Back to Product

Patagonia Women's R4® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

3.6/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • 4
  • 6
  • 8
  • 10
  • 12
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 7 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Women's R4® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

3.6/5
December 2, 2021

Holy grail fit for a slim build

I surf 6 days a week, would likely take this suit out in 39-50 degree water. I've had and used this suit for the past 12 days or so. Fit This is the first suit I've had that doesn't gap at the midsection, which is huge for me. Like a glove. Holy grail fit. I will likely stick to this suit specifically because a good fit is hard to ... Read Morefind. I'm 115, 32-22-34, with broad shoulders and some narrow wrists (the wrists are actually flush tight, which I love and rarely find in suits). The neck is a little tight at the collar, and has not eased with wear, but the hood is the right height and doesn't squish me when it's up. Love the stretchy material around the ankles that really speeds up suiting up/down. Appreciate the little collar bib that prevents the suit from flushing when I duck dive without the hood. Great detail. Warmth It's a new, thick suit so it's really warm right now. I have noted that the wind doesn't cut through it at all. Winds were strong a few days ago and several others were shivering, even in relatively new suits, but I felt good in this, even with the hood down in brain-freeze-cold water. Super toasty, holds paddle heat almost too well sometimes, I find I sweat in it a little if I've got an especially long paddle, and it can be hard to flush the suit to cool off. These are great features in my warmest suit, but means it's super important to rinse it well because of the stink potential with something so non-porous. Durability/material In my experience, the average suit even with good care will start to really show wear after ~200 surfs -- this suit is still really new, but I have noticed that the glue at the seams by the crotch seems to be deteriorating a bit already which is a bit of disappointment. I'm really careful and patient with suiting up, so this was a surprise. I think it'll hold up for a good while, but if I had to bet, I think that seams/glue will be the component to fail first, as opposed to friction holes, thinning, zipper issues etc Overall, strong first impression, favorite suit I own so far. It's a delight to take out, and took about three 2-3 hour sessions to break in.

November 23, 2021

No Inclusive Sizing

I am 5'2" and my low hip measurement is 43" - your sizing doesn't come close to accommodating my size. So not only do your wet suits not come in plus size, but they don't even accommodate the 'industry standard' for 'regular' sizing. Also, if I were to get your biggest size offered (40.5" hip), I wo... Read Moreuld also need to grow 5 inches. Do people usually gain height as their hips get bigger? I love Patagonia as a brand, but please don't fall into the Skinny People Only athletic wear trap. Encouraging movement while discriminating against anyone with hips is really disappointing.

Response from Patagonia
November 30, 2021

Hi Zoe, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry the R4 Yulex didn't work out for you. We resonate with your frustration and please know we take this feedback seriously. We have no doubts that people of all shapes and sizes get outdoors and can benefit from our products. Over the past several years, we've begun to broaden our sizes and it is our goal to continue this to make our clothing more accessible. When making the decision to create more sizes, one main factor we've considered is the environment from a demand standpoint. It has taken some time to quantify the demand and ensure we are making environmentally responsible orders when it comes to production. Feedback like this is so helpful during this process so we can understand the demand, and we thank you again for that. Please note, all of our items are covered under our Ironclad Guarantee, so you are welcome to [return](https://www.patagonia.com/returns.html) this at any time.

April 26, 2021

Fit is off

I was so excited to get this suit, the water temperature in my town has been hovering in the upper 40s to low 50s all spring. Im 58, 135 lbs, with a thin athletic surfers build. I purchased a size 8. Im feeling really disappointed with the fit. Some of it is manageable but some it was a deal breaker for me. Im desperate for a warm suit though (and... Read More trying to avoid neoprene) so I ended up taking my suit to a local seamstress to get it adjusted. I havent gotten it back yet so hopefully itll work out. The manageable part of the fit: the hood is really tight but the suit felt leaps and bounds warmer than my 5mm suit I have from another company Im not sure how much Ill use it, I may try to stretch it like another reviewer. The shoulders also were a bit tight but it seemed okay when I tried it in the water. The legs feel fine. The unmanageable part: the midsection! There was so much extra material in the middle I found it hard to move like I normally do when I surf, I went in on my first wave because I couldnt stand it when I tried the suit. For the reasons above on shoulders I dont think I couldve gone any smaller. When I took this to the seamstress, she estimated taking about 2 1/2 inches out of the length of the torso on the front, 1 1/2 inches out of the length of the back and the sides. Im so disappointed its so hard to find a high quality suit for women that fit. I surf nearly every day in cold water and have overall been disappointed with most wetsuit companies with their quality. I really would like to see an improvement in fit especially for the price since there are so many good things about this suit that matter to me (the material, quality, environmental impact).

March 5, 2021

Ditto to the previous reviews

Disclaimer: I have only TRIED this suit on one time and not actually used it. I am 5ft. 6 in., 155 lbs with broad shoulders. The size chart and reviews pointed me to a size 12 for the mere fact that I have broad shoulders and I was scared about the neck being tight and being able to remove this. I was able to get into the suit easily and it feels ... Read Morepretty good until I put the hood on. My neck certainly isn't large by any means and the seam is across the neck in a way that there is pressure making it really tight. I was able to remove the hood myself and thought that I would be able to get out of this on my own but I couldn't. I tried so hard, I was determined to get the suit off my shoulders. I thought the zip design would work and it was pretty easy to get into. I was sweating and came out defeated, I couldn't get out. I also have some extra wetsuit material that is too loose in my midsection and pelvic area because the 12 is a tad too big here but a little tight in the shoulders. I am not going to return this obviously because that would be disgusting after my sweating episode. I really hope that after some use it loosens up and that I can tolerate the neck tightness. I currently am putting a little stretch on the neck hoping that I can at least wear this swimming in the water a bit enough to stretch it out so I can still breathe and that I am comfortable enough breathing when doing water sports!

January 5, 2021

Wishing there was a women's R5 wetsuit!

Thank you for constantly improving your gear Patagonia! Glad for a chance to provide input and so here goes.... While the material is soft and comfortable and the wetsuit does the job and keeps me warm while surfing in windy New England conditions -- I do go out all year round and would have preferred an R5. I am not alone in being a woman who surf... Read Mores (or dives) in the winter and this begs the question, "Why isn't Patagonia making an R5 for women?" The other factor that keeps this wetsuit from getting 5-stars is the suit's narrow shoulders and tight arms. Man, is it hard to peel off after a session!! The first time I wore it I was nearly in tears trying to get out of the suit after leaving the water. It has stretched a little after about a dozen wears, but without a rash guard underneath, I find it super challenging to get out of this suit. Broader shoulders and/or strategically placed pull tabs would make this wetsuit a winner all around! (Pull tabs on the wrists to pull the sleeves over gloves would also be an amazing addition for mittened winter surfers!)

Response from Patagonia
February 11, 2021

Thanks for the detailed feedback. We'll let our surf team know your suggestions for the pull tabs and the fit.

December 8, 2020

Love Patagonia, but not this suit

I was super stoked to try this suit, as I'm very supportive of Patagonia and how they operate as a company . Much as I wanted the sustainability this suit provides, it just doesn't fit well on me. I normally wear an O'Neill size 10, which fits perfectly. This size 10 fit well up to the bust (I'm a 38" DD, American size), b... Read Moreut was so tight over the chest it required a fair bit of a valiant effort to pull up. It was then, of course, too tight across the shoulders, as well. The hood was the worst, 'tho. The neck is tight. Really tight. Aggressively choking you tight. Pulling the hood down, which is how I surf 95% of the time, actually makes it worse. After having my roomie help me escape from the suit I sent it back and tried a size 12. The 12 was too big up to the bust, better over the bust and shoulders, but still hostile to the idea of breathing. I should also mention that when the hood is up, the chin part fits so high and tightly that it pushed my bottom lip up almost under my top lip. I'm not confident I could open my mouth enough to get that big gasp of air that sees one through the occasional a*-handing. That being said, the non-choky parts of the suit were super cozy and definitely felt like they would have been warm enough in PNW waters. If you know already that Patagonia suits fit you well, or you'd just like a highly entertaining fitting session, I actually would recommend giving this suit a go. It just wasn't for me. Know what doesn't choke you? A mask. Stay healthy, everyone! :)

December 7, 2020

Warm and comfy!

Bought 3 Patagonia R4 wetsuits for self, husband and daughter. Wow! We all love them. Northern Washington Strait of Juan de Fuca water is no match for this wetsuit. We've worn them surfing and SUPing and wow. Comfortable and warm. My daughter and I do need help getting the hood off - it's really difficult - but it's getting easier wi... Read Moreth time. We used the size chart and my 5'8" 140 lb husband got the small and my daughter and I are both 5'4" / 5'6" and 117 lbs and the size 6 is perfect. Yay. We purchased them from a Patagonia dealer in Oregon. Couldn't be happier!

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches