burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Grade VII Down Parka Reviews

Write Your Review

4.9/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 33 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Grade VII Down Parka

4.9/5
True To Size
September 2, 2022

A Masterpiece of Engineering

I just wanted to write in that I have this Parka in Blue and Black. I wanted both because they are just so incredibly well-made. Without question these are for the coldest of conditions, and truly defeat the wind and cold. I really decided to never be cold again during winter some years ago, and these parkas are at the pinnacle of my warm weather c... Read Moreollection. A+

May 19, 2022

One and Done!

I was questioning the price of the coat at first. Once you see Patagonia gear in action or use it when its to be used, this is when you feel what youre paying for. Never have I been disappointed with any product Patagonia makes.

May 4, 2022

Inuit tested and approved

Used the Grade VII on a 10 day photography expedition on Ellesmere Island in the Canadian high arctic. Temps generally ranged from -10 to -30 F, and a couple days around -35, but the Grade VII took it in stride. Probably the best recommendation for the jacket is how excited one of the Inuit hunters that guided us was when I left it with him.

March 11, 2022

Extreme situations require extreme gear

I predominately use this jacket as a safety tool for backcountry skiing and touring. Its essentially a "sleeping bag" for any time I should be caught in bad weather, get lost or need to assist someone in an emergency. Here's my list of requirements the jacket had to meet... Warm - this jacket is extremely warm. I've warn it in ... Read Moreconditions well below zero (-20f so far) and I simply do not get cold. Packable - for being such a large jacket when deployed, I'm impressed with how well it packs down. I usually carry it in my touring pack which isn't a big backpack. It fits well and allows for other essential gear to be packed along with it. Lightweight - The parka is 1.4 lbs whereas my NanoPuff is 1 lbs. Very impressed that the parka is only 0.4 lbs heavier and is a much bigger jacket Fit - I originally bought a large as I need the jacket to potentially fit over several layers. However the large ended up being way too big and I exchanged for a medium which has been perfect. Jacket Systems - the jacket must maneuver with me in situations and provide essentials like... chest pockets that are big enough to actually put things in; inside mesh pockets to dry wet gear; helmet compatible hood; pockets to keep hands warm. This jacket provides all of these, something I've not found in many... especially the mesh pockets for drying things while I wear it. Durability - So far so good. I've not had any breakdown of material and no repairs to date. Time will be the test.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2022

We appreciate your thoughtful and very detailed feedback on everything from fit and sizing to features and performance. Thanks for the review, Ryan!

February 20, 2022

Warmest jacket ever

I was fantasizing about a warm jacket while freezing my butt of on a chairlift one especially cold weekend in the Northeast. I googled warmest jacket and came upon this purchased an xs (I usually order womens small because Im broad shouldered), it was way too big so reordered xxs- perfect. Its like someone described- a warm hug. Its light, its war... Read Morem on the coldest days when everyone else stayed home or called it a day due to weather. Im the only ok on the chairlift no longer complaining about how cold I am. SO WORTH IT! Patagonia: please make a womens version of this with more true to size womens sizes and brighter colors. Id buy another one in orange or yellow or bright green in a heartbeat!

January 30, 2022

Wonderfully light and super warm!

I live in NYC and wanted the warmest jacket for the cold winters we have here. When I went to Patagonia to purchase the jacket, a couple of the salespeople told me the jacket was overkill for walking around the city, that its intended for much colder weather. I totally disagree. Ive never felt that the jacket was too warm, its perfect! Incredibly l... Read Moreight and comfortable and so warm. Its honestly an investment piece. Ill never need a warmer, sporty, casual jacket.

January 22, 2022

Warmest, puffiest jacket of them all

This thing is the bees knees, and worth every penny. It's my go-to jacket for cold days.... Throw it over long undies and you're ready to go. It's like a warm winter hug that performs in the coldest of temps. Highly recommended!

January 20, 2022

Great Jacket

Not too much to complain about with this jacket. I've used it camping in -5 F and it kept me toasty warm. Super packable and windproof. I love how large the zippered chest pockets are. Fit is accommodating for extra layers. Drop pockets are a nice detail to have. Makes you look like a marshmallow but if you're using it in the correct temp... Read Moreerature range, odds are you won't run into too many people. My only complaint is the fact that I bought a brand new factory sealed Andes Blue color jacket, and it does not look brand new. I'm not sure if the jacket just slipped through quality control of what the heck happened. There are countless black "ink" smudges and discoloration all over the jacket which is a shame because the color is beautiful. I did not buy directly through Patagonia, but I did buy it through an authorized retailer. I still love the jacket, but at this price point, I'd expect a little more quality control.

January 15, 2022

Amazing!!! Need I say more?

This jacket is amazing. I own tons of Patagonia clothes and this is the cats meow. This is hands down my favorite. My upper half doesnt even know what cold is when this jacket is on me. Its not cheap but perfection never is. When I put if on and walk outside, I feel like Im in a warm bubble. I did get it on a super discount which helped me justify ... Read Moreit but knowing what I know now, I would be willing to pay full price. Now if only they had pants that matched the jackets performance. Hint hint Patagonia. Tested at 3 degrees so far.

January 4, 2022

Excellent Product

Like all Patagonia products this is excellent. It is exceptionally warm/hot. It is truly meant to be worn in zero degree weather and below. Above 10 degrees it may be too warm for the active hiker or backcountry skier. That said, it is an exceptional product!

January 3, 2022

Warmest Parka I have ever owned

I am a ski pro and spend many hours standing outside. I have owned many parka in my life time and I thought I had a couple that I would classify as best, however that was until I purchased Patagonia's Grade VII, it is the BEST Period! Probably the warmest parka I will ever need!

December 19, 2021

Excellent zipper!

This coat has a zipper that is so easy to start and zip up. That can be hard to find in a coat, and this zipper works great.

December 19, 2021

Super warm! Comfy

This jacket is super warm and lets you move easily. It shields your forehead and chin and neck from the wind. It is so comfortable to move around in with no restriction in your arms. It is windy and cold in Chicago and perfect when you are slender and need to stay warm. Best coat I've ever owned!

December 12, 2021

Super warm, super light!

Warm, roomy, light and well made. Its so comfortable its almost like not wearing a winter coat.

December 6, 2021

Perfect Artic Coat

This coat was amazing! I took it on a trip to Alaska with arctic temperatures from -30 to -40 (note: worn in these temps for hours at a time). This coat was lightweight, warm, and compact. I was never cold or disappointed.

December 5, 2021

Very warm, lightweight. Noisy in the cold.

I was looking for a replacement Arctic parka and liked the weight and design of this coat. It has the design features we look for to stay warm in extreme cold. It is labeled for men. I usually wear a women's small but found the mens medium more comfortable, primarily because this coat is cut narrow in the hip. Ive worn the coat at -35 degrees ... Read MoreF and it does the job, so Im happy. Many down parkas just arent warm enough at that temperature. I also like all the pockets, the nice hood, and light weight. The color will stay in style. My only complaint is that even at -25 F, the coat rustles and crackles like a potato chip bag. The noise is annoying and detracts from the quiet of the outdoors. I would be happy to test new versions of this parka if someone wants to redesign it to be more quiet in the cold.

November 29, 2021

Unbelievably warm.

Love this jacket. Its like wearing a sleeping bag. Super warm in the coldest conditions. Seem pretty durable too.

November 22, 2021

Very warm and highly technical jacket

This is a great jacket. The baffled stitching ensures there are no cold spots anywhere on this jacket, other puffy jackets just dont compare. Im 60, 195lbs, 43 chest, and 35 sleeve length; athletic build. I originally bought the medium, since most of my Patagonia jackets are medium (nano puff and micro puff jackets)but on this medium, the sleeves w... Read Moreere about 2 too short and the chest was tight when I raised my arms. Switched to a largeits a tiny bit more roomy, but perfect, as this is a technical jacket that should in now way inhibit movement. I bought the blue, its bright, and perfect for my mountaineering adventures. Highly recommended.

September 22, 2021

Lived in it on Denali

My guides on Denali were very skeptical of this jacket during our gear check. In fact, the advised me to bring an extra puffy just in case. I suppose it's because they were expecting one of the staple 8000m parkas, but in the end, this jacket no only confirmed what I assumed would be true but also made believers out of them. Everything about t... Read Morehe jacket is amazing. Can't recommend it enough.

August 17, 2021

Best of the best

This is hands down (no pun intended) the best puffy I've every had. Much worth the price. Keeps me VERY warm and its SUPER light weight! 10/10

April 22, 2021

Spectacularly comfortable

While I look like a mouse in a house inside this jacket, the only downside is how hard it is to let go and take it off! Its so very light and toasty. Thanks Patagonia.

March 4, 2021

Super Warm and Light

Very impressed with the warmth of this jacket. It has a great warmth to weight ratio. Fit of the hood to the ease of access pockets to the zippers that work with mittens are some of my favorite features.

February 21, 2021

Extremely warm

Great for the extremely cold days skiing the east ! Also light and perfect for back country.

February 18, 2021

Warm but Light

This parka it definitely worth it. It makes zero and below weather seem balmy.

February 2, 2021

Amazingly warm for the weight

Got this jacket for winter camping and mountain hiking and snowshoeing. I LOVE it! yes there are warmer parkas in existence but none that are this light and compact. I use it for all my winter hiking and camping trips. I did get it on sale, and otherwise I would not have been able to afford it, but if you have the dough you won't be disappoint... Read Moreed. It's too big on me (I got size large from the sale rack) but I really don't care! The extra room means I can wear it over anything and everything, or use it as emergency bivy gear.

January 22, 2021

Incredibly warm. Great jacket

Feels so good just putting it on. Best jacket I have ever owned. So warm. So comfortable.

January 17, 2021

Worlds BEST parka

Dreamy. This jacket is like climbing into a cloud. I love the baffles running along the zipper, the double insulated pockets, and the long tail of the parka to keep your butt warm. Id take this thing to Antarctica or K2 in the winter. I would love to try it out with Patagonias hybrid half sleeping bag system. Hands down my favorite cold weather jac... Read Moreket, highly recommended for all

December 22, 2020

Incredible warmth and very light!

Incredible Warmth. The Nor Easter hit NJ the other day so wore this for first time since purchase and had a t-shirt under it. At 18F felt like I might as well be inside with just the t-shirt as the weight was negligible while the warmth felt in the 70s! Very light - it's airy light like a Fitz Roy from c. 2007 and you're in a cloud. Fi... Read Moret is spot on; I'm a M in Patagonia since being adult and not one piece, not even this one, has fit wrong in any way. Not this time, universe! Pockets: Love the two chest pockets for a phone and sunglasses while preserving the outer pockets to hold gloves and the inners for a wallet or if your gloves are wet put them there. This will be the go-to Winter parka for precipitation days while a Gore Tex one will be used if precipitating. It's not like this is not going to shed moisture, but ultimately unless you need this to be for alpine low weight, DWR wears away and has to be re-applied.

December 17, 2020

warm but more

this is not the warmest jacket i have ever tried but it's by far the lightest for the warmth. it's also incredibly well built and thought out. i wish it was about 2 ounces more of down but you can layer if needed. it really molds itself to you and fits better than anything i have ever tried. it's so comfortable to wear for long perio... Read Moreds. i got one for an end of season sale discounted (in red) and it was well worth it. especially considering the warranty, so you know it will last forever. i love patagonia for this reason.

December 3, 2020

Absolutely the best cold weather jacket

After spending a couple winters in Minnesota and seeing -40 weather, I never want to be cold again. I am used to layering to stay warm, but this jacket does it all and is light weight as a bonus. Construction is great, fit is great and it is warm. Anytime the temp is 30 or less, this is it for me. Weather it is to go skiing, out to dinner, or just ... Read Moreto walk the dogs, I throw this on and instant comfort. This will be the last cold weather jacket I buy in my life, it is that good.

November 10, 2020

Very warm, light

Bring back the red color! Black and blue don't cut it. My only real complaint is that the material is not incredibly rugged, but that does save on weight. Vast improvement on the Fitz Roy Parka.

October 26, 2020

Insanely warm

Ive owned this jacket for a few months now and boy was it worth it. I had to skip 2 months of rent and my children are hungry and we also got our electricity turned off. This jacket was perfect for us to huddle up in to keep warm. My wife is also leaving me but she wont be able to get this jacket in the divorce. Any way, totally worth all $900, ver... Read Morey warm.

October 1, 2020

Wearable sleeping bag!

Took the Grade VII dog sledding in Greenland and while the temps were reativley balmy at --5 F, we were sitting on the sled for most of the day and the Grade VII still kept me plenty toasty. And if my opinion isn't enough, the Inuit hunter that guided us was VERY pleased to get the jacket in appreciation for welcoming us into his land and comm... Read Moreunity.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches