Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Down Sweater Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 692 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Down Sweater Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
January 26, 2022

Down sweater jacket

I love this jacket. But, the XL is a little tight across the chest. Women's sizes are just not consistent. My experience at the Boulder, CO store was excellent.

January 25, 2022

Warm and comfortable..small in hips

Very warm and comfortable! Very roomy. I love this jacket. Small in the hips. I ordered a xl in the beginning which by the size chart was my size. It fit perfectly except in the hips it was tight. I had to exchange for the xxl. I ordered the rosehip color it is much lighter than the color shown.

January 25, 2022

Perfect for Arizona winters

I now own 3 of these jackets and use them over workout gear and jeans. They are easy to stuff in my gym bag and are very lightweight. Arizona can be 40 in the morning, 70 in the afternoon and 50 in the evening. This jacket is perfect!

January 23, 2022

very comfortable, warm and goes with anything

one of my favorite jackets

January 22, 2022

Improved in some ways, not as good as the old one in others.

I have had a down sweater for years, wore it almost daily in the winter and loved it dearly. It was a small , just like this one, but it fit better. It was shorter in the torso and slightly looser around the hips, more comfortable because you never felt you had to tug it down. Its pockets didn't have loops for tightening the jacket bottom in t... Read Morehem. They were a better place to tuck you hands into. The zipper was sometimes unreliable, though. It's only fault. The new replacement I just bought does have a better zipper, heftier looking, but stronger and I am sure more trustworthy. The shoulder and arm fit is still wonderful but the longer and tighter hip fit makes me miss my old down sweater. I still love the overall feel, softness, weight, and warmth of this jacket. Just sorry that Patagonia felt they needed to make changes. Sometimes a classic shouldn't be messed with.

January 17, 2022

great layer!

The down sweater is a great layer or stand alone jacket for sunny winter days. It's not too much insulation when active in colder weather (single digits or teens) such as, hiking, cross-country skiing, etc. Perfect!

January 14, 2022

Great layering piece

Love the jacket. This is not my first , nor will it be my last. The color seems a bit different from the pictures online though. That I was a bit surprised .

January 14, 2022

Sleeves run long

It is a beautiful item but all Patagonia tops have sleeves too long on Mr. Oddly 2 friends have the same experience.

January 11, 2022

Zippers break

The zipper broke on my down sweater and when there were friends/family plans around the holidays, i have gotten 2 similar jackets for my sister - both of hers had zippers break and she has no means of getting them fixed bc she doesn't live her a Patagonia store and can not afford to be without a winter jacket. For me it was easy to get a repla... Read Morecement as i live near Ventura. I think you need to make better zippers!!! Otherwise I love these jackets!!

Response from Patagonia
January 21, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback on these zippers. We're so sorry to hear you and your sister have both had this experience! We are sharing this zipper feedback with the appropriate teams. If your sister is not near a Patagonia store she can contact our Customer Service Team to see what other options we can help with.

January 10, 2022

Super warm

Great .i love it

January 9, 2022

Love Patagonia Clothing

Purchased this for my petite daughter. Was thrilled it came in XXS, and the tailored fit of the jacket framed her 95-100lb frame perfectly.

January 9, 2022

Comfy

LOVE this jacket Great fit and super comfortable

January 9, 2022

Warmest Jacket Ever!

I wear this jacket everywhere it is warmer than my big heavy jackets. This is the 4th jacket I have purchased for family members. Highly recommend this jacket!

January 7, 2022

Great Jacket for the Whole Family

My husband, daughter, son, granddaughter and I all have this jacket. I just bought the off white color for myself. Cuffs get dirty quick and I was shocked when I washed it and it came out like a piece of cellophane. Definitely need the tennis balls and several runs in the dryer to get it back. Also it's small in the hips so order the next size... Read More up! Note to Patagonia design team - this is a great jacket for northern California winters and fall in the Northeast. Please also make it in a longer length jacket...need the length to sit on when my longer puffer jacket is too heavy!

January 7, 2022

Great Sizing

I am so pleased this down sweater comes in an XXL. I needed just a little more room. I need to lose some weight, so it will be great when Im out walking. Im not a thin and svelte person, so Im glad Patagonia has recognized that your products havent always been sized to fit a more robust figure. I absolutely love my new down sweater!

January 6, 2022

Warm, comfortable and not bulky!

This jacket has all the warmth of a big jacket without being bulky and uncomfortable!

January 5, 2022

Perfect layer

Perfect layer

January 3, 2022

down sweater sizing

I wear a women's small size in Patagonia quarter-zip thermal tops but, the small size in the down sweater was a bit too tight across the shoulders and hips with a light layer underneath. I reordered a size medium and it fits me well. It's a great jacket for active cold weather or warmer casual wear.

January 2, 2022

Comfortable

Great fitting jacket and provides the right amount of warmth for general use while on a ski trip.

January 1, 2022

Wifes jacket

Coat runs small

December 29, 2021

LailaR

Not impressed with this jacket. Lightweight , but not warm. Fabric appears to be very thin and seems like it would snag/ tear easily. Medium was snug, but the large is too big and sleeves too long. Way to expensive for what you get. I have similar jackets that cost about $40 that I like better. Would not buy again.

Response from Patagonia
January 8, 2022

Hi Shelia, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the fit wasn't quite right. We appreciate this feedback as it’s crucial for improving products for future seasons. We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it.

December 29, 2021

Love the warmth

Nice and warm. Fit is a bit loose through the chest and sleeves are on the long side (I weigh 118 lbs) but I decided not to go for XS.

December 27, 2021

Surprisingly not warm

I was excited to replace my 15 year-old mountain hardware down jacket that I use in the backcountry. This down sweater is surprisingly pretty thin, and not very warm at all for anything under 50 degrees. I think I would freeze if I relied on this for high sierra backpacking (and I run hot). I'll keep it for the city and day hikes in warmer wea... Read Morether, but overall not what I was expecting. Thin and not very warm even for LA winter.

December 23, 2021

Great

Great customer service!

December 23, 2021

Down sweater is super cozy

I love the down sweater and have been wearing it non-stop since it arrived. Unfortunately, it sprung a leak and left a trail of feathers behind me. We sent it back and I am now wearing its replacement. Hopeful that this one will hold up a little better.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2021

Hey Ben, thank you for taking the time to write a review and so sorry to hear about your first jacket. We are so glad we were able to get you a replacement. If your jacket develops a tear, we recommend using some Tenacious Tape to patch it temporarily and then bring it to a local Patagonia store or send it in for a repair.

December 22, 2021

Comfy and practical

This is my second down sweater jacket in two years. I gained Covid weight and decided my medium was a bit snug. The medium still looks brand new despite wearing it for two winters. It was a no brainer to order the same exact style again. I did have to change the color based on availability but I love this green color too. Multiple Pockets make it p... Read Moreractical and its plenty warm for my North Carolina winters.

December 20, 2021

Super Cozy!

super warm, love to wear it.

December 20, 2021

Bought it again

I had an old one that Patagonia repaired, and though it still does its job( at least 6 yrs old), it was looking alittle tired. I now own 2 and finally replaced the original black one . A great grab and go jacket, I stuff it into every suitcase when travelling, walking the dog or casual work days. I love it!

December 20, 2021

All around great jacket

This jacket fits me beautifully with a sweater underneath or not. It has a flattering line, not too long, and not too short. It is warm on a cold day, and the neck keeps the wind out. The colors are beautiful. I think it looks good in the city as well as the country.

December 19, 2021

Sooo warm

I got this jacket- sweater as a trade in / replacement for my other 10 year old jacket. These jackets are so warm. 5 ️ Rating.

December 18, 2021

Great Layer for Warmth

I bought this lightweight down jacket for layering. Ive worn it over a t-shirt and sweatshirt for extra warmth outside or at indoor hockey games. I can also layer it under my heavier down coat. It is well-made and attractive. Its my first Patagonia purchase. Im very pleased with it.

December 18, 2021

Perfect Jacket

Love the fit. Very comfortable and really keeps you warm. Definitely blocks the wind.

December 17, 2021

Wonderful down sweater

This jacket is fabulous. Its flattering and super warm. I am so happy with this purchase!

December 16, 2021

Nice light jacket

Just received my new jacket . I traded in my old jacket ( same style) for this one which is a size larger. The old one fit , but was snug through the hips if I wanted to layer. In Minnesota you have to be able to layer. This is slightly large, but I can layer a t shirt and sweater with this and not feel squished. All my Patagonia tops are mediums, ... Read Morebut this is a large. I think this jacket does run a bit small. I like the navy color and lightness of this jacket.

December 14, 2021

Terrific, but quality issues

This jacket is lovely. The fit, weight, warmth and material are all great. But, after wearing it only a few times, one of the seams between the down baffles has come undone, so the down is not where it should be. Im disappointed with this aspect of the quality. Otherwise, Im a fan of this product

Response from Patagonia
December 16, 2021

Hello Alison! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're incredibly sorry to hear that a seam came undone and its allowing down to leak where it isn't supposed to be. This is definitely something we'd consider a warranty issue. We've reached out to you directly with return assistance.

December 13, 2021

Warm and Light

I love this jacket! It is so soft and light and perfectly warm. Fits true to size, so I cant wear a bulky sweatshirt under it, but I knew that when I purchased it. Highly recommend!

December 13, 2021

Nice weight and style.

Like many Patagonia products, the cut seems to be for a person with smaller than average hips.

December 11, 2021

Love it

I already left a review. First I got a green one and did the review on that saying I exchanged it for rosehip. I love it.

December 11, 2021

Excellent customer service

Hav had my do n sweater for many years, the seams on th sleeves were coming apart, zipper not working and took it in for repairs. They said I could have it repaired and it would take about 6 weeks, or i could just get a new one as a warranty exchange. Will Always Patagonia!

December 8, 2021

Lightweight and warm

I'm waiting to see how it does in really cold weather. I love the color (rosehip, I think it's called) and the way it zips all the way up to make a warm turtleneck. It's also lightweight which I like.

December 6, 2021

Christmas jacket

This jacket is for my daughter for Christmas and she hasnt gotten it yet so review will come later!!

December 6, 2021

Looks warm

Like this much more than the nano puffer.

December 5, 2021

Light & Warm

It is a very nice jacket, light and warm that I can wear to daily work.

December 2, 2021

Great jacket

Very light and quite warm for it's mass.

December 2, 2021

Great everyday puffy

This is my go to every day puffy. Its warm but it might not be enough for super cold days. It does have room for layers underneath and I especially like the room in the shoulders - I feel like I can move around without feeling restricted

November 30, 2021

Light but warm

Love this jacket! I travel a lot and appreciate that it is easy to pack. It doesnt take up much space in my bag!

November 28, 2021

Quick switch

Heres what happened. I got the down sweater but it was not warm enough for me. I exchanged it for the Silent Down jacket which I love!

November 24, 2021

Super Warm

It was a gift for one of my daughters. She LOVES it. Your Sales Rep was a pleasure to deal with.

November 21, 2021

Warm but...

Very first time I used the stuff sack feathers started popping threw

November 21, 2021

Very warm and looks nice

Thank you

November 21, 2021

Disappointed

I have tried on several down sweaters & parkas. None of them fit well on my usual size 10 frame. I wish they were more stylish & more color choices. The price is way more than is justified for the overall look & fit.

November 18, 2021

Love My Jacket

Very warm & lightweight! Love this sweater jacket! I have purchased one in black as well.

November 16, 2021

Just perfect warm

I think is the perfect jacket I will be recommending to a100%

November 16, 2021

Light weight and best warmth

Quick delivery Nice fitted style Warm as needed in the Midwest

November 15, 2021

Functionally cozy

This jacket is light weight, comfortable, very warm and good looking!

November 12, 2021

Love the Jacket!

I've been wanting a Patagonia jacket for a long time, and finally got my wish! It keeps me warm, and I don't have to wear a sweatshirt underneath it. I got the Alpine Blue color, and I love my jacket!

November 10, 2021

XXS With Long Enough Arms

I'm 5'3" with extremely long limbs. While I'm a true XXS, weighing between 90 to 100 lbs, I often can't wear XXS because my arms are so long. The XXS size tends to have short arms. This jacket's arms are long enough, and it makes me so happy! Thank you, Patagonia! The fit is fantastic.

November 10, 2021

Light but so warm!

This is the 2nd jacket of this style that Ive had! I love the fact that is so light but so warm as well! Easy to move in and very durable! Thank you Patagonia!

November 8, 2021

Best Fall Jacket

Went to undergrad in Rochester, NY and now am in medical school in Milwaukee, WI. This is my second purchase of this coat because I loved it so much! This is the perfect fall jacket for the midwest. Light enough to not feel constricting and compatible to stuff in my bag. Keeps me nice and warm on cool days.

November 7, 2021

Liked old style better!!!

I loved the old style of the down sweater. It was shorter in length in both the body and the sleeves. Also a size large fit me perfectly with plenty of room for layers underneath. The new size large was very tight so I had to size up!

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2021

We're sorry to hear the Down Sweater isn't a good fit. We haven't changed this style since 2014, but if you reach out to Customer Service, we'll be happy to help you select a different [down jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-down-jackets-vests) that is shorter in length and less contoured. Thanks for your review!

November 7, 2021

Great Colors

Ive had many of these jackets over the years and Im so glad Patagonia is branching out with new colors and stripes. Super cozy, my go to jacket for everything!

November 5, 2021

Great jacket, runs small!

Perfect fall jacket for back east and great winter jacket for northern California. Ordered the off white with taupe trim in a large (my long down Patagonia coat is a L). It is really great looking but too tight. Definitely size up with this jacket as it is a slim cut. Reordered XL and it fits perfectly (12-14) and is very flattering. I ordered one ... Read Morein grey for my husband and his was a size too small too, so I reordered both.

November 4, 2021

Best down jacket

Great jacket, warm without too much bulk, have in both small and medium, small for layering while skiing etc and medium for causal wear

November 3, 2021

Nice To See More Inclusionary Sizes

I had originally purchased the hooded version of this product in an XL (snychilla XL is perfect) but found it was just too snug, like it zipped but definitely was not comfortable. At the time Patagonia still had not expanded the sizes of the hooded version to an XXL so I ended up purchasing this product (which at the time was kind of a bummer). For... Read More reference I am 5'7" and 200 lb but I'm pretty athletic. I live in MT and the hood is gladly needed when that wind starts blowing. I will say though that there is a bit of a difference between the XL and the XXL. The XL is SNUG on me and the XXL is loose (I could wear three sweaters under it and be fine). That being said I was excited to see Patagonia finally expanding/dip a toe into the "plus sizes". As a woman on the thick-ish end of the spectrum it's always so disheartening to love a brand, their products, quality, see friends who love products, and be excited about them but then see them cut off at a Large or Extra Large. There are so many brands I completely avoid because I know their sizing will not include clothes for my body. We play in the mountains just as hard and enjoy/want the same quality gear. I wear this as my around town coat through most of the shoulder seasons and the winter as well as camping in the summer for those chillier nights. It can be not quite enough when temps get down to the teens but nothing a few under layers or shell can't help. I also wore this as my mid layer for skiing last season under a shell I also purchased from Patagonia. The combo kept me very warm for someone who constantly says "I'm freezing" on the lift although I will probably go with a synthetic for this season. Overall this was a good buy and I look forward to loving this piece for years to come.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2021

Hi Tay, thank you for taking the time to write such extensive and important feedback. We resonate with your frustration around sizing and please know we take this feedback seriously. We have no doubts that people of all shapes and sizes get outdoors and can benefit from our clothing. Over the past several years, we've begun to expand our sizes and it is our goal to continue this to make our clothing more accessible. Thanks again for bringing this up and we hope to not disappoint you with this in the future.

October 25, 2021

Very comfortable

I bought this as a gift and she is very happy with it. I purchased the jacket in white which is very stylish.

October 25, 2021

Super soft and warm

Love the jacket ! Its super soft and comfy.

October 23, 2021

Nice weight

This is a nice, lightweight jacket, I purchased it to replace my last Patagonia jacket, which I preferred the fit of, but this will do just fine.

October 21, 2021

Light, warm and easy

I love this jacket for travel, hiking and small spaces. I can stuff it Im my carry on or backpack and it adds no weight nor does it need really any space.9

October 15, 2021

super warm

not for rainy westher, only for cold westher very warm light and phantastic colour

October 14, 2021

Very warm

Very warm

October 12, 2021

Cozy with tailored fit

I love this down sweater jacket. Its cozy without looking bulky and has a tailored fit. Great for casual outings but appropriate for work too!

October 2, 2021

Perfect down sweater, warm and toasty, but not bulky.

I don't think there is anything I don't LOVE about this coat. It's the perfect liner to wear underneath the Gore-tex Patagonia shell my husband bought me. And it keeps me warm in these chilly Alaskan winters!

September 30, 2021

I love this Jacket!

I have this jacket in every color and it is amazing, the fir is awesome and it works well in cooler temps. It is light but provides a great deal of warmth!

September 27, 2021

Thin and super warm

The jacket is thin and not bulky, which I like but super warm.

September 24, 2021

Perfect warm, light weight, stylish coat

The fit & function of this down-sweater will be my most lived in winter coat! I love the fun color, perfect sizing, and wide comfort zone for outdoor varied temperatures.

September 18, 2021

Beautiful, comfortable and practical

Patagonia makes wonderful coats and jackets. The color and quality are amazing. Ohio winters are much more bearable because of Patagonia. I love this ruby color.

September 15, 2021

70's vibe

Great color and style. Warm & comfy. Looking forward to the winter season.

September 13, 2021

Excellent everyday for those who are always cold

I need to have a lightweight down-type jacket on hand for practically 9 months out of the year. I wear this all the time inside and outside whenever I am chilly, which is often. This is great to throw on whenever. Nice and lightweight, packs up small, doesn't take up a lot of room. I like that it isn't too short. Fitted enough without bei... Read Moreng too tight but isn't baggy. Will be wearing for a long time to come!

September 11, 2021

Fit

Fits well. With other brands the sleeves are not long enough. This jacket is perfect!

September 4, 2021

Patagonia needs to offer petite sizes

I love everything about this jacket but the fit. It is lightweight and warm with a beautiful color. But please, Patagonia, recognize that women come in many different heights. I usually wear a medium, but the medium is much too snug so I had to size up to a large. However, the length and sleeves are much too long! I would buy more Patagonia items i... Read Moref they came in sizes for women under 5'4".

September 3, 2021

Funky retro vibe

This jacket was a little larger than expected, but will be perfect later for layering with my recycled cashmere turtleneck on those extra cold days. Can't wait to show it off this fall!

September 3, 2021

Warm & comfortable jacket

Comfortable classic fit, lightweight, and warm

September 2, 2021

As good as I expected

Love the weight, fit and color of this jacket.

September 2, 2021

Great fit

Love these light weight warm coats. The color and fit on this one is really nice. I purchased the xl for layering ability.

September 2, 2021

Perfect jacket

This is such a great jacket for chilly days. I bought this to try out compared to my nano puff- feels similar in weight so far. Fits true relaxed fit.

September 1, 2021

Light and Comfortable

This was my second Down Sweater Jacket since I love it so much. They are light, warm and very comfortable. Unfortunately this one was the color Melon which was a little brighter in person than I liked. I will get a different color.

Response from Patagonia
September 8, 2021

We appreciate feedback on the weight, warmth, comfort and fabric. We're sorry to hear the color was a disappointment, but happy to help with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) if you haven't already begun that process. Thanks for the review, Marjorie!

September 1, 2021

Lightweight

I like the weight and fit of this jacket as opposed to a heavy bulky weight jacket. The color is a quiet red which is very versatile for me.

August 31, 2021

Mellow Melon color is much brighter than pictured

I was a expecting burnt-ish orange color based on the photos, but it's a very bright/light color - like a super ripe cantaloupe. I was excited to see xxs since that's what I usually wear in all other brands (31" chest, 24" waist) but it was really tight around my hips (36") when wearing a sweatshirt underneath and the front... Read More pockets were tiny.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2021

Thank you for your review of fit, sizing, and fabric! We're sorry to hear it didn't work out for you. Please reach out to our Customer Service team to return it and discuss another product that might have a bit more room for layering. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 24, 2021

Light enough, warm enough, looks great, perfect!

This is a perfect light weight jacket for cool days and cooler evenings, which was exactly what I was looking for. You just can't go wrong with any Patagonia product!

August 19, 2021

Love But Fades

I have purchased this jacket several times and love it. It fits well, is warm, especially if you wear a vest under and is comfortable. I have only gotten the black, but am disappointed and not satisfied that it always fades from the sun to a purple color. I would like a true black, and there is a huge difference between the lining and the outside. ... Read MorePatagonia has a100% guarantee, but it does not cover fading. I suggest that the company find a way to treat the material or do something that does not allow this to happen.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the fading color of the jacket, and even though it is simply cosmetic and does not affect the performance, we welcome you to send it to our warehouse for a warranty evaluation under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee). Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you'd like any assistance. Thank you for your valuable feedback on the fit, fabric and comfort of this jacket, Helen!

August 6, 2021

I love this jacket!!

I was going back and forth about this jacket primarily because of the size. Im 145 and according to measurements I should wear a L but I returned a large in a different style because it was too big so purchased a medium. And it fits! Im not sure if this helps others who are struggling.

June 26, 2021

Love this jacket!

I received a down sweater jacket for Christmas last year, and can honestly say I wore it every day through March. I live in northern CA and it was perfect for morning walks, hiking, snowshoeing, or just running errands. Absolutely my favorite jacket!

June 26, 2021

Beautiful Color and Warm!!!

Love this jacket! Its my fourth down jacket, I live in a cold climate and wear them all the time. Nice to have variety! This is special because of the beautiful color!!! Love it!

June 19, 2021

Beautiful Color Superb Coat

Very pretty color, layers under my wind/water proof layer (Transporter Jacket) and also works on its own. Perfect for camping trips in alpine areas or on chilly nights or mornings! Love this jacket!! Started with an xs but felt it was large, xxs fits perfectly over a better sweather and zip neck!

June 19, 2021

Beautiful Color Superb Coat

Very pretty color, layers under my wind/water proof layer (Transporter Jacket) and also works on its own. Perfect for camping trips in alpine areas or on chilly nights or mornings! Love this jacket!!

June 9, 2021

Love it

Im 5 8 130 pounds and I always wear a medium in Patagonia ( a small in everything else I own)This jacket is no exception went with medium and its perfect; light weight and super warm! Love

May 17, 2021

Awesome Jacket!

I absolutely love the down sweater jacket. It is perfect to wear on the street, on a hike, or biking. I ordered the blue color and I LOVE IT! Great pop of color. Small works for me as I don't like my stuff big. I could fit a light sweatshirt or sweater under even with a small. Great jacket, warm and comfy!

May 17, 2021

Almost 5 star jacket

Love the colors, love the warmth, the weight..the only reason I gave this jacket 4 stars is because of the shape/fit. The medium zips on my hips but is little big overall. Though its not a deal breaker and will be okay with layers underneath but I wish I Patagonia made their womens jacket more suitable to female body shape.

May 6, 2021

Perfect for horseback riding. Works as a perfect robe!

My husband and I have been Patagonia customers since1980 Back then we lived in malibu and went to the Ventura store that was then the Great Pacific Ironworks. People were friendly, the clothing worked and lasted. WE continue to buy today on a regular basis and trade older things in to "Worn Wear." WE also support the company's enviro... Read Morenmental front-and-center approach. Customers for life.

April 30, 2021

Light jacket

When you just need a little something beyond your tee.

April 22, 2021

Tall girl friendly!

I was a tad nervous about purchasing the small as I always have problems with sleeves being too short. The design is beautiful and is somehow feather light and warm at the same time. Shipping was fast and service excellent. We will certainly be ordering again soon.

April 17, 2021

Cute and comfy

I absolutely love this jacket. It keeps me warm at stylish at the same time. Its very light weight and it doesnt take much space in my hiking backpack

April 14, 2021

Perfect

I love the Patagonia Down Sweater Jackets. This jacket is my third. Highly recommend.

April 12, 2021

Soft and cozy but little tight around the butt

This is really the perfect transition jacket. Its so silky smooth and comfy. I am 5'7" and dont have very large chest and it fits great everywhere except the bottom. It is definately borderline tight if I try to pull it down a bit towards the bum, again not a huge problem for me but still a thing.

April 10, 2021

Great jacket.

Loved the jacket but opted for the nano puff because not as bulky since end of winter. Sleeves of down jacket actually better length than nano puff. I have long arms but nano puff still a little too long. Both jackets fit true to size with room for layering. Medium jacket. 56 and 120 lbs.

April 9, 2021

A favorite of mine!

Love this Jacket! Very warm and comfortable! I ordered a medium first because I like to layer but the shoulders were way too big. Exchanged for a small and its perfect!! Im 53 130 lb

April 6, 2021

Love the fit but lacks durability

I've had this jacket for 1 year and worn casually as an all-purpose coat - to the office, to run errands etc. It developed a tear in the elbow with several months of wear. The hole has torn further after following the exact recommendation from patagonia to put gear tape on the hole and the jacket is now unwearable. No accountability or options... Read More for exchanges from Patagonia. Disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2021

Hello Tayla, we're really sorry your Down Sweater developed a hole. We do cover our items under our Ironclad Guarantee, so we went ahead and emailed you with our returns and free repair instructions.

April 5, 2021

Excellent fit, look & durability.

Your products are fantastic and we appreciate your company's dedication to the environment. Been a customer since 1981.

April 2, 2021

LOVE this jacketI

I have this jacket in 3 colors (black, roamer red and alpine blue) and have the down sweater vest in the same 3 colors. This is the perfect jacket for me. I wear it out and about and for hiking. I am 5' 5'', 109-111 pounds, broader shoulders and smaller hips (33.5"), longer legs and shorter torso. I ordered the XS. I can easily ... Read Morefit the vest and a light base layer underneath when it is colder. It is somewhat fitted but looks great with a light layer or the vest when it is colder. I have lots of room in the shoulders even with the vest on. I love the color selection, especially roamer red, which is more of a blue red with pink undertones. I love red, but reds often have a warm undertone that I cannot wear - roamer red is perfect. I also have the torrentshell in the same colors so I can mix and match. I would love to see this jacket in some paler pastel colors such as light blue or light green. My husband also has this jacket in 3 colors and he loves it as much as I do. Please do not EVER change the design of this jacket.

April 1, 2021

Love my down puffer

This puffer is the best. Functional and looks great! You don't need to wear much underneath it's super warm like a sleeping bag!

March 31, 2021

Perfect Warmth for Bay Area

I love everything about this jacket. It provides remarkable warmth for such a light weight jacket. Nothing constricts or constrains. I was considering a medium because I was planning to wear it with bulky jeans and many reviewers mentioned the small hip size. There are cords in each pocket to release the hip closure. Im so glad I got a small and no... Read Moret a medium.

March 25, 2021

Finally, a fit for curves

Well, well well. We finally have a fit in patagonia down that works for a woman above a size 12 with no straight lines to be seen. I'm roughly a 14/16, solid hourglass, rounder stomach, widest part of my body is my hips. I can wear this over a light sweater and still zip it. Thank you for FINALLY listening to women who want to support the bran... Read Mored, but want you to support extended sizing.

March 24, 2021

Best Jacket in my closet

This is my favorite go to jacket. Please don't change a thing.

March 20, 2021

Great warmth & easy to pack in with!

Great warmth & easy to pack in with! I've always been a fan of Patagonia's Down Sweater for the ease of packing it for mountaineering summits. This year I was stoked to see the Women's line finally got 1 - Cool Retro striped jacket in the colors usually only available for men. **Patagonia** ~ **Women want the same hues & stri... Read Morepes of Retro styling as the Guys!! PLEASE drop the same color options for Women, as the Mens lines to test ... which colors fly out the door for women & stay in action & use for decade to come. Thank you!!

March 20, 2021

Warm a nd light weight

Love this jacket but cant figure out i f i t can be washed in washer. Could someone please let me know. Again wear the jacket all the time so I t needs to be cleaned!

March 19, 2021

Love! Super warm, lightweight & soft.

Love the Birch White color so much! Thought it might be plain, but it's a pearl white with a slight shimmer! It'll match everything! Got it to replace the hot pink one I lost, but had for years without any rips or scratches despite many hiking trips and travels with it. For reference, I'm a 34A, 135lbs and the SMALL fits perfectly w... Read Moreith a little room to spare even with a thick sweater underneath. I usually wear medium sized tops, but the small fits great.

March 17, 2021

Great

Great everyday coat!

March 12, 2021

Awesome Jacket

This is a beautiful jacket! Very warm and the color is perfect. Can't go wrong with this jacket.

March 8, 2021

Warm, Funcitonal and Stylish

So warm and rather wind resistant. Not a *quiet* down as there is a fair amount of swish action going on. However! I wore it as a layer under a ski jacket and was very warm, and I love to just throw it on to run errands. I get so many compliments on it! It's perfect for this winter/spring moment in Michigan and the cornice grey color is going ... Read Moreto look perfect in all seasons! Love it!

March 8, 2021

Light weight and warm

Even though, this jacket is light and warm. It fits slightly big and sleeves are too long. Im waiting for Patagonia to come out with petite sizes. The roamer red is more of a mauve color instead of a dark red as depicted online. I may return mine in exchange of a different color. Other than that, its a great jacket.

March 7, 2021

Super happy

Fits perfect and is exceptionally warm. Best choice I ever made.

March 6, 2021

The Best Jacket Ever

I think this is my 5th Down Sweater purchase, and it remains simply the best. This time I tried one of the synthetic-fill jackets (to spare the poor ducks), but it just didn't have the feel, lightness, or fit of the Down Sweater. I wear it all the time, every day, except on the very coldest days here in Boston. I love that it's so tiny &a... Read Moremp; light that it never needs to be checked (not that I've been to a restaurant in the past year...) I just drape it on the back of a chair & can slide it over my shoulders if I get chilly. Honestly, I love clothing & there are many garments that I LOVE, but this one may get worn more than any other. Thank you, Patagonia, for continuing to make this wonderful jacket, without changing it too much or screwing it up.

March 6, 2021

Needed a replacement asap!

I loved my Patagonia from a former employer (logo) so much-I immediately had to get a new one when I left the company. Donated the old one. So comfy, perfect jacket for 40d and above.

March 5, 2021

Very well made

I love the light weight style , very warm coat for cold weather but I was disappointed that the color wasnt what I expected, it appeared to be a true red in photo but actually was more of a bright pink/orange color

March 3, 2021

Best Non-Bulky Down Jacket

I love this jacket. I had a green one and wore it a lot. Wanted a new color so I got the blue. Its perfectly warm without the bulk.

March 3, 2021

Perfect warmth.

Was delivered fast, excellent costumer phone order , a perfect jacket!! I love it.

February 28, 2021

Snowboarding

It is super light weight but kept me very warm snowboarding with only a tank top underneath. I love it.

February 27, 2021

Just what I wanted

Perfect fit, perfect weight and ideal for winters in colorado when temperatures are 35 and above.

February 26, 2021

Versatile Warm Layer

I really love the new down sweater jacket. I bought my first Patagonia Nano Puff back in 2000. I loved it, and have worn it all these years. It's had zipper replacement with Patagonia, and it is almost completely worn out. I cut heart shapes from Gear Aid Tenacious Tape to cover small holes and warn spots, and kept it looking sweet. I recently... Read More made the decision to try to replace it, and chose the down sweater, so I could get the same brilliant color - Catalan Coral. I am so thrilled with it! I layer it for Nordic skiing. I use it for casual walks. It's awesome for hiking and backpacking. The color is brilliant. I love to look back at photos with the pop of color in the jackets. I purchased the size large, so I could layer under or over the down jacket. The adjustment pulls to tighten the bottom of the jacket keep the fit close and warm. Thanks Patagonia, for all you do making high quality merchandise, and supporting organizations, like Montana Wilderness Association and others. Your commitment to quality and activism are extremely important.

February 25, 2021

Light weight but very warm

I bought this jacket for traveling. I love this jacket is so light weight and keep me warm at the same time. Its perfect jacket for casual wear in the city and traveling light.

February 24, 2021

Lightweight, warm, durable

This is my second "down sweater" in the last 15 years. That speaks for itself. When my other one had so many spots and tears I decided to replace it with the same thing. It has served me well. I wore it for 15 years under ski jackets for extra warmth. I ice skated in it for years and just wore it outside when I didn't want a coat and... Read More still needed warmth. There are many similar cheaper versions of this. Actually, after I discarded the first Patagonia I had, I went cheap and bought one at a department store for a third of the price. It didn't even last one season. The Patagonia one, on the other hand, I washed and washed and it never lost the filling. It never changed shape. I know now, that it is well worth the pretty high price. So to conclude, there are 4 major things with this jacket: It is warm, lightweight, lasts forever (through many washings and dryings) and it looks good too. I recommend this product, it is a bit pricey but worth it.

February 18, 2021

Best of both worlds

I can wear this when it is really cold and still be very warm. The cool part it is very lightweight. Love it!

February 16, 2021

Good Jacket and super warm

The jacket itself is great. It is light and warm. Even in this weather it keeps me warm. The size is a bit complicated. I usually wear M but it was small for me and L is a bit large. Other than that it is a great jacket.

February 16, 2021

Great jacket but not warm enough

This is a beautiful coat but it's just not warm enough for New England winters. I ended up returning it for that reason. I was looking for a jacket hat would be appropriate for hikes and walking the dog but this jacket is just not warm enough for winter in Southern New Hampshire. It fits true to size. For reference I'm 5' 3" and... Read More weigh about 105-100 lbs. & I have a thin frame and this size was perfect. I probably could have layered a sweatshirt underneath comfortably while still achieving the slim fit. If I'm ever in the market for a fall jacket I would purchase it again.

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Thanks for the review on the Down Sweater Jacket. Please do not hesitate to use Customer Service as a resource when deciding on a jacket that will work best for you, for any season. We'll typically ask you questions on personal body temp, where you'll be using the jacket, and how you'll be using the jacket. After doing some research, we see that New England can get anywhere from -10 degrees Fahrenheit to -20 degrees in the winter, that's very cold! Our Down Sweater, while a great jacket, simply would not be able to do the job. We'd recommend the [Women's Frozen Range 3-in-1 Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-frozen-range-3-in-1-parka/27981.html?dwvar_27981_color=TOPB&cgid=root) in it's place. The parka length will give added warmth and it comes in at 308 g's of down versus the Down Sweaters 95 g's. Plus the shell option makes it great for the snow, check it out!

February 16, 2021

zipper

Amazing temp regulation for a range of temperatures. I don't get hot or cold. Nice work. front zipper is awkward in the chest area

February 14, 2021

Flattering design

Fits well and is flattering. Not boxy.

February 11, 2021

Wrong color

Great jacket but the color does not match the color in the picture. It was a disappointment. But so happy after 40 something years shopping at Patagonia they finally carry XXL for women!

Response from Patagonia
March 5, 2021

Hey! thanks for taking the time to write this review and we are also stoked to finally offer extended sizes for women. Sometimes, depending on what type of device you're using to view the item (phone, tablet, computer), the color may appear different on that screen. We are always happy to give more in depth color descriptions upon request when you [call or chat](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) in!

February 10, 2021

Perfect Jacket

This jacket is super light and warm. Living in Northern California on the coast, I wear it year round. Its so easy to tie around my waist while out hiking or on the beach. Quality is excellent. The only things I would like changed or as an option is 1) PLEASE design a fitted cut for women 2) add a hood with faux fur. That would make a very cute sty... Read Morelish option!!

February 10, 2021

Super warm

Bought two for dear female friends ( dont tell my wife ) ! They both loved them!

February 8, 2021

Stylish Warm functional

The color pattern first caught my eye. Love the 80s vibe. Wore it yesterday for the first time and it was soooo warm and soft. Large fit perfect a little snug on hips but I am thick so thats still ok. Wish there were more pockets but nothing more to add. Quality is always on point with Patagonia. Nothing else really compares.

February 7, 2021

My favorite Patagonia jacket

I love how lightweight and warm this jacket is. The color goes with any color jeans/sweatpants/leggings.

February 4, 2021

Love this jacket

This is a great jacket, lightweight yet warm. I got the cornice gray and it goes with so much. Ill definitely be getting a lot of use out of this jacket.

February 4, 2021

Water proof

Needed a light weight water proof jacket for snow activities, did not disappoint! Kept me warm and dry through a heavy snow storm

February 4, 2021

Super warm

Perfect for cold Texas winter mornings especially when it's my turn to work the carpool lane at school.

February 3, 2021

AMAZING

Please get this jacket!!!! If you have any hesitations ... get it! I adore Patagonia as a company and this jacket is exceptional. I couldnt give a higher rating! I bought one for my best friend.

February 2, 2021

Just what I needed

I was looking for something to replace an old puffy that was no longer warm. This perfectly fit the bill. I wore this under a shell in a snowstorm on a 3-day backpack trip - super warm and durable.

February 2, 2021

My go to jacket

My daughter and I absolutely LOVE this jacket. I purchased 2 of them last year. They have been our go to jacket anytime its cold/raining/snowing outside. Its very light weight yet keeps you super warm. Definitely worth the money spent. The jacket is a great investment and will hold up for years to come. If youre contemplating on purchasing because ... Read Moreof the price...I say get it. :)

February 2, 2021

Sweater Jacket

I usually wear a medium in jackets but sized up

February 1, 2021

Favorite jacket

I love everything about it. Particularly the pattern which has that 70s wibe. Which I love. I have another jacket just like it, a blue one, that has been my favorite for many years but is starting to show the wear and so now I use it for sports and gardening and this new one for everyday wear. I always bring my Patagonia jacket with me when I tra... Read Morevel. Airports and airplanes are often chilly and this jacket is so warm plus so easy to stuff in a carry on when I dont need it. Absolutely my favorite jacket of all time.

February 1, 2021

Perfect jacket

This is THE perfect jacket, as it's not too thin, nor too thick. Love the navy color and have received many compliments. It's a very flattering fit.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches