burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx

Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R3? Yulex? Back-Zip Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.5/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 6 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R3? Yulex? Back-Zip Full Wetsuit

4.5/5
February 4, 2022

Great Suit!!!

Suit is super warm and seems dry quickly. The fit is also really good and feel confident as with all Patagonia products that it will last a long time.

November 30, 2021

Review of R3 Back Zip Wetsuit

This review was for my R3 backzip wetsuit that I purchased last year on October 2020. This was my first ever Patagonia wetsuit (I mostly wear Rip Curl wetsuits) bought because I believe in what Patagonia does and what it stands for and was impressed by recents actions that Patagonia took (both politically and environmentally). I did love the wetsui... Read Moret for the first few months until the rips around the neck, back water flush liner and detaching of layers around the butt area started to happen. Due to the pandemic shutdowns in early 2020, I knew that repairs if I sent the wetsuit in could possibly take many weeks/months to get done and back to me (and I didn't have a back up wetsuit). So, I tried making the needed repairs myself with thread and glues and continued wearing the wetsuit. Of course, that meant continued rips, tears, detachment of layers in the same areas and more home repairs to the point where it just wasn't doing its job of keeping water out while surfing the cold San Francisco waters. I did just purchase a brand new R3 this month (Nov 2021) because I still stand behind Patagonia and their passions. I just wish my first ever Patagonia had held up better. I'm just really hoping that my new one holds up better and have my fingers crossed. I think sometimes supporting a company and their causes just means I have to suffer a little in terms of quality to help them continue to succeed. Thank you guys for being Patagonia and helping the planet.

June 24, 2021

Great fit, great quality, and very warm

Im tall and thin @ 63 165lbs. The LT size fits me very well. I have also read a review of a much heavier person feeling it was a great fit. So, I guess it stretches well. Im scuba diving with mine, and the R3 has kept me very warm at temperatures ranging from 71F to 82F. I hit a thermocline of 58F on a dive and definitely needed a hood, which I did... Read More not have. I get cold very easily, and dont think I would have stayed warm enough to enjoy the dive at 58F. I ascended to 74F bath water before I could test the theory. Also, the quality is great, and it is easy to get on and off with a rash guard underneath. I have not tried putting it on/off without a rash guard. Highly recommend.

Response from Patagonia
June 29, 2021

Thank you for the valuable feedback on sizing, fit and warmth! Please note this suit was designed for the particular depth and movement of surfing, but we're glad to hear it's working well for you, Chad!

January 11, 2021

Warm and toasty! And easy to put on and off!

Love my R3! Been using it to windsurf and windfoil in about 46 degree lake water (air temp so far ranging between 40s-50s). Been super comfy so far. It will get colder, and I have no doubt this wet suit will keep me warm. Fit is great for me (Medium - 5'9 about 155lbs). Did a bunch of research and almost went with an O'Neil. R3 is a bit ... Read Morepricier but I love feeling good about my purchase. The sustainability factor and my experiences with Patagonia standing behind their products were the tipping point. That and approval from my environmentally aware teens. Definitely recommend the R2. p.s. went for the rear zip since I read front zips generally have a smaller opening and can be a bit tougher to get into (I have shoulder issues). Piece of cake getting into the rear zip.

December 24, 2020

Comfortable, warm, and non-restricting

I got this suit a few weeks ago and have taken it out about 8 times now. I couldnt be happier with this suit! VA water temp during the winter is 48-50 degrees at its coldest and the R3 does fantastic. In previous winters I could only stay out for an hour or two, but Ive grinded some 3-4 hour sessions in this bad boy and it delivers. I thought it ... Read Morewould be pretty restrictive because of the thickness but I was able to paddle just as hard and fast as summer without added fatigue. The neck cuff keeps my hood in tight and the flexible ankle/wrist cuffs didnt let more than the expected amount of water into my boots/gloves. Plus, the stretchy fabric in these areas makes for easy take off post-session. The fit is perfect. I have had a hard time finding wetsuits that fit my tall and thin figure (Im 6 foot 4 inches and weigh 193 pounds). If you are tall and slender like me, get the LT size and get ready for the best fit of your life. 5 stars all the way. I highly recommend this suit to anyone paddling out in similar temperatures! Im looking forward to seeing how well the R3 performs over time.

December 14, 2020

Great suit. Warm. But could be even better.

Really warm suit. The neck and closure could be made better. The neck rides a little low, making the neck closure loose unless it is pulled very tight (uncomfortably). Also the internal flap is a little loose and could benefit from a few more attachments and being tightened.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches