burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 484 Reviews

Clear All

Ms Torrentshell 3L Jacket

4.6/5
True To Size
November 24, 2022

comfortable, reliable

I love the quality, features, fit, & style. A large inside pocket would have completed the package.

November 19, 2022

Excellent Quality Rain Gear

Patagonia upped the game with further improvements on the already fantastic Torrentshell jacket. Enhanced lining. More weather protection designed around zipper. Tailored for the fit. This is the best choice at a very fair price.

November 17, 2022

Waterproof shell

All season, must take item no matter where you are going. Smart design. Packable. Light weight. Versatile, mainly because of the pit zips and hood. Runs true to size enabling some room to layer, allowing mild winter use. Go Play!

November 17, 2022

Havent adventured in it yet but it looks great

Looks and fits great. Seems like itll definitely get hot in this but they accounted for that with the pit zip dumps.

November 16, 2022

Even though I ordered to

Even though I ordered to size, the arms were quite constricting even with just a tee shirt. Id never get anything bulkier than that under this jacket.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Susan. Please know you are more than welcome to [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your item for a different size. We truly want you to be 100% satisfied with all of your Patagonia items! If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service Team at any time.

November 15, 2022

Durable

Was looking for a durable no frills jacket to wear running and didn't want an ultra thin jacket that would rip so easily. This jacket will last as long as my last rain jacket, 10+ years with a proper recoat

November 15, 2022

Great rain gear to keep dry

Using this as an over/top coat so ordered a L fits over any hoodie or jacket no problem but not oversized so can still use with no other layers. Worked perfectly in first time out in the rain no damp spots. Beads right off.

November 15, 2022

Works well

I needed a basic shell. I selected a XL because I like to have space if I use under layers. It feels very strong & sturdy but noisy.

November 12, 2022

Fly fishing in the rain

Fly fishing in the rain can be uniquely rewarding. It is far more enjoyable when your rain wear allows you to ignore the elements and concentrate on making stealthy, efficient presentations. The Torrentshell 3L is solid good gear.

November 9, 2022

Super warm

Good fit an inside pouch type pocket would be nice

November 9, 2022

Horrible in the rain after 2min

Bought it to use in disneyworld, rain comes and goes, and soaked. Had to buy a poncho.

November 8, 2022

Like it a lot

I'd probably give it five stars if I had had the chance to wear in in really bad weather and it performed as well as it has on regular rainy days. The fit is good, the hood is the best I've experienced, and I like the pit zips. I've worn it in one moderate rain and it kept me dry and comfortable. Can only think of two things that c... Read Moreould be improved. The first is the lack of an inner pocket (or two), the second is I've found the zipper a bit had to operate, particularly in getting it started.

November 7, 2022

nice jacket

This is a high quality jacket. The XL was a bit too large and the L a bit too small, but taking into account that I might wear it over another layer, it might be OK. The Basin Green color was somewhat different than what I saw on the web site but still an attractive color. I have worn this jacket over a t-shirt in sunny/70 degree weather, and I was... Read More sweating, so maybe not meant for moderate or warm temps even with the vents. Patagonia shop experience was very good; knowledgeable and polite staff. THe jacket seems well constructed, I think it will last a long time.

Response from Patagonia
November 16, 2022

We're glad to hear that your in-store experience was positive and recommend checking in with them if you'd like to explore a different rain jacket that might fit better. If not, we hope the Torrentshell lasts a long time with our recommended [product care tips](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html). Thanks for the review Eric!

November 5, 2022

A few points of disappointment

I'm a woman (5'7", 160lb. ) who chose the men's Torrentshell (XL) for it's slightly longer length compared to the women's version. I rolled the sleeves inward and felt very comfy in it. Read all the reviews, thought this would be the perfect jacket from a rain performance point of view. Wore it for the first time yeste... Read Morerday in a 40 minute medium-strength rain with a light and small daypack with thin straps. Temperature 45F, slow pace, no inclines, I was nowhere near sweating. At home I saw large patches had wetted out, where my backpack was sitting and in large circles around the arm pits. Inside the jacket was dry except for the pit zips - I had kept them closed the entire time, zippers pulls all the way up into the upper corners. This raised a few questions for me. 1) If this happens with the pit zips closed in medium rain for 40 minutes at low activity, how much water gets in with the zips opened? Is this to be accepted? 2) Why are the pit zip shields open towards the *back*, not the front? Anyone walking tends to bends over slightly, not backwards, especially with a backpack or when going uphill, making it even easier for water to enter the pit zips. Same for the pocket zippers. What is the reason for this orientation? 3) Is wetting out normal on first wear in the described conditions? Am I expected to waterproof the jacket before first wear? 4) Why call it Torrentshell if it's not made for torrential downpours?

Response from Patagonia
November 15, 2022

Hi Chris, when the inside of your jacket has moisture, generally it's caused by moisture trying to get out or being trapped by your base layer rather than coming in from the outside. Your base layer should keep you warm and dry underneath your jacket. Sweating and exposure to moisture in the air can quickly saturate many cotton or natural fiber base layers, so a next to skin layer of wicking fabric is critical. Moisture-wicking material transfers the water molecules from the surface of your skin to the outer clothing layers, keeping you dry from the inside out, as well as the outside in. Our [Capilene](https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=capilene+tops&lang=en_US) is an example of a wicking, fast drying base layer that is specifically designed to work with our waterproof shells. If you find the jacket to be leaking even after trying this suggestion you are welcome to return it anytime under our Ironclad Guarantee.

November 2, 2022

awesome jacket

love this jacket so much - the lining breaks down when not cared for properly - but patagonia has always replaced it without issue and has improved the technology so this wont keep happening. best company ever!

October 31, 2022

Waterproof- yes; Breathable- not as much

Note: This is my third different version of this jacket. Previous two versions both suffered from delaminating. This one is just a month old now. Todays task: 2.8 mile brisk, mostly flat walk to the store and back. Conditions: 55 degrees and cloudy, no wind nor rain. Load: Nothing on the way out, two six-packs on the way back (carried in hand). Clo... Read Morething: Capilene t-shirt and long sleeve flannel shirt worn under Torrentshell, Levis 501s, no hat. Result: even though I had pit zips and front zipper all the way open, I got surprisingly sweaty and clammy, especially on the arms and back. With the cool temperature, this was getting uncomfortable. Verdict: I have previously worn the jacket in heavy rain and it kept me totally dry. However, with todays experience, I will only wear the jacket for low-intensity activity in the rain.

Response from Patagonia
November 4, 2022

Hi Gent, we were very sorry to hear about your experience with the Torrentshell 3L Jacket. If you feel that the Torrentshell isn't meeting your expectations, please feel free to begin a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

October 31, 2022

Solid rain jacket

This is a quality jacket with nice fit, quality zippers and vents that keeps the wind and rain out on a hike, bike or long walk. Will enjoy it.

October 29, 2022

Nice color, well made, had

Nice color, well made, had good reviews. Runs small, best to order one size up when purchasing.

October 28, 2022

Very waterproof

I wore this jacket on a ship in driving rain and it kept me completely dry. Very happy with its performance. I may need to get waterproof pants next to keep my lower extremities dry as well. I recommend

October 27, 2022

One glaring flaw...

I really wanted to love this rain jacket. I really did. It is sealed at the seams very well and is absolutely waterproof. The armpit vents are great. The zipper is great. The pockets are great. The lining is great. The material looks great too. However, there is one BIG fat annoyingly dissapointing flaw. The hood is gigantic. I mean really big! I ... Read Moredon't have a small head either. I've been told more than once that it's a rather a big one! Ha! When wearing the hood all you can see are your own feet. It falls so far forward that your vision is absolutely blocked. Peripherally as well. This is a big accident waiting to happen. No matter how many times you try to adjust it back a bit it instantaneously falls back down to become a blindfold. Such a letdown. Maybe I received a reject, but I don't think so. It needs to be recalled and redesigned before someone gets seriously hurt. I had to return it and go back to my old, ugly, safer (different brand) rain jacket.

Response from Patagonia
November 1, 2022

Hi William! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the size of the hood. The hood is adjustable so you can cinch it down to fit more securely. That said, we really appreciate this feedback, and we'll share it with our design team.

October 26, 2022

Lightweight well-designed water resistant wind breaker

Everything about this jacket is great except one feature. It is lightweight, packable, durable, breathes well, adjusts to body and weather, great colors. Only issue, why did this nearly perfect jacket not come with a two-way zipper? I'll live without but that is often a convenient feature.

October 26, 2022

Good fit. Comfortable; Waterproof; lightweight

Good fit. Comfortable; Waterproof; lightweight

October 25, 2022

I ordered a large, I love it

I like to wear sweaters under my coat, so I ordered a large and am happy to say I made the right choice. The material is thin, which I wanted, but holds in heat and repels moisture. Very pleased!

October 25, 2022

High quality

This is a well build product and it kept me very dry while outside for hours in the rain at a Patriots game. It has under arm vents which are great for air flow. It could use an inside pocket or chest pocket, but super handy that it is self stowable.

October 25, 2022

Rain blocker

This jacket lives up to its description, absolutely shedding water like a duck in a river. I wore it yesterday to play golf in the rain and stayed absolutely dry the whole outing. The fit is a little boxy in the body, but overall the jacket is well worth the investment.

October 23, 2022

Perfect for rain

Had to get a jacket that would get me through a pair of rainy days in NYC. This was the perfect gear for such task!

October 22, 2022

Keeps me dry!

Pro: This is an excellent jacket to keep out the rain, snow and wind. Seams don't leak and the fabric repels water like no other jacket I've had. Cons: 1) Fabric is very stiff and crinkly; not at all supple. I refer to it as, "my tin jacket". 2) Zipper is a bit fiddly and often hard to engage. 3) Drawstrings on the hood do not... Read More stay in place at all; effectively serving no function whatever. 4) Wimpy hanger loop that fits over a nail but certainly not over the usual pegs or any substantial hooks. Still a great performing jacket, but those little niggles keep it from being a perfect one. Would I buy another if I lost it? Maybe.

October 22, 2022

The jacket is fine. A

The jacket is fine. A little big for me but I am not sure a smaller size would have worked. Seems to be well made but I think it is overpriced

October 21, 2022

Long sleeves; noisy

Was surprised at how noisy the material is. Sleeves too long. Have worn in light rain twice for extended times in and out of vehicle making deliveries - kept me dry. Doesn't "breathe" as well as stated in promotional material.

October 21, 2022

Performs as claimed

Wore this for the first time in a fairly substantial rain and it kept me dry. Very lightweight and good for summer rains.

October 21, 2022

Great jacket to travel with

Great jacket to travel with or weekend outings, looks great, keeps me dry, packs small.

October 16, 2022

Practical, fits well, keeps me dry

I bought this jacket for a Roan Mountain TN/Balds, NC hike, where it proved its worth more than amply, keeping me dry under a barrage of storms ripping through the Blue Ridge that week. It continues to serve today, protecting me from tropical storms in S. Florida. We also purchased one for my fiance and she loves it and looks great in it and we fin... Read Moreally have our first rain gear together, some 11 years into our engagement.

October 16, 2022

Versatile Jacket

This jacket can handle most summer rains without making you too hot to being a good shell for winter when wearing the right layers underneath. The jacket is versatile and can be a jacket that does essentially everything for you. I have used the jacket for casual everyday wear as well as hiking. The only negative is that the jacket does run slight... Read Morely large as I usually wear a large and the jacket was a little large with long sleeves and overall long length. Overall this jacket is great quality for the price and it's hard to find another jacket that beats it in value.

October 14, 2022

Keeps you dry

Bought Torrentshell to use both as an outer shell in winter and for travel during rainy seasons. Not too heavy and light enough to wear for a whole day hike. It doesn't keep you warm as a standalone and you need to pair it with fleece. Is also good as a windbreaker. Has pits to keep you from too warm on summer days. Get this to keep you dry a... Read Morend layer it with fleece to keep you warm in winter.

October 13, 2022

Not soft, not hard shell - a medium shell

Definitely try on 2 sizes, and make sure to have on what you will usually be wearing under the item. I landed with L rain jacket and M rain pants.

October 12, 2022

Good jacket but you can't remove the Patagonia patch

I am a 5'9", 165lb human male and the small is just about right for me. The sleeves could be a touch longer but I'm always a tweener in Patagonia. It hasn't gotten through a rainy season here yet but my last patagonia rain jacket lasted almost a decade so I am confident this one will too. My only issue is that when I removed th... Read Moree Patagonia patch from the breast of the jacket, it left a bunch of ugly black threads I can't seem to pluck out with tweezers. My wife thinks I'm a crazy person for removing visible branding from my clothing but I like a cleaner look. Most of the time it works great with Patagonia clothing but not here. My advice would be to just live with the patch or get a different jacket if you are a weirdo who wants to remove the little Patagonia on the front.

October 11, 2022

Yellow rain jacket

It runs a little long with the arms, but has adjustable straps so it works. It fits well overall, and is comfortable.

October 11, 2022

Great raincoat

The Torrentshell 3L rain jacket is as advertised. It keeps the rain out in the heaviest storms while providing enough ventilation to prevent that "sweating inside your jacket" feeling you get from some other rain jackets. The size large is a bit big in the shoulders for me (I'm 5'11", 185 lbs), but I have long arms so it wa... Read Mores the right choice.

October 9, 2022

Use it primarily as an

Use it primarily as an outer shell during rain and as a wind breaker. Works for both those function but not for warmth. Could use one or two interior pockets. Nothing fancy but someplace to slip glasses case or other items.

October 7, 2022

Ideal Rain Coat

Its light, comfortable, and keeps me perfectly dry. The inside zipper is great for a liner, the sleeves close tight, and it has great large pockets. It fold up small and has been well used in a short period of time.

October 6, 2022

great rain coat

just right

October 4, 2022

Appears to be well made and able to provide years of protection from the rain

I bought this Patagonia rain jacket after another major brand rain jacket failed for the second time. I believe this jacket will protect me from the wind and rain without failing for years to come.

October 4, 2022

Do-It-All Rain Jacket

This jacket works for most weather conditions depending on what you wear as your base layer. You can take it out in the summer rain if you use the vents and can use it to keep cold winds off you in the winter. It held up well in a rain storm and didn't allow any rain through after over an hour of strong rain. I usually wear a large in most i... Read Moretems, but the large was too long in the sleeves and larger overall. The medium fit well so maybe consider sizing down. Overall this is a high-quality jacket for a very good price.

October 3, 2022

The rain jacket is SO AMAZING

I bought this rain jacket for my son going off to College in August, after researching best rain jackets on line. As you know college kids don't like to wear heavy jackets during Fall or even Winter, and need protection from rain while the walk through campus. I was uncertain he would use it but.. He is super happy. I got 2 text messages so ... Read Morefar.. 1) "The rain jacket is so great" and then again, a couple of weeks later , today : " the rain jacket is SO AMAZING". THANK YOU PATAGONIA! You are the best brand in the world, truly.

October 3, 2022

First Rain Jacket

First Patagonia product and rain coat. Hesitant at first due to the price, but for me well worth it. Quality product. Don't remember if the product description mentions it, but this rain coat packs into its front left pocket, I think, too, which is pretty cool. Watched a video to see how it's done. Wouldn't call myself a total off th... Read Moree grid outdoors type person - fear of alpha predators like sharks and bears - but when I'm not in my head and can make it into the woods / mountains, it kept me dry during a 4.5 mile walk / hike in some medium-steady rain w/ my dog. Like the way the hood is designed - the cords on it allow you to shape it to your head which is cool. Imagine others familiar w/ rain coats will know what I'm talking about. The "bill" on the hood, I guess it's called?, seems to do a really good job of directing the flow of water to the sides of your head instead directly down onto your face. It's really light. I got a Large, and it might be a tad big on me, but I can see myself liking the extra space in the winter when wearing more layers. If you've never bought a raincoat before I think this is a good initial first investment for the money. It's light, feels well made, and its design includes some cool features I'd never thought would make such a nice difference walking in the rain.

October 3, 2022

Solid protection for its weight

Its not the lightest rain jacket I own, but its replaced all the others. For its weight though, this thing is bomber. Serious rain and wind stoping power. Has room to layer underneath. Good style. Id buy it again.

October 1, 2022

lightweight for everyday use

Nice and lightweight...replacing an old one. A good basic for multipurpose use.

September 30, 2022

I love this jacket! The

I love this jacket! The fit, weight and length are spot on. I use this jacket while I'm fly fishing and hiking so the zippers under the arms are perfect for regulating the temperature inside the jacket. The hood fits well and remains snug when needed. The Velcro on the sleeves help keep the elements out and my arms warm and dry. My only recomm... Read Moreendation would be to add a zip pocket on the chest. Thank you for everything you do for our planet and for leading by example!

September 29, 2022

Perfect for the bike commute

I've been looking for some time for a lightweight rain jacket for the bike commutes. It works well as a windbreaker as well and I can layer underneath it easily. Super happy with the purchase and I know I'll have it for a while. I have several Patagonia products already.

September 28, 2022

Excellent lightweight technical rain jacket

Not the lightest, not the cheapest, not the fanciest, but I find this rain jacket an excellent combination of performance (extremely water resistant), fit (slim enough to not be flappy, but cut well to not be restrictive), durability (will last a long time hopefully!) and price

September 26, 2022

The Best

I have nothing but good things to say about this jacket. I have put it through hell and back and it never disappoints. So much so I got a second to make sure I could let my buddies wear it if need be. The breathability is great; in cold weather it does great in maintaining the heat in and snow, rain, and wind out. Ive slid down a snowy slope and no... Read Moret a single tear on the jacket. Super compact and light. The pockets are perfect for anything including snow gloves. I also use it on my sport bike and it works great as a windbreaker. Overall casual wear its a staple in my closet.

September 24, 2022

Rustle Snow

Super water tight but very noisy/ rustles a lot.

September 24, 2022

Wet from the inside out

I would really like to love this jacket but the fact of the matter is I get soaked when I wear it. The interior of the jacket is as wet as the exterior when I take it off after walking or hiking in the rain. Literally my shirt gets wet through. I wonder should I bother wearing it or should I just walk in the rain without wearing it. This may sound ... Read Morefoolish but I am sad to pan a product from a company and an organization I admire. The fact of the matter is wet inside and out.

Response from Patagonia
October 3, 2022

Hey John, thank you for your honest review. That is definitely not a normal scenario for our Torrentshell. It sounds like you're experiencing a warranty issue. We've reached out to you to figure out next steps. If something like this happens in the future, please reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) immediately so we can rectify the situation.

September 23, 2022

Tried several other brands, but

Tried several other brands, but found the torrentshell the best all around. The quality of workmanship and materials are better than the others.

September 22, 2022

Exactly what I was looking for.

I was looking for a truly waterproof jacket that I could use for everyday hikes throughout the year. Breath-ability is important to me and this jacket is better than any other rain jacket I've owned previously. I got a generous fit for layering purposes, but it's not at all bulky and I can wear it fine without layering and not feel awkwar... Read Mored. It was a great find and comparatively affordable.

September 19, 2022

Keeps you dry

Took this jacket on a multi day fishing trip in Alaska and it worked very well as an outside shell over some down layers. Kept me dry the whole time and dried out itself very quickly.

September 17, 2022

Great color, material and fit

Love the deep blue color on this and string material. Can easily layer with a T-shirt and sweater. Have yet to try in the rain. Im 5.6 and 170 pounds typically 40 suit chest size and 32-33 arm length and fit was perfect.

September 13, 2022

Performed great

Performed great

September 13, 2022

Does what its supposed to do and does it well!!

Great rain jacket for all conditions. Wear its on its own when its warmer or layer up in colder temps.

September 13, 2022

Water proof

Used for hiking in Alaska when it rained every day. It kept me dry all the time. It is also wind-proof. Looks good too.

September 10, 2022

I have not rain tested

I have not rain tested this yet. It fits me very well. Im 5 10 and 190 pounds. Looking forward to some rain.

September 4, 2022

Super Dry

I got caught in a couple of torrential downpours and with this jacket stayed perfectly dry. My only concern about rain jackets is how long it will stay that way.

August 29, 2022

Great quality

Have owned many shells and cannot believe the quality of this product. 3 Layer material is light years ahead of last shell I owned. Fit is great on the train or on the bike. Packs small. New goto

August 29, 2022

Being 6'3" I am always

Being 6'3" I am always happy when the sleeves are a perfect length. Jacket is perfect and exactly what I was looking for. Lightweight, waterproof and a great fit and value!

August 28, 2022

Best rain jacket

This rain jacket rules. It keeps me dry, is very comfortable and looks great. Its the best rain coat I have ever had.

August 20, 2022

Excellent raincoat

Excellent raincoat

August 15, 2022

Very nice rain jacket

Very protective from rain. In order to get the right size that fits, the sleeves are a little long.

August 14, 2022

Overall satisfied with Quality of Product

The quality of this weatherproof windbreaker is great. And, the fit was spot on also. Except for the sleeves (reason for not giving 5 stars). They are just too tight around the sleeves at the wrist. I understand they need to keep out water. But, if there was a way to adjust the tightness when it is not raining or wet, it would be a lot more comfort... Read Moreable. Only complaint . . . Otherwise, very nice.

August 12, 2022

Best Piece of Clothing I Own

I use this piece of clothing more than any other. Packable and light. Extremely durable. Repels water even when saturated. Sleek. Use this as an exterior layer and can fit layers underneath without being bulky.

August 11, 2022

This was a gift. High

This was a gift. High quality material and workmanship, fit is great, a little bit large and perfect for wearing over a sweater. The recipient loves it and looks great wearing it.

August 5, 2022

Kept me dry in Costa Rica

Got this for a trip to Costa Rica a couple of weeks ago. Kept me perfectly dry. I like the bill on the hood, breathable arm pits are great, items kept in pockets stayed dry too.

July 24, 2022

Awesome rain jacket

I love this jacket, especially the visor

July 19, 2022

Great lightweight rain jacket at a fair price

I use this jacket primarily for casual wear and occasionally for walking and light hiking. It is perfect for both activities - plus it looks great for casual wear, especially here in Maine! Completely satisfied with the quality and value.

July 12, 2022

Quality Product

I purchased this for a recent trip where rain was anticipated. I immediately noticed the quality when opened. I made not of how well it was constructed, specifically the hood and zip covering the neck area. It provided warmth while protecting from rain. Yet, it was breathable and vented body warmth. I am very pleased and now look forward to rain so... Read More that I can wear the jacket.

July 10, 2022

I recently purchased this rain

I recently purchased this rain jacket to replace an older Patagonia Rain Shadow jacket that had started to delaminate after years of regular use. Thank you to Patagonia for the warranty credit! I recently put it to the test on an 11-day backpacking hike on the Tour du Mont Blanc in Europe. I rolled it up and stuck it in the outside web stuff pocket... Read More of my backpack for ready access. It kept me 100% dry in hail, thunder and lightening at the top of the Grand Col Ferret and for the hours it took to get safely down, 100% dry in the rain on the approach to Les Contamines, 100% dry in the rain showers in Chamonix and added extra warmth on the cool evenings and mornings outside refuges in the high Alps. Wearing it while carrying a pack, I appreciate the pit zips to regulate temperature. I wish it had some kind of interior pocket or sleeve (that wouldn't overlap with backpack shoulder straps or waist belt) and I miss the red color in the lineup. I'm looking forward, with full confidence, to years of additional active use.

July 7, 2022

Every day use

I use this jacket for every day rainy days. I found the best use during outdoor sporting events as a spectator for my children. I stay warm and dry while other parents try to huddle under umbrellas.

July 6, 2022

This is a great rain

This is a great rain jacket. I will be using this in the winter and layering clothes underneath for warmth while shoveling snow.

June 21, 2022

Permanent part of my Kit

I won't go back packing with out this jacket. Versatility. Warmth if you need it, and ventilation to keep from getting drenched in your own sweat. Well made, good fit.

June 19, 2022

Great improvement over the old one

I had the old 2-layer Torrentshell for many years. Over time that jacket lost its water-repellency and would just cling to my body like an old wet plastic garbage bag. Not fun! Dropped by the Patagonia store on the UWS in New York and they gave me a new one of these. I'm extremely impressed with the high-quality of the newer 3-layer jackets an... Read Mored its improved design. It feels way more substantial, like an actual shell, and I can tell it's going to last way longer than the other one. The new hood is amazing, and the jacket fits better than ever before. The only detail that I would keep in mind is that it's a bit bigger than the old style, to better accommodate layers, I would imagine. A+ job!

June 11, 2022

Nice quality - sub-optimal size

I have many Patagonia jackets from heavy winter to fleece, and this is the first one that I'm not wowed with - it is too short for a water repelling jacket and too tight under the armpits. Also Snaps our velcro to close in the front without having to zip up the jacket would be nice and better than armpit zips. Nice quality but too many shortcu... Read Morets. Bring back your older Gore-Tex jackets please.

Response from Patagonia
June 14, 2022

Hey Humy, thank you for the feedback. Our Torrentshell is the most basic waterproof jacket we make, so the features are minimal. For a rainwear jacket that's longer with a snap button storm flap, check out the [Men's City Storm Rain Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-city-storm-rain-parka/20700.html?dwvar_20700_color=CSC&cgid=mens-jackets-vests).

June 6, 2022

Even better

I had the old model of this jacket for about 8 years (used it for hikes, bike commuting, getting around town in rain--including torrential), until the lining delaminated. This one seems to have all the good features of the old one plus a few improvements.

June 1, 2022

Both men's and women's run small

Looking to supplement our quarter-century old hard shells, both my wife and I bought Torrentshell jackets over the past few months. She (4'9) normally wears small, I wear medium. In both cases the fit was too tight to effectively layer. We returned them and bought her a medium, me a large. Otherwise nice multipurpose jacket and half the weight... Read More of our bombproof shells.

May 31, 2022

Super Dry

Love this jacket and used it within the first few days of receiving it. I'm 5'9", average build, size 32 waist and ordered the medium. This product is super light and kept me real dry in the rain. For cooler weather, I'd pair this with a sweater. The only thing I'd wish this jacket had was an inside pocket, but overall it&#... Read Morex27;s great and hope this jacket lasts a while considering the price point.

May 28, 2022

Does exactly what it says on the packet

I wanted a transitional jacket to wear on my morning walks with my dog, particularly in spring and fall. This is the jacket. Add to that I can probably wear it in the winter with a warmer fleece underneath and its light enough to wear on those odd rainy days in summer. Really useful piece of kit. Only downside is its a little bit hard and noisy but... Read More thats a small price to pay.

May 26, 2022

Quality at a Great Price

Bought medium and large. Large fits well in chest but long in arms. Medium was very tight in chest and fit arm length. Decided on the Large. Tested out during a rain storm, 20 minutes and stayed completed dry. Hood fit and cinched well with a ball cap. Material is a little stiff. So far great quality and price for a 3 layer design. Going to really ... Read Moretest It in September in the Rockies during a back county elk hunting. Patagonia is going hunting with me this year!

May 26, 2022

Good rain jacket

Good but need a way to hide hood

May 25, 2022

Checks every box!

This jacket really hits all the marks in what you'd look for in a rain/waterproof jacket! The interior of the jacket looks beautiful, you can really see the craftsmanship of Patagonia in the seam tape. Next, the hood has saved me on countless occasions. The sinch in the hood perfectly grabs onto my dome for those windy days - and it never feel... Read Mores too tight. The waterproofing material is also stellar. I love watching all the water bead up and roll off! And the final bonus? Packability!! Always keep this bad boy on me when theres a chance of precipitation. Would recommend to anyone who's looking for a rain jacket that will outlast the user.

May 21, 2022

Excellent protection from wind and rain

Bought two jackets: medium size for myself and large size for my husband. Very happy with them, they worked excellent during out tour to Iceland in May, protecting us from the cold, wind and rain.

May 18, 2022

Bullet proof water proof

A redesigned 3-ply shell impresses.

May 17, 2022

Greatest Torrentshell yet

I owned the previous technology of this jacket. The current jacket fits better and has better design in the zipper and wick tech. The previous jacket lasted me many years and this one will outlast the other. My wife and daughter love the color!

May 17, 2022

Comfortable & Practical

Extremely light, and very waterproof! I havent had it leak/soak through at all, even in some pretty heavy downpour. Great jacket, and I love how sustainable it is

May 16, 2022

Good Jacket

Pretty good jacket, it performs as expected. Since I am 5'6 145 lbs with a 36 inch chest and a 29 in waist, my build oddly shaped. the only recommendation would be to shorten the sleeves. The main body of the jacket fits great especially over any base layer or even a puffy, but the sleeves are to long for me. Thanks

May 14, 2022

Dry as can be

If you are 57 to 59 get a small. The medium fits, but is a little big. This thing is the mac daddy of rain wear. You will be dry.

May 13, 2022

Love it

I wish I would have purchased this rain jacket years ago. I'm 6'-7" and the XL size fits me very well. The sleeves run past my wrists, to my knuckles.

May 6, 2022

well made, keeps you dry, runs hot

I bought the same size as my t shirts and this fits well: it's roomy enough to accomodate layering of a hoodie, puffy or something but isn't a billowy, formless tent. Like most impenetrable rainshells it doesn't breathe all that great, even with the armpit vents open, but it keeps the wet out.

May 4, 2022

Just What I Needed

This jacket is excellent for the price. Water and mostly wind proof, pit zips (heck yeah), deep and sheltered pockets, hood with three adjustment points, panels over the zipper, the goodness goes on and on. I bought this mostly for commuting by e-scooter. I needed something for wind more than rain, and this shell doesn't disappoint. With a nan... Read Moreo puff hoody underneath (size small as well, excellent cut for layering) and gloves, I am good down to 45 degrees fully exposed at 25 mph. It's also very easy to clean; my rear fender had busted and I didn't know it until I was scootering in the rain in NYC. Had a dirty-city-water skunk tail up my back, and all I had to do was wipe the jacket down when I got home. The only thing missing is a chest pocket, but I'd rather have pit zips (heck yeah again) than a chest pocket, so I'll take it.

May 3, 2022

Sailing

I use this jacket for sailing. Keeps me warm and dry as an outer shell assuming the weather isnt too nasty. My only complaint is that the jacket appears to have small spots with no color or apparent water proofing. It looks like a manufacturer defect.

Response from Patagonia
May 6, 2022

We are sorry to hear your Men's Torrentshell 3L Jacket appears to have some manufacturer defect. We guarantee our products so you are more than welcome to send that in for warranty evaluation. To begin this process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 2, 2022

Too Stiff

The fabric was just too rigid. Feels like a thick garbage bag.

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2022

Hi Carlos! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the material. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 1, 2022

Dependable rain protection

Jacket is perfect for my uses: work and around town. Has kept me completely dry and comfortable through a couple rain storms. Breathes well, even without using the pit zips, especially considering the heavy fabrics used. Also seems very durable due to the heavyweight fabrics. The heavyweight fabrics are a double edged sword though. Love the durabil... Read Moreity of them, but wouldnt take this jacket backpacking due the weight and the fact that it doesnt compress down as small as some other rain jackets. I personally could due without the pit zips too. I dont use them so they just seem to add weight and bulk. For the backcountry i will continue to take my m-10 but for everything else the torrent shell is perfect at a perfect price.

April 29, 2022

XL for very tall people

I wear an XL in all other brands, and there is a reason the model they used here is 6'5''. The large was too small for me, but the XL is so long when I zip it up the zipper almost comes to my nose. The hood flops everywhere. I would not recommend the XL for men of average height.

April 29, 2022

Rain jacket

First of all the customer service is great. Thats why I spend my money on Patagonia products. Second, the materials used are the best. Having said that, I love this jacket I purchased for fishing because it does everything I wanted. Keeps me dry, and warm when times get a little windy and wet. The only down side with this jacket is the Zippers. The... Read Morey are made out of a metallic alloy that corrodes very fast. They fail way before any wear and tear occurs to the Jacket. And that brings me back to customer service. I have returned two jackets where the zippers literally fell off after only using the Jackets for a few times. Even washing and coating the Zipper with some wax, they both failed. I received replacement jackets with no problem. I only wished that the zippers would be changed to a nylon one so that there is nothing to corrode. If so, I'm sure the Jacket would last years. On a scale of one to ten, I'd rate it a 7 only because the zipper fails. But again the service and support of Patagonia is great. Aloha, Daryl

Response from Patagonia
May 2, 2022

Hey Daryl, thank you for sharing your feedback with us on the Torrentshell. There is a storm flap over the zipper which is meant to keep moisture out, but if the jacket is getting saturated frequently, we recommend upgrading to a jacket that is specialized for those conditions. The Torrentshell is our baseline for waterproof gear, but something like our [Men's Calcite Jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-calcite-jacket/84986.html?dwvar_84986_color=CRBA&cgid=mens-jackets-vests) for example has more advanced features such as a coated, watertight center-front zipper. We do also make a couple jackets that were designed with fishing in mind, such as our Men's SST Jacket or the Men's River Salt Jacket. We definitely have options! If you'd like to have a more in depth conversation about this, feel free to reach out to us.

April 28, 2022

"Regular" fit differs from Nano Puff Regular fit

I'm 5'4" 137lb. Size XS fit me great, whereas size XS in the Nano Puff is too tight. Granted that if I lived up north and wanted to wear heavy layers underneath, I would need to size up to the small, but I certainly have room to layer a Capilene T and a zip neck knit top under the XS. Perfect packable rain jacket for me.

April 26, 2022

Great fit!

This is my second Torrentshell rain jacket. Great fit and functionally perfect. Rain and snow (as a shell) it works great. Its packed for every trip,Utah , Florida or Hawaii. .

April 24, 2022

Pretty nice

Comfortable and stylish. Big enough to wear layers underneath but not too big.

April 20, 2022

Awesome jacket

Overall just a high quality great jacket.

April 20, 2022

Great fit

Great fit, looks good and waterproof too! Fits true to size. Nice color too!

April 19, 2022

Nice Jacket!

Super nice rain jacket. Not too expensive but feels well made and no cut corners during production. Great so far in Seattle rain.

April 18, 2022

Nice jacket

It was a bit tight with a sweater.

April 16, 2022

Perfect Rain coat

Great coat. Perfect for drizzle or downpour. Love pockets and hood. Packs down nicely. Great price point.

April 12, 2022

Warm, light and dry

I love this jacket because it not only keeps me dry through rain and snow but is also lightweight and warm. I love How i can put it on over a fleece or sweatshirt when its cold and it basically works as a winter jacket. I also like the feature of zippers under the arms which can open and provide ventilation when using the jacket on warm days. Very ... Read Moremuch a fan of this jacket.

April 8, 2022

Very Dry

Great jacket to wear alone or with layers. Excellent water repellency on rainy days with good ventilation.

April 5, 2022

Lightweight rain jacket

Too bad this jacket is only for men. Bought an xl so I can layer Arms a bit long Zipper difficult to hinge.hopefully will loosen during wear Otherwise perfect. Lightweight, water and wind resistant with a hood..going to Portland in June will need this

March 31, 2022

Watertight so far

I needed a new rain jacket, and like them to be able to fit over layers, and still have room to move, so got an XL. I would say that it fits slightly big for the size. So far, it has done everything advertised(waterproof, breathable), and I haven't had any problems with it. I don't know if a smaller size would help, or if it's just t... Read Morehe fabric, but it does poof a little bit where the top of the hand pockets are after sitting or raising arms.

March 30, 2022

Great rain jacket

This is a great product and will hold up in rainy weather. Recently, I used it in the mountains, where there is inclumate weather and the jacket was perfect to hours of long rain pours. Great Jacket

March 29, 2022

Excellent quality

I had already bought the same jacket for my daughter for her hiking. I was so impressed by the quality of the craftsmanship and materials that I also bought the same jacket for my wife and I. I have not had a chance to fully test the jackets in heavy downpours but expect with the 3L there will be no issues. Although this gear is not cheap, it is re... Read Moreasonably when compared to Arc'Teryx products and the quality is on Par. I also will continue to buy Patagonia products as they are also committed to doing their part for activism and environmental causes.

March 28, 2022

Does the job well

I did research on the best rain shells of 2021, Torrent Shell was on the top of all lists. It stacks up to those ratings. Performs perfectly in light to heavy rain. Pit vents are a huge plus! I'm 6'2" 185 and the length for arms and rear are the best I've found. Compared to similar North Face, Torrent is my go to.

March 27, 2022

Great all purpose

Great for casual use and hiking. Customizable fit which I appreciate!! You can never go wrong with a Patagonia jacket

March 24, 2022

Excellent Rainwear

ceeded my êxpectations!

March 23, 2022

Nice rain jacket, would double as a ski jacket

Good fit, waterproof as advertised. Breathes well. No stupid features, thank you. Good zipper. I use it for rainy weather but it seems like a good alternative to more expensive ski jackets. Hood fits great, hood works under a helmet but not over. Need a good all around shell thats a good deal? Id but it again.

March 22, 2022

Lightweight waterproof coat

Good rain jacket fit is a little big, but will fit over lightweight coat. Still trying to figure out the hood to get a good fit, has two different ways to adjust the fit so should get a comfortable fit soon. Overall happy with the coat, can't wait to try it in a true downpour.

March 20, 2022

Correction to previous review. Order a Small not Medium

I made a mistake in my original review. I ordered a Small not Medium.

March 20, 2022

Stylish and functional rain coat

5'8", 34" chest and 32" waist. I ordered a Medium and it fits well, both standalone or over a M's Down Sweater Jacket equivalent. I wore this jack on a 1 hr walk with 39F temp and 17mph wind gusts with only a Fleece Shirt underneath. I was never cold and didn't feel the wind. Sleeves are a little long but not overly so... Read More. The jacket could also use a inner stash pocket. I've only wore the jacket in the rain once and it performed as expected. I'm very happy with my purchase and would by again.

March 17, 2022

Great Product

As always Patagonia made something amazing. It's a great lightweight jacket for the rain.

March 17, 2022

excellent

bought to replace original Torrentshell. small tweaks are an improvement to product. wore the heck out of original from Great Lakes rainstorms to zip-lining in Rain Forest. Have same performance expectations

March 16, 2022

Great jacket

This jacket is my favorite piece of rain wear. Great fit and looks great.

March 15, 2022

Orange U glad

I needed a raincoat that I could count on 100% to keep dry while hiking with my 5th graders, in the Smokys. I need a jacket to keep me dry and warm while setting up Enduro races for Big Mountain Enduro. I need a jacket to teach PE anytime without being bulky or so I could layer up. I needed the Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket in less than 7 days since ... Read Moremy previous one's zipper failed just before a trip. Patagonia had a new one in my pack in 2 days. Fantastic customer services, just like I was told by all friends who wear their products. Get your own.

March 15, 2022

A little small

like most outdoor clothing companies, the sizing tendencies are towards the slimmer profile. big guys like myself need to search far and wide for outer wear that will fit comfortably over cold weather layering, For me this jacket is a prime example. It'll work fine for stashing in my pack for summer squalls.

March 15, 2022

early days

Having only had this a short while, so far so good. Kept me dry in a rainy walk, the hood fits well, and compared to other raingear I've owned, almost silent. Love the bright orange color.

March 14, 2022

Works well as everyday jacket.

One breast pocket would complete the package. The styling maybe a bit long on the sleeves and hips. Overall very functional.

March 13, 2022

Comfortable, strong and packable

Super comfortable, sturdy with great design features: packable, breathable and truly waterproof makes it an all around jacket for the tropics.

March 12, 2022

Does its job

This is my second rain coat. After having my original for four years, it stopped keeping me dry. I assume these things arent made to last much longer than that so I purchased my second one. I spend a lot of time in heavy rain at the beach with my dog and I stay dry.

Response from Patagonia
March 18, 2022

Thank you for this review, Meredith.The reason waterproof gear delaminates is that contaminants like dirt, sweat, or oils from skin will slowly start to separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. Sadly, this isn't something that we can repair; however, when it happens it is considered a warranty issue. A good way to prevent this with the new jacket is to wash it more frequently. Depending on how often it's used, we suggest washing at least a couple times per season. Also, storing it hanging in your closet, or in a cool, dry place is best. Here are some general care instructions for waterproof gear: machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, warm iron, do not use fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick (no fabric softener). A post-wash tumble dry on low heat for 20 minutes will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. The codes on the tag will show that you want to tumble dry on low heat. The DWR can also be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax. Eventually, the DWR finish may lose effectiveness and water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment. Here is some general information about caring for Patagonia products: https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/#product-care

March 11, 2022

Nice

I went to the store and tried it on before I bought it. I intended it to be slightly larger than I needed it to better put layers on layers underneath. A bit too big for casual wear but perfect for what I want

March 10, 2022

Finest Rain Shell Ever

The 3L Rain Jacket is the finest rain shell I have ever used. Lightweight, fits perfectly with room for a layer underneath, breathable; yet it blocks even the coldest wind, and keeps me perfectly dry. Highly recommended!

March 3, 2022

Dry

Really stiff fabric and the cut is a little off.

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2022

Hi Joe, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We're sorry to hear that jacket may not be working for you! Please keep in mind that you can return anything that isn't working for you: [Returns](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 1, 2022

kept me dry, very light weight

Put it on for the first time skiing in the rain. Temp. in the 40's. One warm layer and the jacket was just right. Kept me dry.

February 27, 2022

All Day Comfort

Perfect rain jacket. My absolute favorite! I love the underarm zips for when I'm starting to get a little warm. I really appreciate the hood being able to be tightened. The black goes with everything! I just bought another one in red for my husband.

February 25, 2022

Warm and Beautiful Color

Perfect for the rain. Best rain jacket ever.

February 22, 2022

Superb Raincoat

I originally bought this as a large but when it came it was TOO large. Quickly and easily traded it in for a medium and it was perfect. It's fantastic in the rain and is super easy to pack away if going on a trip. Highly recommend as an outer layer for any hiking trip (just be sure to bundle up under to stay warm)!

February 22, 2022

A great everyday shell

I love this jacket! The fit is perfect even over three layers. It's light weight and stuffs in my day pack easily. I've been wearing it daily since I got it.

February 22, 2022

Great coat, light weight. Perfect for hiking easy to pack.

I love this coat. Great color and easily packable for hikes. Fits really nice. Not too long or too short. I'm a medium sized person. Have been all my 37 years.

February 22, 2022

Exactly what I wanted

Great jacket keeps me dry and fits perfect. I wear my nano underneath, Im warm and its light

February 21, 2022

Perfect ski shell!

I only buy Patagonia gear because it always feels and fits the best!

February 17, 2022

Sleek design and quality material.

I got a size large because Im taller and I like my clothes a bit loose. This jacket has fasteners that can adjust the fit so that it hugs you as opposed to floating and I appreciate that.

February 17, 2022

Best Rain Jacket Ive used!

I opted for a large based on my shoulder width. Although Im relatively short, broad shouldered, with a shorter neck, Ive been able to adjust this jacket to fit me well and seal out wind and rain better than most other jackets Ive tried. Ive used it on numerous adventure photography shoots in the PNW where it is wet constantly 9 months out of the ye... Read Morear and Ive never had any problems with water getting in. I think Patagonia really hit the nail on the head with this one. I got the Forge Grey for hiking and work use and just the light blue for casual wear. For me, the large is just big enough that I can comfortably layer a fleece and t shirt underneath for cooler temps while keeping me drunk this is super important to me as appreciate the ability to layer. Even in the wintertime when Im in the Midwest, Ill wear this to keep dry with heavy warming layers underneath. Just my preference but for my uses, this is definitely my favorite jacket!

February 16, 2022

Last rain jacket you will need to buy

Great product, fairly priced, from a phenomenal company that stands behind their products.

February 15, 2022

Well built shell

The Torrentshell 3L is well built with good quality control, as you might expect from Patagonia. So far in an upstate NY winter it has been totally waterproof yet more breathable than my last mid weight shell. The pit zips are large and double-zipped, a nice touch. I love that the drawcords are so well managed. Sizing on the 3XL is good for layerin... Read Moreg on me- 62, 50 chest , 300lb. Two places that could be improved: 1. Make the front zip a double zipper to give more hip room when needed 2. Pockets. The hand pockets are ok, opening could be a bit bigger, and Id love a chest pocket or two (one inside one outside on opposite sides). Overall a good shell, particularly for the price. Definitely recommend and living up to the reviews so far.

Response from Patagonia
February 18, 2022

Thank you for leaving this detailed review, Anne! Measurements are always extra helpful. And we appreciate your suggestions for improvements! Our product development team reads the reviews, so they will see this feedback. Cheers!

February 13, 2022

WTF?

We can put the Webb telescope into space and it works. Why can't we make a rain coat that doesn't leak? Disappointed and will be donating this to the homeless shelter.

February 10, 2022

seems solid

A nice solid piece of (assumed) waterproof gear. It hasn't been out in the rain yet, but this isn't an ultra light packable coat that seems like it will wet out after a few hours of rain/mist exposure. This is not a "technical" jacket... just a good old rain coat.

February 9, 2022

Completely dry and perfect temperature

This jacket keeps you dry all the way through even in the constant drizzle in the Pac NW. just the right temp control with venting to adjust. Great product would buy again.

February 5, 2022

Love My Rain Jacket - aka Torrentshell 3L

I couldn't wait for this product to be in stock! Super excited and now I can't wait for the rain!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches