Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Ascensionist Alpine Jacket

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 12 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Ascensionist Alpine Jacket

4.3/5
Kinda Small
October 4, 2021

Too long for 'short' people

I have this problem with a lot of Patagonia jackets (anything with a zipper). At 5'4" 135 lbs the size medium is usually too long, and this jacket was WAY too long. I also tried the size small, which was better, but probably a bit too tight for a jacket that I will want to be able to layer underneath. REALLY loved the price point at 60% o... Read Moreff for the on-sale colors and the extremely lightweight construction of the GORE-TEX. Ended up returning the jacket and will look for something that works better for my height/frame.

October 2, 2021

Great deal for a 3L Gore-Tex shell

This is a well made, light, fully waterproof shell that should last years. I've had issues in the past with Gore-Tex alternatives, but never with the real thing. You get what you pay for.

September 30, 2021

Akward Fit & Material

I am 5'4" w/ a trim, athletic build, and found the jacket to be too full in the chest area for me. While the fabric likely lives up to its functionality, I did not like the feel of it at all - rubbery & uncomfortable. Was hoping this was a keeper, but sent it back.

September 19, 2021

Great jacket

I really like this jacket. It fits so great. I got a slightly larger size so I can wear other sweaters and coats underneath it if I want. It works great with other layers and without. I would recommend.

September 2, 2021

Stylish staying dry

Love this piece. It looks fantastic and never fails to keep me dry in torrential rain. The hood is generous enough for a helmet but doesnt look too oversized without a helmet. A small would have worked but I went medium so I could layer up in the winter. (Im a sporty 58 135lbs).

September 1, 2021

Super functional!

Thin but super able to layer so can use in both mild and spring/winter sports! Love the cut.

August 15, 2021

Fabulous Fit Lightweight Waterproof Jacket

This is a wonderful garmentlightweight and packs Le, but waterproof, wind proof and warm. It is great for all weather. Oh, and did I mention the fit is both comfortable and flattering.

March 30, 2021

Super sharp

I like the sharp color for safety . Its so light and comfortable!

February 26, 2021

Great jacket

Super light and packable. Love the pit zips and easy-to-use zipper pulls.

December 28, 2020

Nice lightweight Goretex shell, but doesnt fit over ski helmet

I wanted to love and keep this jacket and it has a lot of nice features, but the hood did not fit over my (womens medium size) ski helmet it would not zip up all the way with the hood over helmet. This was a dealbreaker for me. But if I were looking for a lightweight, packable goretex jacket that did not require ski helmet compatibility then this w... Read Moreould be the one.

February 1, 2020

Perfect lightweight shell

This is the shell I’ve been looking for. Lightweight but still has great features such as pit zips and a chest pocket. I love the fit. It’s a slim fit but with room to layer beneath it. I can comfortably wear a base layer and lightweight puffy under the shell. I’m 5’ 9”, 140lbs and got the small. I tend to wear a size small with Patagonia shells, b... Read Moreut a medium in their other types of jackets.

January 13, 2020

Not made for athletic build

Wanted to love the jacket. Followed sizing guidelines and purchased a small. At home over light layers it fit well enough to take it outside touring. Then, it got cold out one day and I attempted to put a micro puff on under it. Massive fail. Too tight and binding under the arms. I felt like guy in Tommy Boy, about to bust the seams out. Guess I&#x... Read More27;m stuck with a bluebird shell! Who needs that?!

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2020

Hi Michelle, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear that the jacket doesn't fit right. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches