burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's Torrentshell 3L Pants - Regular Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 22 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Torrentshell 3L Rain Pants - Regular

4.2/5
Kinda Large
November 7, 2022

Keep me dry but waist band can be improved

I wear the rain pants to dragon boat paddling practice. They keep me dry. But the waist is a little loose on me. The elastic waist band with one drawstring is not easy to make the waist tighter.

October 11, 2022

Size request

The XS fit perfectly, but i was disappointed that this style isn't offered in a Long. Can you please manufacture an XS Long? I would buy it!

September 28, 2022

Wet wet wet

I just wore these pants today on the Camino Frances where there was a constant light rain for 13miles. By the time I was done with the walk, my thighs were very wet, and not from sweat. Very disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
October 5, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Audrey. We're so sorry these pants failed! We'll be happy to help you return them, and we're reaching out to you about options.

September 21, 2022

very durable rain pants

I love these rain pants and this version feels a bit thicker and more durable. I normally wear a pair for 2-3 years then get another pair to incorporate into the wardrobe. I ordered a large, which is my size, but they were huuuge, so I returned them and ordered a medium, which fits great. Looking forward to staying dry for the next few years:)

September 5, 2022

Tried and true rain pants

Our whole family keeps these pants in their packs for the big downpours. They are waterproof, breathable and easy to move in!

September 4, 2022

Functional rain pants

I have bought and worn these rain pants for many years. I ordered a large as my last pair was that size and the new ones were an inch larger in the waist than the old ones. I ended up ordering a medium and am still waiting to see if they will fit me better. Still amazing rain pants for the price!

Response from Patagonia
September 12, 2022

We appreciate your feedback and hope you were able to take advantage of our free online exchange for size or color. This newest iteration of our classic Torrentshell Pant has a longer life with more durable fabric up to 15 years, especially when washed and dried with our recommended [product care](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html). Please reach out to our Customer Service team if you need any additional assistance. We're happy to help!

April 11, 2022

Awesome

I teach at a school where we believe there is no such thing as bad weather, just bad gear. That being said these rain pants allow me to not only live up to that, but thoroughly enjoy rain/puddle/mud season with the children. These are lightweight yet sturdy, comfortable and extremely waterproof. They fit a bit loose, but I wear jeans underneath so ... Read Moreit is perfect for me. Leg openings are large enough to secure around neoprene boots. Pair with the Torrentshell city coat and I am ready for the elements.

March 16, 2022

Very Crisp and Loud Fabric

I sent them back. Fabric can be waterproof and not loud and not stiff feeling. I almost always love my Patagonia purchases so I was disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
March 24, 2022

Hi Sarah! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the disappointment with the material. We truly appreciate this feedback and we'll share it with our design crew. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

February 22, 2022

Great rain pants but weird sizing!

Great rain pants but weird sizing! I absolutely love these pants and have had a pair for a very long time for backpacking, river running, hiking, and just hanging out in the rain. When I had to replace them I ordered my usual size, which is a medium. They were huge, so I returned them and got the small. Those were too small. I am not sure whats goi... Read Moreng on with the sizing, but I am really bummed that I cant use these pants anymore. They were the best rain pants I had ever used in this weight.

January 26, 2022

Durable , easy to work in, and keep me dry

These pants are essential for me to run our farm. I wear them every day, probably 150 days per year going out several different times, doing hard physical labor. Moving bales of hay and sacks of feed, fixing fence, walking miles checking on stock, splitting and hauling wood. As a farmer I go out no matter the weather because my animals need to be f... Read Moreed, lambs are born in bad weather always. I have worn these for 25 years and each pair lasts about 4-5 years before they rip or wear out. I always stay comfortable and dry. I can be out in the rain and snow for hours. I wear a medium but buy a large so I can layer depending on the temperature.

January 8, 2022

Great for Rainy Day Walks

I am so happy to have these pants. Now that, we are getting rain in Sonoma County, I can go walking in my new pants. I already have a Tortenshell jacket. Thanks Patagonia.

January 7, 2022

Wish I found sooner

I bought a pair of these in 2019 and they are still holding up! I have a hard time finding things that actually fit me and these are perfect. Originally I bought these for backpacking, but I also train wild horses and in 2019 it was RAINY. These pants helped me stay completely dry in even the wettest and muddiest of conditions! I'd recommend t... Read Morehese to anyone because they've done their job without fail since day one for me!

December 9, 2021

Waterproof

Basic waterpoof pants for hiking, walking, biking; not technical enough for alpine. As with most Patagonia pants, the M fits me in the thighs but is swimming at the waist. I can't size down to a S or they'd be too tight, particularly these, which I want to be able to wear over other pants from time to time. I also wish that the side zippe... Read Morers zipped all the way off.

November 27, 2021

Easy on, easy off over scrubs

I got these pants to wear on my walk to work at a hospital, they fit well over my scrubs and are easy to put on and take off.

November 15, 2021

very comfortable

These pants are very comfortable and true to size. I will use them mostly walking in the rain. I got excellent advice using the online chat box regarding the size I should purchase. I highly recommend this feature to anyone who might be unsure after reading comments from other reviewers regarding size.

November 3, 2021

Great Pants! A Bit Large...

These are terrific pants. They keep me dry and they are comfortable. My only complaint is that they are cut pretty large. I am most definitely NOT a small. I am not a large. I am a medium, but these are too long and too large. Going down a size means I can't put ANYthing under them. So... not sure what's up with your sizing, Patagonia, bu... Read Moret I still love the rain pants!

October 26, 2021

Fine for minimal movement

I purchased these pants for a rafting trip where rain was in the forecast all day every day. The pants held up just fine around camp, they feel pretty durable for hauling things around camp and I liked the adjustable ankles to stay tight around my boots. I sized up because I have curvy hips and most Patagonia pants don't fit me as the waist e... Read Morends up huge while the thighs fit too tight. For this trip, layering was important so having extra room under the pants was key. Surprisingly, I found that even though these have a huge expandable drawstring waist, the legs didn't offer a lot of range of motion. They were not tight at all, just limited in movement. I'll continue to wear these pants on outdoor trips where rain around camp or on low-key float trips is expected.

June 22, 2021

Comfy and super waterproof

I am a seagoing oceanographer and wore these rain pants every day on 3 separate month-long research cruises in intense conditions (to the North Atlantic and North Pacific Oceans). These pants really held up. They are incredibly waterproof and don't get condensation on the insides or stick to your legs when wet. The lower leg zippers work super... Read More well for taking the rain pants on and off over bulky boots (also helps for hiking). Also, the large zipped pockets on both sides are THE BEST!! I could easily fit multiple scientific vials in each pocket, or carry my phone out on deck and keep it dry. Thank you Patagonia!

June 4, 2021

Great rain pant for the price, fit can restrict movement

I use the Torrentshell rain pant for outdoor field research, and move a lot of heavy equipment through tall grass prairie with short, thorny shrubs. The rain pants are durable and have not torn in this type of environment. They do run large and the waist pulls cinch fairly effectively, but I find the groin sags and my range of movement can be restr... Read Moreicted. The ankle has two snaps for adjustment, and the cuff is a little loose for my leg diameter but I have not been bothered by the extra material. If needed, gaiters would cover any gap between boots and ankle cuff. Overall, I recommend these rainpants for use unless full range of leg movement is needed. They do run warm in high output activities, but that's true of all raingear. In mid-70 degree humid weather, my baselayers were not damp even though I was hot.

February 12, 2021

fit

They are mostly too long in the legs. I was afraid to get "short" because they'd be too short in the crotch, and I would have been correct.

January 26, 2021

Great pants

I bought these for walking outside in winter when it is windy or just too cold for jeans and leggings. I wear these over my pants walking my dogs. Keeps me warm and dry! Will work for colder raining golfing and bike riding too!

March 8, 2020

Way too large

These may be nice pants, but they are enormous. I wear a medium or large in Patagonia. These are a medium and way too big even over jeans.

Response from Patagonia
April 9, 2020

Hi Merrill! Thank you so much for the feedback. Your input is very valuable to our product team and we appreciate the information you provided with the fit. The Torrentshell 3L pants are great for layering so I would suggest layering up with a baselayer if appropriate for the climate. I enjoy the [Capilene Thermal weights](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-capilene-thermal-weight-bottoms/43692.html?dwvar_43692_color=CCNX) for cold/wet climates. You are always welcome to [Return](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Return-Policy) or exchange if you need a smaller size.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches