Back to Product

Men's Ultralight Down Jacket

Write Your Review

4.24 /5

Filter Reviews

All 63 Reviews

Clear All

Men's Ultralight Down Jacket

4.24
True To Size
March 25, 2018

Goodbye Northface!

After losing my Northface Thermoball Jacket during a trip to Canada,I needed a replacement. Several friends in the past owned Patagonia Outerwear and couldn't stop raving about the quality of the product. I decided to to see what the fuss was about. So happy that I decided to go with Patagonia. The jacket is lighter than my old Northface and s... Read Moreeems to be warmer too. Thanks for making such an outstanding jacket.

February 27, 2018

Almost great,but disappointing fit

So I have tons of Patagonia products. I mean a closet full,some new and some old including 3 down sweaters,a Fitz Roy,3 shells (3 ply and 2 ply),pants,flannels,sweaters etc etc. HOWEVER,this fits me poorly. It's way too long. I am 5'9" and I purchased a medium online. It's probably 2.5 or more inches longer than all but one of s... Read Morehells. It looks silly,sticks out below most garments and puffs out in funky places due to it's length. That being said I do love the weight,the material and the warmth. Quality control isn't the best either. Lots of loose and long threads as well. I love Patagonia for it's clothing and environmental efforts but this sizing really falls short (I mean LONG).

February 2, 2018

Very easily rips!

I bought this jacket a year ago. The second day,while outside trimming plants,it ripped. Then. While brushing against a doorknob lock,it ripped about 6 inches . To Patagonia's credit,I shipped it back and they repaired it,and returned it,no charge,even paid the shipping! Imagine my frustration when,this winter,it ripped apart,I bent down to pi... Read Moreck up my son's toy,which was lying in mulch under a bush,and rip!,a big rip on the upper chest by a branch! This was the second rip this year,and 2 last year. I intend to ship it back for more repairs,but as it happened in early winter,I have to keep wearing it as it's my only winter jacket. The down feathers kept coming out,so I put duct tape on the two tears- looks awful,but I stay warm! Otherwise a good jacket- warm and light,very comfortable. My wife wants me to throw it away due to the unsightly duct tape. They need to make a more durable nylon shell. Until they do I would strongly recommend NOT BUYING THIS JACKET!

January 7, 2018

Light,warm,great fit

Ideal fit for me. I'm 5'8 skinny at 130lbs so finding a jacket that doesn't feel like a sail is important. The size small has a slimmer fit than the nano puff which was the main reason I went with the ultralight. Active outdoors in -15C,no problem.

October 1, 2017

Great!

Extremely warm and light weight. Great fit. The perfect jacket for my needs.

September 9, 2017

Light is right

Even though the main reason I purchased this is its weight it was still a surprise when I actually got it in my hands. Lighter than I even imagined. The quality is excellent. The fit is perfect. The price was fantastic. And I love the way it looks. Very pleased and can't wait to pack this on my next cold weather adventure. Highly recommended.... Read More

June 28, 2017

Another Patagonia winner

Great featherweight jacket for fifty degree summer mornings.

June 26, 2017

Light,warm,and comfortable!

PERFECT gear for backpacking! The "Ultralight" is,well . . . !! Not only that,but WARM (pleasant treat when the sun goes down,and it get's chilly). AND,the PERFECT pillow (fold it up in the left pocket). Double usage backpacking gear -- doesn't get better! Probably the nicest Patagonia item I own,and I own a LOT of Patagonia stu... Read Moreff!

June 2, 2017

Real Nice Jacket

My son has had this for a couple of years and I always admired it! I have the sweater jacket which I love but wanted something lighter for chilly California daytime and evening activities including running,biking and standing around for hours with my telescope on some mountain top! I really like the shiny finish of the Nylon used for this jacket to... Read Moreo. Some complain about the long length but for me (5'10",166lbs) its just right. It puts my hands with arms almost fully extended into the hand warmer pockets for a very comfortable way to rest them on treks. I appreciate the extra coverage for my butt for sitting and keeping the drafts out! So light its incredible. I haven't had a chance to be in the snow country but to tell the truth,thats what my down sweater jacket is for although I am confident that the ultralight will be fine with an added layer underneath. The one thing I don't like is that it is too baggy. My size is medium for everything but Patagonia! For me the medium looks and fits great except its tight under the arms which is N/G for an active life product while the large is just too big for my style conscious side. I left out a star for the sizing cause this jacket could really look great if it fit better!

May 14, 2017

Odd fit

I bought this on line a month ago. It doesn't fit like my other Patagonia jackets. It's longer. - fits like a girls jacket. I would return it if I could but bought on sale.

May 10, 2017

I'm happy with the jacket

I'm 5.8 140 pl female and I purchased the small pepper grass men's ultralight down ,I'm very happy with the colour,it fits me fine ,it fits a bit tight around the hips but I have a bit of a boy figure so it's fine ,the sleeves are nice and long ,and so is the jacket ,the jacket is thin ,I'm not sure I'd pay full price ... Read Morefor it , And like another reviewer said ,I wished the Patagonia label on the front of the jacket was like the old label,paying a lot of money to where a Patagonia,I would like that shown as something to be proud of.

May 3, 2017

Name Branding

I just received my jacket and was disappointed that the Patagonia name is very faint and hard to see. Other jackets I purchased in the past clearly had the name proudly and readable on the front of the jackets. I like showing that I wear the best

April 29, 2017

Great light jacket

It is warm and comfortable for about 40 up. I just walked the dog in a light misty rain. She got quite wet but I was warm and dry the entire time. An unexpected side event: several neighbors have commented on how good it looks.

March 25, 2017

Light and warm

Great fit and very comfortable as a mid layer. 6' and 190 lbs and M was good for me. Used in temps b/w 20 and 40 degrees and wind up to 40mph. No issues with performance,temp regulation or construction. Used as a pillow for red-eye back east!

March 25, 2017

Excellent ski jacket

Bought it a month ago for skiing Snowbird/Alta. 800 down is warmer than nano puffs as underlayers. Thin but tough outer layer,definitely a warm jacket when comboed with a Patagonia Snowshot outer jacket. Zipper has been beefed up,its longer than most nano puffs but not a skirt.

March 25, 2017

Love my purchase

Got my jacket thinking I would. It use it until the fall but we had another cold spell and it performed great. I love that I can fold it into the pocket when needed but it kept me warm through cold and wind. Sooo glad I bought it!

March 18, 2017

good jacket

i'm glad that i bought it. it's a nice jacket.. light and warm... just a little goosey smell though.

March 13, 2017

New Sizing - Bigger All Over

First off,I love Patagonia and I have gone through several of these jackets. I'm a huge fan and all of my gear is Patagonia - because it fits. This new version is the only exception to that rule. After putting in on,I noticed the arms were longer and wider on the cuffs,the shoulder seam was lower on my shoulder,and the hem was halfway down my ... Read Morebackside. Since it seemed as if it was a whole-size larger,I figured it was a dud and I exchanged it. The second fit the same,however. I suggest you go down a size if you own the earlier version or if you like a slimmer profile. (I wear an XS,so this wasn't an option for me.) I liked the sizing of the earlier version where the hem was at the waist,the arms were tight on the wrist,and the shoulder wasn't too wide. Luckily,I was able to find a previous season's version in another store and replaced my well-worn side-kick. I hope Patagonia reconsiders the sizing for when as it was truly my favorite jacket. Having said all that,I still want to thank Patagonia for stepping up and clothing us short-stature outdoorsmen.

March 9, 2017

Love it!

I got this jacket as a gift and it is one of the best I have ever received. I may have the jacket worn out before the winter is over because I wear it so much. Love the fact that it is so light,yet so warm.

March 7, 2017

Really wanted it to work out....

I was really hoping the men's x small would fit me,I'm a 5'9",125 lbs,36/26/33 woman. Alas,it was just a little too boxy/wide in the mid section. The color (Underwater Blue) was just gorgeous,and the sale price was a deal. Felt sad to return it...wish that color was available in women's down jackets!

March 4, 2017

more green than grey

The jacket was great but my husband did not like that it war more green then grey. So we had to send it back

March 1, 2017

Very light. Great and pack able for trips.

Men's ultralight down jacket.I really like how it feels and lightness.

February 12, 2017

Warm and lightweight

Great coat. Very light. Very warm. I wear it under my shell skiing and if the weather is above 20,I tend to sweat. I wear it all around town. Love it.

February 12, 2017

return

I love patagonia its all i buy but this last jacket i purchased is not exactly what i wanted it fits kinda long,i havent had a chance to do anything with it because im traveling.. i went tp a patagonia store while im on the road and bought another one that is more to my liking. so maybe i can be on record and try an exchange when i get back home. I... Read More totally love Patagonia

February 11, 2017

Lightweight and warm

I bought it as a gift for my husband. Had to get two sizes as I wasn't sure which one will fit. Large one fit better but it is a bit long. My husband is 5'8,so not very short but not very tall either. Overall,he is happy with the gift.

February 6, 2017

Wonderful Jacket

Purchased 8 weeks ago this very lightweight jacket keeps me warm even in the wind...35mph to 50mph sustained: 28/38 degrees. After breaking in it is now less noisy.

February 4, 2017

Awesome,but bizarre fit

Patagonia decides to size their stuff in the weirdest ways. For example,this jacket fits very well in the shoulders and arms,but is 3 inches too long and is too tight around the waist so it bunches up. I am 5'10 and 145 with a 30" waist and the small can barely fit around my belt area. A medium is way too big and long in all regards. If t... Read Morehey just added some room around the waist area so that it wouldn't bunch up around a very lean person's waist then this issue would be easily resolved. It is weird for anyone to have smaller than a size 28 waist anyway regardless of their height so this would make sense for most people I believe. Otherwise,the jacket is impressively warm for how light it is. It seems like there is a very small amount of down but with just a shirt underneath and a beanie I could stand outside in 20 degree temperatures for over 2 hours and remain comfy. It does make a crinkling sound when moving but it isn't that big of a deal. With just a small amount of excersion I warmed up very quickly,and just unzipping it allows you to cool down quickly. It is a very high quality jacket that just has a little bit of a sizing problem. Please fix in the next version!

January 28, 2017

too long and very little loft

I purchased online and when I tried it on found it to be too long and it really did not seem like the down was lofty enough to be very warm. Also the waist draw cord did not cinch evenly and instead bunched up on one side.

January 21, 2017

Highly Versatile

Purchased this coat in late October and have worn it constantly ever since. Weather between 40 and 60 degrees; this jacket is perfect!

January 21, 2017

Cozy and warm

I bought this for my 10 year old son who loves everything Patagonia ! He needed a new jacket because he grew out of his other Patagonia one. He loves this because it's warm and so light ! Also ,love the underwater blue color. it also folds up into the pocket so u can toss it into any bag He uses it to play tennis in on cold days and wears it a... Read Morefter swim practice and to school Pretty much all the time. He is 5.2 and the xs is nice and roomy for him.

January 17, 2017

Amazing

Still confused how this jacket can be so light and so warm at the same time. It literally feels like you're wearing nothing with this jacket. I use it while fishing and snowshoeing in temps in the teens and 20s. While hiking I have to unzip it sometimes before I start to sweat.

January 13, 2017

Super lightweight,backcountry warm.

First 20 degree snow day had me taking off my shell and just wearing the down. Ultra light and super warm. Might have to get the hooded one too. If I had anything to change anything,the material didn't smell the greatest after it's first long sweaty day.

January 13, 2017

2016 Ultralight Down Jacket

This is my 5th Patagonia down sweater or light jacket. The others include 3 down sweaters and one high down count light jacket. This new jacket is not as warm or wind resistant as my 2 year old lightweight down jacket or my down sweaters.

January 12, 2017

Great light jacket

Bought this for my husband who is thin and wanted a light jacket that was not too boxy in shape. This jacket fit him perfectly and not to wide at the bottom. It also has a inside draw string to synch up if needed it cold weather. It was perfect in on our snow ski trip and also perfect in the mild winter weather in Alabama! He liked the color also. ... Read MoreI bought a Med. To make sure it was fitted. He is 6' tall. Wears a 33 " pant.

January 12, 2017

New favorite jacket

I have now had this jacket for about a month and have worn it everyday. I love it. It is pretty warm but not too warm. Very comfortable.

January 11, 2017

How do I Process a Return

This is not meant for Seattle's wet and cold winter How do I return my purchase?

January 11, 2017

Light weight

Works great for Northern California coastal weather. I'm 5'6" 135# and arm lengths are adequate but a bit long on the torso for a Size Small. Otherwise love it.

January 11, 2017

Incredible warmth-weight ratio

Already have a couple patagonia lightweight casual jacket-type things and very happy with those,but if the weather is dry,this saves a layer for sure -- feels the same weight as the nanopuff,which I'll still wear if I might get wet or if the temp's >30F,but this has quickly become my go-to <30F casual jacket. (Wore it once so far as... Read More a midlayer on the slopes though and got too hot!)

January 11, 2017

Just what I wanted/needed.

I was looking for a lightweight and compact insulation layer for bike packing,that would also work as an insulation layer for my winter adventures. the Ultralight Down Jacket is just the ticket.

January 11, 2017

Great ultralight jacket

I bought this jacket for hiking along the Pacific crest trail. It packs down into a small little,light bundle that fit easily into my pack. I used it several times at night to ward off the 40-50 degree temps. This jacket does feel flimsy,and I usually wore it under my soft shell to protect it from snagging on brush. This jacket kept me very warm do... Read Morewn into the 40's by itself. Two nights during the hike the temps dipped into the teens with a strong wind and this jacket plus the soft shell were not enough to keep me warm and I had to add a third layer. All in all,this is a great jacket for warmth especially for its weight and packability. If you are looking for an ultralight jacket that is meant to pack into a small ball and not weigh much,this is definitely a great jacket and is exactly what it was built for. If you are looking for an everyday jacket to wear around and hike through the woods,you should look into finding one made of a tougher material.

January 11, 2017

I was wondering if it was a knockoff.

The jacket is very warm and lightweight. I thought it might have been a knockoff because the logo is printed on and not sown in like other apparel I've seen. It is really long in the torso too and I get poked by the barbs of the feathers when wearing a t-shirt underneath. But again,it is very warm,lightweight and I enjoy wearing it.

January 11, 2017

Super lightweight

I bought this when I arrived in Durango,Co and it has been my go to jacket for trail walking and biking. I first thought that I made a mistake because it seemed way to light but boy was I wrong. This has become my favorite piece of outdoor wear that I own. I am 5'11 and weigh 225 the XL fits perfectly even with layers. Highly recommend this it... Read Moreem

January 11, 2017

best puffer yet

in a word...perfect! love the improvement of the longer body

January 11, 2017

Love it

Cut is a little boxy but it is fine for active wear. The longer cut makes it warmer and give good coverage while riding.

January 11, 2017

Right warmth and weight

I purchased this in anticipation of needing to carry minimal weight (not a climbing activity) and to compact well,yet to have warmth. The jacket lived up to expectations for me. In short,I used it for warmth and carried it (compacted) when not needed. Color and contrasting colors for zippers was good! Sizing for me was good in the shoulders and... Read More arms,but roomy in the trunk/mid-section.

January 11, 2017

Good Stuff!

I have been using Patagonia gear for over 30 years. It has been with me in some cold ,wet ,inclement spots,and I was always glad to have it. This latest purchase,the ultra lightweight coat seems to be of the same high-quality as I have come to expect! I think you can trust your life to Patagonia gear.

January 11, 2017

workhorse jacket for global travel

I bought this for a recent trip to Europe,great that it packs down to a small pillow and is very lightweight,my issue is that the feathers are beginning to come out at the seams,the length is great,not super warm in lower temps

January 11, 2017

Stylish ultralight jacket

Extremely light weight and a really good fit. I live through mostly mild winters and this keeps me warm enough and blocks the wind . Fantastic for riding a bicycle and walking .

January 11, 2017

Great all-around jacket

I was using it non-stop for 3 weeks during my trip to Paris,in temperatures ranging from 25F to 55F,sometimes in drizzle or strong wind. It was always warm,but not hot. Anti-moisture coating appears to work very well. It's incredibly light. It also so well packable,you can easily squeeze it in a very small bag or backpack,when you go inside. I... Read Moret's on long side and usually I pull it up a bit when sitting and driving. But it's a right length when standing or walking. I'm was wearing sometimes a shell over it and it worked well as a middle layer,too,because of tight fit and being not bulky.

January 11, 2017

Basically wearing a down blanket

Bought this for running,camping,in the office,around the house,and everything in between. Love how warm it keeps me and that its easy to layer underneath and on top. Material is very light yet feels like it'd be easy to tear but so far after heavy use over the course of multiple flights,snowboarding,hiking,and road trips the jacket is holding ... Read Moreup well and nice and comfy. Biggest issue is that I'm worried i'll tear open the jacket just by accidentally snagging/hooking onto the corner of a table.

January 11, 2017

Warm,light,and feels great

A perfect jacket for cool weather (35-50 degree F). Also works well as a layer under a shell for colder temps.

January 11, 2017

So light

I was looking for the lightest I could get and was blown away when I had it in my grubby hands. It boggles the mind that something that light will keep you warm. Love it.

January 11, 2017

Don't leave home without it!

The ultimate in utility'warm,light,durable. Paired with a wool sweater,a fantastic travel item. But also great at the crag. It stays nice looking,so it does the crag-to-dinner transition quite nicely. (As a tall female,I prefer the men's version for longer arms proportional to body volume.)

January 11, 2017

Superb

I I purchased this as the under layer of my winter hiking shell. But after I receivied it,I found that I liked it even As regular jacket.,warm,light,easy!

December 13, 2016

I absolutely love this garment

I bought this jacket specifically to do a long section hike on the Appalachian Trail. It's lightweight and warmth was just wonderful. It was perfect in the cool mornings with just a light layer underneath. Unfortunately I recently had it stolen from my home buy a caregiver. Right now I'm saving up another one. One thing I love about Patag... Read Moreonia gear as they stand by their products. I met a factory rep up on the Nantahala River in North Carolina and he told me that if anything ever wears out that the company would make it good if I return the product. A company that stands by their gear like that you know you have a quality product.

November 23, 2016

The Perfect 3-Season Jacket

I got my ultralight about 2 years ago and it has been fantastic ever since. I've used this jacket as a layer for skiing,casual wear,and backpacking. The jacket even made it through my Appalachian Trail thru-hike with only a small hole on the arm that was more or less my fault. The only complaint I've ever had is that sometimes the down in... Read More the sleeves will gather on one side and develop some minor cold spots. But,whenever it happens I usually just manually redistribute the down and its good as new. I personally am 6'2",230 lbs and pretty stocky. The XL fits slim but still has enough room to be comfortable doing any movements you might have to. Get this jacket.

October 1, 2016

Very Warm

I love this Jacket! So warm and stylish for the fall nights. However three stars because the jacket ripped already and feathers are escaping. Bought in late summer,worn twice. Very disappointing.

October 1, 2016

Warm,light & true to size

Purchased,good price for jacket with zippered chest pocket,a large size works well for me with 44" chest,5"10 average arm length & just right,I always wear light shirt & use this jacket as a 2nd layer,Gore Tex shell final outside layer.

March 17, 2016

Perefect 3 season jacket at 8000 feet

I've had this jacket for about a year. It is just right for 3 seasons for all my outdoor activities. in the winter months add a shell and it's bomber! It sheds a light rain as well for a while. the diversity of temperatures it is comfortable in is amazing! it's so light you hardly know its on. enjoy!! 5-2 15 Medium just right. was to... Read Moreo small.

February 20, 2016

Great Piece!

I've used the jacket for the last 4 years . It's extreme light weight,and really surprising warmth have stood me in good stead,and as a mid layer under my Super Alpine shell,have seen me through very rugged and cold conditions skiing and mountaineering. It's really too warm to run with! It's my go to cold weather jacket.

February 14, 2016

Excellent warmth-to-weight

In the spirit of full disclosure,I bought last year's model last fall for half price. So far,I've used the jacket mainly for travel in cooler weather where temps have been in the low 40s. It's been great in that regard. It's so light you hardly know you're wearing it and so compressible that you can easily pack it. I intend... Read More to take the jacket on an extended backpacking trip in the Sierras later this year. I'm 6 ft. 190 lbs. and the L fits well. I've worn it over a shirt and sweater and under a competitor's rain jacket.

January 31, 2016

Feels uber cheap,would rather

Feels uber cheap,would rather rock a. Rei jacket before this. Patagonia your too good for this stuff. Retire this jacket and the version wit the hood. Please keep putting out good products like the sweater jacket and nano puff.

January 17, 2016

disappointed

I even feel cold in it on a mid 40 degree evening. I am glad I didn't bring this to a sub 20 degree ski trip even the representative told me it would be warm enough. My first patagonia down jacket is super light but simply not warm enough for a down jacket

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches