burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18" Reviews

Write Your Review

4.7/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
  • 42
  • 44
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 32 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Hydropeak Boardshorts - 18"

4.7/5
True To Size
December 19, 2022

Great boardshorts but don't chose your size based on other Patagonia shorts

I really like the fit and material of these boardshorts. They are comfortable and the material seems to be more durable than others I've owned. Here are the negatives from my pov: There is a back pocket which makes no sense to me. I would prefer a side pocket like they put on the wavefarer shorts. As I've found across a lot of Patagonia... Read More clothing, sizing is not consistent across product lines, so you can't buy the same size shorts in every style and it's best to try them on first. I wear a 31 in the Wavefarer and a 33 in the Hydropeak, which is very frustrating.

Response from Patagonia
December 24, 2022

Hi Joe, thank you for submitting this review. Feedback like this is immensely helpful, not only to other customers but also to our product designers. We will make sure it gets to the right place!

December 7, 2022

Son loved them!

Got these for a trip to surf camp with my son- he loved them and was really ripping it on the waves!! (He is 5ft 8in and size 30 fit great)

November 28, 2022

Excellent swim trunks

I love these. Cut is just right. I'm 6'3" and 195lb. Size 36 waist is perfect. Can hike to a swimhole in these or a day at the beach or quick laps at the Y pool. Simple product, but just right. Gonna order another one or two..maybe try the 21" length.

October 17, 2022

Very Nice Board Shorts

These fit great. They are awesome for days at the beach.

September 30, 2022

Fantastic Swim Trunks

I'm 5'10, 160 lbs and the size 32 was spot on. I enjoy the soft stretch fabric and the lacing on the shorts keeps the material secure to your waist. These are fantastic swim trunks and my wife has told me I need a second pair b/c I wear them all the time.

September 27, 2022

Fit well and comfortable

Great board shorts

September 21, 2022

They are great

Fits well and looks great

September 17, 2022

A weak pocket on the back

Great material and stitch. Good lengths to prevent inner thigh wax burn. Sad little pocket on the back that grinds your wax and car key into your butt cheek. The hook-and-loop is a weak closure. Expect your stuff to be gone. Pray the little leash holds your key. Move the pocket to the side. Use a longer hook-and-loop or add a simple zipper. Make th... Read Moree pocket deeper for dry use too. So close!

Response from Patagonia
September 28, 2022

Hi Drew, thank you for sharing this feedback; it's immensely helpful to our product designers, as well as to other customers. We're sorry to hear the back pocket of these shorts isn't working for you! Please keep in mind you are always welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) anything that doesn’t work out for you, and let us know if we can be of any help!

September 16, 2022

Best trunks Ive ever had

Stretchy but not too stretchy and still robust. They dry fast in they are light. Seems like they're gonna last a long time.

September 16, 2022

Fantastic boardshorts.

These are excellent, comfortable, quick-drying board shorts. They fit true to size and are ocean ready!

September 15, 2022

Comfortable, great fit

Great set of board shorts. The new material is good, doesn't bunch up and dries quickly. Fit is just right. The only odd thing is, once again, the tags sewn into the waistband. There are 4 tags total, 3 are 4 inches long, printed both sides, 1 about an inch long, by 1 inch wide full of all kinds of printed stuff. So, I want to find the "c... Read Moreare instructions" or how best to clean 'em up. Nowhere in this voluminous bunch of tags does it state in English the care instructions. There's Spanish, German, Dutch (?), 3 different Asian instructions in non-Roman alphabets (I'm guessing what they say, honestly no idea). How 'bout something in English as well?

Response from Patagonia
September 27, 2022

Hi Charles, thank you for sharing this feedback on the care tags; we will share it with our product team. We include instructions in a variety of languages because of our customers in different countries. For details on washing instructions and the Federal Trade Commission's Product guide to those universal care symbols you can check out these [Product Care pages](https://www.patagonia.com/repairs). Please let us know if we can be of any help on this side!

September 14, 2022

Nice suit for around the

Nice suit for around the pool. Fabric is a little thin for more sporting activities.

September 9, 2022

Great style and color

Love the board shorts, great fit as it took a couple of tries, waist size very different from Mtn Bike shorts to board shorts.. Style and color are good, comfortable and adequate pocket.

September 6, 2022

Awesome board shorts

These shorts are totally worth it, slightly stretchy, fast drying, don't chafe - very glad I bought them

August 16, 2022

NEW SWIMSUIT

Veery nice. Dry Quick. Secure Closure. Fit Well. Quick Delivery. All in All, I am very satisfied with the purchase.

August 16, 2022

Great shorts.

These shorts are really good and the fit is great. The only complaint I have is that they are tight going on, other than that I'm happy.

August 10, 2022

Great For Surfing and the Beach

I have a couple pairs the older Stretch Hydroplaning and Wavefarers in the 21" length. They were a little too big in the waist and long in the legs so I finally these newer ones in a smaller waist and length. The fit is exactly as described. They are a slim fit and fit closer to the thigh but have plenty of give when wet to not bind. They dr... Read Morey quick and I had no chafing issues. My only gripe is the location of the pocket. It should be on the side. Anything in the pocket is just annoying.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2022

Hi Ryan! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the pocket placement. Feedback like this is crucial to improving things for future seasons so we'll share this with our design team.

July 23, 2022

Swimming?

I was really looking for a swimsuit with internal fabric.

July 13, 2022

Great Beach shorts

Great fit, great flexibility and quick drying.

June 26, 2022

Flexible

The hydro lock board short Is really lite and comfortable short The fabric is super stretchy and flexible But also can be very sensitive Its a light material so its not super durable to rough surfaces

June 18, 2022

Great shorts

This is my third pair of this specific style of board shorts. Compared to the pair I bought a couple of years ago, these have changed quite a bit. They are shorter on the leg, the back pocket is Velcro instead of zipper, and the overall sizing seems to be off. A 32 from two years ago fits me perfectly, but this time I had to purchase a 33. And with... Read More no free shipping or returns, Id say the shorts become more of an investment than a purchase. Overall, Im happy with them - just a few quirks to navigate.

June 2, 2022

Light as a feather

These are the most comfortable board shorts I have ever worn. The new 18 in length is perfect, and the stretch fabric gives tremendous movement and freedom.

June 1, 2022

Good trunks

Awesome, fit great. dry fast, comfortable and the ladies like em

May 30, 2022

Like theyre not even there

Super comfortable, lightweight board shorts. Im 6 and they definitely are above the knees. Im pretty slim and they fit me well, but definitely snug while you put them on. Sometimes they do ride up when youre in the water. Otherwise great!

May 21, 2022

Active Fit

The fit enables easy movement, its quick drying and durable.

May 20, 2022

Extremely Comfortable

These shorts look great and are extremely light weight. At times I can't tell I'm even wearing anything!

May 4, 2022

Perfect for summer!!!

Beautiful material and fit. Comfortable and washes so well. Quality item!

April 26, 2022

Nice Quality and Good Design

I like the design of the shorts. There's no internal netting if you're into that style. Additionally, there are no front pockets but there is a good sized back pocket that is velcro.

April 25, 2022

Good choice for surf fishing

Slapped the shorts on and went fishing on the shore at Cape Henlopen State Park. Very comfortable....................

April 4, 2022

Fits like a golve

These board shorts are great. They fit really well and dry super quick. Lots of freedom of movement as well.

April 2, 2022

My Favorite Surf Teunk

Patagonia surf trunks are my go to shorts for any watersports. Comfortable, quick drying, stretchy. Im happy that these shorts dont have the split opening on the out seam that the previous year featured.

April 1, 2022

Free and easy

In the surf, walking the coves and soaking up the sun....I love them. Quick dry and back pocket comes in handy.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches