burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts - 19"

Write Your Review

4.8/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts - 19"

4.8/5
True To Size
August 15, 2022

Perfect

These are the perfect summer shorts, cut just right, light material that is super comfortable and nice enough to wear out to dinner, but tough enough for a hike or even a swim.

August 5, 2022

I bought two pair of

I bought two pair of these shorts over the summer (one blue and one kahki). At first I thought they might be a bit too thin to be practical for every day wearing. I was wrong. These have been perfect for a very hot summer and have been my go to throughout. Great shorts.

July 30, 2022

Super comfortable stretchy shorts

I was gifted these for a trip to Europe this summer (thanks mom) and I am sure glad i had them with me. They are some of the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn. They had a lightweight, stretchy and breathable fabric that performed excellently walking around town and causally biking in hot weather. The pockets are generously sized and hold gea... Read Morer without dropping the shorts off the waistline. I did not take these in the water yet but I am sure they would work well based on the material. These shorts can definitely be dressed up as well for business casual events. Big score Patagonia! Thanks for being so creative and boundary pushing.

July 30, 2022

Super comfortable

Holy smokes this material is super comfortable.

July 27, 2022

So comfortable

Look like casual shorts, stretch and breathe like performance shorts. I was skeptical any shorts could do all things, but these can really go from the beach to the town without an issue. Patagonia remains undefeated in design and quality.

July 24, 2022

Light weight and super comfortable

Great for casual walking, hiking, playing golf and dressy enough for casual party wear. Nice!

July 22, 2022

Great shorts

Lightweight shorts that are multiuse. My thighs are larger and they fit right. I often run into shorts that are too tight unless the waste is larger.

July 17, 2022

A bit loose on the end

Would like a tailored/tapper version

July 15, 2022

So cool to be able to hop into the water!

I love these shorts. They fit great, they look great, and nobody can tell that they are ready for a pool or the ocean. I have no complaints and I've been wearing them very regularly during this hot summer.

July 14, 2022

Light and comfortable

Just like the review title says, they are light and comfortable. Bought two pairs, will buy more.

July 14, 2022

Amazing.

The material of these shorts is the perfect thickness, they are so comfy and all the colors look great. Ive been wearing them all summer, perfect for an impromptu swim cause these things dry fast! The length is great to a little above the knee not too long not too short!

July 12, 2022

Great Shorts...but do have a tendency to snag

Material is light, stretchy, and comfortable. I like them very much. They run a little big. The one sight negative is that the material has a tendency to snag and pull threads easily.

July 7, 2022

Liked Them!

Great shorts, comfortable, lightweight but durable. Liked them so much, I bought 5 pairs

July 5, 2022

Super Comfy

Absolutely great pair of shorts for casual wear. Technically a board short so you can go into the water with them but I strictly use them for casual wear in hot and humid weather. Shorts are very light, thin, and soft so it feels great even when it's hot outside. Also great for when you spill liquids or sauces on yourself, easier to wipe off t... Read Morehan other shorts even though it won't be 100% stain free.

June 23, 2022

Perfect boardshort subsitute when you need pockets

tldr; Buy them, they are great. wash and dry with no change in size. - They are a light material so nice on hot days. - I'll be wearing these shorts for everything: swimming, windsurfing, walking, golfing, sitting around, working, you name it. - I got these over board shorts because I don't have time to change when i take my kids to the... Read More beach, and I want pockets.

June 21, 2022

Best shorts around!

Stretchy, quick drying, and they always look good. These are my go to in and out of the water.

June 11, 2022

great fit and very light

With hot and humid weather in Houston they are the best shorts to wear in this type of weather. Great fit , good pockets, dry fast and discreet brand lable .

June 10, 2022

Nice idea but not quite there

These are much more walk shorts than surf shorts. The waist is a simple button closure, like hiking shorts, so as they stretch with wear or getting wet there is no way to tighten the waist other than to wear a belt. So if you are looking for board shorts with more pockets, these aren't really that. They are really just quick dry hiking shorts.... Read More For that purpose, though, the fit and feel are great.

Response from Patagonia
June 13, 2022

Hi Todd, sorry to hear that the Hydropeak Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts weren't what you were expecting. We do have the [Men's Hydropeak SP Boardshorts - 19"](https://www.patagonia.com/product/mens-hydropeak-sp-boardshorts-19-inch/86465.html?dwvar_86465_color=TIWI) that are solely made for surf and have a tie front, that might be just what you're looking for!

June 9, 2022

Very light ideal for hot weather

Living in Houston with hot and humid weather these pants are great . Got 4 of them and are now my favorite . Have been using Patagonia clothes almost exclusively for over 10 years and very satisfied with their products

June 8, 2022

Easy walking

Light true to fit. Non binding movement. Pockets correct opening and depth

June 8, 2022

Perfect shorts

Incredibly light weight and comfortable. Easy to hand wash if needed. Drys fast. I want another pair

June 7, 2022

Best all around shorts

These are without a question the best all around shorts I have ever owned. I wear them for everything. They are professional enough to wear to work while also being perfect for casual activities like hiking.

June 6, 2022

Had to my shorts, shortened

Love them, wish you made a shorter pair My height come to my knees., who wants to get short hemmed ?

June 6, 2022

Comfortable

These shorts fit great and. very comfortable. I Wear them all the time. Plus theyre guaranteed by Patagonia

June 1, 2022

Awesome

These shorts are the bomb!! I love the way they fit and love them when Im wearing them too.

May 30, 2022

Great shorts for warm weather climates and the beach

Love the fit on these shorts. I'm 6'1, 183lbs and the 34 fits me perfect. They look and feel great for casual wear. I have not yet worn them in the water yet. They don't appear as durable for water sports as some of the Patagonia trunks I've worn but certainly are prefect to jump in the ocean/pond/lake... Bought 2 pairs

May 29, 2022

Great for every occasion

Love these shorts. I have purchase several of these over the years. This current model is not as stretchy but they no longer sag because of that. Which is a great improvement. They don't take that much space or weight in the luggage. They also dry really fast. This makes them a travel essential.

May 26, 2022

Practical Comfort

These shorts look good, feel even better and have enough pockets for me to do just about everything! The khaki color is perfecly neutral for my skin tone. The shorts fit me through the hips and thighs nicely, allowing full range of uninhibited motion. The pockets are very discreet and deep enough to hold wallets, phones, etc. They are a new favorit... Read Moree of mine!

May 22, 2022

Awesome shorts

First off, sizing is perfect. I wear a 33 waist, which can be hard to find and I often have to battle with whether I should go 32 or 34, but these fit perfect. The length is a bit above my knees, which is what I wanted. These are labeled slim fit but I do not know what that is supposed to mean because they are very baggy. I do not have twig legs, a... Read Morend I do not mind that they are baggy (helps with range of motion), it was just not what I expected from slim fit shorts. The fabric is not very stretchy considering it is 13% spandex. The fabric has a very tight weave and it doesnt give a whole lot in any direction. Overall I love these shorts and they are now my favorite pair. I have never spent so much for one pair of shorts but these were worth it.

May 22, 2022

Needs to be 20 inches

Love every thing about the shorts except the length, would have liked an additional inch in length.

May 21, 2022

Dry comfortable, dry super fast, used for kayaking, got totally wet dry fast.

Very comfortable, dry very fast, overturned kayak and dry pretty quick.

May 20, 2022

Comfortable

Bought two pair and liked them enough to get a third pair. Very comfortable and functional. Im looking forward to see how they perform in the water. Like other technical fibrin it stains easily- Ill remember that chunk of bratwurst hitting my new shorts every time I wear them now.

Response from Patagonia
May 21, 2022

We're glad to hear these are working well for you! As for the stain, we recommend you take a look at our excellent [Product Care guide](https://www.patagonia.com/product-care.html) and see if you can use a combination of dishwashing liquid or a powdered laundry detergent. Be sure to skip the dryer as that will set the stain forever.

May 4, 2022

Great all around shorts!

These are great for the summer so you are ready for whatever life throws at you!

May 4, 2022

comfy

Great everyday shorts in warm climates.

April 28, 2022

One pair of shorts for lots of different uses

These shorts really deliver the multi-function promise of being hybrid casual/surf/swim/everyday shorts all in one. Fabric has great 4 way stretch, beads water, and dries quickly. I expect these will be a great addition for summer road trips when packing minimally can be really helpful.

April 19, 2022

Great hybrid short

Fits great. High quality.

April 14, 2022

Good for lake life.

Very comfortable and light weight. Appreciate the utility of the short. Looks good for casual wear but can be worn for various active endeavors as well.

April 11, 2022

Own 3 pairs!

Awesome shorts, they dry quickly

April 4, 2022

Great style walk shorts

I've always loved the Patagonia single button walk shorts. Comfort, flexibility and longevity with these shorts!

March 28, 2022

Decent short

The new short is not as good as the one it replaced but still a decent short.

March 22, 2022

Not good for biking

These shorts are great for everything except biking. The leg rides up your thigh as you peddle. Last years version works much better for biking.

March 13, 2022

Perfect for on or off the water

These shorts are perfect. I spend a lot of time working on a boat and they are super comfortable and have great mobility. They dry quick and look great off the water. Ill probably us then for bouldering as well in the summer

March 8, 2022

Nice fit

Nice fit a little snug by the thighs but comfortable. Drys quickly.

March 1, 2022

Fast Drying

Really fast drying, very well made. I really like a board short with a full set of pockets that you can wear just about anywhere doing almost anything.

February 25, 2022

Love em

Very comfortable and ease of movement. Great size pockets without being awkwardly large. Favorite shorts

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches