Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Rainshadow Waterproof Jacket

Write Your Review

4.5/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Rainshadow Waterproof Jacket

4.5/5
True To Size
April 4, 2021

Awesome

Very light weight and comfortable

April 3, 2021

Reliable

This is the second time I have purchased this jacket, it's reliable, dependable and familiar. Good Stuff! Thank you Patagonia!

March 29, 2021

Simple is good.

Haven't yet put it to the test, but simple and functional, and seems to layer well.

March 26, 2021

It's a perfect raincoat, for every say use.

This is my second raincoat from Patagonia I love it!

March 19, 2021

Rain wear

This is a required piece of equipment for canoe trips in the BWCAW.

March 5, 2021

Perfect Fit

Really in love with this jacket because of the absolute perfect fit. I am 5'10" with a bit of a muscular build. I have worn it with a small base layer and the shoulders and waist fit were perfect. Haven't really tested the waterproofness yet, nor the warmth, but feel confident it will do the job well.

February 23, 2021

Great look and fit

I'm 5'9", 158lb, and like a slim fit. This was a touch roomier than expected but the profile is still pretty slick, and I didn't mind as it was intended to be a top layer for a fleece purchased at the same time (Tech Jacket 83625). The sleeves fall just past my knuckles (I wear 32/33 LS shirts) which is fine, and the hem lands a... Read Morebout 7" below my waistline, a touch below my hip bones. Overall, it's a comfortable fit but still stylish. Thanks to the underarm vents, I don't get overheated on hikes and light climbs, and the water repellency so far is holding up well. Overall, highly recommended

February 19, 2021

Getting it right this time, I hope

I need a lighter weight breathable rainshell and this one checks all the boxes. I have had the old rainshadow jacket, from 12 yrs. ago, that was peeling-making me looks like I have dandruff! It was replaced with a stretch Torrentshall jacket that had the SAME problem! This new version fits better and breaths better too. The 3 layer as opposed to th... Read Moree old 2.5 layers should be more durable (?) I am glad that the chest pocket is nice and big. The zipper could have stopped, say half inch above the bottom of the pocket, so things don't just fall out when you are bending over to tie your boots-ask me how I find that out. The size is about right, especially when I have a sweater under the jacket. Packs into a nice package when the sun comes out. I love it.

February 8, 2021

Had to exchange due to size. Now I'm happy.

I chose a Medium originally (I'm 5'8", 143 lbs.), but it was too big, even if I had a nanopuff jacket within. The exchange was easy to do, but I suggest considering getting a smaller size because the jacket seems to run large. Very impressed with the quality. Can't wait for heavy rain to come in again so that I can give the jack... Read Moreet a true test.

January 15, 2021

Pills up like crazy

The stretchy material is nice but it pills up like crazy. There are tons of little nodules of fibers all over my jacket. The material tends to absorb water (on the outside) which is not what I would expect from a raincoat. Also the velcro on the cuffs causes the material to fray and in turn absorb water. It's unfortunate because it's an o... Read Moretherwise great jacket. I regret not getting a harder-shelled model.

Response from Patagonia
February 20, 2021

Thanks for the honest feedback. All of our gear is covered by our ironclad guarantee so please reach out to our customer service team to get a warranty evaluation set up.

January 10, 2021

STYLISH AND PRACTICAL

THE JACKET FITS WELL AND IS NICE LOOKING. I HAVE WORN IT IN A COUPLE OF EXTREMELY WET SITUATIONS AND IT HAS FUNCTIONED PERFECTLY.

January 8, 2021

Nice shell

Nice shell - lightweight, comfortable

January 4, 2021

Nice and flexible

I bought this for my husband who is 6'6" and has an impossible time finding clothes that fit his arms and torso. I bought him an XL and he was very happy with the fit. When I told him that I was buying him a rain jacket, his biggest concern was "flexibility" - he hates a stiff rain jacket. This arrived ready to wear and with no... Read More stiff break-in period. So far, he has only worn it in the rain three times for dog walks, so I can't speak to its compatibility with longer adventures, but it definitely kept him dry for our hour long walks.

January 4, 2021

Not a rain jacket

After two times wearing it the waterproofing went away and started to soaked and water started seeping in definitely not a H2NO jacket the only good thing about it its beautiful design and wind proof.and the greatest part of Patagonia if you are not happy with the product just returned it and they either exchange It or they refund your money. Thank... Read More you Patagonia I still believe you have the best product and I believe you can improve them!!!

January 4, 2021

Changes.

I have had a rain shadow jacket for several generations over the last 10 years. I have upgraded to the Calcite which seems to have next level materials. I had always traded them in when the inner lining began to delaminate to get a discount on a new one. There is one model that really outshined the others that I fondly remember from 2004-2007. It h... Read Moread stretch material in the shoulders and plenty of inner pocket space. And it had an inner net liner that really wicked away the moisture. Now these jackets are always clammy when you work up a sweat in the cool weather... miss that older model. It was a great warmer weather rain jacket.

January 3, 2021

Patagonia backs its products

Very happy with the warranty department!! The warranty team was great!! Answering all my questions and making sure that I was happy with the end result!! Thank you warranty team!! You rock!!

December 31, 2020

Great Coat

This is my favorite raincoat. The fabric is lightweight, low-noise, and flexible. I usually use it outdoors on walks, travels, camping, and river trips. Biggest challenge so far was a half hour sustained deluge. It did fine. Exceptionally breathable, and sometimes I forget to take it off when I come in the house, only to notice several hours later.... Read More If I'm being picky, 4 stars instead of 5 because of the hood, which is too big and a collar in the neck area is sorely missed.

December 29, 2020

I love the Rainshadow jacket.

Great material. Love the zipper. I love the three pockets. The fit is wonderful. It's a win for me.

December 27, 2020

Rain proof, good over layers, and wind proof, too.

Im 6, 170 lbs and 7 decades old. I ride mountain bike, hike mountain trails and play golf. I own Arctx Beta and MtHardware rain jackets - great but huge hoods for helmets which I dont need. Rainshadow is a surprise - rain proof tested yesterday during a gusty 1.7 inch downpour. I was dry, comfortable, happy. Wore it today riding on the mountain to ... Read Moretest its breathability uphill and mud shedding downhill - great. Conclusion: Ill be putting this jacket in my pack or on my back for all adventures in iffy weather.

December 11, 2020

Solid 3L Shell

The size and fit is pretty spot on. I can wear it as a hard shell over a puffy or just over a t-shirt without issue. Sleeves hit nearly right in the middle of the back of my hand and it's just long enough at the hem to cover an untucked button down which is a minor detail that has major impact if you're commuting or wearing casually aroun... Read Mored town. Chest pocket is generous enough to fit my phone, a slim wallet, chapstick, and keys and still have some room. Hood covers my head and locks down but does not fully cover the brim of a hat; this doesn't bother me personally but something to know. Pit zips are very generous and do well to dump heat. There is a slight stretch to the material which makes it not constricting for hiking and bike commuting but it isn't "stretchy" by any means and is definitely "hard" shell jacket. The zippers aren't the smoothest but I suspect that the tight fit and grippy feel of the zipper helps them be watertight. I haven't had the opportunity to put any hard use so I can't speak to the durability but as a 3L jacket with Patagonia's ironclad guarantee I can't imagine that I'll be let down. I also dig that it's made with recycled materials and fair trade sewn.

December 5, 2020

Superb Jacket

This jacket is perfect to have around on a rainy day !

November 26, 2020

Fails on waterproof

After less then an hour of walking under light rain conditions I came back home to find out that my hoodie is mostly wet. Wouldn't recommend as waterproof jacket. I specifically bought this for its waterproof claimed feature. Very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
December 23, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on one of our Rainshadow Jackets! We're really sorry to hear that the jacket isn't meeting your expectations. The jacket should be protecting you from the rain, but if you find that it's not holding up you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 19, 2020

Well constructed, breathable

Perfect weight. Some rain coats are too thin, others too heavy/warm for most rainy conditions. This one is perfect for 40 degree rain. Hood fits perfectly, keeping you dry without obstructing your vision. Love how it's styled too (e.g., no pocket flaps).

November 18, 2020

Neither rainproof or breathable

The jacket fails totally in the rain. The last two times I wore it in light rain to misty conditions, with the under arm vents open completely, the jacket was soaked throughout. Either it leaks or does not breathe at all. Whatever, after being soaked again today after a several hour hike in intermittent very light rain, I am ditching the jacket. To... Read Moreo bad, because like look, fit etc. but it simply fails to keep me dry...indeed had Nano jacket underneath which also became wet though kept me warm. 10 for the Nano jacket...0 for the H2O jacket.

November 16, 2020

Keeps getting better

Such a great all around rain jacket without the bulk and weight. Blocks the wind well. I use t for so much more than what it's true intent is.

November 2, 2020

Nice light rain jacket!

Nice rain jacket; use a multiple layer system with base, fleece, down sweater and then rain jacket as needed.

October 29, 2020

You Will Live Rainy Days

The rain shadow is perfect for those rainy days. Its very breathable and the jacket has great material. I bought the blue one and it catches attention.

October 29, 2020

Probably the best rain coat I've purchased

I weigh 190-195lbs with a 42 in chest. I bought this in a M, because I wanted a more fitting jacket. I can layer this with a M Nano's Puff Jacket with a little room to spare. Reason I went with more fitting coat was to keep warmer with little air flow between elements. I've already used this for work outdoors in the rain and is hands down... Read More the best rain coat I've purchased!

October 11, 2020

6'

Fit is good and quality is typical Patagonia, but it was not a good selection for me as a rain jacket, going back to goretex. Material gets saturated quickly and water bleeds through. Not sure if there is a treatment for the material to waterproof.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

Hi Ken, we're sorry to hear that the Men's Rainshadow Waterproof Jacket didn't suit your needs. Moisture will collect inside of the Rainshadow without having the proper layering system underneath. A Long-Sleeved Capilene® Cool Lightweight Shirt will help to wick away moisture and prevent that wet feeling that you're experiencing. However, if you still feel that the Rainshadow is not performing to our standards, please feel free to make a return or exchange, https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html.

October 9, 2020

Best Jacket I Own

I never thought I could find the perfect rain shell, but I did. The sizing is great for me, and with an XL I can wear my down sweater underneath and I dont look stuffed or puffy. Pitt zips are a huge bonus. Works great on a rainy 50s PNW day with a long sleeve T-Shirt. The quality of the Patagonia stitching, materials, and attention to detail is wo... Read Morerth the cost. Highly recommend against other brands as the quality is much superior.

October 8, 2020

Good rain resistant softshell

The Patagonia Rainshadow was my first attempt at buying a waterproof jacket. I originally purchased it about 2 years ago and it was a 2L H2no jacket. The updated version looks like its 3L. My experience with it so far is that its a good packable rain/wind resistant softshell jacket. It is not waterproof. It does well if youre expecting some rain ... Read Morefor a brief period of time. However, its weakness is downpours that last for a longer period. For that, I would suggest a hardshell. Overall, I like it for urban use only. For hikes/excursions with unpredictable precipitation, I would rather get a gore-Tex hardshell.

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2020

We appreciate your thorough and detailed feedback, Jason! Your purchase is absolutely covered by our Ironclad Guarantee, so please don't hesitate to return the jacket to one of our Patagonia stores or reach out to our Customer Service for [assistance](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

October 3, 2020

Awesome Jacket

I wear it for my walks w/ my dog. Super satisfied w/ build quality as well as great look. Great Job Patagonia Team! Always exceeding expectations!

September 17, 2020

Everything I expected and more

I am 62 and not a huge muscular guy, but Im not slender either (Ok, I like IPAs, there I said it). I had a lightweight version of this coat (it was a different model, cant remember the name)- it started to delaminate after many, many years and so I sent it in for repairs. It was beyond repair and true to the Patagonia policy that I have known since... Read More the 70s, they offered me credit to use with them as I wish. They used to just replace it with the new model, not sure when they switched over to the credit policy, but it worked out great for me because this one was a bit of an upgrade for me and so just a bit out of pocket to do the deal. I received it faster than they promised, I traded in an XL and ordered this one as an L- was a little concerned it would be tight, but everything is a bit tighter fitting these days so I took a shot. It fits great- roomy enough yet not baggy. Has all the features of my previous rain shell- zip pits, hand pockets, hood but just feels like a two step upgrade. Ive worn it on cool evenings to block the breeze and it was great, good breather, but yet to test rain performance- Im sure it will be fine. You will not be disappointed- its a beautiful coat, everything I hoped it would be and more. Cheers!

September 10, 2020

Very Solid

It just FEELS super waterproof. Because of this I was skeptical that it would pack down into its pocket easily but it does! Quite small. I ended up doing 8 or so pitches in this on a route (we were worried about afternoon weather) in the winds and it was surprisingly comfortable to climb in and didn't get beat up at all. The fit is a little la... Read Morerge on me which I personally like because I plan to use it as an outer shell for skiing with warm layers underneath. Good stuff.

September 5, 2020

Great rain jacket

Nice rain jacket. Very waterproof and high quality.

June 8, 2020

Great Color, Great fit.

Really really nice rain jacket. Perfectly waterproof, and i love the mango color. Just wish it was a little more breathable so if i am on the trail and working out in it, it doesnt get so hot underneath. Pit zips help but if you're sweating in other areas maybe not so much.

May 29, 2020

Mixed emotions

The jacket construction is beautiful and really nice but the only issue I have is it doesnt quite shed the water like Id expect it to being a highly rated rain jacket I find that it accumulates water on the top layer and you have to give the jacket a hard shake to allow water to actually come off. In mild weather (55-70) it noticeably causes body ... Read Moretemperatures to drop even with an Appropriate layer underneath. I dont know if this is typical or if I just have a rain shadow that is defective. Ive yet had it in hard rain but I can only imagine its worse. But all things considered I like it so far over time I can only imagine the water resistance will get worse

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2020

Hi Dustyn, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the jacket isn't meeting your expectations. The jacket should be protecting you from the rain, but if you find that in heavier rain it's not holding up you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 25, 2020

Great Jacket

After my 20+ year old Torrentshell finally gave it up and was recycled by Patagonia, I purchased the Rainshadow. It's perfect for stuffing into the pocket and throwing in my climbing pack and for walking the dog around the block. Lightweight, comfortable and the stretch is a nice touch. The pit zip storm flaps sometimes get hug in the zipper p... Read Moreull, but I don't think I have ever owned a jacket with pit zips where that doesn't happen from time to time. All, in all it's a great jacket and I highly recommend it.

May 22, 2020

Great Jacket

After my 20+ year old Torrentshell finally gave it up and was recycled by Patagonia, I purchased the Rainshadow. It's perfect for stuffing into the pocket and throwing in my climbing pack and for walking the dog around the block. Lightweight, comfortable and the stretch is a nice touch. The pit zip storm flaps sometimes get hug in the zipper p... Read Moreull, but I don't think I have ever owned a jacket with pit zips where that doesn't happen from time to time. All, in all it's a great jacket and I highly recommend it.

March 12, 2020

Excellent Lightweight Jacket

I'll admit I have a bias towards Patagonia. This is due to the fact they are the only brand of rain jacket I've ever owned. What I particularly like about the rainshadow jacket is its sizing. It fits great with a layer or two underneath, and is great on its own, especially with the pit zips. The H2NO waterproofing is awesome. The last rai... Read Moren jacket I purchased from them was in 2013, and I think that was around the time they came out with H2NO (might we wrong). It is essentially Gore-tex, but with better breath-ability.

February 26, 2020

Rainshadow review

Nice jacket, fits well, doesn't have the over sized/helmet compatible hood (thank goodness). Pit zips are a nice feature, have been missing from other Patagonia rain shells. Doesn't wet out like Stretch Rainshadow jacket. Material is a bit crinkly, not as stretchy as marketed. Would have been nice if the jacket was made with the fabric th... Read Moreat the Cloud Ridge jacket (no longer offered)had (much stretchier fabric).

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2020

Thanks for such a detailed and thoughtful review, Jesse!

February 4, 2020

Perfect, light, packable, breathable Jacket!

Purchased this jacket because i was looking for a packable, extremely light, rain jacket that i can use in the city AND on rainy hikes. this fits that perfectly and you can wear any midlayer underneath for even colder weather. My favorite rain jacket now and i can keep it with me at all times because it packs small just in case there is a rain.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches