Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20"

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 173 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20"

4.7/5
True To Size
September 2, 2021

Best shorts ever

I love these. Over last 2 years Ive purchased pairs of them on three occasions. My original pairs are still in great shape after tons of wear but I wanted additional colors. Then I bought a couple more pairs bc they were on sale and I was afraid that meant they were discontinued. (Not sure about that-we will see). These are light, dry quickly, have... Read More a little elasticity and a draw string and belt loops. Super comfy and look nice. Only complaint I have is that Id like more of the solid colors. The blue and grey have sort of a wooly looking color which I dont love. But the khaki, stone and black look great.

August 29, 2021

Good looking casual but still functions great

These shorts look good and fit and perform great in any outdoor setting!

August 16, 2021

Ideal Favorite

These shorts are lightweight, comfortable and ideal for warm weather. A classic fit and look, suitable for a range of occasions.

August 2, 2021

I've worn them for 8 days straight

You know, you should change your underwear every day, but I don't think you need to change your shorts. These arrived and I was in the middle of a remodel that blocked me out of my closet, at the same time I had a good deal of clothing in the wash. So, I put them on, and ended up wearing them for 8 straight days. These days included, hiking, b... Read Moreiking to work, working at the office, an overnight backpacking trip, a meal in a nice restaurant, some huckleberry picking and some yard work. They are lightweight, comfortable, have pockets in smart places. I like the internal draw-string, they are great shorts.

July 15, 2021

Very comfortable

Very satisfied with shorts and plan to purchase additional styles!

July 8, 2021

Perfect

Perfect all around, great from water to golf to dinner with the wife!!! Need more colors! Excellent shorts.

July 8, 2021

the perfect short

comfy, stretchy, and good looking. they seem impossible to get dirty so i wore them on a 3 month camping/road trip and felt fine both campin and going into the city. good pockets too. I also like the drawstrings as my weight fluctuates.

July 8, 2021

Light weight

Nice shorts. Overpriced but i like them

July 7, 2021

The only shorts you'd ever need

I've had a pair for 3 years and they're my favorite pair of shorts. No frills style is versatile enough to be worn casually while the fabric and drawstring make it super convenient to jump in the water. Great for backpacking too. I came here to buy a second pair but unfortunately they're out of stock.

July 7, 2021

awesome fit!

My husband owns a few of these shorts and absolutely LOVES them! On a few occasions (fathers day, anniversary, and birthday) we tried to locate a pair, but there were none available. He currently owns 2 colors and would like to have more. Please produce these shorts again and make them available to your Patagonia customers. Thank you!

May 9, 2021

Awesome shorts but way too long.

These shorts are amazing, but they should really have an option to have a 19 length.

May 7, 2021

Butter

Lots of options in this segment but none will go from grill session with the in-laws to lake laps with the boys as quickly as these shorts. Zero drag on undies when you wear them and better than your coolest looking board shorts when dont. Its cheating, just buy em.

April 30, 2021

Best Shorts Ever!

Great fit, relaxed and light weight

April 29, 2021

Exceptional

These have become my go-to shorts. Lightweight. Comfortable. Purchased multiple, wear these or my all-wear hemp shorts daily in summer.

April 17, 2021

A Great Pair of Shorts

After 4 years with 2 pair of Patagonia's prior model of these shorts, I decided to refresh the wardrobe with a new pairs of shorts. These are perfect for the next 4 years.

April 15, 2021

Perfect

I can go paddle boarding and then go out to dinner in them afterwards. Very versatile short

April 15, 2021

Love these shorts!

I'm 6'2" 265lbs and they fit perfect

April 10, 2021

all around short

dry fast and can be used to workout and go to work great all around cut and feel

April 8, 2021

Huh

Add 2 more belt loops, you are notoriously chinsy on belt lops

March 31, 2021

Great Shorts

Have them in every color. I live in them!

February 8, 2021

great pants

great pants , good product which is what is expected from Patagonia. Have been using their clothes for the last 10 years . Only negative is the logo in the bottom front leg , would prefer it in the back .

November 22, 2020

Logo size

Patagonia is increasing over branding their products in the size of the logos.

November 11, 2020

Super Comfortable

These shorts are unbelievably comfortable. I've never had a pair of shorts that I like wearing so much, and they can be worn as a swimsuit. Couldn't ask for more out of a pair of shorts.

November 2, 2020

Swiss Army Knife Shorts

I needed to up my shorts game and scored a couple of pairs of these versatile shorts. They are very comfy. They can be dressed up or down. The material doesnt look nerdy. Perfect for travel. One comment- Im left handed and always put my wallet in the left back pocket. I wish that both back pockets were button through. I never get asymmetric pocket ... Read Moredesigns, aside from a change pocket.

November 1, 2020

Versatile shorts

Clean lines, great fit / best shorts for any situation

September 18, 2020

Just right

Been wearing a few generations of these for almost twenty years. Love the design , fit and durability of these! They go on in the morning and wear all day and evening, whether doing chores, hiking, driving or swimming, they get a full rounded workout everyday. Even gardening in my 88 rose bushes they fight the thorns with tenacity. So Im sold on th... Read Moreese!

September 17, 2020

The Best Shorts. Ever.

Bought a pair in each color that was available. Versatile, breathable, and perfect for the swampy Florida.

September 14, 2020

FANTASTIC!

My wife gave me a pair in one color as a present & after one wearing, I bought another color of the same style. I live at the beach & these are perfect for so many locations.

September 12, 2020

we Fav

These are my new favorite shorts. I could wear them every day. Comfortable, and look good casual or dressed up

September 11, 2020

Really great shorts!

These shorts are amazing. Comfortable. Durable. Attractive. I especially enjoy the stretch as you move.

September 9, 2020

Outstanding Short

This is the most versatile item of clothing I own. These shorts are entirely appropriate casual wear, but can also function as board shorts. This is my second pair and is my go to summer short. When these shorts came along my baggies have been relegated to the drawerful . Excellent job Patagonia.

September 9, 2020

Outstanding Short

This is the most versatile item of clothing I own. These shorts are entirely appropriate casual wear, but can also function as board shorts. This is my second pair and is my go to summer short. When these shorts came along my baggies have been relegated to the draw. Excellent job Patagonia.

September 9, 2020

Nice water shorts

Nice water shorts that dry very fast. They are fine for everyday wear. They don't bunch up. The material is pretty thin but durable. I like the elastic loop in the pocket that allows you to secure your keys or whatever else has a loop in the water. Well made. Wish there was at least one zipper pocket.

September 9, 2020

Made me feel good

These shorts are the first size 34 I have been in in quite some time (> 10 years), and they felt great. We bought 2 pair for me, and I wore them both, and slept in them both. They are super cozy, long enough to cover my "unmentionables," and all-around a good value.

September 8, 2020

True to its size.

True to its size. Love that it includes stretch material.

September 8, 2020

Very comfortable

Very light and comfortable. Like the drawstring on the inside to Insure comfort ability.

September 8, 2020

Great breathable short!

these shorts are great, because they look awesome, but are made of a synthetic cloth that does not get sweaty, so I feel cool wearing them. I highly recommend these. quick drying casual shorts.

September 7, 2020

Very light and comfortable.

These are my new favorite shorts. Love the stretch and utility of them. They are at home at the beach and making store runs. I normally wear them with a friction belt because of the stretch around the waist. I find it more comfortable than using the drawstring. Plan to buy more in different colors.

September 7, 2020

Comfortable

These are my favorite shorts. Bought 3 pair. Lightweight and breathable for the hot summer months.

September 7, 2020

Great active shorts

Fit great, love the drawstring to keep em tight mates did having to wear a belt

September 7, 2020

Almost like going commando

These shorts look great, are super light and breathable and can be dressed up for a night on the town in the summer if they're called upon. I bought two pairs and may go back for thirds...

September 7, 2020

Long Shorts

These shorts are comfortable, functional, and presentable. I'm giving them only 4 stars because I would prefer if they were an inch or two shorter in length.

September 6, 2020

Men's Stretch Wavefarer Walk Shorts are a Winner

Really soft, lightweight, very comfortable, super happy with this purchase

September 6, 2020

Comfy, yo

Really nice hybrid walk shorts and surf shorts (I think) nice stretchy material. Super comfy. Look good and I wish I got more colors.

September 6, 2020

Comfortable and Versatile Shorts

I have purchased four pair of these shorts over the summer. They are the most versatile pair of shorts that I have ever owned. The shorts have a great fit and also have a drawstring for those tightening them up, depending on what I'm doing when wearing them. I've used them floating rivers, fishing, golfing, hiking, mountain biking and eve... Read Moren just running to the store. They shed water very well and also clean up well after getting them dirty. I'd recommend them to anyone and will probably pick up some new colors next summer.

September 6, 2020

Comfortable, utilitarian

Look good, feel good. Good stretch for activity. Never forget my swimsuit again

September 6, 2020

Great All-Around Shorts

Superb fit and function. Cool, ultra flexible material with durable construction. Excellent summertime walking/work short.

September 5, 2020

Super versatile

Great all around shorts for a lot of activities. Havent swam in them yet but confident I can wear these on a long hike and swim all in one trip.

September 5, 2020

Whats not to like?

I wear these shorts every day. Great weight and fit. Great for travel. Drys over night when on trail or hotel. And they come in many colors.

September 5, 2020

Everyday shorts

Very comfortable shorts my 2nd pair!

September 5, 2020

Ok but not the same

These shorts are ok, but I bought a pair of similar Stretch Walk shorts 4-5 years ago that were perfect. Patagonia used to use a much lighter/breathable material, and it had a two button-fly, more like a swimsuit. Really wish they had stayed with the original design. I actually bought these because the description said it had a button fly and I tho... Read Moreught maybe they had changed them back, but they did not. These do have a zipper and are stiffer/bulkier than past models.

Response from Patagonia
November 11, 2020

Hello Andrew, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It sounds like you may be referring to the M's Stretch Terre Planing Walk Shorts - 20 in. from spring 2016 that had the button fly closure. I am sorry that the current version walk shorts did not meet your expectations. Our products are covered by the Patagonia Ironclad Guarantee so you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them if you are not satisfied.

September 5, 2020

Very Comfortable

I wear these shorts for golf. They are light and very comfortable on hot summer days. The fit is true to size. I'll buy more of these.

September 5, 2020

QUALITY

Quality stitch, material, pockets. You get what you pay for.

September 5, 2020

Great shorts

Light, quick drying, comfortable, great fit. Perfect for summer casual wear and hiking and can do double-duty as swim trunks too. I'll be getting more in different colors.

September 4, 2020

Doesnt feel exceptionally warm.

Its flexible, light weight and comfortable.

September 4, 2020

Perfect for swimming/fishing

I love these shorts. I wear it for swimming and fishing. I usually wear a 31 waist but I had to go with a size 30.

September 4, 2020

Versatile shorts

The fabric of these shorts is light and airy, a great option to wear in warmer weather. One downside for me like a lot of Patagonias shorts and pants is the poor fit around the waist and regions below. Ive never understood the utility of the internal fabric tie that comes with so many Patagonia shorts and pants. My suggestion to Patagonia is to wor... Read Morek harder on getting the waist area tailoring more accurate in products such as these shorts so that the short falls more naturally and get rid of the internal tie.

September 4, 2020

Super comfortable

I'm wearing it now. I like that it's stretchy, light and very comfortable.

September 4, 2020

Great shorts

Love the quick dry. Mess pockets are a nice addition. The draw string is unnecessary IMO, thats what belts are for..took it out. Seem overly wrinkly after washing. They fall out though. Would by again.

September 4, 2020

My new favorite shorts

Perfect length, perfect weight. Great pockets.

September 4, 2020

Smart, comfortable, well-fitting

My new favorite pair of shorts. Smart enough to wear to work, and tough enough to bike in the rain. They fit to size, and the design is classic.

September 4, 2020

Love these Shorts

I wore these for 4 days straight because they were so comfortable. Awesome shorts!

September 3, 2020

Awesome (non-technical) shorts

Came across these first while vacationing in HI last winter and bought a pair (when I realized that I forgot shorts, other than swim shorts) at the Honolulu store. I ended up buying two more pairs this summer (different colors) and wear them constantly for casual outings or out fishing or camping. They aren't technical, but fit great, feel gre... Read Moreat, look great; are quick drying. For everyday shorts, cannot recommend these enough.

September 2, 2020

Every day short

These are my every day short. I own 5 of these and will buy more when they come back in stock. They shed water and stains are easily removed.

September 2, 2020

Comfortable

The shorts are the best Patagonia makes

September 1, 2020

Favorite shorts

Great shorts for anything really. I only wish the drawstring was longer.

September 1, 2020

it's ok

I love what Patagonia stands for though some of their clothes are not very stylish or fit poorly (often wide fit). These shorts are versatile but pretty expensive, way shinier than I expected, and lack any cool features (like a zip up pocket).

September 1, 2020

Comfortable Shorts!

Great fitting, comfortable shorts. Love them!

August 17, 2020

go-to summer short

I love these shorts and have multiple pair. I appreciate the flat-front, side pocket look of a "normal" pair of shorts, but these are my go-to hiking shorts. The slight stretch provides full range of motion without feeling too tight or restrictive. They come in handy when you hike up to a hidden swimming hole or waterfall and need to take... Read More a dip. Quick-drying means you'll be ready do go straight to post-hike drinks with friends (once it's safe to gather again!).

August 6, 2020

Super Warm

Write a detailed

July 26, 2020

My boyfriend loves these

I ordered these for my boyfriend for his birthday. He is fairly picky about his shorts, and always looking for something really comfortable and lightweight for summer. These shorts are perfect and look really nice on him. He wears the same pair everyday, so he is ordering more of the same!

July 13, 2020

Great shorts

Have had these shorts for a few weeks now and absolutely love them. Can dress up or down, swim in them, and even golf in them (though the mesh pockets arent ideal for having tees in your pocket). Great stretch material that is very comfy and easy to clean. Highly recommend.

July 13, 2020

So comfortable

Comfy and nice looking I bought 2 colors

July 13, 2020

Perfect summer ware

Perfect shorts fors the summer. Can swim in one moment and take out on the town for dinner later. Will be buying more colors!

July 13, 2020

Comfortable and look great

These shorts are amazing. They look and feel great. You could wear these hiking, at the beach, going out to dinner. Highly recommend and fit great

July 13, 2020

Great Casual Shorts

I bought three pair of these shorts to wear this summer and they have been perfect. They are the perfect length for me for casual wear. I like the light weight of the fabric and the the way it seems to shed water when that comes in to play. I wouldn't consider these dressy but you could wear them to play a round of golf at a nicer country club... Read More.

July 10, 2020

Great shorts

Have had these shorts for a few weeks now and absolutely love them. Can dress up or down, swim in them, and even golf in them (though the mesh pockets arent ideal for having tees in your pocket). Great stretch material that is very comfy and easy to clean. Highly recommend.

July 10, 2020

Versatile

Nice enough to wear from the beach to dinner. Comfortable and casual. Nice bit of stretch.

July 10, 2020

So comfortable

Comfy and nice looking I bought 2 colors

July 10, 2020

Perfect summer ware

Perfect shorts fors the summer. Can swim in one moment and take out on the town for dinner later. Will be buying more colors!

July 9, 2020

Comfortable and look great

These shorts are amazing. They look and feel great. You could wear these hiking, at the beach, going out to dinner. Highly recommend and fit great

July 9, 2020

Pretty nice shorts

Fit is true to size, fabric is very nice, lightweight, with a bit of stretch. 2 suggestions for improvement. 1) reduce the length by 1-2 so it hits a bit higher above the knee & 2) make the drawstring longer. Can barely tie & knot at current length.

July 9, 2020

Great Casual Shorts

I bought three pair of these shorts to wear this summer and they have been perfect. They are the perfect length for me for casual wear. I like the light weight of the fabric and the the way it seems to shed water when that comes in to play. I wouldn't consider these dressy but you could wear them to play a round of golf at a nicer country club... Read More.

June 26, 2020

Great light weight casual board shorts

This is my second pair. I originally had the product similar to this from the 2002 spring line? They are great & live up to everything that one would want & expect from Patagonia.

June 26, 2020

Nice shorts, but...

Nice material, comfortable. I think they run a touch long, not a deal breaker. Fix the length of the internal drawstring-it should be long enough to actually tie/make a knot. Fix that & you got a winner. Shouldnt nickel & dime drawstring length.

June 25, 2020

New favorite shorts

I ordered 3 differ brands of shorts to try...of the 3 different brands these were my favorite. So much so I sent the other 2 brands back and got 2 more pairs of these. If they had a 4 hole button instead of center post button they would have got 5 stars. It's been my experience that when a center post button fails field repairs are impossible.... Read More..at least these have a draw string too.

June 23, 2020

Perfect hot weather everyday short.

I love these shorts and want to wear them everyday I can. I also got another pair in khaki. Super light, super comfy and made of quick drying material so if you have to get wet unexpectedly, you'll be happy you have these on.

June 21, 2020

Perfect Fit

These shorts are awesome for casual wear around town -- highly recommended

June 20, 2020

No closet

This pair is so comfortable and versatile that it never gets a chance to hang in my closet. As soon as I washed it I put it back on. All other shorts are getting lonely!

June 19, 2020

Very comfortable

Excellent fit. Material seems durable. Cut very comfortable.

June 19, 2020

Great fit on this old hodad

I purchased a pair online tried them for awhile and then ordered 2 more. Great comfortable and forgiving fit for us older surfers. Easy to hand wash and quickly air dry when traveling.

June 19, 2020

Nice shorts!

The material is beautiful and makes these shorts the only ones I will need when we can travel again.

June 19, 2020

Wavefarer short

Functional, comfortable and look great! As good as shorts can be!!

June 17, 2020

Perfect Fit

These shorts are awesome for casual wear around town -- highly recommended

June 17, 2020

Stretch

Great shorts that move with you!

June 17, 2020

Looooovvve these shorts...

This is my third pair of Wavefarer Walk shorts. These have become my spring/summer daily wear. I wear 'em in the morning to walk the dog, on the golf course and in the late afternoon for a Zoom cocktail hour. I Loooooovvve these shorts!

June 17, 2020

Comfy

Love the attention to detail and all around great fit.

May 31, 2020

Ripped after 1 month

The stitching on the rear end blew out after 1 month and 4 wears. Very poor quality, I ordered a size up so they were defiantly not to small. Very surprised with the poor quality from Patagonia and repair shop closed unfortunately. Also, the pockets pull back exposing the mesh liner which is not a great look.

Response from Patagonia
June 5, 2020

Hi John, we're so sorry to hear about the unfavorable wear and tear on your Stretch Wavefarer Shorts. We'd be more than happy to return or exchange those for you. You can begin your return here, [https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html].

May 30, 2020

New favorite shorts

Possibly one of my favorite pair of shorts ever. Now that I'm WFH full time, shorts are all I wear and these are easily the most comfortable I have. Haven't tried them on a real hike, but they're comfortable on walks and rides around town. And the girl friend says they look good on me.

May 28, 2020

Versatile shorts

I have worn these to do everything from going to a nicer summer dinner, to going to the beach, to even cutting the grass. They look good with a polo shirt or workout gear. I bought one pair, then quickly another in one more color. They fit true to size and have a string to tie on the inside, so I don't need a belt with them.

May 22, 2020

Wavefarer shorts

Hands down the most functional shorts I've ever owned. I can wear these golfing, hiking, swimming and just about anything else you can think of. The material is perfect weight and will dry fast; the stretch is magnificent. Thanks Patagonia!!

May 19, 2020

Perfect Pair of Shorts

The wavefarer walk shorts are easily my favorite pair of shorts. Not only can you wear them for almost any activity, they are durable and fit perfectly. I am a size 32 waist with long legs and these fit well and look great on my legs. They are a little stretchy and have a waist drawstring that you can tie; no belt needed. Biking, walking, running, ... Read Moreswimming, sitting, standing, talking, smiling, these shorts are perfect for all occasions.

May 18, 2020

Perfect Pair of Shorts

The wavefarer walk shorts are easily my favorite pair of shorts. Not only can you wear them for almost any activity, they are durable and fit perfectly. I am a size 32 waist with long legs and these fit well and look great on my legs. They are a little stretchy and have a waist drawstring that you can tie; no belt needed. Biking, walking, running, ... Read Moreswimming, sitting, standing, talking, smiling, these shorts are perfect for all occasions.

May 12, 2020

Excellent shorts

Have these in two colors from last year and just bought a third. Light weight, so great in humid summers in NY, and also at the lake too. And long enough too for a tall. Play golf, beach or out to dinner. Luv 'em.

May 11, 2020

Perfect!!!

Fit is perfect, the build quality as well! Quite impressed! Extremely lite! The main button feels very thin, I hope it does not break.. but time will tell!

April 26, 2020

Great shorts

These shorts are very lightweight and comfortable and they are the perfect length for me as they are not too long or too short. I bought these shorts in three different colors. However I have caught my wallet slipping out of the back pocket on more than one occasion whenever Im sitting down and standing up along with my car keys or Iphone on the si... Read Morede pockets. Im not sure why this is, but I assume its because the pockets arent deep enough or something. Aside from that issue, these shorts would be perfect, and I dont choose to wear them enough because of that reason. I wish there was a zipper on one of the back pockets or even one of the side pockets so that I wouldnt have to worry about my valuables falling out and losing them if Im not conscious about it when Im occupied with the kids.

January 28, 2020

Wave faster Walk

Great fit and super comfortable

December 30, 2019

Amazing Shorts

These shorts are pretty awesome. I live in the desert and can experience temps in the 100's. These shorts are light and airy. The mesh lined front pocket help to keep them lightweight and have good air flow, but at times your keys may get caught in the mesh so you end up pulling everything out of your pocket. They are great if you will be by t... Read Morehe water as well. I have worn mine to the beach on several occasions and I am not afraid to get them a little wet as they dry quickly. They are a great short if you are looking for something versatile to take you from the beach to a casual dinner in town.

December 25, 2019

The Best Shorts Ever

I first bought a pair of these shorts in Hawaii and wore them nearly every day on hikes, beach trips, and even casual dinners out. I have since bought 2 more! These shorts are super light but sturdy through Patagonia fabric magic. I love hybrid shorts like these but find they can be stiff or staticky, well not these shorts! I especially love the m... Read Moreesh pockets, that don't remind me of pool shorts, and can withstand keys, wallets and everything in between. Buy these shorts you won't regret it.

December 18, 2019

Stretching board shorts

Overall great board shorts. Use them to paddle in an outrigger canoe and surf with 60-80 miles weekly. Only down side is that size runs big so get a smaller size than years prior.

October 29, 2019

Great shorts, I live in

Great shorts, I live in them in the summer months

September 26, 2019

Outstanding shorts

I rarely write reviews, but I have to express how amazing these shorts are. I have three pairs now. So comfy you can sleep in them. I have anxiety that Patagonia might change them in some way.

September 16, 2019

My new favorite shorts

These shorts are the best! They are the right length, have the perfect amount of stretch and breathe so well. I bought a pair in feather gray, and I loved them so much that I had bought 2 more colors.

September 11, 2019

Very nice design. Very comfortable.

Very nice design. Very comfortable.

September 9, 2019

Sweet!

awesome shorts, really lightweight. they do fit a bit looser than the normal regular patagonia fit, but they have waist cinches to correct that.

September 9, 2019

great for everything

I love these in and out of the water! Great for bumming around in the morning, jumping on the paddle-board mid-day, then grilling all afternoon. Quick drying, so no need to change. Just all around awesome.

September 6, 2019

Perfect fit!

Got these for hubby, and he loved the fabric and the fit! He says they’re super comfy! (I am writing this review for him so it would get done! 🤪)

September 5, 2019

Great comfy shorts!

Love these for a variety of reasons, comfy, good pockets look nice and wear well!

September 4, 2019

One of the Top Bottoms of All Time

I'm in and out of the water a lot. My main problem with board shorts is the lack of pockets. It's hard to pack the wallet, car keys, the tacticool knife I to cut cheese and apples, and the baby's pacifier. Do I carry too much stuff? Nope. These fantastic shorts handle it all and let me get in a surf, swim, or fin session without chan... Read Moreging out. Super comfortable and they dry quickly. We'll see about durability over time. Stoked for some other colors to go on sale!

September 1, 2019

stretch walk shorts

great style and good not to tight fit.

August 31, 2019

Love the stretchy in shorts.

Love the stretchy in shorts. True to size and killer pattern.

August 31, 2019

Can't take these off!

Quickly became my new favorite shorts. Super comfortable. Has the comfort, stretch & breathability of boardshorts but aesthetics of normal shorts, so I can get away with wearing these just about anywhere. Pockets are full size to fit a phone, wallet, etc yet don't feel obtrusive whatsoever. Happy to give these 5-stars, but if 4.5 was an op... Read Moretion I would have chosen that as I'd love to see a zippered pocket somewhere on these, perhaps as one of the back pockets for extra security. Highly recommend these!

August 31, 2019

Classic flat-front chino styling with flat-lying rubber button fly and closure

Button rubber fly and closure to me means - NO ZIPPER. The shorts I received have a button closure and a ZIPPER FLY. "ZIPPER FLY" is not mentioned in the product description. I have 5 pairs of these shorts that have the button fly and button closure, they are awesome and I love them. I purchased a pair last year with a zipper fly, but ... Read MoreI prefer the button fly much better. When I read the description of the shorts I recently purchased I got super jazzed because it appeared that the "Classic flat-front chino styling with flat-lying rubber button fly and closure" had returned. However when the shorts arrived I was a bit confused, because they had a ZIPPER, and super disappointed.

Response from Patagonia
September 9, 2019

Thank you for the feedback! We're sorry you were disappointed. Head over to the [Returns Page](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) to send them in for a refund if you'd like!

August 29, 2019

Best of both worlds

Love the conveniences of standard shorts (multiple pockets, fit etc.) with the comfort, lightweight and fast drying of board shorts. It's the shorts version of a one board quiver. Simple! oh, and they look great too.

August 27, 2019

SO close to 5 stars, but one minor issue

These are super comfortable, fast drying, and are a style I'm able to wear into the office on casual dress days. Which works great because my office is right by a nice little sandbar and I peel off when there's swell, often hustling back to work. It's great that all I need is a shirt and shoes to pair with these after a surf session ... Read Moreon weekdays. THAT SAID, the one issue I have is the draw cord is a little short to easily tie two slippery overhands to keep them on, not impossible, just a pinch tricky with the cord being maybe 8" too short.

August 23, 2019

Very surprised.

Very comfortable shorts that give as you move about your day.

August 17, 2019

Awesome all around shorts

These shorts have everything I love about the stretch wavefarer boardies, but they are also cut in a way that allows them to be worn to work or a casual gathering that requires a bit more than a boardshort.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

New favorite shorts - lightweight, comfy, look so good my girlfriend is making me buy more. Only request - put the key bungy cord in the left pocket so i can keep my wallet in the right and keys in the left.

August 15, 2019

Best casual shorts for everything

light, quick drying, stretchy... I have a couple pair and they are my absolute favorite shorts.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts!

These are great shorts! Super comfy, light weight, versatile. They can be worn anywhere. I actually bought a 2nd pair right after wearing my first pair for a few days. I’m 5’11 165lbs and bought 33’s they are loose fitting just the way I like.

August 15, 2019

Great shorts

Good looking, durable and quick drying. Wore them for a week in the Grand Canyon and they were terrific.

August 15, 2019

Only Shorts I Wear

This is my 3rd pair of these shorts and they are the only shorts I wear. They are comfortable, cool and look good if you need to dress them up a little. During the heat of the summer these are game changers. I'm 6", 180lbs and wear a 34 waist - they fit pretty true to size. Will probably get a 4th pair next summer.

August 15, 2019

Back pocket too shallow

These shorts are great. Most comfortable shorts I’ve ever owned. But the back pocket is too shallow and my wallet falls out every time I get in or out of my truck. I almost lost it in the parking lot the first time it happened. It happened another time in my driveway. I came out the next morning and my wallet was beside my truck in the driveway. I ... Read Morecan’t even carry my wallet now when I wear the shorts. Other than that these shorts are great. But I think this is a big deal so it only gets 3 stars.

August 12, 2019

comfy incognito swim shorts

mostly wear them to the beach to hang out, not for any serious water activity - but occasionally they do get wet when i have to chase after one of my kids into the water. so they're perfect to wear around on a lazy day on the off chance you hit the beach. the only qualm i have is that the drawstrings are a little too short and makes tying them... Read More difficult. maybe if i went a size down i wouldn't need to tie them, but again not about to swim an ironman in these.

August 12, 2019

Ms Stretch Wavefarer® Walk Shorts - 20

Such a great piece! Looks like normal shorts that I can wear around the house or to work... BUT they are as light as board shorts. And I can swim in them too... Kudos on a multi function bit of gear! Have 3 pairs and will get more for sure!

August 12, 2019

Perfect fit!

These shorts are great! Perfect fit and ALL day comfortable.

August 11, 2019

highly recommend

great shorts, comfortable, looks greats, I could wear them everyday!

August 10, 2019

Short review

They’re great shorts I bought like four before these last two so six in total. On the first four pairs I had my mother make them a little shorter just my preference otherwise the fit is great. I dig the classic look with a sports function. A critique is I do wear them a lot but 3 pairs all have the same issue the stitching right on the butt area or... Read More anus area starts to come undone. I don’t understand why I don’t think I’m doing anything unusual. I wear them for swimming running some casual riding and work( furniture maker fabricator in miami in a no ac shop) so it might be the riding/ casual cycling. I’ve had my mom fix that area but it’s happened again. Thanks

August 10, 2019

Fit for the New Oregon Trail

I wore these shorts nearly every day for four months, walking from Cape Blanco to Hells Canyon — a thousand miles over four mountain ranges, from the world’s deepest ocean to the continent’s deepest river gorge — and they were indestructible. Easy to wash, quick to dry, stylish, snag proof, ready for anything.

August 10, 2019

Wavefarer Water Shorts are worth it

Fabric dries super quick; style goes well also walking around town on the weekend as well

August 10, 2019

Brown Belt Awesome

I love all 3 of my tech web belts, especially the brown one which just came out. It’s the perfect belt for jeans and a sportscoat and also shirts and a t shirt. Keep up the good work!

August 10, 2019

Changed them from the way they used to be

Size has changed , running too big now .The old buttons were better than the new zipper

Response from Patagonia
August 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're disappointed with the sizing and zipper. If you'd like to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it and have any questions, please let us know.

August 10, 2019

My new go-to shorts

Love these. Comfortable stretch fabric. Look great. Fit right. Breathe well. Definitely my new favorite pair.

August 10, 2019

Best shorts

Trekked all Over Europe in these shorts and they quickly became my favorites. Drawstring is awesome and weight is perfect. Only couples of suggestions would be to add a zipper on a pocket and add a little More lenght to the waistline draw string. Otherwise they are great... bought three more!

August 10, 2019

Perfect board shorts

Very comfy, and easy to wear.

July 9, 2019

Great Design -- Poor Durability

I've bought a number of these over the years as I love the concept. Backpacking, surfing, riding the bus... I wear them all the time. I spend a lot of time in the tropics and it's great to have shorts that you can go to town in and then just hop straight in the water at sunset to wash away the sweat and smell. The fly was switched fro... Read Morem button to zipper a year or so ago and while I didn't think I'd like it, it's a definite improvement and makes them more wearable out of the water. I need to get them an inch smaller than I normally wear. They have a hidden drawstring inside to make them snug, but they are too loose otherwise -- especially for playing in the waves. The major flaw is their durability. I wouldn't have bought multiple pairs if just one would last multiple years. Not sure if the fabric has changed, but the pair I got last year were the worst. I've already had to mend the seams 7 times and the seat is getting holes. For shorts that are designed to be used a lot due to their versatility, the materials should be able to stand up. I look forward to improvements in durability as that would make them the bee's knees.

Response from Patagonia
July 10, 2019

Sorry to hear the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send it in for a refund or merchandise credit.

July 6, 2019

You Can Live In These

These shorts are the perfect travel/water sport/daily wear multi function garment. They are light and supper comfortable, functional pockets that holds an Xs Max and drain if you go over the side and dry quickly. Did I mention they pack into one of the back pockets and secure with a rubber button? That's something every travel garment should d... Read Moreo. They are true to size if just a little loose and stretchy but the drawstring fixes that and add a Patagonia web belt to the belt loops if you're carrying heavy stuff in those pockets. May I put in a request for some M's Stretch Wavefarer Walk "Pants"? Please?

June 9, 2019

Great For Dad Too!

I live in these shorts on the weekends. I’ve got three young ones and I don’t have time for wardrobe changes between errands, working around the house, and talking the agents of chaos to the pool. These shorts handle all of these tasks like a champ. My only complaint...I have no idea how I’m supposed to use the loop in the back right pocket like in... Read More the picture.

June 7, 2019

Great for everything!

I use these shorts for everything. Hiking, swimming, volleyball, yoga. Great length. The stretch is great for all activities.

May 13, 2019

A minimalist must have!

As a minimalist these are my go to shorts. I literally live in these shorts haha. I can travel just about anywhere with only these shorts. I can wear them as trunks when surfing and then turn around and go to dinner without skipping a beat. These are also the most comfortable shorts I have ever owned! They are super light weight and flexible. A min... Read Moreimalist must have!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches