burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's DAS? Light Hoody

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 56 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's DAS? Light Hoody

4.6/5
True To Size
July 15, 2022

Perfect fall, fly fishing jacket.

Bought this because I wanted something warmer than a nano puff for cold days on the river. Last fall, while changing flies, I accidentally dropped my keys in the river. Without hesitation, I plunged my arm down two feet into the water. While I was soaked, the synthetic insulation still kept me warm and I was able to fish for another couple hours wi... Read Morethout freezing or returning to the truck. Love this thing.

June 3, 2022

As advertised...great jacket

Usually wear medium, small fits better for this jacket, still plenty of room for insulation underneath. Great warmth to weight ratio, really like this jacket. Poor reviews mostly seem to be folks that did not know what they were ordering. Headed to kayak Glacier Bay, and will not need to rent a jacket twice the weight. Thanks Patagonia

May 12, 2022

Great lightweight jacket. Hard to stow.

The Das Light is a great belay layer. super warm for its weight and cuts wind well. Downsides: the outer shell tears exremely easily and stowing it in its pocket is a wrestling match that is almost impossible with cold digits. This jacket still needs some fine tuning...

May 9, 2022

Drop pockets, please!

Warm for its weight, but as with others before, it's important to note that there are no internal pockets. These catch-all, warm pockets are a miss here, but if that's no biggie for you, the jacket is a warm, lightweight option. Hoping the jacket is more durable than other options like my MacroPuff hooded jacket that preceded this purchas... Read Moree. I do miss the pockets on that jacket, however!

May 6, 2022

Bomber warm for ski touring transitions, esp when damp

Needed a warm synthetic layer to put on during breaks ski touring. Have used all season and held up great. Great jacket, lots of room to pull on over other layers. Like the two way zip. Would like to have drawcord around bottom hem.

April 26, 2022

Fantastic Jacket

This is a fantastic, amazingly warm jacket for such a lightweight piece. For most Patagonia products, I wear a size Medium top, while the Medium I ordered fit, it was too tight for layering underneath. I replaced the Medium with a Large and it is perfect over a mid-layer. I am using this as a light belay parka, fitting over my midlayer and hard she... Read Morell. I can wear my medium nano puff or R1 beneath. At the same time, the large is not so huge that that swamps me when worn alone. I love the hood! It fits easily over other hoods and doesn't crimp my large head the way other hoods have done in the past. The shell fabric creates a seamless windproof surface that resists wear and the light coating seems to trap the heat. Love it!

April 21, 2022

Audibly Loud but Great Piece

This jacket is becoming a staple in my wardrobe during the wet/windy cold season. It does everything that my micropuff does and much more. I've honestly stopped wearing my micropuff except for scenarios where size and weight is everything (bikepacking). It is very warm, blocks wind and is still quite lightweight. It has room for layering (noth... Read Moreing crazy). I'm usually wearing a t shirt under it in the temps down to the 25s (F) and I'm golden. I am a warmer person so adjust this per yourself. I do not personally use this for belaying but I find the hood is excellent even when not wearing a helmet. The material is quite loud if you're moving your arms a lot, kind of like a bag of sun chips. This doesn't bother me but just know it's not a quiet jacket like say a micropuff. Honestly this is a weird thing to have as an attribute to think of but it could bother some people.

April 20, 2022

Warm and well-made but BAGGY!

I alternate between Medium and Large in Patagonia depending on the fit and what I'm after (layering, etc.). Since I thought this was more of a technical jacket I went with size Large and that was a major mistake. It's QUITE baggy. Fit issues aside, build quality on this is great. And it feels great on, even against bare skin. It's l... Read Moreight. It packs down small. I think I'm going to keep it and just try to make it work. There's a lot to like about this jacket, but make sure you try it on in person before you buy it.

April 19, 2022

Mini DAS for the win!

Patagonia, please don't discontinue this jacket! Many serious skiers and climbers think this is quite possibly the best insulated jacket that has been made in recent memory. The fit is just barely generous enough to fit over my hardshell when I stop moving, and the pocket placement is well thought out (although I can't fathom why this jac... Read Moreket didn't receive internal drop-in pockets??). Anyways, I have one of these and I love it. If it sticks around, I'll definitely buy another one when mine wears out.

March 29, 2022

Almost Perfect

I love the DAS LIGHT HOODY. I feel zero wind chill in this jacket along the Hudson on the west side of Manhattan. Super light, comfortable and minimalist. I gave only 4 stars for some manufacturing inconsistencies, as I tried on a few of these: the one that I have has cuff elastic that is way to large and open. The others I tried on had a more snug... Read More cuff elastic, which would help keep out the cold. But, I kept the one I have because the fill in the jacket felt more robust and the others I tried the fill seemed quite thin and even non-existent in some parts of the jacket. If I could have the cuff elastic altered on this one, I would.

March 24, 2022

Patagonia Makes Nothing But the Best

The DAS Light is a key layering piece or a stand alone with minimal base layers underneath. The DAS Light is super warm. Everything Patagonia makes has the best fabrics, best insulation, true quality and attention to detail. I have been wearing Patagonia since 1993. Patagonia makes beautiful jackets and clothing. Every piece they make is Top Qualit... Read Morey. I love the DAS Light.

March 22, 2022

Finally one that Fits!

I am really happy with the Longer cut of this Jacket. The Sleeves and hem are longer than Micropuff as well as other Brand's offerings. I love the full coverage. A draw cord at the hem would be nice as there is still some extra room there. This is the best crossover summer-winter puff I've tried yet.

March 7, 2022

Really good jacket

This jacket is really good. It's very warm and vary light, very comparable to a down jacket. But it's not without flaws. The fit is large, really large. The fabric is really flimsy. Right out of the box, some areas on the inside already have some abrasion marks. The jacket is also not very stylish. Overall, it's good jacket if you k... Read Morenow what you are getting.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

Hello Yingluan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about some of the disappointments with the jacket. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 4, 2022

Garbage bag

It has the consistency feel and look of a trash bag, I put it on for 10 seconds and immediately hated it.

Response from Patagonia
March 14, 2022

Hi Pranav, we're very sorry to hear that the Men's DAS Light Hoody didn't meet your expectations. We'd be happy to help with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html). Please feel free to begin either process at any time.

March 1, 2022

Practically Perfect in Every Way

...just like Mary Poppins. This jacket is warm for its weight, relatively weatherproof, light and simple, and well-appointed with a minimal feature set for adventures in the mountains. The hood is great. Its adjustable and fits comfortably with or without a helmet. The cuffs and hem are elastic, both not adjustable. I find that they work fine! I... Read Moret includes a two-way zipper, which feels like a bonus on a jacket this light, but I see no downside and Ill happily take it! The Pertex fabric is crinkly, but performant and comfortable. I don't mind the sound; it just reminds me of how much windchill I'll be spared and how many gear aid patches I won't have to cut out! I find the insulation adequate for temperatures approaching freezing. I would not use this jacket as a mid layer due to low breathability (a.k.a. windproof). If it's much colder than freezing and I expect long periods of low activity, I will probably leave this at home and opt for a down jacket. After one particularly wet outing, the insulation in the cuffs got quite saturated while the jacket was in my pack. It may be that they got submerged, as the pack probably collected some water. Im not used to light synthetic fill retaining so much water, but the circumstances were unusual. The cuffs dried out overnight, passively. It does not include internal drop-in pockets, which befuddles me. The other climbing-focused insulated jackets in Patagonias line-up include drop-in pockets even the Micro Puff has them. I like internal pockets for carrying food / drink or for actively drying gloves, socks, etc. It does include external hand warmer pockets, which are insulated outside and pleated inside for extra capacity. Personally Ive tried to wean myself from external pocketsif my hands are cold and my brightest idea for warming them is to stand around with my hands in my pockets, then Ive lost the layering game that day! Overall this is one of my all-time favorite styles from Patagonia, and my favorite jacket in the lightweight puffy category. Ive been smitten since it was first released. I will buy another one when the one I have wears out. I hope the next one has internal pockets!

March 1, 2022

Super Warm and wind proof/resistant!

Great fit! Would be a nice improvement to add a large dump mesh pocket on the inside, to stow a water bottle to keep warm while working belay, or resting after some free heeling.. I prefer a cinch-able hood, as the elastic is too tight and wears on the neck when not up and over a helmet. Overall a fantastic bomber jacket, and my new go-to when leav... Read Moreing the house!

February 21, 2022

Very warm, and light!

This product is amazing, its light weight but keeps me very warm. I am 6ft tall and the 6ft models show an accurate representation to size, I wear a medium.

February 14, 2022

Always along for the ride -

I've been a fan of the micropuff since it first came out - the DAS Light Hoody is even better. Still super lightweight, but the extra outer fabric layer makes it so much warmer. Hood seems to fit better, and the two-way zipper is a welcome feature. I work as a Nordic Ski Patroller - the DAS Light is always in my pack! I can stuff it down into ... Read Morethe bottom of my pack. Provides instant warmth as soon as I stop and put it on. I am 5'11, 175 lbs and the medium still allows enough room for a capilene thermal hoody and a nanopuff vest.

January 31, 2022

Excellent specialized protective layer

Well made jacket that hits the mark for low-exertion cold weather protection. Exceptionally light and windproof handles extended walks at 18F with no other insulating layers. Using for warmth in casual outdoor settings, and as an emergency layer if unexpected issues halt a biking or running plans. Nearly as warm as a Primo Puff parka but with a thi... Read Morerd of the bulk.

January 25, 2022

Down convert

Back story: I've been in love with my Patagonia down jacket for 12 years and I've thoroughly enjoyed winter adventures with it. But this jacket made a convert outta me. So far I've worn it skinning uphill in temps down to windchilled -30s F, and 0F backpacking. It withstands wind INCREDIBLY well, better than my beloved down. And I me... Read Morean strong summit gusts, not just a breeze. I was suspicious of it's warmth at first but I was proven wrong after these tests. Unlike my down I could comfortably wear it during high output (uphill). I was perfectly comfortable in the aforementioned temperatures with only one or two of the RIGHT layers underneath. When it got really cold at base camp (not moving so much, about 0F) I put my hardshell (Triolet) over it and I was really impressed at my comfort level. My companions kept mentioning a cold I just couldn't feel. And I don't need to worry about keeping it dry here in New England, the achilles of down. I don't count ounces but the weight of this jacket is noticeably light, which is the crazy thing. Insulation technology, man...

January 24, 2022

Phenomenal

This jacket is everything that Patagonia stated. Its very comfortable and performs flawlessly.

January 14, 2022

Magical Hoody

its warm and super light. I like the hoody most. the hoody fits very well on helmet. I used it when I forget my beanie and realized I don't need any beanie :). I would have been better with waist cinch. upper arm width is bit bigger.

January 9, 2022

warm and light

I just bought it just before the Christmas and liking it. Its warmth and weight is amazing. The hood is magical. I tried it without a beanie. its covers the head well and sits perfectly as beanie. It would have been perfect with waist cinch as others have mentioned. I am 5.7'' weighing 170 lb, wearing medium. the body fit is true size but... Read More the upper arm width is little big. With its wind and water resistant feature now I don't have to worry carrying extra gtx jacket or wp jacket. very excited to test it on the Front Range slopes soon.

January 8, 2022

Great puffy

Ive had many insulated jackets by Patagonia over the years. The DAS light is one of their best! Lightweight, warm, sheds weather. It checks all the boxes except high breathability, but thats what the nano air is for.

January 3, 2022

Questionable Toughness

Been a Patagonia patron since 1986, still have all of my gear still in circulation. Recently purchased the DAS Light Hoody in October. Went hiking in Utah and the sleeve brushed up against some pine trees and it punctured a hole in the material. Thought the material would hold up better. Great jacket otherwise.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Hey James, thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear the shell fabric tore that quickly. We'd be happy to help you repair this with a complimentary Tenacious Tape Patch Kit. Just give us a call at (800) 638-6464 or chat with us live on http://Patagonia.com so we can help you out. Alternatively, you can send this in for [repair](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs/)!

January 3, 2022

Great Jacket

Plenty of warmth for a ski trip or casual wear on a cold evening. Provides great wind protection and warmth!

December 14, 2021

Light but effectively warm

I chose this coat for its environmental and social responsibility characteristics (what it is made of and how it is made), hoping it will be my every-day winter coat in Ohio for the next 30 years. So far so good. The coat is remarkably light, but it is quite warm, just the way I like it.

December 12, 2021

The only jacket youll need. Super functional + warm

I love this jacket. I had a micro puff which is a little bit more tailored fit but it kept getting snagged on rock and on the trail. This jacket is amazing how in the back country but also as an every day jacket. I go skiing with it and I barely need a midlayer underneath. When youre out in the wilderness in packs into its little pocket and you can... Read More clip it to your pack I want to get frosty just put it on. Like I said very warm, water resistant (snow/rain) plus scratch and rip resistant. It is less tailored or tapered than the micro puff but its super versatile more so than the micro puff. I take it out in New England winters and it earns its keep. You cant go wrong with this jacket. Buy it!

December 4, 2021

Nice light weight layer

I needed a light weight jacket to stuff in my pack and this works great. Gives me just a bit of warmth when a shell isn't quite enough.

November 28, 2021

Warm. Perfect with a layer.

I had a previous down sweater and after 10+ years it was time for something new. Main use cases were New York city wear and the occasional weekend trip to colder locations. In the store it was down to this, the das or another jacket like the tres or parka. The associate really recommended this and said some recent pro athletes loved this too. I co... Read Moreuldnt agree more. Its light, sits well and is true to size, fits perfect with a layer. For layers, I either use a micro fleece, a r1, or a vest. The hood sits nicely on the forehead and doesnt move for me. Like the down sweaters, the side pockets are perfectly angled. The chest zipper pocket is perfect for Your phone. In terms of wishlists, the only thing i can think of is the bottom of the jacket could be tightened, with a fastener a bit, like the down sweater, but honestly you dont notice it. Highly recommend this jacket and cant wait to see how it does in the snow and peak cold.

November 17, 2021

Fantastic Jacket

Incredible belay jacket, super warm around town, even skiable. I love the fully windproof liner on the outside, it ads so much warmth compared to the micropuff, which has almost come a cold weather active piece for me as a result.

November 17, 2021

Toasty warm Das Light!

Im finding the Das Light to be an ideal weight for cold Vermont temps! Its perfect for our daily dog hikes, whether worn alone or with a goretex shell. Its amazingly warm for its weight! Though we are just now receiving some snow, I plan to use it for snowshoe trips, as well. It seems to handle both wind and light rain well. The pockets are just ri... Read Moreght, and I love the lightness of the fabric! Great color, too (green). Note that the fabric is a bit shiny, but I dont mind it. Highly recommend this jacket! Buy it - you wont be sorry!!

November 16, 2021

Great All Around Outdoor Jacket

I purchased this jacket with the temperate climates of the California Bay Area. This jacket is perfect for cold beach days due to the wind-stopping shell material. I am 5'11 205 pounds and this jacket fits with enough room for a long sleeve base layer, and/or vest combo. The two-way zipper is a fantastic feature and affords the opportunity t... Read Moreo quickly access your waste line without having to unzip the whole jacket. The only two improvements I have for this jacket would be the lack of interior pockets and maybe adding a string to the hem to stop the wind from entering the bottom of the jacket.

November 12, 2021

New favorite mid-layer puffy

The DAS Light has become my new favorite belay jacket for the shoulder season. It's impressively warm for how thin it is, which helps a lot with range of motion across activities. With winter right around the corner, I'm excited to see how it holds up as an active mid-layer puffy for backpacking. My only setback with this jacket is that ... Read Morethe hem doesn't have a drawstring. Fortunately for me, I often wear it with a backpack on so I don't lost much core heat over this. Not worth losing a star.

November 9, 2021

Warm & Wind Resistant

Nice jacket. Love the way it blocks the wind. Can't wait to see how it performs as the temps drop here in the Northeast.

November 5, 2021

My favorite piece of kit to date.

Recently picked up this hoody from an outside vendor because my size wasnt available online. Regardless, Im really happy with it. I own couple of Micro Puffs and consider them quite comfortable, but this one holds true to the warmth to weight ratio statement. Ive worn it with and without layers since it arrived. My regional temperatures are beginni... Read Moreng to drop and we just encountered our first snowfall hike in the NC mountains. Ive stayed warm and dry throughout, thanks to the outer fabric, insulation and PU coating. This jacket is incredible in every aspect. Yet another example of Patagonias commitment to excellence and sustainability. Im pretty sure that itll last a lifetime. After all, its backed by the Iron Clad guarantee.

September 24, 2021

Put this in your pack

If you spend any time in the backcountry in winter, you need this in your pack. The DAS Light is the perfect insurance policy for those of us who don't need a high altitude warhorse like the original DAS parka but need something to throw on in cold weather for lunch breaks when snowshoeing or to be ready for an unexpected overnighter or a stor... Read Morem that blows in. I spend a lot of time solo snowshoeing in Idaho's mountains in the winter, and I always make sure the DAS Light is in the bottom of my pack. I need to be ready for an emergency overnighter, sudden shift in weather, and just general cold winter weather. This parka checks all the boxes.

September 6, 2021

Works just right

Hood is fantastic. Great one piece all around.

June 24, 2021

Zippers !

I see this jacket as a "Two-Way, Center-Front Zipper". I am disappointed you don't have these types of zippers on ALL your jackets especially your lightweight rain coats as they have to be zipped up to stay on your body.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2021

Hi Don, the two-way, center-front zipper is featured on our DAS Light Hoody because it's a technical alpine jacket and the zipper function serves for better belay access when climbing. Many of our other jackets do not have this two-way feature because they're not used as often for other sports. You can find other belay specific tech jackets here, https://www.patagonia.com/search/?q=belay&lang=en_US.

June 2, 2021

Refined and Warm

After bashing a micro-puff for several years, it was time for an upgrade. The DAS light delivers. More warmth, a more functional two-way zipper, and what appears to be a more durable finish. The slightly heavier weight than a micro-puff is negligible. The designers got this piece right. The only add-on I'd like to see are two interior drop-in... Read More pockets to dry out wet gloves while on the move. Otherwise - love it.

March 26, 2021

Almost 5 starts

I bought this because I wanted something warmer than a nano puff but more durable than the micro puff. So far it has fit that role well. It is nice and warm, stops wind in its tracks, and layers well enough. I really, really like it and the yellow-ish color with the blue-green inside. But, don't buy one yet unless you really need it like I did... Read More. They are going to revise it in the future and hopefully add the few things its missing. When they do it will be, in my opinion, the best puffy out there. Here's what I want to see added to a future version: 1) A way to sinch the bottom (As almost everyone else has pointed out) 2) This combines a few recommendations that are all related. Please give the chest pocket a water proof zipper and make the pouch larger and also made of a water proof material. This way, the pouch could make the jacket a sort of water proof container when it is in stuffed mode. Also when I say make it larger I mean large enough that it could be stuffed with something like a plus sized phone in a pocket of the jacket. As it is it barely fits just the jacket. 3) I think adding a version with the tight fitting hood of the nano puff/micro puff would be really nice. I love that hood and was sad to part with it. I know that having a hood that fits over a helmet is important to this jackets intended use (rock climbing) so maybe you could make a nano puff with the outer material of this jacket for extra warmth/abrasion resistance? I don't really know how the good people on Patagonia's design team make their decisions so maybe I sound like a crazy person. 4) Finally, I would like to see a second chest pocket on the inside right of the jacket. It would be great if it was about the size of the one in the nano puff. It could work well for storing a wallet or something where you really don't want to risk losing it. Glove warmer drop in pockets like those on the micro puff would be a welcome addition as well. Thank you to the Patagonia team and store I bought this from for being so great! Keep it up!

Response from Patagonia
March 26, 2021

Hey Samuel! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful and thorough review. This is incredibly helpful feedback, which we've passed along to our Design team.

March 3, 2021

Excellent name

I have had a DAS for years and love it. For an example, I was benighted in the Bugaboos and slept on a rope bed with the DAS keeping me more comfortable then I deserved. Problem is it is a bit bulk and heavy. The DAS light is super light and very warm for what it is. I attribute it to the combo of advanced insulation and Pertex fabric with Poly coa... Read Moreting. Perfect piece for pushing it fast and light. Agree with others about lack of hem tightener.

February 25, 2021

Love this jacket

Got this jacket as an all in one to throw on for the down portion of backcountry skiing. Fits that role admirably, typically going over a base layer or a more 'alpine fit' softshell. Also a great around town jacket, good warmth, decent protection, and very comfy. 3 things to take it from 4 star to 5: 1) Go from regular fit to relaxed. Thi... Read Mores would better enable it to act like a lite belay jacket (ie over a baselayer, light R1 type mid, and shell) while still working as a mid layer when wanted. 2) Waist cinch as others have noted. 3) Add 10-15% more fill for the little extra bit of warmth that extends the versatility another 5-10 degrees

Response from Patagonia
March 10, 2021

Hey Chuck! We appreciate this feedback and have passed it along to our Design Team. If you're looking for a great belay parka with a bit more warmth than the DAS Light Hoody, check out the [Macro Puff Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-macro-puff-hoody/80111.html?dwvar_80111_color=SMDB). Thanks again for taking the time to write this review!

February 11, 2021

Does what it needs to do

Good fit, warm, water resistant, great 32°F - 50°F insulated jacket.

February 9, 2021

Something about it

This jacket just feels good. And its quite warm. I walk are dogs in freezing temps and stay warm without layering. The jacket just feels good, and super light. Way better for warmth than the micro puff.

January 30, 2021

good warmth for the weight

full disclosure i returned this item because i felt like i wasnt going to take full advantage of its technical benefits, but in trying it on, i could tell it was a very nice and well made lightweight jacket. it has great warmth for the weight and i could imagine that it is great for high exertion activities in cooler weather. i cant speak to exactl... Read Morey how warm or breathable it would have been because i returned it. the material was extremely static generating and the synthetic material was very noisy. for the cost i felt like i wasnt likely to wear the jacket enough in situations that really warranted it in order to justify keeping it, but thats more about my situation than any issues with the jacket.

January 20, 2021

Worth It

The DAS Light achieves what the micro puff was lacking, which was some durability. I've found this piece to be just what the Dr. ordered for a spring/fall weight belay style jacket. I'm not as worried about using this jacket while rock climbing due to it's higher abrasion resistance over some of the lighter insulation jackets in the ... Read Moreline! Sizing accommodates spring/fall layering quite well underneath.

January 19, 2021

Wow

This piece is amazingly warm, light, and comfortable. It is much warmer than the micro puff, while weighing slightly more. Still outrageously light! Every aspect was well thought out and I especially love the cuffs and longer drop hem. Has to get this one in purple. 6/190 and L fits gray with plenty of room to layer. Shoutout to Sean at Engearment ... Read Morefor the demo. Get one before theyre gone!

January 14, 2021

Its basically a 2020/21 Puffball Hoody

So while the full Das is a substantially warm synthetic hoody the Das light is just that... "Light". I was in the market for a warmer Nano Air... Was looking at Atom AR Hoody but was hoping for something a little lighter and a tad more compressible. Enter the Das Light. Well, when I got it I realized I'd just bought an updated versio... Read Moren of the original "Puffball". The Puffball was Patagonia's first synthetic 'Puffy"circa 1993ish... aptly names the "Puffball". I still have mine, 25+ years old and still going strong... but mine is a pullover, sans hood, and I wanted a full zip hoody. I expected the Das light to be a little 'puffier' but its warm enough for what it is. Its windproof and the DWR is fairy robust. I'd think of it as a Nano Air with a windproof shell. I would not call this a 4 season piece but definitely a solid 3 season. Its fine in the upper 20ºs but any colder you'd want something warmer. One downside, sorta the only one is the omission of a draw cord at the hem :-( ... For 3 season backpacking, alpinism or winter morning dog walking it replaces my nano air + a ultra light weight shell... Again, essentially a 'Puffball' for the current generation. Great addition to the quiver.

December 25, 2020

One of these Das is Not like the other!

Bought the Das Light to augment my Das Parka on warmer days. While I love the warmth to weight ratio, I'm not crazy about the outer material of this jacket. It wrinkles like crazy to the point where it looks like I slept in it and I don't see a way to straighten it. In addition as many others have pointed out there is no cinch at the bott... Read Moreom to tighten nor is there a powder skirt like my Powder Bowel. The wind and cold can and do come up the jacket from the bottom because of this.

Response from Patagonia
February 5, 2021

Thanks for the feedback on our Das Light Hoody! We value the fact that you took the time to let us know your thoughts, we can now take this information and improve on future designs. For the wrinkles, we'd recommend trying a steam on the outer fabric, you'll just want to hold the steamer a few inches away from the jacket while using. If you find at the end of the day that you're not satisfied with your purchase, you can always [send it back to us](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 10, 2020

High Quality and Looks Good

I'm very happy with this purchase. This jacket is well constructed, very warm in windy under 30degree weather, roomy for a light sweater and the blue color looks good.

December 10, 2020

Best Warmth-to-weight ratio around

Upgraded from the Micro Puff and Nano-Air to this jacket for touring, backpacking and climbing. Minimal added weight and bulk for a huge bump in warmth.

December 8, 2020

Das Yeah!!

Love the weight versus warmth ratio on this jacket! A lot has been mentioned about the lack of a waist cinch and I concur!! Seems like a no brainer when designing this jack that somebody obviously missed...That said does make it easier to layer and if the layering piece has an adjustable waist then no big deal. My bigger concern is that I cannot ke... Read Moreep this jacket from wrinkling something fierce!!!! Looks like I always slept in it.

November 28, 2020

Das Right

I swear, with my hand on a box of skinny old rat-tail skins, that in the last 30 years I have owned every Puff Ball, Puff Jacket, Puff Daddy, Nano and Micro hoodie that Patagonia has made. The wait was worth it. 'Puff' jackets don't last forever because they they are warm and light so you wear them every day. This jacket has seam tap... Read Moree under the rarely exposed stitching. I spent a couple of hours behind my snowblower in a ground blizzard a few weeks ago. My pants and gloves were soaked and the jacket was dripping wet. I was wearing a T-shirt underneath and it was dry. The jacket was dry after maybe 30 minutes indoors. I'm 5'11" and 195 lbs - the XL is just what I wanted - it can go over everything. Size L is probably the "proper" fit. I agree, it needs a bottom draw cord. Also, I never use the the inside out pocket-to-stuff sack feature. It's a bit of a tight fit and (IMHO) stresses the zipper. I'd prefer a "drop in" pocket, then it's a quick stuff to create a nice pillow. Light, warm, dry and breathable. I'm wearing mine every day. JW

November 13, 2020

This is THE jacket.

Your partner is 10 ft above her last pro and a stiff wind is crawling over your bare, sweaty neck. Stressed out? Nah. You just nestle into your sweet DAS jacket and pull that big hood over your helmet. Comfort! Safety! I've found this to be the best belay jacket ever. Just enough more warmth than the micro (but still lightweight and packable!)... Read More, it's got the double zippers you want, and all the warmth you need (obvs less breathable than the air, this is for stop and go activities). Your loved ones may even compliment your style!

September 18, 2020

Chartreuse DAS Light Hoody

for reference, im 511 and 155lbs. the medium fits perfect! if i remember correctly, Patagonia said theres a 25% increase in warmth over the micro puff at a cost of only 2 extra ounces. with that said, i have both and it is noticeably warmer but if you are on the fence and you already own a micro puff just save your money. you can always layer up u... Read Morender neath without spending another $300+ on a new jacket. i dont regret buying this piece by any means, i love it as much as my micro puff. plus, when i saw they had chartreuse colorway i was sold on it because yellow is my favorite color. im a cyclist, i love bikepacking and bike touring. since my micropuff was smolder blue, i figures this yellow one would be perfect for high visibility riding where theres motorists. i could dive into the science of it, but theres actually a good explanation on YouTube from Sean Sewell at Patagonia on the engearment channel just look up Patagonia ISPO 2020.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches