burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's DAS® Light Hoody Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Women's DAS® Light Hoody

4.7/5
True To Size
January 1, 2023

Love this jacket

This is warm and comfortable. I wear it as an underlayer when I ski and a casual jacket the rest of the time. Only complaint is it's a bit loud when the fabric moves. Def would buy it again and absolutely recommend.

November 28, 2022

Light, warm and it covers my bottom

This is the nicest and best jacket Ive ever had. It is so light and so warm that I don't need a vest underneath it when walking in the Cascades where I live. I am 5ft 3.5inches and 120 lb.

October 4, 2022

Great length, very warm, lightweight

Great length for my average length torso. Very warm for how lightweight it is. Perfect for crisp mornings watching kids play fall sports. Excited to see how it performs earning turns after alpine touring (will need a shell, but based on how well it packs away, my hopes are high).

September 7, 2022

Great jacket

I look forward to wearing this jacket when colder weather comes. Love that is covers my back end! It is light weight so I expect I can wear it in cooler weather and be able to wear wool sweaters underneath for extra warmth when winter chill comes.

August 31, 2022

Super warm and light

I used them for climbing tall mountains - Mount Aconcagua in Argentina and Mount Whitney in CA, USA. it served ,e either as a layering piece or as stand-alone insulation when appropriate..

August 24, 2022

Material is different from Nano

Material is different from Nano puff and kind of makes noise, I would say less soft but more waterproof and warmer! Very light and comfortable! Super happy about it.

May 1, 2022

Cozy even in soaking ice climbing

One experience stuck out to me: I wore this jacket to climb an actively showering WI5 ice climb, while it was sleeting, in Cody WY, and my boots were totally soaked, but I was dry under this jacket. I don't know any other product that would withstand that brutal wetness and coldness so well! The synthetic insulation worked wonders, and it&#x27... Read More;s so light too! I highly recommend this jacket!

March 15, 2022

My new favorite go to jacket

I have worn this jacket every day since I got it. We live in a windy shore-side town in the PNW. My DAS light hoody protects me from horizontal rain and salt spray now. It also will keep me warm in the mountains, after paddling, surfing, xc skiing, and camping out. I have a nano jacket, but my new DAS light hoody is warmer, roomer, covers my back,... Read More bum, and neck. It can fit a down vest or fleece sweater underneath, if needed. My husband thought that I didn't deserve such a fine jacket since I'm not a climber and in my 5th decade. I do not agree with this sentiment; keeping warm in well-designed, sensible clothing makes the outdoors as accessible to me as when I hiked in jeans along alpine Cascade and Rocky Mountain trails. Thank you for sharing this jacket with older, non-climbing, ordinary people. ~Catherine

March 15, 2022

Lightweight and warm

Overall I love this jacket. It's lightweight and warm. I wore it in sub zero temperatures and it worked great. Also compacts well for travel. I purchased a large based on reviews, but I think a medium would have fit better. I can layer underneath and it works. Purchased on sale and no mediums available so couldn't exchange.

March 5, 2022

Warm but poor stuff-pocket design and not durable

This jacket is surprisingly warm given that it is not very bulky. I rated the sizing as "runs small" because the sleeves are a little short. I am really disappointed that this jacket doesn't fit into it's own stuff-pocket. The left hand pocket has a reversible zipper, and a sturdy-looking carry tab (indicative of a "stuff-... Read Morepocket") but even with considerable time and effort I only managed to get the jacket stuffed in far enough to close the zipper a third of the way. I don't think it is physically possible to stuff the jacket into it's stuff-pocket. It definitely wouldn't be possible in any sort of timely manner when going on/off belay :( Also, the fabric is not very durable for a climbing jacket. The outer fabric of my jacket has several small holes after being worn twice to belay and approach/scramble. Perhaps, if enough stuffing falls out, I will eventually be able to use the stuff-pocket.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

Hi Elisha, thank you for submitting this review. We're so sorry to hear that Hoody isn't holding up as it should! We want you to be happy with your gear, so if you like we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it. Please let us know how we can help!

March 4, 2022

Versatile

The jacket is great. Either worn independently or in layers. The double zipper allows for easy belaying with it on.

March 4, 2022

I love this jacket!

How can something so light be so warm? I decided to test it when we went to the mountains a few days ago. The temperature outside was approximately 15 degrees and I started getting too warm. Incredible! I absolutely love this jacket, the color, the fit and its warmth.

February 11, 2022

I love everything about this jacket

I'm over 60years old looking for light weight jacket I had all kind Patagonia jackets but this's the best one by far. I love so much it's warm and light weight and looking so elegant. Thank you Patagonia always make good products.

February 8, 2022

Great Jacket

I work outdoors year round and am always trying to find warm layers that I can rely on to get me through each day when the weather can be unpredictable and ever-changing. So far this jacket has lived up to my expectations. It is very warm and light weight. Blocks the wind when worn on its own but also a great layer under a shell without being too b... Read Moreulky. I like the big chest pocket and large zippered hand pockets. I have been wearing it everyday at work and plan to buy another one! My only complaint is that the material is kind of loud at first, but seems to break in nicely. Thank you Patagonia for continuing to make great quality gear!

January 30, 2022

Nice and warm and light!

This is a great piece. Its a little longer than many of my jackets which works well but if a person had wider hips it might be tight. Hood is wonderful and fabric is amazing as it is so water repellent. Very lightweight. I bought this mainly because downhill skiing has been so cold for me this year. So far I really like it. Nice navy blue color. On... Read Morely have had it about one month but may use for Mnt biking this spring on cold days.

December 30, 2021

Two thumbs up

I was looking for a warm jacket with a hood that would be ok in the rain. The coldest it gets here is low 30s. I feel almost too warm with this coat and a short sleeved or light shirt underneath. Got a large to be able to layer if needed. Love the color and fit. Happy with this purchase!

December 19, 2021

Super light and warm

I wear this jacket as an underlayer. It has a super smooth and easy zipper. It is amazing light-weight for the warmth it allows you to move freely in the arms. Love it. Wondered if anyone liked the red color, which I almost ordered.

December 12, 2021

Light weight. Very warm

Wanted light weight. Very true to size. Comfortable!

November 30, 2021

Warm

Warm and lightweight. Nice colors

November 26, 2021

Great Jacket

I live in Buffalo, NY. I've been searching high and low for a new winter coat that will keep me warm on daily walks with my hound and on hikes, etc. I finally found it! We just got back from a walk and my first test of the new coat. As I write this, it's 28 degrees (so pretty warm) but feels like 19 with the wind chill and is super windy ... Read Moreand raining ice pellets. I was warm as toast and was only wearing a light sweater and an alpaca scarf underneath. As one of the other reviewers said, the warmth-to-weight ratio is amazing. I'm looking forward to wearing it in colder temps! Two reasons for four stars instead of five: I am not a fan of hoods and wish this one was detachable; also, the pockets are higher up than are comfortable.

October 11, 2021

Incredibly warm and lightweight

I purchased `this jacket because I wanted something that was very warm and lightweight for cold nights backpacking and for winter hikes. This weight to warmth ratio is incredible. Super light and I was toasty on my snowy hike. The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is that it isn't a very stylish jacket; the micro and nano puffs are much... Read More better looking in my opinion but this is definitely warmer. I also wish this had a built-in stuff sack like the micropuff. But overall I recommend this if you want something very warm and lightweight.

September 26, 2021

Performance synthetic insulation jacket

I've used this for car camping in shoulder season weather when low temps are around freezing. This has kept me warm when layered with R1 fleece. I bought this as an upgrade from the nano puff jacket.

September 18, 2021

Light weight and warm

Love how light weight this jacket is. It will be easy to pack for trips. Looking forward to cold weather and rain in California so I can try it out! I probably could have gotten a size medium but the large is fine. For reference I am 56 123 lbs.

September 2, 2021

Too Tight - in pits!

Ordered the XS in the updated DAS light hoody. I have the DAS from 8 years ago, which is a thick synthetic jacket, very WARM, and love it. Wanted to replace this while on sale, but Patagonia has redesigned it! Now much lighter- would not hold up to the cold of past. I could order a size small, but it is not what it was, so will return. Too bad.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2021

Hey Cathy, thanks for taking the time to write a product review! We're sorry you aren't super stoked about this one. The DAS Light Hoody is intended to be a lighter version of the original classic DAS Parka, acting as an ultralight belay hoody. It sounds like you were interested in replacing your original [DAS Parka](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-das-parka/85355.html?dwvar_85355_color=CNY), which we have also redesigned for increased performance.

April 29, 2021

Fits Kinda Strange

I like the jacket overall. It seems like it would be warm, and it's super lightweight. I bought it to use for backpacking and working on rivers in cold climates. But the jacket fit rather strangely. It was too tight across the shoulders and too long (but loose) in the torso. I always wear a medium, and if I went to a large, it would be huge on... Read More me in the torso. So sadly, I had to return it. I would recommend it to any friends who are perhaps built a little slimmer across the shoulders.

February 23, 2021

favorite jacket

I bought this to replace my micro puff hoody which I was dissatisfied with- didn't think it was very warm, was too small in the shoulders, just never really worked for me so I gave it away to my daughter who is a diver and uses it to warm up on the boat after a dive and loves it. The Das light is everything the micro puff wasn't- warm, su... Read Moreper comfortable and amazingly light.I love it

February 21, 2021

Perfect Hiking Jacket

This jacket is lightweight, yet keeps me warm both at work and outside on my hikes. I love that the warmth is there without the bulkiness. Its very comfortable!

February 19, 2021

Super super warm!!

Love the bright color and the jackets light weight with unbelievable warmth. The hood fits well and allows for full visibility l; when hood is fully zipped its offers much needed neck and head coverage on those frigid, windy mountain tops! I wish the side main pockets were a little more roomy but I will say that the breast pocket is more than adequ... Read Moreate. A little snug overall, but at 55 Im not the medium-size I used to be.

January 4, 2021

Wide range of uses - casual to outdoor adventures

I was looking for a coat/jkt that I could use for both travel and cold weather adventure. I wanted it to be comfortable wearing it on a train in Tokyo (winter) as well as snowshoeing in Tahoe. I first got the Small, but exchanged in for a Medium so I have more choice with layers underneath. It is definitely light (great for packing light), warm, an... Read Mored versatile (love the double zipper feature). I do wish it had the bigger, drop pockets inside like the DAS or the Micr Puff jackets for gloves or beanies for times when I'm wearing it on its own. I'm on the fence about whether not having pit zips is a plus (lighter) or not. I got the Nano Storm for comparison and though I love it too, I chose the DAS light for packability. The jacket's material feels more durable and weather resistant than my Micro Puffy.

December 7, 2020

Fantastic jacket for winter athletics

I was looking for a coat that was on part with the down hoody but not filled with down. (I hate shedding feathers and I don't like the smell of down.) This coat was suggested to me by the Patagonia customer service rep and I was a bit skeptical at first that it would be warm enough. It arrived today and I love everything about it. I took it on... Read More a hike right away in 27 degree weather, and I stayed very toasty and even got a bit hot at times. I stopped by the grocery store on my way home and it kept me very comfortable indoors as well. I think this coat is going to have lots of great uses! As with most Patagonia products, the fit is best on a non-curvy person. I have pretty wide hips and it still fits fine, especially with the double zipper feature on the bottom that I can open if I need more movement -- but I think it would still look a little better on a more straight-figured person. I do like that it is longer and covers my hips.

October 5, 2020

My dream jacket

I'm not a climber, but ran across this jacket and I loved the look and feel. So warm, yet very, very light. It's similar to the micro puff, but the fit is a bit roomier and longer. The longer fit (no binding at the bottom) makes it a great option to throw on over leggings for general errands or to wear to coffee post-run.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches