Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Rainshadow Jacket

Write Your Review

4.54 /5

Filter Reviews

All 68 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Rainshadow Jacket

4.54
Kinda Large
June 24, 2020

Terrific Specs, except for the water resistance.

Until I read several reviews here noting it's lower-than-expected water repellenncy, I had been taken-in by the great specs of super lightweight stretch, multiple pockets, and pit zips (my must-have for rain gear) and forgot that it really should be more waterproof than it is. It's a great emergency-in-warm-weather take-along, minimalis... Read Moret jacket for day trips, but it's not appropriate for any wet that risks getting me cold because it doesn't keep me dry.

Response from Patagonia
July 29, 2020

We are sorry to hear about the troubles with this jacket and please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us if it's not performing to what you'd expect. We are happy to get you in something else.

December 2, 2019

Very Large

Bought this for my fiance who is about 5'11'' and 170lb. I bought a large thinking it would be good for layering. However, the large was WAY too large. I will have to exchange for a medium.

November 28, 2019

Got a bigger size so

Got a bigger size so I could wear a hoodie under it and it’s perfect, covers everything

November 26, 2019

Great Jacket, Minor Manufacturing Defect

The fit of the jacket is excellent, and I like the stretch fabric. I've seen the water resistant zippers come and go and I'm glad to see them back. The sleeve cuffs adjust nicely. On my jacket there was a minor manufacturing defect where a small piece of fabric from the lower back got stuck under the seam sealing tape and pulled two small... Read More areas of the H2No layer off the fabric. They are too small to affect performance so I'm just going to wear it and enjoy it.

November 26, 2019

Great packable rain jacket

I have only been able to use this jacket a couple of times, but each time I was very satisfied. I am 6'2" and about 175. As with all Patagonia I'm right between a medium and large. Going with a large allowed me to layer it, but it looks a little baggie on it's own. Overall very pleased with my purchase!

November 26, 2019

Lightweight Rain Shell

It’s a lightweight rain shell and fits nicely over a better sweater for outings around town when rain is in the forecast. It’s not a alpine hard shell by any means, but works well for what it is. Since I paid the 50% off price, I’m happy with it, however at full retail I may not have been as pleased.

November 26, 2019

Yep!

Ordered this jacket to replace my marmot pre-cip. LOVE the stretch. I'm a portly 225 on a 5'10"-ish frame with broad sholders so everything fits me weird. Got the XL and fits perfect, especially if I layer a vest or something underneath. Still early in the 'testing' but so far so good.

November 26, 2019

Love it, just slightly difficult

Love it, just slightly difficult to zip up, likely due to the taped zipper

November 25, 2019

Rock Solid in Steady Rain for 4 Hours

Just got back from a late season backpacking trip, and on our final day it rained the entire time. This raincoat excelled in keeping me dry and well-ventilated. However, my favorite feature about the coat is the fit. I'm a bigger guy. 5'11" 245lbs, and the generous cut through the shoulders is excellent. Many other rain coats are to... Read Moreo restrictive around my shoulders. This one fits comfortably, and allows me to layer as needed.

November 25, 2019

Rain

The jacket fits well very nice. I ordered a extra large and I am 6 foot 240. I took a long walk in the rain for about two hours got back took it off completely dry underneath. Great rain jacket.

November 24, 2019

Great jacket! Very light but

Great jacket! Very light but durable. Best rain jacket I have owned to date.

November 23, 2019

Like everything except the hood

Like everything except the hood not packing into the collar. Sleeves to long, but I knew this as I’m a natural medium so I’m not complaining.

November 23, 2019

This will work nicely!

I was looking for a lightweight rain jacket for My husband for an upcoming trip to Europe. He liked the hood and the fit. As always the arms are too long (Patagonia design? Or short arms?) but the Velcro cuffs are comfy so it’ll work. He loves the chest pocket (Patagonia design 👍🏼) and hood.

November 22, 2019

Love everything about this jacket.

Love everything about this jacket.

November 22, 2019

Disappointed with the fitting.

Needed a rain jacket for pnw weather that I could wear with/without layers for the next few months casually and for light skiing. Material is lightweight and not plasticky, but feels flimsy and doesn't have any structure on its own especially if you open the front zip. It's designed like a snow jacket is terms of size i.e. it's gener... Read Moreous. Arm is a bit long. Arm width, especially under arms is huge and it looks saggy because of the material. Returned it (got torrentshell L which fits better for me)so can't comment on waterproof-ness. That said if you get one size smaller, it might be good for running.

November 22, 2019

Fine

Fine

November 21, 2019

Great piece of gear

Great piece of gear

November 21, 2019

Water\Wind protection is great

Great for wet warm climates. Put a puffball under it and your good to go in minus temps.

November 21, 2019

very nice

Good quality lightweight rain jacket. Stretch material is a bonus for ease of movement. Patagonia clothing is like an iPad, they both nearly last forever if taken care of.

November 21, 2019

stay dry

This is the third Rainshadow that I've purchased over the past 3 decades. It just keeps improving at a price point I'm willing to pay....

November 19, 2019

Tough Sizing

Same as my other review for the M's nano puff, Sizing seems way off and different than previous years where a small would fit me just fine. Now, a small or xs in any down jackets or rain shells do not fit. R1s and other fleeces are as accurate as always.

November 17, 2019

Bad seam

Reading many good reviews on this jacket but for some reason mine allowed water to get thru along the top of the shoulders and arms. Not sure this material is water repellant. I would call it water resistant for 15 minutes at best. Happy to return with no questions asked. Next level up the Ascension is three times the price. Hmmm

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Brian, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the jacket isn't keeping you dry from the rain. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 12, 2019

great jacket, light

great jacket, light

November 8, 2019

Skier

Awesome, light weight. Perfect shell for fall/winter/spring!

November 6, 2019

Love this jacket

Light, great fit and accommodates my helmet. It would be even better if they added a draw string to the hood.

November 5, 2019

Rainshadow jacket

The jacket fits a bit big but keeps you warm with through the rain and wind

November 4, 2019

Great looking and comfortable

Have not yet used it to comment on durability and performance but Patagonia does not disappoint. I am between Medium and Large and Medium fits great. I love the light, thin, wind/waterproof and stretchy material which will work great at Arizona weather.

November 1, 2019

Great jacket with minor annoyances

Very lightweight and packable, overall high quality all around. Drawbacks: (1) the pit zips (when closed) feel like lightweight springs in your armpits that are trying to keep your arms away from your body. (2) The main zipper is rigid enough that if the coat is slightly unzipped to anywhere above the sternum, the top corners of the jacket front re... Read Moremain upright instead of flopping down, and poke you in the neck or chin occasionally. (3) The hood is comically large if you're not wearing a helmet under it (though the cinching helps).

Response from Patagonia
November 20, 2019

Daniel we really appreciate the great detail in your review of the jacket! If at any time you feel it isn't performing to your satisfaction, we'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/topic/0TO1L0000002yyTWAQ/returns-exchanges) it to a Patagonia-owned store or to our main service center for merchandise credit or a refund, so don't hesitate to reach out to us.

October 25, 2019

Excellent product

Excellent product

October 25, 2019

Replaced/Repaired jacket

I send a rain jacket in for repair. It was not repairable and was credited for a new one. Shopped on line for a new one and it was really easy. would not have changed a thing.

October 23, 2019

A Rain Jacket for All Place (and Seasons)!

I needed a rain jacket for hiking and a rain jacket for wearing in the city, and the Rainshadow is the one jacket that does both. Thanks to the stretch fabric, it doesn't feel like a rain jacket, and it also doesn't look like one. The versatility is immense. I can wear the Rainshodow on a night out, but I can also imagine wearing it as a ... Read Moreshell on a very, very wet day on the ski slopes. Thanks Patagonia. Absolutely love this jacket!!

October 21, 2019

Solid jacket

I haven’t been able to really test the jacket in all conditions. But so far, it’s kept me dry in drizzling conditions.

October 14, 2019

Keeps you dry!

I have 2 of these and my wife has 1. We have lived in Montana, Washington, and Oregon and this jacket has been gosh darn phenomenal. Two weeks ago, we spent 4 hours sitting outside in the pouring down rain at a football game and stayed dry the hole time! A must have!

October 9, 2019

Lightweight, breathable, my favorite rain jacket I have owned

This is the best rain jacket I have owned. It is lightweight and comfortable to wear with just a T-Shirt, but also great to pair with a sweatshirt when it is colder out. The material is very high end and its stretchiness makes it much more pleasant to wear compared to a normal rain jacket. Additionally, it packs down very small which is great for ... Read Moretraveling or just keeping in your backpack for everyday readiness. I highly recommend this jacket! I am 6'2" 190lb and bought a size medium, which fits perfectly. Unless you intend to use this as and outer shell with a bulkier winter jacket, I recommend airing on a size smaller.

October 8, 2019

Always fit!

The Rainshadow Jacket is perfect for my needs and a perfect fit. I’m 6’4”, 195lbs. with albatross arms and I know I can always get the sleeve length I need,along with a proper fit in the body, from Patagonia.(size L)

October 5, 2019

Keeps you dry

I had a chance to wear the Rainshadow in a moderately heavy rain the day after receiving it. It kept me comfortable and dry. I usually wear a large. This did run a little long in the sleeves.

October 4, 2019

Worked Amazing, Little Large

Used it along with the Micro Puff Hoody during a 100 mile run on the Bear 100 in Northern Utah. Bought the stuff the week before in California so I could survive the forecast that called for rain and potentially snow through the night. 30 miles of rain, cold and mud through the night for the ending of the run and I stayed perfectly warm and dry. Fo... Read Morer the first part of the run it was lightweight and easily packed into my hydration pack. Only mild complaint is it feels much larger than a Small, though in my situation that worked nicely as I had to use it as an outerlayer that covered both my insulated layers and my hydration pack on my back. If I was wearing it alone I would like it to be a lot more snug.

September 23, 2019

Spent two very rainy and

Spent two very rainy and windy days in Iceland and stayed warm and dry thanks to my new jacket. While my Stoneycroft pants are not water proof they stayed comfortable and dried quickly.

September 20, 2019

Lightweight, soft, and breathable.

Lightweight, soft, and breathable.

September 10, 2019

Good but could be great

Let me start with what I like about the jacket: The fabric and waterproofness are fantastic. It's feathery light and (so far) legitimately waterproof. I'll likely use it in place of my heavy duty hardshell (Rab) a lot this winter. I love that it zips into its own pocket. It's a little bit roomier than I'd hoped, but definitely n... Read Moreo problem layering a puffy coat, etc., underneath. The main thing I dislike about the jacket - and, for me, it's a pretty big negative - is the hood. It's gigantic. Most of my shells have had helmet-compatible hoods but none of them have been as big and downright goofy as the Rainshadow's hood. And bear in mind, I have a fairly large head! I wear a 7 1/2 baseball cap. Adding insult to injury, when you cinch down the the hood (via the toggle on the back) it reveals the other major negative about the hood: the brim is a joke. Since it lays flat against your forehead I'm not even sure you can call it a brim (maybe it's a reinforced eyebrow protector?). It has some stiffening but, since the hood fits like a plastic garbage bag, it can't function on its own. As soon as you tighten the hood it mashes down against your forehead. I can't remember the last shell I bought with a hood this dysfunctional. It makes me want to try and retro fit it somehow to make it somewhat usable. I might go by my local Patagonia shop and see what they think about it.

August 12, 2019

So nice!

Jacket is lightweight and the material is softer than the torrentshell. Holds up in the Florida rain weather

August 12, 2019

Jacket of Rain Fury

This jacket rocks! I love the way it hangs longer and slimmer than most. i appreciate the neck coverage of the hood and it works great with my various helmets. My only small quibble is the pit vents don't zip as readily as I would like due to the fabric being thin but I'm not complaining. I appreciate the hand and chest pocket as well. Th... Read Moreanks, Patagonia!

August 12, 2019

Excellent Jacket

It fits according to size and is very light. Great addition to my backpacking gear.

August 12, 2019

Really like it - will it last?

Love how light it is, the soft feel against the skin, perfect amount of stretch, chest pocket, fit, all great. My only concern with how light and thin it is is durability. I use this coat for backpacking trips a few times a year as well as my casual raincoat on warmer days. My last one that this replaced was an Arc'Teryx that was bomber and la... Read Morested 15 years. Can this one also go the distance?

August 11, 2019

Rain shadow

It’s awesome, I just wish I had bought it sooner. It’s so light and easy to wear. Like all things Patagonia it’s pretty much perfect.

August 11, 2019

Not very waterproof

I have used Patagonia rain jackets for years. This product is lightweight etc but does not keep you dry. It has some weird zippers under the arms which are hard to operate. Wish I had not paid good money for this item

Response from Patagonia
August 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with this jacket! Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us under warranty and let us know if you have any questions.

August 11, 2019

Excellent Rain Jacket

I bought this to use as a casual rain jacket. I live in Florida, and in the summer it pretty much rains every day. I just keep it in my car 24/7. It keeps me bone dry, and the pit zips are a nice touch for when its hot, which is also every day. Ive bought cheaper rain jackets that will keep you just as dry, but I could never wear them in the heat. ... Read MoreAlso, the head tightener thing on the hood is really cool too.

August 10, 2019

Perfect

Light weight, fast drying, takes up little room in backpack. I especially like the breathability, a welcome change.

August 10, 2019

m's stretch rainshadow jacket xl

xl was way too large. (my xl micro puff jacket fits perfectly) exchanged it @ denver store for a large, which is much tighter, hope I can layer under it. I've always had similar problems with sizing.

August 10, 2019

Bbcruiser

A.well designed jacket that delivers results as promised!

August 10, 2019

Nice and Light

Keeps rain off and very breathable

August 10, 2019

Love the stretch rain jacket

I bought the stretch rain jacket for all the family for our hiking vacation in Alaska. It’s easy to stuff into your pack, yet comes out looking smooth. There is no annoying crinkle sound with this raincoat. It blocks wind and rain and looks good while doing its job.

August 7, 2019

Nice, but could improve

A quality jacket, waterproof and fairly lightweight and packable. Yet even though I also have the Pluma Jacket in the same size and fit, this one is baggy on me. The pit zips could be easier to work too. The stretch is great, but could be more breathable, 3.5 stars.

June 10, 2019

Incredible fabric

It's been humid and rainy in the Virginia mountains almost every day the past week, and so far the jacket is everything I hoped it would be: waterproof, very breathable and light and packable while still feeling durable. Where it really shines though is the fabric. I've never worn anything like it in a rain shell. It's definitely sof... Read Moret and stretchy,, but I think the real difference is the slight crinkle it has. You have to look close to see it, but the fabric isn't shiny or smooth; it has a texture that reminds me of a bit of crepe. This keeps it from sticking to the skin, wet or dry, and gives it a feeling of airiness I've never felt in a jacket before. Put it this way: When I move, the fabric doesn't feel like its sitting on my skin, but floating just above it. Also, if it keeps raining, that's fine by me. ;) I'm 6'4", 195lbs. and the large is perfect.

June 5, 2019

Love this jacket

I love this jacket. I can wear it climbing, backpacking, or in the city and feel comfortable and dry. I typically don't wear technical pieces in the city but this one, especially in black, works well. With respect to size: I usually don't where much Patagonia. I have always appreciated the quality of the clothing and the customer service ... Read Morebut it usually just doesn't fit me well. If the chest is right, the arms and length are too long, if the arms and length are right, the chest is too tight. The sizing in this model seems to be a bit different than standard Patagonia. A couple of other reviewers have mentioned this. For me, this is great news as this piece fits me well. I did need to size down one size from my usual size though. Another reviewer criticized the piece and more broadly the brand for catering too much to technical pursuits (read: helmet compatible hoods). I say keep up the good work! Some of us need quality technical clothing and that's what Yvonne started this company for in the first place. Thank you for staying true to your roots!

May 28, 2019

Amazing!!

My husband purchased this jacket from a retailer near us for a fishing trip to the Florida Keys. Despite the 90° days, he wore it every day because it helped with the wind and kept him dry from the spray from the ocean. He said it was extremely breathable and may be the nicest rain jacket he has ever owned. He also likes that it’s very stretchy. We... Read More live in Minnesota where the summers are hot and humid, and they are predicting higher than normal amounts of rain this year. We will be going to Costa Rica in January, South Carolina in October, so this jacket will be going along.

May 12, 2019

I have too many jackets

I’m really into small jackets that disappear into my knap sack for travel and just getting around the city. I now have Houdini, Alpine Houdini and Rainshadow Stretch. RS is 2x the stuffed size of Alpine Houdini and probably 3x the stuffed size of Houdini. But the flexibility the pit zips and pockets afford make it the one that I carry most. It’s mo... Read Morere durable than the Houdini and more comfortable than the Alpine Houdini, however i’d describe it as heavily/moderately rain resistant not water proof. If you really need to stay dry for more than a few minutes of rain, you need a real shell.

May 11, 2019

Rain Shadow

Lightweight and stretch is great!!

May 8, 2019

STRETCH RAINSHADOW JACKET

Initially thought the hood was a bit too big since it's also made to wear over a helmet, but got used to it. Would be great if it was detachable or could be rolled up more securely into itself when using the jacket in dry conditions or for traveling. Otherwise, great jacket, Patagonia is by far the best company with the best products!

May 8, 2019

Rainshadow Jacket

Great rain-repellant shell that replaces an old non-Patagonia favorite. Where it falls short of perfect for me is the bulky, awkward hood with an ill-imagined storage design. It ends up half-way deployed when fastened down. 99.9% of your buyers of this jacket do not wear it all the time over a climbing helmet, so leave it big for when needed but fu... Read Morelly storable when not. In fact, I would guess that the vast majority of your customer are not technical climbers, and that you should make sure you care for the segment of your customer base so that you do not lose it. I have been a long-time Patagonia customer, and my feeling is that you do not do as good a job now of straddling your customer base in this way as you used to. Incidentally, I just returned a vest that I had bought at the same time as the Rainshadow jacket. The collar was so high that it was uncomfortable on my cheeks (the clerk who seved me at your Seattle store said others have said the same thing). Not all of us are climbing in the Annapurnas with need for such a construction. Hope this helps. Love Patagonia. Love us all back.

May 8, 2019

Mens Stretch Rainshadow

Really like it, was looking for something to replace a NF jacket, this one is flexible and much quieter, packs down for backpacking and is great for daily wear, I’m 6’5” and the XL fits great sleeves and body are plenty long!

May 8, 2019

Patagonia Rocks

This jacket is great. Unfortunately, I wore it skiing in Colorado and a small rip showed up between the zipper and the vest pocket. I was sad because I loved everything about it for active outdoor sports. I took it to the Patagonia store in St. Paul when I got back from vacation. The store team member looked it over, agreed it wasn't abused an... Read Mored gave me a new one. Same color and same great fit. Since then I've worn it in rain and wind in the Minnesota spring and it sheds water like a duck. I love Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

Fit is awful

Patagonia missed the mark with the Rainshadow. Primarily, the sizing is unbelievably bad. I tried it on and was shocked at how large the fit was, and there was so much extra material in both the arms and body. Also, I was disappointed in only seeing one review posted to Patagonia's site that praised the product, but Google reviews show a ton o... Read Moref customers complaining about poor fit and lack of it being waterproof. I was looking forward to a quality waterproof jacket in a great colorway, but instead, I will be returning it for a different product. Get the fit dialed in and test again for leaks and you will have a great product.

May 8, 2019

Nice jacket but returned it.

Nice jacket but returned it. Cut changed from previous purchases and now too big! Arms too long, Tails too long, bigger around chest. Too bad I really needed a new rain coat

Response from Patagonia
May 22, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the new fit. Please let our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team know if you have any questions regarding your return.

May 8, 2019

Sweetness

Hard shell that feels like a soft shell. The tuckable hood is a little sloppy, so I don't use it, but the jacket works fine as a hoodie.

May 8, 2019

So far, so good!

I've had the jacket for about 3 weeks now. I really like the fit and it's held up well in light rain. Lots of great features. I especially like the design of the hood, which can accomodate climbing and bike helmets, on the one hand, and close in tight like a turtle shell when necessary.

May 8, 2019

Just what I wanted

Fit is perfect. Lightweight and waterproof

April 8, 2019

Great Shell

I love this jacket! Going to Zion this week and was.looking into a rain jacket that is wind resistant, that stretches and breaths. I had a gortex shell but it stuck to my skin with all the moisture it trapped inside. This jacket also a regular fit that gives me oom for layering when things set a little.chilly. Most of the athletic fit jackets I&#x2... Read More7;ve tried we're too tight. Did I mention this is a great jacket?

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches