Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydroflow Boardshorts - 19"

Write Your Review

4.67 /5

Filter Reviews

All 45 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydroflow Boardshorts - 19"

4.67
Kinda Large
July 16, 2020

Super Lightweight Board Shorts

I love these board shorts and their super lightweight quick drying stretch material. I am 6 feet tall and the shorts fall just above my knees, which I prefer over previous versions that covered my knees. While the stretch material allows you to slip the untied shorts on over your hips I was a little concerned that the stretch in the waist might cau... Read Morese me to lose my shorts, so I ordered one size smaller which fit better around my waist, but unfortunately they were too tight everywhere else.

July 16, 2020

Super Lightweight

I love these swim trunks and the lightweight quick drying stretch fabric. The side pocket was a big selling point that not all Patagonia board shorts have. I also like that the length is a little shorter and falls slightly above the knee, not covering the knee like previous versions. While the stretch material allows you to pull the untied shorts o... Read Morever your hips I was A little concernedthat with the stretch

June 25, 2020

Perfect board shorts

They feel like nothing Ive ever had. Super smooth. Look great. Will not wear anything else period.

June 23, 2020

High Tech and comfy.

These surf trunks are state of the art. The waist is cut so that you may have to squirm into them a little but once on they fit like a dream and you can relax knowing that they will be staying on no matter what kind of chaos you find in the ocean.

June 21, 2020

Comfortable

I wear mens board shorts for SUP, surf and hiking as I like the fit. These dry fast, no chafe, good key pocket.

June 17, 2020

Amazing Surf trucks, but pricey!

I really like the surf trunks. They have a great range of motion and dry amazingly fast. I found they fit true to size. Some reviewers said they fit large due to the stretch, my first pair I had to return because I ordered one size smaller and they were too small. If you wear a 35 in their regular shorts order a 35 with these as well. The only con ... Read MoreI have is the price. Hopefully they will go on sale again and I can get another pair.

June 17, 2020

Comfortable

I wear mens board shorts for SUP, surf and hiking as I like the fit. These dry fast, no chafe, good key pocket.

June 10, 2020

Don't Buy These - They Fall Apart

I've been wearing Patagonia trunks for over 10 years. I spent over $100 on these and they fell apart after 3 months. Time to find another brand. Very disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2020

Hi Chris, we're very sorry that your Hydroflow Boardshorts only held up for 3 months. This does sound like a factory defect and we'd be happy to take those back under our Ironclad Guarantee. You can begin your warranty return here, https://www.patagonia.ca/canada-returns.html.

April 27, 2020

Simply perfect

For me personally, these are the best board shorts I have ever owned. sits just above the knee slim but not tight, fits slightly looser than the stretch planing, which I love. awesome...

February 20, 2020

Best surf shorts I have owned

I bough these in hopes of finding comfortable shorts that dry faster than the pair I currently own. Great fit, classic surf short pocket for a bit of post surf cash and a good zipper. They do dry quickly, are a nice amount of stretchy. I am in between a 32 and a 33 and ordered the 33's and imagine the 32's might be a better fit. They have... Read More survived a trip through the dryer.

January 19, 2020

Great all around pair of shorts

Had these for a little while now; they are comfortable, stretchy, and dry quickly. Ive worn them for multiple long work outs and these felt great. I will be doing a later more comprehensive review after i wear these at my summer job as a dive master. Im about 6'2 165 lbs. and the size 31 fits me perfect.

January 12, 2020

Best bathing suit I own

I brought these with me on an 8 day trip through the Galápagos Islands where I swam every day. They are lightweight, extremely packable, and dry quickly. On many occasions, I would get out of water and walk around in them, and they remained comfortable and dried as I walked. Definitely going to pick up another colorway soon!

December 27, 2019

One of best shorts I’ve bought

For a while I have heard only amazing things about Patagonia and thier cloths. I basically live in Board shorts in my free time - including surfing, swimming and general beach - as a result I go through them very quickly. I recently bought another brand only to have them start coming apart after 2 months... I then decided to take the plunge on th... Read Moree new Patagonia shorts and have been incredibly impressed thus far... it’s only been a few days but they are so comfortable and see super resilient..

December 20, 2019

Great workout shorts

Just about the best ever. Fit true to size, I'm 6'2' and just over 200#, the 34" fits perfectly.

December 13, 2019

The most comfortable board shorts I’ve ever owned

I recently traveled to Barbados for a surf trip. Finding a pair of board stretch that not only have mobility but also don’t chafe is the ultimate combo. This boardshort does just that!

October 28, 2019

Great shorts

These are super light weight and don't chaffe. The fit is true to size but they will give a little over time. This is my third pair and I love them.

October 2, 2019

Best boardshorts ever

Love these shorts! Quick dry and barley feel like you have shorts on when in the water. Flexible and look great!

September 16, 2019

Perfect fit and quick dry

Gave to my husband and he is 5’9” 155lbs. 55 years old The shorts are perfect an inch or so above his knee and he is used to long shorts but he does not feel naked. They are a little stretchy so very comfy and dry quickly. He loves them. Used at the lake, river, pool and in the hot tub we are not near the beach.

September 15, 2019

Great shorts

Top notch board shorts. Fast drying.

September 7, 2019

Surfing to CrossFit to Running.

Surfing to CrossFit to Running. Love em!!

August 15, 2019

Best board shorts

When I first put them on I knew they were going to be good. Perfect length, super stretchy, dries really fast, and to my surprise, an expanded side pocket! My gripe with board shorts is that the side pockets are usually flat and when i need to make a run with a wallet keys and cell phone, it tends to be a struggle getting them to all fit if it even... Read More does. These pockets are flat on the outside, but on the inside, they expand inward so you can fit more inside while keeping the outside flat. Genius!

August 15, 2019

Best Boardshort Ever

I can't say more than they're absolutely flawlessly designed. Every detail about them feels like it was designed by surfers who spend a ton of time in the water. They're beyond awesome.

August 13, 2019

Super comfortable, high performance

The flap is a little goofy when you tighten these down all the way, but they are extremely comfy and high performance!

August 12, 2019

Simply the Best

I was SUPER hesitant to spend this much $$ on a pair of board shorts, but when I realized that the pair that I was replacing were also from Patagonia and were about 15 years old before I ripped them on a barbed wire fence, I figured I could get my money's worth out of this pair too. When I got them I immediately noticed the difference. These t... Read Morehings are so super comfortable and fit perfectly. I surf several times a week and these thing are board short perfection and are even super comfortable to hang out in after you get out of the water. The stretch really makes all the difference!

August 11, 2019

Bury me in these

I usually buy a new pair of shorts every 3 or so years, being a field aid worker and adventurer, carrying the fewest articles of clothing possible is key. For me, given the typically hot climates I work in with limited access to laundry, shorts that are extremely quick drying, not smelly, and comfortable to wear for weeks on end every day, is a nec... Read Moreessity. the last 3 years, patagonia shorts have been my choice and i recently decided to shelf my hydroplaning pair as backup, they were becoming more tenacious tape than board short. so i splurged and bought this hydroflow pair and the comfort/movability factor shot through the roof! whereas the hydroplane pair would get a little bunchy when wet and moving through the jungle, the hydroflow pair just moves with you. crazy technology. Im excited to see if they last as long as their predecessors. they will be worn every day for at least 3/4 of the year, check back with me then! im 6'1" 170lbs and medium fits great

August 11, 2019

Hit the spot

Great length and fit. amazing comfort, you forget that they're on. Wore them everyday on a five day river trip where I spilled food and got them super dirty. The fabric seems like something that would keep in a stain, but luckily everything came out. Great swimsuit, definitely worth the money

August 10, 2019

Awesome

Perfect, seriously the best boardshorts I've ever owned. Surfed in them every day on vacation. So comfortable, no rashes. Pocket is big, but is great for when you need to put a phone or wallet in there. Looking forward to getting back into warm water soon.

August 10, 2019

Sturdy, extremely comfortable

These shorts feel great and dry quick. I will never wear anything else to swim in ever again. Sizing runs a little big, but I didn’t want to part with these shorts to return them for the size down. Very happy with this purchase and I have always had amazing customer support experiences with Patagonia - great company!

August 10, 2019

Great board shorts

These shorts move seamlessly with you and have a great feel.

August 10, 2019

Hydroflow board shorts

You don’t need to be a surfer to enjoy these bad boys! They were the most comfortable yet simple boardshorts I’ve ever owned. They feel great in and out of the water, and dry very quickly.

August 10, 2019

Ms Stretch Hydroflow Boardshorts

These Boardshorts fell apart after one wash and one dry. Now unwearable

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that your shorts didn't hold up! We will reach out to you directly to help set up a return or exchange to get you back on track.

August 10, 2019

Board shorts

Love the fabric. The fit in the waist, after getting wet, is looser than other board shorts I own.

August 10, 2019

Just feels right, right from the start

I’ve been looking for a rugby shirt that would remind me of the old days when I used to compete. After 3 other brands, this one is it. It has the wear and feel of worn-in shirt.

August 5, 2019

Measure twice! None of the stretch is in the waist!

These shorts are great, but had to buy 3 pair before I got the exact size. In my case, I had to go down two sizes from my normal waist size (Started with a 30, ended up at 28!) The material is stretchy, but none of it is in the waist and the tie only let's you go marginally snugger - so there is very little give (in either direction). In my ca... Read Morese I had to get a smaller waist to keep them from falling down. Haha! They are pretty nice though.

June 22, 2019

Best Performance Boardies Ever!

Just spent an entire month in Bali with these board shorts on 27 of the 31 days we were there. In and out of the water these shorts are amazing! Light weight, fast drying, solid materials. The blue color is vibrant and still looks great after all the use and wear and tear of Indo. The large pocket and the way it's built is genius, and I know... Read More i can trust it not to blow out and loose my phone or keys. It also is large enough to fit a GoPro Hero 6 with float and mouth mount perfectly while surfing. Love that. Just kept my GP in my pocket and pulled it out when I needed it. SO SOLID! I have other performance board shorts and chose to wear these. Compared to Lululemon and Vuori equivalents, The Hydroflow are far superior.

June 18, 2019

Best ever! Why is the pocket so big?

These are simply the best board shorts ever. I have never written a product review. I want to make sure these keep being made. There are only a few issues: - Why is the pocket so huge? I'm not taking my Kindle surfing guys. These are for surfing. Just a small vertical zip near the hip would be great. - The shoelace material tie is lame. For $... Read More120, can we get something better? - As always, the boardshort sizing is totally inconsistent

May 25, 2019

Best board shorts ever!

Hands down the best board shorts I have ever owned and best ones Patagonia has made. So silky smooth yet still very durable feeling. Ended up wearing them every day my last surf trip as they were just that much better. Just ordered a second pair as these will be my shorts of choice.

May 20, 2019

From super stoked to "bummed"

Two surfs ago I was going to jump on here and tell everybody how unreal these shorts are; the flat seams, quick dry, great cut, etc., etc. Then today I went swimming with my kids at a public pool and they quickly noticed the seam in the rear had separated and my butt was showing...

Response from Patagonia
June 10, 2019

Matthew, we're sorry to hear about your boardshorts! Please feel free to send them in for a warranty returns evaluation per our Ironclad Guarantee. You can get started [here](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

May 12, 2019

Best shorts I have ever owned

These shorts are incredibly comfortable and versatile. I wear them for swimming, running, climbing and yoga.

May 8, 2019

Super

These are great shorts, very very comfortable. They run an inch or two large. My 32's measure 34".

May 8, 2019

Optimal Froth

These board shorts are dank, my dogs! My gf says the camo looks sweet and the shorts really accentuate my base. I'm gonna dominate so many fish with my spear. These really filled my stoke tank to near maximum amplitude.

May 8, 2019

E.E. (Exceeded Expectations)

Wear 'em three times a week for 45' outrigger canoe practice and racing. So having them fit just right, dry super fast, and stretch every-which-way is important.

March 27, 2019

Finally!

These are the best designed boardshorts you have ever made, I too have been waiting. Great stretch, thin, low profile seams, quick dry, stealth, side pocket big enough for a modern phone. I plan to buy a couple more pairs and relegate the rest of my aging collection to low output family excursions. These shorts are worth every penny.

March 6, 2019

its about time

I've been waiting for these trunks from you guys for 15 years. You guys can make wetsuits from tress but you haven't been able to make a good pair of board shorts.....until now. Great fit, great fabric, worth the price and I dare anyone that is skeptical to give them a try because you can always bring them back if you aren't happy, t... Read Morehey are seriously the best boardshorts I have ever owned from anyone let alone Patagonia. I'm impressed. I usually buy 32's in hydroplane / stretch planer but got 30's in these and they fit perfect.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches