Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Stretch Rainshadow Jacket

Write Your Review

4.56 /5

Filter Reviews

All 54 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Stretch Rainshadow Jacket

4.56
True To Size
June 26, 2020

Great rain jacket

This jacket keeps me perfectly dry during Floridas torrential downpours. It is light weight and the stretch allows me to move freely. I would buy it again.

June 17, 2020

Great jacket

Love this jacket. Very lightweight and well made. Really great quality material. I throw it in my bag instead of umbrella.

June 17, 2020

Great rain jacket for hot weather and big downpours

Great rain jacket. I live in Florida so needed something light that will also keep me dry in the downpours. This jacket does both. Ive taken it biking and also out fishing in the keys. It kept me dry and cool (as much as you can when its mid 80s, humid and raining). The stretch really helps since Im still moving when it rains and the stretch keeps ... Read Moreit comfortable.

December 10, 2019

Dry as a Bone

Though I haven't worn this jacket for hours in a torrential downpour, it has kept me perfectly dry while out and about in heavy rain. It fits perfectly, even over my light weight down jacket with a light sweater underneath. It moves comfortably with me, and is the perfect weight. I like the pockets and packability.

December 9, 2019

Awesome!

Patagonia is the best store you can buy from. They love their products as much as I do as the consumer. I am so excited to wear my new rain jacket.

December 7, 2019

Jacket as advertised

Jacket as advertised

December 4, 2019

Fits well good features

All the features you need to stay vented and dry, this one is worth the price. I am particularly fond of the armpit vents. Keeps you dry in a rainstorm, like it should. This jacket isn't the most stylish, but that's not what its for, so get over it ;)

December 4, 2019

Stretch rainshadow

Love this jacket! I just had to have another one in a different color! Super lightweight comfortable and slides over everything I'm wearing as a great outer shell that's windproof and waterproof and still breathable. It really seals my layering system perfectly.

December 2, 2019

Let it rain

Great rain jacket. Perfect fit .. well made .. looks good .. what else can be said? Buy one..

December 2, 2019

Great fit

Great fit

December 2, 2019

Great so far!

I've worn the jacket in some light winter rains so far and it has been effective in repelling rain. I wear a size small, and have been wearing my Patagonia synthetic down jacket underneath since it has been cold, and the jacket is large enough to accommodate the base layer which is convenient.

December 1, 2019

Awesome jacket

I love how light weight it is. Perfect as a shell or for a nice run

December 1, 2019

Thoughtful design

I needed something that was truly waterproof but didn’t felt sticky on my skin. The design is very thoughtful and I love all the details. I normally wear a medium but got a large so it goes over my coats on rainy or snowy days. This does the trick perfectly!

November 30, 2019

Flawless as always!

Best gear! Best staff! Best longevity and wear of each and every product! Customer service is top notch! Each and everyone I have dealt with has been more than helpful and pleasant, they must be treated very well in their work environment, and it shines! Thanks Patagonia!!!

November 28, 2019

Great color! Super comfortable.

Great color! Super comfortable.

November 28, 2019

Love the stretch

This is my favorite rain jacket. I love the stretch and the small fits perfectly even over several layers. Light weight so I can use it on the trail as well as around town.

November 26, 2019

GORGEOUS

Wow. This jacket is so well made. It's just gorgeous! Very soft- not super stiff and uncomfortable. It's very breathable- not sweaty. I would order again.

November 25, 2019

Love It!!!!

Light weight, comfy and water proof

November 25, 2019

Rainjacket

Fit well. Sleeves were a little long for me, but the straps at the wrist solved that problem easily.

November 23, 2019

Great rainjacket

Will wear this all the time-- H2NO and great in hot or cold weather. easy pack for hiking. I have medium as well as large (Large good for backpacking)

November 23, 2019

Great comfortable attractive rain jacket

The bright blue color brightenes up any gloomy wet rainy walk !

November 23, 2019

Nothing I expected-quality is like

Nothing I expected-quality is like a cheap windbreaker

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

We're sorry to hear this jacket isn't what you expected. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us. If you'd like a thicker jacket, check out the [Calcite](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-calcite-jacket-for-alpine-climbing/84996.html).

November 22, 2019

I liked it so much

I liked it so much

November 21, 2019

As other reviewers mentioned it

As other reviewers mentioned it runs small through the hips but otherwise it was a good fit. I haven't had the chance to try in the rain to evaluate how good the waterproofing is.

November 21, 2019

All around protection

We bought these mainly to wear over our puffy hoodies for an end of December trip to Germany and Austria, where we expect wet and cold weather. So far, though, we’ve used them alone as simply rain jackets...an,d they’ve performed admirably.

November 21, 2019

Very pleased

Know I will throughly enjoy this rain jacket! It is very light, easily fit over another layer and packable to carry and have with you for an unexpected rainfall.

November 21, 2019

light and effective

This is the best light weight rain shell ever! Great selection of colors too. It's a staple clothing item for sure.

November 20, 2019

Almost

Jacket was almost perfect. Color(Mako Blue), size(XL 5’10 170 lbs trail runner) and stretch but had to constantly pull it down and away from my neck. Returned jacket:(

November 20, 2019

Light but strong....

Hangs nice...Light weight Really Really like it.

November 20, 2019

Stretchy and light weight rain jacket

This jacket has worked well for me so far. It's definitely a regular fit (vs. slim) which is fine with me since it's very much a shell and will need something layered under it for cold weather + rain. Water proof so far, and the hood is big enough for a helmet, but easily scrunches down to fit my head. No complaints so far! For reference,... Read More I ordered a M and I'm 5ft 7in and 140lbs.

November 15, 2019

Love this jacket!

Very good quality jacket, nice looking and works really well.

November 11, 2019

All Hail the Rainshadow

This jacket is a MUST! I've recently been without it for a few months now and can say I miss it and have been thinking about it. I've owned this jacket for about 5 years now and have worn it daily in the rainiest areas of the Oregon, the mountain peaks of Alaska, and the rainforests of Maui. It has without a doubt proven to be extremely w... Read Moreaterproof and durable. I love how lightweight it is, makes packing it away in a day pack simple. I've also worn this on warmer spring skiing days and works well for that too. I'm 5'7, 145lbs, with a curvy + athletic build and a medium was a great fit. I choose the medium so I could wear my down sweater or nano puff under it in colder weather.

November 3, 2019

Water proof

Love the fit, feel and color ... but hate the hood ... needs to be removable

October 31, 2019

Great features

The rainshadow is light, fits well, hood fits great as it’s adjustable and has lots of functional pockets. What more can you ask for!

October 8, 2019

Rainwear

I love my new jacket, however I think it runs a little snug, even with the added "stretch" I am 5' 2" and 14/16 in most clothes.

October 7, 2019

Lightweight and breathable!

Switched to this jacket for Washington during my PCT thru hike. I wore it everyday for the month and it rained or snowed for 75% of the state. This jacket was perfect to layer with a down jacket and I wasn’t worried about my layers underneath getting wet. The fabric dries insanely fast so i could hang it up under my tarp at night and it would be re... Read Morelatively dry in the morning which did not happen with the rain jacket I used before. The pit zips and fabric make it super breathable. I also really liked having 3 pockets... it adds extra weight but I like to be able to put my phone in my chest pocket while hiking and have hip pockets to keep my hands warm.

September 30, 2019

Wanted to love it, but not waterpoof!

This jacket seems to be getting about 50/50 between reviewers who are completely satisfied and those who've been disappointed to find their nice new "rain jacket" is not actually waterproof. Unfortunately I find myself in the second group - so disappointed, because it does have some great features. The fabric seems is lightweight wit... Read Moreh a little stretch, and I love the color (cobalt) and fit. But, and this is kind of a dealbreaker, every time I've worn it in even light rain for more than a few minutes, it wets through across the shoulders and on the sleeves. Unfortunately I bought it from REI just over a year ago, but didn't wear it until the last few months (winter in interior Alaska), so I'm probably out of luck on returning it.

Response from Patagonia
October 10, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) under our Ironclad Warranty.

September 17, 2019

Ridiculous collar

I lost my Patagonia rain jacket. This jacket has a ridiculous collar that will not lay flat and is always creeping up to cover my face. I sent it back

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

We're sorry to hear this jacket didn't work out! Please [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions regarding your return.

August 15, 2019

Best light weight travel rain/wind

Best light weight travel rain/wind jacket and worked well through Montana brief rain storm!

August 14, 2019

my favorite rain jacket

I love this jacket. I only recently replaced mine because it de-laminated. Apparently wearing sunblock and lotion without washing the jacket for a few months wears it down over time. The stretchy material is great for range of motion though! Aside from the de-lamination, the only other downside is how big the hood is, as it's meant for wearing... Read More over a helmet. Despite all this, I still recommend it because it packs down into it's own pocket for easy transport, and keeps me very dry in heavy rain.

August 10, 2019

Great jacket

Fits well and breathable. I’m 6’ and the length in the body and sleeves is perfect. Great product

August 10, 2019

I have only used it

I have only used it once in a 20 minute heavy rainstorm. Everything covered by the jacket stayed dry. It feels and looks good.

August 10, 2019

Great rain jacket

The jacket is great! Light enough to layer if needed. I LOVE the ability to tighten the hood. It keeps the rain from tricking inside the coat.

July 20, 2019

Lightweight ...

I liked the lightweight packability of this jacket, but the hood design is off. When you stuff the hood in the pocket, it comes out deformed and doesn't go back into a usable shape. It was frustrating to me, so I returned it (thanks to Patagonia's awesome return policy). I was disappointed that it didn't work for me. The cut is prett... Read Morey slim, so if you want to wear it with layers, keep that in mind.

June 21, 2019

Not waterproof

I'm surprised to hear all the great reviews of this jacket. Maybe I got a bad batch, but this jacket was not waterproof. It soaked completely through during a light rain. It's cute and lightweight, but, well, mine was not a rain jacket at all. I'm exchanging it for a Torrentshell.

Response from Patagonia
June 21, 2019

We're sorry to hear about the issue you had with this jacket. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) team if you have any questions regarding our return process.

June 2, 2019

LOVE this jacket

I'm so surprised to see other reviews on here with issues on curvy women. I'm very curvy and I absolutely love this jacket. I'm short and have short arms, but I can adjust the sleeves at the wrist so the sleeves aren't hanging too long. Everything is fantastic quality. I love the solid zipper. I also love the hood's ability... Read More to adjust to different sizes. I've worn it cinched up to my head, but in one circumstance, I was outside in cold, rainy temperatures for an entire day so I wore a bulky stocking hat under the hood. I was able to adjust the sizing so the hood still went over my head. On the cold, rainy day I wore this jacket all day, every single part of me was wet except what this jacket covered. It's wind resistant, so I wore it almost every day in the spring. I also love the look of it overall. Can't recommend it enough.

May 15, 2019

Love this rain jacket

Lightweight, breathable, great stretch. Color is beautiful. Hood is very large, great if going over a helmet.

May 14, 2019

Awesome Jacket

I love my new rain jacket. I live in Chicago and recently took it to Costa Rica. It's lightweight, breathable and does a great job keeping rain off my body. I highly recommend this jacket and have worn it just about every day since it arrived.

May 14, 2019

excellent rain jacket

Recently used it in Scotland - loved it - great in rain and for wind. packs easily - and looks good too!

May 11, 2019

This jacket is the best traveler!!

I just took my Rainshadow with me to Scandinavia and it packs up nice and small, as well as looking good too! It is lightweight and kept the wet at bay. I love the adjustability of the hood and the pit zips are brilliant design addition to an already useful jacket. I HIGHLY recommend this jacket!!

May 8, 2019

Item was returned. Very nice

Item was returned. Very nice feel, the fit was to tight in the hips. Thanks

May 8, 2019

Not right for Curves

The jacket functionality, protecting from rain, works great. The fit is not for women with curves. I purchased a size up to fit my hips and the rest of the jacket is too big in my shoulders, arms, and chest. The style was not offered in the more curvy style for women.

May 8, 2019

Macu Picchu

Hiiked 4 days on the Inca Trail in the Rainshadow jacket. Remained dry in the rain with plenty of room to move freely and to layer a vest and fleece for warmth

May 8, 2019

Not practical for advertised use

I wear petite so I can't go larger than a regular small in a jacket without drowning in fabric. This jacket was too thin (no warmth), too tight in the underarms and shoulders (no room for extra layers) and way too short for a rain jacket (doesn't cover backside). It would be fine as a fashion statement but not suitable for hiking on West ... Read Morecoast of Ireland in rain and wind. What happened to good quality hiking jackets with bells and whistles like inside waterproof pockets. I'm 5' and weigh 105 pounds, no way the model is 5'9" and wearing a small.

Response from Patagonia
May 31, 2019

Susan, we are sorry to hear that the jacket didn't work out for you. We are always happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) or [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) the product for something else. Please feel free to reach out to us directly at [Customer Service](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) and one of our Product Gurus will gladly get you into the right fit and style gear for all of your adventures.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches