burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Hydropeak Volley Shorts - 16" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • XS
  • S
  • M
  • L
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 52 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Volley - 16" Inseam Shorts

4.7/5
True To Size
January 21, 2023

Great short for kicking around in.

I love these shorts. The only thing I dislike is the Velcro. I'm not too fond of velcro. So I cut it out. Give me a zipper or a button, and you'd have the perfect shorts.

January 10, 2023

Like my old Baggies but better

These are a great simple short (no mesh lining). They remind me of the Baggies I wore on my AT thru-hikes 22 years ago. They have a nice cut that allow for plenty of movement without being too loose. I expect they will hold up as well as my old shorts.

January 8, 2023

Fits great

Light weight and feel great for every day wear.

January 5, 2023

good for swimming

comfortable I love swimming in it.

January 3, 2023

Fits just right

Very flexible, but the material is super soft.

December 30, 2022

Comfortable with one asterisk

The material feels great, and these shorts are super flexible. Only con is that it rides right up in the crotch, like so many other bottoms from Patagonia. Not sure what the design philosophy is on that, but otherwise, these are fantastic.

December 24, 2022

Great fit

Great quality, fits true to size

December 22, 2022

Comfortable

I started swimming for exercise after hip replacement and told not to run. I am not looking to rock a Speedo. These work for me. Look and feel good. Bought one pair then went back and bought two more. Normal kinda large Patagonia fit

November 17, 2022

Surprisingly amazing shorts

Great shorts. Stretchy, comfortable, great for the climbing gym, running, or lounging. I sized up due to skiers/mountain legs and they fit well with the draw string adjustment.

November 15, 2022

New Favorite Daily Driver

These are my new favorite shorts. A bit of a style upgrade to my usual gym shorts (in other words they look better). But once they get a bit ruffed up I see wearing them constantly, including to the gym. The fabric feels great and the elastic waist band doesn't intrude like unforgiving board shorts. The pockets hold a phone, keys, and wallet f... Read Moreor excursions or errands. They are short! Most of my 6'1" height is in my legs, so they hit well above my knees. I've always loved short shorts but my advanced age doesn't make them appropriate in some public situations. But, screw it, I think they're fun and during the hottest days I noticed a lot of guys pulled out the shorties to push up the tan line a few inches.

October 24, 2022

Great all-around utility short

Love everything about these shorts - durable, comfortable and easy on the eye.

October 11, 2022

Amazing Shorts

I love these. Super durable, perfect weight for any amount of activity or just lounging around the house. I bought 4 pairs and wear them 7 days a week. Hight recommended! Patagonia, if you are reading this PLEASE make the medium with a lil more room in the butt next year. As an avid cyclist and skier, I cant be the only one with a bubble butt. Ju... Read Morest gimme a little more room in the trunk!

October 1, 2022

Not my favorite

I bought these but then returned them. Great short just not the right fit for me. Too short for my taste. Very comfortable.

September 30, 2022

First time buying hydropeak volley

First time buying hydropeak volley shorts , took them on vacation to the Turks and Caicos Islands, did some walking and swimming, love the length above the knee, they dry quick and super comfortable.

September 30, 2022

New favorite swim shorts

I bought these for playing beach volleyball in, but they're such nice quality that I decided to use my old shorts to get beat up with the abrasive sand. Love the length, fabric quality, and leg hole circumference. 10/10 shorts!

September 29, 2022

Why does it take 2

Why does it take 2 weeks from date of order to get a very light package from a neighboring state. Tell me. This is inexcusable. I could have gotten it from Amazon in 3 days. Guess thats why the boss gave the company away.

September 26, 2022

Very nice

I needed some new swim suits and this one fit the bill. I like that theres no mesh liner. These fit great ad look great.

September 25, 2022

Go To Shorts

Well constructed and comfortable shorts! These have been my Go-To shorts this season.

September 25, 2022

Nice fit and material. I

Nice fit and material. I prefer these to baggies for casual wear.

September 25, 2022

Light material

Super light material makes for very comfortable shorts. I hope the elastic waist band lasts!

September 25, 2022

Great all around trunks

I wear these for beach, swimming, surfing, and around town. They have pockets and a key loop.

September 24, 2022

Rad as F. I do

Rad as F. I do like this years version better than last years, and that is who the fabric Feels. Boom.

September 23, 2022

Amazing Fit

Really loved these shorts. Not only do they fit off the rack, they look and feel great. I hope Patagonia continues creating new designs for these types of shorts in the future. Highly recommend.

September 21, 2022

Its a color only mother

Its a color only mother a Could love, but the boys shorts are the best hands-down, Mike Trop

September 21, 2022

Great fit

I use these like baggies, swim, hike, bike and out to casual dinner

September 20, 2022

Favorite shorts

These functional shorts are perfect for casual wear and active wear. Their stretchability and breathability make living here in Tampa, FL during humid August weather comfortable. True to size, I weigh 170 pounds and 6ft size medium.

September 19, 2022

Great shorts

These are excellent lightweight shorts that work for almost anything: the gym, running, swimming, etc. They do not have a liner, which is a huge plus for me, and why I chose these over the baggies. The only drawbacks are: they are definitely short. I was not used wearing shorts that far above the knee. 2nd- Ive found that they take longer to dry t... Read Morehan I expected. But overall these are really great and versatile shorts. I wear them all the time!

September 18, 2022

Volley shorts

Solid shorts for everyday + active wear.

September 17, 2022

Cool shorts, but unsure how to use them

These shorts look like swimsuit, but dont actually are? I dont know if are made to wear with or without underwear. Its tricky cause they don't have the typical mesh inside. But, i like the design and are well made. Runs a bit large on the waist.

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Thank you for submitting this review, Mauricio. People use these shorts for a variety of activities, including swimming and surfing, as well as for casual wear out of the water. Some prefer the lack of a liner when using them in surf. Please let us know if we can be of any help in using these shorts, or in finding another option if you prefer.

September 16, 2022

Swimmies

Great fit and cool colorway. 5 out of 5 seashells.

September 15, 2022

Amazingly Comfortable Shorts

Oh My - I usually buy and wear Baggies for the last 20 years then one day i thought I would try these Hydopeak Volley Shorts and wow - they are so light and comfortable i immediately bought a second pair - I will be retiring all my old Baggies - sorry

September 11, 2022

My favorite summer shorts

For those out there with big thighs but a small waste. These are the perfect shorts for you. Go with whatever your waste size is, they do also have a break in period. At first you will think these are too small to wear in public. Wear them around the house for a bit. They have a lot of give. But I will say wash then air dry so that the fit stays th... Read Moree same. Ive been a Patagonia supporter for over a decade!!!

September 8, 2022

Light and Comfortable

I love these shorts, they're lightweight, but feel like good quality material.

September 7, 2022

In love

Im 5 ft. 4 in. 120lb. - very active and skinny. My waist size is 28. Its extremely difficult to find shorts of high quality, cool color, and great fit - these check all the boxes. I love these shorts and will be wearing them into the ground.

September 4, 2022

Pretty nice!

Theyre really nice shorts overall, really comfortable and you can wear them with a lot of other things. Only complaint is the back pocket (my own fault for not reading product description) I do not like the Velcro, it awkward to open and can be pretty inconvenient at times.

August 29, 2022

Amazing shorts

I've got thick thighs and it's always tough for me to find shorts that fit and are comfortable. I bought a pair of these about 3 months ago, and I love them and wear them so much that I recently bought 2 more. These shorts are great for everything! I wear them while biking and running, exercising, around the house, and going out to run e... Read Morerrands. I've even gone swimming in these shorts and they're perfect. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend!!!

August 28, 2022

Almost Perfect Short

Love this short; its like a better version of the baggies and would (for me) be perfect with two, minor modifications. One would be to add a liner, and the second would be to make the back pocket a zip pocket. With those two mods, I could use this short for more than just casual wear and actually put it to use for swimming and running. That being s... Read Moreaid, it is a great short and I have two pairs I often wear casually around town.

August 14, 2022

Drawstring Issues - First Wash

I got the Rincon Hunt Micro shorts and I liked the style and how they fit, but the issue was with the drawstring around the waist. After the first wash, the string was out of the shorts. For the price, the quality wasn't there. Bummer.

Response from Patagonia
August 17, 2022

Hi Britt, thank you for submitting this review; we'll share this feedback with our product team. We're sorry that drawstring came out in the wash. If it turns out to be a deal breaker, please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them.

August 2, 2022

The perfect shorts

I tried baggies, but returned as they have no stretch/give. These, on the other hand, do just that, are quick dry, have pockets, and are generally perfect for gentlemen like myself who happen to have beefy thighs. I have a terrible time finding shorts that fit but these are perfect so i picked up a second pair. Thanks Patagonia!

August 1, 2022

Awesome fabric

I was looking for all-around shorts for Running, Pilates, Tennis, and Swimming in the hot and humid southeastern US climate. These shorts are the best I've found. They're typically not soaked in sweat after a 5 mile run in 95 degree heat with 95 degree humidity. The only reason they're not perfect for running and pilates is that they... Read More have a snap pocket on the rear right butt cheek. Runners prefer a rear center pocket for key storage, and Pilates shorts are better if they don't have snaps on the butt that you can feel while you're lying on a reformer. Maybe one short can't do everything perfectly, but maybe one could... I typically do 1-3 different workouts/day and the laundry piles up.

August 1, 2022

Swimming streets

These shorts are nice they are true to size. You can wear these shorts to the beach and the mall stylish for both accessions

July 21, 2022

The Perfect Short

Honestly I almost wear nothing but these shorts, they are the most comfortable best fitting shorts I have ever owned.

July 18, 2022

What more could you want?

Perfect casual swim trunk. I'm a thin bike racer and really like the way these fit / show off my cannons.

July 14, 2022

I love the color and

I love the color and the Concept. I can work in my yard then cool of in a pool, go back to working and the shorts are not Wet and hanging down but look just like dry shorts.

July 13, 2022

Superb and quality form and function

Really thoughtful stitching on someone 5'6" and 145 pounds. Expect to use these for the gym's hot tub and sauna as well as jumping into the ocean or spending time at the pool. I read reviews that people would even bring it while kayaking so I'm stoked to wear it and feel comfortable!

July 3, 2022

Doesn't Meet Durability Expectations

I was hoping these would be a replacement for my baggies, without the liner. However, after less than a month of wear, two pairs out of three I bought have developed holes and tears from what I consider normal activities to wear baggies during (hiking, kayaking, surfing). One pair I've already returned to REI, and the second pair looks like it... Read More might be going back there or to Patagonia for a repair. I love the shorts, but if they're going to need repairs every month of wear then they're going to spend more time in the mail than in my closet. The third pair I haven't even worn yet, but I'm expecting them to follow suit.

Response from Patagonia
July 6, 2022

Hey Matt, thank you for the feedback on our Hydropeak Volley Shorts. We're sorry to hear that they're not living up to the anticipated durability level. Unfortunately, we do not offer repairs on "next to skin" items such as boardshorts or underwear, but we'd be happy to evaluate them under our warranty. You can either go in store to do this or you're welcome to [send them in](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) as well. Once they've been evaluated, you'll either receive credit back to the original payment method or merchandise credit to spend as you wish.

June 24, 2022

Light & Cool

I purchased these shorts for my husband who is around 165 pounds and around 6'1 in height. He is a thinner frame and the medium fit perfect. No sliding down but not too tight. He has literally not taken them off since giving him these for Father's Day. He has now asked for another pair. He says they are cool and very light. He is wearing... Read More them for casual wear and was happy to find they did not have the liner inside. He claims the liners are sometimes itchy and hot. Great job Patagonia...and I love the different patterns.

June 24, 2022

I have a athletic skinny

I have a athletic skinny build, and love how this short fits me. The color & pattern have me wearing these as much as possible.

June 14, 2022

After exercise favorite

Use these after bike rides for cool down and hot tub. Comfortable

May 25, 2022

Good style, but not for water

Well made and good style. But the shorts need a liner for athletic use or anything in the water.

May 12, 2022

Comfortable

The shorts fit great. I bought them for my honeymoon in Hawaii. I new I was going to get by either rain or jumping in the ocean. They worked well everywhere I went and were so versatile. The only improvement I would make is the draw string material started to deform a little bit after a few wears but is still holding for now.

April 4, 2022

Great fitting trunks!

These are some great trunks and as usual a home run from Patagonia. I have quite a few different styles of shorts from Patagonia and these are hands down the most comfortable so far. The 4 way stretch is excellent in letting you remain flexible and unhindered during activities. They quick dry is a nice touch as well and the shorts are very light ... Read Moreweight. Pockets are deep but not like baggies where they fall out of the bottom, rear pocket is Velcro with a key loop as well. Anything from casual wear, lake/beach day, fishing or surfing or just tossing water balloons in the yard with the kids these are awesome shorts. I have a feeling these will be very popular. I got the floral print and couldnt be happier with the colors.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches