Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

3.8/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 11 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R3® Yulex® Front-Zip Full Wetsuit

3.8/5
November 29, 2021

Trash

This wetsuit is total trash. Its the worst suit I've ever owned. It's equal to putting a straight jacket on, it's so constricting. Can barly move your arms in it. Also, owned it for half a season and the leg ripped right on the seam. Don't waste your money. Patagonia, you should just stop wasting your time making wetsuit suits. ... Read MoreMy god.

September 13, 2021

Disappointing

Unless you've got heaps of money to spare, a cross to bear for Fair Trade rubber, or want to deal with all the annoying nuances of wetsuit repair (perhaps all three?), I'd recommend casting your gaze elsewhere. Yes, this wetsuit is very warm... but its ability to hold up to regular use is laughably terrible (if I wasn't already cryin... Read Moreg from how much I spent on it). I could've bought two (maybe 3 wetsuits) with the coin I dropped on this thing... I won't be doing it again. Sincerely, Someone who's been taking great care of their wetsuits (rinse w/ freshwater, hang to dry out of the sun, etc., etc.) for 20+ years

Response from Patagonia
September 23, 2021

Hi Thomas, we truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to continuing to build better products and feedback like this is important in making necessary changes. You’re also always welcome to reach out to our Wetsuit Team regarding repair and warranty questions. They can be reached by email at, wetsuitrepairs@patagonia.com.

June 28, 2021

Non-allergenic and more flexible than previous model

This is my second Yulex wetsuit. I have a sensitivity to neoprene, so I was very happy to to have an alternative that does not irritate my skin. This new model fits well and keeps me warm. It is more flexible and easier to get on than the previous version. I gave it 4 stars since the last model fell apart after three years of moderate use. I hope t... Read Morehe new formulation lasts longer and retains its flexibility.

Response from Patagonia
July 1, 2021

Thanks so much for the review on our R3 Yulex Front-Zip Full Wetsuit. We're so glad to hear that you can feel an improvement in the design. We do design our gear to last but understand that sometimes things happen, if that is the case please feel free to utilize our warranty return or repair options. To get started with either option, please reach out to [customer service](https://help.patagonia.com/s/) and we would be happy to direct you.

March 13, 2021

Does not Meet Expectations

This wetsuit has not lived up to the expectations of performance and quality that I typically place on Patagonia gear. Ever since my first wear, the neck seam has given me a terrible rash right at the base of my neck. I have to apply lotion or vaseline to avoid the rash, but in cases when I don't have any or forget, the rash occurs every time.... Read More Additionally, I am surprised by how quickly the suit is beginning to fall apart. The ankle seams began opening up midway through last year's season, and this year my left armpit got a major seam failure. As I inspect the suit I can see other seams beginning to degrade as well.

March 3, 2021

Awesome wetsuit

Fits perfectly, looks great, and mostly importantly is plenty warm for the Northern CA water.

February 25, 2021

Best suit ever!!

Patagonia has really improved it's Yulex. If you are reading reviews that the suit is stiff then they are describing the 1st generation Yulex from several years ago. The new suits are super flexible and soft. They dry in record time and barely retain water. I use the R3 in temps that it took a 5/4 suit, in other brands, to stay warm. Expensive... Read More, but worth every penny. I highly recommend.

January 10, 2021

Sooo Warm! Sooo Comfy!

I have to say, I tried wetsuits from all the major brands and I love this one the most. Not only for Patagonias continued commitment to sustainability with this amazing suit, but in terms of warmth and comfort, this is right at the top of the pack. Im in the Bay Area and I am so toasty in this thing. I read that some people found it hard to put on... Read More; in my experience, this was one of the easiest front zip suits to get on and off, and I have wide shoulders. The material is so stretchy and comfortable. It does take a bit of time to dry, but that is expected. Also, dont know how it will hold up over time, but so far so good. Overall, Patagonia, you nailed it, thank you for being the company that you are and making amazing gear. Yeeeew!

January 6, 2021

even better

This is the third Patagonia wetsuit I've owned. Each new one improves upon the last (and even the first was better than other brands I've tried). All have been incredibly durable. I surf a lot and - with good care - my last suit went seven years. I can probably even pass it along to my son who can get a year or two out of it. The new Yule... Read Morex is light, warm and stretchy. Can't wait to get back in the water.

January 4, 2021

Fantastic investment

Love the suit so far, warn about 4-5 times in colder Santa Cruz water (around 50-54ºF) and have been super impressed by how warm the suit is. Didn't notice as much stiffness as other reviews mentioned, is a bit finicky getting into and out of but does stretch out a bit when wet. Overall very happy with the suit and stoked it will last for year... Read Mores.

December 23, 2020

Ill never buy another brand of suit

By far the most comfortable and warmest suit Ive ever owned. Also the easiest to get on and off. Maybe the most expensive wetsuit out there, but by far the most worth it. Ive gone through many different brands (billabong, xcel, rip curl, Hurley, ONeill) and although all those brands were good, Patagonias suit is next level great. Spend a little ext... Read Morera on a suit, treat yourself, you wont regret it.

December 8, 2020

Would not recommend

Love the idea of eco-friendly neoprene but I would avoid this wetsuit. The wetsuit is insanely stiff compared to basically any other product. After minimal use (less the 25 sessions) the seams started to unravel and the rubber started cracking. There is a lifetime guarantee on the seams but it takes weeks to ship it back and get it fixed. Additiona... Read Morelly, it sort of defeats the purpose of having an eco friendly product if you need to constantly be shipping it back and forth to get it fixed.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches