burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Micro Puff Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Micro Puff® Hoody

4.8/5
True To Size
January 26, 2023

I love my micro puff hoodie

It is light weight, close fitting, warm and a little water repellent. I wear it under a heavy shell on very cold days when working as a ski patroller. When in the back country it is my go to puffy at the top of long climbs. Finally I grab it on all but the coldest days when heading out to work or dinner.

January 25, 2023

Versatile

Lightweight but still warm. The most versatile jacket I have ever owned. Comfortable in the 50s but still toasty when its cold. Still warm when wet as well.

January 24, 2023

Great Parka but fragile

I've now owned three of these Micro Puff Hoody parkas. They're extremely warm for their weight and stuff incredibly small. I often carry two of them because they weigh less and are just as warm as one larger one. However, there's a price to pay: the material is very fragile. You can pass by a twig in the forest, on your approach, and... Read More the material rips opens and out pours the fill. My first parka has so many NOSO patches on it, I could have bought a new parka for what I spent in patches, but Patagonia no longer makes that bright orange color, which pops in photos. The zipper on my second parka blew out after a 150 days of skiing. Patagonia refunded my purchase price, and I now have bought a third Micro Puff Hoody. The new Sequoia Red color is not as vibrant in photos as the previous red, which for me is important, as I use it in photographs. Bottom line, this is a great parka, but it must be handled with care, and even so, you'll end up patching it.

January 24, 2023

Super light - Super warm

This hooded jacket is extremely warm for its weight and bulk. The hood fits snug around my head, so a helmet would be worn on top of the garment, and I have room for a base layer or light-weight shirt underneath. That's all that's needed due to the quality of the insulation. If it really cold (below freezing), I add a waterproof shell ove... Read Morertop. This jacket is so comfortable, I sometimes sleep with it on! Additionally, the jacket compresses to an impressively small size. Overall... I love this jacket. It's an excellent product!

January 18, 2023

Comfortable and warm

I have had this jacket for a few months and have really enjoyed this jacket. It is nice and light, and being able to stuff it inside of itself is a great feature as well. The jacket is super warm, but when paired up with another layer I haven't been cold yet. I live in Minnesota and highly recommend this to anyone who needs a jacket that provi... Read Moredes a lot of warmth and has a good look to it as well.

January 13, 2023

The best weight to warmth ratio you will ever see!

This thing is so warm for its weight. I am shocked at how it has handled Chicago winter weather. It doesn't fair well below around 25F with just the jacket, but I walk outside alot during the winter months in Illionois and when the temp is in the low 30s this thing kicks ass! I love how it retains its warmth when it gets wet. I would say it ru... Read Morens just a tad small on my 5"11 body but i don't think i would exchange it for a large since it hugs body tight and thats how its designed to be. Cant wait to use it on my fishing trips.

January 8, 2023

Perfect in every way!

Versatile, lightweight but super warm, stylish. Everything you would want in a jacket.

January 6, 2023

Great Warmth in Lightweight Package

I love this jacket's performance and versatility. It is the warmest jacket for its weight. It's my go-to jacket for backcountry adventures in cool to cold temperatures.

January 6, 2023

The Best

Best jacket for all purposes. Light, warm and stylish. Customer service is also second to none.

January 5, 2023

Nice light jacket

I bought this jacket because I wanted something lighter weight and breathable. It's much lighter with similar warmth to the nano puff. Overall really happy with it, except the fit. The arms, shoulders, and chest are great fit, but the mid section/ belly area is excessively baggy. I own a down sweater jacket in same size and it's not like ... Read Morethis.

Response from Patagonia
January 19, 2023

Hi Brent, we're sorry to hear about the sizing issue through the torso of your Men's Micro Puff Hoody. Please take advantage of our [free exchanges](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

January 1, 2023

Perfect jacket

I was skeptical it would be sufficiently warm because it was so light but I have been more than pleased. With layers it works for me from 55 to 20 on walks, playing golf (great freedom of movement) and dry weather skiing. If it wasnt for Patagonias embracing of the false narrative of anthropogenic climate disaster, l would be completely happy.

December 30, 2022

Go

I have owned two of these so far.. Great lightweight insulation piece. Only drawback is the zipper which fails after extended use. 200+ days.

Response from Patagonia
January 18, 2023

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry to hear about the zipper issues. Your purchases are covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee), so please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Service or visit one of our Patagonia-owned retail store locations for a repair or return. We'll be happy to help!

December 27, 2022

adios down

i think you improved the jacket by changing the shoulder design.. the older ones were without a shoulder seam but the new design has a seam and has a better.. keep on keepin on you designers

December 20, 2022

Very light and warm!

I wear it around the house, to work, around town, backpacking, climbing, and ski touring. It's a very light weight piece of gear that even when damp should keep you warm. I ordered a 2nd one in because you never know when they might discontinue them.

December 9, 2022

Exactly what I need

Very light jacket. Very warm for its weight and thickness. Fit is perfect. It is not flashy, company name is not huge as if I am is advertising for them

December 5, 2022

WE?

Patagonia's Owned By The Earth Now. There IS No More WE, It's A Jacket: Lighter Than Smoke, Hotter Than Hades, Xross The River Styx Use It 4 A Pillow Use It 4 A Sleeping Bag: B Snugger Than A CAT ON A HOT TIN ROOF. It Captures Heat, Backed Zippers Tight Cuffs, B The Science Of Warm: A Hood Zips Past The Mouth: Keeps Me From Talking And Te... Read Morelling Lies, U Know: Namaste: An Inner Being Looks Into The Other: Only The Other IS The Earth.

December 5, 2022

Very warm

Graduated from a nano puff to a micro puff and it's much warmer than the nano puff. I'm usually a M but M felt restrictive over a light wool sweater so sized up to a L and I just fold the sleeves up on themselves about an inch - works fine.

December 3, 2022

Very impressive jacket

I've owned this jacket since 2018 and in the past 4 years put it through the wringer. Lots of everyday wear, climbing, and hiking. Pound for pound it is the warmest thing I own and sheds wind amazingly well given how thin it is. I literally can't justify NOT throwing it in my pack for pretty much every climb we go on and its replaced man... Read Morey of my other layers. The hood zipping up over the chin also adds a surprising amount of warmth. Easily fits under helmets. I like it so much that I bought a second one in the same size and when its extra cold just layer the two. It picks up little needle sized holes where a small tuft of insulation will start to come out from abrasion on rocks. I use some of the gear tape Patagonia sells to patch it up and its as good as new.

November 19, 2022

Warm but not waterproof

The jacket is really nice and warm. However, after wearing it in the rain, I felt the rain water go through the jacket onto my skin once it had penetrated the material. I was disappointed after realizing that it isnt 100% waterproof. The reason why I got this jacket was because I thought it was waterproof and wind proof . Especially considering the... Read More price. Overall, it is a really nice and warm jacket but not fully waterproof. If it were fully waterproof, I would give it 5 stars. However, I give it 4.

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2022

Hi Evan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear about the disapointment with the jacket. This piece is water resistant, but not waterproof. We'd encourage you to take a look at some of our [rain jackets](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-waterproof-rain-jackets-vests) if you're interested in a waterproof piece.

November 14, 2022

Really like the jacket still

Really like the jacket still need to test it in the snow but so far so good. Fits well, very warm for the weight and like the pockets. The only thing is my friends dog ripped the inside pocket - any ideas on how to patch this jacket. The material is fairly strong ,but not super tough so bound to be rips from branches and various activities and woul... Read Mored be good to know Patagonia options to patch.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Michael! We are also very sorry to hear about the rip that occurred to your hoody. Please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*bjlfsp*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2OTE1ODU4MC4xOTEuMC4xNjY5MTU4NTgwLjAuMC4w) at any time so we can get you one of our Tenacious Tape Patch Kits. This way you can get that rip patched up as soon as possible!

November 8, 2022

What I expected

I have been holding off buying this jacket for the past 2 years. After reading all of the reviews and watching countless videos I pulled the trigger. Its super light, super warm, and very packable. I went with the hooded version for extra protection from the wind and cold in Northern Wi. I will review this again after I have tested it throughout th... Read Moree winter months.

Response from Patagonia
November 17, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to send us some feedback. We look forward to your review after you've had a chance to test it out!

November 3, 2022

excellent and loved it.

excellent and loved it.

November 3, 2022

Warm

Comfortable, lightweight and war. I enjoy the feel and fit

November 2, 2022

Great jacket , But honestly prefer the 1first version of Micro-puff

Love the micro Puff have since the beginning, but honestly prefer the 1first version of the fabric and designs was much more creative than now its totally Classic rectangle design!. Before was like very unic !..

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2022

We're sorry that the new revised design has been a disappointment. Please reach out to our Patagonia-owned store in your area or to our Customer Service team for a return. We'll be happy to help!

November 1, 2022

Light and warm

True to size fit, Ive owned many different down and synthetic coats from Patagonia and this one is so light weight and warm it works perfect for me. Highly recommend

October 30, 2022

Stellar warmth. Wonderful movement.

I purchased this jacket after owning a DAS light for the past couple years and though I was hesitant I really love this jacket. Light and packs small all well keeping me warm. Durability is sacrificed at the weight that arrives with that choice and that something you have to accept. With this in mind, Patagonia has done a stellar job at making it d... Read Moreurable for what it is. I have already gotten a few holes in mine since the start of the season but as expected when climbing Yosemite granite. Only gripe is first few times it took some gentle muscle to pack it into the pocket, but since its been broken in, it stuffs like a charm. Cheers. And it layers incredibly nice under my DAS and DAS light if I need extra warmth.

October 25, 2022

Great jacket

Very great jacket. I love it. I was between this and the nano puff, but after research went with this. Material seems to be strong despite what some claim. And the jacket is super warm. There are holes that you can see when you hold it up to light though. But I really love this jacket. I also like the pattern. And its a matte finish instead of glos... Read Moresy like previous models.

October 24, 2022

Its light but warm

I need it a light down jacket but warm and this is the one !!! I wear this to everywhere I go. Its also stylish and I get compliments.

October 19, 2022

Great hooded jacket! One flaw for me.

Micro Puff Hoody... Super light, super packable, and warm. I much prefer this tech to the Nano-puff. The new outer fabric is really nice. (Although I didn't hate the old fabric.) It seems more durable and not as shiny. M in this jacket almost fits me. (I'm 6'0, 174, and fit.) Usually I have a problem with Patagonia M in the shoulde... Read Morers/back/arms being too tight, but this fits perfect. However, when zipped up all the way, with the hood down, the collar digs into my chin/throat. I don't have this issue with other Patagonia jackets I've tried in M. (e.g. the new down sweater in M is fine when the collar is zipped all the way up, with the hood down.) Because of this, I had to send it back. Zipping up a winter jacket all the way is crucial for me. Great hoody, otherwise!

October 11, 2022

Best jacket I own

Just got this jacket and love it so much I bought my wife one as well. Its warm, (tested in an Alaskan wind storm) it stays warm when wet (tested in Alaskan rain storm), and the cabin gold color is awesome. My one bit of feedback is I wish the jacket had more of an active cut to it (Im an athletic 6-6, 210lbs and the xl is a little boxy through the... Read More torso). That being said, The draw string around the waist makes it possible to add a little more shape to the jacket and it fits just fine.

October 10, 2022

Warm. Soft. Light.

I went out on a limb and purchased this for my fall outfit. I live in northern Maine and it can be quite chilly in the fall. It gets down to 40° and I have no issue wearing this with only a T-shirt or long sleeve shirt underneath. Easy to layer. The material inside is quite soft and the jacket overall is very lightweight. Of course the quality is t... Read Moreop notch with traditional Patagonia sizing.

October 3, 2022

Super light and packable.

A super light and packable piece. Easy to put in a pack whether you are out on the water or hiking into the backcountry for a few turns! I also keep one in my car both summer and winter in case the weather changes.

September 16, 2022

Comfortable as a stand alone

Comfortable as a stand alone jacket or as a 2nd layer on colder days

September 1, 2022

Must Have! Super light and warm!

I have worn this jacket for 3 seasons now and I just have ordered another one. The first one is still alive and well but has few patches of duct tape on it. It is my primary jacket for ski touring and I rarely break out the heavy puffy unless I am sitting around in the snow for long time. I have used this in temps at around -25c and while lightly m... Read Moreoving around. I love the stash pockets! They fit my 110mm skins. The synthetic nature of the insulation combined with the lightness and the loft of it makes for an amazing combo in the snow where it is inevitable that it gets wet. It packs super small and keeps the loft. Highly recommend this for use in the mountain and for a casual around town stroll!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches