Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Vest

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 41 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Vest

4.6/5
Kinda Large
June 29, 2021

Nice bit of kit!! But not so much the fit...

I love the nano air line of tech gear from patagonia. I own, use, and possibly abuse a nano air hoody which sees 100+ days of skiing a year. Therefore, when in search of a vest I focused on the nano air. And I found one in my size (medium) for a great price at my local outlet. When I got home and really started assessing the fit though, I found thi... Read Mores medium to run VERY large - very large. It gave me shoulder pads and drapped like a poncho. Now worries though, I just ran back to the outlet to exchange for a small. In small, this piece fit like a ski boot. Perfect for active wear. In a small it was ever so slightly tight across the chest but could comfortably handle a thin base layer. This would be perfect for on bike commutes, skiing, running etc. However, in a small, this would not be awesome for hanging out by the campfire, casual hikes, dinner with the in-laws etc. - which is my intended primary use for this piece). So I returned and got a micro puff - which I had the same problem with and returned :-) Awesome bit of kit which I would highly reccomend if it fits you right. For reference, I'm 5'11" 150-155 with a 38 inch chest and 30 inch waist. I have found that ingeneral, most recent pataginia tech clothing no longer fits me or others very well who have a larger chest and narrower waist. My older nano puff hybrid, solar wind, down shirt etc fit great in M. Literally heading back today to try the nano puff vest and down vest for fit. Poor outlet employees! Must think I'm a kook :-)

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2021

Thanks for the thorough feedback on the fit of this vest Jon. We're always happy to provide exact garment dimensions in the future.

June 19, 2021

Warm and classic look

Your size is slim fit and this product should also have regular fit, which forced me to get L rather than M hence it is a little loose. Otherwise a great vest.

May 21, 2021

Versatile Vest

Pretty versatile. Recently used on several North Cascades ski tours. Used as warmth layer over thin base in cool weather uphill, then throw light shell over for downhill. Stretchy, comfortable, packable, does the trick

May 11, 2021

Too small, uncomfortable

Patagonia XL tops and jackets normally fit great for me. This XL vest was uncomfortably small and way too tight in the arm pits and chest. Even if it was a bit larger, there likely wouldnt be room for a couple base layers. Im 60 and 200 lbs with broad shoulders.

Response from Patagonia
May 12, 2021

Hi Mike, thanks for your comments here on the fit. We are very sorry that this was too small. Feedback like this is super helpful for our designers as we want to be inclusive with our size ranges. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us.

May 8, 2021

little smaller than same vest last year

I like the wicking fabric on the back, works really well. I do though wish you would start to make the nano-air light hybrid vest again.

April 25, 2021

Versatile midlayer

The nano I medium for a 62 190lbs man runs just right if you intend to use over max a thick base layer. I tend to day hike in ny which is Hilly and this does a great job at moving the sweat out and regulating temp Between high output and slowing down. I would recommend getting this as close to the skin as possible and using only over the base layer... Read More ie dont get this in big over a dress shirt size ruins the point

April 8, 2021

Golf

Its a great mess lightweight and comfortable.. But a little expensive

April 7, 2021

Excellent Investment!

Fits as advertised. Warm as soon as you put it on unlike some fabrics that are cold to the touch. This will be one of my favorites for rolling gravel through the fall and winter seasons.

February 27, 2021

Just right.

Great fit, warm but thin.

February 24, 2021

Perfect cold weather layer

I was searching for a mid layer that would keep my chest and stomach warm after a lap in the woods. I sweat in the woods and stay warm on the ride home. Perfect!

January 31, 2021

Perfect piece of gear!

Normally I go size large in all my patagonia purchases, but I had to size down as it was a bit too loose for running which is my main reason for buying this vest. Once I got the size dialed down, I fell in love! Extremely light and great at blocking wind. Definitely hoping the weather here stays cold so I can keep wearing it.

January 27, 2021

Like a lot...but

As usual high quality and very functional AND looks good...fit is very good...only complaint is I still prefer the way the old Hybrid version fit and would like to see that version return. This is my sixth Nano Air product! Not because they wear out but for different models and colors...the older versions do start looking a little rough after hundr... Read Moreeds of wearings...to be expected.

January 25, 2021

Great quality

Had previous generation of this vest. Love the quality, but would note that the L runs a bit baggy/not fitted for me (I'm 6'2, 195) and the M was a bit tight.

January 22, 2021

Wonderful: but pockets must be zipped to work

I love the look and functionality of this vest, EXCEPT, the pockets slope outward, so anything with any weight - keys, phone, etc. - slips out if they aren't zipped, and especially if one is sitting down or moving. PLEASE fix this easy design gaff!

January 22, 2021

Almost perfect

I have a 42 inch chest and the fit is comfortable. A bit long. Vents extremely well. The downside is there isnt a drawstring around the bottom. Thus it tends to lose heat.

January 2, 2021

Great piece!

Love this vest. Kept me warm hiking arches and canyonlands this winter. Packs down extremely well. I wear it running in sub 40 weather with just a thermal underneath and it does the trick. Fits perfect under a nano puff for casual wear cause it looks so good. It easily gets scuffed by your pack but outside of that and the price point its the perfec... Read Moret vest.

January 2, 2021

Nice looking

It material is very thin but its really warm. I recommend this vest.

December 30, 2020

Every Day

The Nano Air line gets the highest marks! I use the vest for lounging around or doing moderate activity. I forget its there! 6/190 and L fits great. Highly recommend

December 25, 2020

Yes please

Huge fan of the Nano line. Humbly I have everything in the Nano line. Take a walk on the wild side? Highly recommend!

December 23, 2020

A Beautiful Vest (for both Trail Running and Office Wear)

This is a beautiful vest. I needed to replace Patagonia's wind-shield vest that I had been wearing for over a decade. I finally found a substitute. The material is fantastic. This may be the only Patagonia product I own that works well for both running and casual wear. I wear it nearly everyday over a base layer (and under Patagonia Houdini) d... Read Moreuring an early morning run and then during my remote work. A few comments for Patagonia Designers: (1) The XS size seems a bit between XS and S. In other words, just a bit large, I think. (2) If you want to reduce the weight, I think you could remove the two side pockets (and just keep the chest pocket). (3) The length is also a bit longer; another way to reduce weight if you like. (4) For next year (or year after), please consider a wind-shield vest. (The wind-shield pants from this year are simply incredible.) Happy holidays!

December 16, 2020

Awesome vest!

This vest is so lightweight but provides lots of warmth without the bulk. Great fit, true to size. Highly recommend!

November 8, 2020

Super lightweight

Very light weight, very warm, the fit is great,and looks great. Have been using it mainly on my bike rides.

June 29, 2020

Super comfortable

It works so well! So stoked to have this as a option!!

June 27, 2020

Amazing Vest

I live outside of Vail, CO and bought this vest in 06/20. Using it for casual wear now and the cool summer evenings. Fits amazing well and very comfortable. I love being ale to stuff it into its own pocket and saves space in my day packs. I know this will work great in the winter for cross country skiing and layering with other clothing. Love the... Read More Air gear and Patagonia in general. Cant go wrong with it. One word of caution, I was next to a campfire and an ember landed on my left shoulder. Burned a tiny hole in the shell. Just a heads up as you enjoy smores or cocktails around the fire....

June 17, 2020

Very light , fits well and has some stretch.

I like it . Very lightweight, has a little stretch-which is important-and it fits well.

February 15, 2020

Excessive Piling on the collar

Nano Puffs are super soft and comfy which comes with the cost of not being very durable. The collar piling has gotten so bad that the Mrs. won’t allow me to wear this vest out were other people might see me.

Response from Patagonia
March 20, 2020

We're so sorry to hear about the pilling on your vest. This is something that is unfortunately common, and inevitable, with knit garments due to the nature of those fibers. We recommend using a product like a Sweater Stone to remove pilling, but there are many other products and techniques you can use. With that being said, you are also more than welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it to us.

January 3, 2020

Versatile and warm

Use this for hiking, skiing, or just hanging out. Fit is trim without being tight. Low bulk makes it easy to fit under a shell or coat. Extremely lightweight but very warm as well.

December 28, 2019

good vest, color complaint

good vest - no complaints. The color is not the same as on you website. The fire red in reality turned out is quite a bit brighter. That's a disappointment, I wasn't planning to look like a fire-truck. I would have picked black if I knew.

Response from Patagonia
January 22, 2020

Thanks for your feedback, Alex! We're sorry to hear you are not happy with the "Fire" color. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are welcome to initiate a return [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

December 25, 2019

Love it

My son loves the vest and it runs true to size.

December 23, 2019

nano-air

Works as advertised, remarkably breathable for how much insulation it provides.

December 10, 2019

Great Fit and Professional Appearance

I have to admit, this vest is so light in weight that I was skeptical over how warm it may be. My bad. This is an awesome vest. I wear it under my suit jackets, and it keeps me nice and toasty, but not too hot. It is low profile and unrestrictive under a jacket, but looks so cool with a shirt underneath. I look forward to additional colors like gr... Read Moreey and navy blue.

November 24, 2019

Very light weight. Very warm.

Very light weight. Very warm.

November 22, 2019

Nano-Air

I don't normally write reviews but I do love your Nano-Air products. I got one of your original Nano-Air jackets several years ago and it has been my go to jacket for everything from a house jacket to skate skiing in 5 degree weather. I recently bought the Nano-Air vest because I wanted a slim design (ie- not a puffy) vest that would cut the w... Read Moreind, keep me warm and be appropriate in any setting. Your Nan0-Air vest fills that bill perfectly. The vest is comfortable. The cut of the vest is long enough in the back to prevent butt draft, warm enough to wear over a flannel shirt for fall/winter activities and appropriately stylish to wear for social occasions. I am pleased with my purchase.

November 18, 2019

I wear this on runs

I wear this on runs in sub 40 degree weather. Fits great and keeps me warm.

November 11, 2019

Clean and light

Simple clean design very warm for it’s weight

November 7, 2019

Stylish and warm

This vest fits great, looks professional, and seems to be the right warmth in several different temperature ranges (30-55 F).

November 3, 2019

Love the way it keeps

Love the way it keeps me warm and allows my body to breathe.

October 30, 2019

Great vest

Very warm and fits snugly!

October 15, 2019

Perfect Little Thing

I literally sleep with this thing on (my bed is right against a window), it is so light and warming. That is , of course, after having worn it all day long already. Feels like I'm the lucky recipient of a gentle, loving embrace, all day long. Thanks, Pata!

October 5, 2019

Favorite for year around (nearly!) comfort!

This vest is a "go-to" necessity now that I own it! Have one for dirty work....and now this one for every day comfort. Used as either outerwear when temps are cool or under heavier coat to assure warmth it can't be beat. Light, flexible and great way to carry phone, etc when traveling too!

September 6, 2019

You’ll wear it more than

You’ll wear it more than you think and more than you planned for. Super soft and comfortable and super light. Packs down nice too. Works great for travel. My new go to clothing item.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches