Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 19"

Write Your Review

4.21 /5

Filter Reviews

All 52 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 19"

4.21
True To Size
September 1, 2020

very comfortable

Great board shorts I have 3 pair.

August 25, 2020

Great color and feel

Great shorts for swimming or surfing, just make sure to size up: I'm 34 and 36 was just right.

July 31, 2020

Runs small but loosens up too much in the water

I bought these in a 35 and 36. Normally I'm a 34. At the time, the 35 was too tight, so I kept the 36 which fit perfect when dry. This is my second season with the boardshorts and now when I go in the water they are sliding off me and I can't make them any tighter. Very hard to surf and sit on my board while constantly pulling them up. St... Read Moreill fit perfect and comfortable when dry. May need to re-purchase in a 35.

July 10, 2020

Newt dude

The fit true to size. Not tight fit so if you wear a 31 with a belt you might want to try a 30 because theres no belt...

July 2, 2020

Love these!

This is my 3rd pair of Patagonia boardshorts. I really appreciate that Patagonia makes odd number sizes!

June 18, 2020

Best Boardies Out there

I REALLY HOPE they keep making these trunks. (NONSTRETCH) They are the only trunks I don't get chafe with. Ultra durable, my first pair were from 2013/2014 and I still wear them! I love these trunks.

March 13, 2020

Run small

I usually wear a 34, but I bought a 35. I think Id be more comfortable in a 36

Response from Patagonia
April 11, 2020

Thanks for the sizing feedback. You're always more than welcome to [exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) for a different size under our [ironclad guarantee](https://help.patagonia.com/s/article/Ironclad-Guarantee).

December 4, 2019

Best Board Shorts

It's been several years since I have replaced my swim shorts. The improvements with the tie/button closure is great as well as the fit/feel. I pretty much want to live in these things.

November 22, 2019

Boardshorts

I really liked the board shorts but I got the wrong size. Instead of the 34 I should have gotten the 33.

November 22, 2019

best boardshorts i own!!

best boardshorts i own!!

November 22, 2019

I really enjoy them.

I really enjoy them.

November 14, 2019

The sizes are incorrect

Do not trust the sizes. Purchase larger

Response from Patagonia
December 3, 2019

Hi Mark, thanks for taking the time to write us a review! We're really sorry to hear about the trouble you've experienced with sizing. If the boardshorts don't fit quite right you're welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return).

November 13, 2019

Beachin'

Simply the best !

October 7, 2019

Great boardshorts

I have several pairs of the minimalist. This is my first pair of the wavefarer and these seem very similar to the fit of earlier minimalist. Happy with another pair of patagonia boardshorts.

September 20, 2019

These are my go to

These are my go to shorts surfing or any other water sport. Quick drying and a true to fit size.

September 17, 2019

Great gear

Wonderful board shorts with a good combination of flexibility and durability.

September 17, 2019

Please, make more odd sizes.

Have loved these shorts in the past and wore them constantly, no matter what I was doing. The sizing in the new ones though seems off. I wear a 36 these days, but shorts I purchased recently in store were too small. Sized up this last online order to a 38 and it was loose. I understand that making more odd sizes would cost Patagonia more, but for a... Read Moren item as iconic as its boardshorts it might be worth it.

Response from Patagonia
September 26, 2019

I'm sorry to hear about the sizing. Feel free to call our customer service team at 1-800-638-6464 to start a return.

September 16, 2019

Love the Finish, Colors, and Cut

Fantastic. My only issue is that the sizing is small. I had to return my original order, in my "normal" Patagonia waist size, and order up 1" in waist size.

September 14, 2019

A size smaller than last time.

We love Patagonia products and these were so cute, but the sizing was off, and we had purchased these before. Outside of that, service was very good as usual, but I am hard pressed to shop online without trying on.

Response from Patagonia
September 24, 2019

We're sorry to hear this item didn't work out for you! Please note that your satisfaction is guaranteed. If you would like to initiate a return or exchange, you may do so [HERE](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=returns).

September 11, 2019

Well made but disappointing fit.

Boardshorts are well made as anticipated but the fit is very disappointing. Originally purchased a size 32 but they run small so had to reorder a 34. The diameter of the legs are very large and the boardshorts “baggy”. While other Patagonia clothing products (outerwear, technical clothes, etc) are some of the best I’ve owned, I won’t purchase anoth... Read Moreer boardshort.

September 9, 2019

Fit like a glove

Except the fabric has no stretch so I had to return them because of the lack of give. I was hoping to wear these for rafting and paddleboarding. Loved the pattern on the fabric and cut of the shorts.

September 9, 2019

Super comfortable!

Hear shorts are super comfortable and the pocket that is on it can hold lots of stuff!!

September 9, 2019

Beach - pool - gym

Love the fabric, I have another pair I've worn for 5 years or more

September 3, 2019

Wavefarer Boardshorts 19"

Excellent boardshorts. I have been wearing the Wavefarer for at least 20+ years and they have never let me down. Fit is true and they don't bind up when sitting on your board. Many tks keep up the good work

September 3, 2019

Comfortable fit

Great fit! I usually wear between a 34-36 (34 in Patagonia) and these fit great. I will say though having a stretch waistband I would be worried about these flying off while I surf, that being said I haven't tested them for this yet. Either way, great pair to wear around town with the hip pockets and back pocket.

September 2, 2019

Wayyyyyy Small

I have no idea how so many are stating these run true to size (in the middle of the scale). The proof, I bought the Wavefarer Walk Shorts in 32...perfect fit. Purchased these as well in 32, I can’t even pull them past my butt!!! If any of these reviewers have purchased these THIS YEAR or anything other than these, they’d be in agreement...only thin... Read Moreg that makes sense or adds up. I’d recommend if the sizing matched their other clothing.

August 31, 2019

Ms Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 19

My Ms Wavefarer® Boardshorts - 19 look great & feel great.

August 29, 2019

Great Boardies

Second pair of Patagonia Boardies, these are great, love them. Nothing fancy just do the trick. I do hope they last. I do like that they is no Velcro in the fly. That is the worst thing ever!

August 26, 2019

love these

comfortable, light weight, quick drying. Great shorts!

August 18, 2019

Always quality from Patagonia!

I love these new board shorts from Patagonia. Super comfortable and great fit.

August 17, 2019

Love these board shorts. Comfortable,

Love these board shorts. Comfortable, and dry fast.

August 12, 2019

Wayfarer shorts

Highest quality....great fit...i got one at REI, And decided that i had to have another...directly from you guys and gals.

August 10, 2019

Fit great, very light, very

Fit great, very light, very sturdy, and dry fast.

August 10, 2019

Great board shorts

My teen son loves these board shorts. He says they’re very comfortable and go with all his tee shirts. Thanks Patagonia for another great product!

August 10, 2019

Wavefarer Boardshorts

I purchased the Boardshorts right before my family vacation to Cancun. Once we arrived, I put on the Boardshorts and fell love with them. Perfect fit and they look stylish too! Great job Patagonia! Take care -Mr. Canada

August 10, 2019

Wayfarer board shorts

Gift for my son....Patagonia board shorts always a huge hit. High quality, great colors, and perfect fit. Highly recommend.

August 10, 2019

Great swim shorts

Honestly the best swim shorts I’ve ever owned. They fit great, have a very functional zipper pocket, and are durable. Nothing to complain about Here.

July 29, 2019

Pillling after 2nd wear

I love everything about these shorts- the fit, the material, etc. However, I’ve only worn them twice and the back left leg of the shorts is already all pilled. I haven’t even washed them! I’m all for Patagonia products because they are supposed to last a life time. But, these probably won’t last much longer and it drives me crazy that these are alr... Read Moreeady messed up. Very very disappointed in that since these are $69 Board shorts and I was hoping they’d last 10+ years like some of my other Patagonia clothes.

Response from Patagonia
July 30, 2019

We are so sorry to hear about this! Please feel free to [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=repairs) that back to us and we will 100% get you taken care of.

May 8, 2019

Different fabric, different fit

I have a half-dozen pairs of these that I purchased over the past several years and recently purchased a couple more. The new ones are a different fabric, and the sizing is also not the same. The new fabric feels more like a nylon tent material, and is not as nice as the old stuff. On the sizing, all my prior purchases the 35" shorts fit me fi... Read Morene. The new ones weren't even close. So I returned them. I really liked these shorts and wore them a lot, but now it looks like I'll have to find another brand.

Response from Patagonia
May 29, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

May 8, 2019

nice shorts

exactly as advertised. I love everything from Patagonia.

May 8, 2019

I have worn them since the were first introduced

I have worn the various versions of these boardshorts since they were first introduced for surfing, body-surfing, free-diving, surf-fishing, you name it. So, I obviously like them. They're everything you need and nothing you don't. My only complaint is that the stitching in the seat could stand to be a bit more robust. I have had to repai... Read Morer most pairs after a season because constant abrasion against a waxed surfboard blows out the stitches.

May 8, 2019

Comfy, functional and durable, great combo!

Move with you but stay put, unlike their stretch brethren which tend to loosen up when they get wet. Fabric is tough but not abrasive which is great. Just wish the fly was configured differently (as it gathers funky and protrudes when you snug up the laces) so maybe hook and loop?

May 8, 2019

Boardshorts

The material is actually too thin. It clings to me in revealing ways when I get out of the water.

May 8, 2019

Look cool but a little tight

Love the shorts but they definitely run small

November 26, 2018

Great Boardshort

I like the quality and color of this boardshort! Unfortunately, I lost it in a high wave in the ocean and it seems there is no more of this design in any store. I need the size 34 and I hope more of this color design comes to the stores that I can purchase it.

November 17, 2018

Swiss Army Knife of Boardshorts

These boardshorts are the beat and can stand up to whatever you throw at them. I bought these boardshorts 6 months ago to replace my other wayfarer ones that recently got a little too small. I usually liked to stick to boardshorts with 4 way stretch because I felt like those decreased the amount of board rash I would get, but every since I switched... Read More to wayfarers I haven’t gotten boardshorts once. I have had 7 hour surf sessions and I haven’t gotten board rash, and these shorts had enough coverage that my thighs didn’t get sunburned. Another plus about these if how fast they dry. In Hawaii I can easily rinse off and in no time the shorts will be dry. If you have any doubt I suggest just getting the shorts.

June 14, 2018

Great Boardshorts

I bought these to replace an old pair and love them. Love the way the feel and fit. Highly recommend.

June 10, 2018

Awesome Trunks

I bought these shorts about 4 months ago and absolutely love them. I would definitely reccomend trying them on in store to ensure you get the right fit. They're sizing guide can be a little off. Other than that,these are awesome,quick drying shorts that look great. Definitely reccomend buying these.

May 14, 2018

nice shorts but inconsistent sizing

I've got board shorts,shorts,and pants from you guys,and the waist size is all over the map. Some 28's swim on me. Other's fit just right. These were way too tight. Sort of ridiculous that i buy 2 pairs in different sizes and you charge me to return the ones that don't fit. This would be a 5-star review if it weren't for th... Read Moree combination of your return policy and inconsistent sizing.

April 16, 2018

Cut for skinny teenagers

Where is 21 inch wavefarer?? I love my 2 yr old pair. They fit great and wear like iron. Tried another pair this year same waist size and they were skin tight. This new cut doesn't work with a non stretch material. Please consider bringing back the roomier cut.

April 13, 2018

Nice

I have had these for about a month! Love the cut! Great fit! Stoked that make it in a simple all black! I have not had a non-stretch short in a bit and I am still getting use to these... I hope they make this same short in the stretch material soon..

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches