Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18"

Write Your Review

4.49 /5

Kinda Large

Filter Reviews

All 39 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18"

4.49
Kinda Large
December 25, 2019

Great quality shorts he loves

Great quality shorts he loves them it was a Christmas gift

November 25, 2019

he likes them!

Bought these for my boyfriend who practically lived in them for 18 days rafting through the Grand Canyon. Seems he likes them :)

November 22, 2019

Minimalist Design

These board shorts are great. They are functional in the ocean and the pool. I also use them for crossfit style workouts on occasion and they work great for that. The material is pretty thin and semi see through when wet, so underoos are a must. I imagine I will get years of service out of these shorts

November 22, 2019

Absolutely loves them!

Absolutely loves them!

November 22, 2019

nice

nice

September 29, 2019

Total comfort

Very comfortable, good fit, fast drying, perfect for quick dips at the beach

September 28, 2019

Great suit, fits great, great

Great suit, fits great, great quality.

September 18, 2019

Quality and fun all in

Quality and fun all in one. Explore on.

September 15, 2019

Nice product and great customer service.

I really like my new shorts. I ordered them right before a trip to the beach and I ordered the wrong size. Working with customer service they were able to expedite a shipment to me and I received them before the trip. I’m very pleased.

September 12, 2019

Super Minimal, Fast Drying Boardshort

These boardshorts are great! They fit true to size and are super minimal. Perfect for a day at the beach, the pool or surfing. They are stretchy and have a useful back pocket. They fit slim around the leg and look great!

September 10, 2019

Fit great, Minimalist, light weight

Fit great, Minimalist, light weight and stretchy.

September 9, 2019

Material

Old boardshort material was much better

September 9, 2019

Shorts are amazing and the

Shorts are amazing and the quality is exactly what I have come to expect from Patagonia. The only thing that I was disappointed with was the amount of plastic wrap used. I received these shorts as part of an online order with other things and everything was individually wrapped in plastic.

September 7, 2019

Awesome Material

Super light and stretchy for my next surf trip. Love them.

September 6, 2019

Feel great, but see-through

I love the shorts, but I'm not sure I can keep them. My sensitive bits are visible through the thin material. I'm afraid I will have to return.

Response from Patagonia
September 19, 2019

We're sorry these are see-through! Please do feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

September 6, 2019

My New Favorite Short

I have a lot of Patagonia Board Shorts, in many different varieties. These are by far the most comfortable, best fitting of any so far. Simply designed, flawlessly produced, and incredibly comfortable! Please make them in more colors.

September 5, 2019

Men’s Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts 18"

The pocket is too small. It should be sized large enough to hold a large size phone in a case since most people on the beach have their phone on them.. The pocket would better be located on the thigh, instead of in the back, so that you do not have to sit on whatever is in your pocket. The material is excellent, it dries in 20 minutes. The cut is ... Read Morealso good, snug enough to swim and not have too much drag, loose enough to be comfortable. The stitching is well done also. While not perfect, it would be perfect with the above changes. Overall, it is the best bathing suit I have ever owned.

September 3, 2019

very comfortable

These shorts felt slightly tight for a 32, but they are so stretchy they feel almost like they aren't even there. Perfect for any activity involving lots of movement and/or water.

August 31, 2019

Awesome minimalistic boardshort.

Boardshorts that never get in your way. I also have the Stretch Planing 19", and these fit very similarly but are a bit shorter and slimmer. Tie stays tied when surfing! And super comfortably fitting waist band. Love these.

August 28, 2019

Best Boardies!

I've had a variety of boardshorts in my life and spend most my day in boardshorts— from surfing, to yoga, to hiking, etc. These are by far the most comfortable and functional ones I've ever found to date. Ordered three pairs and hope they will last me for the next couple years!

August 27, 2019

Hydropeak Boardshorts rock

I've been wearing my Hydropeak Boardshorts most of the summer while paddling around Lake Sammamish and other lakes around the Pacific Northwest. The added stretch has made all the difference in my comfort and freedom of movement. More times than not, I'll finish the paddle and head straight to the coffee shop or local deli for a quick bit... Read Moree before heading back to my design studio - because the shorts dry so quickly, I'm not the dripping wet, soggy guy in the shop. Longer paddle days I used to end up with some chaffing around the inner thigh, but that has disappeared with the new hydropeak shorts. Highly recommend these shorts to anyone looking for long days on the water.

August 24, 2019

Great but be VERY careful on sizing

Great minimalist shorts but be very careful on sizing- first time in water I realized there was no way I could use in pool or ocean without them falling off.

August 19, 2019

Great for Swimming

I got these shorts to finally upgrade my old swimming trunks. and I have to say these are probably the best I ever had. Once you hit the water, you can barely feel them. They dry really quickly and they clean well. I can't find anything wrong with these shorts.

August 17, 2019

Stylish & functional

I was looking to replace a beloved old pair of Quicksilver board shorts and landed on these (after returning more than a few pair). These were stylish and functional - super lightweight with moisture repellent fabric that dries very quickly.

August 15, 2019

Great quality feels like something

Great quality feels like something that will last a long time through a lot

August 15, 2019

Field Tested: Love them!

Took my new Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts on a surf trip to Panama. They are amazing. Super stretchy, fast-drying and very comfy!!

August 15, 2019

So comfy!

It’s a great fit and simple style. Love the athletic cuts on the side

August 14, 2019

Rocked my boardshorts 4 days in a row!

I love my new boardshorts. Super comfortable and great fit. Rocked them at Turtle Bay Resort on North Shore, Oahu 4 day in a row. Hooked.

August 12, 2019

See-through when wet

While the cut is good and the fabric is nice- it's got great stretch and is quick-drying- the Vjosa Green colorway is too light and is see-through when wet. Nothing like shocking the in-laws on your way out of the waves... I would think they would have tested that before going to market! Can I send them back for a new, darker color?

Response from Patagonia
August 23, 2019

Oh no! That's no good, we are so sorry about that. You can 100% [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) that back to us for a different color!

August 10, 2019

Perfect in every way, but pocket placment

The size was true, the length was true, the color was true. The gusset instead of a button-up fly was spectacular. It has held up well to constant use and stretches comfortable when stretching is require. So why did YOU place the pocket on the back? I paddle outrigger canoes. Everyone who goes in a boat needs a pocket that'll carry a knife, a ... Read Morewhistle, and a key. SO WHY PLACE YOUR POCKET WHERE YOU SIT DOWN? The Patagonia suit I bought last year had the pocket on the side which was okay. Would have been better if it was diagonally across the thigh. Look you cater to active people, not couch potatoes. A little practicality, puh - leeze.

August 10, 2019

Perfect shorts but missing pockets

I love everything about the look, fit, material, and quality but wish they had pockets.

June 28, 2019

Same great fabric and construction, worse fit

Have owned and loved a couple pairs of these shorts in the past and was looking forward to adding another pair, only to find the fit introduced this year to be considerably longer and baggier in the thigh. Previous fits had had a shorter outseam and slimmer profile, which looks better (in my opinion) and performs better with fewer snags while surfi... Read Moreng. Would love to see either a return to a trimmer fit or an additional option for one!

May 28, 2019

Not as good as last year's

I think they changed the design/fit bc it's a bit baggier than last year's which was excellent. I like them more snug fitting when surfing so the trunks don't drag or get caught anywhere. Last year's was a little more skim through the thighs and although the inseam is 18in last year's were a little shorter which helps not c... Read Moreatch your knees when surfing.

Response from Patagonia
June 11, 2019

We're sorry to hear you're dissatisfied with the new design and fit. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) it back to us and let us know if you have any questions.

May 12, 2019

All time fav

Favorite boardshorts I've ever owned. Really comfortable for all day surfing and relaxing by the pool. Pretty much lived in these all summer. Very quick drying/minimalist. Highly recommend.

May 10, 2019

18 Board Shorts

Great design and look

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

The shorts are very light and have a great fit and feel... my only gripe is the colors don't necessarily match the picture. The Mako Blue are picture with having a dark grey/black waistband, but in reality they are tan/light brown. Not a deal breaker, I still really like these shorts, just a little disappointing.

May 8, 2019

Perfect everyday summer shorts

I bought these in anticipation of a long, hot and humid Virginia summer. I am 5'10", 175lbs., and the 32 fits me comfortably though I think the 31 one would have been a perfect fit. I thought they would be a bit long as 18" but they fall just above the knee when standing and settle half way up the thigh when sitting - they look and f... Read Moreeel great! I bought the INK BLACK and will say there are not quite black black but rather a light almost grey. The cut is slim but not too tight. It doesn't look like I'm wearing board shorts at all. The back pocket is big enough to fit a iphone 6s in a large lifeproof case comfortably. So far I have worn them for hiking, biking, yoga, sleeping, and some light field work and they have been amazing! I haven't taken them swimming yet but I imagine they will be equally as amazing. I love how small they pack down. My only caution is that they are quite thin, be careful with thorns, abrasive materials, and all other things you shouldn't (technically) be wearing board shorts to do.

May 8, 2019

Great shorts

True size and very comfortable

May 7, 2019

Material is not durable and snags on nothing easily

I wanted a pair of stretch board shorts for a long sea kayaking trip to Palawan. I wore these the first day at the resort beach we went we first arrived and was mostly in the water with them for about two hours before coming back to our room and noticing a giant snag. Upon inspection I found two more. Not sure what caused them and how I got three i... Read Moren all odd places. There was also a seam that was messed up. The quality of these is a bust. Luckily I had a second pair of board shorts with me and used those the whole time instead of these as 3 weeks would have obliterated the fabric based on two hours of usage.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches