burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Women's UltraAlpine Down Hooded Vest Reviews

Write Your Review

4.2/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 16 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's UltraAlpine Down Hooded Vest

4.2/5
True To Size
May 15, 2022

Super comodo y calido

Es muy comodo y me encanta usarlo

May 7, 2022

Lightweight and Toasty

I'm loving this vest for springtime weather in MT. It's a great layering piece that fits comfortably over and under layers. It is trim and flattering and the hidden pocket on the chest is essential for cards and a truck key when I go for runs. This is my new favorite layer!

April 27, 2022

MS

It's a great vest except it's much too long and hits me in a weird spot. I am returning it for another product.

Response from Patagonia
April 28, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Kathleen. We're sorry to hear the torso was too long! We'll reach out to you about returning it.

April 19, 2022

Love it!

I love everything about this quarter zip vest. It is light weight but still warm, has nice pockets and the float blue color is awesome. I also really like that it has a hood. Bought it in size small and it just fit with layers. Also tried a medium but it was way too big so kept the small. I wish it came in a version with sleeves (and a hood).

March 21, 2022

Not the quality I hoped for

Though I found the fit and style of this garment to be appealing, I can't say the quality measured up. The fabric is incredibly thin for an outdoor vest, and the down fill appears equally skimpy. As a proponent of "buying less but buying best", I'm looking for outdoor products that will go the distance with me. I fear this down ... Read Morevest will not not stand the test of time and wear.

Response from Patagonia
March 29, 2022

Hi Janis, we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry to hear the quality was not what you expected. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are happy to assist with a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee.

March 17, 2022

Fills a Niche

I've purchased many Patagonia products over the years (some online, but mostly at our local, independent retailer). This is the first time I've written a review, and it's because I would hate to see the UltraAlpine Down Hooded Vest discontinued (should Patagonia ever think about it). I have older, full-zip down and non-down Patagonia... Read More vests that are still in great condition. When I have to choose what to put in my daypack or backpack, however, it's the UltraAlpine Down Hooded Vest. It's a little lighter and more compressible, and I love having the hood option (even if I'm also bringing a hooded jacket). I'm 5'4" and 125-ish pounds on a senior-citizen frame. I bought the small because that's what was available at the time. I like the way the small fits. My other Patagonia vests and jackets are mostly XS, and I'm guessing the XS in the UltraAlpine Down Hooded Vest would be fine for my size, too -- especially for those who prefer a tighter fit.

March 15, 2022

Just not right

Beautiful and high quality Too long for a traditional look and not long enough for a tunic look VERY LOUD - each movement had some sort of sound Wanted to love

Response from Patagonia
March 23, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Jennifer. We're sorry that fabric turned out to be too noisy! You might prefer some of our Silent Down products, which are designed to be less "swishy". We're glad to see you were able to get that vest returned. Please let us know if we can help you find something you'll like better!

March 14, 2022

Super warm, light and flattering

Another excellent piece! I purchased 2 colors. The ruby and the navy. They are both great colors, but the navy is exceptionally beautiful.

March 14, 2022

Not thrilled

Love the color, but expected a vest with a bit more substance. Also, the sizing runs small - especially around the hips. Needs more stretch/flexibility in the hips.

Response from Patagonia
March 22, 2022

We're sorry this vest doesn't seem to be working for you! Please know you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you. Thank you for sharing this review, Auralee.

February 3, 2022

Perfect!

I've worn this every day since I purchased it. It is light weight but provides the perfect amount of warmth. Every now and then Patagonia designs something that is a home run and this is it for me. It's warm on its own plus a perfect layering piece for under a sweater or jacket when it's colder. I got caught in a rainstorm the other ... Read Moreday and used the hood and my head stayed warm and dry. I haven't had any problems with feathers coming out like the other reviewer mentioned. Size wise I am between a medium and a large. I have broad shoulders so I am glad I sized up to the large. It's a perfect fit through the chest and shoulders. My only suggestion is I wish it had a cinch to tightened it around the waist but no biggie. I really love this vest.

January 20, 2022

Sheds feathers

Every time I've worn this vest, there are feathers and small white lint all over my shirt. I thought it might be defective, and exchanged it for another vest. The new one is better, but still seems to do the same thing.

December 11, 2021

Incredibly light and warm

Love this!! Unbelievably light and warm. Does well over fleeces and sweaters, but is also compressible and can be used as an underlayer for other jackets. Fit is as expected. I just wish it came in a full zip!

November 29, 2021

Great vest!

Great vest! Love it!

November 23, 2021

Great fit

The vest fit really well. Very light, warm comfortable and cute.

November 18, 2021

Super warm

Ultra light and ultra warm! I love this down hoodie vest!!! Very versatile through all my outdoor activities. Thank you Patagonia

October 26, 2021

Absolutely love the 3/4 zip

This is my very favorite addition to my running wardrobe this year - love the lightweight and 3/4 zip- perfect for packing - blue black color is very nice - hood comes in handy - a little pricey but considering getting another !!!!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches