Back to Product

Patagonia Men's RØ® Long-Sleeved Rashguard Top

Write Your Review

4.3 /5

Filter Reviews

All 40 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's RØ® Long-Sleeved Rashguard Top

4.3
Kinda Small
January 9, 2021

Most comfortable rashguard ever

Awesome rashguard for surf, cozy, and the black one draws some heat for extra warmth when its chilly but dont need the neoprene top. I also bought the RO hoody which has nice coverage for paddling or long days in the water, itd be nice to see a snug rashguard like this one with loose hood though. The RO hoody is too tight, restricts the ears/hearin... Read Moreg too much for regular sessions

December 28, 2020

Skin tight fit

Girlfriend bought me 2 pairs of this rashguard. I usually wear size XL shirts, but she got size L in this rashguard. Thought it was going to be crazy tight on me but fit perfectly! Good tight fit around chest and stomach, no looseness. But not restricting around the neck. Water does not flush through neck or wrist openings. I use pretty much every ... Read Moretime I surf now, stretches well w/ little-no paddling restrictions. If you're looking for a tight surf shirt, I would grab a size down, but maybe your true size if you're on the larger/thicker side.

November 30, 2020

Qual.

The hooded version has the lumbar zip pocket. Not everyones after a hooded version or a long-sleeved version, yet that back zip pocket is fantastic (wax, a pair of slippers, a visor, etc). You should incorporate it into the non-hooded styles.

October 9, 2020

Runs really small

Bought for my husband who is usually a size M top. Knowing it ran small, I bought him a L. Even that was too small for him. This rash guard gave him a rash! Will have to size up to a XL. He uses this for surfing.

September 17, 2020

So glad, I bought another

I swim a mile a day in two 1/2 mile legs. This fits great and is long enough to pull down over my baggies, so that the water flows comfortably as I swim. Really functional and comfortable. I bought a second one and glad I did !

September 1, 2020

Fit is tight. Exchanged medium for large

Great shirt. Just make sure you order one size larger than usual

July 13, 2020

Great all around water shirt

Ive worn this all summer whenever out on (or in) the water. Swimming, sailing, paddling, whatever. Fits like skin, no chafing, doesnt rise up, dries fast and cool out of the water.

July 10, 2020

Great all around water shirt

Ive worn this all summer whenever out on (or in) the water. Swimming, sailing, paddling, whatever. Fits like skin, no chafing, doesnt rise up, dries fast and cool out of the water.

June 25, 2020

Super tight

Runs super tight

Response from Patagonia
July 26, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to submit your comments on the fit. If you'd like to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this back to us for a different size, we'd be happy to help with this process.

June 17, 2020

Perfect Active Sun Shirt!

Bought this for my fiancé since he has fair skin and burns easily. Reading the other reviews I saw it runs small, as its supposed to be a tighter, surf shirt which is exactly what it is. I knew he wouldn't want it skin tight so I ordered a size up and fits nicely. Still a slimmer fit but not skin tight. Could even do two sizes up and would sti... Read Morell fit ok. Loves to wear it kayaking and hiking. Its breathable, light, and keeps him comfortable even on warm days. Nice coverage especially with the higher neck line. He would recommend!

June 17, 2020

Perfect

Perfect for kayaking.

June 17, 2020

Way too tight

Bought one for myself and my wife (ladies version) and they both were so tight that they were restrictive. It was actually hard to put on and take off for us both. Too bad, Ive got previous versions of this shirt and its awesome!

Response from Patagonia
June 17, 2020

Thank you for the feedback on this and we are sorry to hear that these ended up being way too tight. Please feel free to send these back to us for either a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 27, 2020

Defintely runs small

I don't surf, I just wear these for sun protection on the beach, but I thought I'd chime in on the size. I'm 5'8" and 185. I reliably wear a medium in almost everything from Patagonia except, for some reason, vests, where I need a large. I ordered an XL for this and I'm happy with the fit.

May 22, 2020

very good surfing shirt

just recieved and tried this morning. it works exactly how i had hoped. surfed for 4 hours. stays in place. sun protection. it balances your temperatue well. feels cool duckdiving, but keeps the wind off and is warm between waves. i usually wear medium patagonia shirts, but went large for this based on the reviews. was the right call . it fits grea... Read Moret. thanks !

May 10, 2020

Terrible size

I ordered 2 shirts size L of Patagonia RO long sleeve according to the chart size. I already have a similar Patagonia top size L and it fits me perfectly. This order arrive too small even for my little girl who is a petite. I guess it is either a mistake in size or your size chart is definitely wrong. I am truly upset about my experience with Patag... Read Moreonia. Dr. Hani Morcos

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing. This shirt definitely is a slim fit and we appreciate your feedback on that. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) that back to us for a return or exchange.

March 21, 2020

Great form-fitting rashguard for surfing.

For context, I'm 5' 8" and weigh 150 lbs and wear Medium Short Patagonia wetsuits, I wear Small shirts from Patagonia and usually Small shorts/baselayers. After nervously reading reviews I ordered this rash guard in a Medium going off the sizing chart and my past wetsuit sizes and the fit is perfect. That said it is formfitting, whi... Read Morech is what I wanted, but not restrictive in any way. I really like the tie down loop to keep it attached to your trunks, but personally didn't find the thumb loops necessary. My sleeves haven't ridden up while surfing without them at all. That said, I forget they are there when not being used so I don't mind them and could imagine situations in with they might be a little useful. I do like the minimal amount of logos and simple design. I was looking for a simple, well made, black rashguard for surfing blocking some sun and couldn't be happier with this one.

January 1, 2020

Nice cut, just tight

As others have stated, these run tight, tight. I am slender and sized up, it still fits skin tight, which is fine for sport. If I wanted a casual fit, I would go 2 sizes up.

November 17, 2019

Extremely confortable and durable rashguard!

Simply put, this rash guard is amazing! I bought my first one three years ago and I still use it one or more times a week year round (either by itself or under a wetsuit) for surfing and kayaking. It keeps me incredibly comfortable and protected from the sun. It's super durable (mine's seen a fair share of rock scrapes and thorny bushes) ... Read Moreand the boardshort connectors and thumb loops are a huge bonus in warm water surf. I couldn't recommend this rash guard more highly!

November 5, 2019

Functional pockets

Functional pockets

September 26, 2019

First disappointment

I am usually really impressed with all Patagonia gear. I have had for ten years and still surf in them. I have only had this top maybe a year, and all the stitching in the sleeves is coming out. Pretty bummed. As soon as I sow a spot the next one opens up.

Response from Patagonia
October 2, 2019

Hi Mike! We're sorry hear that your top is unraveling. Feel free to send it back to us [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 15, 2019

Tight fitting even after sizing

Tight fitting even after sizing up. Make sure you like it that way

August 29, 2019

Long sleeve RO swim shirt.

Size runs very small. I am 5’ 11” and 170 lbs. I ordered a large and it was so tight I had difficulty getting it off when wet. I gave that one to my son in law and ordered and XL for myself. It fits better. So far I’ve only worn it in the pool. I’m going to the beach for a week tomorrow and will be using it all week to keep the sun off me.

August 15, 2019

Great shirt!

The shirt worked very well for a recent surf trip in in Costa Rica. I typically wear a size medium or sometimes size small in Patagonia clothing. A size medium in the shirt was so tight I would have been afraid to eat breakfast. I sized up to a large and it was still tight for surfing and allowed for meals.

August 10, 2019

Very comfortable!

Great, comfortable top worn for surfing and white water rafting. Kept me very warm in the cold water.

August 10, 2019

My husband loves these!

I bought these for my husband for Father’s Day and he loves them. He’s found that they are just as comfortable while mowing the grass as sitting by the pool. They look great, wash well, and feel cool.

August 2, 2019

Sun Pro, Fishing, Snorkeling -- works for all of it.

The family and I headed to Baja recently, and I wore this shirt frequently in the water whether swimming, snorkeling or quick runs up and down the beach with a flyrod. Worked great keeping my sunburn-prone hide covered up and protected. Never got a burn through the shirt, whether wet or dry. Opted for the Grey color, and it was never too dark to be... Read More hot on its own due to the color. The fit is definitely snug, but that is part of the design and intent. Any looser, I think it would sag and/or billow when snorkeling or diving down. Once you get in the water, it does exactly what it should. Also, it is long and stretchy enough that on my 6'1" frame, I could actually pull it down well beyond my waist to stay in place and not risk any sunburn on my lower back when snorkeling. All in all, a great piece, and one that will always be in my bag when headed south or anywhere sunny where water is involved.

May 26, 2019

Typical great quality Patagonia product. Sizing runs super small

As an FYI unless you want a skin tight (stretch tight) fit in your normal patagonia size you may want to go up 1 or even 2 sizes. The model in the picture is larger than I am and the Large I ordered was compression tight on me. "Formfitting" is a bit of an understatement. 5 Stars for Quality, 2 for sizing description.

May 16, 2019

Solid SUP shirt

Sizing is as expected. I'm 6'4", 155lbs. Medium fits well. The sleeves don't fit right, but I didn't expect they would. Close enough though. It's UV protective, as my wrist tan lines can attest. It is also very quick drying. Only complaint is the elastic thumb thongs. Something is terrible wrong with them. They are s... Read Moreharp such that they feel like fire ants next to the skin. Going to undo the stitching and get rid of them.

May 7, 2019

No Sunburn 12 days in the Tropics!

I took this for an 8 day sea kayaking trip around the Islands off of El Nido, Philippines. It was comfortable to wear (once you got it wet) and got no sunburn being out in the sun every day all day long with it on. I also used it for a 4-day stay at a beach resort in Sabang and usually hate being in a shirt at the beach but this felt great due to t... Read Morehe fit. I normally wear a small size for shirts but the medium was the better fit. Wore the feather grey color. CS did a free exchange!

April 21, 2019

Worked great

Just took this on an 8 day diving trip to Honduras and this worked great! Very fitted, used in place of a dive ski top with 1mm bottoms. Way. Better than a zip up dive skin imo.

March 23, 2019

Sunscreen Staining

Love this shirt! Only downside is that I bought the white one for a week long surf trip. And by the end of it, the collar and sleeves had a slight brown discoloration. I’m guessing this was from the sunscreen on my neck and legs (arms resting on legs during boat out to surf break). Washing didn’t seem to help.

September 15, 2018

Excellent for river life.

I am a profession river guide on the desert rivers of the Western Untied States. The design of this shirt is form fitting and unobtrusive. I can layer it with a sun stretch shirt as a bit of warmth and wear it on it's own for sun protection. The thumb loops work great when pushing oars or casting a fly rod. And the button loop works great and ... Read Morekeeps it from rising.

December 19, 2017

Great Sun Protection

Being from Wisconsin,the days are few that you can really be in the water all day wearing a rash guard and not get cold if a breeze comes up. Overall,though,I love this top for tooling around on the SUP. I also have it with me at the Keys for snorkeling or hanging out at the pool. Most recently I wore it daily on the beach in Oahu,and it was great ... Read Moreto not have to reapply sunscreen several times. Definitely dries quickly,and if it does get chilly when the wind picks up or the sun goes under for a bit,I pull on my Technical Sunshade Hoodie over the rash guard for the time being. The length on the medium for me is great- it will stay put over the waistband of board shorts,using the loop or not.

June 11, 2017

R0 Rules swim-sun

I bought this for sun protection. It's terrific; good tight fit and excellent sun protection. The thumb loops are great; I worry they will fail,but I know Patagonia will stand by their product. 5 stars!

May 1, 2017

Great for the beach

I bought this to use as a rash guard while running around with the kids on the beach. It was excellent and kept the sun off my skin!

December 20, 2015

Excellent top for tropical surf adventures

My girlfriend and I had a blistering six weeks in Bali this year, where I wore this top for 30 consecutive days surfing on the reefs. The R0 top provides excellent sun protection for those long days in the equatorial heat.

September 13, 2015

Good wetsuit under-layer

A simple, well-made top for watersports. I found it a little more roomy in some areas than other brands in my usual size, but it's still close-fitting and functional. The thumb loops appeared to be in a peculiar position, but maybe I've just got the sleeves twisted. Some slightly more imaginative colors/patterns would be nice. But I suppo... Read Morese that would distract attention from my boardshorts.

August 1, 2015

A rash guard and then some

This shirt defies categorization ...one minute it's working as a conventional rash guard, the next it's a sun shirt. It can keep you cool on hot days (when wet of course) and a little warmer on cool days. I mainly SUP surf VA beach and OBX and this thing is perfect for our air/water temp swings in summer. I also have the R1 wetsuit shirt... Read More as a backup but haven't needed it since early June, the R0 is all I've used when either super sunny/hot or to keep just a little warm. I also plan to use it in the Fall/Winter/Spring to go under my R2 or R3 wetsuit. The wetsuits are BY FAR the best wetsuits ever (warmth/flexibility), but the front zips can be tough to get out of after a long, tiring session so hoping th R0 will help with that. Another amazing product from Patagonia! Inventive pieces like this are why I'm a loyal Patagonia follower.

March 21, 2015

Great Rashguard

Purchased this before my trip to Tahiti. I can burn pretty easily but this Rashguard did a great job protecting me from the sun. It is also pretty durable and is very quick drying. I know it's just a Rashguard but has to be one of the best I've owned. Great for surfing.

March 2, 2015

Dries quickly

I have used this shirt a few times and it works well under a wetsuit. The material has just the right amount of stretch. It dries quickly and is ready to go the next day. I bought the short sleeve version also but have not used it yet. The high collar prevents neck rash when using a back zip wetsuit. So far so good.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches