burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Scallop Boardshorts - 18"

Write Your Review

3.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 14 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Scallop Boardshorts - 18"

3.6/5
True To Size
July 20, 2022

Great shorts - shame about the pocket

Love the fit and the feel of these shorts, they are flexible and stretch in all the right places. They are super versatile and are just at home on a trail as they are at the beach. The only gripe I have is that they use to have a zip pocket on the front-right thigh and that's now a velcro pocket on the right butt cheek. Maybe it's bett... Read Moreer for surfers on the back, but the zip pocket was big enough for phone and keys (even when sitting) which made these super practical. Now if you want to use the only pocket AND sit down, you have to take our all your stuff. Also makes it harder to run in these as the zip pocket was extra security for small, items which can pop out of pockets.

Response from Patagonia
July 23, 2022

We're sorry that the newest iteration of these shorts is a bit disappointing and we really appreciate your feedback!

July 18, 2022

Great fit

The length and fit are perfect. I really like the new designs too.

July 18, 2022

Favorite board shorts ever.

IIm 5 foot 10 and 180 pounds and 34 was a little bit snug. 35 is perfect. Soft fabric. Stretch where you want it. Well built. Last years model had cool button closures. This year Velcro. Still great shorts.

July 14, 2022

No hip pocket

I love Patagonia Wavefarer shorts and have many pairs. These fit in a similar way but theyre a little shorter and there is no place to put your phone without risking destroying it if you forget and sit down. The shorts are great other than that.

Response from Patagonia
July 19, 2022

Thank you for this review, Jon! If the pocket situation ever becomes a deal breaker, please remember you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you.

June 29, 2022

Stains easily

Wore once and is permanently stained from sunblock (black suit). Maybe the other colors are okay but not black. I am slim and still needed to size up from my usual.

Response from Patagonia
June 30, 2022

Hi Derek! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're really sorry to hear that the shorts were stained from sunblock. Your satisfaction is always guaranteed so you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them under warranty.

June 26, 2022

Comfortable

I really like these board shorts Super lite and really flexible The little scallop in the leg makes these shorts super flexible and really comfortable Great tube riding shorts

June 19, 2022

Best Short Ever - in 2021

My favorite board shorts ever in 2021. Bought a second pair this year, same style and size, and they fit more snugly, PLUS they got rid of the cool botton fly and button back pocket closure. Fly replaced with a flap of folding fabric and tht leaves a gap under the tie. And velcro on the back pocket for closure. Bummer. These ones going back. Still ... Read Moregreat shorts. Maybe just size up one size. I'm 5' 10' and 180. Size 34 too small. Need 35 ythis year. Crazy cozy.

Response from Patagonia
June 22, 2022

We're truly sorry to disappoint you with the revision of the Men's Hydropeak Scallop Boardshorts - 18". Please let us know if you have any questions on your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

June 10, 2022

Snorkel trunks

Very comfortable! Very happy with quality fit and comfort

May 29, 2022

4 way stretch??

Nice looking shorts. Not very comfortable and very little stretch!

Response from Patagonia
June 2, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear about your disappointment in our Men's Hydropeak Scallop Boardshorts - 18". We went ahead and reached out to you via email to offer some help with your return. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 21, 2022

SERIOUSLY Slim Fit

So I have trimmed up quite a bit over the last 3 years and realized my size 32 swim trunks were feeling a bit loose. I had a hard time finding a pattern I liked online and came across these on Patagonia. I dont mind paying for quality products especially ones environmentally sourced however.I have purchased 2 pairs of these now. The first were size... Read More 31 and were so tight I barely was able to scale my thighs and butt without worry about the seams splitting. Forget pullling the laces together to tie as the flaps didnt align due to the tightness. These are for sure slim cut heavy on the slim. Which brings me to the fact that I am slim with practically no butt?? Skinny jeans look like normal jeans on me?? I returned the 31s for a 32 and sadly still find these shorts to be just a bit too snug trying to get them up. I find this very disappointing. And at the very high end of the spectrum price wise for a board short I dont want to risk tearing these. I am also puzzled as to why they are so expensive because there really is nothing overly special about these other than a scallop cut and fish emblem. They have less flexibility than my old board shorts from another very notable manufacturer. I have purchased several items in the past from Patagonia and probably will in the future (maybe) but find these shorts somewhat disappointing and underwhelming. The 32s are going back as well. I am 511.5 and weight 180 with a fairly trim athletic build.

Response from Patagonia
May 26, 2022

We're sorry to hear the Men's Hydropeak Scallop Boardshorts - 18" are running a bit too slim. Please let us know if you have any questions regarding your exchange. We also passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 18, 2022

Dialed in for pulling in.

I've been wearing Patagonia surf trunks for many moons. These new, Hydropeak scalloped boardies are my favorite, yet. The 18" length is ideal: just long enough to minimize wax rashing when sitting on your board, but not the baggy, knee-length(+) fit of the Momentum Generation ('90's). The fabric is light & quick drying with ... Read Morea functional amount of stretch and, yet, adequately durable for wearing day after day, uh, after day. The drawstring closure holds well in beat down situations, and I really appreciate the fly gusset in lieu of dreaded velcro. My only quip is the use of hook & loop (velcro) on the wax pocket. Modify that to a zipper closure and expand the range of colorways. Did I mention the scalloped hem is retro-groovy and harkens back to my earliest Mex missions. Well done.

May 16, 2022

Stylie

I love the fit and style of these shorts. The details are great and I look forward to many years of use. These are my new go to swim shorts.

April 10, 2022

Patagucci at it's finest

I have never owned a pair of Patagonia surf shorts that I have not been totally impressed with I will never buy shorts from anybody else.

March 29, 2022

stains

Wore these in the pool and ocean and now the shorts are white with spots and will not come out. So not sure if these can go into the water without staining them.

Response from Patagonia
March 31, 2022

Hey Chad, thank you for leaving us a review. This is very odd and not an issue we've heard of yet. We've sent you an email to gather more information and set you up for a warranty evaluation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches