Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.62 /5

Filter Reviews

All 99 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Jacket

4.62
True To Size
March 30, 2021

Surprisingly warm

I purchase this jacket because a friend has one. And Im so pleased. Its surprisingly warm. Not wind proof but with a layer you will be warm and toasty. Great job Patagonia

March 18, 2021

NANO-AIR

SLIM CUT , WARM, LIGHT WEIGHT, IF IT IS VERY COLD I DOUBLE UP WITH 2 JACKETS!!! NICE COMPANY WITH ACCURATE PRODUCT DESCRIPTIONS

March 11, 2021

Versatile

Love that jacket because it keeps me comfortable from 20-65 degrees, I layer it with thin Capilene T-shirt and Im good to go. I can just walk or run - I never freeze or sweat. Looks good in black, can be stored in its own chest pocket, feather light and compressible. Its my second Nano Air Jacket and I can say the old one held up well, just along n... Read Moreeck a bit of wear - maybe a different material on inside of collar would make it more sturdy. All things considered 5 stars.

March 8, 2021

Just right and super comfy

Awesome hoody. I use it to lounge around the house and it keeps me feeling comfy all day. The fit isnt slim, its true to size. Would definitely recommend!

March 2, 2021

Basic but very good piece of kit

Bought this item on sale as I'd had my eye on it for a while and price was too good to pass up. Once it arrived, I tried it on and found it to be excellent quality (as always! Thanks Patagonia). However, I found myself a bit disappointed by the lack of features. Sleeve cuffs are a bit loose which makes sense for breathability but some method t... Read Moreo snug them down in cold conditions would be useful. Same goes for the hem(?) which is open and great when you want breathability but no way to close that area off so requires another layer with that capability which means more weight, more cost, etc., etc. Overall, very pleased with my purchase but not quite the bit of technical gear (and capability) that I'd hoped for.

February 18, 2021

OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE JACKET

I've had this jacket all winter so far and it has become the best piece of winter gear I own. I wear it almost everyday for my 25 mile round trip commute on bicycle. I was looking for the perfect jacket for hard workouts as all the other jackets I tried would cause overheating and sweating. I was using the Nano Puff jacket for a while but it a... Read Morelways caused me to sweat too much, even in freezing temps. The Nano air performs excellent, trapping enough heat to keep you warm but letting plenty of heat vent out the back and under arms when you really start to heat up. I have used it all the way down to real feel temps of °6F with just a Capilene Cool Lightweight long sleeve baselayer underneath. I pedal pretty hard for an hour the whole time so I stay warm and virtually zero sweat when I get to work. The experience riding home in today's storm is what caused me to write this review. I rode home in snow/rain for an hour and my jacket got completely wet and froze along the arms, yet it still performed and kept me warm the entire way home even though I was wet. I've also used it for hiking and running in cold temps, as long as you are exercising, you will stay warm. Backed with Patagonia's lifetime warranty, where they will fix or replace any damage to the jacket, I am eager to take this jacket in the most extreme conditions.

February 12, 2021

Great jacket! Very comfortable

Great jacket! Very comfortable and amazing warranty! Highly recommend

February 4, 2021

Perfect match to a Grade VII when super cold

Patagonia's line of alpine wear is amazing. Capilene Air baselayer, nano air insulation layer, and when it's below freezing and windy, Grade VII parka completes the ensemble. This insulation layer is amazing on it's own too: so light you'll believe it's t-shirt weight. It's not wind proof but it's not supposed to ... Read Morebe as an insulation layer. I can wear the capilene air hoody with this jacket for temps down to freezing if active. Not so if just walking the dog at night, but for that a Grade VII is perfect.

January 30, 2021

Lightweight

The large tall fit perfectly

January 29, 2021

Could this possibly be as good as the hype claims?

This jacket is every bit as good as claimed. Incredibly light weight, breathes great while active, yet due to some strange voodoo it miraculously keeps me warm when just standing around. How do they do it? Magnets? Anyway, the last three weekends have used it for hiking, including a little bushwhacking, and waterfall chasing in Arkansas with temps... Read More in the high 30s-mid-40s (F) with little to no wind or. Patagonia 100% wool light base layer. Wore a hard shell while bushwhacking because I doubt this fabric would tolerate briars well but I shed it as quickly as I could because I got hot. As noted by others, this compresses well should you need to shed it and stick in a backpack or really big pocket. Short version: this is a highly functional lightweight mid- or exterior layer that works well on the trail and looks great even if your outdoor activity is driving to Kroger and walking across the parking lot.

January 29, 2021

Heats, Vents Well

This jacket is super versatile --I wear it as my only top layer in temps ranging from 20°-36° F. I absolutely love it. I never overheat, and I'm almost never cold. It's fairly wind-proof. The only issue I've had is in storms. If it's getting wet from the outside, and the inside, it gets water logged, and then is fairly useless ... Read Moreat keeping me warm. I haven't yet tried putting a waterproof layer over it in such cases.

January 24, 2021

Exactly what Id hoped for

Bought this jacket for winter biking in Minnesota because I was absolutely sweating out everything else Id wear. The breathability is what Id hoped for and Im feeling far less like a drowned rat after rides. I love the feel of the material and its weight; very comfortable and a different sensation than down. Its got nice big pockets, which is good ... Read Morefor my use. The sleeves are slightly longer than other Patagonia items I have but thats good for gloves. Im wearing it as an outer layer and its worked well with just a baselayer underneath down to ~18 degrees. Wouldnt hesitate to get it again (or get after a vest).

January 24, 2021

Very light

Theres not much I can say about this that everyone else hasnt said. Its an amazingly light and warm. Dont let the weight of this garment fool you it will withstand the coldest of winds and still be able to move about freely as if youre wearing nothing. I wear it with capeline air hoody and Im very comfortable outside even when Im just walking my do... Read Moreg. 100% recommend if youre looking for something warm without sacrificing arm mobility

January 22, 2021

Awesome material and color!

Jacket is great overall but does run a little slim if looking to use as an outer layer. Superior blue color is money! If you are looking for a technical piece this is it. The pack it in hoody is more casual and better for layering. Great job Patagonia!

January 17, 2021

Perfect Layer

Extremely flexible. Warm enough to keep the chill off while in motion soing my activities.

January 17, 2021

NOT made to last

This jacket has worn not very well. It has pilled in several areas. I would not wear this jacket to any nice occasions due to the pilling and worn out look. Overall, disappointed in the quality of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
February 24, 2021

Hi Brett, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear the way your jacket has started to pill. We typically recommend washing the jacket on warm and laying it flat to dry to reduce the chance of pilling. With that said, if you're unsatisfied with the appearance of the material you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under warranty.

January 12, 2021

Perfect Stormy Weather Midlayer

This jacket is unbelievably warm for how thin it is. It is the perfect midlayer for snowboarding on super cold/stormy days. It's a bit too warm for sunny/calm days on hill. For those I switch to the Patagonia R1 Techface. Perfect.

January 10, 2021

Light weight and great insulation.

Fabulous. The jacket was surprisingly light weight but fabulous for New England cold. Love the bright blue color. Unlike drab outerwear this jacket stands out

January 8, 2021

Super comfortable

One of the most comfortable jackets ever

January 6, 2021

Perfect weight

I ordered 2 of this model jacket. The size works well for my early morning walks when the temperatures are in the 40 - 50 degree range. I add the nano air vest when the temp drops below 40. Great value especially when on sale!

January 4, 2021

Best jacket in the market

Great product! Is light and casual. The color is perfect and quality as expected.

January 1, 2021

Awesome Jacket

Fantastic light weight jacket that keeps me warm and dry while hiking or walking our dogs. Easy enough to layer under another jacket or vest in significant weather. Nice clean look too. Highly recommend.

December 30, 2020

The Best

The entire Nano Air line is a game changer. I have one of each and 2 of the jackets and vests. 6/190 and L fits great. Highly recommend

December 28, 2020

Perfect functionality

I bought this as a mid-layer for my winter hiking. It works perfectly. It is very warm yet very light. It's also has no hood, which I appreciate because I am already wearing a parka and a hat. The pockets have no flaps or protruding zipper pulls, another plus because it is a mid-layer. It's super comfortable. In fact, I find myself wearin... Read Moreg it around the house all the time. It's really an outstanding garment. The only downside is that it seems very expensive for what it is. I can't figure out why it costs so much; it's not filled with goose down. But Patagonia is a good, ethical company, so I'm happy to pay the price they are asking.

December 25, 2020

Simply the best

The Nano line is amazing. Try it out, you may end up with a new favorite piece. 6/190 and L fits perfectly

December 24, 2020

Nano Air

Stylish and great looking jacket, works well in colder weather when layered, sheds water and snow

December 23, 2020

Potentially a great jacket. Good what what I wanted it for.

Medium is my size in pretty much everything Patagonia. Tried a medium on in store and was swimming in it. Decided to order a small online. I wanted a tighter fit to run in. A small works but its slight tighter than I wanted which is kind of surprising considering how large a medium was. Could be a perfect casual jacket as well if a small was looser... Read More or a medium was smaller.

December 22, 2020

Odd fit but perfect mid layer

The fit of the jacket is odd, very slim in the lower body and shoulders. If you size up to fit, the sleeves are way too long and the cheat too big. That said, the jacket is very soft and comfortable. The temp rating of the jacket makes it perfect under a shell for skiing. I would probably buy it again but I hate the fit.

December 22, 2020

A perfect layer

This is perfect for the San Francisco Bay Area (and beyond). I wear it walking the dog, mountain biking and hiking. It and a base layer are about all you need, add a shell when required. I add a micro puff for being idle or active in colder weather, depending on temps. It will likely replace an older R2 jacket for skiing. For much of what I do th... Read Moreis is about all I need. The fit is perfect and the material is soft. It breathes well. I can't speak to long term durability yet, but I'm generally not bushwhacking. It's hard to imagine a more perfect mid layer.

December 22, 2020

Extremely comfortable

Perfect casual jacket, my only complaint is large the sizes run. Im always a medium with Patagonia, but this medium swallowed me. I definitely recommend sizing down.

Response from Patagonia
February 4, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the sizing. If you haven't already you can start an exchange for a smaller size [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 19, 2020

Great product

Love quality, really light weight.

December 18, 2020

Great, all purpose coat

I wear this for a lot of stuff! Work, hiking, rucking, jogging. South Texas hasn't gotten very cold yet, i have yet to put it through the ringer but so far so good!

December 17, 2020

Great Jacket

Love this jacket for everyday use, and for skiing under a shell. Arms seem to be "slim fit" and could be use a bit more space, but a great jacket.

December 15, 2020

Money

This is it. This is the piece you never knew you needed. If you foresee yourself doing moderate activity in less than ideal weather then this is your tool to help you thrive. Highly recommend

December 8, 2020

Nano Air

I love this jacket. I hike about 30 miles a week in the morning and this jacket is the best I have used so far. Warm, dry and great fitting. The only thing I would add is a thumb hole in the cuff.

December 7, 2020

Looser/Relaxed/casual look and fit

Love the jacket. To me it offers more of a relaxed fit which allows for a sweatshirt/sweater underneath w/o it becoming too tight in the chest/tummy area...

December 3, 2020

Works as advertised, has long sleeves

Just got this jacket to prep for this winter ski season. While I have not tested it yet, I've been wearing it casually for the last few days and love it. Warm but breathable at the same time, just as advertised. My one complaint is that the sleeves definitely run a little long. I'm 5'11 and 175, and the size L fits very well besides ... Read Morethe sleeves. I'm not big by any means but I have some extra weight on the front, and the Large has plenty of room while still looking good and trim. My size Large Nano Puff jacket has a much better sleeve length. I'm not sure if it is by design or not to have longer sleeves. For skiing it shouldn't be an issue as my gloves will stop the sleeve.

December 3, 2020

Extremely Versatile. Awesome Active Jacket

I am 6'1, 205 lbs, broad shoulders, long arms, some muscle. I usually go between Large and XL. This jacket in size Large fits perfect. I have long arms, and the arm length is great. The jacket is form fitting, yet stretches with you while you are being active. This can be worn from 0 to 50 degrees, casually, or when you are out for a run. It d... Read Moreoes a good job of moderating your heat. I shouldn't be this excited about a jacket, but it's exactly what I was looking for, for my cold weather running.

November 28, 2020

Best of the Best

I have this as my go to for anything jacket. As I tend to run hot, this jacket dumps heat when I need it to. Somehow, it also keeps me at the perfect temperature when temps drop. The feel of the fabric is unreal (supple if you will) - once you have it on you won't even notice that you are wearing the darn thing, you may want to take a nap from... Read More being incredibly comfortable. This jacket moves with me - with zero restriction. Pretty neat that it stows itself within the chest pocket. **The PERFECT active jacket**

November 25, 2020

magical

Down, which I still love and wear, keeps me warm when not moving much. Nano air keeps me warm when moving, mostly walking and "chi walking", photographing, playing stick with my dog. (I have aged out of many previous strenuous activities) It almost seems to have some sort of internal regulator which keeps my warmth factor perfect - warmth... Read More when needed and not so warm when not needed. Amazing range of comfort/performance in wide range of temperatures. Continues excellent performance when worn both under and over other layers, does not get clammy when under rain protection layer. A big WOW to whomever envisioned this.

November 24, 2020

Much better product than my 2016 version

Just received the 2020 Nano Air to replace my 2016 version. The 2016 version is one of my favorite jackets of all time, but it didn't fit me right. I have wide shoulders and small waist. I had to wear a size large so that my shoulders could fit but the torso was too bulky. With the updated 2020 version, size medium fits me perfectly. My should... Read Moreers have rooms, and torso is slim. Can't wait to start wearing it.

November 22, 2020

Revolutionary Layer

Warm when you need it, breathable when you need it, very comfortable with a useful stretch, this is in my view the gold standard of a technical piece. I have 3, one is hooded. 6/190 I have 2 Ms and 1 L. L is a tad big but allows layering, Mediums are a comfortable hug. Highly recommend

November 20, 2020

Awesomeness

Impossibly warm for how light and comfortable this thing is. A technological marvel. Try one on and your hooked. Im impressed every time I wear it and I wear it a lot. Perfect on its own for 35-65 degrees (for me at least.) and a perfect mid layer for serious cold. Worth every penny!

November 16, 2020

Exactly as advertised!

I've used this jacket for a few weeks now and it is performing exactly as i had hoped. It is just right for runs above 0 degrees (with a base layer wool long sleeve) up to about 25 to 30 degrees. I've also used it for walking the dog, or running errands and it is great. Super lightweight, slim, stretchy and good looking. I looked at a TON... Read More of other jackets and this one has done exactly what i was hoping. Also great for hunting under a heavier jacket. Well done Patagonia.

November 14, 2020

Deceptively Warm Team Player

Makes a very good outer layer when temperatures are not yet frigid, and an excellent mid-layer for extended time below freezing. The amount of airflow it facilitates is great at eliminating hot spots. The usual experiment of putting it on indoors to see if you get hot doesn't apply because it dumps excess heat effectively. It has been a welcom... Read Moree addition to my 18 year old Zephur soft-shell, Houdini, and Nine Trails jackets for cycling, hiking, and running in winter temperatures. The fit is very nearly true-to-size other than the sleeves being slightly long, and the jacket length being slightly long. Fit across the chest. shoulders, and at the neck is exactly as expected.

November 11, 2020

Good purchase

Warmer than it looks, runs pretty true to size.

October 27, 2020

Breathable warmth in a lightweight package

I bought this Nano-Air jacket to replace my Nano Puff. I run warm, and I pretty much cannot wear my Nano Puff when it's above low 50s. Also, when I can wear it, if I'm just a bit active in it (even if it's a quick walk), I get pretty warm, and my sweat gets trapped. I wanted something that's equally warm yet breathable so that I... Read More do not have to keep adjusting my layers. I have a Better Sweater too, but it is much heavier and not as warm as the Nano-Air. This Nano Air jacket is soft to the touch, very lightweight, but is keeps me surprisingly warm for the weight. When it gets a bit warm, the breathability has been able to allow me to stay dry and somewhat cool. I have not taken it hiking or have been active in it yet, but I expect this to serve my needs. My biggest complaint is that the sleeves are too snug and hard to roll up/push up my forearms. Maybe they expected a slimmer build of a rock climber, but as a moderately active runner that does bodyweight exercises, I have trouble airing my forearms off. I will note that I can easily put this on over long sleeve tops, which I cannot say the same about the Better Sweater.

September 17, 2020

So warm & soft & looks great!

Love the fit and feel of this jacket! Less cumbersome and noisy than the puff jackets, great soft feel, and so warm! Looks great to with understated casual stylings.

September 15, 2020

You can tell there was a lot of thought behind this jacket!

Super happy with this jacket and can use it for everything!! Light for backpacking/hiking; warm enough for the snow & cold; great stretch across the shoulders for climbing; DWR for the rain. That plus great coverage with the top of the zipper. Really love how the cuff does not have hook&loop which I feel would get in the way but still feel ... Read Moresnug and secure. Definitely has a different feel than your traditional puffy or fleece but performs more than adequately! 10/10

September 4, 2020

Good when the sun goes down

Wore this several times after the sun went down for fishing. Nice and light, kept me warm at Lake George fishing for bass.

September 2, 2020

Excellent jacket

Great for work and casual wear. Once it is a little more worn in it will join my backpacking and climbing gear.

August 21, 2020

S and M are both bad fit

Small is waaay to tight and short but sleeves are right. a normal t-shirt hangs down way lower than the small jacket. doesnt even cover my waist. Medium is waaay bigger - sleeves are way too long, and the wrist elastics aren't tight enough so when I'm walking the sleeves fall over my hands - very annoying. I still wear it as a ski midlaye... Read Morer but it really doesnt fit and theres way too much extra material especially in the arms. I would think patagonia with their nature / outdoors / active clothes would make it fit athletic shaped people but only a tiny fraction of patagonia stuff fits me

July 13, 2020

Perfect Jacket

I've been taking this jacket backpacking for the past few days and it keeps me comfortable in 40 degree weather. It also works as a pillow when it's stuffed.

July 13, 2020

Perfect mid-layer

The Nano-Air jacket is about as perfect a midlayer or light outerlayer that I could imagine. It is warm like a light down jacket, but without the 'swish-swish' sound that comes from down jacket surfaces. It is breathable such that a sweaty workout won't sit on your skin for more than a few minutes. It is comfortable to wear!

July 10, 2020

Perfect mid-layer

The Nano-Air jacket is about as perfect a midlayer or light outerlayer that I could imagine. It is warm like a light down jacket, but without the 'swish-swish' sound that comes from down jacket surfaces. It is breathable such that a sweaty workout won't sit on your skin for more than a few minutes. It is comfortable to wear!

June 21, 2020

Great Jacket

I really like this jacket, it's light weight, warm, and fits well. It's a great layer under the Torrentshell rain jacket too. This is my new go to jacket whenever I walk out of my house.

June 19, 2020

Nice jacket

Light weight, comfortable. Not to hot. Just right.

June 17, 2020

Great Jacket

I really like this jacket, it's light weight, warm, and fits well. It's a great layer under the Torrentshell rain jacket too. This is my new go to jacket whenever I walk out of my house.

May 25, 2020

My Go To

Love this jacket and its by far the one I wear the most since purchase. Layers wonderfully under my ski shell if its cold on tours and works great as my outer layer during the mud season.

May 20, 2020

My Go To

Love this jacket and its by far the one I wear the most since purchase. Layers wonderfully under my ski shell if its cold on tours and works great as my outer layer during the mud season.

May 19, 2020

Extremely versatile, insanely comfortable jacket

Couldn't recommend this jacket more for many reasons. I wear this as a layering piece on colder days in the winter (big snowboarder) under a shell and even as an outerwear piece with the R1 pullover. Seriously, that combo has kept me warmer than my insulated jacket has with no layering. The R1 / Nano-Air combo lets in ZERO wind and is supremel... Read Morey light and comfortable. I'm 6'2" medium build and got a L specifically to wear with other layering, so by itself with just a T-shirt it's a bit wide and can let wind in underneath. BUT, the insanely lightweight fabric and texture to it is soo nice; worth the price tag. Durability seems so far so good; taken some falls on the slopes and done plenty of backcountry with trees tugging at me on the descent with no tears or issues. Great touring jacket btw; doesn't overheat on the ascent and if its a nice day I don't even need to pack a shell. Just grip it and rip it!! In review, get this jacket, it'll be worth every penny; just size down or up depending on preferred fit.

May 17, 2020

Extremely versatile, insanely comfortable jacket

Couldn't recommend this jacket more for many reasons. I wear this as a layering piece on colder days in the winter (big snowboarder) under a shell and even as an outerwear piece with the R1 pullover. Seriously, that combo has kept me warmer than my insulated jacket has with no layering. The R1 / Nano-Air combo lets in ZERO wind and is supremel... Read Morey light and comfortable. I'm 6'2" medium build and got a L specifically to wear with other layering, so by itself with just a T-shirt it's a bit wide and can let wind in underneath. BUT, the insanely lightweight fabric and texture to it is soo nice; worth the price tag. Durability seems so far so good; taken some falls on the slopes and done plenty of backcountry with trees tugging at me on the descent with no tears or issues. Great touring jacket btw; doesn't overheat on the ascent and if its a nice day I don't even need to pack a shell. Just grip it and rip it!! In review, get this jacket, it'll be worth every penny; just size down or up depending on preferred fit.

May 11, 2020

Poor Quality

The jacket is quite light, but even as a mid-layer, fails to live up to the advertised level of warmth. I wore the jacket fishing during a rainstorm in Deschutes and had to add a down vest over the jacket and under my rain shell to keep sufficiently warm. Most disappointingly, after only about a half-dozen wears, the fabric began pilling around the... Read More jacket waist and along the arms. For the price, this is simply unacceptable and reflects poor quality. Look elsewhere.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

Thanks for the feedback on this and we are really sorry to hear about the disappointment. Pilling with knit garments can be inevitable as it is the nature of those fibers. Luckily, there are many tools you can use to remove those. Nonetheless, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are welcome to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

May 7, 2020

Could be the perfect jacket

I purchased this jacket in the navy blue color in September 2019 and immediately fell in love. While I sometimes wear a medium in Patagonia tops and jackets (depending on fit), a small in the Nano Air was a perfect fit for me. I wore it on a few hikes the first week or so that I had it but primarily used it as a casual jacket in the city. In either... Read More scenario, it's the perfect shoulder season jacket, keeping me warm without getting hot when I ramp up activity. However, the jacket fabric quickly began to pill, especially on the back and under one of the armpits. Unfortunately, this results in lint and hair sticking to the jacket and the pilling itself has made it a much less attractive piece to wear in a pretty short amount of time. Hoping Patagonia has been able to remedy this issue in subsequent iterations.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2020

Hi Colin, knitted garments are prone to pilling, and this style is no exception. Removing pills can help lengthen the life of your Patagonia gear, plus it’s easy to do with a sweater stone. Learn about removing pills at [wornwear.com].

April 29, 2020

The most comfortable jacket

Wow, this is a seriously comfortable jacket - by far the most comfortable I've felt. Its hard to describe, its not quite cotton hoody type comfort but more of if you could wear your favorite pillow. The next to skin feel when wearing this with a t-shirt is outstanding. This jacket also breathes so well. Ive worn it running and it is a great ... Read Morecold weather layer that keeps you from getting soaked. I have not had the jacket for a long period of time so I can't speak to durability, which I know others have concerns with. My only issue with the jacket so far is the cuffs. The half elasticized cuff is comfortable for everyday, around town wear. But this is supposed to be an active layer right? When wearing it in an active setting, the cuffs fail because they simply will not keep the sleeves up. I have to push them past my elbows to get them to stay put which is annoying compared to other brand, breathable jackets. Particularly when running the sleeves cover my watch the entire time and I cannot keep the cuff off. The only option is to pull the sleeve back everytime I check the watch or push the sleeve to my elbow. So with that I find myself using this more as a causal jacket or on walks/hikes where I'm not checking my hr or pace.

March 23, 2020

Outstanding!

Dittos to the other ski patrollers here - and thank you Patagonia for your support for the stylish and functional NSP uniforms! These jackets (Nan-Air and Nano-Air Light) are awesome, and I don't care about a little bit of pilling. Now - make a different version with a layer of light WindBlocker on the front, and the fronts of the arms, and th... Read Moreey'd both be even better for cycling and skiing! I'll take one of each in large.

March 21, 2020

Would be 5 star except the pilling/wear.

Love the jacket, it's a go to for hiking in our mild, but windy New Mexico climate. The only issue is wear. With just a few months each season when I wear it, it is extremely pilled. Instead of looking like a jacket worn fairly often over maybe 4 chilly months, it looks far older than my regular Patagonia fleeces I've been wearing more ye... Read Morears than I can remember.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2020

While all knit fabrics pill, we're sorry to hear that this one is extreme! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) the jacket to our main service center, so don't hesitate to reach out to us. Also, you may have good results by gently applying an electric fabric shaver or sweater stone to the surface of the jacket.

March 2, 2020

Slim fit, super functional

Im 61 and 190lbs. and the medium fits perfect as a slim outer layer. I often need a large-size jacket but wanted something slim fitting that would work great over just a shirt or base layer. Theres no room for a sweater underneath. Its a close fit but the jacket moves with you and doesnt bind up. I love that it doesnt have those elastic cuffs that ... Read Moremake the sleeves balloon out at the wrists, like so many jackets these days (including many made by Patagonia). These have a low-profile, sleek fit I was looking for. Fabric seems a little fragile so well see how it lasts. I wish the collar was a bit taller.

December 27, 2019

Excellent Jacket, sub-par Durability

Without question, the Nano-Air is the most versatile jacket I own. I wear it trail running during winter in Tennessee, under a shell skiing in Colorado, and as a mid layer for work in northern Alberta. It’s warm, breathable, light weight and extremely packable. It’s also cut perfect - allowing for good mobility without excessive material. My only c... Read Moreomplaint is durability. Granted it gets a lot of use, it has more pilling on the shoulders and around the neck than any other jacket I own - perhaps from wearing it under a shell or with a backpack. I recently discovered the Techface fabric used on the new R1 and R2. Patagonia, please re-make the Nano Air with the Techface fabric!

December 19, 2019

Fantastic Mid-Layer!!!

I ski patrol at 10,500 feet. I sweat through the nano-air many times during the day. It dries super quick and keeps me toasty on long lift rides. I've tried just about everything (down, synthetic, fleece) as a mid-layer and all pale when compared to the nano-air. In 18+ years of patrolling, I've never had a better mid-layer than the nano-... Read Moreair. Bravo Patagonia!

December 17, 2019

Sweet Jacket for Exercise

I bought this jacket for around half price and I absolutely love it. I use it for nordic skiing, everyday wear in the winter, and I use it as a layer for snowboarding. Unfortunately, after just about a year of use the fore arm area as well as the lower back area are pilling pretty bad. Other than that it is a great jacket.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Hey Nathaniel, thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Nano-Air Jacket. Sorry to hear that it's already begun to pill after a year. Using a shell over the jacket can help protect the face fabric and prevent this issue. With that being said you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket at any point for a refund or replacement.

December 15, 2019

Such a versatile layer

I have worn it as a outer jacket with a T-shirt in about 50 degrees and as a mid layer in the 20s with a hard shell and Merino wool base layer, it was great in both occasions. I think it's treated with DWR because I used it in some light rain and the rain beaded up, I could easily shake the water off before I got into my car.

December 14, 2019

Awesome for exercise

This is perfect for exactly what Patagonia advertises it being good for: staying active outdoors– hiking, XC skiing, etc. The breathability, compactness, and lightweight are awesome. Before buying, I saw some customers referring to it as a mid-layer, but here in Central New York and points north, I think it's insufficient as a winter mid-laye... Read Morer unless you're doing something moderately active. Just walking the dog around the block, I was cold in the low 20's with this and my winter shell, and winter gets a whole lot less hospitable. Again, perfect for exercise, but I'd use a beefier mid-layer for any low intensity activity like resort skiing or casually walking around town in a northern /high-altitude winter.

December 9, 2019

Mighty fine jacket for everyday

Mighty fine jacket for everyday wear. Warm without being bulky and it moves with you nicely. Cinching around the wrist and waist keep you draft free without feeling tight or constructing.

December 8, 2019

Awesome Jacket

Using the 2019 Forge Grey with red accents with matching Galvanized Shell and it an absolute perfect combination for skiing. Love the look, feel, but more importantly the performance of the Nano Air as a midlayer. It's simply great.

December 3, 2019

The greatest jacket in all of history

I never take time to review clothing, but this thing is something else. It's incredibly light, stretchy, soft, warm, and breathable. It's even quite good at repelling water. The only thing it doesn't do well is block wind, but that's intrinsic to the breathable design. Pair it with a shell for <30 degree days, and your fall, ... Read Morewinter spring are totally covered. Get it!

November 30, 2019

Favorite Layer

Stretchy comfortable and breathable. Seems to run a little larger than the previous version, but this could be my imagination. It's not an extremely warm layer, but it isn't supposed to be. Easily paired with a vest when it's truly cold out. New exterior material looks resistant to pilling, which was my only gripe with the old versio... Read Moren. Excellent for start stop activities.

November 28, 2019

Works as advertised!

A great mid-layer that can also be worn on chilly days as outer layer. Warm even in windy conditions.

November 28, 2019

Nano-air jacket

Great material perfect for layering on cold days on the ski hill. Doesn’t feel bulky. Love it!!!

November 18, 2019

Great piece

Rarely do I use a layer without a hood, but when I do (mechanized skiing with a helmet and under a hard shell), this is the perfect piece. If you are looking for a breathable active layer without a hood, look no further!

November 15, 2019

Nano

Great for everyday wear.

November 12, 2019

So light, so comfortable, so warm.

Absolutely the most comfortable jacket I've ever owned. So breathable it's hard to find reasons to take it off.

November 12, 2019

Nano air

Never write reviews and I think my impression of this jacket is the only reason I just started. Looks super clean while also being light and warm and just the perfect all around jacket for moderate climates. Absolutely in love with it and haven’t taken it off since I got it.

November 9, 2019

Perfect

Great layer piece in cold weather but also versatile for use everyday. Awesome fit, jacket is a more slim fit but moves with you and does not constrict.

November 8, 2019

NANO Air no equal

This is my second nano air jacket that I’ve owned. They are the most comfortable, breathable and lightweight layer I’ve had the pleasure of owning. I like this jacket for brisk walks, layering for BC skiing and bike commuting. The fit is snug for me (medium, 5’11”, 165lbs) but that was what I was going for. I have pretty long arms and the jacket is... Read More just right. I also love the elastic cuff. Would recommend to anyone looking for an insulating layer for cold weather high output activities.

November 7, 2019

Nano-Air

I have had a lot of Patagonia layers over the years, and each one has been special. I can honestly say that the Nano-Air is like nothing I've owned. It is strangely comfortable and I just want to live in it. I can teach 2nd grade in it, and wear it skiing, and I would wear it to bed but my wife won't let me.

November 4, 2019

I bought the Nano-Air for

I bought the Nano-Air for a winter mountain biking layer. Needed some breathable insulation that I don't need to take off and put on repeatedly. First outing - Mountain biking about 5 miles, ascending 1,428 ft. to a trail building worksite. Temperature was 34 degrees at the base. Building trail for 3 hours and returning. I wore the Nano-Air o... Read Morever base layers the entire time. Added my Houdini to block the wind for the swift descent. It worked as anticipated.

November 4, 2019

A fun jacket

The jacket feels quite soft, and the zippers operate quite well. The pockets are in ergonomic locations; they are where my hands naturally want to rest. The sleeves feel a little tight in the upper forearm area when I bend my arms. Although the waist doesn't look particularly baggy, it feels like the jacket could be tapered a more from the rib... Read Mores down to the bottom. It is a very comfortable jacket, which I've already enjoyed using while climbing.

November 3, 2019

Excellent Jacket

Was extremely surprised how warm this jacket kept me! Wore it all night outside with temps in low 50s - was great. Sizes def run slim though. I wear small in everything but had to get a medium in this jacket.

November 1, 2019

Daily driver with one major flaw

This jacket is warm as is or a great base layer for colder days. The fabric is soft and quiet and it has become my go to for everything. That said, the fabric is so soft that the inside of the collar, when zipped up, gets absolutely thrashed by my beard. I think I have an average beard and I shave daily but the fabric still gets caught in it and is... Read More pilling and generally getting ruined. An easy fix would be a smooth / nylon type layer on the inside of the collar where it hits your neck. Awesome coat, one big flaw.

October 30, 2019

Handsome jacket

It was a gift for my son, he was very pleased and looked great in it. He bikes a lot, so I am sure it will come to good use.

October 29, 2019

Love it.

Love it.

October 28, 2019

Awesome

So far have just used as a casual jacket to walk the dogs, but I am looking forward to using it as a layering piece for the mountain. Extremely comfortable and moves with you!

October 9, 2019

Great Jacket

Love the jacket ...wish that it was tailored for and athletic fit.... bought to play golf in

October 1, 2019

Great jacket .. awful durability

1st generation of this jacket was phenomenal. This version is awful. Whatever new fabric they're using for the shell is very prone to wear. I've had mine for 10 months and the outside is covered in pills and resembles an old pair of socks. Really sad considering Patagonia's commitment to sustainability.

Response from Patagonia
October 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear the jacket is pilling. Feel free to start a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 30, 2019

Basically a better version of the Nano-Puff

I love this jacket, it fits well, it's a really comfortable material, great level of warmth for fall days, and it has enough room (especially with the flexible material) that I expect to be able to layer under it for colder days this winter. I say it's a better version of the Nano-Puff primarily because of the material. They are both fant... Read Moreastic jackets, I just prefer the comfort of the Nano-Air now that I've had both.

September 23, 2019

Good jacket but don't like 2019 modifications

A very good jacket, but 3 changes this year which I don't like - they are : removal of drawcord hem replaced with non-adjustable elastic - I think it was better with the cord which allowed a snug fit to the hips if required. change of material to smoother less textured. - I preferred the previous fabric which had a ribbed texture, less synth... Read Moreetic feel removal of reinforcement stitching on the body of the jacket - gives a very smooth homogenous look. The vest version also has elastic edging removed from upper armholes - again I think the previous fully elasticated version was better. Not sure if Patagonia regard these as design improvements or as product engineering exercise i.e. reduce cost

September 10, 2019

Warm functional jacket – with the (usual) caveat

Took this on an alpine hike recently and wore it under a waterproof shell in temperatures just above freezing. Was the perfect pair. The fit is on the slim side, but not constricting. One star off for the fabric retaining odor after only two uses (by comparison I can wear my Patagonia synthetic down jackets, or anything merino, for weeks without a ... Read Morewash). But I'll accept that as a trade-off for a warm and durable garment that performs during high-intensity exercise in the cold – just don't expect it to be a good match for daily wear unless you want to wash it twice a week.

August 31, 2019

Love the nano air jacket

I love how lightweight it is and the comfort of the fit. The material is super comfortable and the style is dope too

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches