Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Terre Planing Hoody

Write Your Review

4.83 /5

Filter Reviews

All 23 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Terre Planing Hoody

4.83
True To Size
September 1, 2020

Best super lightweight hooded upper

cant call it a jacket or windbreaker because its neither warming, nor wind-breaking. but it is surprisingly stylish with the right amount of stretch and fits me perfectly. im 6ft, 195 muscular build, very active and I wear this thing everywhere from work to casual inter-island travel in Hawaii. Its my go-to for anything long-sleeved & hooded in... Read More 60-80 degrees. Im on my 3rd one. First was left at a friends & never seen again lol & the other two are traded out during laundry sessions. Venture to say -one of the best products Ive purchased from Patagonia.

September 1, 2020

Perfect fiit

This jacket is the right weight for those chilly mornings on the water or at the beach. Runs a little big but fit is good over other layers. Highly recommend.

July 13, 2020

Very nice and versatile

very well made and versatile hoody. Highly packable and good for hiking, MTB, day at the beach in NorCal.

July 9, 2020

Very nice and versatile

very well made and versatile hoody. Highly packable and good for hiking, MTB, day at the beach in NorCal.

March 2, 2020

Terre Planer

This is a great piece of gear for me. I enjoy mine mostly when traveling to warmer than my SoCal home. Firstly, it is the BEST thing to surf travel with. It's like having your own personal isolation tent on an airliner, talk about a perfect breathable curtain! Liberal hood, tall collar plus light amount of warmth. Then when you are at your tem... Read Moreperate or warm/hot locale you're stoked to use it for sport activity, hanging, on the move or cruising over to grab some grindz. Keeps you cool in the heat very well with fabric and fit. The pic shows it, same in real life. The material feels good near your skin and stretches nicely. Your most difficult decision will be which color to grab. I have ElCap Camo and at the time of this review, it has been replaced.

February 11, 2020

Love this

Can you please make this for women!!!

December 17, 2019

Purchase this as a gift

Purchase this as a gift for my son-in-law and he loves it!

November 9, 2019

Perfect all around jacket

I've owned multiple iterations of this jacket and I continue to love it. I've done everything in it from traversing glaciers in Alaska to just casual wear around town. Somehow it balances breathability, wind resistance, quick drying, and water resistance in one package. I always throw it in my pack because it's one of my favorite pie... Read Moreces of gear.

August 31, 2019

Planning hoodie.

Great layer for a German summer morning with a cool gray mist. Thoughtfully designed jacket.

August 21, 2019

Always Incredible

As usual the quality and fit of the Patagonia items I received did NOT disappoint. The thought and attention to detail will make these items timeless additions to the gear I use for loving the outdoors!

August 15, 2019

Great jacket

I bought this jacket for something a little thicker than a Houdini for spring skiing. Glad I did. Packs small for touring and great for spring laps at the resort. It’s summer and I have used it a couple times mountain biking. Great jacket

August 15, 2019

Planing hoodie

Very lightweight but just enough coverage to take the chill out of cardio activity

August 13, 2019

Awesome jacket

I am recently stationed in American Samoa and needed extra protection from the sun. The SPF 40 jacket is amazing and also keeps me cool in the hot weather.

August 11, 2019

Fits great and kept me

Fits great and kept me cool all summer

August 11, 2019

Best piece of patagonia (or any brand) gear that I own

I love this thing, I use it for any activity outside in the sun, but particularly watersports (kiting , surfing , wakeboard). It dries super fast, the lighter color doesn't get hot when in the sun, and its way faster and less messy than completely covering up with sun screen. I use the kite harness feature a lot, though I wish that had put the... Read More hole a touch lower since it pulls my harness up too much (if it were lower you could hike the jacket up a bit, but you cant pull it down).

August 10, 2019

Tall not fat

I loved the fabric and the simplicity but the cut was so baggy through the belly I returned it. To get a piece that is long enough in the sleeves or broad enough across the shoulders, I am almost always a large. Especially if I am going to wear something in the water I need it to have more of a slim fit. If the hoodie gets slimmer for next year I w... Read Moreould try again.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We're sorry to hear this didn't work out! Please let us know if you have any questions regarding your return.

August 10, 2019

Great for mountain biking

Even though it was designed for water sports, I use this hooding for summer rides in the sun. It gives me UV protection and allows me to avoid sunscreen on my arms. This keeps the sunscreen off the seat in my pick up truck: a real Pain to clean off. Bet the designers didn’t think of that benefit!

May 27, 2019

Versatile and good looking

I picked this up hoping for lightweight sun protection. It serves that purpose well and has served as my go-to jacket on cool spring and summer days. It fits well, loose enough to cover a substantial base layer without binding, but doesn't 'blouse out' either. I have the black and grey camo, which looks pretty good. My only concern i... Read Mores the possibility my daughter might steal it before heading back to school.

March 28, 2019

Great light layer

I was a bit skeptical about this piece and had debated whether I “needed” it or not as I thought it was too sport specific. I do not kiteboard but I do spend a ton of time outside doing lots of different activities, especially mtbiking, kayaking, paddle boarding and fly fishing. Super light, slightly stretchy, surprisingly tough with a decent dwr f... Read Moreinish; it’s been a constant companion in cool weather. I can see this jacket being excellent for warmer weather pursuits as well as it is made of same material as the stretch planing board short. For fit reference, I’m 6’2”, 180, 40” chest, 33 waist and often on the cusp of medium and large in Patagonia regular fit. Sleeve length is usually the downside in medium for me and medium in this jacket works well in that department with minimal thumb loops to add functionality. Not much room for layering underneath in this size but that’s cool because I run a tad warm and bought this to use more when it’s warmer outside. My surprise has been how often I’ve reached for it even during this cooler than average NorCal winter. Grab one, you won’t regret it!

February 14, 2019

Bad to The Bone

this is one of my favorite items, so good I've had two. The first one was brown camo and I left it with a fijian friend last year. He loves it. I got another one because for tropical climates it is just the ticket to cover the skin from the sun/ boat spray and even (to a degree) wind chill...... I've got the black camo one now and althoug... Read Moreh I love it I have a feeling it won't make it home after another fiji trip this year!

February 2, 2019

Super breathable shell

This over a Micro Puff Hoody is now my everyday ski jacket (Another shell in my pack if it looks stormy). Crazy light. I'm 5'11 & 200 lbs. I bought an XL and am happy with the fit. It seems like most Patagonia shells now have skinny arms. This one as well. Otherwise it's a 5. I have the old black camo but the Tiger Stripes look g... Read Moreood. I like the hood, it zips up snug but has good mobility. Maybe mine is old but I don't seem to have the hood snap tab. I have long arms and don't use the thumb loops. Easy to cut off.

November 15, 2018

My new favorite for hiking, rafting, fishing, drinking cocktails

I bought it in Tiger Tracks and wear it all of the time. I hiked at altitude three weekends in a row and it sleeted and lightly rained but I stayed comfortable (slightly waterproof) then I took it on a 18 day Grand Canyon rafting trip and it protected me from the sun, fit under my pfd well and dried quickly so I was always comfortable. I didn'... Read Moret sweat in it so I wore it on hikes and stayed very comfortable and protected from the sun/wind. Recently I wore it over a cotton quilted hoodie and base layer shirt on a very cold fly fishing float trip and I think it's the reason I caught a beautiful brown in style. I LOVE this jacket!

April 25, 2018

awesome on the water

I bought this hoody to paddle a surfski on the ocean and it has been great. I need something that gives me sun protection,provides wind block,yet does not get hot. Ocean temps here are around 60F and air temps range from 50F to 90F depending on wind,fog,sun. This hoody has been super versatile: I often paddle upwind which can be quite cold without ... Read Morewindblock due to evaporative cooling of spray and sweat,and then turn around downwind which is much warmer. Or there's little wind and lots of sun,which gets toasty pretty quick. So far I've always kept the hoody on and only adjusted how closed the front zipper is,it works that well. It has definitely kept me from freezing a number of times when I fell in and sat on the surfski all wet in high winds. The hoody is very light and keeps air flowing underneath,so it doesn't get too hot. It's not 100% windblock,but does block the worst so being wet doesn't turn into being cold. It doesn't provide warmth in itself,but makes any layer underneath effective in wind. The thumb loops are a great detail and I always use them. The two things I'm not a fan of are the hood and the color. I've never used the hood (I use a hat) and I wish I could remove it or button it down more neatly than the one center strap allows. WRT color,on a small craft in the ocean it's all about visibility for me,so I would have really liked to be able to buy this is a high viz color. In terms of sizing,I'm between medium and large in general. I got the hoody in medium and it works on its own as well as with a medium long sleeve layer underneath. It seems to be sized like a shell allowing for room underneath.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches