Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Pants

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 34 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Nano-Air® Pants

4.7/5
Kinda Large
August 14, 2021

Warm, Comfortable Super Pants

These pants are amazing when the temps drop. They are comfortable like athletic sweat pants, warm like puffy pants, tailored like climbing pants, stretch a little, layer easily and have good pockets. I live in Alaska and bought these pants for basecamping in the high mountains. But I have begun wearing them around the house, ice skating, and brin... Read Moreging them on cold backpacking trips. They are too warm to be worn for high output activities, even without layers, but they are good for low output or sedentary cold weather activities. They are very comfortable, warm, well-made and designed. Yes, they are expensive, but you are paying for quality. Unlike some similar pants, once these pants are on, they are difficult to take off so don't expect to remove them with your footwear on.

April 15, 2021

So Good

Im 6 & 36 waist and the fit on these is great. I live in cold country and wear these Nordic touring, hiking and resort skiing. They keep me warm on the lift and yet dont overheat when Im running or skiing hard in the woods. These are the only winter insulation your legs need.

February 12, 2021

You owe yourself a pair of these..

Instant Love. I have been thinking that my air-nano jacket is the best fabric I've ever owned. And then, I got the air-nano pants. These pants are beyond comfortable, stretch and move with you, and are actively working to keep you at the perfect temperature. These are warming my legs well down into the 20s with no baselayer, and no activity. I... Read More come inside to my 70 degree office and I am just as comfortable, amazing. Elastic at the bottom cuff keeps air out, and the elastic at the waist band fits great (XL, 40" waist, length is luckily perfect too - 6'-0"). No fly, two very deep pockets in front, no pockets in the back. These pants are a wonder of technology. If you love Patagonia gear, you owe yourself a pair of these!

January 26, 2021

Wimpy waist band

Nice pants buy waist band uncomfortable, needs to be wider and a bit thicker. It is showing wear after just a few uses . Also, needs a draw string to secure waist band, hopefully next years model will have these improvements.

January 21, 2021

Odd Fit

Great material and good craftmanship. baggy legs and unusual waist, more like long underwear with a less elastic waist. Would prefer a fit more like my R1s

January 20, 2021

Warm and superconfortable

From lounging at home to hitting the slopes on my snowboard. Thins pants are super comfortable and practical. The size medium fits me really big and the size small a bit tight. Is not just with this particular nano air pant but also with most things Patagonia makes. Hopefully they'll do something about it since lots of reviews reads the same t... Read Morehing as far as sizing goes.

January 15, 2021

Magic

The Nano-Air line is amazing and these pants round out the entire package. 6/190 and L is a little baggy but intended. Highly recommend!!

January 13, 2021

Missing 1 Thing

I've only used these ice climbing so far but will probably use them snowboarding/skiing when the temperature gets cold enough, and I will definitely take them camping. These pants fit nicely and I like the provided pockets. They fit well over a pair of tights and provided good warmth to 0-10 deg. F for ice climbing. My only complaint is that I... Read More wish they had a waist draw cord to dial in the fit better.

January 10, 2021

I'll take two

Solid fit overall and super comfortable due to the pleated groin area. Can be used as a standalone piece or even layering for high alpine adventures. Also, the pockets are nice and upright so things don't fall out as they don't a zipper. Serious feedback!: This is the exact type of layering piece I've been seeking for use under a Go... Read Morere Pro shell pant ski/snowboard pant/bib. It would be ideal to have this made in a 3/4 length boot cut style with the exact same tapered leg closure (same size, don't change a thing as it works well around the calf when pulled up with a ski sock as is). Additionally, a slight slimmer profile could be considered, but might not be necessary to allow for a thin next to skin baselayer if needed. Please!!

January 8, 2021

Wont take them off

My 76 year old father in the Midwest hasnt taken these pants off in a week. What more needs to be said?

January 7, 2021

The only pants you need all winter

Soft warm comfortable

January 3, 2021

Cant take them off

Havent taken these off since theyve arrived. Not too bulky, yet warm enough. Comfortable around the house, under work pants for winter time projects and under waders. I was a little worried about the elastic waistband but it feels really nice and Im hoping it wont get saggy like my capliene base leggings. Im 6 and usually wear a 32 waist and these ... Read Moreare perfect. A great winter transition from my terrabonne joggers

January 3, 2021

Amazing pants

Very light weight wind resistant and warm pants perfect for wearing alone on a cold day run hike or walk Or layering Under my snowboard pants

December 24, 2020

DONT think about it just BUY it

Im 5 foot 11 inches with a 30/31 waist and a 32 inch inseam. These are a perfect fit! if you are a fan of the nano air hoody/jacket than this is a must have. very hard to come by with the corona times, but if its in stock, dont hesitate. i use these for bikepacking and bike touring, and besides a rain shell pants, these are quite literally all you... Read More need for your legs in wet or cold conditions. they have some dwr treatment, theyre super light, and they keep you warm.

December 12, 2020

Best cold weather pants ever!

I am a school principal at an elementary school in NH which is trying to maintain in person schooling during covid. As a result, we are spending lots of time outdoors - and it's December. Recess, mid-day hikes, bus drop off, and lunch are all outside. And..... my legs are toasty warm - these pants are amazing! I love them and would order them ... Read Moreagain in a second! Highly recommend.

November 7, 2020

Great but runs small for big thighs

These pants seem just about perfect to wear under waders or bibs on cold chairlift days. The taper is great to avoid bunching of excess material under waders that can inhibit circulation and ultimately leave you colder on the water despite more layers. Unfortunately, if you have big thighs, they run quite snug. I wear a size small perfectly in the ... Read MoreTerrebonne joggers, and these are just as form fitting if not more so. I cannot fit a baselayer under these. For reference, I'm 5'9" with a 29 inch waist and objectively very muscular rear-end and thighs (hockey butt). I'm hoping that, once I get my hands on the mediums, they aren't too long or large in the waist.

September 5, 2020

Panacea pants

Chilled from rough weather? Put these on; better. Restless legs when trying to sleep? Done. Headed out for a mid-winter fat bike ride; step into these. Morning walk with the dogs? Easy. Backcountry camp with big temp drop when the sun goes down? Not a problem. Any other difficulty? Try these pants. They are the only known exception to the truism, t... Read Moreheres no such thing as a panacea. There is such a thing; nano-air pants. With pride, love, devotion and regret I acceded to my sons request to take my panacea pants off to college; the good news is he will thrive there, surely due in part to the power of the panacea pants.

December 28, 2019

Almost Perfect

Love these pants as a warm layer under shell pants. Work great feel great. Could use a draw string at waist.

December 27, 2019

They are warm but still

They are warm but still breathable. Very comfortable pants.

December 13, 2019

Twin of the Nano Air Hoody

Amazing warmth and heat dissipation for being so lightweight like its sibling jacket. It would be nice to have a draw cord at waist; not quite sure of durability of elastic waist band. Could be just a little less baggy. Other than that being said I knew it would be the usual exceptional quality of Patagonia.Bought two. In all my years of being a Pa... Read Moretagonia consumer I never had to return anything for defects; unlike some other companies! It would sure be nice to receive a friends and family 40% discount card with all I have spent this year! I also bought four of the Nano hoody jackets.Keep up the excellent work!!!!

December 12, 2019

Very Warm

I didn’t think these would be as warm as they are for the weight. I intended on buying them for under my Waders in the late fall, winter, and early spring here in MT. Pairing with either Cap. Air bottoms or R1 pants (fits over both together comfortably as well), these keep me warm down to the teens air temp and low 30s water temp. Very impressed wi... Read Moreth these.

December 9, 2019

AMAZING

The best insulated pants I’ve ever bought. very breathable and warm

November 26, 2019

Much better than version 1

Big improvement in fit over previous version. Eliminated the crotch to tailbone zippier, increased diameter around the calf, and added some pockets. Just wish that the new ones had a zippered fly, you have the pull the waist band downed that's not ideal when under a climbing softshell and harness. went with a size large and fit me well but not... Read More much room to add an additional base layer at 6'1" 220 lb. Not a worry though since I have these to replace a normal base layer bottom on cold days.

November 25, 2019

Nano air pants

There's no waist closure. No drawstring, no belt. They really seem suitable only as a thermal layer, not as pants. Returning them.

November 14, 2019

Perfect!

I work long days in waders in cold waters. These pants have become my go-to layer under my waders. Great product Patagonia.

November 12, 2019

Overall still good pants.

(These are exceptionally cozy pants--I have slept in them--but this review is based on almost exclusively wearing them as a mid-layer over an appropriate-weight-for-the-conditions baselayer and under a very durable and somewhat breathable soft shell outer layer in conditions ranging from -30 deg F, -60 with windchill, up to maybe +20 deg F). I&#x27... Read More;ve never worn them as an outer layer.) I'm a big fan of the original Nano Air Pant which I've used for three seasons (Nov.-April, 2-4 days/week), and which inspired me to replace my fleece mid-layer jacket with Nano Air last year, so I was excited to see them return with 60 g/m^2 of insulation. I find the other changes mostly negative but forgivable: Fit: The fit of the new version is a little more loose, especially in the thighs. Can't please everyone, I realize, and I'm sure there are plenty of folks who couldn't wear the original version because the thighs were too snug. It is more difficult to pull my outer layer on over this new version without bunching, but otherwise not a big issue. On the upside, they fit comfortably over the old version for those really nasty days (probably -20degF and below). No waist adjustment: New version relies solely on elastic in the waist...I really preferred having the draw cord because Patagonia elastic waistbands fail faster than any other brand for me, and has consistently been the first element to fail in every one of my Patagonia products that has one. Pockets: do people really wear these as "outer wear?" To each his own. I definitely do not see the use for pockets. They are low profile but still contribute to aforementioned bunching. I think I can overlook the addition of pockets. No zip fly: I didn't use/need the full 180 degrees of zip fly on the original model so doesn't bother me that it's gone. However, I would much prefer that the new model retained a fly of some kind. Any fly is better than none, in my opinion. I promised myself I would never buy under-layers that lack a fly. I may try to add one. Slight change to the cuff: they didn't go to a "boot length," for which I am grateful. The stretch material for the cuff now comes a little higher in a slightly asymmetric design, likely a compromise to appease those who called for a boot-length design. It works for me: I pull them up high enough that the cuff tucks into my boot tops but the insulation does not. Overall thoughts: these are still good pants, but they are (still) expensive and likely not not for everyone. They are arguably a "luxury" item that will require replacement more frequently than conventional options for optimal performance. Traditional fleece will be more durable, synthetic puffys more warm (and probably more durable). Nano Air excels at that for which it was designed: high output activities in cold conditions. They are light and packable like a puffy, breathe better, dry faster, and are warmer/wt than fleece, but whether they remain warm enough for long enough to be worth the significant price premium over conventional options is an individual decision. I myself am not completely convinced, but I think they are. The insulation in my first pair has lost some loft and are not as warm after three seasons, maybe 200 days of use, but they are still useful. Are they still as warm as 100 wt fleece? I don't know. But they still breathe better and dry faster. The fifth star will be earned when the lifespan of the insulation and face-fabric are doubled, elastic waistband longevity is quadrupled, and all else remains equal (but bring back a zipped access!).

November 5, 2019

The best.

The best.

November 4, 2019

Best pants ever

These have changed my life. Best under wader garment ever. Very happy. I’m sure these pants will be awesome under snow pants this ski season.

November 4, 2019

Nano Air Pants

Best pants of all time. They do it all.

October 23, 2019

Love these pants for late fall/winter camping

I don't go on crazy alpine missions, so can't comment on their usefulness for that, but for walking around the campground on cold nights (cold like in the 30s-40s) these are great. They are so warm that I can't wear them inside of my sleeping bag because I'll overheat. I would love if there was a back pocket. The waist is snug, ... Read Moreso the elastic waistband shouldn't lose it's ability to hold them up over time. I'm 5'10" and weigh 144lbs and the Small fits me great.

October 21, 2019

Yup, perfect

5'9" 155, 30-30 pant - size small is perfect for me. These went away for a couple years but I was ready for them when they came back and immediately bought a pair. All expectations were exceeded. Great fit, dries quick, breathes well, light and packable, so basically as advertised. Clearly designed for the alpine and hit the spot there as... Read More I expected. No frills minimal design. As an aside - If cold weather fly fishing is your thing, the nano puff pant would be a better ticket, pockets, burlier fabric etc. Weight is not as much of an issue. But in the alpine, these are completely ideal.

October 18, 2019

Finally!

Ever since getting a nano air jacket I've been hoping for nano pants. They are fantastic! Warm without being too warm and even have pockets. 2 shortcomings, the pockets have tight access points and are awkwardly cut making access very difficult. Secondly, the waistband is awkward and restrictive. A Drawcord or snap waist would make these pants... Read More perfect and I would be the new pair immediately.

September 16, 2019

How did I live without these?

Patagonia knocked these out of the park. Just the right amount of insulation for being active while still being able to relax at camp. I’ve worn these down to the high 30’s Fahrenheit and felt that was the limit for me for comfortable relaxing but they really performed well once I started moving. Once temp hit the mid 50’s I felt my legs heating up... Read More a bit during exertion but never felt too hot. The fit is great for me in medium. Large would’ve been huge. For reference I’m 6’2”, 180, 33” waist and inseam. My only suggestions would be a draw cord waist and maybe one zippered back pocket. These bad boys will really come in handy as we get into snow sport season and I can see using these under my waders for cold weather steel head fishing. They feel great on and I’m constantly looking for reasons to wear them.

September 11, 2019

Warm and light weight

Just the right amount of movement provided as well.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches