Back to Product

Patagonia Men's MOC Hybrid Shorts - 21"

Write Your Review

4.5 /5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

All 56 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's MOC Hybrid Shorts - 21"

4.5
True To Size
July 10, 2020

Solid shorts

These shorts look good and perform well. I always have a little trouble getting the size right on Patagonia bottoms and these are a little loose.

July 9, 2020

Runs small but I love them

It is the perfect pair of shorts. Comfortable, stretchy in all the right places and secure pockets. Only issue is that it runs small. I normally wear a 32 but I needed to get a 35 to have it fit the right way. Im thinking of getting a second pair of each color (yes, I have one of each color).

June 26, 2020

Best pair of shorts I have ever owned!

My weight-167 My height-511 Fit-perfect (35) Comfort- very comfortable Yvon Chouinards company produces the finest fair trade and environmentally low impact products in the world that he totally respects. One of my favorite companies to do business with. Thanks to all who contribute to this consciously functioning company!

June 21, 2020

Versatile Freedom

These shorts are seriously the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn. Light, stretchy and quick drying make these great for surfing or scrambling rocks. I have hiked, surfed, paddle boarded and backpacked in these and there is complete freedom of movement. Nice stretch-factor for yoga too. Like wearing nothing. Came back for more colors. I buy a... Read Morenother pair of these in Navy if they made them.

June 21, 2020

One Short to Rule Them All (Bwah ha ha!)

It's now summer in Idaho, which means long days and lots of options. With these shorts, I don't need to change between work meetings (ok, Zoom meetings), riding my bike to the grocery store, hiking with the dog, taking my SUP out on the pond, or wet wading with my fly rod. The secure extra pockets keep my sunglasses from floating away and... Read More car keys from disappearing when I fall off my SUP. If you have to pick one short for the summer, this is it.

June 17, 2020

Poor Pocket Design

For me, poor pocket design. My billfold fell out of the back pockets which have a fold over that in my case did not work. The zipper side pocket is too small for phone (iPhone 6s). So while the fit is good, I need to have my billfold in front pocket and wear a shirt with pockets to carry my iPhone. Not ideal and I would not recommend these shorts f... Read Moreor work, or where you need all your "stuff".

June 17, 2020

Great Shorts!

i can not tell you how much I love these shorts. I bought two pair, khaki and grey and this summer as soon as I get home from work, I put one pair on. Great for bumming around, especially hanging out in a beach town. The technical fabric dries really quickly. My wife says they are board shorts swim trunks disguised as cargo shorts but I don't ... Read Morecare. They're comfortable and awesome.

June 17, 2020

One Short to Rule Them All (Bwah ha ha!)

It's now summer in Idaho, which means long days and lots of options. With these shorts, I don't need to change between work meetings (ok, Zoom meetings), riding my bike to the grocery store, hiking with the dog, taking my SUP out on the pond, or wet wading with my fly rod. The secure extra pockets keep my sunglasses from floating away and... Read More car keys from disappearing when I fall off my SUP. If you have to pick one short for the summer, this is it.

June 17, 2020

Versatile Freedom

These shorts are seriously the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn. Light, stretchy and quick drying make these great for surfing or scrambling rocks. I have hiked, surfed, paddle boarded and backpacked in these and there is complete freedom of movement. Nice stretch-factor for yoga too. Like wearing nothing. Came back for more colors. I buy a... Read Morenother pair of these in Navy if they made them.

May 22, 2020

Sizing is WAY off

I purchased these shorts for all-around wear. I'm an avid fly fisherman and I wear them in and out of the water constantly. Previous pairs of these shorts that I have purchased have been amazing. I wear a size 31 in all of my other Patagonia pants/shorts and they fit very comfortably. However, this version (2020) doesn't fit at all. The... Read More fit is extremely tight across the face of the shorts which makes them uncomfortable to have on. Another confusing point is why a zipper has been paired with the drawstrings. I will return the 31's I purchased, but I'm not sure I want to exchange them for a bigger size as I'm afraid that the shorts will then be too big in the waist and still too tight across the face. In other pairs of these shorts I've owned, I love the fabric and the feel, but because I can't wear them I have to give it 2/5 stars.

Response from Patagonia
June 4, 2020

Thank you for your feedback on this and we are sorry to hear about the troubles with sizing. We always want to ensure you're satisfied so if you're not able to put these to use, we'd be happy to help with a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html).

December 14, 2019

A bit too long but still an amazing fabric

I bought one of those a few years back and bought a new color recently. Something has changed. The length of the legs probably and it's kinda too long now...not cool because that was one my most used shorts. I used my old one for everything, from walking in the street to going to the beach, to surfing, to running. Never worn any underwear unde... Read Morer it, never had any issue, or rash or anything.

October 22, 2019

In style

Comfortable. Stylish. Quality product. Great for many activities. Right color. Useful for carrying things in pocket.

September 20, 2019

These are the best shorts I have ever owned.

Nearly used them every day. I ordered two of them and right now I have one of them on. You’ll catch me even sleeping on them. They are strechy and really comfortable. You can take them even surfing.

September 12, 2019

Nice shorts!

I love these shorts. Very good in the hot Hawaii weather and love the stretch. They do run a size or so big.

September 4, 2019

great shorts

Just spent 2 1/2 days canyoneering in Zion and didn’t need another pair of shorts. Dried rather quickly in the canyons so didn’t get too cold. Overall very pleased although the 21” length might be a little long and is a touch too much fabric.

September 3, 2019

MOC hybrids

Third pair (Light green camo-tan & camo green ) Best shorts known to man Versatile Across the board full usage shorts. Summer autumn spring wear anytime gear.

August 31, 2019

Great fit

I bought these for my husband. He loves the fit and the fabric. Great buy

August 30, 2019

Love the shorts

The shorts are perfect.

August 29, 2019

Sizing is off; "ladder lock drawstring closure" is useless.

I wanted to like these shorts; I was attracted to the quick dry fabric and multiple pocket options. Initially, I ordered a size 31; they fit fine at the waist, but were much too snug in the seat and legs, so I ordered a size 32. The larger size fit comfortably in the seat and legs; unfortunately they are too big in the waist and fall down to my hip... Read Mores unless I wear a belt. The "ladder lock drawstring closure" is useless; it doesn't tighten the waist but functions as a button would, except that a button is better there. The drawstring closure is also not a good match with a belt...or the zipper. I'm slim; 5'11 and 155 lbs. These shorts are most assuredly not "regular fit" at least not in a 31.

Response from Patagonia
September 5, 2019

Thanks for the feedback here on sizing and fit. We are sorry to hear that you were in-between sizes and having a hard time making these work. Please allow us to [assist](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) in that [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return) to make it as easy as possible for you.

August 29, 2019

Great swim shorts

Love 'em. Super impressed with the material, they're a great mix of stretch and strong. They're comfortable to wear in and out of the water, and the stretch/flexibility element makes them great for hikes as well.

August 29, 2019

Do everything short

Hike, swim, paddle, hangout, whatever you want to do they work great. One short to do it all. Secure pockets for your stuff (like a room key or a CC) is another big plus for me.

August 17, 2019

Great Shorts!

Dress them up for work or dinner, Dress them down for the beach or bar. These shorts are good everywhere!

August 17, 2019

These shorts rock

Very comfortable, great fit. I love that these shorts do not have a button so on those days when you load up on carbs you just loosen the waist tie.

August 17, 2019

Best shorts I have ever worn

I've used it for everything since they got home. From surfing to hiking to walking in the city, they are comfortable and lightweight. Would buy another pair.

August 15, 2019

3 Stars for no button

I really like these shorts! HOWEVER I don't understand the use of a tie instead of a button. Especially when the tie cannot actually make the shorts tighter it just closes them. Which means you'll still need a belt....which means you've got a belt buckle over a wad of tied shoestring. *smh*

August 15, 2019

Mens MOC Hybrid Shorts

Wow, you guys nailed this short, this very well might be my favorite short and certainly the best short I've ever had from Patagonia (Along with the new Mountain bike shorts!). Why do I like these shorts so much? Not only is the fabric durable but quiet and light. These are much more than a board short and the most multi functional short for t... Read Morehese reasons. I can use these shorts for a spear fishing session in the water, then get out and dry out quick and go for a hike. The pockets are absolutely functional, I love that they are more secure and can hold keys and wallet while traveling. Not only is the draw string great with stitched ends so they can't come out, but the actual opening also has a zip and even better and the thing that sealed the deal on these is that it also has belt straps, which is good for travel and or I can have a belt for a knife and other attachment zone with a belt for diving or other activities. I really can't say enough and I've been wanting to order a couple more pairs. I would only buy this short moving forward I think. Hope this helps you get into the perfect short! Cheers

August 15, 2019

Stylie & Comfie

These shorts rule! Lightweight yet sturdy with enough pockets to make them truly utilitarian.

August 15, 2019

Best All Around Shorts Ever

These are the most comfortable versatile shorts of all time. You can wear them for anything from casual wear out and about, to hiking, to swimming.

August 15, 2019

MOC Hybrid shorts 21

An excellent product, comfortable, fabric dries quickly.

August 12, 2019

Best shorts

These are the best shorts I own, versatile and well constructed. Perfect for all activities.

August 11, 2019

Too big and a little long

The Hybrid short is a good idea. I have an older pair of shorts that are similar. Basically trunks with pockets. My old ones are not stretchy but very light weight material and very functional so I ordered the Hybrid shorts. I ordered the same size as always 33 waist. These were so loose when I tied them that the eyelets stacked on top of each othe... Read Morer. I hate sending things back but knew that I wouldn't wear them and they would be unusable if I lost any weight at all. I don't know if all Hybrids run big or just a few got sized up. They are a great product and I was very sad to send them back. I would recommend them to a friend if I was convinced this was just bad luck and most of them run true to size. I teach kayak and SUP and basically live in Patagonia board shorts and have 10 pair.

Response from Patagonia
August 20, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts were a disappointment. You're always welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) items to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

August 10, 2019

Too stiff and bulky.

Too stiff and bulky.

Response from Patagonia
August 15, 2019

We are sorry to hear that you found these shorts to be stiff and bulky! We grantee everything we make and if you are ever unsatisfied, please feel free to send these back for a [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html#searchterm=return). We'd be glad to offer any [assistance](https://www.patagonia.com/customer-service.html#searchterm=contact) with this.

August 10, 2019

2 thumbs up

Super comfortable, fit great and dry super fast. Without a doubt the most comfortable “bathing suit” I have ever worn.

August 10, 2019

moc hybrid short 21 Tarkamo Multi Print

The printed short runs a bit large. Tried a pair of the hybrid shorts on in the Pasadena store to be sure. They were out of the print but the short fitted just fine. I've purchased this short in the past and liked the fit. There was no Patagonia inside the waist band label that normally has the sizing. The package sizing was correct. The only... Read More thing I can think is that this particular print short is assembled in a different location then the other Moc Hybrid shorts.

August 10, 2019

Very comfortable

It’s stretchy and comfortable to wear, great amount of pockets for convenience.

July 23, 2019

Great design but black material is ocean scum magnet

I really like these shorts but each time I get in the ocean (SoCal), my shorts come out of the water with a filthy dirty residue all over. First, I thought it was because I was paddle boarding in Marina Del Rey but it happens also in the cleaner waters of Malibu. I wish I can attach pics on his review board. These are nice shots only if you don’t g... Read Moreet them wet.

Response from Patagonia
July 24, 2019

Sorry to hear that the shorts have been a disappointment. You're welcome to [return](https://is.gd/DQq2nw) them to a Patagonia-owned store or send them in for a refund or merchandise credit.

June 22, 2019

Best multi-usage short EVER

This is not only the best short I've ever bought from Patagonia but this is also the best short I've bought in my entire life (I'm 46!). This is to me definitely an essential & classic piece of apparel for your everyday use. It is true to the size, very very comfortable, super practical with its 4 pockets (one buttoned, one zippe... Read Morered). It can be both a boardshort (it dries quickly) or a regular city/travel short to wander around and stash your wallets and keys. I don't ever wear underwear with it and never had an issue. I'm actually buying more of those now because, in the spring and summer when it's hot, they are all I wear as a bottom. Oh and they dry fast.

May 10, 2019

MOC Hybrid Shorts

Great shorts with an awesome design. Perfect for traveling, especially if you are going to be in and out of the water. One complaint though, the size is way off. I have another pair of these shorts (purchased 2 years ago) and they fit just fine. Unfortunately these do not. I don’t know if it is a “one off” issue or the waist was cut differently, bu... Read Moret they are way too big (I have worn the same size in Patagonia board shorts for at least 15 years). I have to tighten the waist all the way just to wear them, and even then they are falling off my hips. I tried drying them in the dryer to get them to shrink a little, but no luck. I recommend going down one size from your normal size. Normally would give 5 stars, but sizing brought it down to a 3 star.

Response from Patagonia
June 6, 2019

Hi Sean, Thanks so much for your feedback and we're sorry to hear the sizing isn't quite right. Please know, your purchase is always guaranteed and we're happy to process a return or exchange for you. We'll reach out privately!

May 8, 2019

Great all around short

I love the slightly baggier cut. And the pockets are super functional. I wear these for everything from hanging out to hiking to longboarding.

May 8, 2019

Comfortable and Good Quality

We use these shorts for our boat crew who wear them daily and are in and out of the ocean. We love the durability and wicking. They look classy and wear well.

May 8, 2019

Perfect.

These shorts are my preferred length. Coverage is maximised no matter the activity. The stretchy material is light and comfortable. Ample pockets and strong seams. In a word, perfect.

August 9, 2018

summer go to

I basically live in trunks during summer but they usually lack enough pockets for normal life - i.e. a wallet, keys, knife, phone, etc. This hybrid short is the answer. You can go between any and all activities and never take em off. I actually own an earlier version and decided to get another pair but there have been a number of improvements here ... Read Morewith a more durable fabric, zip fly, and nice details like the secure folder over side pocket, tacked down rear pockets with stealth drainage, reinforced hand pockets, and a gusseted crotch. Belt loops seem a bit unnecessary in my opinion and I wouldn’t mind zippered hand pockets like the older version, but overall these things are my unquestionable favorites.

May 31, 2018

Favorite shorts

These are the most comfortable and versatile walk shorts/trunks I've ever owned. Super lightweight and quick drying,equally adept for cruising around town,hiking in the mountains or surfing in them. I now own four pair of these and am stoked to see additional colors being introduced.

February 3, 2018

Poor fit

I'll start off by saying these have a great design. I'm a fan of the material,length and pockets. Too bad I can't enjoy them because of the odd fit. For reference I'm 6' 180. I normally wear a 33. The 33 was too tight in the waist and tight in the hips. So I got the 34's and the waist fit but the hips were still tight.... Read More Considered getting the 35's but I'm realizing this is just the fit of these shorts. Too bad because I was really looking forward to spending my Philippines vacation in these!

October 8, 2017

Go-to shorts

Super stoked on these I tend to wear them all the time. Great for travel and bone fishing. The crotch seam did fail a bit but Patagonia has a great warranty.

September 17, 2017

My go to shorts

I love the fit,the pockets,and the quick drying material. Perfect for fishing in the Keys or everyday wear in this Florida heat.

August 20, 2017

Amazing shorts

I have worn these deep water soloing in Mallorca and late the same day I have taken them to the club. They are versilte,comfortable,and practical with secure pockets.

July 15, 2017

Great Beach & Lake Shorts

If a typical summer day at the lake is hanging out on the dock,jumping in the boat to go water skiing,and chasing the kids for a game of tag on the beach,these shorts are perfect. Wear them all day. Dry quick. The material hangs nice so they always seem to look good. Great shorts. Bought one,quickly ordered another. The Nouveau Green is a cool colo... Read Morer.

July 5, 2017

Most versatile pair of shorts

Great all around shorts from the brew to the water

June 19, 2017

Very light weight and comformtable!

Based on other comments about sizing running small,I went with a 34" (I am reliably a 32" in most other Patagonia waist size. A 34 in this short fits me perfectly! Hopefully,this will help others out there make the appropriate adjustment.

May 23, 2017

Perfect river runner shorts

These shorts combine the fit and look of board shorts with a zipper fly and pockets. I've worn these on a couple of river trips and they are great for river guides and other amphibious pursuits where you are constantly transitioning between land and water.

May 21, 2017

Runs small,well made

I bought these shorts for myself but my son has them now as they were too small. The next larger size was sold out. When you purchase these you may want to go with a size larger than you wear if you don't need a belt.

April 23, 2017

Finally the perfect pair!

I waited and waited.... And finally Patagonia came through with a pair of surf trunks that double as a casual pair of strolling shorts or vice versa. A complete trunk with ample pockets,a key string secure in a zippered pocket. A pair of shorts that I can wear to the gym followed by a casual stroll/bike ride straight into the water for a swim/surf.... Read More... Made from durable material in a great cut.... What can I say,I love these shorts... They are... Perfect!

April 4, 2017

Product description is inaccurate

The front zipper unzips itself unless the drawstring is tightly cinched so if you have a belly be sure to size up. A flat zipper is good (if you are surfing) but a locking zipper would be an improvement in this hybrid short. The product description is misleading - the rear pockets are advertised as self-draining but there is no mesh inside. I would... Read More have given this product 5-stars but that is a serious omission of truth and therefore I would not recommend them to a friend. If this short is improved or the product description corrected I would give my endorsement. Also: It's a minor issue but the front pockets are as presented in the photograph but not the description - the zippered pocket is on the right leg. Otherwise,these shorts are very comfortable,the stretch fabric is perfect and the length is right on the knee. I chose the Buffalo Green colorway and they look great. I will wear these on land but not in the water.

February 16, 2017

Too small for me

Dang it! Bought a size 30 waist because everything else I've ever bought from Patagonia has been a size 30 and has fit me well. Until now. These fit like they were a size or two smaller. Like a 28. Maybe they just tagged them wrong... Curious to see if this is an isolated mismatch,because if it is I'll order them again and hope for a bett... Read Moreer fit. BTW,it's a shame I have to give it a star rating when it's a size-related issue and not a quality-related issue. Just saying. I love this company.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches