burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's AlpLight Down Jacket

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Runs Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
  • 3XL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's AlpLight Down Jacket

4.1/5
Runs Small
April 20, 2022

Color not as advertised

I ordered the smoked grey and it looks purple

Response from Patagonia
April 21, 2022

Hey Greg, we're sorry to hear of your disappointment in the color you purchased. If you'd like to begin an exchange for a different color or if you'd like to return, you can begin either process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

March 28, 2022

Spiffy and cozy

Great looking iteration of the classic Patagonia light down jacket. Fits well and keeps me warm.

March 13, 2022

Down Packed Out

Purchased this lightweight jacket for an upcoming Haute Route trip this spring. Took it ski touring in the Wasatch for five days for a test run and the fill is already starting to be dramatically displaced in the underarm area where your pack straps make contact.

Response from Patagonia
March 21, 2022

Hi Ian, washing and drying is a great way to help redistribute the down. We recommend using cool to cold water on a gentler cycle in your washing machine. You can use a gentle powder detergent to wash that item. Once washed, you can place your item in your dryer on a low heat setting with either two clean tennis balls, or two dryer balls. The balls will help restore the loft of the down and ensure that the item dries evenly. Please note, drying down items can take a while, so you may need to use more than one dry cycle. It's important that you use a low heat setting and check to make sure your item is thoroughly dried before removal from the dryer. Of course, if you're still not happy with the look of your jacket after washing, please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) at any time.

March 9, 2022

Pocket zippers are hard to close.

I tried to wear this jacket for a month but the pocket zippers were so annoying I have decided to send it back. I love the way it looks. Just not a practical coat.

Response from Patagonia
March 16, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the disappointing zippers on this jacket. If you haven't already returned it to your local Patagonia-owned store, please reach out. We will be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

February 3, 2022

Good construction

Comfortable, a bit small for layering if you do heavy lifting at the gym.

Response from Patagonia
February 3, 2022

Hey Russ, thanks for the review. We'd like to mention that the Men's AlpLight Down Jacket has a slim fit, you can check the fit on any item by going to the product page and checking underneath the size range options. This could be why it does not feel as easy to layer with. If the one you purchased is still in new condition and you'd like to size up, you can begin that exchange process [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

January 15, 2022

The right amount of warmth for the weight

Love it, nice fitted style. Puffy in the right spots. The only reason I gave 4 stars is that I can't understand how it doesn't have a loop so I can hang it. Is it that fragile (not that I've seen) that it can't support a loop? I would also like to see inside chest pockets. Outside pockets are nice and large.

January 11, 2022

Comfortable and light

I bought this jacket a few months ago and while I havent used it extensively Ive found it to be super comfortable, light, warm and true to size. It doesnt break the wind, but when paired with an outer shell will be great. My only issue is that my jacket has a few small threads on the inner sleeves that are irritating against the skin (if wearing a ... Read Moreshort sleeve shirt), but otherwise this is exactly what I expected.

January 11, 2022

Warmth without the Bulk

Super light and surprisingly warm. The fit is great and does not feel bulky on me. I love the material and the packability. Only negative is the outer material can be ripped easily. Other than that, it's an excellent jacket for hiking, climbing or casual wear. Looks great!

January 10, 2022

Nice jacket but fits snug

I really like the design of this jacket, though it fits a bit snug compared to other Patagonia jackets I own. If you plan to wear this with a base layer only it is probably good, but I wanted the option to wear with mid-layer and it felt restrictive as a system. One of my favorite features is the blind hand pockets and having the zippers concealed.... Read More I've had problems in the past with hand pocket zippers snagging the sleeve baffle threads and this simple improvement will prevent that from happening.

December 20, 2021

Like It A Lot

It is slim fit so I ended up exchanging a medium for large. It's very light and warm, fits great, and is quickly becoming my go to jacket.

December 20, 2021

Nice but

The jacket overall is warm and comfortable, maybe a runs a bit small and super lightweight. I wish it was a little better at wind protection. There is no hook to hang up the jacket, which is very frustrating.

December 17, 2021

Great fit but skimpy down fill.

Was disappointed with the loft of the down fill. It appeared to be skimpy. The fit of the coat was awesome but didnt feel it would be as warm as I imagined.

December 13, 2021

Super warm

This is a great jacket ! Super warm but lightweight. Perfect under a shell for cold wet days. A favorite !

December 12, 2021

Like it!

Light and warm. Fits great.

December 11, 2021

Stylish light weight jack. A must have if you live in a cold climate

I got this for a trip to Antarctica. This is a light weight warm stylish jacket. I take it on hikes for when we get a temperature drop and the light weight makes it a no brained pack item.

November 30, 2021

Warm and recycled

Love the color and the fact that the shell material is recycled. Super warm for the weight. Does lose the occasional down feather.

November 23, 2021

Great warmth, wind blocking, and ultra light weight

Great warmth, wind blocking, and ultra light. The material feel is super soft and weather-proof. The size is nearly to size. Just a very slight small. The fit, design, finish, and pack ability is excellent.

November 20, 2021

Light and warm

Feather light and yet toasty warm. Great color!

November 19, 2021

Jacket

I wish the jacket had an inside packet.

November 17, 2021

fit and weight are dynamite

this piece fits me so well. love the waist cut and arm length. and this jacket is so light! i love this jacket!

November 7, 2021

Perfect Fit and Warm

I was looking for a coat that was slim fitting and where the sleeves weren't super long and something that I could travel in. The fit is perfect and it doesn't feel bulky. I like the blue color also..not obnoxious CAN GSE blue but nice and subtle.

October 21, 2021

Light and warm but not durable

I got this jacket for a backpacking trip to Great Basin National Park. I was excited about how lightweight it was and it is 800 fill down. I wore it the first night and it was awesome, the second day not so much. I realized there was down leaking out of the jacket from multiple areas and the seams. After wearing it for close to a week straight I to... Read Morere a hole in it. I give Patagonia kudos for trying to replace the ultralight down but this product isn't Patagonia quality. I'd like to see it with a hood aswell. Bring back the ultralight down!!

Response from Patagonia
October 26, 2021

We appreciate the feedback! Leaky down and holes so soon after purchase is definitely not something that should be happening with this jacket! If you haven't already please reach out to our service team [here](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and they'll help you out with a return!

October 17, 2021

Light, Warm, but not durable

I bought this jacket for a backpacking trip to Great Basin National Park for its warmth and light weight. I was excited about this jacket but within the second day of the trip it was leaking down like crazy through the seams and throughout the jacket. NOT STOKED. I wanted to believe it was going to stop but it hasn't. Within a week of wearing ... Read Moreit non stop I ripped it as well. I give props TO Patagonia for trying to replace the ultralight down but the AlpLight isn't Patagonia quality. BRING BACK THE ULTRALIGHT DOWN!!

Response from Patagonia
October 21, 2021

Hi Cameron, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that your jacket ripped on the second day of your trip. Although this isn't the most durable jacket we offer we still expect better quality than that so we'd consider this a warranty issue. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

October 14, 2021

Great coat but needs a hood!

Loved the hooded ultralight from a few years back, and picked up this year's AlpLight and for what it is, it's a great down jacket. Standalone or as a layer, it's warm yet still super light. Only thing that would really make this great is if they offered it in a hood! Please Patagonia Insulated product mgrs, bring back the hood!

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2021

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback Mike. We'll let the design team know you'd like that hood to make it's return.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches