Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Planing Boardshorts - 19"

Write Your Review

4.55 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 71 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Planing Boardshorts - 19"

4.55
Kinda Large
March 11, 2020

Lightweight and comfortable

These are my go to board shorts for travel now. Since they're so lightweight, tossing them into any bag is a no-brainer, giving me the option to jump into a pool or stream whenever. However, I've also found them perfect as a pajama replacement as well. Dual use, love it.

February 24, 2020

Great trunks

Bought for my husband who has an athletic build - small waist and muscular thighs. Great quality and cute. The material has good stretch. He is pleased and he is hard to shop for.... so I am thrilled.

January 10, 2020

great board shorts ¡

great board shorts ¡

January 3, 2020

board shorts.... they snowboard and house lounge too

Most comfy, light, packable, quick dry. pocket has been enlarged with zipper can now fit some cell phones. i wear these beneath my ski pants for comfort and to be ready for any hot tub that requires shorts. also can be running shorts.

December 29, 2019

Favorite all-purpose board-shorts!

Really nice cut on these shorts, runs true to Patagonia sizing as declared on the associated fit / page for the garment - make sure to match your 'nominal' size to the associated fit(s). The addition of the 'stretch' is wonderful where you can appreciate some 'give' during contortions; bending, stretching. The addition... Read More of the oversized loop for keys / etc in the hip pocket is wonderful, it's about a 3" loop whereas most similar products come with a 3/4" diameter loop that makes securing something about as fast as threading a needle that doesn't want to go (if you have coordination like me). Great product!

December 2, 2019

Great Board Shorts

Comfortable, stretchy, The zipper pocket with key loop is ideal.

November 25, 2019

Perfect

These are the ones you’ve been waiting for. 5’10” 146 lbs. 29’s fit perfect

November 25, 2019

Great swim suit

Great swim suit. Really light and the colors are very vibrant.

November 25, 2019

Nice feel, easy to move in

I purchased these mainly for yoga. I have worn a size 36 for years but recently have lost some weight. I would actually have done better with a size 34 but they still fit great and feel amazing. Being a 4-way stretch product I would recommend going for a snug fit around the waist. You won’t feel restricted and will still be able to maintain a full ... Read Morespectrum of movement. If you’re a true 35, a 34 might be the better option. They fell great in my yoga practice and dry quickly.

November 22, 2019

Nice shorts, but...

I liked the shorts from the moment I saw them and needed a pair for the end of summer, but to my surprise the size was way too large, did not fit the way I thought it would.

Response from Patagonia
December 12, 2019

We are sorry to hear that those didn't fit the way you'd hope they would. Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back to us and we are happy to help with an exchange.

November 20, 2019

Perfect for hot steamy weather and water sports

These board shorts are light weight, durable and dry really quickly. I have worn them snorkeling, kayaking and swimming in Hawaii and on a Colorado River trip through Grand Canyon. Super functional for all these activities.

November 8, 2019

Love them!

They fit great, look great and are super comfortable. And, as with ALL Patagonia, I know they'll hold up.

November 6, 2019

Great for boating

These fast drying board shorts are great for rafting trips or just soaks in the local hot springs.

October 27, 2019

Checks every box

Great fit, zip pocket is a must, stretchy but not too much so. Perfect length for surf. Could dry a bit faster but they’re just fine.

October 16, 2019

Love

Love them so far. I'm 6'2, 215 lbs with a 34" waist and the thigh's of a guy that bikes and ski's. I have trouble finding shorts and pants that accomodate my build but these are perfect. Love the look and the feel, will definately buy another pair.

October 15, 2019

Amazing pair of shorts

These shorts are so amazing I bought 2, one for surfing in and one for casual wear. These shorts have the perfect combination of light weight, thin and stretchy that doesn't restrict you from any activity.

October 12, 2019

Best boardshorts I have ever owned!

I do a ton of body boarding and paddle boarding and most shorts chaff and irritate my inner thighs. These are the first shorts I have owned that I can spend the day in the water in comfort! They dry faster than any other shorts I have ever had and the stretch makes them so comfy! Bought a second pair

October 8, 2019

“Revealing” profile

Frankly these shorts are not appropriate for mix public use. The profile of your “junk” will show right through. Cool material but so thin they are inappropriate. If you are on a remote surf trip I am sure they are awesome, but it you are at the resort pool, you are going to make some people uncomfortable.

September 26, 2019

Best board shorts

Great design, amazing fabric, very soft. The fit is perfect.

September 25, 2019

nice looking but not for surfing

This are very lightweight and comfortable. I like them but there is SO much stretch in the waistband that there is no way they will stay on in any sizable surf no matter how much I cinch them. I bought a couple other pairs of board shorts which had stretch, but not in the waistband like these ones.

Response from Patagonia
October 1, 2019

Thank you for providing your feedback on this item! We're sorry to hear the fit wasn't quite right. Please note, your satisfaction is guaranteed and you are always welcome to [Contact US](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) to initiate a [Return or Exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

September 24, 2019

Awesome!

I’ve had them about 2 weeks and worn them more of those days then my girlfriend cares for me to admit. Perfect for a day of surfing, sailing diving and cruising the boardwalk

September 23, 2019

Awesome board shorts

I am really enjoying my new board shorts! The stretch is nice 👍 I would suggest to get a size bigger than what you usually wear but board shorts are always hard to fit in so that is not unusual. Customer service was really awesome and understanding when I had to change. Patagonia delivered an awesome product and good customer service as they alway... Read Mores do!

September 22, 2019

Best board shorts for surfing

I've tried a lot of brands and different boardshorts and Patagonia are by far my favorite. Best part about them is they are light and comfortable. The drawstring is very simple, not bulky at all. Only problem is I can't stop buying them. But Patagonia makes great products and they'll last a long time. Thank you for thinking of the en... Read Morevironment before making your products.

September 18, 2019

Better, and not

The new 2019 material feels great next to your skin and it is stretchier than older versions. BUT, the waist is also much stretchier now so the shorts droop and sag under weight (full pocket) and do not feel secure on your waist. I did not try them surfing because they would have almost certainly had a hard time staying on. This issue could be solv... Read Moreed if the waist lining fabric had none to very minimal stretch as with prior versions. The waist sizing also seems to be at least a half inch or perhaps more than older versions. I am size 32 and they have fit perfectly snug in the past. This the 2019 version requires pulling the drawstring completely tight with no leeway for the shorts to stay on. Prior versions had some leeway with the drawstrings and still felt snug.

September 16, 2019

Amazing fit and feel

I needed a new pair of board shorts. I tried a few different styles at Patagonia (baggies longs, baggies lights, the scallop hem stretch wavefarer, and these Stretch Planing board shorts). The baggies materials just don't cut it. They are for a retro vibe, but not performant like the others. While the scallop hem stretch wavefarer is a nice st... Read Moreyle, it was a heavier material. The stretch planing boardshorts however fit very well, but the real winner was the material. They felt so comfortable and light. These would be the clear winners for anyone looking for a remotely performant board short.

September 14, 2019

Really nice board shorts

This is my second purchase of the same stretch boardshorts, but in a different pattern in the same year. That should tell you all you need to know.

September 13, 2019

My favorite pack any of Surf trucks yet!

My favorite pack any of Surf trucks yet! They’re so light weight and they dry super fast. Nice amount of stretch, perfect for surfing.

September 6, 2019

Most comfortable shorts I’ve ever owned.

It’s all in the title. Slightly stretchy, perfect fit, these shorts are perfect for the beach and yoga mat.

September 6, 2019

Great product, as always

I thought the color would be more black, instead it was more navy. But was not disappointed in what I got.

September 5, 2019

Awesome! Great fit and love

Awesome! Great fit and love the colors

September 5, 2019

Great board shorts

Wore these on a paddleboard trip on Lake Winnipesaukee in NH and they are fitted with nice stretch so movement is free and unconfined. Good style and comfortable to wear.

September 4, 2019

Disappointed

Lifelong Patagonia guys here. These look great and feel awesome, incredibly light and with nice flex....until I got out of the pool and realized they are pretty much see through. Not ideal. I'll still wear with something underneath, but disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We're really sorry your boardshorts are see-through. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us and [let us know](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html) if you have any questions.

September 3, 2019

Awesome

While summer ended too fast in the midwest and I didn't get to wear them, the material was very comfortable and stretchy. I will be excited to try them next year.

September 3, 2019

Perfect swim trunks

Had I know they were this good, I would have bought them much sooner. I previously thought all swim trunks are the same, they are not. These dry off fast, they do not get soaked and or water logged. They are a game changer and maybe I am the last to know.

September 3, 2019

see-through board shorts

I love Patagonia board shorts (and own several pair). This particular color (orange) was see through though. I’m planning on returning them.

Response from Patagonia
September 17, 2019

We are so sorry to hear that these were see-through. We'd be happy to help with the process of [sending](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) these back. Please reach out to [us](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact)!

September 3, 2019

Great trunks

Cut just right. Not too loose, not too long, and not too tight. They don’t crest a lot of drag in the water. Lightweight fabric with a little stretch dries fast. Zipper pocket is secure and low profile.

September 1, 2019

Great Board Shorts

Flattering fit and style. So comfortable to wear.

August 31, 2019

Super stretchy goodness!

Love these swim trunks for waterskiing! The stretch is perfect for skiing the course.

August 31, 2019

Go-to everyday boardshort!

Perfect length & fit; not too slim or too baggy, super comfortable waistband & the tie stayed tied while surfing!

August 31, 2019

New board shorts

Nice fabric and nice fit. Perfect for swimming.

August 29, 2019

The Best

Comfortable, light and dry in minutes. Already ordered more. Fit is definitely fit/slim.

August 29, 2019

Stretch Planing Board Shorts

Shorts are lightweight and really comfortable. I have 4 pairs and I wear them all the time (beach, running, hiking).

August 28, 2019

Amazingly comfortable, very revealing (mint green color)

I love these shorts and deal with the fact that they are about as revealing as a wet t-shirt, because they are so comfortable. They dry nearly instantly and never chafe or rub when you are walking when damp. It is likely they are super comfortable because the material is so thin and that is the exact reason they are so transparent. I would give th... Read Moreem a 5 if the material was slightly less revealing, or if the pattern obscured things a bit. Perhaps other colors are less revealing. All that said they are still my go to shorts. I'm sorry if you got a view of something you really didn't want to see. As others have said a small piece of velcro or something to hold the top of the 'fly' (its not a fly but an expansion panel) shut would make them look a bit more refined, but this is a nit.

August 26, 2019

See through

Fit great and feel nice. Waist seemed a little bigger than the standard wavefarer, but that could be the stretch. I don’t think I would size down. I got the color breakup blue stripe. I have dark skin . Jumped in the water and eventually looked down...See through. Frustrating. I wouldn’t wear these in the water again. I don’t know if they would b... Read Moree see through for lighter skin - I would think that would be tested in product development though. Low rating solely due to the shorts being see through. Other colors are probably a good product.

Response from Patagonia
September 3, 2019

We're very sorry to hear about this see through issue. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) your boardshorts and let us know if you have any questions.

August 21, 2019

Stretch Planing Boardshorts - 19

I love these trunks and I have several older pairs but I could fill up my wardrobe with these things

August 19, 2019

Simply the Best!

Have had many Patagonia versions of these over the past few years and they just keep getting better! Just back from Hawaii for 8 days and was in the water non stop doing a multitude of activities from swimming, surfing, freediving, cliff jumping, bike riding, etc., and they performed perfectly for all! cant recommend enough :)

August 12, 2019

Great shorts but seem to run large.

Love the material and comfort of these shorts. They are soft and stretchy and really comfortable to be in all day. They also dry fast. I had to knock a star off because the sizing seems to be a bit too big. I am a 34 waist for all my other pants/shorts, etc... These shorts felt like they were about a half a size too large. I would probably get the ... Read More33 if I was to redo this purchase.

August 12, 2019

great product for years to come

I'm used to buying cheaper boardshorts from other brands but you can feel the difference in quality for the price. They're comfortable, work great and look good. I'm 5'11", 182 lbs and the 33" waist fits comfortably. Shorts hit just at the top of my kneecap.

August 12, 2019

Love them.

Love these board shorts. The only input I would offer regards the waistband, which tends to "roll." This is likely caused by my overhanging beer belly. Maybe the shorts should come with a diet?

August 12, 2019

New Favorite Trunks

I can't recommend these enough if you're looking for trunks you can be active in without feeling like you're in a traditional boardshort. They have a good amount of stretch for beach/grass volleyball, perfect length, and no ugly "scrunched" waistband look. I'm 5'8 and they fall about 2" above my knees. Only d... Read Moreownside is that because they're so lightweight, there's a good chance you'll be "showing off" when they're actually wet... not necessarily a bad thing.

August 11, 2019

Amazing new design

My husband lives in Patagonia SPF shirts as we are always on the ocean. This new design rocks. Great colors and stylish. Now if I could get him to wear something else. Buy them, you won’t regret. They fit true to size.

August 11, 2019

Nice trunks

Nice looking. Nice fit. Well made. Material is thin and light but seems like it will be durable.

August 11, 2019

Great cut and fabric. Fly needs some work

The only negative on these trunks is the fly. The fabric folds over itself and is just expected to stay in place, but it doesn’t. They also run a bit larger than other Patagonia board shorts I’ve had... maybe because of the stretch. I’d probably size these down 1” if I were to purchase again. The fit and feel in the water is otherwise great.

August 10, 2019

Stretch planing boardshorts 19

Love these boardies, feels like I’m not wearing anything!

August 10, 2019

stretch planing board shorts 19

Slightly thin fabric already getting thin around pocket area. Older versions of stretch planing fabric much more durable

August 10, 2019

Board shorts

Perfect fit. Durable and highly functional. I’m very pleased with this product. I own two pair. Thanks for the opportunity to share.

August 10, 2019

Stretch board shorts

We had to exchange in another country as we were traveling in New Zealand and they run large and get bigger as you wear them (due to the stretch). We love them!

August 10, 2019

In the water and on the beach

Love these board shorts. Perfect for wake surfing and playing beach volleyball. Moves with the body and feels like you are wearing nothing.

August 10, 2019

Love the shorts

I love in Florida where it's got and humid in the summer. The shorts are perfect for the beach and boating - lightweight - cool - quick drying. Third pair this year.

August 10, 2019

Got the light green color.

Got the light green color. Pretty much see thru when wet. Got some stain pretty easily, can’t seem to get them clean. Also stretched and are now a size too big. Fit perfect when I first got them.

Response from Patagonia
August 13, 2019

So sorry your boardshorts didn't hold up! We will contact you directly to get you back on track with warranty options.

August 10, 2019

Ms Stretch Planing Boardshorts

Love the colors. The fit was different; the fabric felt thin and synthetic. I returned them. I very much prefer the feel of the M's Wavefarer Boardshorts.

August 10, 2019

Great product buy a size down

Love these board shorts but they only cinche down so far so I’d recommend buying on the small size if you are doing any water sports.

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We're sorry that those are cinching enough for you. We'd be happy to help with an [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) for the next size down. Reach out for [help](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with that process. You can reach us Mon-Fri 6AM-6PM PST and Sat-Sun 8AM-4PM PST by calling 1.800.638.6464.

July 8, 2019

Allllmost perfect

First, these board shorts are awesome: They fit great, are light but very durable and move perfectly with you. They also dry so fast you forget they were ever wet. I just spent two weeks living in a couple pairs in the Outer Banks and have zero complaints about how they perform. My only nitpick, echoing another reviewer, is that there should be a s... Read Moremall bit of velcro on the fly (either at the top or the middle) to hold it in place. Not to hold it *closed* necessarily: I never felt exposed or that the shorts were coming open. But the fly doesn't seem to naturally lay flat when tied. You have to play with it a little to get everything lined up and not bunching. But don't let that stop you: I'd happily keep these as my board shorts for life if they never change a thing.

June 8, 2019

Great Board Shorts

these are excellent... stretchy, dry fast, great fit and have held up over 4 years thus far

May 10, 2019

Perfect fit

I paddle 6 man outrigger canoe and these shorts are the best..this is my 3rd pair! Perfect fit; length perfect too!

May 8, 2019

Comfortable, used them kayaking.

Comfortable, used them kayaking.

May 8, 2019

Pants

Board shorts and long ones I ordered are suddenly the only pants I use... The comfort is amazing

April 11, 2019

something missing

the looks are great, material comfortable....however something is missing!!!....... trunks close with a string tie, but there is no velcro holding the fly closed...appears as though you are walking around with your fly open.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches