels well as it packs up in itself.

June 4, 2016

Love my shell

I use the Torrentshell mostly for work,but took it to Boston

May 19, 2016

Perfect for Washington,DC

I own a Patagonia Winter Jacket as well ... I Love the TorrentShell Jacket,my only concern is ... i found a small spot on it and tried to clean it with the instructions that I found on line,however,it really didn't work that well.

March 28, 2016

Not the old Torrentshell quality

I owned an older Torrentshell from a few years back. The newer one is lower quality,how so? Zipper flap does not have velcro,flaps open when active and moving such as in skiing or motorcycling,the result is water comes in the zipper and is not waterproof like the old shell. No pocket inside like the old one. Fit......it's smaller,narrower t... Read Morehrough shoulders,and shorter. Don't like this. Material...not as durable. Colors...could offer more choices and less blue shades,more feminine earthy tones would be nice. I would not recommend this product based on the above.

March 21, 2016

Great Jacket

Great jacket, beautiful color! I purchased the Bandana Blue with Howling Turquoise. I absolutely love the color. It's a great piece to layer. I've worn in the rain and water beads off! It's awesome.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches