burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Torrentshell 3L Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.3/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 30 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants - Regular

4.3/5
Kinda Large
January 25, 2023

Stay dry

Great rain/waterproof pants overall.Easy to use.I really like how they run a touch big because it makes it easy to put on over other layers pants,shorts and boots in a hurry.The zippered legs are awesome so you don't have to take off boots or shoes to put on makes it super simple.Torrent shell pants makes it easy for me to stay dry when I need... Read More to!You can stuff or roll the pants into thier side pocket which is a bonus for storage in a pack or low profile storage. Thanks guys for enhancing my outdoor experiences with such great products!

January 23, 2023

Great fit

I love Patagonia products for lots of reasons but first and foremost it's well made and lasts. However, this product is missing an important component for men! Either discontinue the pants or add a front zipper so we can pee without dropping our pants. Thanks

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2023

We appreciate your feedback on the design, Richard! If you do find the lack of zipper to be a deal-breaker, please don't hesitate to reach out to our [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) team to return them. We'll be happy to help!

October 1, 2022

Nice

I have two pair of rainpants; one for work that I tear to shreds throughout a season of bushwacking through blackberry bushes, and then these rainpants. These rainpants are my "nice pair" that I only wear when I know I won't be in the thicket too much. They have great pockets, great leg zippers, and dry in a reasonable time. I'm... Read More a woman who got the men's XS, and they are very high-waisted but it's perfect so your backpack waistband can sit below the pant waistband and minimize "ride-up".

August 27, 2022

water proof

Light weight and love them

August 22, 2022

Simple, effective layer, pretty packable

Have had these for a couple years and have used them infrequently over that time. But they're great for wet weather hiking and can work for biking in a pinch. Used recently on a bikepacking trip and got caught in the rain. I'd recommend using a strap of some kind to cinch in the ankle area by your drivetrain. They work really well to keep... Read More you dry! The material isn't the most breathable, which is both good and bad. It'll help keep you warm and you can use the vent zipper to moderate temps a bit. But you may have to reduce your exertion level to prevent getting sweaty (and risk getting cold in the rain). Fit is baggy, which makes layering nice and easy. I'm 5'10" 175lbs and the medium is great, still on the large side. Not a lot of frills, but if you're stuck in the rain you'll be glad you have these.

August 22, 2022

Great product but

The rain pants are very high quality but the waist is huge. I am 6ft3in/185# and have a 33in. I fit in all other large clothes. If they came in tall I would definitely fit in a medium tall.

Response from Patagonia
August 25, 2022

Hi Ben! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the fit. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

June 12, 2022

Quick packable rain gear

Great rain pants for the drift boat . Especially in the Tetons.

May 26, 2022

Comfortable Fit

These pants were purchased for rain gear and this spring they're really getting a workout. They're extremely comfortable, lightweight, and repel the water very well. Can be slipped on in a heartbeat for walking the dog and are also comfortable enough to be out fishing in them four hours at a time. Highly recommend.

May 2, 2022

Wrong features

If this is supposed to simply be a pair of overpants to keep you dry, then the pockets should allow me to access the pockets in the pants that Im wearing underneath. If these are meant to be actual pants, then it should have at least belt loops Additionally, its missing some very very simple niceties that other companys basic goretex pants have,... Read More like some loops on the bottom cuff to tie some cord to (that loop under your boots arch to keep the pant leg down so you dont need gaiters), pockets, and BELT LOOPS. Missing the cord loops for your boots and having an elastic cuff just results in your pants riding up. Its a lose-lose feature. Very not well thought out. If they want an elastic cuff with no cord loops, it should be an interior elastic cuff, like with most snowboard pants. Or they could just make the pants with the loops on the cuff

Response from Patagonia
May 5, 2022

We're sorry that the Torrentshell Pants have been disappointing and we encourage you to return them. We do offer several other waterproof pants that include those features you seek, so please keep an eye out for those on our site, or ask our Customer Service team. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

April 25, 2022

Waterproof

These rain pants are my companions on my bike rides. I have used them to keep the snow, rain and cold wind off my legs. They are great. Get some.

April 15, 2022

All around go too for wet!

Great over all! Super light weight shell pant. Year round go to for any activity in SE Alaska. I wore them out! Full side zips was essential for all foot wear. Wished they had belt loops, and near the end of their water resistance usefulness,the insides delaminated real bad.I kept using them, they still worked ok! Didnt like shedding the micro plas... Read Moretics. Thanks for a new pair Patagonia!

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2022

Hey Greg, thank you for the review. Delamination can happen over time, and it comes from dirt, sweat, or oils from the skin; eventually these factors will slowly start to separate the waterproof laminate from the outer fabric. Luckily, this is a warranty issue and it sounds like you were able to take advantage of that and get a new pair which is great! To avoid that from happening to your next pair, we recommend washing and drying at least a couple times per season. Here are some care instructions: machine wash warm, do not bleach, tumble dry low, warm iron, do not use fabric softeners. A performance detergent is preferable (Storm Clothing Wash, Nikwax Tech Wash, etc.), but any gentle detergent will do the trick. A post-wash tumble dry on low heat for 20 minutes will help revive the water repellent DWR finish. Eventually, the DWR finish may lose effectiveness and water will no longer bead on the surface of the garment. The DWR can be restored with a performance spray or wash-in treatment such as Storm Eco Proofer or Nikwax. We hope this helps to extend the life of your next pair. If you have questions or concerns about this process feel free to [reach out to us](https://help.patagonia.com/s/).

April 7, 2022

Good, but. . . .

I have only had this for a few hikes. Im guessing the waterproofing quality will be fine. However, the waist drawstring is poorly designed. It does not stay tight so I had to continually tighten and adjust on a recent rugged, 3 hour hike.

Response from Patagonia
April 8, 2022

Hi Michael, we're sorry to hear that the drawstring on your Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants isn't staying in place. If you find that the issue is causing too much trouble, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 26, 2022

Best squishy pants!

These pants are cool, Im a 31 inch waist the small is a perfect fit! I actually like the noise the pants make haha its not that loud , for someone to complain thats just silly!! I will rock these for a long time!

March 22, 2022

Ease of Movement While Remaining Dry

The rain pants fit well over regular pants while providing protection from the elements and not restricting your range of motion.

February 28, 2022

Kept Me Dry!!

I was headed to do a job in snowy Idaho & needed a shell to put over my work pants that gave me good mobility as well. These are great for exactly that. Had my Capilene on as well so I stayed warm & dry. Definitely recommend these..

February 16, 2022

Quick and Day

As a fly-fishing guide in Florida, I have to be prepared for sudden rain showers. I can deploy the Torrentshell 3L rain pants in about 30 seconds, and they keep me dry. In the winter months I wear them as an outer layer for warmth. They always get the job done. My waist is 32" and I have plenty of room in a M. Be careful with the pocket zipper... Read Mores to keep them from snagging.

February 7, 2022

Ok fit.

The only thing I wish it had was an extra snap or some Velcro to make the waist more snug. It fits good but I like to feel like its a little more snug.

February 1, 2022

Superdry

I have not tried it yet but I have another H2NO product and it keeps me dry as a bone.

January 11, 2022

Poor waist adjustment design

I really wanted to like these pants to go with my Patagonia Torrentshell 3L jacket. However there is virtually no elasticity to the waist and shoe string for drawcord that is slippery and doesn't tie well. It's more suited to a pair of pajamas for bed than for hiking gear. You feel like you're going to end up with your pants around y... Read Moreour ankles at some point. I believe the 3L material is waterproof but the drawstring waist is a non-starter. A shock cord with a plastic cord lock retainer like on the Torrentshell jacket skirt and hood adjustments would be a huge improvement.

January 10, 2022

Wear and Tear

These pants run somewhat large for me (5.10, 142 pounds) but were doable. My new pair, just purchased are size small. The challenge was with only moderate wear, the lining on the inside began to wear allowing water in. I tried to duct tape the several areas where this occurred but to little avail. Having said that, I did purchase another pair.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2022

Hi Ed, thank you for sharing this review. We're so sorry to hear the lining on one pair didn't hold up! Please remember they are covered under our warranty, and you are free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you wish.

December 9, 2021

Reliable

Compared to the older version, this one is so much better. Patagonia's lifetime warranty is unparalleled! Thanks so much!

November 21, 2021

Great value just one gripe

Pants work great and fit well too. My one gripe is that there is no little loop to hang the pants.

May 4, 2021

Added sail area

Not sure for whom Patagonia designed these pants. They are way too big all around and I cannot fathom the idea of any sport activity (other then sailing, where more sail area is a advantage ) while wearing these pants. Definitely returning these.

April 6, 2021

Hiking in the RAIN

I got these pants for hiking in the rain. As in REAL rain that soaks you. They performed perfectly. Hiked for maybe 3 hours in medium to strong rain showers and I stayed 100% dry! Love them. Worth every cent.

March 26, 2021

Comfortable over the pants fit

I originally purchased the medium /regular because I wanted a little extra length for pulling over pants and shoes. The regular was too long for me. Went with the medium/short and was exactly what I wanted. I have not field tested yet but the fit was what I was looking for when testing at home with pants and shoes. Loose and comfortable.

March 21, 2021

A bit heavy

Nice fit, nice look. I wish it were thinner material

February 28, 2021

Good2go

I wanted large to fit over sweat pants, layers for north east sub freezing conditions. Im 60/ 170 lbs. I wear suspenders on all plastic pants as they all slide down. Havent worn in a downpour but have sat in enough snow to know these will keep me dry. I could use in backcountry trips but just x-ski & work.

February 3, 2021

Reliable waterproof pants

I use these for my cycling commute on rain/snow days. So far they have held up really well. They are light and pack down pretty small. I still wish they were little thinner but they do breathe pretty well, my legs don't get sweaty while wearing them, even when I'm cycling hard. Waterproofness is not even a question, they always keep my le... Read Moregs dry, even in hard rain. Solid peice of rain gear

November 9, 2020

Perfect rain pants

The zippers make life easy, would definitely recommend.

April 3, 2020

Becoming damp

Love the pant and this is more about asking a question then complaining. Recently the pants have been damp on the inside after spending time on my tractor in the rain/snow. Can these pants be treated to regain their water proof capabilities? Thank you.

Response from Patagonia
April 15, 2020

Hi David, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're sorry to hear that your pants have started to become damp after using them in the rain/snow. We'd suggest giving the pants a wash with a performance detergent. We typically recommend Grangers or Nikwax as those are effect in refreshing a products waterproof membrane.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches