Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Calcite Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 88 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Calcite Jacket

4.5/5
Kinda Large
October 10, 2021

Light comfortable and dry

I bought this jacket one size larger than needed on purpose. I use it daily guiding fly fishing on a river that requires a pfd. I have used it in some of the heaviest jungle downpours in the Amazon cloud forest and it has never let me down.

October 5, 2021

Sheds the water like a new wax job!

Its truly impressive the waterproofing of this jacket. Im 511 170lbs and bought a M. It fits nice and looks good.

September 28, 2021

Keeps me dry!

I bought this jacket for all around use, but also for fishing trips. I went on a trip last week and fished in the rain all day... this jacket kept me dry! It is also very comfortable and fit me perfectly.

September 27, 2021

Total protection

I purchased 2 Calcite jackets for me and my husband and they came in quite handy during torrential rain storms while away. Very comfortable, breathable and protective.

September 16, 2021

Great lightweight rain protection

Great weight, great quality

September 15, 2021

Great jacket

I have to say, Im very impressed with Patagonia. This Jacket is amazing. One of the reasons it is amazing is it was a replacement for a jacket that I had sent in for repair. They couldnt repair the original so they sent me a full credit for the original jacket. Amazing! Not only was this jacket cheaper than the previous jacket it actually is better... Read More. My last jacket did not have a visor on its hood which made it quite unsatisfactory in heavy rains. This new Jacket has a visor on its hood and is made of Gore Tex. It repels water extremely well and keeps me dry. Im very happy with this jacket.

September 12, 2021

Good for summer and early winter.

An excellent garment. It is waterproof but also provides warmth

September 6, 2021

Nicely Designed, Especially Hood

I'm about 6 feet 2 inches and roughly 175 - 180 pounds. The large fits nicely with some extra room for layering and adequate sleeve length. The jacket's hood and its cord system are really nice. I can close the hood tightly, keep out the rain, and still have an unobstricted view. The jacket's zippers are some kind of "rubbery&... Read Morequot; material which helps keep me and the contents of pockets dry. I wish the coat had internal "drop pockets" that you could use for drying something. My DAS Parka has these and I find them useful. But, maybe internal pockets are hard to include on a rain jackets.

Response from Patagonia
September 15, 2021

Hey Sean! Thanks for the detailed feedback on the fit and features of your rain shell. We designed this one to be light and packable for the lowest weight when facing an Alpine pursuit. For this reason we've left out any inner liner or drop pocket. Hope that clears things up!

August 24, 2021

Love the jacket but not the fit

Like all of my Patagonia clothing, the product quality is great. Unfortunately, also like a lot of my Patagonia clothing, the cut is baggy and not a great fit. It's great for layering over a light weight puffy jacket, but wearing it over a light under layer it feels to big.

August 6, 2021

Foul weather Jacket

For use on the boat/work. Essential gear. Patagonia always comes through.

July 17, 2021

Just not right

Calcite is noisy and feels clamy. I returned the jacket as it did not feel comfortable.

July 14, 2021

The Gore-Tex works extremely well

My brother sprayed me with a hose when I was wearing this coat. When I took off the coat, everything covered by the coat was very dry.

July 10, 2021

Beyond Expectations

True to form for Patagonia, this jacket addresses every need with functional details that go beyond any other jacket Ive ever owned! Extremely breathable, water repellent, and so comfortable you might forget youre wearing it. Awesome product!!

May 13, 2021

Great fitt

I love this jacket material soft and comfortable!!

May 11, 2021

Quality product

Love the velcro on sleeve ends, waterproof zippers.

May 7, 2021

Very nice!

This coat is so nice... I don't even want to wear it.

May 6, 2021

Great Decision

I had a previous stretchier version of this jacket that had a delamination issue. Patagonia swapped it out for the calcite jacket. I like the hood better than the previous one and how this one hangs. I cant find a stow pocket but other than that its a great jacket. Couldnt be happier.

May 2, 2021

Excellent lightweight jacket

I bought this jacket a few weeks ago. For far, I'm very impressed. If you need a warm weather, lightweight, and waterproof jacket, this is an excellent choice.

April 16, 2021

Nice rain jacket, lightweight and packable

Jacket fits nicely! Now I'm waiting for gale force winds and torrential rain to test it out. Wouldn't you know it? Weather in Hawaii has been fine since the jacket arrived.

April 15, 2021

Great Jacket!

I was debating this vs the Triolet and I ended up getting both and replacing other jackets. This is relatively lightweight (compared to the Triolet) but it is still durable. Patagonia functional as well. Im very happy with it.

April 2, 2021

Great cut and lightweight

I purchased two of these. 1 XL and 1 XXL, for everyday use and layering over average clothing, the XL is perfect. The XXL allows a Macro-Puff or Down hoody to have ample room for loft. The hood on both is great and easily fits my Mammut helmet. Oversized interior mesh dump pockets would be a nice addition, for glove storage.

March 28, 2021

buy this coat

Very versatile to layer with this jacket. Can go with a puffy for extra warmth or just a flannel. This jacket, at least in my opinion, was cut to layer. It is a lot roomier than other patagonia products I own, but that to me is the best selling point. I live in the PNW, and I'm out in all conditions. Super easy to throw on and head out the doo... Read Morer in any weather. Bottom line, buy the coat if you are looking for a piece of gear that'll get you through late March to early October.

March 25, 2021

From rain to ocean spray on a flats skiff

Calcite jacket ? Its works! Ive used lightweight Patagonia gortex jackets and pants for years. From Rain squalls to rough ocean rides in a flats boat down to the marquesas keys. As with all gear used in saltwater environment; rinse well with freshwater after use.

March 20, 2021

Super versatile lightweight shell

Didn't quite know if I was getting a raincoat or lightweight gortex shell. Happy to say that it definitely feels more like a packable, rainproof, and breathable shell that I can use for a number of pursuits. That's important because I needed something both for hiking in wet conditions and skiing when the weather doesn't call for me t... Read Moreo pack my bomber shell. This thing is super well built and looks great, with lots of room around the neck. I'm looking forward to having it around for a long, long time!

March 16, 2021

Great All Around Jacket!

This jacket is exactly what I was looking for. It is strong enough to stand on its own or pair it with a mid layer for some added warmth. I use this jacket for just about all kinds of weather. Days on the slope, hiking and backpacking trips or a trip an a cool or rainy day to the grocery store. It is a great weight and packs small. The fit is true ... Read Moreto size and allows for plenty of unrestricted movement. I work as a professional ski patroller and find this jacket to be the perfect piece under my patrol uniform vest! Just an overall great garment.

March 10, 2021

not for layering

As a shell, one would expect the jacket to be sized to accommodate warm layers underneath. This was too small for that.

Response from Patagonia
March 17, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Mens Calcite, we are certainly sorry to hear that it did not work out for you. You are of course welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) any item that does not meet your expectations per our Ironclad Guarantee

March 8, 2021

Great Jacket

Love this jacket and it is so versatile. Living in upstate NY weather conditions change and so far In a week I have used this jacket hiking at 9 degrees Fahrenheit and today it was almost 50 degrees. Just wore the inner liner and it was perfect. Have used the shell when it was sleeting and I love how adaptable it is.

March 4, 2021

Super Light

I'm happy with the shell overall, it's very light and protective at the same time. I'm a little disappointed by its transpirability. I'm experiencing more vapor condensed on the inside than expected. For example, I find my phone completely wet in the chest pocket.

February 28, 2021

Richard

Foggy rainy onion snow dry&warm thanks

February 26, 2021

Versatile through mild and extreme weather - a great travel jacket

I bought an extra large in 2019 to wear for wind and water protection over a down jacket. It worked great - breathes well and stays dry. I liked it so well that I bought a large in a different color this year to fold into my carry on for mild weather travel; it still is roomy enough to add a layer. The quality of the material and the design of my t... Read Morewo jackets are first rate so I highly recommend the Calcite Jacket.

February 26, 2021

Seattleites! Perfect shell for everyday rain, hiking, backpacking, or skiing

Per the title, this jacket fits the bill for a multi-purpose, high quality, great fit, breathable waterproof jacket. I use this every day when walking the dog in the rain, commuting by bike, on weekend hikes/backpacking adventures, and over a fleece or down when skiing or in colder weather. Provides ample protection without being stifling, fits per... Read Morefectly as is or over other layers. Highly recommend.

February 25, 2021

Dry

Perfect for the late rains of winter here in ne Tennessee. Kept my entire top dry with out the sticky condensation.

February 25, 2021

Awesome Shell

Bought this as a replacement rain jacket, but have ben using it as a wind breaker (in addition to a rain jacket). Love it and highly recommend the shell. Reviews indicated it runs large, but it fit me perfectly (with room for a a nano puff, down vest or down jacket underneath).

February 25, 2021

Waterproof and breathable

Love the environmental standards, superior styling and fit, so sturdy. Awesome color. It really holds up well!

February 25, 2021

Nice coat

Purchased to wear as top layer. Worn a few times past week. Seems well made. I used to have shells 20 years ago so it was time to update. Wish hood was smaller since I wont be using a helmet.

February 25, 2021

Always on point!

Superb update to the past model Really great to have the additional chest pocket Really happy with my purchases

February 24, 2021

Top marks!

A large would have fit but needed this as the first line of H2O/ frozen rain defense over all my warm gear so got xl and it works perfectly! It is very minimalist but doesnt pretend to be otherwise. Very happy with it!

February 24, 2021

Nice jacket

Great jacket I love it

February 24, 2021

Outstanding outer layer

Perfect with sweater or sweatshirt underneath even in cold temps

February 24, 2021

Really Good Jacket

Jacket is a touch large, but not as large as other similar jackets. Can layer underneath without issue. Keeps you dry and the wind out. Would be nice if it were a touch thicker for warmth, but again, layers can help out with that. Would recommend.

February 17, 2021

Very Versatile

Protects nicely from wind and rain. Layers easily. Not very warm on its own but with a good base layer its more than enough.

February 14, 2021

Good mid-weight parka

I bought this jacket because I wanted something lighter weight than my 3 ply Goretex Pro shell for Spring and Fall use and also summer trips into the higher elevations. I also wanted something that would compress down smaller for going in my pack. I have a pair of Goretex Paclite pants that have held up well for years and I have glisaded in them a ... Read Morenumber of times. So far I have used this jacket for my daily walks, many in the rain, and general wear around town. Pretty happy with the performance and fit so far. Factory DWR is always good when it's new and usually holds up for one to two years before you have to start treating with a spray on to keep water beading up on the surface. I have only two gripes which may not matter to other people. One is that I would like one more adjustment point on the hood to really dial the fit and keep it moving with my head so that I don't lose visibility when turning my head to the side. The other is that when I wear a pack, which I often do on my daily walks, the hip belt cuts right across the side pockets rendering them mostly inaccessible. You would think that if you are designing a jacket with a helmet compatible hood it would also be compatible with the hip belt on your pack. I do really like the breast pocket which holds my i-phone and pit zips and water proof zipper are a nice bonus. The other thing I like is that it is not over-featured. I hate jackets with too many pockets or that still use storm flaps over the zippers that add unnecessary bulk. This jacket gives you everything you need in a nice streamline fit. Overall I am happy with my purchase, especially for the price. Some of the things I am wishing for may only be available on a more expensive jacket.

February 5, 2021

Restrictive fit

You just never quite know what to expect with Patagonia fit, so inconsistent across products and season. In this case, the jacket fits beautifully ... except its tight in the arm holes and shoulders and therefore too restrictive and uncomfortable to wear as an active shell. Shells need to accommodate movement with comfort. I tried it on with R2 Tec... Read Morehface and Nano Air midlayers and it's just too uncomfortable to reasonably wear for anything except maybe walking down the sidewalk. A large would be way too big. I really hate considering other brands but Patagonia's inconsistent and nonstandard sizing is increasingly causing me to look around (I've been a steadfast customer for >25 yrs ). I've got a fairly normal/thin athletic build and I don't have fit issues with other top high-end brands. But the cost of loyalty to Patagonia is often a compromise on comfort that I'm becoming less willing to accept. Sigh. I was really looking forward to this piece, it's been on my list for a while, so really disappointed to return. One solution might be to introduce an in-between med/large category to close the big gradient between sizes? I'll be the first to try!

Response from Patagonia
February 19, 2021

Hi Willie, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're incredibly sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit you experienced. We really appreciate this detailed review especially coming from a long time customer. We rely on feedback like this in order to improve things for future seasons so we'll pass the suggestion along to our design team.

February 4, 2021

Light but protective

Great jacket to throw in your pack for rain and wind protection. Can be coupled with warmer underlayers for three season use. Quality company and principles equal quality outdoor clothing.

February 2, 2021

Great Jacket But...

I love the feel and fit of this jacket, fits perfectly and the pit zips are a blessing. Unfortunately I lost the jacket after its second use as it fell out of my backpack during a ski tour :(. Sadly I can't purchase this jacket again anytime soon. Will stick with frogg toggs for the foreseeable future. If you can afford this jacket I would def... Read Moreinitely recommend it!!

January 30, 2021

Good looking jacket with great functionality

Bought this as an over shell for my macropuff. Does a great job at keeping me dry and blocking the wind. The new navy color is so crisp. Looks great.

January 28, 2021

Go-to Rain Jacket

I have looked for a go to dedicated rain jacket that I could also wear to the office for years now... and after owning this jacket for the past year I can say for me, its perfect... almost. There are two things that kinda bug me. One, the jacket sheds water well but starts to wet out after 20+ minutes of mild to heavy rain, not the whole jacket jus... Read Moret the parts that see heavy wear. For comparison I have another patagonia gortex pro shell for 7 years and it still bead water after hours of use, as long as its clean. Either way its not a big deal and the parts that do wet out dry quickly. The other small issue I have is the hood. There is no vertical adjustment so it does come down a little too far in my face. I am sure its designed for a helmet, which is great. I just wish it had more adjustments for folks not wearing one. Overall this jacks is super light, very packable, softish exterior fabric, and not too crunchy as far as gortex goes. It is a hair long in my arms when not layering but perfect when I have a light jacket under it. Overall I really enjoy wearing this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
March 2, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on the Men's Calcite Jacket. We'd like to share some notes on care to ensure that your jacket stays fully waterproof: We suggest washing at least a couple times per season. You'll want to machine wash warm, tumble dry low, warm iron, and avoid using fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. A post-wash tumble dry on medium heat will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. Eventually, the DWR finish may lose effectiveness and water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment. The DWR can be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax. As far as the hood is concerned, the cinch cord works for everyday use as well, not just helmets. Feel free to use that for a customized fit! If you try all of the above and find that you were still hoping for more, note that all items are covered by our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee) and you are always welcome to return.

January 26, 2021

One Fixable Flaw

One of my favorite features of this jacket is how there are so many points of adjustment. Being able to tighten the hood is great, especially because it runs large being able to fit a helmet. However, when you pull the hood drawstrings, there is nothing to cinch it down. Whenever I get hit with a gust of wind, or even by looking up, the drawstrings... Read More become slack and the hood falls off my head. While this is irritating, it's a quick fix. In the field, I tied stopper knots. At home, I added cord locks so I could adjust the drawstrings with gloves on. This is the only reason I'm giving the jacket 4-stars. If a newer model did have these cord locks on the drawstrings upon arrival (which it does for its other drawstrings), this would be a 5-star jacket.

January 25, 2021

Upgrade!

I was given a gift card for Christmas so decided I wanted to upgrade my old Patagonia rain jacket. Previous model was super lightweight, but not gore-tex...what a difference!! Im super happy with my purchase. Thanks!

January 19, 2021

Good performance to prevent wind

I use this to casual wear and running and it pretty good performance to prevent wind and right rain.

January 13, 2021

Odd Fit

I found this jacket to be over-sized as other reviews have mentioned. The body and arms were loose as to be expected with a regular fit jacket. The issue for me was in the neck and hood area. There was an abundance of material in this area and it felt balloon like. While this area is able to cinch down so that you can see, I ended up with so much g... Read Moreathered and bunched up material that it was not comfortable and looked odd. I could see how possibly this would be a benefit if you were wearing a helmet, a little extra material in the head/neck area makes for easy hood removal when wearing a helmet in my experience. So, combining the oversized hood and neck with the overall loose fit I'd say this jacket should be marketed as a snow-sport shell only. Lots of room for several base layers and oversized head and neck for easy hood on/off with a helmet. The usual high quality Patagonia materials and craftsmanship, just missed the mark on the pattern and/or what they're marketing this jacket to be used for. I'd say give it a try if you'll only be wearing it with layers and a helmet. If not, you can find a better fit in a different jacket.

January 2, 2021

A well-made rain jacket.

One of the things that I appreciate about Patagonia is the care that they put into the clothing that they make. This jacket seems to be well designed. I like the large pockets and the chest pocket and overall so far I am completely satisfied. I havent worn it a lot in the rain but when I have it seems to function very well. When you live in Oregon ... Read Moreyou need to have a reliable rain jacket. I think this will fit the bill.

January 2, 2021

Thin rain or wind jacket for mild climates.

Very thin, basically a outer shell to be used a rain jacket in mild weather. High quality, but not what I expected.

Response from Patagonia
February 9, 2021

Thanks for your thoughts on our Men's Calcite Jacket. You're correct, this jacket is intended to be used as a shell, so if you're in colder temperatures you would layer up and use this for that waterproofing element. If you were looking for something with insulation as well, we'd recommend checking out our [Men's Stretch Nano Storm Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-stretch-nano-storm-jacket/84331.html?dwvar_84331_color=BLK&cgid=root).

December 31, 2020

Extreme Water/Weather Protection

I bought this jacket for my husband, and he loved it. I was looking for good quality and thin water/weather protection, and this jacket got it all. He already tried it in the snow as well as the rain; all good!

December 28, 2020

Just the right balance of weight and protection

Bought this for mtb/fat biking in the elements. Got a 2 hr ride in tonight ranging from rain/winter mix/ to snow. As well as the reverse on the way back home. Made it home dry and ventilated. Nice mix of fit, stretch, and large pit zips to manage heat and the elements. Nice piece of kit.

November 20, 2020

Excellent Multiple use yet fashionable!

I bought the jacket for my hubby who is 6-ft. He told me he loves the Calcite Jacket Gortex because it is lightweight, durable, wind resistant and above all truly waterproof; where other brands can only claim to be. Patagonias overall look is also fashion forward and polished!

November 19, 2020

Solid Jacket (fits a little bit)

Got this jacket after a previous rain jacket I had failed miserably on a long ride that turned wet fast. Had my friends spray me with the hose to test it out and it passed with flying colors. Its marketed as an up for whatever type jacket with no specific intended use but it definitely has the roomier ski jacket fit. Im an XL for all other Patagoni... Read Morea products but Large would have been the better call for this one. Quality jacket.

November 12, 2020

Too tight

The size runs too small and does not allow for any layering.

November 6, 2020

Great outer layer and rain coat

Like everything from Patagonia, excellent service, excellent design and excellent functionality. I would not mind some additional color options.

September 23, 2020

Great jacket

Great gore-tex jacket for the price. It works as an everyday raincoat but is substantial enough to be used as a snow shell. Im 58 and 155 lbs with an athletic build. I ordered the XS. It fits a bit snug (which I prefer in outdoor clothing) but it still allows for layering underneath. Id imagine the small would feel big, especially in the arms.

September 16, 2020

Too large

Usually I am wearing M but this jacket is too large. The underarm zippers are not necessary, too, and restrict mobility.

Response from Patagonia
November 27, 2020

We're sorry to hear the Men's Calcite Jacket didn't work for you. Please note, you're welcome to return or exchange for a different size. We included pit zips on this jacket to help with breathability. If you're looking for a waterproof alternative without pit zips, please check out our [Men's City Storm Rain Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-city-storm-rain-parka/20700.html?dwvar_20700_color=CSC&cgid=root).

September 4, 2020

Not well made

Very disappointed. Within a few minutes of trying on the calcite jacket, the plastic grip on the hoodie drawstring fell off. What the heck? Premium price for a cheap jacket.

Response from Patagonia
November 10, 2020

Hello Andrew, we're sorry to hear that you experienced some troubles with the Men's Calcite Jacket. It sounds like you received defective product, and your jacket would definitely be covered under warranty. Please reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) so we can help you out.

July 11, 2020

Love it

Awesome lightweight 3layer GT. Living in the Elk Mtn Range of Colorado, you need to be confident in your layers when the temp drops 25 degrees and the down pour turns to hail. Its also burly enough to handle the lighter winter days with proper under layering

June 17, 2020

Great jacket

At 510 190 Athletic build. The size large fits me pretty well. Its perfect to fit a Patagonia puffy sweater underneath with some room to spare . I wish the jacket had water proof pit zips and pockets zips. Also I wish it packed into itself to take up less room in my pack. As a hunting and fishing guide saving room in my pack is priceless and having... Read More a jacket that packs down helps. The jacket has held up good so far. Its kept my dry in some pretty heavy storms. I would recommend it.

June 17, 2020

Perfect all around jacket for rain and cool weather.

I was in need of a jacket that was packable and good for anything nature could throw at me. I found it in the Calcite Jacket. This thing breaths well and is absolutely perfect in wet conditions. Not like some jackets where the water starts to penetrate. This thing will bead water for days. Couldn't be happier with my Purchase.

June 17, 2020

Great Purchase!!

Searched for a raincoat that would stand up to the rain without making me sweat and this thing is perfect! Nice job Patagonia!!

June 17, 2020

Freedom in my rain gear

I took up hiking during the Covid 19 lockdown. Since getting outside for recreation was an acceptable activity, I wanted to take full advantage of each day. This coat let me go hiking in heavy rain (and snow). The fit is great and very adjustable. It has kept me warm and dry. It is now an indispensable part of my day pack.

June 17, 2020

Terrible Fit

Nice jacket, nice features, but poor attention to little detail and fits terrible. Jacket is way to big, arms ridiculously long, but oddly jacket almost is too short. Size chart is wrong for my jacket or maybe its just poor/zero quality control.

Response from Patagonia
June 25, 2020

We are very sorry to hear that this missed the mark for you. We appreciate the feedback on this and encourage you to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us since it's not working out.

June 17, 2020

Calcite Jacket

This was a replacement for my other lite H2no jacket that was easily 6-7 years old . My other jacket served me well and well traveled but unfortunately needed to be replaced. I selected the Calcite - gortex and a little sturdier. So far, the jacket only been exposed to heavy fog (SF) but am certain it will provide the protection required when need... Read Moreed. Appreciate the deep hood w/adjustment to help keep face & glasses dry.

May 30, 2020

Holds Up in Severe Weather

This jacket is great. I work as a photojournalist where the risk of shooting video during inclement weather is just part of the job. I got burned by breaking news one day: my camera had rain gear but I didn't! Immediately after drying myself off, I looked online for some rain gear, found the Calcite Gore-tex jacket from Patagonia and the rest ... Read Moreis history. Fits well, but the zipper needs to be down to put the hoodie over your head. I've worn this all-day during humid days and during downpours and it has literally kept me dry through a 10 hour workday. Highly recommend.

May 18, 2020

Not waterproof

I liked what I heard about Patagonia's environmental policies, and the notion of buying a good product that lasts a while rather than buying cheaper stuff and throwing it away. I was also hoping to get a better quality product by spending a bit more. I bought my jacket last fall, and have only used it sporadically for outdoor activities, so it... Read More's in great shape. Yesterday, I went out for a hike, and got caught in a rain shower (decent rain, but hardly a cloudburst) for about 20 minutes. That was enough for water to start coming through the shoulders of this jacket. Seems kind of underwhelming.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are so sorry to hear that this happened and we greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. You're absolutely correct when you say that our business model is to build long lasting gear that will in turn, result in less consumption of goods. We hope that you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us so we can get you a replacement that will perform to our expectations.

February 24, 2020

Versatile gear

I bought the Calcite because it checked multiple boxes for me. It was my first attempt at buying a nicer shell-only jacket (and also my very first piece of gear from Patagonia!). I wanted something waterproof that I could use for a variety of outdoor adventures and it fit the bill - especially with the close out sale price in a great color. In deci... Read Moreding between a Medium and Large, I went with a Medium so I wouldn't have all the excess fabric when not layering underneath. Still, I was able to wear it over a lightly insulated jacket while skiing and it was very comfortable. I don't think a thicker down jacket would fit under a medium on me but the nano and even macro puff did. The shell was durable enough to hold up to a couple of ski falls but I do wonder if my log walks with skis on my shoulder had a negative effect on the DWR coating. In fact, while my at home spray test showed a few areas near seams wetting out, in the field I've stayed completely dry and windproof thus far (albeit in decent winter conditions). The pit zips were a welcome feature on a warm mountain day and I can't wait to have more reasons to pull this out and wear it.

January 13, 2020

Perfect Shell

I replaced a worn Torrentshell jacket with this. Works perfect, Lighter, dry, correct fit. Patagonia did a great job updated the Torrentshell with the Calcite jacket.

December 29, 2019

Rain?, what rain!!

Excellent lightweight waterproof layer. I’ve needed this essential outer skin for years, and finally got it. Perfect size, breathable Gore-Tex, nice adjustable hood, sweet waterproof zippers all around (even under the pits). Best jacket ever, feel asleep in it on Christmas.

December 7, 2019

Calcite Jacket

This is a gift for my grandson. His Mother looked at the jacket before wrapping. Great color and fit looks perfect.

December 5, 2019

Freaking love this jacket. The

Freaking love this jacket. The best price for Gore Tex around!!

November 26, 2019

very light

surprised by how light a storm jacket can be, great for packing. Improved pit zips from the old style, very pleased with my purchase.

November 22, 2019

Shell yeah baby

This is a bomb proof rain jacket as well as a good Gore shell for touring and resort riding. Fit is great and very lightweight.

November 17, 2019

Beautiful Jacket

Great for wind and rain! Looks fabulous

November 14, 2019

Extremely impressed

I am super impressed with this jacket. It’s 100% waterproof and fits very well. It has giant armpit vents and good pockets. It’s not designed to keep you warm, but it will keep you dry. I am mostly impressed with the ‘ironclad garentee’. I traded in a Patagonia rain jacket that was falling apart and got a credit and was able to buy this one. Very ... Read Morehigh quality and would recommend.

November 11, 2019

Great shell for layering as

Great shell for layering as needed

November 11, 2019

the perfect light weight waterproof

the perfect light weight waterproof jacket I was looking for.

November 5, 2019

Your products never fail to

Your products never fail to impress.

November 5, 2019

Calcite

I haven’t had it long enough to comment on performance much but I really like the fit. I’m 6’0” and 165 lbs and medium fits perfectly.

October 16, 2019

Nicely Made

This is generously cut for layering and has high quality features that justify its price. I stay completely dry while wearing it in the rain.

October 15, 2019

Awesome jacket!

Originally purchased for a shell for AT touring and can’t wait to use it for that but it’s fantastic for hiking in wet weather. Love the full pit vents for staying cool!

September 21, 2019

Best lightweight rain jacket

This is the best lightweight rain jacket I have ever owned. It is fully waterproof even in a downpour. The fit is perfect for daily and activewear. It also has enough room for a climbing or biking helmet. If this thing hold up for the long haul I will never need another jacket.

August 27, 2019

Always a solid choice

I had a jacket that I loved but had seen too many days on the trail. Upgraded to the Calcite and I am stokked. Patagonia remains at the Pinnacle of the industry.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches