burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Down Sweater Vest Reviews

Write Your Review

4.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 23 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest

4.0/5
True To Size
January 24, 2023

Perfect vest

I needed a vest layer, not too puffy yet warm. Slim fit so as not to look like a bear. This is perfect!

January 20, 2023

I ordered my partners usual

I ordered my partners usual medium from Patagonia & it was unusually tight. Returned it for a large and that was huge. Just seemed like a big difference between both sizes & inconsistent with a large wardrobe of medium sized Patagonia items

Response from Patagonia
January 27, 2023

We're sorry for the inconsistency in sizing. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you'd like assistance with measurements, a return or exchange. Our Customer Service team will be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

January 17, 2023

Very Versatile

The Down Sweater Vest is a necessary go-to for all occasions. It can be worn for warm weather with less layers or layered up for the cold. It is great for a casual walk or more extreme elements. It is classy and can be worn at work and be dressed up or down. It is so soft and comfortable.

January 14, 2023

Warmer than expected!

The sizing chart on the website via other reviews was perfect. I would have gotten the XL, but glad I went with the recommendations! Super comfy, warmer than expected, and light as hell. Love it!

January 1, 2023

Great fit,collar and warmth.

Great fit,collar and warmth.

December 29, 2022

Not Like Old Down

I purshased this vest without seeing it or trying it on, as I went by other reviews and reputation. I previously had a quilted down vest that was more tradional in that the goose down filled the vest and made it puffier. That vest was definetly warmer than this vest. When your vest listed 800 fill down I expected it to have some depth or thickness.... Read More I,m somewhat disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
January 10, 2023

Hi Frank, we're very sorry to hear that the Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Vest didn't meet your expectations. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

December 28, 2022

2000 to 2022

I owned the 2000 model of this vest, which I loved, and recently replaced for free with the Patagonia Ironclad Guarantee with its 2022 model due to zipper failure. Noticeable changes include its fit due to how it is sewn - I prefer the older model, which is more form fitting, the newer one has a higher neck, which is good because it provides more c... Read Moreoverage, but when fully zipped its neck no longer sits flush and sticks out, so it looks odd. I really like and appreciate the addition internal pockets on the newer model, which has three in total compared to only one from the older model. This vest has maintained true down that is not synthetic, so it will keep you warmer. Overall this vest is a perfect piece of gear to layer with for added warmth that wont compromise mobility since its sleeveless. Highly recommended.

December 25, 2022

Great product

I work outside and this vest keeps me warm

December 19, 2022

I really enjoy wearing this

I really enjoy wearing this vest. It is very light weight but it keeps me really warm in temperatures from 48 up. This is the first vest I have ever had and I am really glad I purchased it.

December 13, 2022

Great vest alone or layered

This vest is warm ,durable , true to size, and packs into its pocket well. It also washes well and looks new again when I have the occasion to clean. Cannot go wrong if you need a vest for the long haul!

December 11, 2022

Down Sweater Vest

This vest is very well-made; the quality and craftsmanship are superb.

December 10, 2022

Little Loft.

Had to return. Too Small - AND - very, VERY disappointed in the loft - dead air space - especially for the price. Wanted to warm on 30 degree day hiking but got warming on 50 degree day going to Starbucks. Replacing a 40 year old North Face.

Response from Patagonia
December 20, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are incredibly sorry to hear that this purchase led to a return. We will make sure to pass along your feedback to our Product Design Team so they can take a deeper look into this.

November 19, 2022

perfect vest

I've been using a version of this vest for years, but accidentally left it on a recent flight. I hope who ever picked it up enjoys it. I tried another vest for a while but was never satisfied. I pack this for all outdoor activities even in summer months. I love the realistic stuff sack size of the vest pocket, which also allows me to use the p... Read Moreacked vest as a lumbar pillow in cars and airplanes. I appreciated the small repair patches although I hope to never use them.

November 15, 2022

The other reviews disappointed me...

I purchased this vest from a local outdoor shop here in town, and I can't take it off. Like literally, this vest has changed the game for me. Before finding this vest, I struggled to find a happy medium of temperature in the wintertime. I was either too cold (Not enough layers) or too warm (Too big of coats). Even my Patagonia Nano Puff jacke... Read Moret can be too warm for me. I had always wanted a vest, so I finally pulled the trigger and purchased one. Following my purchase and the high satisfaction I've received since my purchase, I went online to see other colors. Upon searching for this vest, I was so disappointed with the reviews. Everyone is subject to their own opinions, so I'd like to share mine. The collar isn't too tall. Yes, it appears to be taller than previous seasonal drops, but it's perfect. When zipped up, it helps keep your neck nice and warm. You can even tuck your chin down in which is so nice. I haven't seen the red in person, so I don't have a strong opinion on it, but I think the slightly darker tone of red Patagonia decided to use for this year's vest is brilliant. It's not overbearing, and without a doubt, it's in style. This vest, matched with a cozy quarter-zip, will turn heads at the ski lodge, a lovely evening dinner with your special someone, or even your business meetings. If I were to summarize my review, I would say this. This vest is warm, in style, and timeless. You can wear this for years, and people will wonder where to pick one up, just like yours. Thank you, Patagonia. You've yet to make something that disappoints. -Ethan

November 12, 2022

Perfect

No substitute for real down for warmth and comfort. Patagonia does it right. Thanks for another SAR uniform staple.

November 11, 2022

Is the new fabric better ?

The new Down Sweater Vest nylon fabric is supposed to be better, warmer, long lasting. I transitioned from the old to the new model and instantly felt it was softer and lighter. Having used it, it seems less robust and quality does not seem to be as good (down coming out and not strong stitching). I still want to give it as go as I was very happy ... Read Morewith the previous model but am worried this is not as reliable.

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2022

Hi Antoine, we're so sorry to hear that you're not confident in future performance of your Down Sweater Vest. If you feel that the vest is not holding up over time, please begin a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 5, 2022

Best fitting vest from Patagonia so far!

I am not sure why some people have an issue with this vest, I think its awesome! I used to have a down sweater vest a couple years ago and this new model fits much better. The previous one was a little too loose fitting and this one hugs my body better. It keeps my core very warm and its super light. Excellent!

October 24, 2022

your online representation of the

your online representation of the color red for the vest is not close to the true color.

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2022

Hi William, we're very sorry to hear that the color didn't come through correctly on our website. Please feel free to begin a [return or free exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

October 21, 2022

Love it. Great product. Nice

Love it. Great product. Nice high snug collar.

October 17, 2022

Disappointing

Unfortunately something is just way off with this vest. The fit is true to size but it rides up on the body pushing the collar up past my ears and is constantly bunching up around the torso. Very curious that there are no reviews showing for this vest but there are hundreds of reviews for the others. I'll stick with the nano puff vest which is... Read More a great product.

Response from Patagonia
October 19, 2022

Hi Riley! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving products for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 12, 2022

Puffer vest

This vest is thinner than my prior. I'll have to wait for colder weather (I live in Maine) to see how much warmth it provides. The quality is fine. One item which is needed but lacking is the coat hook that most coats and vests have near the label to allow it to be easily hung. Not having it is a BIG nuisance. Even my $30 vests I use for rough... Read More work have those hooks.

September 26, 2022

If it ain't broke, don't fix it

First, I am the ultimate; and a loyal Patagonia customer for over 40 years. So my criticism of recent update to the classic down sweater vest sis honest and strictly constructive. Note, I currently have 15 down sweater vests in my wardrobe. Functionally, this new design its super uncomfortable when fully zipped with the ridiculously super high coll... Read Morear. Aesthetically, the slanted seams of the new collar design is unsightly and does not allow the vest when open to look cool. When unzipped, each collar falls flat along said seam and the resulting look is just awful. Lastly, Wax Red is not red, its burgundy. Sorry.

Response from Patagonia
October 4, 2022

Hi Tom, we're very sorry to hear that the Down Sweater Vest didn't meet your expectations. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

September 25, 2022

Missing the Down Sweaters of Old

Recently had to replace my old down sweater jacket and vest as the down had totally lost all loft after 8+ years of hard wear and multiple beatings in the dryer with tennis balls. This vest is definitely puffier than the old style - wider baffles makes it feel more like youre wrapped in a sleeping bag. This is great for cozy warmth but it does make... Read More it tougher to layer under a blazer or work coat - less of a problem under a shell. The collar is taller than the old style, a feature I liked for warmth and eliminating the need for a scarf. The main zipper seems more great and doesn't catch when zipping up fast but the side zippers on the pockets do tend to annoyingly catch the fabric. All in all, a great piece in the fall wardrobe but not quite as awesome as the old models that were thinner and more stowable.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches