Back to Product

M's Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20"

Write Your Review

4.57 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 67 Reviews

Clear All

M's Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20"

4.57
True To Size
January 28, 2020

Wave faster Walk

Great fit and super comfortable

December 30, 2019

Amazing Shorts

These shorts are pretty awesome. I live in the desert and can experience temps in the 100's. These shorts are light and airy. The mesh lined front pocket help to keep them lightweight and have good air flow, but at times your keys may get caught in the mesh so you end up pulling everything out of your pocket. They are great if you will be by t... Read Morehe water as well. I have worn mine to the beach on several occasions and I am not afraid to get them a little wet as they dry quickly. They are a great short if you are looking for something versatile to take you from the beach to a casual dinner in town.

December 25, 2019

The Best Shorts Ever

I first bought a pair of these shorts in Hawaii and wore them nearly every day on hikes, beach trips, and even casual dinners out. I have since bought 2 more! These shorts are super light but sturdy through Patagonia fabric magic. I love hybrid shorts like these but find they can be stiff or staticky, well not these shorts! I especially love the m... Read Moreesh pockets, that don't remind me of pool shorts, and can withstand keys, wallets and everything in between. Buy these shorts you won't regret it.

December 18, 2019

Stretching board shorts

Overall great board shorts. Use them to paddle in an outrigger canoe and surf with 60-80 miles weekly. Only down side is that size runs big so get a smaller size than years prior.

October 29, 2019

Great shorts, I live in

Great shorts, I live in them in the summer months

September 26, 2019

Outstanding shorts

I rarely write reviews, but I have to express how amazing these shorts are. I have three pairs now. So comfy you can sleep in them. I have anxiety that Patagonia might change them in some way.

September 16, 2019

My new favorite shorts

These shorts are the best! They are the right length, have the perfect amount of stretch and breathe so well. I bought a pair in feather gray, and I loved them so much that I had bought 2 more colors.

September 11, 2019

Very nice design. Very comfortable.

Very nice design. Very comfortable.

September 9, 2019

great for everything

I love these in and out of the water! Great for bumming around in the morning, jumping on the paddle-board mid-day, then grilling all afternoon. Quick drying, so no need to change. Just all around awesome.

September 9, 2019

Sweet!

awesome shorts, really lightweight. they do fit a bit looser than the normal regular patagonia fit, but they have waist cinches to correct that.

September 6, 2019

Perfect fit!

Got these for hubby, and he loved the fabric and the fit! He says they’re super comfy! (I am writing this review for him so it would get done! 🤪)

September 5, 2019

Great comfy shorts!

Love these for a variety of reasons, comfy, good pockets look nice and wear well!

September 4, 2019

One of the Top Bottoms of All Time

I'm in and out of the water a lot. My main problem with board shorts is the lack of pockets. It's hard to pack the wallet, car keys, the tacticool knife I to cut cheese and apples, and the baby's pacifier. Do I carry too much stuff? Nope. These fantastic shorts handle it all and let me get in a surf, swim, or fin session without chan... Read Moreging out. Super comfortable and they dry quickly. We'll see about durability over time. Stoked for some other colors to go on sale!

September 1, 2019

stretch walk shorts

great style and good not to tight fit.

August 31, 2019

Classic flat-front chino styling with flat-lying rubber button fly and closure

Button rubber fly and closure to me means - NO ZIPPER. The shorts I received have a button closure and a ZIPPER FLY. "ZIPPER FLY" is not mentioned in the product description. I have 5 pairs of these shorts that have the button fly and button closure, they are awesome and I love them. I purchased a pair last year with a zipper fly, but ... Read MoreI prefer the button fly much better. When I read the description of the shorts I recently purchased I got super jazzed because it appeared that the "Classic flat-front chino styling with flat-lying rubber button fly and closure" had returned. However when the shorts arrived I was a bit confused, because they had a ZIPPER, and super disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2019

Thank you for the feedback! We're sorry you were disappointed. Head over to the [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to send them in for a refund if you'd like!

August 31, 2019

Love the stretchy in shorts.

Love the stretchy in shorts. True to size and killer pattern.

August 31, 2019

Can't take these off!

Quickly became my new favorite shorts. Super comfortable. Has the comfort, stretch & breathability of boardshorts but aesthetics of normal shorts, so I can get away with wearing these just about anywhere. Pockets are full size to fit a phone, wallet, etc yet don't feel obtrusive whatsoever. Happy to give these 5-stars, but if 4.5 was an op... Read Moretion I would have chosen that as I'd love to see a zippered pocket somewhere on these, perhaps as one of the back pockets for extra security. Highly recommend these!

August 29, 2019

Best of both worlds

Love the conveniences of standard shorts (multiple pockets, fit etc.) with the comfort, lightweight and fast drying of board shorts. It's the shorts version of a one board quiver. Simple! oh, and they look great too.

August 23, 2019

Very surprised.

Very comfortable shorts that give as you move about your day.

August 17, 2019

Awesome all around shorts

These shorts have everything I love about the stretch wavefarer boardies, but they are also cut in a way that allows them to be worn to work or a casual gathering that requires a bit more than a boardshort.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts!

These are great shorts! Super comfy, light weight, versatile. They can be worn anywhere. I actually bought a 2nd pair right after wearing my first pair for a few days. I’m 5’11 165lbs and bought 33’s they are loose fitting just the way I like.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

New favorite shorts - lightweight, comfy, look so good my girlfriend is making me buy more. Only request - put the key bungy cord in the left pocket so i can keep my wallet in the right and keys in the left.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

Good looking, durable and quick drying. Wore them for a week in the Grand Canyon and they were terrific.

August 15, 2019

Back pocket too shallow

These shorts are great. Most comfortable shorts I’ve ever owned. But the back pocket is too shallow and my wallet falls out every time I get in or out of my truck. I almost lost it in the parking lot the first time it happened. It happened another time in my driveway. I came out the next morning and my wallet was beside my truck in the driveway. I ... Read Morecan’t even carry my wallet now when I wear the shorts. Other than that these shorts are great. But I think this is a big deal so it only gets 3 stars.

August 15, 2019

Only Shorts I Wear

This is my 3rd pair of these shorts and they are the only shorts I wear. They are comfortable, cool and look good if you need to dress them up a little. During the heat of the summer these are game changers. I'm 6", 180lbs and wear a 34 waist - they fit pretty true to size. Will probably get a 4th pair next summer.

August 15, 2019

Best casual shorts for everything

light, quick drying, stretchy... I have a couple pair and they are my absolute favorite shorts.

August 12, 2019

Perfect fit!

These shorts are great! Perfect fit and ALL day comfortable.

August 12, 2019

Ms Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20

Such a great piece! Looks like normal shorts that I can wear around the house or to work... BUT they are as light as board shorts. And I can swim in them too... Kudos on a multi function bit of gear! Have 3 pairs and will get more for sure!

August 12, 2019

comfy incognito swim shorts

mostly wear them to the beach to hang out, not for any serious water activity - but occasionally they do get wet when i have to chase after one of my kids into the water. so they're perfect to wear around on a lazy day on the off chance you hit the beach. the only qualm i have is that the drawstrings are a little too short and makes tying them... Read More difficult. maybe if i went a size down i wouldn't need to tie them, but again not about to swim an ironman in these.

August 11, 2019

highly recommend

great shorts, comfortable, looks greats, I could wear them everyday!

August 10, 2019

Best shorts

Trekked all Over Europe in these shorts and they quickly became my favorites. Drawstring is awesome and weight is perfect. Only couples of suggestions would be to add a zipper on a pocket and add a little More lenght to the waistline draw string. Otherwise they are great... bought three more!

August 10, 2019

Perfect board shorts

Very comfy, and easy to wear.

August 10, 2019

Short review

They’re great shorts I bought like four before these last two so six in total. On the first four pairs I had my mother make them a little shorter just my preference otherwise the fit is great. I dig the classic look with a sports function. A critique is I do wear them a lot but 3 pairs all have the same issue the stitching right on the butt area or... Read More anus area starts to come undone. I don’t understand why I don’t think I’m doing anything unusual. I wear them for swimming running some casual riding and work( furniture maker fabricator in miami in a no ac shop) so it might be the riding/ casual cycling. I’ve had my mom fix that area but it’s happened again. Thanks

August 10, 2019

Brown Belt Awesome

I love all 3 of my tech web belts, especially the brown one which just came out. It’s the perfect belt for jeans and a sportscoat and also shirts and a t shirt. Keep up the good work!

August 10, 2019

My new go-to shorts

Love these. Comfortable stretch fabric. Look great. Fit right. Breathe well. Definitely my new favorite pair.

August 10, 2019

Fit for the New Oregon Trail

I wore these shorts nearly every day for four months, walking from Cape Blanco to Hells Canyon — a thousand miles over four mountain ranges, from the world’s deepest ocean to the continent’s deepest river gorge — and they were indestructible. Easy to wash, quick to dry, stylish, snag proof, ready for anything.

August 10, 2019

Changed them from the way they used to be

Size has changed , running too big now .The old buttons were better than the new zipper

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the sizing and zipper. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and have any questions, please let us know.

August 10, 2019

Wavefarer Water Shorts are worth it

Fabric dries super quick; style goes well also walking around town on the weekend as well

July 9, 2019

Great Design -- Poor Durability

I've bought a number of these over the years as I love the concept. Backpacking, surfing, riding the bus... I wear them all the time. I spend a lot of time in the tropics and it's great to have shorts that you can go to town in and then just hop straight in the water at sunset to wash away the sweat and smell. The fly was switched fro... Read Morem button to zipper a year or so ago and while I didn't think I'd like it, it's a definite improvement and makes them more wearable out of the water. I need to get them an inch smaller than I normally wear. They have a hidden drawstring inside to make them snug, but they are too loose otherwise -- especially for playing in the waves. The major flaw is their durability. I wouldn't have bought multiple pairs if just one would last multiple years. Not sure if the fabric has changed, but the pair I got last year were the worst. I've already had to mend the seams 7 times and the seat is getting holes. For shorts that are designed to be used a lot due to their versatility, the materials should be able to stand up. I look forward to improvements in durability as that would make them the bee's knees.

Response from Patagonia
July 10, 2019

Sorry to hear the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

July 6, 2019

You Can Live In These

These shorts are the perfect travel/water sport/daily wear multi function garment. They are light and supper comfortable, functional pockets that holds an Xs Max and drain if you go over the side and dry quickly. Did I mention they pack into one of the back pockets and secure with a rubber button? That's something every travel garment should d... Read Moreo. They are true to size if just a little loose and stretchy but the drawstring fixes that and add a Patagonia web belt to the belt loops if you're carrying heavy stuff in those pockets. May I put in a request for some M's Stretch Wavefarer Walk "Pants"? Please?

June 9, 2019

Great For Dad Too!

I live in these shorts on the weekends. I’ve got three young ones and I don’t have time for wardrobe changes between errands, working around the house, and talking the agents of chaos to the pool. These shorts handle all of these tasks like a champ. My only complaint...I have no idea how I’m supposed to use the loop in the back right pocket like in... Read More the picture.

June 7, 2019

Great for everything!

I use these shorts for everything. Hiking, swimming, volleyball, yoga. Great length. The stretch is great for all activities.

May 13, 2019

A minimalist must have!

As a minimalist these are my go to shorts. I literally live in these shorts haha. I can travel just about anywhere with only these shorts. I can wear them as trunks when surfing and then turn around and go to dinner without skipping a beat. These are also the most comfortable shorts I have ever owned! They are super light weight and flexible. A min... Read Moreimalist must have!

May 8, 2019

String to short

Very nice shorts but the drawstring is to short.

May 8, 2019

Love these

Love these, great fit. They have a draw cord waist and button for added security. The pockets are mesh but very durable.

May 8, 2019

Best pair of shorts I've

Best pair of shorts I've ever owned!!!

February 10, 2019

Seams keep coming loose

I pretty much dress exclusively in Patagonia clothing. It’s durability makes them one of the best values out there. I was surprised by these shorts because I am on my second pair after returning the first and the seams are coming loose on these too. I don’t know if it’s the combination of material and the fact that I ride my bike a lot, but the cru... Read Moretch seems have come undone again. Will be returning them later this week. Love the shorts... wish they held up. I’m not sure why I’m having this problem with them.

December 4, 2018

Great summer shorts

Got these in the latter half of last summer. They are great shorts for general use. Wish they also made a 19in version but these are not too long at 20.

September 11, 2018

Nice shorts

These are very well made shorts. When wearing as a swimsuit you should really have a speedo or something else on underneath. Quite revealing when wearing them commando, especially when wet.

September 9, 2018

Quality not what it once was.

I recently bought a new pair of these to replace the extremely well-worn pair I had worn most days for the past 2 years. Less than a month in on the new pair, the entire back seam is coming apart. Three different places along the seam have long gaps where the seam sewing has come undone. After two years with no problems on the old pair, I am hugely... Read More disappointed in the current quality. Quality products are hard to find these days, and I guess are even harder to find now if Patagonia has decided it's not a priority.

August 1, 2018

Durability Issues

I got my first pair of these back in mid June and was very, very happy. The fit is good, the length is right and the material is very comfortable. The shorts dry quickly and have enough room to move around. However, the happiness didn't last. There is a long seam that runs down the back of the shorts. It is double stitched and is responsibl... Read Moree for holding the shorts together. Within the first half dozen wearings, the stitches started to come out - the thread broke in at least one place and came out of the fabric in others, forming large loops. I figured this was an aberration so I got a replacement pair and had it happen on the very first wearing. I'm not a small guy, but these definitely fit appropriately in a size 38.

June 12, 2018

Very comfortable

I bought this several weeks ago and couldn't be happier with the shorts. They are very breathable and lightweight,perfect for summer use on the beach,hiking,or just hanging out. I've got an athletic build and they're a little tight in the inseam/thighs but I like them a little on the tighter side,so they're perfect for me. I wea... Read Morer a 30,but ordered a 31,so I would recommend buying maybe a size larger since they run a bit small.

October 7, 2017

Good but not perfect

I was looking for a pair of shorts that is comfortable and not cotton. These are really comfortable and breath easily (unlike cotton). But they make a swooshing sound when you walk which is not ideal. Overall really high quality.

August 26, 2017

Useful

Lightweight,comfortable,I do not think about having these on when I have them on. Have used for steep rocky hiking (hiking where you use your hands),heavy gardening,just wearing around.

August 17, 2017

Comfortable,Lightweight,Fastdrying

Great shorts! Comfortable,lightweight and fast drying. My son loves his as well. The front pocket bags tends to squirt out all the time. Can you add a fabric panel to the front pocket like the back pockets so that the mesh isn't visible all the time. A more secure pocket(zippered) somewhere would be awesome.

August 13, 2017

These are my Baggies

I've done everything in them this summer. Paddle boarding,body boarding,hiking,sleeping,taco-ing,chilling. They are super comfortable,dry quickly,and are a presentable length for more formal occasions than the beach.

August 8, 2017

Versatile AF

You can wear these shorts hiking,biking,swimming,climbing,running,to the office,to a party,or anywhere really. They are amazing.

July 15, 2017

Very Light

These shorts were my first foray in to the nylon,quick dry shorts that are designed to look like khaki style shorts. The mesh pockets didn't live up to my hopes,but to be fair I may have been hoping for too much. The weight of the fabric is correct for the quick dry world,but be aware,it is thin. However,the drying time is impressive,the first... Read More time I used them in the water I got them completely wet three times (for about 5 minutes per soaking) over about 6 hours,and they were still dry the vast majority of those 6 hours. One concern is the 36 inch waist seems a bit snug vs. all my other pants,which are all 36 inch waists.

June 30, 2017

Patagonia RFA Shorts

Ready for anything. i bought these shorts a couple months ago and have been very impressed. Wear them all day and you can barely tell they are on. In water,run,hike,downtown,or just relaxing. The fit is relaxed,yet feel tailored. These shorts are perfect. Only thing that could make them better---one zippered back pocket.

June 17, 2017

Breathability and mobility

Bought these a month a go and they are perfect for summer hiking,surfing,lake hopping,and all around outdoor lifestyle in Mtn's or surf.

May 21, 2017

Best shorts ever

I bought these without realizing they were board short material and was a bit skeptical when I opened the box but after wearing them once,I'm in love. They are super comfortable and look great with anything. They are def going to replace all my summer shorts.

May 21, 2017

Dopest dope

Wear them all day...literally go anywhere do anything shorts! Even found myself asleep in them,they're that comfortable

May 21, 2017

Super Versatile Short!

Love these. The weight is fantastic and I love the feel of the material. Perfect for a day on the raft and you can wear them directly to the bar after. They look sharp,don't wrinkle and dry quickly. Well done Patagonia. Fit is true to size.

April 28, 2017

Gonna live in these this summer!

Just bought these and I am so excited about the comfort and versatility of these shorts! Nice enough to wear out on the town,or to wear while doing many outdoor activities. Quick drying and lightweight! These will get some serious wear this summer!!!

April 15, 2017

so comfortable that i forget about them

These shorts are super comfortable and great in hot weather - very well made and finished. They are perfect other than length - but I like short shorts.

April 10, 2017

More lightweight awesomeness

Bought for Caribbean cruise---loved that these shorts are so versatile---I kayaked,hiked and swam in them,often on the same day! Dry quickly and fit right.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches