burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's Wavefarer® Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts - 18"

Write Your Review

4.1/5

Kinda Small

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 28
  • 29
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • 35
  • 36
  • 38
  • 40
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 24 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's Wavefarer® Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts - 18"

4.1/5
Kinda Small
August 16, 2022

Love these shorts, I have

Love these shorts, I have to purchase 2 more in different colors.

August 12, 2022

Very comfortable

These shorts have been awesome so far! Very comfortable, very versatile, and have been useful in multiple different situations. The only critic I have is that I wish there was an actual button or clip at the belt line instead of just a velcro patch. Other than that I have loved them.

August 9, 2022

Comfortable, high-performance

So comfortable I can walk for miles! Perfect for swimming too. The waist band is well-designed. Love the focus on sustainable fabrics.

August 5, 2022

But for the Velcro ...

Really want to like these shorts. Material is lightweight and durable, and the shorts themselves are comfortable. I like the pockets. In that sense, these shorts are what I was looking for -- something I could wear in the water, then not feel like I needed to change out of them to head into town or just hang out. My issue is the darn velcro closure... Read More instead of a button or snap. It's a deal killer for me. It's not super grippy velcro. Maybe Patagonia designers chose a lightweight velcro because they don't want it to be scratchy, but by going with a softer velcro, it barely holds together. Numerous times I would discover that the top of my shorts had come unstuck, and I'm not busting out of the shorts by any means. My Birdwell board shorts have a button at the fly, and that's been no issue. I don't feel the button when I'm on my board. Why Patagonia couldn't do the same I have no idea. The velcro is OK at the back pocket -- though a button would be preferred there as well -- but it simply is a design fail at the waist. It's too bad. Shorts are good otherwise. But these are not inexpensive shorts. They should be better.

August 3, 2022

Material fell apart

I got these shorts anticipating they would last a decade like my last pair of Patagonia swim trunks. I use them in rivers, lakes ,swimming pools, hot tubs, etc. Within a week the nice dark blue color started to fade and by the end of the month they were very light gray, almost white. Then the material started to disintegrate. I would blame it on a ... Read Morebad mix of chemicals in a swimming pool or hot tub, but I switched to a pair of old running shorts and I haventhad any issues with them in the same location. I think that maybe the recycled material does not hold up to chlorine and/or salt water.

Response from Patagonia
August 8, 2022

Hi Philip, we're so sorry to hear that the Wavefarer® Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts didn't hold up. We can definitely help out with a [warranty return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) under our Ironclad Guarantee. We'll reach out to you as well just in case you need further assistance.

July 30, 2022

Game Changer

These shorts! They have been a game changer for me. I walk dogs for a living, often over 20 miles a day. I needed a pair of shorts that was hybrid, a board short but with more pockets. Less fabric but strong enough to really handle life. VOILA! It's as if you're a mind reader, Patagonia. I now have these in 3 colors, why not!?! Thank you ... Read MorePatagonia!! I would recommend these to everybody.

July 29, 2022

Kayaking in the UP

Loved the fit and feel of these board shorts. Was able to use them on a recent kayaking trip we took to Munising, MI. They felt great for the 5 hour trip! Quick to dry. Loved them!

July 22, 2022

Comfortable style

Love these shorts. They have a little stretch to them so are comfortable on hikes and when I'm just kicking it. If I lived somewhere that didn't require a 4.3mm wetsuit I'd surf in them, too. I like the way they look good with a T Shirt or a casual short sleeve button down. So impressed I now have them in 3 different colors!

July 18, 2022

Almost perfect

These are great for swimming in (minimal drag compared to many other hybrid shorts) and comfortable to walk around in. They just needs a zipped back pocket so you can store things securely when swimming to make them perfect. I wear a 36 in most pants/shorts but had to size up to the 38 in these.

Response from Patagonia
July 21, 2022

Hi David! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate the request for a zippered back pocket. Feedback like this helps us to improve products for future seasons. We'll share this with our design team.

July 18, 2022

Great surf shorts with pockets.

Great fit and great features compared with the standard Wavefarer shorts -- the side pockets are the big plus, but the shorts still fit like wavefarers (as opposed to the much looser Baggies) and dry quickly as well. Highly recommend for all water sports.

July 17, 2022

Good fit and seem durable

Great shorts for casual/everyday wear and pool/beach lounging. Fit and color are as described. Wish the rope/tie and Velcro faster was replaced with a button... Then these would be perfect.

July 11, 2022

They are sort of a

They are sort of a cross between swimming trunks and shorts. I wear them. They are comfortable. The Velcro closure is next to worthless.

June 28, 2022

Comfortable fit

Very good quality

May 30, 2022

Legs were wet shorts were not

Waded into the water thigh deep to get a ball, when I came out my legs were wet but the shorts weren't. These seem perfect for walking your dog on the beach.

May 25, 2022

Tiny Pockets

Big fan of wavefarer walking shorts for years. These are not those. Granted , I may hands may be big, but they dont even close to fitting inside the pockets. Not even close.

Response from Patagonia
May 27, 2022

We're sorry to hear that these shorts have been a disappointment! We welcome you to return them to your nearest Patagonia-owned retail store or to our service center. You might prefer our [Men's Hydropeak Walk Shorts](https://www.patagonia.com/product/-mens-hydropeak-hybrid-walk-surf-shorts-19-inch/86475.html)!

May 21, 2022

OK

These shorts are fine. I was trying to replace a pair of Patagonia shorts I bought a few years ago, and hoping the fabric would be a little lighter and pliable. The fabric is still comfortable and the shorts feel like they will be durable. I tend to wear pants and shorts on my hips, and these kind of restrict the range of motion in my hips; may imp... Read Moreact bouldering, unless they are hiked up. I wish the waist was a little more forgiving and that the drawstring was just a string on the inside of the waistband.

Response from Patagonia
May 24, 2022

Hi Joseph, sorry to hear that the Wavefarer® Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts weren't what you expected. Please feel free to begin a [return or exchange](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.htm) at any time.

May 19, 2022

versatile shorts

I just recently received these shorts. I returned the original order 35" waist (too tight) and exchanged them for 36". Some of my Patagonia trunks run a little big so they aren't very secure when surfing that's why I originally sized down. Not necessary with this style. So far so good. I haven't had them in the water yet bu... Read Moret wore them all weekend and they are the new go to shorts.

May 19, 2022

Ran way small for me.

I wear a size 38 in everything else, but these shorts were way, way too small for me. The quality is fine but both pairs I ordered were returned.

Response from Patagonia
May 20, 2022

We're truly sorry to hear the Men's Wavefarer Hybrid Walk Surf Shorts were off in sizing. If you have any questions about your return, please contact [Customer Service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/). We have passed your thoughts along to our Design Team. Thank you so much for your feedback.

May 19, 2022

Good functional board short

Love the material and durability. Feels really good through movements. Definitely my new go to for board shorts especially on the length. Long days in the water with short boardies kill the inside thigh. For casual wear I would say theyre okay. The pockets need to be a bit larger to be fully cross function worthy especially if youre wearing under... Read Morewear. Packable like baggies, if youve got that problem like me? Pack em in a bag and change before you head out for the day from work!

May 18, 2022

Great!

Only thing is the zipper is different. Not used to board shirts with a zipper

April 28, 2022

Better than expected

Very cool and comfortable shorts. If Patagonia comes out with a dark black I'll buy another pair.

April 26, 2022

Too short

Great design but ended up returning because 18 inches is just too short to be that versatile. If these were 19 or 20 inches long, would be a go-to pair of shorts and would buy multiple pairs. Disagree with the other reviewer -- the zipper and side pockets are awesome and what make them wearable in different situations.

April 22, 2022

one issue

i returned this item because it has a zipper! please make these without a zipper!

April 2, 2022

Velcro

Amazing shorts!! I felt the velcro on the inside is unnecessary though. The lace belt gets stuck to the Velcro and damages the lace. Nothing major. Just annoying sometimes.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches