Back to Product

Patagonia Women's Fitz Roy Down Hoody

Write Your Review

4.7/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 43 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's Fitz Roy Down Hoody

4.7/5
March 5, 2022

Love this fitz- light and warm!

Cannot say how much I love this coat. So functional with many zipper pockets, and inside pockets, pull cords- the features are incredible. Hood stays on and seals the deal for warmth. Im 56 120 lbs - small fits perfect. Can still fit a fleece underneath. And its warm. Light.. Super light! The abalone blue is an amazing color - have had many people ... Read Morecompliment the coat. Easy to wear. Obviously. -Im loving this coat.

March 3, 2022

I am finally warm!

I am in love with my Fitz Roy Hoodie! I am finally warm!!! I never thought it possible. as I used to be always cold. No longer. It has more down, longer length on arms & bottom than others in this category. Zippers glide effortlessly, love the pockets & hood. Its like being snuggled into a soft down comforter. This gets me outside everyday ... Read Moreon hikes in bitter temps & icy winds with confidence I will be warm. I even wear it relaxing by the fire. Worth the price by far!!! A beautiful, well made down hoodie, only as Patagonia can do. Highly recommend!

February 7, 2022

The best puffy youll own!

I absolutely love this jacket. Its incredibly warm and works well under shells if need be. Super lightweight, packable, and easy to just throw in your backpack if you get too warm. The only downside is just something with the stitching. I originally caught the fabric on a fence and ripped a hole in it, Patagonia ended up replacing it with a brand n... Read Moreew one after repair took too long (such great customer service!) and then I caught my new one on a tree branch last week. Thankfully it didnt do any damage besides tighten the stitches on that particular area. Id recommend if youre going to be off trail or in any sort of brush/tree areas, wear a shell or layer over this.

January 14, 2022

Awesome jacket!

This jacket is great. I am 5'2 and about 110 lbs and the XS is a good fit while still having some room underneath to add another layer or two. I work at a mountain teaching XC and alpine skiing and it is perfect for those -10 degree days. It is light, incredibly warm and also packs down well if I want to bring it as an extra layer for backcoun... Read Moretry skiing days. Definitely recommend!

January 10, 2022

Very warm

Great piece. Beautiful color. Warm. Cozy. Comfortable.

January 8, 2022

Super Warm -- EXTRA SUPER LIGHTWEIGHT!

I like the heavier zipper and the 2 zippered pockets on the breast. The draw on the hood works great too!

December 21, 2021

My New Go-To Jacket for EVERYTHING!

Super warm, functional and looks great. I would say this jacket runs a touch big, but not enough to size down. Great to wear over another layer or two, and will definitely we wearing on the slopes on a dry day. Would recommend everyone in a cold climate have this jacket!

December 20, 2021

SO cozy

Amazing temperature regulator! Never to cold or to hot!! Love that I can wear this over a tee and not feel like its huge or over a fleece and not feel like its too tight. Throw it on to walk the dog, to run errands, or to spend the day on the slopes. It wont disappoint!!

December 18, 2021

warm and comfortable

can also be layered under a ski jacket

December 8, 2021

Too boxy, quality assurance?

Beautiful color! I didn't keep this jacket as I don't like a boxy look. I like a more fitted a-line look. I'm also anal about zippers. They have to be smooth & move easily. This one was stuck with material on it, right out of the bag. I was afraid to force it, for fear of hurting or ruining the jacket so I returned it. I am surpr... Read Moreised no one in your Quality Assurance department noticed the bad zipper.

Response from Patagonia
December 10, 2021

Hello Sandra! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you experienced with the zipper. We appreciate feedback like this as it helps us to improve products for future seasons. We think this is a one off rather than a larger quality issue, nevertheless, we've passed this along to our design team!

December 7, 2021

A Wearable Hug

I love this jacket. After much research, I ordered two sizes (XS & S). I think it runs a tad big, and the XS fits well with ample room for a couple layers below, my Nano Puff being one of them. After a full day of winter hiking, it can be tough to stay warm in camp, and I trust that Fitz Roy will do the trick. We also keep our house cool in the... Read More winter, so I have enjoyed wearing it at home when sedentary. Two questions for Patagonia: Is the inside left pocket the one to use as a stuff sac or outside pocket? Also, I cannot find the opening for the hood cord and know I will want to be able to cinch it. Thank you for a wonderful product!

November 24, 2021

Everything I wanted!!

I absolutely love this jacket! I usually wear a mediuk but the small fits perfectly. Super cozy, I never take it off!!!

November 24, 2021

This jacket is so warm, I dont get the chills anymore. The hood fits well and makes the jacket even cozier.

It runs a bit bigger than other mediums that fit me. But it allows for layering, which I love

November 22, 2021

Light weight warmth

Im still waiting to test this jacket in Canada but Im not worried. Its super light and super warm.

November 21, 2021

Best looking down jacket

Fitzroy is a terrific versatile all around down jacket. Performs well at the summit of Mt Baker or running errand in LA. I own 2 of them. Also own Feathered Friends Ellia but prefer the Fitz.

November 16, 2021

Perfect warmth and light weight

Love the warmth and how light it is. Easy to stuff into my back pack

November 3, 2021

Very Warm and great color

I usually wear a medium but sized up for this jacket. It is super warm already and has plenty of room for layers if you size up. Color is a gorgeous true teal color. Definitely not just green.

November 3, 2021

Super warm, light weight

Have not had a chance to use it yet. Was a birthday gift and is just like the version that I bought for my soul mate, last year for Xmas. He loves his & I'm sure I will too. Can't believe how light it is. Can't wait for snow to come!

October 22, 2021

Lightweight and perfect fit! Very warm!

Although the color is not accurate , its more of a light steel blue, I am thrilled with this jacket! The folks on the phone recommended the small as I am between small and medium with Patagonia and the small is perfect. Pockets are great ! All 10 star!!!

October 19, 2021

Super Warm and Wind Resistant

This jacket is pretty amazing. I bought it for a trip to Iceland. I wanted a warm jacket with a hood, but was a little hesitant to buy a puff jacket for the wet weather Iceland has. It was a lifesaver! Super warm, very comfortable, water resistant (wouldn't wear it in a downpour, but a light rain was fine). It runs large. I am usually a solid ... Read Moremedium when it comes to jackets. I bought a small and can still wear plenty of layers underneath. I would definitely recommend this jacket. Love the color, LOVE Patagonia. Their products are solid, their mission is solid, as is the customer service!

October 4, 2021

The perfect super warm but light jacket!

I had been looking for a warm but not heavy jacket to replace another one I had loved. I realized I am between Med and small and for example the Hi Loft Down was tight in small and largish in Medium. The Fitz Roy is PERFECT in small. Quality beautiful. Pockets are great. The Abalone blue is a light steel blue less of Teal but I love it! Great to ge... Read Moret a jacket in Down with the comfort of knowing the ethics behind this prioduct are clean.

May 20, 2021

Cozy

Really warm layer, that can be comfortable as warm as mid to high 50's. Very comfortable in high 20's-30's. I haven't had a chance to test the lower end of its comfort. It fits a bit large, which is perfect for layering under. Compresses easily into a full pack, and bounces right back to a fluffy warm comfort layer in cold/ wind... Read Morey conditions.

March 6, 2021

Perfect warmth & packability

My new favorite down jacket. Put it to the test on very cold backcountry ski days. Packs into a 30L pack with room for other gear. Kept me warm during my most recent AIARE rescue class in -20 below windchill. And it looks good too :)

March 5, 2021

Love the Fitz Roy, But Disappointed By This One

The Fitz Roy parka/jacket/hoody (I own all!) is my all-time favorite jacket. I have them from a number of iterations. From the incredibly soft fabric to the incredibly warmth, these accompany me from winter hikes to campfires to everything in between. Even though this was a too-large size for me, I ordered it because it was on sale and I love them ... Read Morethat much! I planned to just layer up underneath. But I was so disappointed when I received it. Compared to all of my other Fitz Roy's, this is just super lightweight. The down filling seems much thinner and lighter, making for a jacket not nearly as cozy as all my other ones.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thanks for the feedback! We revised the Fitz Roy this season as we didn't need two belay parkas in our line. This year we re-launched the DAS parka as our belay parka. We revised the Fitz Roy to be a more all around wear piece. As always, your satisfaction is guaranteed, and you are welcome to return it.

March 2, 2021

Not like the old one

I was given the Fitz Roy jacket Winter '19, and I had never been warmer. I loved that jacket. Unfortunately, it was stolen from the gym this year and I bought a "replacement" for it, or at least I thought I bought a replacement. The one I bought is not near as warm as the old one - the loft is simply not the same. And the exterior fa... Read Morebric is not as sturdy as the old one either. Really disappointed in the difference between the coat I enjoyed so much last year and the one I bought this year. BTW, my fiancé bought a Fitz Roy and the difference between the men's and women's Fitz Roy is incredible - the men's Fitz Roy is a true alpine jacket! It's warm! Buy this coat for casual walks around the neighborhood when you can layer under it to make it the warmth you're paying the price for it to be.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the Fitz Roy, we are of course sorry to hear that the re-design did not meet your expectations. We’ve gone the route we did since we re-launched the DAS as a Belay Parka. Which in turn changed the design of the Fitz Roy to be more versatile in its day to day use.

February 22, 2021

Favorite coat!

Very warm without feeling stuffy. Its light and very easy to move in and does a good job blocking wind (I live in Indiana, so I should know!). This is my favorite coat for any outdoor winter activity. I bought the berry/red color and it is so beautiful! Very happy with the coat.

February 3, 2021

Perfect arrow in Quiver for cold NH Days

Own many puffs and was missing this one for that cold day walking across campus and then heading to ski train up in the January cold weather up in New England. Perfect fit, perfect warmth ***** 5 stars for this Christmas present

January 30, 2021

Amazing Jacket!

This is the best Patagonia jacket I have ever worn! It is nice and comfortable, and it is soo warm!

January 28, 2021

Super cute and warm

I love it!!

January 27, 2021

Exceptional quality

Purchased the black W's Fitz Roy Down Hoody in size Small. It is the perfect jacket for Salt Lake City winters. It's so warm and very comfortable. I love the hood too, so amazing!

January 26, 2021

Versatile

Its very light weight, warm, great hood, zippers and pockets are perfect location and size, length is perfect for me. My only complaint, I am finding its not warm enough when I downhill ski....I do get cold easily, but thought this would be comparable to my mountaineering jacket.

January 10, 2021

Definitely runs big

Fantastic jacket for chilly days. Light but super warm. Recommend sizing down from your usual size - I normally wear XS but was swimming in it even with a bulky layer underneath- had to exchange for XXS.

January 7, 2021

perfect fit

I have a tall, thin build and have a hard time finding coats that are fitted and still long enough for my arms. This coat fits like a glove with the pull string on the bottom. Love it!

January 6, 2021

My warmest jacket!! I haven't been cold in it yet :)

I bought this for bone-chilling belaying in the high desert in the winter and for cold nights is Alaska. I love it so much, the fit is so comfortable (I am 5'6" 115# and got the XS, there's plenty of room to layer it over things!) and the pockets are roomy. This puffy was such a great purchase!

December 9, 2020

Warm, comfortable and light weight

Great jacket for cold days. Especially love the big hood. Good quality.

December 7, 2020

Cannot winter without it

I've had this jacket for more than ten years, and wouldn't have survived being a hockey mom in Gunnison without it. For those brutally cold mornings on the hill or even just sitting around a fire, this jacket is the answer too. Keeps you warm when you need it!

December 7, 2020

Comfortable jacket for everyday

Its a great comfortable jacket. I wearing it for my morning walks with my dog. The hood is an added bonus for those windy days.

December 7, 2020

Warm, Light, Comfortable, Nice Fit

SO comfortable!! Well-designed and well-tailored. It's like living inside a flattering cloud. Warm hood. My first piece of winter outerwear that doesn't poke/prod/scratch/tug or otherwise disturb me in some way when I'm in motion. This is my new go-to jacket for hikes and walks. I am a bit concerned wearing this in any situation th... Read Moreat might be abrasive; the outer layer doesn't seem particularly resilient beyond everyday use. (But I'm happy to make that sacrifice for the comfort, lightness, and silence of this jacket) FYI this Fitz Roy runs a bit larger than other Patagonia jackets; I am 5'7"/120lbs and usually a S. XS is perfect for me, still allowing layers underneath. I can also fit my Patagonia shell (S) under or over it.

December 2, 2020

Cute and Warm

Just keep in mind: Patagonia S is M at other places.

December 2, 2020

Very warm and fits true to size

Super warm and alpine blue is a very pretty color. Im 5ft 3 and 106 lbs and bought XS.

November 30, 2020

Super warm and insulated jacket

I love this jacket. I have a Down Sweater for eastern Washington winters, but always had to layer up to stay warm. I can now go out in this jacket and know I'll be more than warm with minimal layers below. I probably could have fit into a small (5'7, 130 lbs) but I like the option of adding more layers in really cold temps where I won&#x2... Read More7;t be moving as much.

September 16, 2020

Quality and Comfort

I love the quality, comfort and protection it provides me. Love all of your products and also buy them as gifts for my daughter and son in law.

September 10, 2020

Be warned that it runs large

Im a female athlete with rather lean, mean and developed shoulders. Because of that, I almost always have to get a large in Patagonia coats. However, I wound up returning the large that I ordered because it made me look much bigger than I actually am. Thankfully, the medium fits very well and still provides room for full rotation of my arms. Dont b... Read Moree surprised if you need to go down a size to make this coat fit and look better. Looking so forward to the Fitz Roy keeping me very warm during the fall and winter here in Valdez, which is the Snow Capital of Alaska!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches