burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Boardshorts - 21"

Write Your Review

4.6/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 13 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Boardshorts - 21"

4.6/5
True To Size
August 9, 2022

Great board short, logo falls off

I've used the stretch wavefarer board shorts for many years, those seem to have disappeared from Patagonia's web site over the past year. Tried the hydrospeak, love the fit and comfort, they dry fast also which is good. Would have given 4 stars but the logo starts peeling off after many uses. Have purchased four pairs since February, on o... Read Morene the P is totally off, on the others it's starting to peel. It's a little crazy, I'm willing to pay more for quality, the wavefarers had a sewn logo. Otherwise, awesome board short.

July 28, 2022

Great Design

The color scheme is beautiful. My only suggestion would be more stretch like the wavefarer

July 10, 2022

Just what I wanted

I had a Patagonia bathing suit that lasted me 23 years! No rips or wear and tear, but it was time for a new one and am hoping this lasts me another 23 years. Would recommend 100%

June 28, 2022

This is roughly my 6th

This is roughly my 6th Board shorts through Patagonia and they are true to size and fit. Extremely comfortable and never results in rash. Dry extremely quick and are perfect for lounging around the pool. Only complaint is they usually only last about 2 years and need replaced. Material gets stretched, begins weaken and waist expands to sizes too ... Read Morebig . But even with that I would still highly recommend these shorts. You would not regret it.

June 25, 2022

Minimalist comfort

Im 6 ft and shorts fit perfect. Right above the knee but not short shorts like 19 inch outseams. Would appreciate more solid colors (at least black). If the hydrolock is a success can we get it in a 21 inch outseam? Thankful to at least have one board short in the line still offered at 21 inch outseams. Also, I prefer the wavefarer stretch side zip... Read Moreper pocket over the velcro patch pocket - a lot more useful. Regardless, the shorts feel great and I would highly recommend them

June 13, 2022

Swimming and Paddle Boarding

Shorts fit great. I appreciate no mesh lining. The draw string to tie the shorts is awesome - it has some sort of brain in it and it never comes loose - even under heavy activity. I'd recommend to anyone.

May 25, 2022

My most trusted boardshort!!!

First off, how awesome is it that these shorts are offered in a longer inseam!!! I quickly noticed that the other reviewers seemed to be tall, like me. We REALLY struggle with finding shorts that fit (properly). These shorts fit perfectly in every area. They stay up on my waist and have a very adjustable waistband compared to other brands. Another ... Read Morething i love about them is their stretch, i have yet to feel uncomfortable in them while climing anywhere around my boat or up a cliff for a dive. The coolest feature to me though is how fast these bad boys dry and how hydrophobic they act - WOW! I simply cant recommend these shorts enough!

May 18, 2022

Quality!

Very nice shorts! I dont go into the ocean enough anymore, wearing these shorts for the next best thing, beach volleyball! Like the lightness and the stretchy fabric. Top quality, cant go wrong. But what could be perhaps possible: #1: longer in the length, and #2: more experimental colors. Seriously I cant buy blacks and blues anymore after this pa... Read Moreir, so how about burgundy, army green, or tie-dye? On another level, and perhaps I should not say this, almost all board shorts seem to be styled in color and length and pattern for an ethnicity that darker-skinned folk like me find it difficult to relate to, despite the stunning photos of the surfers in the Patagonia catalogs, sigh. Just a thought. Thats probably just me! Anyway, love these shorts!

May 14, 2022

Durable and Colorfast

Have one pair I use almost exclusively in a chlorinated pool... everyday. Have to say these hold up well... color hasn't faded after over a year of use... unlike baggies, which I like but just fade and fall apart after a few months of chlorine. Another bonus... no drag while swimming... in the surf or pool. They dry fast.

April 13, 2022

Durable with a great fit

I wear these every day to walk our dog a mile or two and swim a mile in the community pool. They fit great, fit true to size and are very comfortable.

March 26, 2022

Great suit

My husband needed a new suit for vacation- fits well, attractive, great quality.

March 12, 2022

Great bathing suit

This bathing suit is absolutely great but it does run a bit large. I absolutely recommend this suit but suggest you order a size smaller.

March 8, 2022

Excellent fit. Comfortable. NOT durable.

Best board shorts Ive ever owned in terms of fit and comfort. Unfortunately though my active lifestyle is more than Patagonia clothing can handle. I ripped them in the first week while at a hot spring. Wish I could recommend these, but Patagonia needs to work on making their clothes more durable.

Response from Patagonia
March 15, 2022

We're sorry to hear about the fabric! While we don't know the specific circumstances, we would recommend checking with your local gear repair shop or a Patagonia-owned store for options under our [Ironclad Guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches