burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Down Sweater Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 98 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater

4.4/5
True To Size
January 26, 2023

Great jacket, well made with

Great jacket, well made with perfect location of zipper pockets . Light and warm too. Now I have 2 jackets!

January 19, 2023

Light weight and very warm love it

Very nice jacket super light and warm fits perfectly.

January 19, 2023

High quality, toasty, comfortable & beautiful

I love this coat! I ware a heavy wool sweater underneath when I am skiing and the coat fits fine. My body type is tall and slender.

January 17, 2023

Great fit- I like it

Great fit- I like it tight.

January 17, 2023

Excellent Jacket

This is my third jacket with Patagonia in recent years and I loved all of them. The jacket works really well for skiing and cold Northeast winters. Highly recommended.

January 17, 2023

Best jacket

I hate the cold with a passion and usually wear a hoodie and really thick jacket. This eliminates both. Its slim and comfortable and its breaks the wind amazingly. I can wear it when its 60 and be not to hot like a thick jacket might but i feel warm when its 20 degrees like if i had on a big jacket and multiple hoodies on.

January 17, 2023

Love the Men's coat/sweater

Really comfortable "sweater" which is their name, I'd call it a light coat. The down filling doesn't make you hot at all, and you never get cold. Looks great, get lots of complements. I got the grey with blue zipper and lining. When completely zipped, it doesn't bother my neck as most do.

January 16, 2023

Thin material. Won't keep you warm

I am not too fond of the thin material. I expected it to be thicker to be used during winter.

January 15, 2023

Super light and warm.

Super light and warm, highly recommend to all family members.

January 12, 2023

Perfect fit and warmth

The word SWEATER made me wonder how warm it would be but its perfect for low 30s and maybe even high 20s. The fit is just right and I love the colorful trims.

January 12, 2023

Warm, all purpose, go-to winter jacket

This jacket has already become my go-to jacket. It retains warmth in cold conditions while regulating temp at higher temps (in 50s F) admirably. I got a size M (I usually wear size S) and it fits nice. I can use it as layer 2 or even 3 without looking like the Michelin man. The pockets are deep and the inner compartments can easily hold gloves, and... Read More for me, a baby diaper or two (sigh - new parent here). The collars are slightly taller than I would have preferred (no hoodies), but I see its utility. The cuffs are snug fitting. Perhaps slightly tighter fit would have been nice. Construction quality is solid. I do see a few threads (not down) around the cuff area. Overall an excellent jacket!

January 12, 2023

Its an oven! But lightweight

I work for a retailer that sells this brand and Ive got to say, Patagonia is the warmest jacket compared to Northface, Arcteryx, and mountain hardwear. The weight is exceptional and the built is stylish and very loose to do activities like climbing. Its worth every penny!

January 11, 2023

Great

My experience with asociates at the Portland Patagonia store was Great! I will give five stars for them!

January 10, 2023

Amazing Jacket for Everyday Wear

I've been wearing this jacket daily since the purchase. It looks nice and wears nicely, I am usually size Large and this fits true to size and leaves a bit of room inside as well, which I do not mind. The only issue I have with it is the constant leaking of small feathers. It has been my first month only so I hope the leaking will stop eventua... Read Morelly, but so far it is quite substantial and it gets on my sweaters and the back of my backpack. Also, there is a specific smell if the jacket gets wet under the rain, but it is bearable.

January 10, 2023

Great addition

The Nano version has been my casual go to for years. When looking for a warmer puffy for colder weather, I decided on this jacket and am now very pleased. Easy to layer, pack or just slide on to go out. Company ethos will keep me loyal to Patagonia, but no compromise was made here.

January 9, 2023

Warm, Light and Comfortable

This down sweater (i'd call it a puff jacket) is lightweight and super warm. It was a gift for my husband who loves it! It packs small & flat, and always returns to its shape. Can be worn under a storm weather parka when he goes sailing. Looks smart for any occasion.

January 8, 2023

Warm and comfortable

So far I am extremely happy with this jacket. This jacket has kept me warm in cold temperatures. This jacket is my go to jacket.

January 8, 2023

Great coat

Great coat

January 7, 2023

Looks great. Feels great. 6'2"

Looks great. Feels great. 6'2" 190lbs and a large fits absolutely perfectly. Recommend.

January 7, 2023

Fit varies based on color

I really like the new Down Sweater. It's very comfortable and warm, but I had an issue with a variation in fit between colors. I purchased a black one and a red one, and the red one fit perfectly while the black one was much tighter at the bottom hem. I've ordered another black one to see if I may have just received a dud on the first try... Read More, but it's a bit discouraging that there can be such a big difference in fit between colors, or possibly just from piece to piece. You may want to visit a physical store to try on different pieces of the same size to make sure you get one that fits right. Only reason I knocked 1 star off.

Response from Patagonia
January 17, 2023

Thank you for sharing this feedback, Mike. We will pass it on to our product team!

January 7, 2023

Super Light Weight & Warm

My review title tells it all. Want into store in Pasadena CA. Asked for a little help and I was well received!

January 7, 2023

Warm and lightweight

This jacket fits really well, is made of environmental friendly materials, and looks great. Its super lightweight but keeps you warm and protected from the elements. Another great Patagonia product!

January 7, 2023

Love these feathers

The craftsmanship of this jacket is super. Roomy enough to layer. Stylish enough to wear anywhere. I wear this jacket a lot!

January 6, 2023

cuffs are not elastic, collar could use fleece

The redesign has given the cuffs almost no elasticity. The collar stands up nicely for wind protection, but I can see it getting dirty easily since it can directly contact your neck and get sweaty. Having a fleece or micro-fleece lining inside the collar would not only be more comfy but also reduce the washing. The fit is also really boxy, though i... Read Moret fits easily under my Calcite shell. I am on the slim side and a sport climber, around 60kg/133lb, and XS is roomy for me. The Cabin Gold color really pops!

January 6, 2023

Fantastic and extremely warm

I ordered an XL because I wanted to be able to wear layers underneath this jacket. Just wearing it with a t-shirt keeps me very warm. I live in the NYC metro area and the weather never really stays cold, so I plan on bringing it to an upcoming trip to Eastern Europe, and I'm sure it will be the only jacket Ill be needing.

January 6, 2023

Perfect Jacket

Bought this jacket for my husband for Christmas and he absolutely love it. Perfect fit. Keeps him nice and warm. He's 6ft 4 , 205 lbs bought XXL.

January 6, 2023

Nice fitting cooler weather jacket

Looks great. Great fit. Its perfect for 40-50 degrees or with layering

January 5, 2023

Hello Patagoina: This is my

Hello Patagoina: This is my third men's down sweater. The first one's zipper was very weak and failed after a couple years' use. It also developed many small holes at the seams that allowed the feathers to escape. The second, which I'm wearing now, has a much stronger zipper ... no problems with it at all ... nice! But the secon... Read Mored one also has developed many small holes that allow feathers to escape. I bought some Tenacious Tape gore-tex patches on Amazon to repair the holes, and that has worked fairly well. The most recent (third) sweater was a recent Christmas gift from my wife, who's bothered more by the escaping feathers than I am. Unfortunately the ends of the sleeves were very large, allowing the sleeves to droop down halfway over my hands. The elastic seemed very weak. Additionally, the zipper on the most recent sweater was tiny, compared to the zipper on my current sweater. I fear that it regressed back to the quality of the weak, failed zipper on my first sweater. For the two reasons mentioned, we returned the recently purchased sweater, and I'm just going to keep taping up the holes in number 2 that I'm wearing now. With regular repairs, I think it will last a few more years. Hope this feedback is helpful. Best, Allen

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2023

Hi Allen and Pamela, thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about the issues you've experienced with your Down Sweaters. We're sorry they haven't performed as well as they should! For a jacket that is leaking feathers, you may be able to keep them intact by pulling them back into the baffle from the other side, and then firmly rubbing the fabric with your thumbs to “heal” any hole that has formed. In any case, we want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our warranty, as you are doing with your newest jacket. If you would rather keep the jacket that has the holes, you can also contact us and we will be happy to send you a free patch kit with two patches of Tenacious Tape. You can just call Customer Service at (800) 638-6464 or reach out to us via chat on our website. Please let us know how we can help!

January 5, 2023

mine was losing feathers but

mine was losing feathers but was warm got replacement not the same big difference between down and fiberfill not happy with it

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2023

Hi William! Thank you for writing us a review. We're sorry to hear that your jacket is leaking some down. It is completely natural for some of the down and feathers to escape through the fabric, particularly in the seams. It is normal for this to happen, particularly in newer products when the down has not had an opportunity to settle. That said, if the jacket seems to be shedding an excessive amount of down you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 5, 2023

This is a product that

This is a product that I absolutely love. It fits, its comfortable, it keeps me warm when I need it to, it looks good and has everything in the design I need. A fabulous gift from my wife. She knows what I like.

January 4, 2023

No other down jacket has

No other down jacket has ever performed so well with gray fit. There is no other.

January 3, 2023

So comfortable

So comfortable

January 3, 2023

Perfect

I am a long time owner of many Patagonia products. They are made very well and the business model behind their clothing is second to none. The best!

January 3, 2023

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Review

This is a great sweater. Its the perfect fit. It keeps you very warm. I highly recommend it.

January 1, 2023

Best in Class

This coat is sleek, comfortable, and toasty warm. It gets the job done vs. cold MN winters and usually holds its own even against wicked windchills. Zipper is reliable as well, which is so important. Only knock is the color is a little blue-ish- not a jet black. But that doesnt affect performance.

January 1, 2023

Spring/Fall

Bought this as a gift for my son. He is typically outdoors and will wear a hoodie or flannel underneath. Fits true to size. He is very happy with this coat.

January 1, 2023

Ouch

The waist is super tight, arms very long-and baggy.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2023

Hi Thomas, we're sorry to hear about the sizing issues with the Patagonia Men's Down Sweater. Please feel free to begin a [return or complimentary exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at your earliest convenience.

December 31, 2022

Warm and confortable

i am 5´8 and 80kg of weight and this fits perfect, the length of the arms and the length of the jacket its perfect, the quality feels great also.

December 30, 2022

Great look and great comfort.

I really like the fit, the features, and the comfort. The color combo is great.

December 29, 2022

Too Snug

This product fits too small in the lower part. I am going to attempt to return for a LARGE, but am worried about it being too large in rest of body.

Response from Patagonia
January 11, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We are incredibly sorry to hear about the problems you've had with the fit and sizing of this sweater. If you'd like, please feel free to give our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*ltgv98*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY3MzQ1OTc4MS4zMTIuMC4xNjczNDU5NzgxLjAuMC4w) a call at any time and we will be more than happy to give you the measurements for the large before you make your exchange.

December 29, 2022

Great product

Overall a very solid choice for anyone looking for a jacket thats stylish, lightweight, and overall extremely warm. This pairs great with any kind of fleece sweater. The only thing I have to say is that I wish Patagonia would make tall versions of their products. Also some of the plumes might poke out and get on your clothes. Other than that, I wou... Read Moreld recommend it for sure.

December 29, 2022

The perfect jacket

Blown away (as usual) by the quality and performance of this jacket. I purchased this for my husband and he loves it. Its warm without being bulky and its the quality you would expect from Patagonia.

December 27, 2022

Comfortable Jacket Even in Extreme Temps

I live in Chicago where it has barely risen about 20 degrees the last week and this jacket has been perfectly fine with a sweatshirt on underneath. I also want to give a shoutout to the customer service at the new Patagonia store in the West Loop. They're awesome.

December 27, 2022

Nice jacket. Warm. Fits well.

Nice jacket. Warm. Fits well.

December 26, 2022

Well satisfied

Overall, the down sweater is comfortable and fits true to size, and is likely to be a practical and well-performing piece of cold-weather gear.

December 26, 2022

Design Flaw spoiled it for me

This is the first time in many years of being a Patagonia fan that I have been disappointed. I got this down sweater and loved it, with one exception. When wearing it, if the waist pockets were left unzipped the sharp open zippers snagged on lower arm stitching damaging the seam as well as the down baffles. I hope this has been resolved in a newer ... Read Moredesign. Sadly, my return is on the way.

December 26, 2022

Best Jacket

Lightweight, very comfortable, tons of compartments, and keeps you warm in every condition. Worth every penny and more.

December 24, 2022

Amazing winter jacket

I used many down jackets but this is only one that truly amazing , good enough to keep you warm easily even at 30. Buy it you will not regret it.

December 23, 2022

Great jacket

I bought this for my son and ge wears it all the time so I bought him another one.

December 22, 2022

Cozy

It seems that I'm cold everywhere except for the area the Down Sweater covers. Warm, functional, unpretentious. Love it

December 21, 2022

Super Warm and Comfortable

It's a lovely coat. It's the second one I purchased. The only reason why I didn't give it a 5 star was the sizing. Like I said it was my second purchase, the first was a M and this is my second in a L. Unfortunately I must have the body that fits in a M, but it's very tight on the hips, however a L feels too big. I have a rain c... Read Moreoat and a parka from Patagonia and it's a M and fits just right! I wish their sizing was more consistent, but then again it's the same at other athletic stores that I shop. Hope this is a fair review.

December 21, 2022

Awesome other than ridiculous waist cinch cord

Just upgraded to the new version, which is definitely better than the old version -- warmer, and nice tall collar. This jacket would be absolutely perfect if Patagonia would just use a normal waist cinch cord, like every other company makes them. This version just doesn't work very well at all, even using two hands, and its even worse than the... Read More silly in-pocket things in the previous version of the jacket. Why not just use the system all the others do? It works and you only need one hand to tighten or loosen.

December 20, 2022

Just like Dads

She kept on wearing her dad's down sweater. We got her one for Christmas.

December 19, 2022

New style no let downs

I love the updates to this jacket! Seems more resilient to brambles and other things that poke. Warm as ever

December 17, 2022

Keeps my hubby warm

We bought two sizes to make sure one fit, the medium was perfect. He loves the warmth and style. Lightweight. Returned the large easy, peasy. Great customer service.

December 16, 2022

It is very warm, more

It is very warm, more than expected. It is very light weight but very comfortable. We are experiencing very cold and snowy weather now. It has exceeded my expectations.

December 16, 2022

Old model better new one is unusable

I have three of the older models and they're absolutely fantastic. Lack of the elastic cuff, thinner material, looser fit, less down, and the old looking tag on the inside of the jacket. Now I have to find a new favorite. Leave well, enough alone, Patagonia!!!!

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we are very sorry to hear about the disappointment you've experienced with your new Down Sweater. Please rest assured that we will be passing this feedback along to our Product Design Team so they can work in improving future versions of this item. In the meantime, please feel free to start your [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time!

December 15, 2022

Jacket Keeps you Extremly Warm

This jacket is a go to in the winter. I used to wear the Nano Puff jacket for years before upgrading to this coat. When wearing this jacket below 40 degrees with wind I am extremely warm only wearing a t shirt underneath. I feel like I would overheat if I added layers under this jacket. The sleeves are not the best with the opening a bit to wide fo... Read Morer air to come through like all the reviews point out. The overall warmth of the jacket makes up for it to me!

December 15, 2022

Sleeves are long and bottom of jacket too tight

The fit is weird. The sleeves are really long and the cuff is useful for stopping the sleeves from going past your palms. The bottom is too tight while the chest is too wide and loose. It fits ripped dudes with long arms big chest and a small butt probably. The material is ok, decently warm for everyday use when the temperature is above 35F. The ... Read Moresleeve length has always been an issue for Patagonia clothes.

Response from Patagonia
December 21, 2022

We appreciate your feedback! Please reach out to our Customer Service team or your [local Patagonia-owned store](https://www.patagonia.com/store-locator/) for a possible return and recommendations for one of our other insulated styles that may provide a better fit. We'll be happy to help!

December 14, 2022

Perfection in jacket form

I bought this coat a size larger than normal for an oversized, casual look. Its perfect. Theres so much room for sweaters/scarves. It also packs into nothing. Takes up next to no space.

December 9, 2022

Five (Shiny) Stars

A near-perfect down jacket: simply styled, lightweight, super-comfortable and warm. Additional points for traceable down and Net Plus recycled shell material. My only caveat is the moderate sheen outside and, even more so, inside: a lower-key finish closer to Patagonia's Silent Down Jacket would have been ideal. But this is personal preference... Read More; highly recommended otherwise.

December 7, 2022

Super Warm

I absolutely love this jacket! It is so comfortable and always keeps me warm! I buy the mens sizes because I can put on a hoodie or more layers underneath.

December 6, 2022

I ordered it as a

I ordered it as a third layer for winter wade fishing and it is exactly what I hoped it would be! Love it.

December 5, 2022

Previous model was better

The previous model was better. Having both old and new versions of this jacket, the older model (2020) felt more premium and the net plus feels too soft (easier to rip). While wearing this jacket, feathers kept coming out at the stitching and various spots throughout the jacket. The added loft/feathers just cancels itself out because it comes out.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

Hi Charlie, thank you for submitting this feedback on the revision of the Men's Down Sweater. Customer input is a huge driver of changes to our products, and we appreciate you sharing your thoughts here! If the fabric of this new version turns out to be a deal breaker, you can absolutely [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know if we can help!

December 5, 2022

I had a hard time

I had a hard time looking for XXL size. Much more difficulties looking for an XXXL. I wished you stock more items with bigger sizes for persons who normally wears XXXL. This way people who are a little overweight have some clothes to buy.

December 3, 2022

Redesign with no elastic in the cuff - deal breaker

After a week of wearing my REI purchased Down Sweater, I'm extremely disappointed with the new non-elastic cuff design. I'm not alone as you can see by other reviews. Patagonia should offer to fix the problem and add the elastic for those who want the elastic in the cuffs. Hopefully my local alteration expert can do something to fix the p... Read Moreoor design.

Response from Patagonia
December 7, 2022

Hey Richard, thank you for the review. We're sorry to hear of your disappointment with the cuffs. Even if the jacket was purchased at REI, we can still accept it back for a merchandise credit. Please reach out to our customer service team to set this up. If you had your heart set on the Down Sweater, we have some lightly used past season versions on [Worn Wear](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=down%20sweater).

December 2, 2022

Super warm, new version runs large

Super warm but be warned, this latest version runs bigger across the chest and has longer arms. Elastic at the wrists is looser than expected too. Still an awesome jacket.

December 1, 2022

Great outer wear

Light weight, comfortable, able to move about freely. Customer service was outstanding.

December 1, 2022

Great fit and light weight.

Great fit and light weight. Very comfortable.

November 30, 2022

Comfortable Warmth

This is the most comfortable of the several Patagonia jackets and pullovers I own. The warmth is excellent considering it is very light weight. The neck, pockets and overall layout are great!

November 30, 2022

Poor quality

The jacket was very warm and fitting was great for the brief time (22 hours) I had it before processing a return. The jacket arrived on Tuesday and I had feathers coming out of the Jacket by Wednesday. It hasn't been 24 hours and to already see feathers poking out is a bit concerning. There also seems to be loose threading on it. Because th... Read Moreere are a few positive reviews, I wonder if I just received a bad product out of the bunch.

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2022

Hi Tolu, thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry this jacket didn't hold up as it should have! Normally if a few feathers poke through you can pull them back inside from the other side and "heal" the fabric by rubbing it firmly between your fingers, but it sounds like this jacket was exceeding what would be normal; thank you for returning it. We are sharing your thoughts with our product development team. Please let us know if we can be of any help at all.

November 30, 2022

Redesigned fit is a fail

I have owned two previous down sweaters and hands down it is my go-to jacket and is a perfect fit and weight. BUT.. this new 2022 version of the down sweater is a fail. The cut is oddly full in the chest/belly and puffs out awkwardly. The material also has a plastic feel to it and does not feel as soft and robust as the previous version. I will be ... Read Moresearching for the old version of this jacket second-hand rather than buying this version. Too bad.

Response from Patagonia
December 8, 2022

We're sorry to hear that our current Down Sweater has been a disappointment. We've passed your feedback along to our product designers. If you haven't already returned it, please check with your local Patagonia-owned store or contact our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team. We'll be happy to help with a return, exchange or other jacket recommendations!

November 30, 2022

The 2022 version is a major letdown

(1) This new version is less warm compared to the previous version and have been getting cold more frequently in a mild, cold-temperate climate of Seattle. This has to do with the lack of elastic around the wrist, letting heat escape more easily. (2) The fit is also slightly larger around the chest and has lost the overall "slim fitting" ... Read Morethat this product is known for. (3) The two drop-all pockets on either side of the interior are not a great idea practically (conceptually - yes). When you put something in there, it obstructs the space for your hands when you are using the two outer pockets and it is very annoying. (4) The change of fabric to more recycled materials has weakened the overall quality of it. In only about a month or two of wearing it, it has already developed 5-6 pinholes and have already exhausted the 3 small repair stickers that have come with the purchase. Overall very disappointed in Patagonia's new version of the jacket.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2022

Thank you for sharing this detailed feedback on the 2022 revision of this jacket, Jordan. It's extremely helpful both to other customers and to our product development team. We're so sorry you were unhappy with the changes! We want you to be happy with everything you get from us, so we will reach out to you about returning it.

November 21, 2022

Great Jacket

I bought this as an insulation layer under a powder jacket. the jacket is super warm. I use it to walk around town after skiing. It is very warm without being super bulky. Highly recommend for around town or on the hills.

November 19, 2022

Great Jacket

We've been wearing these for years. I never mind spending a little more for these jackets because they last for years. This is my sons third and if hes finished growing, will most likely take h in through college and beyond. I was worried about the new cuff design but he said he prefers the new version. The green is exactly as pictured.

November 19, 2022

Awesome High Quality Sweater

So far Ive owned it for about four years now and it has been amazing and saved me from the harsh Midwest find winter weather, although Id have to say the only con with this sweater is that the feathers within the stitches pull themselves out from small hole openings. The black never discolors like other sweaters or jackets which is nice. The stitch... Read Morees are not very good but I can not complain for a sweater that Ive owned for years now and its still holding up and will continue for many years to come. I definitely recommend it to friends and family and for those who are looking for a sweater but just a tip make sure you wear a hoodie underneath even though its warm but it helps better for negative degree temperatures.

November 19, 2022

Keeps me cozy!

This is the perfect jacket for fall/early winter! Very lightweight but very warm.

November 18, 2022

great looking

A great looking jacket. Good quality also. I purchased my first Patagonia jacket about 8 years ago and I still wear it, living in Chicago, believe me I get my money's worth. The only problem, the first few times I wore it out there were some down feathers that poked through the shell, but that is no longer occurring.

November 17, 2022

Had the be same jacket

Had the be same jacket for five years and the zipper finally gave up. My all time favorite. Looks good, light weight,warm, compress's small. Like the interior pockets on the new version.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2022

Thanks Daniel, we're glad to hear you're so happy with the new Down Sweater! By the way, if you ever have zipper issues with one of our jackets in the future, we’ll be happy to help you send it to us for [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html)!

November 12, 2022

Chest Size Matters

In general, I love the product. It's super warm and I can't wait to use it this winter. However, my chest size (42) was between a Medium (40) and a Large (44). Based on the fact that it seems to run a little large I wish I had purchased a Medium and had gone down a size rather than up.

November 12, 2022

Cozy comfort

This is my favorite jacket of all time, very comfortable and keeps me cozy but never too warm. The fit is spot on and durability is baked in. This is my third jacket of this model over the last 10 years and Patagonia has been able to replace or repair any issues that arose over that timeframe for zero dollars. Best investment in outerwear I have ev... Read Moreer made. I highly recommend this for any adult that spends time in cold weather.

November 11, 2022

Change to sleeves are dangerous and hazardous

Loved all my previous down sweaters, but not this one. This jacket is different: the sizing is wildly different, even from my newer 2020 model. The sleeves have no elastic. The sleeves are so loose they resemble to fit of a bathrobe. The loose sleeves have resulted in a few dangerous situations during outdoor activities, sliding down over my hand... Read Mores, etc. For those considering buying this version of the jacket for casual wear, be aware you won't stay warm because cold air, rain or any weather element finds its way up and INTO the loose sleeve. What a bummer, not sure who greenlit this design, but hope they read all the review and make some adjustments.

Response from Patagonia
November 21, 2022

Hello B, thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're so sorry to hear that you're not liking our newest iteration of this jacket. The fit did have a complete redesign for Fall '22. The good news is, we still have Worn Wear if you're looking for past season versions of the Down Sweater. You can check them out [here](https://wornwear.patagonia.com/shop/search?q=down%20sweater).

November 11, 2022

Not worth it any more

The 2022 iteration of this jacket is a failure. The main gripes: 1) Outer shell quickly develops pinhole openings for feathers to emerge. This is during light wear. Never had a down jacket develop this issue within a month of ownership. Is this due to the new 'recycled' material? 2) As other reviewers have mentioned, black isn't re... Read Moreally all that black. 3) Poor loose fit in the arms and chest. If you're bulking up with layers underneath you might tolerate it. Removing the elastic at the cuff present in previous versions is a dealbreaker. 4) It's neat that the jacket is made from recycled fish nets - but it feels cheap whereas the pricepoint isn't.

November 10, 2022

Comfortable, warm, and light

Absolutely live this. Super warm without being too heavy. Wear it anytime the temp dips into the 40s or lower. Love that it is made from recycled fishing nets. Also, it just looks really good.

November 10, 2022

Best ever

Warm warm warm I cant think of anything better when old man winter starts its bite. Best jacket Ive ever owned

November 7, 2022

Snug, warm, sharp

Love the jacket; it looks "fire" as my teenage son tells me. Only gripe is that after only a few wears it is shedding; there are feathers sticking out begging to be picked. Gives it a spotted look from afar. Is this normal?

November 5, 2022

Great warmth

I have been wearing the Down Sweater for several years as an outer layer on warm days and as a base layer on cold days. My newest Down Sweater is what I have come to expect from Patagonia! The warmth and comfort keeps on the hill for the full work day.

October 30, 2022

Two zippers.

I have always liked the down sweater. The only issue is that down jackets half as much come with two zippers so that when you are seated the jacket doesn't ride-up in to your neck and face. And, yes, i could unzip it every time i sit down but that would be inconvenient.

October 28, 2022

I loved my previous down

I loved my previous down sweater, I had to replace it though as the feathers were coming out. The new jacket is different: first, I wish it was really black, but it is not. It's kind of this new sort of midnight black. It also runs a bit loose, I wish it was tighter, like the one I had before.

October 25, 2022

There is no elastic on

There is no elastic on the wrists and the arms are too long for me to wear the jacket. This is my 3rd or 4th and was surprised by the change in fit.

Response from Patagonia
October 28, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry that the recent redesign was disappointing. You might prefer our other down jackets like the new [SugarDown Hoody or AlpLight Down Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-down-jackets-vests). Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like any assistance with measurements or product details. Thanks for your review, Bradley!

October 25, 2022

Awesome jacket

Very well built, light and super warm. Its my go to jacket in the summer and nights out.

October 19, 2022

Warm and light

Puffy like popcorn, I hope this lasts considering the price tag. Fits well and has a drawcord on the bottom. Hand pockets are behind the down. Very warm and excited to use it as a base layer (and maybe on its own) Im 5ft 9 w slightly athletic build and I bought size L

October 14, 2022

It is the Best medium

It is the Best medium weight jacket I have ever had. It keeps me warm and yet it is so light and easily packs into my carry on

October 8, 2022

Excellent jacket at price point

I love this down jacket. Its kept me warm in many cold winter environments, from the the White Mountains of NH to the Carpathians in Ukraine. Its an extremely reliable jacket that fits well, works great as a mid layer (under my Arcteryx Beta AR). I always have it with me on my backpacking trips from fall to early spring. The only issue I have wit... Read Moreh the jacket is the zipper on inner pocket. It always gets caught on the material around it because of how loose the material is. Its a serious design flaw for a jacket at this price. To avoid ruining the zipper, you need to use utmost care when opening and closing it.

October 7, 2022

Nice.

I wear this as my go to winter jacket, and as a mid layer on cold ski days at resort. Had been buying a cheaper REI down mid layer but It leaked down and this one is warmer and hardier. Very happy with purchase.

October 3, 2022

I have been using the

I have been using the down sweaters, both as a jacket and a vest, for over 10 years. Amazing product and I would not recommend any changes - light, compact and warm. Feel free to contact me if product improvement suggestions are of interest for other products like the Pluma jacket.

September 17, 2022

A lot of changes made

The fit has dramatically changed. The overall fit is much bigger, a lot more room in chest and arms are much longer. The elastic cuffs at the wrists were pretty much non existent. I will have to go in store to try on, not sure if even a small will fit at this point. All of my Patagonia garments are a size medium.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Hi CZ, we're sorry to hear this revised design made the Medium fit you poorly! Thank you for sharing this feedback. We'll be happy to help you find a better fit; you can contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via Live Chat on our website. They can go over specific measurements with you so you can feel confident of finding a jacket that will fit you right.

September 13, 2022

Great Jacket

One of three I wear throughout the year. This one I wear on those cold late fall and early spring days.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches