Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 191 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest

4.6/5
True To Size
September 4, 2021

Love

First, beautiful color. I also have a black one and in this pandemic I was in serious of need of joyful color and this blue is it. Otherwise, simply a great vest. Light and warm, and it fits really well. I'm a slim 6' 2" and I dislike tops that fit like an umbrella. With some pulling in of the cords at the waist when wearing over ts... Read Morehirts, the vest fits perfect. I can also layer over a sweater or wool shirt. There's almost nothing better than a simple down vest and this is a perfect example of the genre.

July 31, 2021

Great vest

Everything is perfect. This is a great vest; however it does run small. I normally wear a large in Patagonia products but needed an extra large in this vest to fit properly

May 4, 2021

Wonderful and so comfortable

It is so confortable, pretty and wonderfully taylord

May 3, 2021

Great Vest

Lightweigt, comfortable, & great looking. Pockets are all convenient and very usable!

May 2, 2021

Great Item

Ive worn a number of vest this style over the years and this one sits with the top styles and fits. No oversized nor under, the knit work around the shoulder and neck make it unique to Patagonias originality. Great look, solid coloring, and as warm as youd expect or need it to be.

May 2, 2021

New sweater vest purchase.

Gave it 4 stars rather than 5 because its so new, I dont know yet how well it will hold up. Well made and very warm considering how light the garment is. A little pricey considering the competition.

April 29, 2021

Comfy with a hoodie

Comfy with a hoodie.

April 28, 2021

Perfect fit

This is my second down sweater vest. True to the size you would normally purchase. Not right around the arm holes so even with a heavy sweatshirt it fits without issue. Im a wildland Firefighter and this thing has taken a beating over the years and never had any issues thats why I purchased the same one again.

April 26, 2021

Awesome Vest

Warm, comfortable and well made.

April 24, 2021

The clothes are great!

Very light, very warm! The workmanship is exquisite and I like it very much.

April 13, 2021

Súper súper nice color

Warm and nice color

April 12, 2021

Perfect for anything you would wear a vest for

I love it. Its the best purchase Ive ever made.

April 8, 2021

Warm and the right length

Have been a long time customer of your garments and they have lasted through several seasons. This vest would be a much better garment if it had a chest zippered pocket

April 7, 2021

Perfect for fall/winter/spring, over a shirt / sweater, or under a coat!

Its light, rugged, warm, and doesnt take much room in a backpack if you need to shed it.

April 2, 2021

Awesome Vest

Awesome vest- not too hot not too cold! Superior workmanship! Great quality!

April 1, 2021

Good fit!

Excited about this piece for a cold weather snowboarding mid layer that fits over my bibs and under my 3L shell. I like the robust zipper and will also use it as an outer layer for fall and spring...nice piece, Patagonia...good job!

March 21, 2021

Light and warm

Nice down vest, lightweight, compact and warm enough. Size S good for 5.6 height with thin fleece, shirt and t-shirt, with thick sweater feels bit tight.

March 14, 2021

Too Short

Too short in Length...2 to 3" short!

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Hey there, thank you for the review on our Down Sweater Vest. We're sorry to hear that this was too short for you and appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Please note, Customer Service is happy to provide you with measurements on any gear you may be curious about. After some research, we've found that the [Men's Micro Puff Vest](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-micro-puff-vest/84075.html?dwvar_84075_color=BLK&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-vests) is longer in length, if you're interested have a look.

March 6, 2021

Nice Top Layer

I needed something that was warm yet compact enough to fit in my duffel. I use it mainly to get to the pool in winter at 6AM when it is about 40 degrees outside. I have limited space and this vest fits easily in my bag. It is very warm even though it is deceivingly thin. My only want would be for the outer shell material to feel a little more rugge... Read Mored as I am afraid even my finger nails will snag the outer shell. I am super careful with it so all good so far. It is expensive compared to other companies offerings but I like the idea that it can be repaired. Old clothes is full of stories and it is a shame to throw h them away just because they get old. Overall, great quality product that meets my needs.

March 5, 2021

In-between sizes

I am a pretty dedicated Patagonia customer and I've loved the down vests for years. When it came time to get a new one, I didn't hesitate, but it seems they have changed their sizing and the mediums that usually fit me are too small and the larges are too big and baggy. Per the size chart a medium is 38-40 in the chest whereas a large is ... Read More42-44. The rest of the sizes overlap with each other so why the gap between med and large? It seems like a chest size between 40-42 is pretty common and to not have that covered in a vest is disappointing. Unfortunately I'll be returning this vest.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

We're sorry the sizing didn't work for you. In the future we're always happy to provide exact garment dimensions.

March 1, 2021

Size inconsistency

Fit could have been better, it seems consistent that the small is a little too small and medium is a little too large. Been a customer for over 20 years and my only complaint is inconsistency in size, one item that fits well and is small doesn't translate over to another item. Often I have to order two sizes and return one, which is a drag.

March 1, 2021

Its bloody awesome

Well, anything I have to say has been covered. So, quickly, Me likey and you will too.

February 28, 2021

Perfect fit

This vest fits like a glove Im a 39-40 chest 30-31inch waist, it fits like it was custom made. Good zipper construction warm and comfortable great color.

February 27, 2021

Grade A Vest

I am a bit of a vest lover these days and own several vest from different brands but my Patagonia first purchase instantly became my favorite. The attention to detail and style sets Patagonia vest apart from others. I get compliments from strangers about how they like my vest. I highly recommend Patagonia vest! I plan to buy several more myself .

February 25, 2021

Favorite Vest

I have most of the Patagonia vests. All do what they should. The Down Vest is quiet, warm, breathes, and moves better. The cut is the same but it's warmer and my new favorite!

February 24, 2021

vest

Was happy with this product

February 23, 2021

Awesome vest!

Fit was perfect and very comfortable. Worth the price for the quality.

February 23, 2021

Best Vest

I have almost all Patagonia vests, love them all, the down vest is very warm and comfortable. Very happy with the purchase!

February 20, 2021

Comfy

Nice quality, good fit. Love a light vest for outdoor activities.

February 19, 2021

Excellent feel and perfect weight

I own 2 of these vests I like them so much. A black one and a blue one. As a business executive, I like to wear the black one with a white shirt, jeans and my cowboy boots. (I was raised on a horse ranch with over 200 head of appaloosa's.) They are very comfortable, lightweight but strong. The only challenge is they tend to rip easier than my ... Read MorePatagonia jackets. I hike and climb allot in the high country around Lake City and Ouray and in the woods they catch on branches and tear. Then the down starts coming out. Regardless you have this fantastic warranty! You are an amazing company and I love your products! They are the best! My best to your success Robert Smith

February 15, 2021

Just what I was looking for

True to size and warm. Not bulky but does not fit tight. Great with half zip underneath. I would recommend this product good quality.

February 15, 2021

Comfortable

I love wearing my vest over a sweatshirt it keeps me warm and I am not overloaded with layers of clothing

February 8, 2021

Awesome vest!

Bought this one in Green a few years ago! Loved it so much due to its warmth and durability that I decided to get another one in black! Overall, an awesome product!

February 2, 2021

Like a glove!

Given that its winter we lower the house temperature to 68 degrees which means that the house is 64 degrees. This vest is supremely well made, stitching precise, feels like a super light, comfortable quilt. Definitely!

February 2, 2021

Warm and well made

this vest will serve you well for most activities. it's exceptionally warm. I used it as the outermost layer as well as under a coat on an exceptionally cold day. I miss having a little stretch (I used it for winter golf) and the chest area was slightly large. I suggested to customer service a draw band similar to what they use at the waist. ... Read MoreExpect to have many years of use with this high quality product

January 31, 2021

Down vest

Its a bit expensive but worth every penny spent. Its warm, has big pockets, and keeps me warm.

January 31, 2021

Light and warm

This is a great piece of gear. It is very light but warm and comfortable. I would highly recommend it.

January 30, 2021

Too Fat For Patagonia

Ok, so I'm overweight. I'm working on it, but I like to be stylish too. Why does Patagonia discriminate against the big man;) I wear XXL in every other clothing line, but I couldn't get the zipper to zip in a Patagonia XXL Down Sweater Vest. I looked like 10 pounds of crap in a 5 pound bag. Big people need love and warmth too-may be ... Read Morea XXXL vest?

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to express this to us. We absolutely hear what you're saying and please know, we have no doubts that people of all shapes and sizes get outdoors and can benefit from our clothing. Over the past several years, we've begun to expand our sizes to reflect this belief and we only have plans to further extend sizes. Please feel free to send this back and click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens?prefn1=size&prefv1=XXXL) for items in 3XL.

January 19, 2021

Toasty when fishing

High quality, wind proof, warmth. Keeps the body warm while allowing freedom to fly cast.

January 18, 2021

Nice For Walking Around In

I live in downtown Boston. I use the vest under my overcoat when the temperature gets cold.

January 16, 2021

super warm

great vest

January 13, 2021

Love it!

Medium is too small and large a little big. Large is better for someone with an athletic build. Allows you to layer underneath. Im happy with it.

January 11, 2021

Poor Sizing Beware

Have bought this in the past as a Small. Current sizing is down a size (or more), probably to save costs.

January 9, 2021

Stylish, super light but warm and practical

I am sold on Patagonia! I have barely taken off the vest ever since I purchased it. Thank you for the great quality.

January 9, 2021

Warm and comfy!

It's very warm and comfortable. The shipping was prompt and reliable. The vest was a little pricy but I love it!

January 5, 2021

Perfect Lightweight Stylish Vest

I bought this for my husband. He never takes it off. Its cozy inside the house and toasty warm on Catskill Mountain winter hikes. Hes tall and the length is perfect. The slate blue color with the sporty aqua blue stripe is beautiful. Patagonia customer service is second to none. Patagonia political activism is correct and admirable. I am a happy, l... Read Moreoyal, repeat customer.

January 4, 2021

Great vest

Great product

January 3, 2021

Super vest

Warm and lightweight. Not bulky. Zippered pockets and inner pocket for storage. The perfect weight. Im never too hot or cold. Probably one of my best Patagonia purchases.

January 2, 2021

Mens Down vest

This is the 2nd Patagonia vest for my husband. He loves them.

December 31, 2020

warm with great mobility

best golf cold weather vest you can buy

December 31, 2020

Perfect

Wear in over a fleece in cool weather or even indoors. Perfect

December 30, 2020

Ultra Light Weight, Super Warm

This particular vest was given as a Christmas gift. We have a quilt from Patagonia made of very similar materials at the same weight. We love this cover and felt the vest would make a remarkable Christmas gift.

December 29, 2020

Underwhelming

Took a month to receive it. Not well insulated. Fits extra loose in mid section. Overall disappointed

December 25, 2020

Excellent fit and lightweight

Excellent fit and very light weight

December 22, 2020

Yeah this vest is the best.

I love my new vest, Its wonderfully warm, I will wear it in spring, And every winter storm, If the snow is deep, And the night is cold, I will wear this vest, And be warm to the bone.

December 17, 2020

warm

Little heavy on look work to make it sleeker

December 5, 2020

Comfortable and looks great

It's a great product and I own it in two different colors. Fits well and is far warmer than I would have expected. Worth every penny!

December 4, 2020

super warm

its really good to use everyday

December 3, 2020

Very warm

Well made very comfortable and warm. Like the look

December 3, 2020

Perfect for Winter Work

Purchased Vest to wear over professional attire during winter months. Large fits perfectly over button-ups and tie. Extra layer keeps me warm in the office and the look is client friendly. Pockets nice touch.

December 3, 2020

My Husband Loves

Perfect. He doesnt like jackets...this is the perfect article of clothing for him. Wears with a wool sweater under.

December 2, 2020

Love it

I'm 5'11" - 195lbs - 35" waist and have larger shoulders and back from surfing. This vest fits perfect, is nice and warm but light and folds into a tiny square to place in my pack. Looks great too.

December 1, 2020

Fashionable and warm

Being a woman that is well endowed, it is hard for me to find women's jackets/vests that will zip up with clothing underneath, so I purchased a men's extra large, which is a little big, but leaves room to wear a thinker sweater underneath if needed. Love this vest!

December 1, 2020

great clothing

I usually buy in the store and love your clothes. I'm still wearing one of you sweaters I bought 25 years ago; still in style and still looks like new, clothing is durable and extremely functional

November 18, 2020

Great winter vest.

Im a female, 5 7&1/2, weighing 150 pounds. This vest fits like I hoped, leaving room underneath for winter shirts. Its well made and functional for the winter hiking I do. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a lightweight but warm winter vest.

November 16, 2020

Nice and warm. Especially for this Chicago 40 degree weather.

I wish you guys can add a zipper the double zipper.

November 14, 2020

Appreciate XS mens sizes

Many American clothing company clothes lines run large and dont even include an extra small size choice: as a relatively diminutive sized man, I have always appreciated Patagonia including an XS line of sizes for many/most of its clothing line (perhaps due to it European roots?). And the Patagonia sizing scheme accurately reflects different men siz... Read Morees to my mind. Clothes are properly tapered, form-fitting including down vest I just purchasedto fit snuggly, properly and achieve goal of light weight, breathable warmth. Thank you!

November 14, 2020

Runs a bit small compared to other patagonia products

It seems cut slightly smaller than other smalls i get from you guys. i have a small ski shell that i can fit layers underneath, small down sweater (i think it's called) that i ordered through a local store at the same time and both of those fit no problem. I also wear size small polo shirts of yours. This one, however, puts the squeeze on a bi... Read Moret. I suspect it's an anomaly for this particular unit?? but not sure as obviously you guys make a lot of the same thing on a line. i'm kind of bummed because it's kind of a distraction when i wear it so not sure when i will. thank you! love 99.999% of your stuff. you guys are awesome. Justin

Response from Patagonia
December 11, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and for all the support. We are bummed to hear that the fit didn't work out on this vest. If you decide you're not grabbing for it much and want to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back, please feel free to do so.

November 7, 2020

Warm and Comfortable.

My first Patagonia product. This is one of the highest quality pieces of clothing Ive ever owned. Super comfortable, super warm, premium quality. You can tell this will last a very long time. Worth every Penny.

November 1, 2020

Pata-gucci

Customer for 20+ years but no more. Fashion has overtaken utility. Vest cut for a fashion fit and down fill may be very high quality but there's precious little of it -- near zero loft (but a slim look for the Metros).

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2020

Hello Dana, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts with us! Our items are rigorously tested by our ambassadors to be sure that we keep performance and durability over anything else, but we sincerely appreciate your feedback nonetheless and have passed it along to the Design Team. Thanks for helping us improve!

October 29, 2020

As expected

Exactly as described. Warm but not bulky.

October 29, 2020

My second purchase of this item

I'm 5'10 weigh 190-195lbs with a 42 inch chest. This is my second time purchasing a vest. The first time I purchased an XL and recently lost a bunch of weight. I used the worn wear to repurpose my old jacket and bought a new one. I went with an M because I wanted a more fitting vest. I can't have too much of a layer underneath, so no... Read More big thick winter sweater. Then again you're probably not using this coat for that.

September 18, 2020

Winner!

Size large works for me at 5'10" & 44" chest I'm able to wear as is or layer under a summer snow storm. Easy to move and very warm during low activity and core heats right up with some movement. Pockets hold all that I need. Very comfortable vest. Packs super well too.

September 8, 2020

Very Versatile

The Patagonia down vest is a must for California. Great on cool mornings and evenings, works well when layering for skiing and looks good for casual business meetings.

September 7, 2020

Warm and Very Light

The vest is very light and pretty warm. It is a good grab and go item. Also, it is very warm under a shell. It packs down to nothing. Perfect gift for men and women.

September 5, 2020

Great look

Great quality and a special fall color

September 3, 2020

Great traditional vest- small in chest

I love the vest- just like I remembered from 1986! It keeps me warm in the medical clinic I see patients in when the "auto-climate control" kicks it down to 60 degrees F as I'm in at 0430 completing charts and refilling meds before seeing patients starting at 0740. Goes so well with my assortment of P-gear... Yvon for prez, he unders... Read Moretands way more about the long-term impact on the earth than the administration or legislative branches of government do. Do right by your planet, Greg

June 22, 2020

Runs really small

The size large fits more like a medium. I was surprised by the misleading regular fit description -- it's more of a slim fit.

June 17, 2020

Yes!!! Replaces an older Patagonia vest with too many holes and broken zippers.. Thanks.

Yes!!! Replaces an older Patagonia vest with too many holes and broken zippers.. Thanks.

June 17, 2020

As advertised

Very warm with a snug fit, just what l wanted

June 17, 2020

Saul good

Puffy goodness :-)

March 7, 2020

Perfect Lite-Weight Vest

I carry a little belly and normally wear an XL but it was long and loose so I returned for a ML and it fit perfectly. Very warm down fill, so lite you hardly know you're wearing it. Great all around cool weather vest.

February 14, 2020

Thumbs Up

It's a very good vest and I am pleased. But they've changed it since 2012 which is when I had one last. The hand warmer pockets are no longer lined with fleece and neither is the collar. If I remember correctly, there used to be an outside left chest zippered pocket which is perfect for a phone and now it's on the inside. The fit is ... Read Morevery good, I'm 6' 200lbs and the large is perfect. It just seems a little less well-made, less attention to detail than previous models.

February 9, 2020

Pockets

I've had my vest many years, its been very good to me. Warm and light weight it goes perfect under my snowboarding jacket and over my fleece. The only problem I've had with it is both pockets jammed and would not open. I had to cut them open to pull out my wallet on one occasion and my keys on another occasion. When I go snowboarding I ju... Read Morest use my other pockets on my outer shell leaving the vest as strictly a base layer.

January 3, 2020

Warm and Comfortable

Great item for wearing over a sweatshirt or long sleeve shirt. Really comfortable and provides great warmth while spending time outdoors during the winter. Fits true to size for me.

January 1, 2020

The best!

Patagonia has really great clothing and things I wouldn't not want to have whether winter or summer!

December 31, 2019

Excellent

Good quality

December 28, 2019

Light weight yet warm and comfy

It was a gift and the recipient loves it!!!

December 28, 2019

Love it!

Lightweight, but warm and comfortable. Great layering piece. Packs really easily. It looks great too.

December 27, 2019

Warm and stylish

Warm and stylish

December 25, 2019

Comfortable, fits well, looks great!

Comfortable, fits well, looks great!

December 25, 2019

Lightweight and warm. Perfect underlayer

Lightweight and warm. Perfect underlayer for my coldest ski days.

December 22, 2019

Down sweater vest nice addition

Perfect for keeping your core warm. Works for a hike or the office.

December 17, 2019

Easy, pleasant, predictable

This is what makes Patagonia shine above the rest. I had the stopper end of a zipper let go on a nearly new down sweater. Not repairable in the store, the garment would have to be sent to the shop for repair with a 6 week turnaround. This puffy is an essential part of my winter wardrobe and would be sorely missed. The store(Freeport, Maine) clerk o... Read Moreffered to replace it in house and was able to do so on the spot.....problem solved. Thank you very much! Alan Arbo Sugarloaf, Maine

December 14, 2019

Coat

Perfect fit. Very warm and looks great. Great materials used.

December 13, 2019

Excellent quality, nice fit, easy

Excellent quality, nice fit, easy to pack and keeps you warm.

December 12, 2019

Excellent choice

Wore this under my soft shell while cross country skiing. It fits great and kept me warm

December 10, 2019

Comments on MS Down Seater Vest

This is everything I expect from Patagonia Thanks, Chris

December 10, 2019

High Quality

High Quality

December 5, 2019

Jack Sprat Could Eat No Fat

Purchased XXL. Sized way too tight. My "normal" size for shirts is XL; Outerwear XXL. I will return this item for an XXL or refund. Barely get the front panel closed.

December 4, 2019

Classic style

Good style. Good quality. Don't like the draw sting cord coming through side pockets ( past models draw string was outside).Navy blue more like a royal blue with dash of purple.

November 23, 2019

A little short, but overall

A little short, but overall great fit.

November 21, 2019

I love the mission of

I love the mission of Patagonia

November 19, 2019

Bought this for my Dad

Bought this for my Dad and he loved it. Said it fit very comfortably .

November 13, 2019

Great purchase

The vests are great, they are very comfortable and light weight. Couldn’t have asked for anything more.

November 10, 2019

Lightweight and compact warmth

The vest is lightweight and warm, but not bulky so that it can be worn comfortably as a mid layer

November 9, 2019

Very comfortable!

Very comfortable!

November 6, 2019

Best Ever

I have worn this basically everyday since it came in the mail. I love it. So warm and comfortable but not too warm like a full down coat. Absolutely perfect.

November 6, 2019

High quality nice fit

A good fitting stylish yet fully functional vest.

November 5, 2019

Love it!

Love it!

November 5, 2019

Perfect color

You can go wrong with a Patagonia vest! I have a few but wanted a good color like this. Thankfully the men’s XS fits like a woman’s small. I love it so much! Don’t mind the mess in my teenagers room! :)

November 4, 2019

Light and warm, perfect fall

Light and warm, perfect fall fishing layer

November 4, 2019

A beautiful down vest. Well

A beautiful down vest. Well made and customer service was exceptional. I expect to wear this vest for many years to come! I purchased a men's as I liked the color (and that color was not available in women's. Fit is perfect.

November 2, 2019

Purchased for my husband for

Purchased for my husband for extra warmth during the winter months. Loves the comfortable fit and light weight. His favorite piece of clothing to go to for warmth.

October 27, 2019

Perf

Love it

October 18, 2019

Buy this!

Ever been wearing your Patagonia down sweater and thought "man, I wish this thing was sleeveless"? Look no further, this is the one! So lightweight and comfortable --and packable! Don't waste your time deliberating, get it!

September 22, 2019

Great looking vest

I’m very happy with my purchase. This is my first Patagonia product, so far I’ve only read about the quality of their products but now I see it for myself. I hope I’ll wear this for a long time and for sure I’m getting more of the brand. Just before buying, google the colors so you can see the true tone of the color on more images.

September 10, 2019

Nice, slightly odd cut

Nice color (Hammonds Gold), and well made. My only concern is that the fit is a little odd, as in so many Patagonia items of late. If you are of average build and expecting a regular fit, I think you'll be very disappointed. It's slim - no two ways about it. It fits me because I'm (very) slim, but even then it could use a little more... Read More room in the mid-torso. The saving grace is that the fit around the shoulders and armpits gives sufficient room to move, unlike some slim fit items.

September 5, 2019

Down vest

Great product. Super light, very warm. Such a great, functional piece of gear as a layer or an emergency have in a pack.

August 10, 2019

Pricey and delicate but does the job

Pricey and delicate but does the job

May 8, 2019

Down vest

Great product works very well. Very satisfied with Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Ms Down Sweater Vest

It's a fine garment. A small thing; zippers frequently catch surrounding material and get stuck. I previously owned the same vest and had the same problem. In the case the right pocket zipper became so stuck I had to send it in for repair.

May 8, 2019

Core Convection!!!

Man, does Patagonia’s Down Sweater Vest keep your midsection toasty! Perfect for hiking, camping, cool evenings, frosty mornings, and the odd misty mountain hop. Just at home as a stroll along the promenade as it is during Spring and Fall Backyard BBQ’s.

May 4, 2019

M's Down Sweater

The Down Sweaters cousin when you don't need selves but need to keep your core warm. I found the fit slightly slimmer than "regular fit". A great packable piece to have on the boat, just in case.

March 6, 2019

Best Vest Around

This vest is the perfect extra warmth layer to throw in your bag or keep in your car. It's got plenty of fill, so it's warm; it's durable and well-made, like everything Patagonia makes; and it packs down small into its own chest pocket, so there's no excuse not to carry it with you. I've worn this under a work coat or over ... Read Morea softshell for that just-perfect amount of extra insulation while I'm out and on the go.

March 4, 2019

Men's Down Sweater Vest

Great product. Bought this to replace another Patagonia vest. I can't say enough good things about this vest and this company.

November 8, 2018

Great Vest but Sizing is an issue

I recently purchased the Down Sweater Vest in a size Large to primarily wear as an outer wear piece and not a layering piece. I'm 5'10 and between 170-175lbs. The issue I have is the DRASTIC difference in size between the medium and large sizes. I would describe myself as average build, not overweight, not skinny. I like my micro brews lo... Read Morel. The medium fits extremely snug with just a light layer and the large is quite loose unless you have a heavier bottom layer. Every single piece of Patagonia I own in the regular fit I am a Medium except for this vest. It doesn't look oversized or baggy thankfully if worn with a flannel or hoody but just feels a bit boxy. My down sweater jacket which is a size medium fits perfect and I wish they transferred the cut from that jacket to the vest as it would still be a solid layering piece if the cut was slightly more accommodating. I'm going to keep the vest in the end but hopefully the designers will take the feedback from my post and others having the same issue and incorporate it into future designs.

May 17, 2018

Good Looking,Lightweight,And Warm

If you are in the market for lightweight,warm and windproof Vest this is the best product you can get for this price range. I've used this vest throughout the Colorado Rockies and during my business trips,and I would say this is one of the most comfortable & good looking pieces I've owned. I would certainly give it 5 stars for great b... Read Moreuild quality!

February 2, 2018

8 Years Strong

I recently ordered a Patagonia Down Sweater Vest to replace my previous Patagonia Sweater Vest after 8 years of hard use and thought I'd take the time to provide a more detailed review. I have used this vest in the Sierra Nevada, throughout the Colorado Rockies, the Northern Rockies of Montana, and the Green and White Mountains of New England.... Read More If I added up all of the days I wore this vest in the field my guess is I would come close to 3 straight years/1100 field days of daily use. Overall this is a great vest ' I would say it sets the industry standard for lightweight down vests. The down is quality, as is the fabric and construction. All down will leak from garments but this is about as good as it gets for down retention with no noticeable loss of fill/loft after all this use. Patagonia deserves props for their efforts to ethically source and construct their products. A down vest is a great layering piece, and this is more or less an ideal weight for this kind of layer. If I'm snowboarding at a resort I will wear this with an R1 base layer and a shell down to about 15 degrees Fahrenheit without overheating on the runs or getting too cold on the lift. Touring I often just wear this with a base layer. Camping/backpacking I pair this with a down jacket of varying weight depending on the conditions. In the pictures below you can note a couple of changes over the last 8 years, both of which are solid improvements. Patagonia has eliminated vertical upper baffles (these baffles in particular lost loft on my original vest). The have also bucked the industry trend (kudos!) of using ultralight zippers in favor of a slightly heavier, more durable zipper on both the main front zipper as well as the hand pocket zippers. I had to replace the main zipper on my previous vest after 2 years of heavy use and will gladly carry the extra grams to avoid the hassle of finding a seamstress to fix repair this zipper (Patagonia does back their products with an Ironclad guarantee but I needed a weekend fix to head back into the field). The interior pocket, which doubles as a stuffsack, has also improved in size and design, though I wish it were larger to more comfortably accommodate a set of climbing skins. Other improvements I would like to see in the future are more robust elastic around the armholes (suitable enough for occasional use) and fewer, larger baffles on the neck. I also wish Patagonia had a slightly more athletic cut. Finally, it would be nice to see Patagonia provide a heavier weight down vest one day. When all is said and done I've been happy with the 8 years my vest has brought. I could get several more years out of this vest but the amount of stains and duct tape on my vest led me to want to look like less of a dirtbag everywhere I went, hence the recent replacement. If you're looking for a high quality, lightweight down vest - and particularly if you value ethically sourced and produced products from a company with a strong commitment to our public lands - this vest is an easy win. If you are particularly round or particularly thin you may find the fit lacking, but the average person will find this to be a suitable fit.

October 19, 2017

A Classic

I've had my Down Sweater Vest for over a year and it is easily one of the best garments I have ever purchased. Well made,versatile,extremely warm and packable. I live in British Columbia and have this vest in my pack for hiking and camping trips heading into the mountains. As soon as things cool down it will warm you right up. It also look... Read Mores great too so you can just wear it around town on a cooler day. The DWR finish is excellent I've stained the vest so many times,but it always washes out. For me this is one of Patagonia's essential and classic pieces. A must have in anyone's outdoor wardrobe. Also this vest goes on clearance frequently. So it's often one of the best deals going.

September 24, 2017

Great vest I get compliments every time I wear it

I bought this a month ago and it is awesome to wear fits perfect and is warm.

September 8, 2017

Nice!

Wanted a down vest and found this version on sale so bought (elsewhere) the Ramble Red which complements my Patogonia French Red Down Sweater Jacket. The Ramble Red is a bit darker than the French Red which is slighter brighter. It's not yet cold yet but autumn's cool weather has appeared with winter's cold temperatures coming. The v... Read Moreest fits over a t-shirt and a lightweight fleece with enough room for a heavier base or mid layer. It's not thick as a regular down vest but appears to be warm enough,at least indoors. The fabric is lightweight so it probably won't hold up well if you use it harshly. There's no inner liner in the hand pockets so you'll need to keep some gloves in those pockets. Buy it when it's on sale ~50% off :)

September 2, 2017

Cozy dawn patrol snivvle gear.

This keeps the torso warm when your deciding whether or not to paddle out during an early morning wave check.

July 16, 2017

Mammoth outdoor enthusiasts

I bought this item with the expectation for the outdoor and it could not be designed better than Patagonia itself. Thank you for the commitment for us outdoors.

June 24, 2017

So light and warm

Love the look and the weight of my vest and awesomeness fit

May 28, 2017

Comfortable and warm

Light,comfortable,warm,functional pockets! It is all that I expected except possibly not quite as compressable as described. Great product.

May 26, 2017

love it but ....

We love Patagonia,have always bought Patagonia and think it is great wear. Unfotunately soon after buying this vest we noticed a little hole in the back and the insulation is coming out of it. otherwise we love all about Patagonia.

May 6, 2017

Have not taken it off!!

Best Buy yet!!! It goes with me all over the world. I wear it under the heavier Patagonia jacket for extra warmth. Super convinent for travel as they both become so small.

April 29, 2017

So warm and comfy

Bought this to keep warm during work. I should have bought this a longtime ago. The perfect thing to have all the time. Keeps the core comfortable and the arms ready for action.

April 22, 2017

Great Vest

I bought this vest about a month ago and have worn it several times with casual weekend clothing and have used it once while backpacking for evening / morning camp wear. I love it and it has quickly become my favorite insulating clothing layer.

April 10, 2017

Down sweater vest

I am so happy i bought this about a month ago as a present and they love it! Its light weight and warm.

April 9, 2017

down vest

well made,warm,comfortable ( I'm a 44 jacket and the XL was ileal) but i would descibe the color as "caribbean blue" not "deep sea blue".Another consequence of climate change? The photo shows a blue darker than the product delivered. So it goes.

April 8, 2017

TSA destroyed my vest!

I love my vest and it's keeping me warm during the cold days of spring. But wouldn't you know my first flight the TSA put my vest through the x-ray and it caught on something and make a hole where the down is coming out. Dang. Any ideas?

March 27, 2017

Has Evolved: Better or worse?

This item replaced an old "Down Vest" from around 2003. I immediately noticed that the evolution of this vest has resulted in a slimmer fit garment,which is actually alright by me,but won't be for some folks. My 2003 Down Vest was a size small but fit a little more relaxed than this newer "small" one. I like the relaxed fit... Read More more,but this tighter fit will be fine. Also,there is now less down in this 2017 product,as my 14 year old vest is still puffier (and possibly warmer) than the brand new one. However,this new vest has baffling that makes the garment more compressible and seems more pack-able and light. This one will be useful for certain cases where I need slimmer,lighter,and more compressible,but will not be as warm and relaxed of a fit.

March 26, 2017

Great product,sizes tricky

I haven't give 5 starts because of the size,the product mention regular fit,but,I found kind of small,more like a SLIM fit,the company should reconsider their sizes they are not consider wide backs.

March 25, 2017

Quality product

Bought this product from a recommendation and love it.

March 25, 2017

Very warm,Does the job!

I already have the Micro Puff Vest and that is nice for lightweight warmth but the Down Vest is definitely warmer and it's really nice and lightweight. It totally blocks wind and easily maintains your inner core warmth in colder 20-40 degree situations. I haven't had the chance to wear it in colder than 15 degree temps. as it was a mild W... Read Moreinter here. You can also wear it in 40-60 degree weather. I like vests for their lightweight and maneuverability. I live near the beach in the New Jersey where it's damp and cold in the Winter so the Down Vest is perfect for around here. I'm 5'9" and 180 lbs and large fits perfect.

March 20, 2017

Essential Item

Practical for the crazy up and down ATL weather. Great fit.

March 11, 2017

Great look and warmth

Love the easy on and off and can wear everywhere for casual or outdoor

March 11, 2017

All around perfect item to have on hand

I purchased this about a month ago. I bought it because I already had the jacket and just needed a bit more. I take it with me wherever I go and will keep it in my car all year round. It is exactly what a person needs when it is just a bit chillier out than expected. Thanks for making such great functional,usable stuff! Richard

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches