burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Torrentshell 3L Pants - Short Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 18 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants - Short

4.4/5
True To Size
October 18, 2022

Great functionality and comfort

The long zipper in each leg from the foot up makes it easy to get the pants on and off over hiking boots. They wash beautifully and dry in a flash. These pants not only kept me dry on a recent trip involving kayaking and various small boat trips, but also helped keep me warm on cold windy days. I am 5' 5" and frequently find that 're... Read Moregular' inseams are too long; I really appreciate being able to order the short length, which is perfect for me.

September 13, 2022

Roomy and Comfortable

I wanted a pair of waterproof pants that I could pull on over jeans when I need to walk the dogs in the rain. I decided to give these a try because of the elastic waist. I have other, older Patagonia rain pants with a fixed waist and I have trouble buttoning them over my jeans. These certainly fit comfortably over jeans and I'm loving the shor... Read Moreter length (I'm 5'4"). I have to say that I agree with the other reviewers who said that they run big in the waist and a tad small through the hips. It's not a big issue for me because I'm a bit thick through the waist and my hips are small. I just feel them pulling a bit when I bend over. Otherwise they're fine. For reference I weigh 122 lbs. and I got a size Small.

August 27, 2022

Comfortable Fit

I bought these to replace a pair of Patagonia rain pants I've had for 10+ years. I haven't tested the water repellency yet, so am only commenting on fit. I'm 5'4", 122 lbs, thick-ish waist, small hips. These pants fit me great! My old rain pants have a fixed waist and they were starting to feel a bit tight. I love the elast... Read Moreic waist on these pants, and for me, the cut in the hips is great. I also love the shorter length as my old pants were always a bit too long. These pull on easily over jeans, and with the bottom leg zippers I can easily get them on without having to remove my shoes. I trust that they will be fully waterproof, so I am quite happy with them. I think that they work for me because I have relatively small/straight hips. I don't think they'd work as well if you are very curvy...in order to get the hips to fit you'd have to size up and the waist would be too big.

August 23, 2022

Nice quality

Very nice quality pants that I bought as shells for cross country skiing. I am 5 feet 4 inches tall and they were too long for me. Returned them.

Response from Patagonia
August 26, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and we're sorry the fit wasn't quite right. You might prefer our [Altvia Alpine Pant](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-altvia-alpine-pants-short/82975.html), which is a "slim" fit, breathable, water-resistant pant in the shorter length. Thanks for the review Jacqueline!

August 18, 2022

Great waterproof pants

I wear the size small over a couple of layers of baselayers in the winter. I ordered the XS for summer and they were so snug that I wasn't able to wear them with even my leggings underneath. It appears to be great size discrepancy between S and XS

March 26, 2022

Simple and effective

Newest version great! Loose enough but not baggy and very easy on and off. As usual, well done!!!

March 15, 2022

Comfortable and can wear over sweatpants

I got small, short. I havent used in the rain yet so hope theyre waterproof. The only negative is the fabric makes noise when Im walking. Hoping that will settle down with more wear

January 28, 2022

These pants fit great

These pants fit perfect, I can put a warmer layer underneath them easy. I haven't used them out in the rain/snow yet but they seem perfect for what I need .

October 25, 2021

Great materials, waistline is big!

Great materials, and legs and hip areas are perfect. Short length is also perfect for my height, but the waist line is so large. Elastic waist with drawcord; however, it is inconvenient and inefficient when you need to go restroom. Without the drawcord, my pants won't stay up at all. I wish the pants stay up with just elastic band!

Response from Patagonia
November 2, 2021

Hey Amy, thanks for the review. A size down might help with the waistband on these! To begin the exchange process, please click [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 19, 2021

These pants did the job!

These pants did the job! They kept me warm and dry during our hike with the weather conditions constantly changing. They fit over my hiking pants and i didnt have to worry about having my hiking boots on. The side zippers allowed for easy on/off. Fantastic pants! A must have for hikers

October 12, 2021

Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants- Women's Medium

I originally bought a size Large which were enormous, so I returned them and ordered a Medium through Patagonia. They're well made and seem durable, but the cut of the hips is more like men's pants than women's, in that the fabric in the back is too short. I still wear them but they don't fit well and they don't feel that c... Read Moreomfortable. Very disappointing.

July 13, 2021

Review

I meant to buy the small short but I waited to buy them because you know they're expensive and they sold out so I had to buy the medium. It fits as expected mostly meaning too big. I have big legs, small butt and waist so buying pants is always a nightmare really. I mean, they'll probably be good over jeans but over leggings they're ... Read Morequite big. They're perfect for sitting but if I expect to do much movement in them I'm sure I will be really annoyed. Mostly the fit is too big in the waist even pulling them as tight as they will go. They're nice pants but the draw string barely tightens them. But I'm going to Iceland and waterproof pants were recommended and I am moving somewhere with a monsoon season so I thought, surely if anyone needs these pants, I do. I'm 5'4" 130 lb if that helps anyone, probably 28.5" waist and 37" hips. I wonder if I could take sew this material?

Response from Patagonia
July 15, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on the pants. We don't recommend altering them as they are waterproof and the alteration would void the warranty in that area of the garment. You're welcome to exchange them for a smaller size if you'd prefer.

May 28, 2021

Great rain pants

Only used a couple times (we need more rain!) but these are great and effective wet weather hiking or hanging in camp pants. So glad to have them. Love the long side zips.

May 8, 2021

Women have curves

I initially purchased large because Patagonia pants never fit my very normal curves, but large bagged off my 5'2 130lb body at legs and were too long despite the "short" size and the bottom was still a wee tight. I traded for size M for more reasonable overall size and will manage the tight bottom fit (squats are very tight). I have ... Read Morenormal curves and these are not a great fit because SHORT doesn't mean PETITE PROPORTIONS. Strong material and good pockets and i do think these will fight a downpour.

Response from Patagonia
May 10, 2021

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on us with the fit of the Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants. We're happy to let you know that we are working on offering petite sizing, however, it's taking us awhile because we want to be sure we get it right, so keep an eye out for that! Lastly, as far as performance is concerned, these absolutely should keep you dry in a downpour. If you find that not to be the case, feel free to [send them in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for warranty evaluation.

April 8, 2021

Sizing is difficult

The material feels really good and its breathable... However: Ideally, I wanted to use these pants over leggings or warm layer. I ordered these as "short" in length, as I have a rather petite body, but wide hips. Unfortunately it was too tight around the hips, perfect around the waist, but great length in the leg. There was no way I could... Read More get another layer underneath them so I returned them. I like the cut and simple look they have, so if I lived near a store and it was open and I could try several sizes on, I'm sure I wouldn't think twice about buying them. Oh well.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2021

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants. We're sorry to hear of the difficulty with deciding on what size to buy. For future, we're always happy to [provide measurements](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) to make sure you're getting the perfect fit.

March 29, 2021

Truly the best piece of outerware

I ordered these for an easy-on option for my sailing education career. These are comfortable, they keep me warm and dry from the salt air elements, and are easy to clean. My favorite - I ordered another pair!

March 25, 2021

Great Rain Protection

I used these rain pants for a trip to Alaska, and was very happy I had them. I bought one size up so that I can layer under them and even wear them over jeans if needed. They are very lightweight and comfortable. They keep me nice and dry, without getting "sweaty" inside. The side zippers provide easy access and I am thrilled that there i... Read Mores a short option. Great for camping, and boating. Hands down, he best rain pants I've ever owned.

December 27, 2020

Truly Waterproof and Withstands Daily Wear

I work at a Nature Preschool in a Northern climate so I am outside 8 hours a day in all weather. I really put my rain gear to work and wear these everyday March through November. (Only switching to my Patagonia snow pants in the cold and snow) I have tried other brands over the last 10 years and nothing held up to my activities or retained their wa... Read Moreterproofing after a couple of months. I finally bought the best! These pants withstand daily mud play, puddle jumping, hiking, tree climbing, and sitting on the ground. They are sturdy and flexible enough for ease of movement. They are truly waterproof and I stay dry even after a whole day of heavy rain. I bought a large to accommodate layers underneath in spring and fall. I also do not wash them that often to retain waterproofing. I just let the mud dry and only wash them every few months. I love that they offer a short size too.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches