Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Hoody

Write Your Review

4.51 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 176 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Down Sweater Hoody

4.51
True To Size
June 21, 2020

Must Have Puffy

There are two things you have to own living in a mountain town: a Subaru and this puffy, although there are exceptions to the car. This jacket is an absolute requirement. It works equally well as casual clothing and performance wear. I will wear this to work every day in the winter, and it keeps me warm standing in sub zero weather waiting in a sno... Read Morew storm for the bus. It is equally at home relaxing around a campfire in the spring and fall, or being stuffed into my bikepacking bag for instant warmth after setting up camp. There is nothing negative I could say about this other than I wish it came in more colors.

June 19, 2020

Must Have Puffy

There are two things you have to own living in a mountain town: a Subaru and this puffy, although there are exceptions to the car. This jacket is an absolute requirement. It works equally well as casual clothing and performance wear. I will wear this to work every day in the winter, and it keeps me warm standing in sub zero weather waiting in a sno... Read Morew storm for the bus. It is equally at home relaxing around a campfire in the spring and fall, or being stuffed into my bikepacking bag for instant warmth after setting up camp. There is nothing negative I could say about this other than I wish it came in more colors.

June 18, 2020

very warm, good product.

It is a very light weight and very warm jacket.

June 17, 2020

My second one

This is my second one. The first one is patched with duct tape and is my 'work' jacket. It has been through 5 years of rough wear. Definitely a 'favorite' favorite.

June 17, 2020

Great

Lightweight jacket that feels like you have nothing on.

March 7, 2020

The Best of the Best, Hands Down! Get it? Lol

I purchased my first ever Down Sweater Hoody about 3 weeks ago and couldn't be happier. Patagonia stands behind their products for a reason. Couldn't beat the price that I paid, because ya know, discount codes are awesome :) The down is recycled and does have a scent, BUT that's mainly due to it not being treated or coated like most ... Read Morejackets See: Hydrophobic. Fabric is super light, but super durable. Fit is absolutely perfect. Not bulky or stuffy. Overall, the performance has exceeded my expectations. With Patagonia's commitment to customer service, I was able to get it just in time for a trip and it worked PERFECTLY. Don't skip this one, just hit the button.

March 2, 2020

Great product

This coat is exactly what you expect to get. Its warm, super lightweight and provides all the comfort you need. Perfect for wearing in commute to work or to any sporting event or even skiing. Recommend to all. It is nice to have a hood as opposed to the non-hooded version. Got mine for Christmas, best gift I have gotten in a long time.

February 27, 2020

Best Around Jacket

This product has been with me on so many adventures. It was my go-to warmth creator during our 6-week truck camper trip in Alaska. It is a great outer jacket, but I've used it frequently as a layer under my ski school uniform jacket on those cold days. It fits true to size. I like it a little bigger as it allows me to layer underneath or just ... Read Moreuse a t-shirt when the weather is cooler. I love that it packs into a stuffable pocket and can be used as a pillow on camping trips or getting stuck in an airport. The feature I love the most is the hood. It's like wearing your sleeping bag when the hood is zipped up and tight. If I had to pick one jacket to travel with it would be this one. My only issue is the plastic piece at the start of the zipper has been getting worn, but it still doesn't need to be replaced. I think that is normal wear for all the things I've put it through. Great jacket!

February 7, 2020

Decent down hooded sweater

Have both the hooded and non-hooded version and already left a review on the non-hooded jacket version. The main difference is that this version has a hood. Otherwise, it's essentially the same sweater. The hood will keep your head warm though it's better to wear some sort of cap/hat. Shoulders are a bit tight so Patagonia needs to STOP m... Read Moreaking the jackets TIGHT and SLIM! The selections don't work on the website but do recommend the hooded sweater.

January 12, 2020

Warm, light, packable

Excellent for 30-50F temperature. I use this as my main commuter jacket in Minneapolis during the months of September thru December and March thru May. It’s warm, comfortable, and easy to stow away.

January 2, 2020

BEST EVER JACKET

There is nothing better - this is the epitome of a warm, attractive, and awesome jacket.

December 31, 2019

Best jacket I’ve ever owned!

Went hiking in Zion, Bryce and Grand Canyon right after Christmas. This jacket was amazing. Lightweight and warm. Completely worth every penny.

December 29, 2019

Great sweater

Bought this as gift for son, he loves it! Really warm and comfortable

December 28, 2019

Great jacket !

Great jacket !

December 28, 2019

Great down jacker

Between my husband and myself we have about six of these from over the past few years, and they are still as warm and awesome as ever!! Love this product

December 27, 2019

Great Every Day Jacket!

So happy with this purchase! Very compact, easy to move around in, and warm.

December 25, 2019

Awesome coat

Love the color - and the fit - perfect all around winter coat.

December 24, 2019

Nice but a step backwards

This is one of the nicer down hoodies on the market but it does not live up to the older ones, which were just about perfect for what they were. I am outside in the weather a lot doing nature photography in the high country and I have been using my current Patagonia jacket successfully for more than ten years. This new hood design just doesn’t keep... Read More you as warm in the wind. It doesn’t have a drawstring around the face, so cold air can enter. The drawstring is around the top of the head. It keeps the hood up in the wind but doesn’t keep out the cold. Also, the hem drawstring is now in the pockets, which can get tangled with other stuff. On the plus side, the zipper is bigger and works much better (my old jacket failed here). The older design was great and kept me surprisingly warm in harsh conditions and it is still in good shape except for the zipper. I think Patagonia should consider reviving the older design. I returned my order and will get my old jacket repaired.

December 22, 2019

Hole

It came with a hole and we didn’t realize it right away. So on the first day of wearing there were feathers falling out. Which didn’t help when it’s cold outside.

Response from Patagonia
January 14, 2020

We are so sorry to hear about the hole in your jacket and recommend you [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us. We are happy to help get you a replacement as soon as possible. Please reach out to us for [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/#searchterm=help) on that.

December 19, 2019

Best jacket

So light and warm

December 18, 2019

Third time's a charm

This is my third down sweater, the hood is great, and adds a good deal of warmth. Also, it seems like the right zipper on the jacket. I have had problems with the spiral zippers in the past, though patagonia has always been great about the repairs...

December 16, 2019

This was a gift for

This was a gift for my son. He would never wear anything that is too bulky so I am pleased that he always has this on. It has been as cold as 20 degrees out, and with only a tshirt underneath, he stays quite warm.

December 13, 2019

My go-to

I never leave home in winter without this thing! It's light and packs up really small but is very warm. Make sure to keep it at least 3 feet away from granite at all times, though, or it might explode.

December 10, 2019

Warm and Comfortable!

I am extremely pleased for how warm this jacket is, especially considering how thin it is. It does not feel too bulky, and it is still very easy to layer underneath of it. I haven't stopped raving about it since I bought it.

December 9, 2019

“Major Sizing Issues”

The formula Patagonia uses for sizing is so different than what they print. I recommend definitely going up @ least (1) size if not (2). I’ve spoken to customer service on numerous occasions & even several of the agents have said the sizing is definitely different that what people are use to. If Patagonia would just note the “actual” sizes it w... Read Moreould make a difference because customers wouldn’t have to constantly send items back. The products are of excellent quality but sizing is a thumbs down.

Response from Patagonia
December 30, 2019

Hello Frank. We're sorry to hear you've had difficulties with our sizing. You are most welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the hoody if you were looking to do so, but haven't already. Please note that we're also always happy to email you any item's measurements chart so you can feel more confident about your next purchase.

December 8, 2019

Awesome

This jacket is awesome and the hood is always a crowd pleaser. I have purchased this for my son since he was 2 and now that he is 12, still loves it. The color (red) was just an added bonus for him.

December 6, 2019

Had to buy a mens jacket

The jacket runs a little small since I usually wear a mens xl and have room. I bought this in an xxl and the waist and chest are quite large but hips are tight. With that being said I'm sure ots a fine size for a man. Now if Patagonia would ever bring an xxl in womens I would be ecstatic because I love their stuff but have to buy bad fitting m... Read Moreens clothes. If I could get this size in a womens version it would get a 5 for sure but companies forget we exist.

December 5, 2019

IMPRESSIVE

Warm warm warm warm ! Don’t need layers either! I can wear a short sleeve shirt while wearing this jacket! Keep this in mind I live in Central New York ! Snow capital of America! Size wise I went with a XL. After trying a L in the store with a different model jacket. Usually I wear a large in shirts , dress shirts. Etc So kinda get a runs small ... Read MoreOverall you’ll be very happy!

December 5, 2019

Great service/Great item

Super swift delivery of a great new cozy down jacket.

December 4, 2019

Holiday Bliss

I treated myself to this jacket prior to the Holiday, but just in time for the cold that hits the Northeast this time of year. The jacket is fantastic is both style/design and well as functionality. I have been layering it under a Patagonia Gore Tex waterproof shell and I’ve been dry and warm.

December 2, 2019

Simply the best!

Best jacket! Looks great too!

November 29, 2019

Too big but I still love it.

Got this in at a local outdoor shop. I’ve been wanting this jacket forever and I finally found it. They only had M and XL so I took the XL thinking it would work because I may wear more stuff underneath. Man this thing keeps you warm enough with just a polo shirt with it. So now the jacket is too big and doesn’t fit me like it should. but I love it... Read More anyway. If you’re looking to keep warm without the bulk then get this jacket. You won’t regret it.

November 25, 2019

Lightweight, Comfortable and Warm

I bought one without the hood for my adult son possibly 3 years ago, but he missed one winter of wearing it. Her really likes the lightweight comfort and warmth of this jacket, even in cold Minnesota winter. Last winter, though, he must have caught one sleeve on something that punctured two very small holes, but enough to allow some down to pop thr... Read Moreough. I stitched them closed, as a temporary fix, shortly before the weather changed to spring, and it was forgotten. But when he started wearing it again recently, I remembered and saw the somewhat clumsy and puckered repair again, and also noticed that some of the stitching in the back of one arm seems to be opening up slightly in one spot. Not sure how to deal with that, and also the punctures. Would send to Patagonia for repairs, but he wants to keep wearing it. Since he seems to like this jacket better than others, I'm considering buying another, but with the hood. But am hoping to see a sale price somewhere. The jacket fits him kind of snug, and he is wearing a large. A larger size would be too long in the sleeves. I would recommend this jacket.

November 22, 2019

excellent product

excellent product

November 22, 2019

Love it❤️

Love it❤️

November 21, 2019

sofa sleeper

well done. conforatble, versitile, & functional.

November 18, 2019

Best Coat Ever

At first I was skeptical however, after wearing it for about two weeks, I am extremely satisfied with my purchase. It’s very warm, lightweight, and the best part is you can wear it casually or dressed up. Thanks Patagonia!!!

November 18, 2019

Love this jacket. Packs up

Love this jacket. Packs up so small for expeditions

November 16, 2019

Nice upgrade from the Micro

Nice upgrade from the Micro Puff in terms of added warmth.

November 13, 2019

Fantastic jacket

Excellent warmth for the weight. Hood is just the right size. Down jackets tend to run just a tad large due to the assumption that you may have multiple base layers underneath including a fleece so I'm going to say this jacket runs true to size. I recently wore it over a short sleeve shirt in sub 40 degree weather while only standing around in... Read More the shade and it kept me at a perfect temperature.

November 12, 2019

Love my down sweater hoody

This is my in-between down jacket. Warmer than a nano or micro but not a big puffy jacket. Love the hood for extra warmth. Haven't had it out skiing or hiking so not sure how it will do with moisture management. Does not have vent panels so not sure I would recommend if you plan to sweat a lot.

November 11, 2019

I'm 6'6" - Perfect Fit

For any long - armed tall guys out there, you know it's hard to find -anything- that fits both your body and your arms. This jacket fits snug to the body and also plenty of length in the arms. There is nothing worse then a jacket too short on the arms. This is not the case with this jacket. I am 6'6'' slim/fit and ordered a Larg... Read Moree.

November 11, 2019

Warm and Lightweight

I bought the same coat for my two daughters and husband. They love them. Very light- I thought the inner part would be kind a better sweater but it is not. It is warm If layered with other clothing. Perfect for football season.

November 9, 2019

m's down sweater

Great fit, medium fits perfectly, room for a sweatshirt underneath if needed. Fits fine without one too. It's great against cold wind, yesterday was 35 degrees in the AM and I was cozy.

November 9, 2019

Great Urban Jacket

Great as long as you use it for urban wear and low aerobic activities. Down is NOT a good insulator as many believe for back country and high aerobics use. When wet from the elements and perspiration it will freeze. Everyone in my family has one. I recommend it’s use with this caveat.

November 8, 2019

Love It

I bought my first Ms Down Sweater Hoody about six years ago and immediately loved it. After wearing my hoody for many years a bunch of small tears accumulated and eventually my zipper quit working. I reached out to customer support and they had me send it in for a potential repair or credit for something similar. They deemed it irreparable and then... Read More sent me a credit to buy a new jacket. After the money I spent for the jacket originally I thought it was pricey, but after all of the use I got out of it, and the credit they applied for me to get something similar I think it's amazing. Huge fan of the product and the customer support I received. Stay warm, I know I am!

November 7, 2019

Perfect!

Awesome jacket! Super warm and even warmer when paired with my R1 P/O. The L fits me great with enough room for layers and not too with just a t shirt underneath. Can handle light drizzle, but anything more requires a shell.

November 6, 2019

Not warm or worth the

Not warm or worth the money

Response from Patagonia
November 26, 2019

Hi Ineva. We're sorry to hear this jacket isn't warm enough for your needs. It sounds like you need a different type of jacket. We suggest checking out the [Hi-Loft Down Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-hi-loft-down-hoody/84902.html), which will provide more warmth, and even warmer than the Hi-Loft, we have the [Fitz Roy Down Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-fitz-roy-down-parka/84571.html). Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the Down Sweater as soon as possible if it isn't the right jacket for you.

November 6, 2019

Very happy with my purchase

Very happy with my purchase

November 6, 2019

Perfect everyday winter coat

I love this coat. It’s really warm for its size and the hood is a must have. I’m a tall thin woman (5’11 140lbs) and I ordered a size small. I can layer a thick fleece underneath just fine. I got it in Carbon which is actually a dark green color (not black like the name suggests).

November 6, 2019

Fantastic product!

Fantastic product!

November 5, 2019

Seems to be as advertised

Seems to be as advertised so far.

November 5, 2019

Love it

Love it

November 5, 2019

Excellent

I love the down sweater hoody. I purchased one for myself & when I had the chance got this one for my husband. It is just the right weight and warmth for many conditions. Perfect for chilly northern CA mornings & nights. Throw it on for a quick hike or after a surf. It’s so versatile & goes with everything. Dress it up or casual. This i... Read Moretem is a must! My husband is 6’1” and usually wears a large in Patagonia.

November 4, 2019

nice

nice

November 3, 2019

Love it

Just was I was hoping for, somewhat fitted, not too bulky, and quite warm for those cold and rainy fall and early winter days.

November 1, 2019

Cozy, warm and every day wear.

This is an essential piece of my every day winter wear. I love how light weight it is and how warm it keeps me. I wear it in sub freezing conditions to 50. I recommend this sustainable warm and high quality down jacket/sweater to all of my friends and family.

November 1, 2019

Sleeves are,disproportionately too long by

Sleeves are,disproportionately too long by approximately 4 inches, and I'm not a short fat guy.

Response from Patagonia
November 22, 2019

Hi Curtiss! Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're very sorry to hear the sleeves were too long for you on this item! We went ahead and reached out privately to follow up on this.

October 31, 2019

Great jacket!

I bought the sweater hoodie jacket for my son who goes to school in chilly Chicago and he loves it! Says it’s perfect weight and warmth

October 30, 2019

Down sweater

Perfect for Colorado weather. Outstanding product. It is more of a jacket than a sweater. I usually take a large size but a medium is perfect. The hood is perfect and keeps out the wind and cold. Get the best.

October 29, 2019

Comfortable and Cozy ☺️

Loving the down sweater! Specially with this cold Weather ☺️

October 25, 2019

If you care about sustainability

While the production of any consumer product has its associated impact on the environment, Patagonia attempts to minimize it as much as possible. I will happily vote with my money for this company and their initiatives. Jacket is incredibly warm, compact, and well-constructed. With their Worn Wear program, should never have to buy another hooded ... Read Moredown jacket. I’m 6’5” and the large fits my body well. A touch short in the sleeves but that’s more due to my long arms. Love it nonetheless.

October 6, 2019

down sweater

Feels great and looks good. Nice and worm and keeps the wind out. My wife had one she loves so much that I had to get one too.

September 4, 2019

Light weight and warm

Super lightweight and warm. Love the simplicity and style. Fits true to size.

September 3, 2019

Too Thin

This jacket is was thinner than expected for the amount of price paid. I wish this product was thicker and had to return this jacket. I have to keep looking elsewhere maybe.

September 1, 2019

Scott’s review

Quintessential piece of craftsmanship from Patagonia! I’ve had one for years, wont go on a trip outdoors without it! Thanks for making the quality ! Forever Fan !

August 30, 2019

Odiferous

Beautifully constructed. I have a 4-5 year old version of this garment and the newer version has stronger zippers, water proofing and bigger and better hood. However when I hung the new ones up in my room and came back awhile later the whole room smelled like cooked chicken! Doesn't much matter if you are outside but if it gets wet or you go i... Read Moren and outside with your garment it might make you sick. Also I noticed that this "sweater" has much less down than the old one which I could wear in the worst winter weather: blowing winds and below zero.

August 15, 2019

Ms Down Sweater Hoody

Fits very well. I can easily wear this underneath my Rain Jacket shell as a warming layer. Allowing me to shed layers easily when my body temperature rises. The packable storage capability is nice while hiking, it also duals as a pillow if not in use.

August 11, 2019

Mens Sweater Down Hoody

Very warm, solid construction and stylish.

August 10, 2019

Best coat ever!!

This is my go to garment spring, fall and winter. Keeps you warm in the most challenging Montana's winter days. Its light yet warm and never seems to bulkey. I buy a size larger then I might normally wear so I can have a fleece on underneath.

July 21, 2019

Like a warm hug (but not clingy)

Loved this jacket. Always warmed me up, and fought off the wind (pretty nasty in winter in Illinois) and light rain. But the zipper gave out after two years; so did the zipper on my Down Sweater. (Patagonia did me solid: accepted my returns and gave me credit.) Suggested improvement would be a way to roll hood when not in use.

May 28, 2019

Decent but nothing special

The fit is on the loose side so if your doing more athletic things it's not great. The light tan color I have show dirt very easily. I would wear this for a few week tops and had to wash it at least on a month. The down is good, but it's a pretty light fill. Considering the hype it doesn't live up to it.

May 9, 2019

I love my down hoody!

I’m on my second down hoody now and with the exchange program I was able to recycle my well loved green one and get a new blue one just in time for more adventures! So far it’s been to the tops of snowy peaks in Alaska and to the windy high altitudes of Peru. Cheers to the next destination, thanks Patagonia

May 8, 2019

Perfect Patagonia

I used this jacket almost everyday for two weeks while guiding in Southern Patagonia. Heavy wind, light snow and rain and a smoky asado, the jacket held up beyond expectations. We will be purchasing these for our team in Chile as they are a must have piece of equipment. Thank you Patagonia for making a near perfect garment for these climes.

March 16, 2019

Goose down gives you wiiiiings

One of the best down jackets I’ve owned. I can wear it by itself in our local 20 degree-average weather, and it keeps me perfectly warm; 800-fill is sooo nice. The wind-proof outer is killer too, it actually keeps the wind out. Additionally, the hood and chin comfort are great. Here’s why it only gets 4 stars: Elasticized cuffs. In my opinion, it w... Read Moreould have been nice to see some velcro on the cuffs as well. Otherwise, insanely dope jacket.

March 13, 2019

Fit for Royalty

HRH Prince Harry wore this jacket in black on February 25, 2019 in Morocco. I bought it on line, received it on March 2, 2019 and it's perfection. I'm a senior citizen, 5'7" size XXL, 230 lbs, waist 45" and it looks and feels amazing on me too. You don't have to be a young slender Prince to be Royal.

March 10, 2019

I've never had a jacket like this

This jacket is simply incredible. I've been wearing the same peacoat for going on eight years, and I still love it, but, man, I completely forgot what it was like to own a warm jacket. This thing has stood up to Ohio's brutal 2019 winter––and with ease. I haven't gotten it terribly wet, so I can't attest to how the down holds up... Read More, but just wearing it around casually feels amazing. It's a very good looking jacket, too. I can wear it with just about anything, and I don't feel like I'm dressing down or anything like that. You'll look good in it, I guarantee. In short, I love this jacket. It's wonderful, and I foresee myself as a customer for life.

March 8, 2019

Held Up to the Demands of Mount Fitz Roy

This Down Sweater Hoody is awesome whether you're in the Appalachian Mountains or on Mount Fitz Roy in El Chatan. This is great for warmth and wind resistance in the coldest months of the year. I'm 6'3, 190 lbs and a Large fit very well with just a T-shirt or with several layers. I'm able to comfortable slide this on with severa... Read Morel base layers or jackets underneath if necessary. This also stood up to the necessary demands of Mount Fitz Roy. I'm very impressed with the Durability. Extremely comfortable. Can be worn in the office for a professional look as well.

February 25, 2019

Tried the micro and nano until I found D’s one ;)

I destroyed both a nano puff and micro while on hiking/backpacking adventures with my dog.....I am very happy that Patagonia allowed me to return my purchases until I found the right puff for me. This jacket is much more durable and less likely to rip as the lighter primalofts/down jackets, the sacrifice are just a few grams that can still fit into... Read More a very similar volume when stuffed in the it’s chest pocket pouch. The warmth is significantly higher than the nano and micro as well as the windshield protection. It’s not a stand alone rain piece but if you are crafty with your shell layer you can make it into a 4 season backpacking multi tool. Throwing it in the drying puff cycle makes it less likely to loose feather as it puffs it up and increases its properties vs keeping it folded or compressed. This is basically the puffy equivalent of merrell’s wilderness legend boot 🥾 😊

February 12, 2019

Best Jacket I’ve ever owned

This jacket has gotten me through just about everything. From the Oregon coast, harsh Montana winters, and summit peaks. I just bought a second one today and I thought I’d share how much I love this thing. Use it by itself, or layer underneath it. I wear a nano air hoody and an R1 hoody underneath the down. It’ll get you through everything up to li... Read Moreght/medium snow. Just throw a shell over it if it gets any wetter than that. If you can only afford to buy one Patagonia jacket, this should 100% be the one.

February 3, 2019

Best of its kind

I have spent quite an amount of time looking for a versatile midlayer/standalone jacket for downhill skiing that is highly functional and stylistic at the same time. As in all things in life, there isn’t a perfect do-it-all jacket, but this one comes close with a comfromise I can live with. The good...First of all, this jacket looks really good w... Read Moreith the right amount of puff. One main drawback of the Nano/Micro Puff Hoody is they look deflated and cheap—call me vain. Typical of down jackets, it’s very warm, yet light and has good weight to warmth ratio. Patagonia uses quality 800-fill down and treats the exterior with DWR—nice!!. The hood design is very functional—covers the head and around your face just the right way. The collars have nice soft touch materials on the inside and are firm enough to stay up—another drawback of the Nano/Micro Puff Hoody is its flimsy collars. The fit is perfect and YKK zippers look sturdy and nicely tugged away when fully closed—the Arcteryx Cerium has surprisingly wimpy zippers. The price is reasonable for what it is and the lifetime warranty it comes with. Buying one of these at 25-30% would be a dream come true. The weakness/compromise..The only downside is down loses its insulation when wet and requires more care/maintenance—this is where its synthetic counterparts have their advantage, so think hard about how you’ll use your jacket before paying extra money for this jacket. After all, I thought long and hard over this jacket as a shopper keen on values. There was a similar hi-loft version on discount but it didn’t look as good. Again, Micro/Nano jackets looked similarly functional and they were significantly less expensive with discounts. At the end, I took the plunge and bought this jacket—the high price as the ultimate compromise. I don’t regret it. I love this jacket. I can afford to pay a full price to a company that stands for something worthwhile, rather than just maximizing profits. I highly recommend this jacket!

January 2, 2019

Smells Awful!!!

My wife bought me this for Christmas and when I wore it out I noticed an awful smell. We returned it to the Patagonia store in Boston and a new one was shipped. A couple of days later the new one arrived smelling equally as awful. At this point I was done with it but my wife requested another one be sent. It just arrived and it smells like a wet du... Read Moreck died in the jacket. I don't know if it's the recycled feathers or what but I can't stand the smell of it.

January 2, 2019

So Warm, So Light!

I live in an area that gets into the 20s during the winter, and this jacket handles it like a champ. I have jackets twice this size and thickness that don’t keep me as warm. One of the best parts about it is that the Small actually fits me! I’m a male, 5’7 and 145lbs. I like slim fitting clothing, and the small is perfect on me. I can’t even wear a... Read More Small in North Face because their sizing runs so big, so it’s been awesome having a winter brand that actually fits me and looks good. The jacket itself is incredibly light, almost laughably so. I couldn’t believe the amount of warmth that is retained inside the jacket for how thin and light it is. I don’t know how Patagonia does it, but the jacket seems to just keep my body the perfect temperature at all times, whether I’m inside or out. Most of my other coats get unbearably hot the minute I walk inside, but this jacket breathes really well. I was a little torn between this and the Hi Loft jacket, but I think this one is the perfect amount of puffiness. Any more and you would probably look like a marshmallow. I would step up to a bigger jacket before doing the Hi Loft. I’d say that this jacket is perfect if you’re wanting a really warm but casual jacket for daily use. I wouldn’t recommend it for heavy snow activity or if you work outside, as the material of the shell is thin and woudn’t stand up to much abuse. This is really one of the more “fashionable” winter jackets that actually keeps you warm, but I would want something with waterproofing if I were doing anything other than social and casual stuff wearing it. But in case you’re worried it’s not warm enough, I walked around outside for about 4 hours in Salt Lake City wearing only this jacket and some gloves in 30 degree weather at night and I was just fine. I didn’t feel cold at all. I wear this jacket daily around town and it’s super comfortable, slim fitting, and warm. Best winter jacket I’ve ever owned!

December 29, 2018

Please make this in a Slim Fit

First off, this is a great, warm hoody that's incredibly comfy. I'm 6'4, about 175 lbs though, so in appearance, it looks a bit boxy on me. If Patagonia made this in a Slim Fit, I'd buy it in a heart beat!

December 26, 2018

Perfect for pretty much everything

I've worn this hoody for hours in the PNW backcountry and just walking around New York City, and it always performs. It keeps me warm even into the 20s with just a t-shirt on underneath, and into the single digits with a layer on under. With the hood up it's basically impenetrable. Sheds snow and light rain like a champ. My criticism is: ... Read MoreI used to have it in a lighter color and it shows dirt almost instantly, and I felt like I was walking around looking filthy. But the great thing is Patagonia let me exchange it for black with literally no hassle. Also I'm 5'10" and a size M fits me perfectly, so I don't know how the same size would work for the 6'0" model on the website, especially if one were planning on wearing any layers underneath.

December 12, 2018

Great except fragile

I’ve had the jacket for 12 days now and love how warm and comfortable it is. I’ve been able to wear it in temperatures down to the low 30s (with high humidity so it feels colder) and find that it is sufficiently warm even when worn only with a long sleeve. I compared it to the micro puff jacket and the real down makes a very noticeable difference i... Read Moren comfort and warmth. Being 150 pounds, the extra few ounces of weight between this and the micro puff are indistinguishable, but the soft down is much more comfy than the micro puff, which felt to me like bunched up newspaper. My one complaint is that it lacks in durabilitythe durability. Within 24 hours of getting this, a whole ring of stitching came out of one of the sleeves, and then a few days later down feathers started coming out endlessly from the back. So far I have only used this jacket for very light and casual activities. I have mixed feelings because I love the jacket otherwise, and I willingly pay more for Patagonia foremost because of their superior quality, so hopefully this is just a one-off issue.

November 27, 2018

Great Jacket

I recently purchased this jacket as an upgrade to the micro puff version which I love. This down sweater hoody didn't disappoint! My micro puff is a size medium which fits perfectly, but can be a little snug when I try to layer anything more than a t-shirt and a light sweater underneath. The down sweater is perfect for any layer situation I ma... Read Morey need. I can wear a shirt, and a better sweater and still have plenty of room for more layers if need be without it looking overly baggy.

October 23, 2018

Great fit for tall skinny guys

I am 6'2 150 pounds and I was concerned that this jacket would be too wide on me (size Medium). I have always preferred well tailored clothing, and I stay away from boxy clothes. I am happy to report that Patagonia has not neglected us skinny folks with the down sweater hoody! The jacket looks great and is easily long enough for my long arms a... Read Morend long torso without looking overly baggy.

October 20, 2018

Awesome jacket, but easily tears

I personally love my micro green down sweater hoody. I find myself gravitating towards this jacket even when it’s cool outside. It’s unbelievably comfy and warm. Perfect fit even with a better sweater underneath for extra warmth. Definitely not the lightest jacket, but not as heavy as other insulated jackets and parkas. Wouldn’t change a thing abou... Read Moret the jacket, except how easily it tears. Wore this jacket with a backpack. Something caught on on the arm and tore right through the sleeve on one of the arms.

September 22, 2018

steve

I actually have the ultra-light down hoody which is very similar to the sweater. I like that it is light, packs ultra-small into the chest pocket or can be stuffed into the left hand pocket and used as a pillow when flying. Based on my experience with Patagonia gear I won't be needing a new sweater for many years of hard and regular use. I u... Read Morese this for in town, backpacking and camping. It wasn't the lightest option but I tend to run cold and wanted extra warmth so I chose this jacket which has more grams of 800 down than other options = warmer = comfy me.

July 29, 2018

Comfy in the backcountry

I primarily use this for mountain west backpacking. It really is a comfortable jacket, and comes with the high quality construction known with patagonia. Very happy with how the hood fits on my skull, and like having the bungee adjustability. This is not the lightest down jacket for backpacking, but I wanted the patagonia brand for this product. So... Read More far I have been extremely happy with this jacket. And will probably wear it in town during the winter, when weather conditions allow.

July 24, 2018

For the ladies

I am a woman and didn't like the color offerings or the fitted look of the women's version of this jacket. I ordered the mens in a size small and am thrilled with the purchase. It is slightly tight around the hips but it also fits my brothers and dad similarly. I roll under the bottom for a bloused effect that is nice. Very warm and versa... Read Moretile.

February 15, 2018

Very warm and light but fragile

This very warm and lightweight "sweater" is perfect for urban and traveling situations. If worn alone while camping you'll need to be reasonably careful or add a stout outer shell. It's not what you would want to wear alone to carry an armload of firewood. It is fragile and can snag or tear easily.

February 14, 2018

Decent lighweight hoody down sweater

Saw it on sale and bought it at a decent price. Men's Extra large fits true to size though it's slightly more roomy in the waist area and slightly more narrow in the shoulders and arms. Already own the vest and non-hoody jacket and now own the hoody version to make a complete set. Best of all,all three are red though 1 is Fire Red and the... Read More other 2 is French Red,but red nonetheless. Hoody is good for windy days but still need to carry fleece hat and need to keep gloves in unlined hand pockets. Basically,it's the same as the non-hoody version but with a hood. Best to wear when it's high 30s to 40s to 50s with lightweight fleece underneath. Both down sweater versions versions are NOT meant for Cold,wintry weather wear as in mid 30s or below. The jacket then is meant to be worn as a mid-layer with base layers underneath and worn underneath an insulated jacket/parka as insulation. Contacted Patagonia help line and reps stated as much. Overall,it's a nice,relatively warm jacket for cooler temps as stated previously and it's fashionable.

February 12, 2018

Good jacket for semi cold conditions.

I live in the mountains and it snows six months out of the year. I bought this to fill in the gap between my down sweater and my DAS parka. It is very warm for the weight and bulk of the jacket,and has become my new go to for cool weather camping. Two things I wish this jacket had: 1. The hood fits well over a small climbing helmet,but not a ski ... Read Morehelmet. 2. A Small chest pocket and a mesh pocket. The internal pocket is huge so it can work as a stuff sack,but it is too big to put things like pens,phones or sunglasses into,because small items fall too deep and around the side of the jacket. A smaller pocket would be a huge help. Also a mesh pocket for things like hats/gloves/etc...

January 31, 2018

Super warm and great fit

I bought this in November and I have no complaints. All aspects of the jacket were well designed from the fit of the hood to the micro fleece zipper cover near you chin.

January 31, 2018

Better Fit & Performance than its competition

A little background: I have purchased down jackets from Mountain Hardware and from LL Bean. This is my first Patagonia down jacket. This is by far and away the best of all of the down jackets I have tried. The quality of construction is superior: the zippers size,zippered pockets,interior pockets,adjustable drawstring inside the pockets,lined chin ... Read Moreguard,and the overall slim silhouette are fantastic. You can tell a lot of thought went into this garment. This one is better than the others because it is a perfect mix of lightweight and durability. I love Patagonia and I fully endorse this jacket as a jacket aficionado.

January 29, 2018

I Love It,But...

I have used this jacket as my everyday jacket and mid-layer for just about a year now and I love it!. However,after several washings with Granger's the down has bunched up and is no longer adequately filling the sleeve chambers up near the shoulders. I have washed and dried following all instructions and there does not appear to be any missing... Read More stitching in the down channels. Very disappointing! Not sure if I would buy again. Open to repair or replacement!!

January 29, 2018

Essential gear,light and warm

I love this down sweater jacket. It weighs almost nothing,packs easily,and solves being chilled. It's like wrapping yourself in a cozy warm cocoon. In Patagonia gear I find myself between a large and and extra large,and I bought this in XL. I'm nearly 6 feet tall,225 lbs with a bit of a belly. The fit is loose but not unreasonable,and go... Read Moreod for putting over a sweater or other gear. A large would have been a little too snug. In contrast my Patagonia down vest is a large and fits perfectly. I went back and forth about hoody vs no hood. I LOVE the hood - I don't have a lot of hair and when you're sweaty and chilled pulling the hood up makes all the difference in the world. Works well for my purposes,though it would be a more fashionable urban coat without it. FYI,I also have a Torrent Shell jacket (XL) and they layer nicely. Together they would be very warm,adequate for snow sports.

January 25, 2018

Great Everyday jacket

This is a classic. I like the down sweater hoody because I can wear it by itself everyday and it also fits nicely under a shell for colder days at the mountain. The hood is cozy when the wind is blowing.

January 23, 2018

Love this jacket but.....it does not hold up

I loved this jacket. The fit of it is amazing and it's pretty warm. But....After just under a year,I noticed that the sleeves would rub against the pocket zippers and over time (less than year),this started to tear the fabric on the inside of the sleeves. After speaking to a colleague with the same jacket,he mentioned he had the same issue wit... Read Moreh his down sweater. So,I took to Patagonia store and they offered to repair the jacket. Considering the price and the short time I have owned the jacket,I asked for it to be replaced. Patagonia store employee told me they haven't really seen this much and that "jackets wear out". This should not happen in a short amount of time for many reasons,esp since this is my "town jacket" and is not used as a technical piece,and a piece of gear at this price should hold up for more than a year. Patagonia is replacing the jacket,which I do appreciate,but I hope that I don't experience the same issue with the new jacket as I own a lot of Patagonia gear (and continue to purchase gear from you) and have never had an experience with poor quality until I purchased this piece. I will write a follow up after I have used the new jacket for some time. @Patagonia-please take this review into consideration. A jacket of this quality should be durable and should not break down in a year or less. If zippers tear the sleeves when they open,please try to improve based on reviews. After all,this is considered one of your high sellers.

January 4, 2018

Perfect!

This is by far the best coat that I have ever owned! It is incredibly warm,light-weight,and durable. I've worn it the last few weeks in temperatures ranging from 0* F to 50*F and have never felt more warm or comfortable in a winter coat. I highly recommend!

January 3, 2018

Great but include a patch

Jacket was great. However,on my first hike the nylon snagged and ripped on the elbow when passing a bush. I then had to order nylon patches off of amazon as there's no patagonia store directly near by. Patagonia,given your ironclad guarantee and repair rather than replace motto,why don't you include repair patches like many other outdoor ... Read Morecompanies? (bergans,mountain hardwear). The repair patches I ordered off amazon came in plastic and I'm sure the nylon isn't green. Cheers,

December 13, 2017

Fit is great

I have got to say the fit is awesome. it's not too large or not too slim. i always have problems with jackets being too tight at the pits. It's warm and perform well. With a tee shirt underneath and the jacket outside,35 degree and up is comfortable. However I put one star less when I notice the jacket (even though it has 800 fill power d... Read Moreown) only has 75% down (the rest probably being feathers). The price tag should warrant at least 90% down in my personal humble opinion.

November 14, 2017

From Wetsuit to warmth in the wind.

I just spent a couple days surfing on the Oregon coast in typical November weather: air temp: 42 degrees. Water temp: 52 degrees,rain and wind. As soon as I get out of the water and back to the car,I pull my wetsuit down to my waist,dive into my down sweater hoody and then my Torrentshell jacket. In a few minutes,I'm toasty and my fingers are ... Read Morewarm enough to do battle with the lower half of my suit and my booties. These two jackets are must haves for winter surf sessions.

October 18, 2017

A Fragile Disappointment

I was really looking forward to this coat getting me through Beijing winters. I've worn it to work maybe five times and yesterday found two small tears in the outer fabric. Ridiculous to spend this much on a coat that can't hold up on the subway. Will update with pictures when I get home.

September 20, 2017

Another Dandy!!

For over 30 years I have been a regular customer of Patagonia. My closets are full of Patagonia gear that won't wear out! In 30 years,I have return one item. It was quickly replaced no questions asked. My new purchase,a down hoody sweater,is amazing! I can't wait to test it out in some deep back bowl powder stashes!! Whoohoo!!! Thanks Pat... Read Moreagonia you rock!!!!

September 16, 2017

Keeps you warm but doesn't overheat your body!

You have to love down feathers,they keep the cold out but also allow for heat to escape

September 16, 2017

Great coat

Only drawback,packing it into its pocket is near impossible for me. Other than that it's awesome. I'm 5'10" 185 lbs. L fits well. I have only been down into the 40s with it. I suspect if you're moving around it's good down into the 20s or below depending on wind etc.

September 12, 2017

Best All Around Jacket

The best all around jacket. I use it for; sailing especially when going to Catalina,camping,hiking,and traveling. Packs small and comes with me anywhere I go.

September 9, 2017

Shwinng

I had this exact same jacket for the last 8 years and bought a new one when that one gave out. All I need to say about how much I love this thing. It's light and packable enough that you never leave home without it.

September 9, 2017

Very good quality,great fit jacket!

Bought this jacket for my husband who is a professional skater.Great jacket overall . Most important- fits great ,TTS. Light,warm and very comfortable.

June 25, 2017

Awesome jacket

only concern is Patagonia sizing is very inconsistent. Had a mens XS previously and replaced with another mens XS only to find it actually too small. The jacket rocks-all seasons!

May 13, 2017

Best Jacket

I am really liking this jacket. Cold mornings,windy afternoons or light drizzle it's my go to jacket. I often wear it with just my board short and do not get cold. Perfect jacket to throw on after spearfishing or surfing.

April 24, 2017

Best down jacket I ever purchased

A bit more expensive than the other down jackets I was tracking,yet well worth it. Fit is true and not bulky whatsoever. I prefer the hoodie version,incredible warmth in an ultra-light jacket. The hood is the best design I've ever experienced: warmth were you need it (skull & neck & upper chin) and it doesn't interfere at all with... Read More visuals. So compact (it stores itself in it's interior pocket),I find myself packing it with me everywhere,no second thoughts. Extended back keeps your rump warm as well. The waist can be cinched with a drawcord,my original purchase was wearing beyond what I considered was normal wear & tear there after a year or so. That made me second guess my purchase,yet I went ahead & I returned it. I was impressed with the return policy,immediate exchange. I like the fact that Patagonia stands behind product excellence.

April 24, 2017

Warm and not too bulky!

I bought the Down Sweater Hoody as a heavy mid-layer or outer layer on cold dry days. It has been great! I'm glad I went with the hood especially when the cold wind kicks up'I don't think it is too bulky and I barely notice it when it's not in use. I am 6' tall,160lbs,and the medium fits really well.

April 23, 2017

Just the right tool for the job

Bought this as a mid layer for under my work shell. I'm on the hill from 7:30 in the morning until 5:00 in the afternoon. Cozy and comfortable all day and in varying temperatures. Love the hood,which fits over my big head with a helmet on!

April 16, 2017

down hoody

Perfect especially the attention to detail. Thanks for all you do

March 16, 2017

Toally satisfied.

I have worn my down sweater now on a handful of 20 degree days and I am totally satisfied with its performance. I layered with a polar fleece,which helped stop air flow though the baffle stitching. I have worn warmer jackets,but none whose warmth-to-weight ratio was this impressive. It weighs almost nothing. It's a high-quality product and wel... Read Morel worth the price.

March 11, 2017

Great Coat!

I needed a coat for awhile and decided this would the perfect coat for the price. The coat keeps you really warm when it's cold out! Would recommend to anyone

March 6, 2017

Go for a looser fit

Great between 15F to 50F. Paired under a rain jacket it's perfect for icy windy cold rain or sleet. Before you buy be sure to try this on with an undershirt and thick long sleeve shirt as you'd wear on a cold day. I'm 6'2" 198lbs and the XL is the right fit when wearing layers.

February 23, 2017

Great but for one design issue

I'm very happy with this except for the zippered pocket design. It is a stretch to call it a "pocket" as you can't place items down into it. It's more like a horizontal sleeve. This is an issue with things like keys and wallets,getting in an out of cars,for example. If the pocket is not partially zipped,then items can fall ... Read Moreout very easily. If I partially zip the pocket,then it's harder get my hand in to get things out of it,especially even with light gloves. Didn't have this problem with past down jackets from other good gear makers,possibly because there was more pocket below the bottom of the zipper or the inner liner was tacked down at the bottom. So I would recommend with the caveat to be careful about keeping things in the pockets.

February 13, 2017

Great jacket

I bought this a month ago for cold weather trip in NY. It's so comfortable and warm.

February 11, 2017

I wear ONLY Patagonia's winter Hoodies in Moscow!

once i've chosen Patagonia's hoody in Italy and since then I wear only Patagonia's hoodies& They are light and warm^ very comfortable but unfortunately not very strong against scratches

February 4, 2017

Great commuting coat with hood

Seam split on first coat and you guys replaced no questions asked wonderful policy ty

February 4, 2017

Best coat I've ever owned!!!

I feel like this has been the worst winter on record that I can remember in the Pacific Northwest. That said - everyday I am pretty stoked to get to throw on my Hooded Down Sweater again!!! Rain. Check. Snow. Check. Freezing rain. Check. Chilliaxing on the couch. Check. Happiest customer ever. Double check. Hats off Patagonia - this jacket is a kee... Read Moreper.

January 29, 2017

Great Versatile Jacket

Great overall jacket! Living in the Midwest during the winter means strong wind.. this jacket cuts the wind wile being very light and versatile. I would buy it again!

January 28, 2017

Solid Jacket

I bought this a month ago. It has served me well,as it keeps me comfortably warm in the coldest days of the southeast. It fits well and I can easily fit what I usually wear underneath it: t-shirt,flannel,and even a hoodie if I really need it. So far,the only problems I've had are around 4 or 5 down feathers sticking out on the inside of the ja... Read Morecket where the stitching holes are. It has a nice and large inner pocket,and the hand warmer pockets provide instant relief from the cold. The hood is very technically shaped,not like a cotton hoodie that is droopy. It's designed to envelope you in warmth. I have a large head so it sometimes feels too small but for most people it will be perfect. I never find the need to use the drawstrings to cinch the jacket to my body,but I have tested it and it stays tight and seals in all warmth. Overall,if you're looking for a jacket to insulate,that is stylish in town or practical in the wilderness,you'll be warm,no doubt.

January 25, 2017

So Warm!

Wore this with just a light base layer and a shell snowboarding in Tahoe. Temp was in the teens and high winds. Love it!

January 22, 2017

Perfectly functional.

I have wanted one of these jackets for a long time and finally bought one,and I couldn't be happier. Somehow it is perfectly comfortable in a vast amount of conditions. I've worn it in temps ranging from 10-60 degrees so far and been completely comfortable. It fits great and feels great. It's my favorite jacket!

January 12, 2017

Great Jacket!

Got this as a Christmas gift and love it. Surprisingly warm for as light weight as it is. Love how compact it is. Double check your sizes. I'm 6' 205 and needed an XL. Also highly recommend paying the extra and getting the hood. Great looking jacket too.

January 12, 2017

Perfect

As advertised,Patagonia never disappoints. Super warm,comfy with full range of motion.

January 11, 2017

Been waiting

Did not disappoint! Very warm and cozy. Fits great. I read some neg reviews and I didn't have any issues to date

January 11, 2017

Crazy Warm,Crazy Soft

First down coat in a long time,and I can't believe I waited so long. The hood is tailored perfectly so there is very little peripheral vision blockage. Weight is perfect so I hardly notice the jacket. Collar is great too,zips very high so hardly any cold air can sneak in. I haven't worn this skiing yet,but should be good as a midlayer on ... Read Morethe coldest days - packs down well,so I doubt the hood would be an issue under a hardshell

January 11, 2017

Very nice. Small for xxl.

I got this to replace a previous one I had recycled through Patagonia. I was pleased with the color,the new zippers and construction. They have reduced its size though on many items I am a XL. I ordered a XXL to have some sweater room. No chance. This is a slim cut. Still going to wear it eve though it won't be my daily go to.

January 11, 2017

Warmth without the weight

Exploring the mountains this season? Don't leave home without a down hoody. Versatile as a insulation layer or outerwear. This hoody will keep you warm down to single digits. Weather doesn't care if you're not prepared. So don't get caught with out your down hoody.

January 11, 2017

Cold weather essential

I've been a PNW resident for 10+ years and somehow,I've never owned a down jacket. After the typical extensive research I conduct before purchasing a piece of technical apparel,I selected this jacket. Here's why: 1. Ethically sourced down. Without getting too deep into my personal life,the treatment of animals used in/when sourcing... Read More animal products is extremely important to me. Patagonia is really the only company in this realm (apparel) to 3rd party certify the source of down used...FWIW. 2. Style/Fit/Function. These jackets are everywhere. How do you rock one without looking that "outdoor couple" from that comedy show about Portland? The fit is trim,the style is modern,the look is classic. Excellent for layering: works both as outerwear or a sweater/mid-layer. Get you a jacket that can do both. Lastly,the 800 fill down lets this jacket be winter warm,packable and lightweight.

January 11, 2017

Warm and Light

Used this on several backcountry ski trips already this year and is a great combination of lightweight/low volume and warmth. Love the hoodie-I have the down sweater without the hoodie and may have to retire it. The added warmth of a hoodie compared to a jacket & hat doesn't compare. I am 6',180 and the Medium is a snug fit,but is how... Read More I like it. Still room to move,but not more than 2 base layers underneath. The Large seemed a little baggy in the waist area.

January 11, 2017

Warm and Compact

I've had this for about a month and I'm still putting it through its paces. For reference,I'm 5'11" tall and I weight about 205 and I tend to get a little warm so I usually don't wear many layers on cold days. With only a t-shirt and a long sleeve shirt underneath,I used this as my main jacket on a 10 day vacation an... Read Mored it was more than enough to keep me warm and temperatures between 20 and 35 degrees Fahrenheit. Above 35 degrees it was a little too warm for me. I wore it in a light drizzle and I was concerned it wouldn't dry well but I hung it on a coat hook overnight and it was just fine the next morning. This hoody packs away nicely. You can zip it up in its internal pocket but a few times I haphazardly stuffed it in my backpack and it packed away just fine.

January 11, 2017

Super warm

Great fit. I'm 6'3 and sleeves are good length. Very warm and packable.

January 11, 2017

Tonya Creel

I. Ought this for.my college son and he loves the hooded quilted zip up.

January 11, 2017

Good Quality

I bought it as a gift for my son he's 25 years old and he loves it.

January 11, 2017

Great All-Around Hoody!

I bought this two months ago for trip to Canada. I am completely satisfied! I wore this in single digit weather with just a t-shirt underneath and was completely warm. I also love the fact that I can pack into the inside pocket for traveling. Definitely worth the purchase!

January 11, 2017

Awesome Product

This jacket keeps me warm and fits perfectly. Very happy with the purchase!

January 11, 2017

Awesome jacket

Got the Mens down sweater hoody and haven't stopped wearing it all year! I have a ton of Patagonia gear and some 10-15 years old but so far this has been my favorite piece. Warm,thin,packable - it's everything I wanted and need! Only down side is now all my kids are demanding one!

December 18, 2016

Pitches and Stitches

I've had this jacket for six years now. It's been with me on a month long backpacking course in the Winds,a month and a half of backpacking in the Indian Himalaya,weeklong trips in Glacier NP,Utah,The Beartooths,survived desperate chimney climbing and backcountry ski days in the tobacco roots and bridger range. I'm 5,5 and about 130... Read Morelbs and I can still wear the jacket as an XS. The poof has been awesome as a belay jacket in late fall and good to climb in early Montana winters. The material can take a beating being abused against rock and being snagged at for years by sharp branches. On ski days it's kept me warm even when walking summit ridges at reports of -35 degree windchill with an adittional base,mid,and shell layer. I've put holes in the jacket over the years and some light stitching and crazy clue and an old nylon bag have kept it from losing its loft. Keep the jacket away from big sparkfilled bonfires to maximize longevity. (Nylon + fire= no bueno. Shocker.)

December 14, 2016

Not thrilled with it

I have a pretty standard frame and body size and find the lower seam to just be too tight. The bottom of the jacket has a draw cord which is useless as the bottom seems to taper in so much that it is tight in the bottom 2" but fine everywhere else. Also a few of the stitching separating the down baffles comes out. I returned one jacket already... Read More for this but its happening on the replacement after a year or so of owning it. The quality on that front just isn't there. However it will keep you warm and the hood really works well,relaxed if you want or pull the cord some and really seals off while not giving an overly technical look to the hood. Just wish it fit better and the baffle stitching was done better. I have quite a bit of patagonia clothing and this has been a controversial purchase in my mind.

December 9, 2016

Beware of the wet dog smell!

Smelled fine when I unpacked it - wore it on a light walk and by the time I got to my gym,I smelled a strong smell that I can only describe as a wet dog. I thought,that's strange - my gym stinks like a wet dog. Put jacket away in locker and no more smell. Wore it home and by the time I was in the elevator in my building,the smell came back. Fi... Read Moregured it was a one-off; returned it and tried another. Jacket smelled fine on delivery but once again,light walk (not breaking a sweat by any means) and the smell was present in the second one as well. Have plenty of Arc Teryx,OR,and other down garments with no issues even after aerobic exercise,and no issues personally with B.O. just to set the record straight...not sure what's up with the down. Called Patagonia and they said they had not heard of anything like this...seems strange. Just be aware.

December 4, 2016

Essential Winter Piece of Gear

This jacket has you coverd from head to tail! This is as good as the regular Down Sweater but ups the warmth & coverage level a bit with the addition of a hood. Whenever cold adverse weather ight be in the playbook,this is a great jacket. I really like the draw string waist,tighten it up to accomodate a harness - loosen it to CYA walking downt... Read Moreown. Two generous hand warming pockets and inside vertical zip pocket are just the right amout of on board storage. Two thumbs up!

November 28, 2016

perfect winter jacket

the best looking/warmest jacket I have worn,true to size (like most Patagonia products) perfect for casual wear and easily layerable with fleece underneath it.

November 23, 2016

EXCEPTIONALLY WARM MID LAYER

I am surprised to experience how warm this jacket is. I have used it for hiking as a mid layer under a Goretex-Pro shell and over a basic merino base layer when the temps have hit below 0 Celsius. I really like it for a couple of reasons; one is the thing is so light for a mid layer that you hardly know it is on. This is huge on an active hike in c... Read Moreold weather. Second,the insulated hood is priceless when it is cold and windy. My only criticism is I wish there was more availability in larger sizes (2XL) throughout the model range of garments Patagonia offers. Some items only go to XL and that's it. Otherwise the quality is excellent and shipping to Canada is super fast!

October 1, 2016

Very warm and my new go to jacket!

I used to lug around my fleece when hiking and backpacking. With the Down Sweater Hoody I can pack it into itself and it takes significantly less room. I've always heard good things about Patagonia gear,but was concerned about the price point. After a backpacking trip to Second Beach,La Push,WA where we experienced high winds,cold front,and ra... Read Morein. This jacket didn't get soaked as I believed it would. Blocked the wind and had me sweating with just a T-Shirt on underneath while quickly gathering our camp gear so the rain wouldn't ruin it. I shook the beads of water off and when I woke in the morning it was completely dry. Can't wait to put it through the paces of the winter! Jacket receives a perfect score 5/7 (internet joke). The fit is more form fitting than any Large I've been used to,but the snug fit is comforting like never getting out of your sleeping bag in the morning. N

May 29, 2016

Great daily wear

Great daily winter wear jacket and the hood adds that extra warmth for both head and neck

February 2, 2016

Nice jacket. Cuffs could use

Nice jacket. Cuffs could use more stretch,hard to get them over my hands when they're warm. Could definitely go for bigger sizes though,6'7" around 250 and xxl feels a bit small and short. great if it fits you though.

January 3, 2016

Sizing is way off

Bought this jacket and had to return it because I was very unimpressed with the sizing. Large was way too big and medium was way too small on me. Furthermore, the sleeves are way too wide. If you could improve the fit of these jackets to accompany slimmer profiles that would be great

December 1, 2015

Fleece Lining Needs to Go

The years past had a much more aesthetically pleasing face fabric on the black color. My main gripe is the fleece lining by the face that has been added to this updated version. It makes it an eyesore and honestly the nylon felt good up against my skin. Patagonia is second to none when it comes to environmental practices in the outdoor industry, so... Read More kudos to them for doing their part. Please remove fleece lining by face. :(

November 25, 2015

Great Jacket - A Few Tweaks Needed

This is a great jacket for a variety of dry, cold weather uses. I find the DS comfortable with only a baselayer between 25 and 40 degrees. When the temperature dips below 25, I usually thrown on a shell or layer with something warmer like the Patagonia better sweater. I would offer a few recommendations for Patagonia. The biggest feature missing f... Read Morerom this jacket in my opinion is an external chest pocket. A NO brainer in my opinion and something that almost convinced me to go with the RAB microlight instead. The fit is also boxy, and is not kind to tall/thin people like myself. A more tailored fit with a bit more in the length would be appreciated. I have not used the jacket for all that long, but the recycled polyester fabric does not feel as robust as some of the Pertex fabrics out there. We shall see over time how it holds up to the daily abuse I throw at it. Overall a great product!

November 17, 2015

Best Down Jacket

I started years ago buying Patagonia as a suggestion from my son a rock climber in Yosemite. My three Patagonia layers are base, down sweater and down hoody jacket in cold conditions. These products are well built unlike alternate products from LLbean and others which the down flys out everywhere from holes in the seams. Best of all Patagonia repai... Read Morers if needed. The value is quality, low weight without bulk and environmentally conscious. Looking for the best bang for your buck, no need to look elsewhere.

September 1, 2015

Warm and great fitting

This jacket is the perfect weight and warmth for year round use in So. Cal. The new, slimmer "improved" fit is a real upgrade over the previous, boxier fit. It compresses easily into it's own pocket for effortless storage or transportation.

April 13, 2015

Zipper Problem

I have purchased two of these jackets and love them for hiking, canoeing and skiing. However when I am skiing I need to attach my season pass to the pocket zipper. Since these jackets have pockets that close upward I keep losing pocket belongings. The problem is the weight of the pass and the speed of skiing pull the zipper open. It would be much s... Read Moreafer to have the zipper close downward and have gravity keep it closed.

April 10, 2015

Good fit, warm, but already coming apart

I would rate the jacket higher if it weren't for the fact that after 2 months of wear, a thread on the left sleeve came loose already. I have only worn the jacket for going to work and back, riding in cars--no outdoor activity use whatsoever. I will have to send the jacket back for repair, but not sure if I want to keep the jacket as the same ... Read Moretype thread and weak stitching is used all over the jacket. Other than the above fragility issue, the hoody sweater is warm, and has a good fit for my body. I can layer comfortably under it and doesn't look too puffed up. The fit is definitely for an athletic climber type of build. The hood is a tight fit as others have noted. When the hood is not used and I have the jacket zipped up close to my chin, the hood hugs the back of my neck which leaves my neck very warm, but the front edge of the hood is definitely stained (which others have noted as discoloration) from the contact with back of my neck. I expect a wash will reduce or remove the stain, but it is unsightly between washes. The inside color of the jacket is khaki, so that probably worsened the staining problem.

March 7, 2015

Love it. Need more Colors

Seriously, awesome jacket. I rocked this guy at Breckenridge last weekend when it was dumping snow, under a shell of course, and it kept me nice and warm the whole time. Popped a few vents on the shell when I was getting warm and closed them when I was cold and it worked perfectly. Only complaint, wish you made it in Navy or something over than fi... Read Morere of the sun orange and black. Obviously I want to pack somewhat minimal when carpooling to the mountains and this guy makes me feel a bit like the sun walking down the street. Not bad looks at all as the coat looks pretty nice on, but I could definitely go for something a little more incognito, ya know, like navy.

February 21, 2015

Good, but could be better

I've been a huge fan and purchaser of Patagonia jackets and clothes ever since the business started. I have owned various clothing and jackets that have gone through tons of changes year after year. I have many of your jackets that I use for many different activities. My activities include: running/jogging, walking, car trips, skiing, hiking, ... Read Moresnowshoeing, chores outside my house, creating, and just hanging out. This product - I have owned about 6 different generations of this jacket, including the pre-hood era. I own the down sweater jacket with and without a hood. Items I like: light weight, warmth per oz, ease of washing and drying, ability to layer easily, inside lining material, and type and density of the down. Improvement opportunities: the hood design needs changing overall, top end of hood threads unravel easily, need some microfiber or other material covering that area, the cinch cord in hood needs improvement, hood needs to be able to cinch much better and to a closed tightly position, the zipper was improved much better than a couple years ago, but could be made even better - especially the bottom area where it first gets inserted, the large inside pocket needs to come back and has been gone for too long, the hood bunches up too easily when in a car or sitting, needs to be formed a bit differently so it fall much more downward when not worn.

February 1, 2015

Poor Quality Control and Design

So, I ended having to return replace the previous iteration of this hoody, and was looking forward to the new design of this one. I would have to say it was a brief and bittersweet rendezvous. First, the hood closure broke in the wash only one day after receiving it in the mail (1/30/15). Second, and on a completely unrelated note, I was unimpresse... Read Mored with the redesign of the new hood cinch design. With the prior design there was a way to close the opening of the hood to cut the wind draft from sneaking in, and likely due to the cinch cord extending down the front sides of the hood. In this new design it seems HQ thought to only have it tighten only around the crown of the head, effectively destroying whatever wind protection I once received. Some design points I did like were the visor extension on the front of the hood, and the extra chin room where the zipper closes. Since this is my second down sweater hoody in less than a year (in addition to other returns I've had to make for other product failures), I'll be seeking my durable outdoor gear someplace else from now on.

January 19, 2015

Very warm, great fit

I work FT as a ski instructor and I bought this to layer under my outer jacket on cold days. With a couple of base layers, this jacket keeps me warm even when the temps drop below zero. The fit is great around the head/neck, wrists and waist. I am not sure how durable it will be, one of the seams between the down pockets has started to fray. The s... Read Morehell fabric feels thin but seems like it will not rip. In my opinion, it would be better with a larger hood to fit over a helmet better, and a zipper similar to the Nano puff jacket. One reviewer complained about discoloration around the hood. I think this is from where it rubs on the back of your neck/hair when zipped all the way up but the hood is not up.

January 12, 2015

Great Jacket

I wanted a light down jacket for skiing and backpacking. Patagonia is always on the top of my list of brands, so I tried it. I don't regret it at all. It's incredibly light and warm and I can wear it with a light layer underneath if I want to be extra warm or nothing and I'm still protected from the elements. I have also wear it as a... Read More mid-layer with a shell over it. I'm really enjoying this jacket and it's my go-to for everything now. The jacket is really versatile, warm, and light--almost like not wearing anything at all.

January 12, 2015

So hot when it is SO cold!

I purchased this jacket as I was relocating from Seattle to the northwest corner of Minnesota. With sub zero temps for long periods of time as well as windy days, I needed a jacket that would stand up to these harsh weather conditions. This jacket has held up extremely well against these harsh conditions thus far and will continue to do so. The hoo... Read Mored does a great job of covering my head and it has quite a bit of room to wear a stocking cap. The zipper is great as it does come up high enough to cover right up to under my nose. The best part is that it is lined with a fleece layer and it does not irritate my chin. The sleeve length is also well done, as there have other jackets that seem short in the arms. I do appreciate that it is a traceable down and that it comes from a great company that it is very conscious of being responsible to the environment. I would highly recommend this jacket.

January 6, 2015

Almost Perfect

The Patagonia "Down Sweater" series is an excellent choice for a mid-weight down insulator. I've owned the regular "Down Sweater" for many years and it's the perfect insulator for fall and non-subzero winter days. In fact, I'm always surprised at how warm it can be. With the new "Down Sweater Hoody", Pa... Read Moretagonia adds two essential upgrades: more robust zippers and an insulated hood. The hood fits well and can be easily adjusted via the single elastic pull at the back of the head (even with one hand.) And the zippers are a huge improvement over the previous "Down Sweaters", which easily and frequently come apart in the field. In fact, the only issue that I found with this jacket is that the fit has changed slightly (compared to the older "Down Sweater") so that the bottom hem of the jacket is more snug. This results in the jacket riding up above the waist sometimes in the field, and then not falling back down over the waist. But it's a minor issue and one that people with a slightly trimmer frame will not have. Congrats Patagonia on another jacket that will be a part of my everyday / every outing arsenal.

December 17, 2014

Decent

Good garment thus far. Warm down to about 20 degree for me, and then I need to put another mid-layer underneath. There is a weird fit to it. It is too short on my torso in a small (5'8" 135lbs) and I hate the idea of cold wind sneaking in from underneath, so I bought a medium and its a bit bulky in the midsection, particularly if I am wea... Read Morering a light layer underneath. I sacrificed fit for functionality, a trade-off that shouldn't need to be made. Don't think this is a down parka - its not. If you want something with a better fit and higher loft/warmth, try to Arc'teryx Thorium SV. Overall though, this is a good garment that fits day to day use pretty well.

December 14, 2014

It keeps you warm but...

I bought this in blue back in October and had to exchange it by December because the wrist seam was falling apart and there was discoloration around the opening of the hood (looked like it was wet but really wasn't). Upon my exchange, I decided to go with the same color. However, I've only had this new one for a little over a week and the... Read Morere is already noticeable discoloration; needless to say I will be returning this for a refund and not an exchange. Very disappointed in the quality of this item, this is not something that you'd expect for the price.

December 5, 2014

Very lightweight

I like this jacket, but be warned that it is a very lightweight down jacket. It is pretty warm, but not that warm. It is almost more of a "sweater". After a couple of seasons with feathers poking through and coming out and being compressed over and over again, it starts to feel very thin and not that warm. I can't imagine the need fo... Read Morer a lighter weight down jacket and yet Patagonia makes several that are supposed to be even lighter than this one...

November 2, 2014

A College Student's Best Friend

This jacket is literally the bomb. It looks great, fits the body very well and is extremely warm. It's somewhat fragile but is to be expected of a jacket that's made with feathers and a polyester ripstop shell. I get compliments all the time (especially from the ladies) and this thing is literally my go-to piece. I own multiple pieces of ... Read MorePatagonia gear, two vintage snap-tee's, thermal onesie, better sweaters, nano-puff, etc. and this tops everything. Oh, and to add, the jacket looks even better when patched up. Highly, highly recommend.

September 27, 2014

Perfect Alpine Jacket

This jacket is amazingly warm for how small it packs down and how light it is. It's been with me on alpine mountain treks and big multi-pitch trad climbs where belays can be rather chilly. If I'm in the mountains or pulling rock, this jacket is in my pack. The hood is big enough to fit over a helmet and makes all the difference when it&#x... Read More27;s cold and windy. The fit of the medium is a little large for me (though I'm very trim) but it allows for the chest and arms to be roomy for under layers. Never had an issue with it though, it just looks baggier than I might prefer.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches