Back to Product

M's Stretch Nano Storm® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.31 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

M's Stretch Nano Storm® Jacket

4.31
True To Size
February 19, 2020

Bought for commute but use in the Mountains!

Honestly I bought this because I have experience with the nano air and it wanted to mimic the warmth level for my daily driver jacket and combine it with the storms h2no layer. This past weekend I did 20 miles in the white mountains in 0-15 degree F weather and grabbed this instead of the regular nano puff and goretex jacket combo. I did not expect... Read More it to perform as well as it did. With the pit zips I never had to change layers. Granted I run a little cold this kept me warm and I never had to stop for a wardrobe change while on the mountains. The pockets sat above my hip belt which made for easy stuffing of snacks and gloves and it took me a while but I finally realized i had TWO chest zip pockets. Fits my Galaxy S8 no problem, which is a big deal for me at least. Excited to use that second pocket for more snack storage next time! The fabric took some pretty sharp snags from tree limbs as I was quickly decending snowy trails. and didn't even leave a mark, I imagine this will be quite durable for a few years. Best part is I wore it back on the train this morning on my way to work. One downside is the fit for me, but Pagatonia garments are always too long in the sleeves for me so if other items fit you this likely will be easy to size for you! Other downside is obviously the price, although I can't complain about that (re: wornwear) but it looks like it's a lil pricey new. I thought for a minute about perhaps giving it a go snowboarding but I think without the snow skirt it's not really a viable option but SO close!

February 13, 2020

Love the materials used, design could be modified for casual use

Love the silent waterproof shell that doesn't crinkle when I walk, and the breathable full range insulation material used. I would personally prefer a more closely fit non helmet size hood like the micropuff hoody, and a longer visor for rain visibility. If this could be made into pants I would buy in a heartbeat, just don't make them too... Read More baggy.

February 10, 2020

Great jacket, just definitely not for climbing

I own the first generation of this jacket and love it more than any other piece of outerwear I own. It fits me extraordinarily well with some of the best articulation had in piece of clothing I've put on. This can be hard since I'm 6'2" with narrow shoulders and long arms. It was clearly designed for climbing and a full range of... Read More movement. I saw some of the new colors and was excited to see the improvement in the face fabric so I went to check it out. However, the newer design--while still great in its material and feels possibly lighter than the original--has some of the worst articulation I've seen in a piece supposedly designed for climbing. I wore a large in the older version and do in most items in most brands. The XL had more of ride up both my torso and sleeve than a comparable Nano Puff in large. As someone who likes to use this as a shoulder season climbing/belay jacket, as well as a touring and biking outerwear piece, I was severely disappointed in the new fit. I also agree with the other reviewer who says it's far too tight in the chest. I'm tall and narrow and I had to get into an xl for a reasonable fit for just walking around. The design flaw seems to be the movement of the hand warmer pockets backwards onto the side seam which is shared with the vent zipper. This means that in an XL while at a deadpoint I'm riding up about 5-6 inches on both the body and arm. I suspect this is because the material going form hem to cuff is basically all static zipper (i.e. not stretchy at all). While I understand that this may simplify design, it causes too many problems for a full range of movement. It also obstructs using the handwarmer pockets while wearing a large pack. Another disappointment with the zippers are that they are no longer the PU coated ones , but use a flap to keep moisture out--a cheaper and less efficient design. I understand these design features in a more casual piece where you're trying to build durability and cut cost, but not in a jacket for heavy use in the mountains. It doesn't meet the needs I would like it to so I returned it, which Patagonia is always great about. It gets three stars because it's an excellent jacket for travel and daily casual use--but is definitely not up to standard as climbing jacket.

February 4, 2020

The End of Layering

My go to ski jacket this year. I'm 5' 11' and 205 lbs. I bought an XL and it's just what I wanted. Goes over anything and fits loose. L is probably the 'proper' size but I wanted the big. Breathable is the concept here, it works. Stormproof. It has taped seams that the web site does not mention. I often wear this over ... Read Morea thin base layer. With a Micro or Nano Puff underneath I feel bombproof. Great pockets though I would like an inside chest pocket. Sleeves plenty long. 23 oz. for the XL. Hood is also big and adjusts well. What's not to like?

January 8, 2020

Better than anything else

For that magical "single quiver" jacket this takes the prize. I really like my dead bird AR but the lining feels clammy and the face fabric isnt bomber. This jacket outshines the competition in both categories. I used to wear shells due to sweating and how the jacket's lining feels. The lining on this jacket is comfortable and instan... Read Moretly warm, no nylon feel This simply blows away everything else I have tried. Short sleeves for mild temps and the cut is perfect to layer underneath for skiing with a R2 techface and long sleeve base. I haven't bashed the fabric too much but its holding up well to daily use. I'm actively getting rid of other jackets because this one works so well in so many situations. I know we don't talk about it but sometimes I'm not back country skiing in powder or preparing to summit, sometimes I'm taking my kids to wrestling practice and I like to hang out for a little bit. I can keep this jacket on and run around in and out of places and no sweating to death! Since its the "one to rule them all" I bought the Hammond Gold and I really like the color. I do get compliments on it and it goes well with Patagonia's grey color palette.

January 6, 2020

Awesome jacket but too fitted in armpits

I ordered this for my husband because I have the womens and LOVE it! He has been wishing he had one because I am always dry and warm without all the bulk. I ordered him a MEDIUM because that is his size in all other jackets, both Patagonia and other top brands. This was too snug in the armpit area wearing just a T-shirt. He felt he could not wear a... Read More thick long sleeve shirt under the jacket, otherwise, he loved it. Great stretch and weight. The large would be too big, sleeves too long because he is just 5'7" and 165 lbs. Very disappointed, it's going back. For this reason I am only giving 4 stars.

Response from Patagonia
January 29, 2020

Sorry the fit didn't work for your husband, but we really appreciate the detailed and thoughtful feedback! We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) it to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

January 6, 2020

Great jacket for 40-65 degrees

The jacket is perfect for 40-65 degrees, though with long sleeve t shirt, hat, hood on, and synched Waist I was comfortable below 30 degrees. I haven’t been able to test waterproofing, but it is amazing on windy days. While it doesn’t compress as much as a down coat, you can stuff it easily into the hood. The hood has two Adjustments that made it f... Read Moreit perfectly and the other key is that the hood moves as you turn your head for great visibility. The hood rim could be larger such that it provides more face protection. I love the feel of the materials on the inside and outside of the jacket. The outer material is quiet and doesn’t crinkly like gortex. Great jacket for someone that doesn’t like checking the weather. Assuming the waterproofing is great, then this is the perfect light weight jacket for above freezing weather.

December 27, 2019

Just what I needed

Great jacket

December 14, 2019

The Best-

I would recommend this jacket for brisk mornings and any wet weather needs where you need to be active comfortable and warm. Love it!

December 14, 2019

Love this Jacket

Just finished a week of skiing in Colorado and truly enjoyed this jacket. Totally waterproof, wind proof, yet soft and comfortable to wear. It was especially thoughtful that they included soft material at the top of the inside zipper against your face when you need the full length of the jacket to stay warm in bitter, 40 mph wind while skiing. Plen... Read Morety of pockets for maps, sandwiches, keys and cel phone. I found the fit to be ample and not super trim. I’m 5 10 and 185 with a 43 inch chest. I needed the large but could have pulled off the medium with careful choice in under layers. With the insulation, it looks like a jacket vice just a shell. The outer material also looks soft vice shiny and firm. I was warm and powder dry on the top unlike my legs since I had less breathable materials in my off brand pants . I won’t ski again without pants of equal caliber to this jacket. Needed the hood when off the mountain and its adjustable tensioners were well placed. In sum, it seems that Patagonia has put much thought and care in the construction and design of this jacket and I’m delighted to have purchased it.

December 11, 2019

Very Satisfied

I purchased this jacket for downhill skiing and ski touring. I am 5'-11" and weigh 190 lbs. The large fits perfectly with just enough room for a "puffy" layer under it. Having received the jacket this week I took the opportunity to see how well it worked in a strenuous situation. I threw it on over a lightweight long-sleeve wool... Read More blend base layer, grabbed my skis, and my wife and I went looking for a Christmas tree. The temperature was in the mid 20s with about 6-8" of fresh snow on top of a firm base. We found a 10 footer about a mile from the road end. My wife and I used ropes tied around our waists to pull the tree back to our truck. I had skins on my skis. The terrain was mostly level with occasional sections of short uphills where we had to stop skiing and muscle the tree up the inclines. I had the pit zips and the front zip open the whole way. It took about an hour of dragging to get the tree back to the truck and my base layer was thoroughly wetted-out. The jacket never felt very "clammy" and when I took it off the inside was slightly damp but still capable of providing considerable warmth. I didn't take it easy on the jacket today and it came through looking and performing great.

December 9, 2019

My go-to jacket

Simply the best. Winter steelheading, everyday travel, dog walking, in the shower...seriously, I love this jacket. It’s true to size, breathable, impervious to most weather, and warm enough for a t shirt underneath in 20 degrees. Home run, Patagonia.

December 9, 2019

Patagonia Nano Storm Jacket

I am 6'-0", 190 lbs. I have the XL and it fits perfectly. I am a bass fisherman and it is hard to find outerwear that fits our needs. We are out in the wind, rain, and cold a ton. When you add the 70 MPH windchill driving down the lake in a tournament at 25 degrees, the right gear is everything. The Nano Storm has far exceeded my expectat... Read Moreions. The most important factors for the gear we fishermen need is it has to be waterproof, warm, and light weight. First and foremost, the nano storm is 100% waterproof. It has survived 10 hours of driving rain not to mention the wind blown rain from long boat rides. Zero water gets through this shell. This in itself is amazing and makes it a no-brainer purchase. The jacket is lightly insulated, surprising warm and breaths well because I never sweat while wearing it. Patagonia has included the perfect amount of insulation because it has the be the lightest insulated jacket on the market. Having a lightweight jacket means less fatigue. The weight of the jacket is very important and this one is exceptionally light. If all of these things are not enough, mine blew out of my boat a few days ago. By the time I noticed it was gone, it was 2 hours later and I was 5 miles up the lake. I was sick because I love the jacket and my truck keys were in the pocket! On the way back to the ramp, I drove the same path and ran right up on the jacket. It was floating on the surface and my keys were still in the pocket. Amazing! I don't suggest you test the flotation of the jacket with important things in the pockets but I assure you that mine floats. If you are on the fence about which jacket to buy, look no further. This is absolutely the right one. Patagonia has done a marvelous job with this jacket and if we could get them to make a pair of bibs with the same shell and insulation, they could dominate the fishing outerwear industry. Insulated, waterproof, lightweight bibs are almost nonexistent. Nano Storm insulated bibs would be light years ahead of any garment currently available. Great job Patagonia.

November 25, 2019

I like everything about this

I like everything about this jacket except that it has the tightest hips of any coat I have ever worn. I debated sizes and would have had too long arms and too big shoulders had I gone with a larger size. I'm a 12-14 and the large should have been right. Now I'm finding it a little too snug, unlike all other coats I have. So, I wish the p... Read Moreroportions were a little more forgiving.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2019

Hi Paula! Thanks for your feedback! We're sorry to hear this jacket didn't fit quite right. Please note, items from our Men's line will have a straighter cut, whereas our Women's line will be a bit more contoured to accommodate chest/waist/hip proportions. If you would like to initiate a return for this item, you are welcome to do so [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

November 16, 2019

Warm and comfortable

Great, comfortable jacket. Perfect for mild winter weather or add layer underneath for the colder days.

November 15, 2019

Poor fit.

And the zipper bulges when sitting or bending over even slightly. Returned and purchased an Arcteryx jacket. Patagonia's sizing and quality is off as of late - super disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Cody, thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We're truly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the jacket. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future season so it's much appreciated. We'll pass this along to our design team!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches