Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

Write Your Review

4.75 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Jacket

4.75
Kinda Large
June 29, 2020

Perfect

Needed a rain jacket that was all around good for work, hiking & stylish & works out perfect. The jacket is rugged, but the design is very comfortable.

June 15, 2020

best rain jacket in this price range !!

I just want to say that I am extremely surprised (in a great way) about this jacket!! I bought it in the roots red colorway, which is a beautiful earth tone alternative to my usual greens & tans. The jacket itself feels nice on the skin - I owned the last version, and it felt very clammy & plastic, less so here. The most significant improve... Read Morements IMO are the construction of this jacket, which blows any other jacket in this price range out of the water. The three-layer structure feels premium & durable, the hood has been tweaked slightly to allow for a better fit on my large head, & the H2NO water-resistance is as reliable as ever. This is the best rain jacket for 95% of outdoor-friendly folks - it can take a beating, it is breathable, it is comfortable, and it packs away well. If you are using this layer for rock-climbing or more intense activities, I wouldn't suggest this jacket, but you wouldn't be looking for a jacket in this price range anyway - you'd be looking at Gore-Tex layers. I plan to keep this jacket with me daily, stored away in case of any rainy conditions or as a layer on colder days. One last note about fit - I bought a medium, which fits my small frame slightly large, but it is perfect for layering, which I plan to do with my fleece, sweatshirts, and puffer jackets from time-to-time. I look forward to using this jacket for several years; rarely do I write reviews on most products, but this jacket is worthy of my praise-worthiness.

June 9, 2020

I really love this.

I really love this.

June 6, 2020

Surprisingly Versatile

I purchased this jacket for a lightweight, breathable rain jacket. I have only worn it 4 times and not yet in the pouring rain, but so far, I am impressed. Jacket is very light weight and comfortably roomy. Although there are only 2 hand warmer pockets they are spacious and I found that I can wear a pack and the hip belt does not interfere with the... Read More pockets. I took this jacket spring skiing (about 45 degrees F) and found with all the zippers closed that it actually retained heat! Jacket also seemed to be fairly windproof. I was very comfortable with only a base layer underneath. As the jacket is still new I can not speak to the durability of the product. The hood, although it did fit over my ski helmet was quite snug and restricted movement. Which is OK as I did not buy this as a ski jacket anyway, just though it was worth noting. Wouldn't mind if Patagonia added an internal chest pocket. Overall this jacket is better than expected, very light, roomy, breathable and seals out the elements. Patagonia, again, exceeds my expectations.

May 17, 2020

Quality as always

The first thing I noticed when putting it on was how well it held heat. I wouldnt wear it alone in the winter but definitely as an outer layer. The second thing was the waterproofing since it was storming really bad when I got it, I wanted to test it out. It kept me completely dry. Its a thin 3L shell that is really well made. Two hood adjusters, o... Read Morene on the back for diameter and two pull strings near the top of the zipper. I saw a comment about how they dont hold which is not true. They have adjusting straps inside of the hood (almost ear level) that adjust height. It helps it conform to your head and looks like a more typical hoodie. Only issue I have with it, which really isnt bad but could be adjusted for future models, is front collar/chin area. It kind of either folds one way or the other and doesnt conform around my chin. Definitely not a deal breaker at all. Very happy to not be drenched anymore and love Patagonias lifetime warranty. They produce quality products for customers they care about while being mindful of their impact. Wish there were more companies like this.

May 9, 2020

AWESOME MANGO RAIN JACKET

The color mango is bright to say the least and I should be seen easily by almost everyone. Im 5 feet 8 inches tall and weigh 164lbs. and I probably should have ordered a medium for proper fit. No worries as this large will allow for an under layer (fleece/sweater/vest) when the temperature drops. This jacket was made clean and well and looks GR8... Read More! Big Thanks!

March 15, 2020

If you're not long and lean ...

Like most Patagonia products, this jacket is beautifully made with the highest quality materials. But as is the sizing for many Patagonia products seems to be of late, the jacket seems to be meant for the slim and long-limbed. I'm 5'10," 165 pounds and of average build. The medium is bit too tight in the shoulders, though just right,... Read More if not slightly long in the arm length. A large will probably fit fine in my upper torso and be a couple inches long in the sleeves.

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry that the fit didn't work out, we are always happy to help you out with more specific measurements if you have questions on future products. You're also welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a different size.

March 8, 2020

Front zipper

Is the front zipper "two way"? Can you zip it up from the bottom when you get into a vehicle?

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Hi Mike! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on the Torrentshell 3L! The zipper is a one way feature on this jacket. Typically two way zippers can be seen on most parka styles and belay specific gear for climbing purposes. If you find that the jacket won't work out feel free to send it in for [return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy).

March 6, 2020

This Is An Amazing Jacket!

This is an amazing Jacket, it keeps me warm as well as cool and is made of a durable meterial that has been through heck and back i love this jacket so much!!!!

March 3, 2020

Hiking, climbing, and skiing oh yea!

I took this shell out climbing fully expecting to at least put a dent in it but it still looks brand spankin' new! Wasatch granite couldn't even scratch this super durable material and it made waiting in the snow between burns down right pleasant. Carrying all the gear to and from the crag is already bulk enough so I was super stoke on th... Read Moree fact that this shell stuffs away into its own pocket, with some fight, but once it's stowed it will fit in any pack. At 6'3 the medium fit great in the sleeves and across the chest with just a little mid-drift exposure when raising the roof, so tall guy beta is to keep your arms down and leave the drafts up to the vents under arm.

March 2, 2020

Perfect Combo Of Lifestyle And Function

The torrentshell has always been a reliable rain jacket that combines functionality with style, but with Patagonia's recent renovations of its best selling rain shell, it's gotten even better! What are the renovations you ask? Well the torrentshell is now made with a 3 layer fabric. This means that the jacket will now breathe and repel wa... Read Moreter better. This is the type of rain jacket that you can bring with you everywhere. From running errands around town to backpacking in the Wind Rivers. This jacket looks good in all conditions. I found the jacket to fit true to size. The XL had enough room to layer underneath it but didn't make me look bulky or too big. the sleeves were the perfect length and the overall length of the garment easily covered my upper body layers. I used this jacket for some light hiking around town. The light hiking was done on a day that was around 50 degrees and I could tell this rain jacket breathes better than the competition as I would become pretty clammy in similar conditions in other rain jackets. This one seemed to breathe well and putting the front zipper down a little allowed me to stay sweat free despite the warm temps. While I was testing it there wasn't a rain cloud in the sky so I tested out the jacket's waterproofness in my shower. I stood under a down pour for 2 minutes and was surprised to find all my clothes super dry when I got out. The water had beaded up on the exterior and just rolled right off! I was super impressed with the waterproofness. Overall, I think this rain jacket performs and will function well under just about any conditions. Being stylish and fashionable is an added bonus, and will get more use out of the jacket as it looks great when wearing it out on the town.

February 28, 2020

My own personal shelter

I recently lost my favorite shell/rain jacket in a car accident. After months of careful research, I chose this piece to replace Old faithful. The fit roomy enough to wear as a winter shell, over base and mid layer jackets. Workmanship is first rate, and the features, though minimal, are perfect for what I need. My only complaint is the tag. I pla... Read Moren to wear this as a rain jacket in warmer weather, over nothing more than a tee shirt. When I first put it on, the sewn-in tag and locker hanger scratched the back of my neck pretty good. One of the features mentioned is a micro fleece patch for neck comfort. Well, sewing the tag over that soft patch negates any comfort it may have offered. Its not a big enough deal for me to return the jacket, since I really do like it otherwise. I spent 30 or-so minutes carefully removing the tag and locker loop with a pair of suture removal scissors, and, problem solved. Now the Jacket is completely awesome and comfortable too!

February 27, 2020

Look good, feel good, stay dry... A shell I can trust!

This shell at first glance appears to just be another shell that's good for touring, backpacking, or whatever your outdoor activity is. This is super true, but there's more to this shell than just another shell. The 3L technology used in this shell can be felt before you even finish putting it on. It's one of those textures you can f... Read Moreeel and instantly trust to keep you dry. The first thing I did when I got this was put it on and run the water in the sink over my arm, and there was no doubt in my mind I'd get wet and man was I right. This membrane is insanely waterproof, super comfortable, and breathes better than any other rain jacket/shell I've put on. The pit zips make it perfect for touring, and the fit of it makes it perfect for layering underneath for resort skiing (which is what I mostly use mine for.) This shell is SUPER lightweight and would be the ideal backpacking rain jacket for a light pack and reliable dryness regardless of weather. Without a doubt, this is the best shell I know of, with the newest technology, and somehow it's still under $200.

February 27, 2020

Fit and Quality

The fit of this jacket is just right. I'm 6'3" and I often wear and size 16 1/2 shirt with 35 inch sleeves. I was worried the sleeves would be a bit short given that my shirts are a bit short sometimes. This jacket is just right. I had an older H2no jacket that I sent in because the liner was failing and I got some rebate money and b... Read Moreought a new one. The liner seems to be higher-quality now and everything else is just as expected. Another great Patagonia product.

February 13, 2020

Had to buy two

My son loved my roots red Torrentshell so much I gave it to him and had to buy another one for me. Love the supply green better anyway.

January 31, 2020

All Weather

Amazing for skiing. The vents in the arm help to cool down. Great outer shell with a lot of features to help customize it to your preference. Ran a little big, but that’s expected for a shell. One downside is that the hood/collar sort of fold back when unzipped, which hides the logo.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches