Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18"

Write Your Review

4.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 42 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Stretch Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18"

4.6/5
June 20, 2021

Perfect All Around

The fit is perfect and the material goes with your movement. Stretchy, but not too thin. Love these shorts.

May 9, 2021

Great board shorts no rash

Great board shorts no rash, and that pink color is hot YO!

May 7, 2021

Short

Love the material and the stretch. Like the pocket but would appreciate something larger to gra�b to open up the zipper. Feel personally that they are a bit too short for my length would not mind 2 more inches in leg-length. But great shorts, for sure:-)

May 3, 2021

Great comfort!

Only thing these pants are missing is a front or side zipper pocket that a iPhone could fit in.back pocket is kinda hard to get to when is zipped in the back of pant. Otherwise great pant!

April 23, 2021

Durable & Versatile

I use these boardshorts nearly exclusively for mat surfing in Hawaii. I travel for a living and I am in Hawaii for short periods regularly. These trunks are durable--they take salt, sun, and rough canvas without fuzzing up, weakening, or pilling. They stay up and tied-even when I'm kicking, getting stuffed, or contorting the mat. Most importan... Read Moretly, the trunks dry extremely quickly and take little space in the luggage. I've seen some reviews about a "see through" quality. I've not experienced that. Getting a second pair directly. I've used Patagonia boardshorts for 20 plus years. There is good reason for that loyalty.

April 16, 2021

Great boardshorts

These are awesome trunks. I haven't surfed in them yet - but I've yoga'd in them, swam in them, went for a walk in them - they are great. I will likely buy another pair very soon.

April 14, 2021

Nice Shorts - Mildly See Through

I like these as board shorts, and the intention is to use them under wet suit. However, I usually use my board shorts interchangeably for swimming. The other day after going for a dip, and casually strolling poolside, I realized you could see my leg hair pretty well through the shorts. And then I realized you could see my stuff through the board sh... Read Moreorts too. Not super clear, it's not gross, but like, on a bright day, if you're looking you'll see it. My wife called it out shortly there after. So watch out.

April 9, 2021

Favorite Board Shorts

While I will always love my baggies, these shorts have become my go-to's for kayaking, rafting, or any long days on the water. I like the stretchiness of the fabric and how quickly they dry! Glad to find some in Ultra Pink

March 26, 2021

No Ka Oi

I don't even bother to look at anything else; been using Patagonia Board Shorts for over 25 years. Last forever and fit just right; especially because these come in an 18" Inseam...great for us short guys.

March 25, 2021

Great boardshorts

Material and shorts are very comfortable for swimming, snorkeling, surfing and lounging.

March 24, 2021

Only thing I wear

I have been using Patagonia Board Shorts for well over 25 years now; took 10 years to rip the first pair. I have been using them ever since. They also come in 18" Inseam; great for us old timers and short guys.

March 18, 2021

Great as just trunking it or under wetsuit.

These cover the all needs for a board short. Whether it's wearing just the trucks, fitting into a wetsuit or sitting in a canoe they work! Quick dry and durable. Thanks!

March 8, 2021

Great board shorts

Super lightweight, fit perfect. Love these board shorts.

February 2, 2021

Love Patagonia Boardshorts

I've been a fan of Patagonia's boardshorts for quite some time and the Hydropeak's don't disappoint. Great length and perfect amount of stretch for the beach, surfing, hiking, working from home, whatever you're into...

January 29, 2021

Shorts move with you, light, awesome fabric.

Really made use of the small pocket...carried my ID, credit card and some cash.

January 15, 2021

Best Boardshorts

I use board shorts as casual wear, exercise and when I work on Dive boats. These shorts are comfortable, don't bunch and are one of the best pairs of shorts I own. Quickly moved up to one of my favorite pairs.

December 22, 2020

Flexes & dries

My ideal waist size is a 35, the 36 without elastic backup is a touch big. Under my wetsuit, no problem. Well see how well they stay on in warmer temps as my outer layer ️

December 15, 2020

Board Shorts

I won't buy anything else; not to mention the longevity.

November 27, 2020

The ideal board shorts, no joke.

Should you buy these shorts? Yes. Now, the question is, which ones and what size? Here's what I've learned so far: First: Don't get any light colors. Second: Be very real with yourself on your waist size. I wear a lot of 30" waist pants, where the luxury of a belt can make anything fit. That way, if my little beer belly ever s... Read Moreneaks back, I can at least still wear my pants until I can get my health routine back on track. I also prefer a looser fit, which is great because Patagonia does not make skinny jeans. But, when you're wearing board shorts, you have no such luxury. Make sure you buy the right size. I bought size 30's first, and had to have my Grandma reduce the waist size. The second pair I ordered was a 29, and they fit PERFECTLY. I could not be more happy with how they fit, seriously. And if I spend 2 months in Bali and wind up eating too much street food, fortunately they are flexible and I'd rather have these shorts slightly small than slightly large.

October 6, 2020

Perfect in the water

These board shorts never impede my movements. Honestly, they make you feel like you're naked. I've seen reviews suggesting that the lighter colors reveal too much visually, and I took their word for it. In all black, they manage to conceal the main member marvelously. When I paddle out in the Atlantic shore break wearing these, I feel lik... Read Moree I've got nothing holding me back. My only critique is after the paddling. The back pocket needs to be manipulated in order to fit a wallet or cellphone. The zipper is 3/4ths down the pocket, requiring a skillful closure. I appreciate the design, as it allows my cargo to ride high on my waist band, supported securely, however I find myself more often than not irritated by the difficulty of access. Of course, Patagonia, I MUCH prefer this design to the mid thigh pocket, but move the zipper higher or move the pocket lower, I need to be able to quickly access my goods!

September 27, 2020

Wear down fast, not good for sailing/windsurfing

Generally I have no complaints about anything I buy from Patagonia. However, the material on these shorts wore down after two times windsurfing from some minimal rub against a grippy board. They've also rubbed off even more from sailing and catch easily on cleats etc. If you're just using to swim I'm sure they're great; love the... Read More fit and stretch. If they're going to rub against anything though, I'd keep looking.

Response from Patagonia
December 2, 2020

We appreciate the detailed feedback, but we're sorry to hear the durability on these shorts has been disappointing. While they were designed for surfing, we will still be happy to [help](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) you return the product, as they're covered by our Ironclad Guarantee.

September 18, 2020

Ultra-light and strong

Love these stretch board shorts. A bit minimalist, I wear them to body surf steep waves so minimalist is perfect. Love them

September 16, 2020

Better Fit

Comfortable fit, fast drying board shorts. A trimmer fit than previous versions that were too baggy. I prefer no split on the outside leg as I feel it has the tendency to tear on that seam. Overall, great shorts!

September 15, 2020

Board shorts

Amazing short. Perfect length and love the new stretch. I had the same short from about 6 years ago (still going strong) but stained from years of use. They moved the pocket to the rear from the side which doesnt make sense to me because no body wants to sit on their wallet or phone in a board short. That said this product still rocks.

September 10, 2020

Love the stretch

Perfect fit and the stretch is so cozy when surfing.

September 7, 2020

Can't even tell they're there

Excellent trunks in all kinds of wave conditions. I've wore these in conditions on the NS of Oahu where most all other gear gives something up but these trunks hang tight. That while being ultra lightweight and stretchy.

September 7, 2020

Good Looking Board Shorts

Bought these for my husband to wear swimming on a recent trip. He likes the blue color and the quick drying fabric, but the front area below the drawstring doesn't lay smooth. It kinda gapes and looks strange. Not sure if it's the fit or the style. There's no opening there, so maybe it should have been sewn shut.

September 3, 2020

Comfort and style

I have been using Patagonia board shorts for a few years now, once you get past the price or even better find some on the summer sale, the value is well worth it. They have lasted me for a few seasons and dotn show any signs of pre-mature wear. The fit is good for me, I am tall and skinny and its hard to get shorts that fit me well, not only to the... Read More shorts fit me well but also are very comfortable. They stretch enough that I do Yoga in them, I hike in them, or just chill at the lake or beach all day. I would buy a new paid each season when I need them.

September 2, 2020

Comfortable quick dry

Great short for all day on the river, lake, or beach. Dry quick, fit well, and stretch when you move. Just like I've come to trust with Patagonia these shorts are well thought out, simple, and sturdy.

September 1, 2020

Everyday wear

Great Boardshorts. Comfortable to wear all day and into the evening. Dry fast.

September 1, 2020

Perfect boardshort

Perfect boardshort!

September 1, 2020

Super comfy!!

I do almost everything in these shorts; hike, relax, yoga, sleep. Super minimalist, very light, extremely comfy, almost silk like feel. If you are a fan of Patagonia's baggies, but dont like auto-matic underwear, these are the shorts for you.

August 14, 2020

Fabric leaves nothing to the imagination

I love the fit and information of these board shorts which is why I have to give this a one start review. My problem is with Vjosa Green. I ordered these back in February and didn't get to wear them until as month ago. That was my only wear because my entire body was clearly visible when the shirts were wet. My wife banned me from wearing them... Read More because she was worried about indecent exposure. I wish I was making this up because they were incredibly comfortable and for great, but I just can't not be seen in them. Help

Response from Patagonia
October 20, 2020

Hi Peter! Thanks so much for your feedback and we're really sorry that the boardshorts are see through. Please feel free to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) them back to us under warranty.

July 29, 2020

Gotta love the stretch!

These board shorts are awesome - the stretch material allows for excellent, non-binding mobility, and the 18" length is perfect. Color is cool, too. Simple, with one pocket - clean profile. Nice job, Patagonia!

July 28, 2020

Awesome shorts

Shorts are like a second skin! Feels like you have nothing on - and love the pink color. Dry in seconds! Only issue is the back pocket - needs to be iPhone sized! needs to be deeper its a little too small - would love an improved pocket!

June 30, 2020

The only board shorts youll need

These shorts are great, a bit stretchy but not too much. they dont hold water which is great for fast drying. super comfy and amazing materials and made of mostly recycled materials so its great for the world. I love mine, thinking of getting a second pair.

June 21, 2020

Super comfy

Loved these! They fit great, are super comfortable, light and stretchy

June 17, 2020

Super comfy

Loved these! They fit great, are super comfortable, light and stretchy

June 15, 2020

Love these shorts

Honestly these are the best board shorts Ive ever had. On my second pair and I will likely purchase again. I love how simple and easy-wearing they are. Thanks Patagonia!

June 4, 2020

Excellent!

Bayou Blue colorway and 13% spandex caught my eye so I decided to give these a try. So glad I did. I would compare these to a competitors product material that rhymes with mhantom, which by the way in my opinion has had declining quality issues over the last few years. The mhantoms have been my go to watersports uniform for a decade, but theres fin... Read Moreally a worthy contender. These are no-frills, light, stretchy and extremely comfortable shorts for those who spend a lot of time in, on or near the water. Im typically a 34-36, but ended up sizing up based on reviews of another Patagonia short I recently bought that ran small. Id say these may run just slightly small, but YMMV. Hopeful theyll offer more colors.

May 18, 2020

Very tight fit and even tighter when wet

These trunks are great in the sense that the material holds it's color and it seems to be durable so far. However, they run so small and suction cup to your body when they get wet. I don't really feel comfortable wearing these swimming with a group of people or surfing because of how tight they get and how revealing they are. I am so bumm... Read Moreed because I left my other brand hoping these trunks would last longer and fit better and the fit really doesn't work for me.

Response from Patagonia
June 3, 2020

We are sorry to hear that the fit isn't working out for you in these. We appreciate that feedback and hope you can [send](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) these back to us since they aren't fitting properly.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches