burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's AlpLight Down Jacket Reviews

Write Your Review

4.4/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XXS
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 47 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's AlpLight Down Jacket

4.4/5
True To Size
January 26, 2023

Nice fit

Finely found a coat with a bit of length and width for someone with wide hips and thighs.

January 26, 2023

I love this coat. Its

I love this coat. Its very warm for such a lightweight coat. The color is great. My only complaint is I just wish it was a little longer. Other than that I would highly recommend.

January 17, 2023

This is the one!

I have tried many other jackets like this in search of the perfect one. This is the one! It fits beautifully, has the perfect insulation and the color is beautiful. Great for travel. Whisper thin but keeps the chill out. Why doesn't the product team evaluate making these in navy and some other colors?

January 16, 2023

Light weight & Warm

Love the jacket! Versatile for layering or a lighter weight for warmer winter workouts.

January 9, 2023

Weird fit, but sooooo cozy

The fit is weird, but it's SO cozy I'll probably keep it. Sadly, I'll probably wear it mostly for working from home, and it will work fine for that. I usually shiver in multiple layers, but I'm so toasty in this it might be worth keeping. It's relatively sleek and lighweight, so I could wear it like a sweater under a heavy ... Read Morewinter coat, and it will be fine for hikes, snowshoeing, etc.. I'm 5'5" and 39", 29," 40", so I guess that's a little curvy? I got this in a M, which is my standard size, and this fits snug at my hips, but is baggy from the waist up. It's super baggy in the back, from my waist up, which looks weird. I'm not sure who would fit in this cut, unless you're a super serious climber with really small hips and highly developed lats? But, it probably won't matter too much in this instance. I got this in green, which is a nice color, but I would have preferred the red, which was sold out. I'm wearing it for warmth more than fashion, so it's ok. I used to wear men's clothing a lot, and with this jacket, it feels like I might as well be, because of the cut. I quit wearing men's clothing because I finally realized it's much more comfortable to have things that fit my shape. Clothes stay put better, it's warmer in the cold, there's less bagging and bunching, etc. So this cut is disappointing, but I think for this particular jacket, it's manageable.

Response from Patagonia
January 20, 2023

Thanks for sharing your input with us Ava. This jacket was designed to be ultra lightweight and packable for alpine pursuits. If you're looking for something for day to day use, we'd encourage you to check out the [Women's Down Sweater](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-down-sweater/84684.html?dwvar_84684_color=WLWT&cgid=root) as a potential alternative.

January 3, 2023

Nice Jacket, not what I expected.

Nice LIGHT WEIGHT jacket. I expected more with a description of 800 fill. This is a very light weight down sweater.

Response from Patagonia
January 12, 2023

Hi Pamela, you're right, this jacket is very lightweight. It has 86-g of 800 fill goose down. "Fill power" is a universal rating system for down, and is a rating of down quality. The higher the fill power, the warmer the down is for its weight. With 800 fill you don't need as much down as you would with a lesser quality of down to get the same warmth, and the jacket will be lighter and more compressible. Our [Women's Down Sweater](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-down-sweater/84684.html?dwvar_84684_color=SNDB&cgid=collections-down-sweater-womens) also contains 800 fill down, but a larger quantity of it (100-g vs 86). If you are looking for a jacket with more down of the same quality you might check that one out. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Service Team if you would like to pick out a different option!

January 2, 2023

Beautiful fit and color! Great

Beautiful fit and color! Great quality! My daughter loves it!

December 28, 2022

Perfect

Love it, so light but definitely kept me so warm, very comfortable, I'm 5'2, wt 135lbs, i bought this and used it when i visit my son in Europe, and so glad,perfect to wear it while in plane and walking around in Italy, love it so much that I got one for my Fiance as B-Day gift and he love it too. so light that you can pack it in your bac... Read Morekpack. perfect for travel

December 15, 2022

I love this jacket. Fits

I love this jacket. Fits perfectly, very light and warm. Love the color.

December 3, 2022

Gorgeous fitted jacket

I tried this jacket on at a local store, loved it, didnt get it but couldnt stop thinking about it. Snatched it up when it went on sale. Warm and light, very attractive, wear it often!

December 2, 2022

Have been a Patagonian since

Have been a Patagonian since early years..this jacket is great, bought it lg so can get layers under..perfect for hiking,dog walking in the sno. Its a great one!

November 30, 2022

Very tight in shoulders

I love the color but dang it's tight in the shoulders, tried sizing up to a medium but I look like SpongeBob SquarePants (square).

Response from Patagonia
December 5, 2022

Thank you for this review, Celeste. We're sorry the Medium didn't fit either! If you decide you don't want to live in Bikini Bottom please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it, or you can contact our Customer Service Team at (8 00) 637-6464 for help in returning or exchanging it.

November 26, 2022

Perfection

I would never have bought the red color if it hadnt been on sale, but a friend encouraged me and I went for it. Im so glad I did. Its a gorgeous understated color and Im loving wearing it. I normally wear a small in tops / jackets, but ordered a medium to account for layering, which is perfect. And it really is wind proof.

November 23, 2022

Warm, light jacket!

I bought this jacket after returning the micro puff in size L, hoping that this style would fit better. I had the chance to try this jacket on size XL at a local store and it fit too big for me, so I ordered a size L. To my surprise, this jacket was almost perfect for my body type. I am normally a size L and this jacket fit nice in my body I still ... Read Morehave space for a fleece underneath, so that's great. I wouldn't say it would be very roomy with a fleece under but it would still be ok. I disagree with other reviews about the jacket feeling tight on the armpits and arms. I think it depends on your body type. For reference, I'm 170lb and 5'6, my body is rectangle shape. Arms are not big so in my case this jacket was almost perfect. I say almost because I find that patagonia jackets fit snug in my hips, and I don't really consider my hips super wide. I would agree with other reviews when they say how patagonia lately makes products for skinny 6ft women. That was my experience with the micro puff, but other than that, I love the dark blue color, and the feeling of the material. This was the main reason why I didn't get any other of their best selling products like the nano puff. This jacket feels superior quality in my own opinion, however, some down feathers have came off the jacket here and there so I'm unsure on how durable the jacket might be in the long run. I still love it, anyway.

November 22, 2022

Perfect weight but slightly snug

I agree with the other reviews. This jacket is gorgeous, well constructed, and a nice weight; however, its tight in the hips. I tried on the large but it was much too big in the chest and waist but fit more comfortably in the hip area. Ultimately, I went with a medium because I want to wear it under other coats and didnt want it to be baggy but I w... Read Moreish the cut was slightly more tapered out. I have never had this problem with other brands like lululemon or arcteryx so I dont think that my figure is particularly disproportionate.

November 22, 2022

Perfect fit, comfortable, stylish and warm

I am 5 feet six inches tall and 120 pounds. This jacket fits perfectly over my Patagonia full zip Better Sweater. The jacket is superbly comfortable to wear due to its lightweight and suppleness. Outstanding performance and stylish.

November 16, 2022

Too tight in the armpits

The workmanship and styling of this jacket is excellent. It fits well, except for the arm pits. Seems the arm-hole is cut too small. The jacket is uncomfortable with just a t-shirt underneath. (I have thin arms.) I will be returning it.

Response from Patagonia
November 23, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Suzanne. We are very sorry to hear about the issues you've had with the arm-hole of this jacket, which sadly led to a return. With that said, please feel free to reach out to our [Customer Service Team](https://help.patagonia.com/s/?_gl=1*1rfh8of*_ga*MTQ5ODEyNDA3OS4xNjUyMjExNDc2*_ga_1SYPSJZYJ5*MTY2OTIzNjA3NS4xOTQuMS4xNjY5MjM2MDk0LjAuMC4w) if you have any questions about your return or need help getting that return started.

November 14, 2022

Straightforward, lightweight down jacket

Super light jacket, which I will use for layering under a shell in inclement weather, or by itself on cool days. Don't really like the quilted part, but otherwise, it is a great item.

November 12, 2022

Perfectly warm

Trying to branch out by purchasing a jacket in a color other than green. I wanted a new radallie (sp?) but I liked the contrast stitching and the fun colors. This runs larger than the radallie (which I wear a med.) I wear these at work because Im freezing all the time.

November 10, 2022

Super light

Very good for fall weather and super light!

November 6, 2022

Light, warm, great fit!

This jacket fits well - it's just the right length for coverage and fits well with a climbing harness and allows for good mobility. Would definitely recommend it!

September 26, 2022

Great lightweight jacket for "cold" Southern California walks.

Bought this jacket for my (91-year-old) mom, who takes daily morning walks in Southern California. This will be perfect for those "cold" 45-50 degree mornings in the winter.

September 24, 2022

Beautiful color and fit

The color is beautiful it is true to size. It's thin, but warm. Loved the design of the stitching.

September 7, 2022

Yup, runs small.

My favorite P jacket was the Coastal. Light, slim fit, rugged so I thought I'd give this a try but have to agree with others, it's too tight in the arm pits and hips although my other P slim fitting jackets fit perfect in a M. Sizing up to the L and it's then too big in all the wrong places. The size chart is way off so do not go by ... Read Morethat! Still, a great quality jacket though but just not quite right fitting.

Response from Patagonia
September 16, 2022

We really appreciate your detailed feedback and we're sorry this one didn't work out. You might prefer our redesigned Micro Puff Jacket or Down Sweater. Please reach out to your local Patagonia-owned retail store or to our Customer Service team to return it. We'll be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/)!

August 22, 2022

Snug at hips.

I chose this jacket because it is warm, lightweight, and packable for a trek in the Andes. It is well constructed and fits well except at the hips where it is snug. I have a small frame, so I was surprised and disappointed. I have decided to keep it because it is my best option.

Response from Patagonia
August 25, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Lynn. Please remember, if you decide this fit isn't right for you, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) the jacket. We hope you have an amazing trip!

August 18, 2022

It's a Love

I am usually hesitant to buy these down filled "short" jackets online b/c when it comes to my fleeces and warmer garments, I want to make sure it has at lease SOME bum coverage. But Patagonia has been impressing me with their nice torso lengths, so I went for it, and I love it! This jacket is a nice length for a short down filled jacket, ... Read Moreand covers a little less than half of my bum. I also really like how this jacket (and Patagonia's garments overall) are generous in the shoulder and back, this jacket passes the "hug" test quite nicely. I will say I am between a L and XL, and sized up to make sure to get the length and some extra room for layers underneath if needed. Overall, great comfortable jacket that fits amazing, and is extremely light and packable to boot!! Thanks Patagonia!

April 29, 2022

Not quite right

The color (a periwinkle blue in person) was beautiful. I really wanted to love this jacket. Unfortunately, it didnt work for me. It was cut too tightly under the arms and around the hips and the chest was not right - as if my breasts were expected to sit up under my collarbones. Im 60 so that isnt ever gonna be a good look for me. I would be happy ... Read Moreto recommend this to someone younger, slimmer, fitter than me. I had to send it back. (Tried the extra large and it was too large all the way around)

Response from Patagonia
May 3, 2022

Hey there Deborah!. So sorry to hear this jacket did not meet the mark for you. But we are happy to hear that you were able to get it returned for a refund. A jacket that is similar in warmth but not as slim as a fit is the [W's Nano Puff jacket](https://www.patagonia.com/product/womens-nano-puff-jacket/84217.html?dwvar_84217_color=SEGN). You will find it had more room in the arms and is not as narrow fitting. If you have any questions on this item or any others, feel free to contact Customer Service and we will be happy to help.

April 1, 2022

Love this jacket!

Fun and functional this jacket can be worn as a mid layer or in warmer conditions as an outter layer. Fit is perfect!

March 24, 2022

Disappointed!

I purchased the jacket in a large. Having lost weight I am now a medium in regular clothing. The Large jacket was too snug with a cotton turtleneck. I exchanged for an XL, and was disappointed in the fit - now too big with extra long sleeves. I was really hoping for a better fit - love the weight of the jacket and color. Patagonia made it easy to e... Read Morexchange the product and I received a speedy refund. Will keep looking!

March 12, 2022

Best All-Around Jacket

I got this jacket for insulation to wear under my shell for skiing. It works great under a shell, but I find myself wearing it for everything hiking, around town, walking, etc. It's SUPER lightweight, weighs next to nothing but keeps you very warm- and is cute! Definitely going to be my go-to packable travel jacket for any weather. Love the co... Read Morelor blocking as well. Highly recommend!

March 6, 2022

Another product for slim tall women only

I love Patagonia but Im tired of the slim fit line. I am a solid medium in all brands, including Patagonia regular fit. Yet I could barely fit this over my head in a med and a large was tight. An XL would have been way too big, not to mention this jacket, like so many products in the slim fit line, is weirdly long. Like it seems sized for a very th... Read Morein woman over 6 feet tall. Ill never understand why Patagonia makes so many of their products slim fit only. Its 2022- time to acknowledge that women come in all sizes and shapes and start offering your products in regular fit for those of us that arent super model sized. I cant imagine who the designer for this pricy was that made a medium so tight in the chest this medium sized woman couldnt pull it over her breasts.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

Hello Em, thank you so much for sharing this review. We’re so sorry that slim fit cut didn’t work for you. People of all shapes and sizes love the outdoors, and we are working to make our lines more inclusive. We know we have more work to do in this area. In addition to making some product lines slim fit, some regular fit, and some relaxed fit, we are also working on expanding our size ranges, beginning with our most popular products. Each season we add more depth in sizing to dozens of new and existing styles in our line, so you can be sure that we'll continue to add more options in the future. We are moving in the right direction, albeit slowly, and your feedback is highly valuable toward this goal. In the meantime, If you haven't done so already, we'll be happy to help you [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this jacket. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on this, and we hope to get you set up in the future with something you'll love!

February 22, 2022

My favorite jacket

Very light and warm and very comfortable

February 3, 2022

Overall Good Fit for Small Frame

For my petite frame, this jacket fit perfect. Such a surprise since most brands don't make XS for a petite frame. I compared to 5 other outdoor brands. I would agree it runs tighter in the underarm compared to the length of jacket. Some restriction but it's so durable. Overall, versatile and exactly what I needed. Hope it lasts for years!... Read More

February 2, 2022

Lightweight, warm

This is an incredible jacket. Warm alone or in really cold windy weather as mid layer. Light weight. Great quaiity

January 29, 2022

Light and Warm

I love how light this jacket is and warm at the same time. Because it's down it is warm from the minute you put it on. It's an excellent layer for wearing indoors on freezing days.

January 29, 2022

Great versatile piece

Love this jacket.. I bought this to go under a shell skiing but I really like the overall look and fit of this! I can see my using this quite a lot.. around town, climbing and its so light just to throw in my bag!

January 29, 2022

Runs on the smaller side

I absolutely love this jacket. It does run small, so size up a size. I usually wear an xs in all Patagonia jackets, so thats what size I bought. I wish I wouldnt have taken the tags off before I even tried it on (I was too excited lol) bc I actually needed a small.

Response from Patagonia
January 31, 2022

Hi Ginger, thank you for sharing your thoughts on the fit of this jacket. If you still have that XS you can still return it if you need to, even without tags. You can start that process here: [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html), or by contacting our Customer Service Team at (800) 638-6464 or via secure chat on the website.

January 13, 2022

So light, so warm.

This coat is a magic little layer I bring to the mountain every single day: it's super light, packs down well, is easy to throw on and off, and fits perfectly under my shell. I also love it for a warmer winter night on the town. This little puffy coat does some big things!!!

January 2, 2022

Would be comfortable if only

The jacket is way too small. My wife wears a medium for most things but this jacket seems to have been miss sized. A large size the arms would be way too long.

December 30, 2021

Great all-around jacket

I love this jacket--fits beautifully, has zippered pockets, zips up and down with ease, comes high up enough on neck to keep cold air out.

December 29, 2021

Very light and comfortable

I ordered it for my wife. She liked it. Its very light and comfortable. Should be available in more colors.

November 24, 2021

practical and warm

great all purpose jacket

November 20, 2021

Workhorse

I live on Lake Superior and wore my first down sweater about 200 days a year for 5 years straight. This is my second one and its every bit as awesome as the first. Great fit, warm, lightweight, not bulky I wear it on hikes and cross country skiing (easily packable if I need to take it off) as well as commuting, errands, etc. Buy it!

November 10, 2021

Too tight just in armpits

The jacket was too tight just in the armpits, loose everywhere else so I didn't want to go up a size. Sent it back.

October 25, 2021

Great jacket, but not an ideal fit for me

Really wanted this one to work due to packable weight, light structure, slim fit, good style. It's just way too long in the torso for me. Love the look and feel but the fit didn't work. Sad to return it.

October 22, 2021

easy to love

This jacket has become my go to insulator for all my outdoor activities as a stand alone or layered with a wind protection jacket. Worked great with higher elevation hiking when worn over the Capilene Air Crew. I tried both XS and XXS and easily chose the latter for comfort, mobility and because it fit like a glove! So happy Patagonia is offering ... Read Moremore in XXS!

October 5, 2021

A little tight but in Love!

I have been looking for a jacket comparable to the old Ultralight down jacket for years and was super stoked when I saw this jacket! I Sized up from my usual XL due to the Slim fit, but Even still the arms are super tight! The jacket definitely fits me a little more snug in the torso too, but its the sleeves that really trouble me. They are pretty ... Read Morelong for my short 5'4 frame but the bicep area is super snug. I don't plan on layering much underneath which is good because I doubt I could get a baselayer and a sweater under this bad boy. That being said still going to keep it because it is an awesome, light weight jacket!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches