Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Rainshadow Waterproof Jacket

Write Your Review

4.67 /5

Filter Reviews

All 15 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Rainshadow Waterproof Jacket

4.67
True To Size
October 29, 2020

You Will Live Rainy Days

The rain shadow is perfect for those rainy days. Its very breathable and the jacket has great material. I bought the blue one and it catches attention.

October 29, 2020

Probably the best rain coat I've purchased

I weigh 190-195lbs with a 42 in chest. I bought this in a M, because I wanted a more fitting jacket. I can layer this with a M Nano's Puff Jacket with a little room to spare. Reason I went with more fitting coat was to keep warmer with little air flow between elements. I've already used this for work outdoors in the rain and is hands down... Read More the best rain coat I've purchased!

October 9, 2020

Best Jacket I Own

I never thought I could find the perfect rain shell, but I did. The sizing is great for me, and with an XL I can wear my down sweater underneath and I dont look stuffed or puffy. Pitt zips are a huge bonus. Works great on a rainy 50s PNW day with a long sleeve T-Shirt. The quality of the Patagonia stitching, materials, and attention to detail is wo... Read Morerth the cost. Highly recommend against other brands as the quality is much superior.

October 8, 2020

Good rain resistant softshell

The Patagonia Rainshadow was my first attempt at buying a waterproof jacket. I originally purchased it about 2 years ago and it was a 2L H2no jacket. The updated version looks like its 3L. My experience with it so far is that its a good packable rain/wind resistant softshell jacket. It is not waterproof. It does well if youre expecting some rain ... Read Morefor a brief period of time. However, its weakness is downpours that last for a longer period. For that, I would suggest a hardshell. Overall, I like it for urban use only. For hikes/excursions with unpredictable precipitation, I would rather get a gore-Tex hardshell.

October 3, 2020

Awesome Jacket

I wear it for my walks w/ my dog. Super satisfied w/ build quality as well as great look. Great Job Patagonia Team! Always exceeding expectations!

September 17, 2020

Everything I expected and more

I am 62 and not a huge muscular guy, but Im not slender either (Ok, I like IPAs, there I said it). I had a lightweight version of this coat (it was a different model, cant remember the name)- it started to delaminate after many, many years and so I sent it in for repairs. It was beyond repair and true to the Patagonia policy that I have known since... Read More the 70s, they offered me credit to use with them as I wish. They used to just replace it with the new model, not sure when they switched over to the credit policy, but it worked out great for me because this one was a bit of an upgrade for me and so just a bit out of pocket to do the deal. I received it faster than they promised, I traded in an XL and ordered this one as an L- was a little concerned it would be tight, but everything is a bit tighter fitting these days so I took a shot. It fits great- roomy enough yet not baggy. Has all the features of my previous rain shell- zip pits, hand pockets, hood but just feels like a two step upgrade. Ive worn it on cool evenings to block the breeze and it was great, good breather, but yet to test rain performance- Im sure it will be fine. You will not be disappointed- its a beautiful coat, everything I hoped it would be and more. Cheers!

September 10, 2020

Very Solid

It just FEELS super waterproof. Because of this I was skeptical that it would pack down into its pocket easily but it does! Quite small. I ended up doing 8 or so pitches in this on a route (we were worried about afternoon weather) in the winds and it was surprisingly comfortable to climb in and didn't get beat up at all. The fit is a little la... Read Morerge on me which I personally like because I plan to use it as an outer shell for skiing with warm layers underneath. Good stuff.

September 5, 2020

Great rain jacket

Nice rain jacket. Very waterproof and high quality.

June 8, 2020

Great Color, Great fit.

Really really nice rain jacket. Perfectly waterproof, and i love the mango color. Just wish it was a little more breathable so if i am on the trail and working out in it, it doesnt get so hot underneath. Pit zips help but if you're sweating in other areas maybe not so much.

May 29, 2020

Mixed emotions

The jacket construction is beautiful and really nice but the only issue I have is it doesnt quite shed the water like Id expect it to being a highly rated rain jacket I find that it accumulates water on the top layer and you have to give the jacket a hard shake to allow water to actually come off. In mild weather (55-70) it noticeably causes body ... Read Moretemperatures to drop even with an Appropriate layer underneath. I dont know if this is typical or if I just have a rain shadow that is defective. Ive yet had it in hard rain but I can only imagine its worse. But all things considered I like it so far over time I can only imagine the water resistance will get worse

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2020

Hi Dustyn, thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear that the jacket isn't meeting your expectations. The jacket should be protecting you from the rain, but if you find that in heavier rain it's not holding up you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 25, 2020

Great Jacket

After my 20+ year old Torrentshell finally gave it up and was recycled by Patagonia, I purchased the Rainshadow. It's perfect for stuffing into the pocket and throwing in my climbing pack and for walking the dog around the block. Lightweight, comfortable and the stretch is a nice touch. The pit zip storm flaps sometimes get hug in the zipper p... Read Moreull, but I don't think I have ever owned a jacket with pit zips where that doesn't happen from time to time. All, in all it's a great jacket and I highly recommend it.

May 22, 2020

Great Jacket

After my 20+ year old Torrentshell finally gave it up and was recycled by Patagonia, I purchased the Rainshadow. It's perfect for stuffing into the pocket and throwing in my climbing pack and for walking the dog around the block. Lightweight, comfortable and the stretch is a nice touch. The pit zip storm flaps sometimes get hug in the zipper p... Read Moreull, but I don't think I have ever owned a jacket with pit zips where that doesn't happen from time to time. All, in all it's a great jacket and I highly recommend it.

March 12, 2020

Excellent Lightweight Jacket

I'll admit I have a bias towards Patagonia. This is due to the fact they are the only brand of rain jacket I've ever owned. What I particularly like about the rainshadow jacket is its sizing. It fits great with a layer or two underneath, and is great on its own, especially with the pit zips. The H2NO waterproofing is awesome. The last rai... Read Moren jacket I purchased from them was in 2013, and I think that was around the time they came out with H2NO (might we wrong). It is essentially Gore-tex, but with better breath-ability.

February 26, 2020

Rainshadow review

Nice jacket, fits well, doesn't have the over sized/helmet compatible hood (thank goodness). Pit zips are a nice feature, have been missing from other Patagonia rain shells. Doesn't wet out like Stretch Rainshadow jacket. Material is a bit crinkly, not as stretchy as marketed. Would have been nice if the jacket was made with the fabric th... Read Moreat the Cloud Ridge jacket (no longer offered)had (much stretchier fabric).

Response from Patagonia
March 30, 2020

Thanks for such a detailed and thoughtful review, Jesse!

February 4, 2020

Perfect, light, packable, breathable Jacket!

Purchased this jacket because i was looking for a packable, extremely light, rain jacket that i can use in the city AND on rainy hikes. this fits that perfectly and you can wear any midlayer underneath for even colder weather. My favorite rain jacket now and i can keep it with me at all times because it packs small just in case there is a rain.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches