Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 372 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Hoody

4.6/5
True To Size
May 18, 2022

Perfect travel coat

I bought this hoody for an upcoming trip through Northern Europe. I wanted something that packs small when it is warm and put away yet super comfortable and warm when its cool out. This is the perfect jacket.

May 12, 2022

A Most Awesome Jacket

I have worn Patagonia down jackets and fleeces for about 25 years. The warmth, comfort and style is second to none. Patagonia also has the best customer service in the industry. Proud to be part of the Patagonia family.

May 7, 2022

Light and warm

This is a great coat for anything from cool to cold. I love the light weight and incredible warmth. It can be a great part of a layering system when its really cold or over a light fishing shirt by itself. Ive owned many of these over the years and will always have it in my gear arsenal.

May 5, 2022

Very Nice

The quality of the jacket is better than my north face, similar jacket.

April 25, 2022

Loving this version with a hoodie

I had the regular non-hooded version of this down jacket and it was great, but I had to send it in for replacement and ended up going for the hooded version. I didn't know I was missing out on the hood. This jacket is just as warm and comfortable as before. I love the inner zipper pocket and it also looks great and fits true to size. I highly ... Read Morerecommend the hooded version for additional coziness.

April 23, 2022

Very good but room for improvement

Obviously iconic with many accolades. Very comfortable in the shoulders, chest and arms but there's excess volume in the lower stomach - it's not made for folks who are fit and trim. However, the biggest issue is the zipper is very uncomfortable on the neck when the jacket is zipped up above the sternum. The zipper is stiff, it rubs again... Read Morest your chin and the weight of the hood pulls it uncomfortably into the front of your neck. Sadly may end up in Worn Wear once I find an alternative...

Response from Patagonia
April 25, 2022

We're sorry to hear that the design of our Down Sweater Hoody isn't ideal. Our Nano-Air Hoody has a "slim" fit but utilizes synthetic insulation and is not as warm. We recommend that you look at our Fall 2022 product release and reach out to your local Patagonia-owned store, or our Customer Service team for product measurements and details to choose the best options for you. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

April 14, 2022

Low fabric quality

It looks great and zippers are top quality. But the fabric is just too thin and down is just beginning to peep out several places. It looks cheap after 3 months of careful wear on commute to work. It is the the most expensive down jacket I have owned but also the worst in terms of durability.

Response from Patagonia
April 14, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to submit this review, André. We're sorry to hear this jacket isn't working for you! You can usually get any stray down back into the jacket by pulling the feather back in from the other side, and then rubbing the fabric firmly between your thumbs to "heal" it. This being said, if you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this jacket.

April 12, 2022

One and done!

My one go-to jacket.Warm comfortable,has a hood,lightweight..

April 4, 2022

Súper warm

Im pleased with this jacket its really warm in this Colorado weather

April 3, 2022

Comfy!

Great fit. Comply and warm!

March 26, 2022

Down Sweater Hoody

Its the best coat I have ever owned. Perfect for mountain living!

March 21, 2022

Super warm

Its very light material not heavy And its very warm wich my teenagers love it

March 19, 2022

Super warm & cozy

This jacket is great! Exactly what I was wanting, lightweight but still very warm. It is easy to layer and also warm enough to wear over just a t-shirt.

March 18, 2022

Great jacket.

The jacket is warm, well made, comfortable, very stylish.

March 18, 2022

Warm and light!

I bought this as a warmer alternative to my Nano. Weve had some cold nights recently in LA and the Nano wasnt quite warm enough.

March 17, 2022

Great Product

Very warm, good product. It's a little tight but I still very much enjoy it.

March 16, 2022

Disappointed

Ive had multiple down sweaters/hoodies in the past from Patagonia and its always been trusted and my first choice for backcountry huts trips and similar adventures. I count on it in these situations and have found it to be pretty bomber for what it is. I have a hoody from 2019/20 that I was going to give to a friend with me buying a new one in a co... Read Morelor I liked. I was disappointed to find the face fabric notably less stout, the weight to be a few ounces less leaving the jacket to feel less warm and more drafty than the older one.which is not very old. It just clearly has less down so it is less warm while being less wind resistant as well. I thought maybe it was just this one but when I went to the store they all felt like my new one. It was a noticeable difference just pulling it out of the packaging when it arrived. I took it out touring for a day and the difference was obvious. I returned it and will keep the old one. Whereas in the past I would recommend it, I absolutely would not in its current state. Not for my activities that are not casual use. Maybe this had something to do with recycling or trying to intentionally make it lighter, but it really wasnt heavy in the first place and Im not a fan of this change. I still like Patagonia a lot and use a lot of their gear, but Ill definitely be paying more attention when buying in the future.

March 16, 2022

Cousy

I think that the jacket is very warm and perfect for they weather I get in Denver, CO. However the jacket started to rip and feathers started to home out one a small holes. This happened on the second day wore the jacket. I havent used it ever since since I dont want the jacket to keep ruined.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi Boni, we're so sorry to hear about this damage! That shouldn't be happening. If you live near the Denver store you can take it there to be replaced, or you can contact our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via Live Chat on our website to discuss replacement or repair options. Please let us know how we can help!

March 15, 2022

Warm and Lightweight

Had a down sweater previous to this and loved it. It had some issues and Patagonia replaced it it with a store credit which I used to upgrade to the hoodie version. Its a great jacket that works well on its own or as a layer when Chicago weather dips way down. With customer service and its functionality I am quite happy.

March 15, 2022

Not Bulky

This jacket is as advertised. It is warm without being bulky. Used in low teen temperature and stayed warm.

February 23, 2022

Light and warm

Well made product to use in a layering system to ensure warmth and comfort.

February 23, 2022

First time Patagonia buyer!

Jacket fits perfect, super lightweight, keeps me warm. Exactly what I needed/wanted!!

Response from Patagonia
March 1, 2022

Welcome to Patagonia, Samuel! Please give us a holler if we can be of any help!

February 22, 2022

Super warm

Warm and comfortable

February 15, 2022

Waited 2 years

Ive had my eye on this jacket for a while before finally making the purchase. My only regret is not buying it earlier. The one instance of light rain Ive worn it in, its water resistance worked fine. The most impressive experience was walking in gale force winds in 30 degree weather and realizing my torso was unaffected. I just pull up the hood and... Read More bury my face in it. It feels like a warm cloud of sunshine.

February 13, 2022

Fit runs small, I run big lol

While the coat is warm it is short at the bottom so if you have to do anything above shoulder height, theres a good possibility your belly button will show. While its a welcome surprise not everyone wants to see it lol. Better for shorter slimmer folks.

February 12, 2022

Amazing jacket!!

This jacket fits like a glove. Im 63 190lbs, and the Large fit great. Normally because I have long arms the sleeves end up being too short, but this jacket fit great. Its perfect for cold weather in the single digits, all the way up to 40 degrees. It can get warm but that makes it perfect to wear with minimal layers underneath. I have a nano puff w... Read Moreithout the hood, so this was a good alternative for colder days where a hood is needed.

February 12, 2022

great all around winter jacket

I like to walk a few miles a day in all weather and this jacket fills the bill at colder temperatures. Today it's 10 degrees F with -5 degrees f windchill. The coat is plenty warm with hat gloves and scarf and sweater. The coat is about 8 years old and looks brand new. Also is great for travel and wonderfully light. I would suggest a few impr... Read Moreovements. A larger hood so that when the wind is howling and the temperature drops you get a tunnel effect and a microclimate. A larger neck dimension so that when you wear a scarf, baklava or any thick collared sweater you can still close the neck of the coat. Zippers are fine when working and recover well if they get stuck but not when they stick below zero in a howling gale. The zippers stick especially on the light inner lining at the pockets and the torso. What about a thin stiffer ribbon of fabric inside on the side by the zippers to prevent snagging. Lastly I had the waist draw cord synched for a number of years and the cord wore through the enveloping fabric on the inside. But bottom line still my favorite cold weather jacket.

February 12, 2022

fragile

The shell of this jacket can get pierced very easily with down feathers coming out. If you go a little off the trail and brush against anything abrasive watch out! The jacket feels flimsy. If you put your iphone in the inside pocket the whole jacket gets overweighted and sits weird. The jacket is too narrow on my hips. Seems too tight for any serio... Read Moreus movement like skiing or vigorous activities.

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2022

Hi Olivia, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with the Men's Down Sweater Hoody. It's natural for some of the down and feathers to escape through the fabric, particularly in the seams. The sharp quills of the feathers can poke tiny holes in the fabric and work their way through to the outside. It is normal for this to happen, particularly in newer products when the down has not had an opportunity to settle. To minimize the amount of down that escapes, simply pull the down back into the jacket and massage the area to help the hole close up. It is important that you do not pull the down out of the jacket, as that will only exacerbate the problem by creating a larger hole. If you find the suggestions above ineffective, you are welcome to send your item in for a [warranty returns evaluation](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

February 11, 2022

Fragile

The shell material is extremely fragile. Walk near or brush against any thorns or rough material and you start to leak down through a little rip. The fit ( for me ) M is a bit tight especially around my hips. When I put my iphone in the inside pocket it throws off the way the jacket sits on my frame. I'd say the jacket is too flimsy .

Response from Patagonia
February 14, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the Men's Down Sweater Hoody, Olivia. We're so sorry to hear it hasn't met your needs! We want you to be happy with everything you purchase from us, and if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. And if you'd ever like to get specific measurements on a garment our Customer Service Team will be happy to help, so you can feel confident about what you're purchasing.

February 11, 2022

Almost Perfect

I needed to new winter coat and decided to try this. I love having a hood and the hood adjuster that holds your head during windy days is awesome. I like my coats slightly larger so I can wear a hoodie without it hanging out the bottom or sleeves. I am 6 foot tall and a large was perfect for me. My only gripe is that it is not as warm as I thought ... Read Moreand I could not wear just a T-shirt under it.

February 10, 2022

Warm

Super warm and light weight!

February 9, 2022

Yoooooo!

Its my 3rd one. Love it.

February 8, 2022

Missing the bag.

I love this jacket. It's my second one. The only issue is that it came without a compression bag for my hikes. I have to use my old one. Does it no longer come with a bag for hiking?

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2022

Hi Matthew, thank you for submitting a review! The Down Sweater Hoody has an internal chest pocket that doubles as a stuff sack, with a carabiner clip-in loop.

February 7, 2022

The perfect down jacket

I absolutely love this jacket. Its super versatile/diverse and fits any occasion. The full power lives up to its standards, and theres enough room inside for your layering standards. It also packs down within itself for easy storage in a bag while not in use.

February 2, 2022

Good jacket

Warm, light. Perfect for 35-48 deg F. weather.

February 1, 2022

Very Good Fit

The jacket I purchased fits great and is light and very warm. So glad I got this one!

February 1, 2022

It does the job!

Warm and light! I use this when is dry yet very cold outside. Perfect for hiking. Life time warranty is a real treat.

January 31, 2022

As what people said

Love it. Warm. And light.

January 31, 2022

Very warm, lightweight.

True to size, fits perfectly. Warm, lightweight.

January 30, 2022

All positives

Nothing I dont like about this so far, aside from maybe the price. Warm, light, comfy, and has held up well so far.

January 30, 2022

Warm & Comfortable

Stylish and functional. Great for casual use when walking in cold, Chicago winter days.

January 29, 2022

Quality

Super warm and great quality product. Patagonia customer service is hands down the best Ive ever experienced!

January 28, 2022

So warm

Stylish, great fit, love the color, pockets, hood, love everything about this jacket. Slip a lightweight baseline under and a technical shell over this bastion of warmth and you will mock the elements. If you have been searching, this is the one. Pricey, but you deserve it.

January 27, 2022

Fabric not durable, tear easily.

Bought this jacket 2 months ago in green mustard color. It tore on the back side during normal casual wear. The fabric is not durable enough for outdoor activities. It looks great but not value for money. Its very comfortable but not durable.

Response from Patagonia
January 28, 2022

Hey Jasvinder, thank you for the review on our Down Sweater Hoody. We're curious what caused the tear in your jacket, while we do consider it to be durable and for outdoor use, it is not indestructible and could still catch on a thorny bush for example. With that said, it is made with ripstop fabric which is constructed to prevent holes from spreading and getting worse. If you'd like for us to send you a patch kit, we'd be happy to do that or set you up with a repair. To begin either process, please connect with our [customer service team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

January 26, 2022

Super Warm

This jacket is a great underlayer for my Ski Patrol duties. It is the third one I have purchased over the years and it has never let me down. I work as a Paramedic as well and it is a good layer for our late night calls. Thank You Patagonia for letting us have this discount.

January 26, 2022

It's not only the down, it's the fit

On my third though i did stray and tried others, with no success. My last one lasted about 5 years... With a lot of patches on the sleeve seams, and the waist hem cord tore through the nylon. I'll keep the older one for yard work, the newer one for daily use. The combination of down warmth, tapered (snug) fit where you need it the most, and li... Read Moreght weight makes this my go to jacket during winter. I don't care about the water repellency, I have an excellent Patagonia shell for that. I do care about the warmth and this jacket has always delivered from 0+ (with layering), 20-30+ without an xtra thought.

January 25, 2022

Light, Warm and, uhh... a little stinky?

Jacket is so great, but I'm still trying to get the funky goose smell out of it. When it was brand new, if it got warm at all, like if I was in the stands watching a winter game in 50 degree weather and the sun was on me? *sniff* hmmm... that there is poultry you smell emanating from your own self! Had to wash it and then dry it with a couple ... Read Moretennis balls (as per instructions found on the web) and it's better, but not there yet. Otherwise, lightweight, super warm and fits great. I just stay in the shade :)

January 25, 2022

Cozy

I gave this as a gift to my son. He loves it, especially the soft coziness.

January 24, 2022

Versatile

I use the jacket for a number of different reasons and it has been one of my favorite jackets I've purchased. I also really appreciate Pategonias policy on if it gets damaged. I accidentally had mine ripped while cross country skiing and they offered to repair or replace the torn jacket. I will definitely be loyal to the pategonia brand and pr... Read Moreoducts.

January 24, 2022

Not durable

After wearing a few times , the material on the sleeves worn out and the feather started coming out . I am very disappointed, because this pricey nice looking jacket is not wearable.

January 24, 2022

Outstanding!

This jacket is amazing. That's all you need to know... the fit is perfect, it is warm, and comfortable for a day out exploring the world. You can't go wrong...

January 23, 2022

This Jacket Stinks!

I mean, literally, it smells bad. I had never seen a piece of clothing smelling like this. I can only guess it results from an interaction between the Down and the humidity in the air. To be honest, at first, I was delighted with it. It is super beautiful, light, and warm, a pleasure to wear. It was the moment that I came back to my heated house ... Read Moreafter spending some time in the cold that I noticed something wrong. I was confused and thought my house was smelling funny. I took the trash outside and hoped that would fix it. The next time I came back home, it happened again. My wife noticed it even from 6 feet away. She said I must have stepped in something funny outside, that it smelled like vomit, but I would describe it more like a wet dog smell. It was terrible. We cleaned the house! I was mesmerized when I discovered the smell was coming from the jacket. The worst part is that once you notice it, you just can't unnoticed. I washed it. It did help. The smell never actually rose to the same level as before. But I can still feel it faintly growing after using it for a couple of hours.

Response from Patagonia
January 26, 2022

Hey Caio, thanks for the review. This is very odd and not something that we've heard of happening before! We recommend trying the following care instructions, and if that doesn't work reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we could go over some other options with you. You'll want to close all zippers, snaps and velcro. Machine wash it in cool water with a mild detergent (no bleach, no fabric softener, preferably powder) and then tumble dry on low heat (no fabric softener) with a couple of clean tennis balls or dryer balls. This will fluff the down, and help to refresh and tighten up the fabric around the down. Give it a go and reach back out if that doesn't solve the problem. Thanks!

January 22, 2022

Great jacket!

I really like this jacket so far. Its really comfortable and crazy warm. I havent gotten a chance to really test the waterproofing but in a light drizzle it does really well. I also really like the color and the fit.

January 20, 2022

Super WARM

Perfect for Michigan winters. Keeps me very warm and has great coverage all around! I dont even need to wear anything thick under in the snow. Highly recommend. Will be buying in more colors!

January 19, 2022

Not as warm as advertised

While the jacket looks good and fits even better, it does not hold to the promise of "maintaining body warmth up to 5 degrees farenheit". I wore it to Denver and while wearing a t-shirt, a patagonia sweater and another hoody below it, it did not keep me warm, and the temperature was above 20 degrees farenheit. I am disappointed because I ... Read Morewas cold during my entire trip, even while in the car. I would also suggest people look to other brands that offer the same warmth for way less money. 3 stars for looks, feel and true to size.

January 19, 2022

Amazing jacket

I was looking for a puff jacket like this for a long time and finally pulled the trigger on this one. I absolutely love it. Definitely runs large, I usually wear a 2X, but the XL fits me perfectly.

January 18, 2022

Perfect non-bulky winter jacket

I bought this jacket for my 13 year old son. We live in MN and I wouldn't want the lighter weight version. It is warm enough for cold winters yet light enough to put in his backpack or wear around without movement restrictions. I liked the navy with the gold zipper - classic with a little something special.

January 18, 2022

Go to Jacket

This light weight and warm jacket is my daily in the winter time. Love the quality and plan on having this jacket 7 plus years just like my other one that I still wear. A couple patches but no need to replace it :)!

January 17, 2022

Super Warm

I was looking for a warmer coat than my Nano Air, when the temperatures drop and Im not active. The fit is great for layering over a mid layer or by itself. Cut is a little boxy but not enough for me to care. Overall, jacket has kept me warm standing around in mid-teens up to 30s outside before I got too hot. Big differentiator for me was the lined... Read More zipper garage and the adjustable hood cinch cord that wasnt available from other brands.

January 17, 2022

Light weight & super warm

This was a Christmas gift for my son & he loves it!!!!

January 16, 2022

Great jacket!

Very warm and comfortable and fits nicely. Phenomenal!! Absolutely no complaints!!

January 15, 2022

Amazing coat

So much warmer than it looks and its stylish and super comfortable.

January 15, 2022

Amazing

So the coat is amazing. However I ordered the wrong size. I started the return, and I was worried it would be a drawn out process. It was so quick and easy. The customer service is so good. Quality product too.

January 14, 2022

Super Light and Warm

I gave this jacket to my son for Christmas, and he absolutely love it. The jacket is super light but warm, perfect for him to use it at San Francisco University.

January 14, 2022

Down Sweater Hoody

Warmest layer and very lightweight. This is my second purchase of a down hoody. I'm a ski patroler and wear the hoody very often, but had to purchase a second, because I've assigned the older one to more heavy duty use, which results in it getting dirty. Need to keep up appearances on Patrol. Two of my children have down hoodies and they ... Read Morelove them too.

January 13, 2022

Good layer for East Coast Winter

Works well as a top layer for me in the east coast winter to step out for the day-to-day - tried a few competitors, but value the Patagonia brand and they way they think customer and beyond!

January 10, 2022

Perfect weight for wide range of temps

I love the weight and warmth of this jacket and wear it between 20-55 degrees Fahrenheit for casual to moderate activity. I am 5-6", 135lbs average build and this jacket fits close to perfect. I do not use the hood much but its nice to have in precipitation and doesn't get it the way when not in use. I usually keep the hand warmer pockets... Read More unzipped so it would be nice to have covered zippers similar to the AlpLight Down Jkt. Occasionally, the exposed zipper will catch a thread on the inside sleeve when arm brushes across the body. Other than that, pretty much a perfect lightweight puffer.

January 10, 2022

Warm lightweight

Yes buy it yes worth it

January 10, 2022

Comfortable, colorful & sporty

Comfortable, colorful & sporty enough for everyday wear as well as on the slopes :)

January 7, 2022

Love it

Light weight & warm sums it up. Great piece to add too outdoor gear.

January 7, 2022

High quality down jacket.

Love this jacket! It looks sharp and offers great warmth. The jacket can handle light drizzle. It does have a bit of a "boxy" shape though. However it stil fits me nicely.

January 6, 2022

I bought another brand--I wish I'd bought this one

About once a year, I decide I need something that Patagonia sells, and I decide to compare across brands in case someone else has a better one (BLUF: they never do). Sometimes, I just bite the bullet and buy the real thing. And I'm always happy with it. Other times, I try to save 10-50% and get a similar product from a competing brand. I almos... Read Moret always say to myself 2 months later: "man, I should have just bought the dang Patagonia one--it's nicer material and better constructed and better for the environment, and it was only $xx more expensive." That is true of this jacket. I bought a competing one (Cotopaxi), and it's fine. Then, I [stupidly] decided to try the Patagonia one on in a store. The stitching, fabric, zippers, hood, design etc. are just a little bit better than anything else out there. You can only tell if you're used to something else. I am once again reminded: always just buy the Patagonia version. All ______ are not created equal. Their prices are fair, policies outstanding, and products exceptional. It is now too late to return the other jacket. In any case, I highly (and jealously) recommend this jacket.

January 5, 2022

Comfy

Super light weight, nice for winter walk around town, casual wear.

January 5, 2022

I love it! I love it!

Thats what my husband said when I asked him how he likes his Patagonia jacket. Its warm, not too puffy, and lightweight.

January 4, 2022

Very cozy!

Bought as a gift for my son from his wish list. He loves it!

January 4, 2022

Super Warm

A perfect coat for cold Ohio winters. It is comfortable in wind and rain.

January 3, 2022

Warm but no Shell

I love the down for the warmth. However, this jacket doesn't protect you from snow or sleet. My favorite Patagonia jacket has a fleece lining with a nylon shell. Other than big bucks parkas, you no longer make a good jacket for Casual use. This Down sweatshirt requires me to wear another jacket as a shell. It's not really a winter jacket.... Read More Chicago winters are cold and wet. Need a better jacket.

January 3, 2022

Epic jacket, this is my 3rd Patagonia down jacket. Very warm, packs down very small. My only complaint is the cuffs get a lot of wear and tear and have gotten small holes. But this was after years of wear.

Love this jacket, its my 3rd one. It checks a lot of boxes.

January 1, 2022

Fits too loose

I wear a large with Pat on almost all products 6-3 225 lbs 34 in sleeve They usually fit lightly snug but this prodcut just seem to have a full cut, not as warm SeeI have had many

December 31, 2021

Super comfortable....can't stand to wear my heavy leather anymore!

Perfect!!! Doesn't get too hot or too cold going inside and outside.

December 31, 2021

Lightweight yet warm and comfy

I'm 5'7, slim. The XS fits me perfectly and allows me to have an extra sweater underneath. It's lightweight, compact when folded, keeps me warm especially in windy weather and is comfortable. I'm so delighted I bought this jacket. I recommend it.

December 28, 2021

Perfect gift

Bought this for my fiancé. Fits him perfectly and is a great jacket for DC. He said it is very warm. Patagonias in-store customer service blew me away.

December 27, 2021

Great!

As usual with Patagonia, great quality and fit. Keeps you warm, but not too warm when being active. Recommended!

December 25, 2021

Patagonia seems to be underfilling some of these sweater hoodies

The down sweater hoody I initially purchased did not seem particularly warm. Nor did it feel particularly puffy, so I weighed it on a scale I know to be accurate out of curiosity. It came in at 14.125 ounces, which I think is under the weight Patagonia specifies for the product. I ordered a second jacket, and it weighs 14.5 ounces. It is significan... Read Moretly warmer and puffier than the first jacket. Given that an ounce of 800 fill down will loft to 800 cubic inches, it makes sense that the extra 3/8 of an ounce of down makes a big difference. I like the second jacket a lot, but I am disappointed that Patagonia's quality control seems a bit off on this product. The first jacket will be going back for a refund. All of the weights I list above were taken without the cardboard tag or the plastic bag that the jacket comes in. The cardboard tag and the plastic bag weigh 1/8 and 1/2 ounce, respectively, if anyone reading this review wants to weigh a jacket before removing it from the plastic bag.

December 21, 2021

Super Nice and Warm!

Definitely noticeably warmer than my Nano-Puff. So far have no complaints after several wears. My only concern is washing it is not as easy as a Nano-Puff being down as opposed to synthetic but the washing regimen isnt too unreasonable.

December 21, 2021

Warm

Wish this was a little bit more durable for the price.

December 18, 2021

Super Warm

Buy it. You won't regret. Best jacket ever!

December 16, 2021

Mens Down Sweater Hoodie

My all time favorite, most comfortable jacket! Purchased for wildland fire assignments when the Fall temps dip in Northern California, this jacket easily stuffs into its own front pocket and takes up little space. I find Im wearing it all the time. With the hood and insulating down, it feels immediately therapeutic on brisk mornings and regulates w... Read Moreell in mild conditons.

December 13, 2021

It's a patagonia classic for a reason!

The down sweater is one of the most easily recognized jackets seen out in everyday life both in the great outdoors and around town. There is a reason this jacket is so well loved by many! I think it is the ideal weight of being warm, yet still light and not obnoxiously "puffy". This is the jacket I find myself reaching for all the time si... Read Morence it is so versatile. On cold days it is an awesome insulation under my outer shell when skiing the resort too.

December 12, 2021

Highly disappointed

I purchased this jacket thinking that it would be very warm for Midwest winters. I was and am very disappointed.. I love the color and look, but it seems it is not very full of down feathers. My 7 year has the same style and his is definitely more full, not just by look, but feel as well. For what was spent on this jacket, I really anticipated it... Read More being much warmer. I had my last jacket for close to 10 years and last season got a tear in it, which prompted me to buy a new one. I cannot afford to keep buying new jackets, but will need to find another alternative. I think this is the first time Ive ever written a review, and unfortunately, it is a negative one. I love Patagonia products and have a lot of other items by the company. They ARE quality, just seems I received the runt of the bunch. Never dealt with customer service and will be curious to see how this is handled/addressed. Patagonia is an amazing company and I fully support them and their drive for sustainability. It just seems this product was not put together very well. I still strongly suggest purchasing from them and will personally continue to do so in the future. Just disappointed with this purchase.

Response from Patagonia
December 14, 2021

Hi Jared, thank you for taking the time to write a review and sorry to hear about the lack of down in your Down Sweater Hoody. We'd be happy to help out with a return or free exchange and you can begin either of those here: https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

December 12, 2021

Greatest fit of any insulated piece I own

16 years as a Patagonia customer and Ive very rarely been let down. This jacket is everything I wanted in an everyday winter insulated piece. The materials, warmth, features are all what youd expect from Patagonia; simple yet well thought out and expertly executed. The thing that makes this my favorite insulated piece of all time is the fit. Im 511... Read More and 180 pounds with long arms and a wider chest. Its difficult to find things that fit me really well, even among other Patagonia offerings. This jacket is snug like I like it, just loose enough to fit a base and mid layer underneath, and looks fantastic. My opinion? The jacket is worth every cent and has earned a place in my closet for years to come.

December 9, 2021

Light and very warm

This down sweater works perfect when added warmth is needed. Throw a shell over this garment and youre good for any extreme weather.

November 30, 2021

A superb light weight warm jacket that can be worn in Spring and Fall and mild Winter and Summer!

My experience with this garment thus far has been flawless. It keeps me warm and comfortable. It looks good. Its remarkably light. Altogether a winning combination. I recommend it without reservations.

November 27, 2021

Quality Youd Expect

No surprises here: the jacket is well made, incredibly warm, and worth every penny.

November 21, 2021

Excellent

Favorite jacket 1 own 5 jackets and Love them all

November 19, 2021

Fantastic

I love this jacket. Its warmer than the north face puff I have yet also still lighter and cooler when wearing inside. I got the green/yellow color combo and love it, might get a darker color too but overall i have few complaints. The hoody is a life saver on the colder/windier days.

November 16, 2021

A true icon that still can't be beat

I have had too several Down Sweater Hoodies, and they continue to impress. As they say, if it aint broke, don't fix it, I'm glad Patagonia has stayed mostly true to this piece, while always looking to make it more sustainable. It is warm, fits great, even with a heavy flannel underneath, holds up to a lot of abuse. My only complain, is I ... Read Morewish it came in about a dozen more colors that were more on the neutral side...too many bright colors and not enough of the more neutral blues, grays and greens.

November 14, 2021

Pure Warmth

Jacket fits great. Good is nice and snug around head and face, keeping wind out. Zippers and pockets high quality. Overall great jacket.

November 12, 2021

allll goooddd,

Extremely comfortable. Wonderful fit. I like the size of the hood, the cut of it.

November 12, 2021

Super lightweight and warm. Hood makes it much warmer!

I have both the hooded and hoodless versions. Love the hooded version as it really provides a different level of warmth. Love them both.

November 11, 2021

WOW!! WARM AND TOASTY!!!

This Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Hoody is GREAT!!! IT IS WARM AND TOASTY!!! On its own with a t-shirt. Or layered under my Torrentshell. IT IS FANTASTIC!!! I AM 6 foot 1 and I bought a size Large!!! I AM Very Happy!!! With this jacket. A+++

November 1, 2021

Great puffer

Great puffer jacket. Nice and warm with a soft and warm mouth/nose cover when the jacket is fully zipped with the hood up.

October 28, 2021

Comfy

What more do you want in a down sweater? It's super comfy and keeps me warm.

October 28, 2021

Great Jacket

This is my third sweater hoody and I absolutely enjoy the fit, comfort, and design.

October 26, 2021

Light, super warm but...

I'm about 5'7" and 145 lbs. Slim to average build. This was my very 1st Patagonia jacket purchase ever! For years, I wouldn't buy one just because of the price. But last year, I finally decided to buy a Men's Down Sweater Hoody in Green because it was on sale. Absolutely love the comfort and warmth! I basically wore it eve... Read Morery day from late October to the following April as either a stand alone jacket or as a secondary layer. It's super light and super warm BUT I expected that the ripstop material would be a lot more durable. I expected that this jacket would basically last a few years and not develop as many little abrasion holes on the cuffs and other small areas. I wasn't harsh or rough wearing it. I mostly wore it to walk the dog or watch the kids surfing in the Fall or Winter. Basically, just to stay warm. I also can't believe the ripstop material would allow so much of the duck down to poke through seams or puncture through. I really love this jacket but I'm very disappointed in the overall quality and durability. I can't recommend this jacket unless there was an large improvement in durability. I'm very, very disappointed. I had to purchase "Tenacious Tape" Ripstop Repair Tape to cover the areas that developed small holes.

Response from Patagonia
November 3, 2021

Hey Mel! All of our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and you're welcome to send that back for a warranty return. The Down Sweater prioritizes warmth to weight for fast alpine ascents so it's not as hefty of a fabric. You may prefer our [Men's Downdrift Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-downdrift-jacket/20600.html) for something a bit burlier.

October 25, 2021

Go to jacket/hoodie for everything

This is my favorite jacket. a bit warmer than the nanopuff but not as good in wetter conditions due to the down. I wear this jacket around town, to work, and as a mid layer on the mountain on really cold days.

October 20, 2021

Favorite article of clothing

This is the best article of clothing I own. Im warm if its below freezing, but can comfortably wear in the mid 60s Fahrenheit. It looks amazing and fits like a glove. I have long arms and the sleeves are perfect in length. The zippered pockets are wonderful, as is the hood design. This is the second of these jackets that Ive owned. When I have thor... Read Moreoughly abused and destroyed this one over the next half decades thousands of uses, I will get another.

October 15, 2021

Perfect

This was a birthday present for my son. Actually he did the selecting and wanted it for outdoors work. His wife told me it was the best present ever and that he loves everything about it.

October 6, 2021

Perfect weight

Light but warm. Very well made. My fourth Patagonia coat. All very good.

October 4, 2021

Light weight but warm.

I absolutely love this jacket. It is so light weight but incredibly warm. The wind just seems to bounce off it. Snow will be here soon and now I am ready in this fantastic jacket. Ive always heard great things about Patagonia and decided to try them. So happy I did.

September 18, 2021

Very nice puffy.

Ive owned several Patagonia jackets. Im 65, 200 lbs. I like Patagonia outerwear specifically because they are well made, but also because they seem to fit my tall frame despite not being offered in tall sizes. I find the body and sleeve lengths to be adequate for my needs, and the construction of Patagonia jackets is of very high quality, in my exp... Read Moreerience. I got the jacket in Buckwheat Gold, which was on discount. The color is actually quite nice.

September 15, 2021

Awesome color

My only concern these days with you jackets are the thinness of the material. The jackets dont last as long as they use to. When Im wearing it, its like I have to be extra careful not to brush up again anything for fear of it ripping. I wish I had a better report.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2021

We're sorry to hear about the durability issues. The construction of the Down Sweater is key for maximum warmth to weight ration as well as packability. We offer free repairs, Tenacious Tape, and our Ironclad Guarantee. You might also want to look at our other [Insulated Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/mens-insulated-jackets-vests) options, and don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Service team with any questions.

September 13, 2021

Warm and comfy, but a little big

Great jacket that packs pretty small and is warm. Fit was a little big in the torso and armpits, but the fit was good on the arms and shoulders. It needs to be just a tad more slender, but it will work well for laying. I plan to wear a flannel or Nano Puff under it anyways, so for me it will suit my needs.

Response from Patagonia
September 22, 2021

We appreciate your feedback Mason! You might want to check out our "slim" fit [Nano-Air Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-nano-air-hoody/84366.html?dwvar_84366_color=ABB&cgid=mens-jackets-vests-insulated) designed for high-output activity. Thanks for the review!

July 2, 2021

Great Sweater Small Pockets

So warm, so comfortable. But when I went to stuff in its pockets to pack in duffel, got a rude surprise: The pockets are too small to stuff the sweater into them. I huffed and I puffed, and rather than break a zipper, I gave up. Makes is more like an urban jacket, which is fine, but pockets should be sized a bit larger so it stores and stuffs more ... Read Moreeasily.

June 28, 2021

The Best

I have seen these for years, and finally added one to my backpacking kit. Before purchasing I did extensive research into down, and found this to be the most economical down: warmth: cost ration. I was not disapointed when the jacket was pressed into action. I should have purchased sooner...

June 10, 2021

I love this jacket!!

This jacket fits perfectly and runs true to size. I live in rural Oregon where for three seasons it's between chilly and cold each day. I wear this jacket snowshoeing, hiking, on daily walks and while running errands. I'd wear it more often if my family didn't "borrow" it so much.

May 17, 2021

I wouldnt say kinda small

I love the jacket, Id say its more slim than small. Very comfortable and warm. So far I havent had it long enough for a durability test but that will come this week when I fly to AK for 4 1/2 months.

May 10, 2021

Warm and light weight

Very nice quality and warm love the hood.

May 4, 2021

All around warmth

Its a great jacket and all I need to stay warm most days. Light weight and compact, Im very pleased with this product.

May 1, 2021

The BEST down jacket

This jacket touches all the bases. Warm, well-fitting hood with the right amount of face coverage, cut that allows movement, and you won't look like a marshmallow man. No complaints at all. For an insulated jacket in dry conditions, this is my go-to jacket.

April 22, 2021

Best Puffy Ever

I purchased this with some doubt because of the price. As someone who wasnt very with Patagonias quality I was a little worried. My thought quickly changed after hiking in the snow and woods through out the US. It was light and very breathable and its water resistance made it perfect for snow. The comfort and build quality is phenomenal. The rip st... Read Moreop fabric has saved it from numerous juniper branches without damage. I now swear by Patagonias craftsmanship and love their outdoor products for everything. Its a worthy investment because you will have something that will last many adventures and memories. Thank you Patagonia!

April 5, 2021

Love the color

Purchased the burnt orange color for my husband. He did not think he would like the color from the picture but once he tried on in-person he really loved it.

April 4, 2021

Lightweight warmth

This is a compact, lightweight sweater that is a great second layer to have in my pack. My only complaint is that it runs a little large around the middle compared to other Patagonia products. I am 6 feet tall and 190 pounds and I almost always wear a Patagonia size large -- but I had to reorder a medium this time -- the large was too big around th... Read Moree girth -- and this medium is better but just a little tight.

March 24, 2021

Nice weight to warmth ratio

Warm, light weight and packable. Great for hiking and backcountry skiing.

March 23, 2021

Great everyday jacket

Super versatile, lightweight but warm in transition months.

March 18, 2021

light Weight

Super light weight. Very warm, even in windy conditions. Nice fit and close to the body.

March 14, 2021

Classic Patagonia purchase

This is a quintessential piece if you love all things Patagonia

March 10, 2021

Love it

Lightweight, super warm, love the hood.

March 9, 2021

Perfection

This jacket fits perfectly, is constructed well and very comfortable. Its my first jacket with an attached hood. I love wearing this thing!

March 7, 2021

Winter work coat

It provides a great wind barrier and keeps me warm during outside work in Minnesota winters. Surprisingly rugged, despite the lightweight feel.

March 4, 2021

Very Comfortable and fashionable

This jacket runs true to size and feels good to wear as well as looking good!

March 4, 2021

Great versatile Jacket

This is my go-to jacket. The best aspects of this jacket are the fit and warmth. The general fit is perfect for my body style (5'-6" and 135 lbs, athletic build) The hood also has a perfect fit and the microfleece on the back side of the zipper is a great barrier to protect your mouth. The packability to warmth ratio is top notch and is g... Read Morereat at blocking the wind. The only flaw is that the exterior material is susceptible to rips. Patagonia sent some temporary tape to cover the rips, and the tape has worked so well that i haven't needed to send it in to their repair program yet :). (plan to do this soon) In general, a great jacket for general living, traveling, and hiking!

March 3, 2021

Versatility

Great jacket for many uses... Warm and comfortable. Highly recommend for everyday use.

March 2, 2021

Cushion of air. Love putting it on

I have the non-Hoody version of this as well. I opted for the hoodie version this time as it seems warmer, it is more comfortable, and on colder hikes, popping the hood over a hat and tightening it really keeps the elements out. Highly recommend

March 1, 2021

Sweet Puffy Coat

Warm enough for most winter temps, comfortable. I'm a bit wide in the chest (swimmer), this coat fits me great, plenty of room but not baggy. Love having the hood.

March 1, 2021

Regulates warmth really well

Even though it feels like youre wearing nothing at all, this jacket keeps me warm

March 1, 2021

Perfect casual hoodie

My go-to for any day-to-day activities, perfect for California weather. Easy enough to layer on for colder temperature.

February 28, 2021

Good stuff

This jacket is not only extremely comfortable, But it also is extremely warm down to about 10°. One of the best.

February 28, 2021

Buckwheat Gold!

Great jacket. Very cozy. Not waterproof, but still kept me warm when drenched in rain and sweat. I like this coat so much I bought another one in a different color: New Navy.

February 25, 2021

Comfy on steroids

This hoodie is a dream. Comfy, warm, packable and super lightweight. I love it, I love it, I love it. Period.

February 25, 2021

Warm jacket

Its good for little to no activity as its quite insular. Great for cold walk days or standing around. Its not great for working outside as the outer layer is not durable. Ive already caught it on wood fencing. Its for the city and for show to some degree. Hood perfect fit. The full zip with hood down behaves like a turtle neck. Nice and snug. Perfe... Read Morect. Sleeves good length. Pockets warm. Hood very warm. Exactly what I wanted. Could be tapered slightly to my body shape but no complaints. Nicely done. I hope I dont shred the outside. Will be careful.

February 25, 2021

Warm and light

Very nice Navy Blue color. Jacket is light, but warm. Like the hood which has a strap in the back to adjust it. Nice jacket to pack when on a trip. Very happy with the purchase.

February 25, 2021

Very comfy, warm, and stylish

Love this coat!! Will be taking it on my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail next month!

February 25, 2021

Super warm, great fit

Updating my 6-year old nano puff with this guy. Super warm. Excellent cut (510 160lbs). Hood is awesome to pull up while ripping skins on the ridge, or while discussing your location on the map.

February 24, 2021

pretty warm

a little large in the middle and at the waste, but good in the shoulders. I am 5-11 190 lbs.

February 24, 2021

Tooo Big

Patagonia needs to size down their products. Someone who is lean and physically fit needs a better fit. I am 511 and 150 lbs, this product in a extra small looked like a sleeping bag on me. In general, all Patagonias products are made very well. David from Santa Cruz CA

February 24, 2021

the perfect transition puffy.

i bought this to put on over my shell and such when transitioning/ripping skins .... pretty full cut so its perfect. seem extra cozy to just kick it in as well. live the soft light fleece on the front of the hood. and packs small to shove in pack and pull out often

February 23, 2021

Great Jacket

Medium weight down, perfect for mikd winter days. Well made, love the blue color.

February 23, 2021

Superb so far

Love this so far! Have been wearing it as my everyday coat in this crazy, snowy NY winter. Super warm while being lightweight. Very comfortable and stylish as well. Ive always loved Patagonia products and will continue to be a customer. Customer service was excellent as well!

February 19, 2021

Light and comfortable

Perfect fit and very light and comfortable. Able to wear a sweat shirt inside for extra layer when cold.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches