burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's DAS® Parka Reviews

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 31 Reviews

Clear All

Women's DAS® Parka

4.6/5
Kinda Large
January 26, 2023

Great Coat Except

Love this coat, fantastic warmth for the 20 below & snowy weather of Colorado , just one problem- it is huge. Arms go all the way past my hands! This was the size that popped up as recommended, & it is not the right fit at all. Attempted to exchange for a small, Patagonia said they were unable to process as an exchange. Pretty frustrated, &... Read Moreamp; I don't want to return bc I do want the coat. Definitely not the same sizing with other coats, so I recommend attempting to try on in store.

Response from Patagonia
February 2, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this product. We are incredibly sorry to hear about the difficulties processing an exchange and for the sizing issues. Please rest assured that we will be passing along your feedback too our Product Design Team. We have also reached out to you privately so we can help get you into the size you need.

January 18, 2023

Super warm, love the cuffs

This jacket gets me through hour long walks outdoors in weather in the teens. It is so warm. The best feature for me is the elastic drawstring cuffs. I can wear light gloves and then pull the string closed and keep my hands warm enclosed in the sleeves. Its the best. I am 5 ft 3 in annd 125# muscular and bought a small. I have room in the arms and ... Read Moreshoulders, which is hard for me to find. The body fits a little big, but not terrible. It fully covers my backside. Love this jacket- I just bought another when I lost my original traveling. Highly recommend. (And Patagonia- the cuffs are amazing and I wish came on all coats!)

January 6, 2023

Runs large

I like the color but the jacket runs large and I decided to return it. Considering exchanging for a different model jacket.

Response from Patagonia
January 19, 2023

We appreciate your feedback! The DAS Parka was designed as a warm yet packable piece of insulation that could easily fit over existing layers when belaying in the snow or a shady spot in the mountains. You might prefer our slightly trimmer insulated designs like the [DAS Light Hoody or Micro Puff Hoody](https://www.patagonia.com/shop/womens-insulated-jackets-vests?prefn1=features&prefv1=synthetic-insulation). Please reach out if you'd like any assistance to return or exchange. Our Customer Service team will be happy to help!

December 31, 2022

Bought this for my wife

Bought this for my wife for something warmer than a Nano puff and hopefully pretty water resistant. She is 5'8" about 140 lbs. Her old nano puff is size L and fits just right. Product page for the DAS shows one 5'9" model wearing a large and a different 5'9" model wearing a size small. Clearly one model is heavier, but... Read More still I found this confusing as it suggests there is little or no difference in body length or sleeve length going from size large to small. This is almost hard to believe. Ordered the large as my wife's nano puff is that size. My wife kept the large but it is clearly larger than her old nano and is slightly too large, though not bad. Medium would probably have been a better fit. The Das is a beautiful jacket, light, warm, all the right pockets, a hood that works well even without a helmet. It has been worn daily since purchase about a month ago and half a dozen times in light intermittent rain/sprinkles. The water beads up nicely and the jacket basically stays dry. This is great. However, wore it today in a steady rain for 2 hours. My wife stayed mostly dry and warm, but the jacket took on a lot of water. All the seams seemed to leak. The lower 4 inches of the cuffs were very wet inside and out. Water seems to have gotten inside the shell and run down to the bottom seam and puddled there. It is still quite wet along the bottom after hanging up inside for 9 hours now. So this is definitely not a rain jacket, but it isn't supposed to be. Also would note that it already has one small hole on the sleeve, which is disappointing. It has not been used roughly. It has only been used hiking 4-7 miles a day on open trails, no brush. Not quite sure how this happened, but the outer material seems to be quite fragile. I guess that's a trade off for being lightweight.

December 21, 2022

WARM

This jacket kept me warm in 20 degree weather and dry from falling snow. It is comfortable. It does run a bit large (even with layers underneath).

December 20, 2022

The Amazing DAS Parka!

Wearing the DAS Parka is like basking under a heat lamp, yet amazingly, it is as light as a feather. I ordered the XL so when the temperatures plummet way below freezing, I can wear a Patagonia Down Jacket underneath the DAS Parka. I am always toasty with this combo. I have found the exterior fabric to be a bit less durable than other Patagonia Jac... Read Morekets, so I have had to make a few repairs along the seam under the arms. And the large hood swallows my head, as I don't tend to wear a helmet when I feed the donkeys, sheep, and goats. But hey, the incredible warmth and lightness of this jacket totally outweighs any negatives. In fact I just ordered another one.

November 8, 2022

Lightweight, beautiful blue, not warm enough

I really loved the jacket but not quite warm enough for me. Beautiful blue. Felt a tad large. Might want to layer to ensure adequate warmth. Hard one to send back. Love Patagonia customer care.

April 2, 2022

Warm in cold Winter,yet light weight.

This jacket has provided warmth on very cold Winter days. It is very light weight and I liked that it came with a portable sack for storage or transport. As I am using it for functional everyday use in Minnesota Winters, I may be missing a detail for the reasoning behind it being a shinier material. I would've preferred a matte material, so th... Read Moreat was disappointing, as I felt the picture didn't show that. I still have grown to like it and I am guessing that it may serve a purpose I am unaware of. The hood is quite large and I appreciate the nice toggles, the whole coat has nice toggles. Overall the fit is comfy, long sleeves, fits over the hips and can zip up over chin.

February 15, 2022

A very warm beast!

The DAS parka is super warm coat. I use it for winter field work - all day traipsing through the woods with frequent long stops. It keeps me toasty in the 20s with a base layer and fleece vest beneath. Also great for skiing - the hood is lovely on the lift. My only criticism is the hip sizing, which is tight, while everywhere else is roomy. I order... Read Moreed an xxs and am 5 and 103lbs, athletic build and slim hour glass. I wish Patagonia offered petite sizing! Even though I love it, I may sadly return for a kids XL size coat.

January 10, 2022

so light but warm

hits at the right spot just past my butt early morning central coast perfect big enuf to fit layering underneath and light as a feather. me likey

January 7, 2022

Nice Jacket but...

The fit was good, the color was drab and the filling was... not puffy. It felt like the sheet insulation in some other coats. I wanted soft fabric and a soft puffy feeling jacket. I traded it in for a Fitz Roy jacket which I love. I won't be wearing it in the rain so it doesn't have to be water proof.

January 3, 2022

Reasonable, not that warm

I'm not sure why I'm having such a different experience as other people, but I was very disappointed yesterday when I wore my jacket outside for the first time. I am in Michigan, and it was about 25 degrees F. It was overcast and only slightly windy. I noticed right away that my arms felt cold. I had a heavier undergarment on also. My cor... Read Moree felt somewhat warm, but honestly not super warm. My last Patagonia jacket which was more canvas based was MUCH warmer. I am vegan and it's very hard to find a vegan jacket that is really warm. From other reviews I was excited to receive this jacket. Something else I notice right away is that it makes a very crinkly sound. I can't really explain it, but it makes a kind of crunchy sound when you move. I can deal with that but just pointing it out. The jacket feels VERY lightweight. It does seem constructed very well. The zipper works well. The fit is good. I like the elastic at the base of the sleeves. I like the extra zipper pocket at the chest. The hood fit me well. It's a nice length, just long enough for a little extra coverage but not too long. It's a comfortable fit. I could easily wear a small (5.8, 114 lb) but I wanted a slightly looser fit so that I could layer. It looks cute. However, I need to weigh up if I will keep this due to the lack of warmth. I'd like to put on a winter jacket and really feel warm right away. Yes, I can add extra layers, but at this price point I'm pretty disappointed. I'm giving it 4 stars because it is made well, but my honest amount would probably be 3.5. I'd recommend it with reservations.

Response from Patagonia
January 13, 2022

Hi Lori, thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! This kind of information is bound to be helpful to someone trying to make a decision. We've passed along your feedback to the appropriate team. The good news is all our items are backed by the Ironclad Guarantee, and if you decide that DAS Parka won't work for you you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and buy something else if you wish.

January 2, 2022

SUPER WARM!

I thought I should get a synthetic jacket b/c it rains a lot in the winter where I live. I was a bit worried that it wouldn't be warm enough. On the contrary! This jacket is so toasty. Great compliment to my down puffies.

December 31, 2021

Warm and comfy

Great puffy. Fit is slightly large but overall super comfortable and warm.

December 21, 2021

Pretty warm

The jacket is pretty warm and I love the double zipper for belaying. It's a bit noisy (crinkly) but the fabric performed in snowy conditions. I sized up and it's big, but it's nice for having it go over all my layers.

December 21, 2021

Perfect for Maine weather

Great Jacket for a cold but not to cold day in Maine. I wear it walking the dog, light hiking, and walking around town. I would not wear this jacket if it is under 25 degrees. Need something warmer for that.

December 19, 2021

Light as a feather

Light and easy to pack. Takes up no space at all. Very warm and completely blocks the wind. I frequently walk in the Boston harbor area and its very windy and cold in the winter. This jacket is my dream jacket.

December 19, 2021

Super warm!

I love this jacket. Fits like a parka with extra room for layering. Great for all outdoor pursuits!

December 15, 2021

Das Women's Jacket

Love this jacket. Light and roomy enough that I can wear a bulky fleece, yet snug in just a long sleeved tee. Little longer in the torso and that helps with wind and cold. Nice outside breast pocket for phone. The hood comes over the front and works well. Sleeves are a touch long.All around a great jacket that will keep me going outdoors in New Eng... Read Moreland all winter long. 100% happy with this purchase!

November 26, 2021

Perfect coat for hiking in upper midwest

The coat is perfect for hiking in the upper midwest. I've worn it on a 5 mile hike at 20 degrees with a tshirt under the coat. I was warm, not hot. Definately recommend, worth the price.

November 21, 2021

Excellent jacket!

Dont let the lightweight feel of this jacket fool you. Living in NE Iowa where winters and wind can be brutal, this is by far my go-to!

November 20, 2021

Weird fit

I know this is meant as a belay jacket but it still fit weird. I first ordered the XXS but I could barely zip it (and Im pretty thin!). I exchanged for a XS and Im swimming it. I wish the body of the XXS wasnt quite so narrow and then it probably would have been a good fit. A person must be extraordinarily thin for that to fit them. The XS is so lo... Read Moreng in me, which I know its supposed to be a bit longer of a style but it does not match whats in the photos at all. This jacket came quite far below my butt. Was excited about the features of this jacket but Disappointed in the fit, will be returning

September 21, 2021

Love the DAS parka

I have now owned three of these over the years. Latest version is awesome and enjoy how light it is. Great insulating layer when you cant guarantee you can stay dry.

April 12, 2021

Warm, Light-Weight, Noisy

Great jacket for Pacific West Coast backpacking (Juan de Fuca, Adolphus Lake/ Berg Lake). Light weight. I have used this for walking around time. I pack this out for hikes and camping. Used the jacket for Juan de Fuca

April 7, 2021

Stylish and super warm

My daughter is off to college in Vermont and we wanted a serious winter coat for her. We visited the Patagonia store and she made a beeline for this jacket, after dismissing at least 30 from competing brands. Its flattering, holds up beautifully in windy, freezing weather and adapts well for hiking and skiing. Its an investment, and well worth it!

March 22, 2021

Warm Coat

The best winter coat I've ever owned. I go for 12-mile walks in Central Vermont every afternoon. This coat is extremely warm, light-weight, with great pockets. More clothing in xxs please, Amazon. I'm 5'1" and 100 lbs.

February 28, 2021

Noisy warmth

Warm jacket. Use so far is hiking in mornings in temps 20 degrees or less. Has performed well with just 1 layer beneath. Thumb loops at cuffs help me keep gloves over wrists without bunching. I was not expecting the loud crinkle this jacket makes with movement. I have owned many outdoor jackets & this is the noisiest by far.

February 25, 2021

Super Warm

Threw the jacket on, headed out for a short walk in minus degree temp. Suddenly I realized I was completely warm with only a summer t-shirt underneath. Amazing warmth and comfort. The two-way zip works great, no snags. Love tucking my bare hands under the long sleeves, warmer than mitts. THIS IS A GREAT JACKET!

February 15, 2021

Very Warm!

I fluctuate between XS and XXS. Tried the XS which I found to be very roomy which let cool air in so sized down. Me: 5'0, 103# I generally run VERY cold and this jacket keeps me warm enough! I throw this jacket on when stopping for lunch breaks on ski tours and recently used it as my insulating layer under a shell skiing in bounds with a high ... Read Moreof 12 degrees and minimal-moderate winds. I stayed fairly warm, at least warmer than any other insulating jacket I own. I had on a thin, wool shirt and an R-1 underneath.

February 8, 2021

amazing parka!

This is the best winter clothing purchase I have made in years. This parka is lightweight and super warm and breathable. I am pretty broad shouldered and I bought a large--and love the longer sleeves--the large is big enough to fit a sweater under. I'm always warm when I wear this--no matter what the conditions. Love this parka!

November 19, 2020

Love this coat

Super lightweight and incredibly warm. Great color (I got the red) and perfect fit. Couldnt be happier with my purchase.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches