Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Stretch Nano Storm® Jacket

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 27 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Stretch Nano Storm® Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
July 21, 2021

Great jacket

I bought the coat coat on sale in July, so I havent been able to test how warm it is. I have an upcoming trek to summit St. Helen that I plan to use the coat for and I think it will be perfect. I was agonized over sizing but I went with my usual small. Im glad I did, because the medium would have been too roomy. I could put a few thinner layers or ... Read Moreone thick sweater or fleece under the coat without it being too restrictive. The arms are long but thats typical for me. Im 55 and 133 lbs. I always wear my husbands hooded down Patagonia coat to let the dogs out in the winter, and now I can start wearing my own.

July 2, 2021

Quality Jacket

This jacket is truely wonderful. It may not pack down small or save a lot of weight for ultralight backpacking, but it makes up in the quality of materials and warmth. I run on the cold side, and this jacket was wonderful on my last trip up into the beartooth mountains. While it was only on the low side of 38 on the one night it began to rain, I st... Read Moreayed dry and definitely toasty. I would recommend this jacket for daytrips and casual wear.

April 17, 2021

Poor fit, typical of Patagonia

Im coming to realize that Patagonia jackets are not designed for women. Its hard letting go, as Ive owned several Patagonia jackets throughout the last 15 years. Each time, I start with the Medium size, which ends up being too tight in the hips but good in the chest and arms. I always end up with the Large and dealing with the overly long arms but ... Read Morea better fit in the hips. This jacket is no exception. My biggest problem, however, is the zipper/collar fully zipped (without using the hood) the collar bends inward, and so it pokes me in the throat and chin. I dont know why it does this, and its incredibly uncomfortable. Im frustrated because I spent a lot on this jacket, but its just not working.

Response from Patagonia
April 19, 2021

Hello Jill, we're truly sorry that you're experiencing fit issues with this jacket and that the collar keeps bending inwards. All of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under warranty if it is not performing up to your satisfaction. Your feedback in regards to our sizing and fit has been passed along to the appropriate team. Thanks for your review!

April 5, 2021

Warm, Soft & Stretchy - Other Colors Please?

Wow, what a nice jacket! I've tried a few different insulated waterproof jackets this season and all have gone back, but this one seems to be a winner. Waterproof DWR finish is PFC-free (yay!), stretchy and soft fabric throughout, and warm! I'm not a big fan of this year's color choices. For example, I'd like to see this jacket ... Read Moreoffered other colors like Regen Green (please!), Chicory Red, and Black - all with matching zipper colors. I ended up ordering the not-so-loud Classic Navy, although it's not my favorite color. The sizing was relatively true-to-size, maybe a bit large without a mid-layer, but perfect fit with a fleece underneath. Hood fit well, I could see wearing a helmet under there, but the adjustments allowed a good fit without. I'm 5'4" with 35 bust, 27 waist, 35 hip and I purchased a size Small.

March 11, 2021

LOVE THIS JACKET

My husband and I hike often in below freezing weather and I am in love with this jacket as a lightweight piece that goes over layers and protects from rain, snow and wind. I find myself getting warm while wearing this if I have too many layers on. The last time I went out in below freezing weather, I had my capilene layering piece (the hoodie, but ... Read MoreI love my crews too) along with my Patagonia down vest and I was warm...I had to unzip my coat! I love Patagonia! Amazing company that wears well over the years and their guarantee on all merchandise makes purchases a no brainer! Their customer service reps are great! Highly recommend this coat for on the move activities! I want to reiterate that this jacket is for movement which makes it so amazing! It literally moves with you! Its not the best Patagonia has as far as packability, but it also doesnt take up too much room in my pack when I need to shed layers. If you are looking to sit and watch a sporting event in the freezing cold, I would recommend a puffer jacket although; with the right layering pieces...this may work for you as well! Hands down best jacket! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this!

March 2, 2021

Pretty much the best jacket Ive ever owned

This jacket is so light yet extremely warm. Most days I only have to wear one base layer underneath. My movement never feels restricted. Half the time I forget Im even wearing the jacket. Worth every penny. Looking forward to having it for many years.

March 2, 2021

So warm!

Got this jacket for XC skiing on colder days. Very warm and quiet. Not a fan of the length as it makes my belly look poochy. Probably could have sized down and still had room for base layers.

March 1, 2021

Great Jacket

I really love this jacket. I was looking for something with a soft, flexible outer shell to ski in. This has done well for me on sunny days and stormy conditions. It repels water well but still feels cozy. My only complaint is that I would like to see it with a bigger hood. I'm 5'5 125lb and the small has plenty of room for lots of layers... Read More underneath and freedom of movement.

February 26, 2021

Great jacket all around

I was in the market for a new ski jacket and this is it. It feels lightweight, so I am always shocked how warm it is as well. Very moveable, a great fit that isnt too tight or loose. So when we are up on the mountain chasing the fresh powder or enjoying a bluebird sky, this coat works.

February 25, 2021

great winter jacket for activivty outdoors

Jacket works great with baselayer alone (5F upward) or base + midlayer (<5F to <15F) with XC skiing or snowshoeing or other high output activity. Really ventilates well. Also have worn for less active pursuits (outdoor skating, playing with kids) and just layered appropriately based on temp. True to size with layering included, for me. If for... Read More some reason you want slimmer fit, size down perhaps. Great internal stash pocket for gloves/liners/hat when I overheat and it has 4 handy, zippered external pockets for everything else. Glad I snagged this on sale, but I think it would be worth it at full price since it will probably hold up for many years of use based on past experience with Patagonia jackets.

February 23, 2021

Great jacket

I really like this jacket. It is snug and slightly smaller than other ski jackets Ive owned.

February 9, 2021

Exactly What I was Looking for!

This jacket is so soft and fits perfectly. I am 5'9 and 150 pounds with broad shoulders and long arms, and this jacket is not too tight or short at all. I could probably fit into a medium, but wanted a little extra room for layers, as I run cold while skiing. I would 100% recommend this jacket.

February 3, 2021

Really great, just not warm enough

The size was perfect, slightly big but I wanted to be able to layer. It was very waterproof, I ran the sleeve underwater and was very impressed with how it ran off. It was super flexible, comfortable and I really loved the overall look/feel of the jacket! All of this excitement came to an end when I realized I would have to return it because it jus... Read Moret wasn't warm enough for what I was looking for. I live on Long Island so the winter climate is nothing severe compared to what one further north may experience but I still found myself to be quite cold on an average 40 degree, sunny day. This jacket would be great for a chilly day in the spring or fall, but for it to be appearing when you press on "snow" I find myself surprised because I think I would freeze if you put me on a mountain to go skiing in it. I am not one to normally make reviews but I am hoping to prevent someone from making the same mistake if they are on the hunt for something warmer.

January 31, 2021

Runs long

Like others have mentioned, this coat runs long and a bit slender through the hits. Otherwise, I really liked it. Just an awkward length in my opinion. Going to reorder in size M (previously ordered large) and see if bringing it up an inch helps at all with how it fits in the hips and helps with length, but not super optimisitic. Bummer

January 28, 2021

Lightweight and warm

I purchased this jacket along with the Patagonia Insulated Torrentshell Jacket both in the roamed red color because I wanted to compare them. I ended up returning the Torrentshell jacket and decided to keep the Nano Stretch jacket. It is very lightweight yet warm. Also the fabric is soft which doesnt make any noise like other waterproof material. T... Read Morehe stretchy feature makes it easy to move my arms. I was looking for a waterproof and insulated jacket for a long time and I am so happy to finally find it. I usually wear size S but ordered the M so that I can layer underneath. The only thing I did not like is the zipper color being different from the rest of the jacket. Otherwise its worth the price.

January 14, 2021

Great hiking jacket for moderately cold weather

I use this jacket for hiking in 30 degree weather in Dec, Jan and February. I am not a all day hiker. 3-4 hours is about it for me. This jacket is warm without being bulky. I tend to run warm once I get moving and I don't overheat in this jacket. Good amount of pockets too which I appreciate. I wear one layering piece underneath and I am good ... Read Moreto go. The pit zips are great but I have not had to use them yet. The bottom of the jacket in the hip area could have a smidge more room or have more stretchy fabric so it fits a bit better that would be my only suggestion. Great jacket.

December 2, 2020

Just okay

I live in Vermont and wanted a winter coat for dog walking etc, and for this price thought this was a winter jacket _ its not. This is a jacket for a crisp fall day with a couple layers underneath- maybe a tshirt if you are doing some moderate activity. Its too bulky to wear hiking in my opinion- the neck zips up uncomfortably under the chin and ja... Read Morebs your chin with the edge of the zipper. I got this at a way discounted price someplace else so for that price its fine as a fall jacket with a soft lining. But for the full price I would send this back right away- its a nano air hoody with a hard shell- while I dont think its a poor quality jacket; its just nowhere near warm enough for activity outside in winter , unless you are maybe doing something really rigorous like cross country skiing. Also the colors are terrible, my own jacket included. Cant ever understand why Patagonia makes womens products in such tacky colors. Mine is the orange from last season.

November 19, 2020

Did not fit well

Beautiful color /design and well made. The idea of a jacket that is both insulated/warm and stretchy was so dreamy. Unfortunately the fit was not right for me. The large was too tight in the hips/butt for winter layers and the XL was too long in length and sleeves as well as too big/poochy in the waist. I need a petite, please Patagonia!

November 5, 2020

Super comfortable! Great fit!

Super soft on the inside! Very comfortable, love that it stretches! Great for everyday wear. Very warm. In 54 125lbs and I got the XS

September 1, 2020

Super Warm!

This jacket is amazing! I sized up to an L and it was a bit too large. I should have stayed with my normal M size which would allow for a mid layer and base layer. However the large would allow for me to have a thick/big mid layer or two so depends on how you dress. Im exchanging for a M and hoping this blue color comes available! The jacket feels... Read More like a super comfy sleeping bag. Noticeable warm just trying this one with a t shirt. Fabric is soft too. For reference Im 59, 150lbs

February 24, 2020

Like wearing a sleeping bag - in a good way

I have been waiting and waiting to purchase a Stretch Nano Storm. My boyfriend has a Nano Air and absolutely adores it because of how light and warm and soft it is - he wears it constantly! When I saw the Stretch Nano Storm and read a few reviews I figured that it was basically a Nano Air wrapped in a shell, I knew I had to try it. I purchased a sm... Read Moreall navy (though I wish it came in black) and it is pretty amazing. The inner lining is sooooo soft and smooth and it really is like wearing a super soft and warm sleeping bag but without the bulk. It is a bit bulky on me, I probably could have gotten by with a x-small, but I don't mind the extra room - all the better to layer under an R2 techface and a flannel shirt to stay warm. The outer shell isn't hard and crunchy like a torrentshell and it is pretty quiet and super water and windproof. It is so warm - I live in South Dakota where we regularly have -10F temperatures. I have worn it on walks in knee-deep snow and it is super breathable and doesn't make me too hot or sticky. I wish I hadn't waited so long to take the plunge to buy it!

December 31, 2019

Fits very well

I got this nearly a year ago and have used it extensively. I love it. For starters, I'm 5'4" and 125lbs. My shoulders are quite broad, and my hips aren't super skinny- so I'm not what you consider the usual slim Patagonia wearer. I got the Small, and was nervous it might be too tight- either at the waist or in the shoulders... Read More. This thing is roomy- it's perfect! I have plenty of room for layering beneath, but it's not too big or bulky at the same time. The fabric is excellent- I wear it as my outerlayer most of the time, with potentially adding additional insulating layers beneath. It keeps me warm, with additional layers under, in temps down to 0F. It packs quite small, the outer layer is more 'friendly' than most waterproof layers are. The abundance of pockets is great. With the pit zips this jacket truly does become the 'wear one for all activities' jacket. I haven't worn it in full-on rainstorms, but I do usually take it, and trust it, as my waterproof layer.

December 29, 2019

Great jacket

Fits great, light weight, water & wind proof, warm with wide temperature latitude. Very pleased

December 11, 2019

great for winter hike

Wore this above 2500 meters (8200 ft) on Poon Hill trek in Nepal in December (with Capilene Thermal base & R1), and it kept me warm! The pit zips came in real handy when I overheated on continuous climb up, and the jacket kept me in perfect temperature during steady walks. It got a little cold when not moving while waiting for sunrise, but that... Read More's expected - I was too lazy to switch to heavy-duty down... I wear Small in Patagonia but got M to accommodate layers and it worked great. The longer length works great too - long enough to keep my bum warm but not too long for all-day walk in the mountains.

November 19, 2019

Sizing

I am 5'2" and weigh 118 pounds and unfortunately the coat is out of proportion for me. Too slender through the hips and of course sleeves too long, coat also too long. Only 5% of American women are this tall. Patagonia could capture more sales if they consider altering their sizing to capture more sales.

November 12, 2019

Using it as a ski crossover winter jacket

Roomy to comfortable fit. Enough insulation without overheating. Allows for laying. And nice color too.

October 28, 2019

Great cool weather coat!

October was the perfect month in Boston for me to buy this coat. It's a great warmth for bike commuting and hanging around outside in the fall chill. It's also completely windproof and keeps out the drizzle. Bonus is that the sleevs are long enough for my 6'! Would likely be great for a winter hike too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches