Back to Product

Patagonia Men's R5® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

Write Your Review

4.0/5

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 10 Reviews

Clear All

Patagonia Men's R5® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit

4.0/5
June 30, 2021

Best winter suit I've owned so far

I'm 5'11", 155 lbs, 30" inseam, 31" waist patagonia pant. Surfed about 10 sessions in NJ this past winter with the R5 in a Medium. Water temps in the low 30's F and air temp about the same. Like any winter suit, it's not easy to paddle but I feel more mobility and warmth than any of the other 3 winter suits from o... Read Morether makers I've owned over the past 20 years. Suit has held up very well thus far in year one.

March 15, 2021

Warmth and Flexability

I use this wetsuit for winter swims and workout twice a week in New England. Water temp has been around 37F. Well constructed for a snug fit. Keeps me warm except during body surfing when the top part gets cold. Very flexible for a heavy duty suit. Would like to see the zipper shifted to the left some to make it easier to connect.

February 5, 2021

Furnace of a Wetsuit

I surf on the MN shores of Lake Superior. Water temps are in the low 30s for most of the winter. This suit is a furnace in the water. I rarely get water flushing through on duck dives or the occasional wipeout. I tend to stay out in the water longer than my friends because I don't get cold in this suit. The sizing is pretty spot on. I got a... Read More MT (I am 6'1" and ~180lbs) I am able to get it on and off independently, although it took some practice on removal. Rather than trying to pop it off of your arms right away, shimmy the suit down your torso, then go for the arms. I am in my second season with the suit and incredibly happy with my purchase. Always great to support a company that is so conscientious of the quality of their products as well as environmental impact. I paired this with the R5 booties and R5 mittens. Hands stay plenty warm. Feet are chilly, but still plenty tolerable after about 2 hours in the water.

February 5, 2021

Best wetsuit for super cold conditions

This is an expensive wetsuit, but like all things you buy from Patagonia, you get what you pay for. You will not find a better, more flexible wetsuit for keeping you warm in water that is at or just above freezing. As a windsurfer in the mid-west, this suit allows me to extend my season to "year-round", as long as it's above freezing... Read More and the lakes aren't frozen. The design keeps you completely warm, like a thermal armor! It's flexible enough to easily allow for all the crazy freestyle moves I do, and is pretty light weight for this thick of a suit. The only downside, is that it is difficult to put on and take off. If you are fatigued after an hours long session, you may actually need help to get out of the thing.

January 27, 2021

Super warm amazing product

Super warm amazing product...Ive been surfing for over 40 years and this is the best Ive had...My only complaint is although the sizing is correct it caters to Someone who might be 6ft 2 and taller

January 25, 2021

Seams - worst in the industry.

The second R5 winter suit I purchased where the seams didn't hold up in season 2 - even after very good care after use (and careful putting on and taking off). Really disappointing and don't think I'll be back for a third. It's almost a great suit - but the seams are critical. C'mon guys...

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the seams. Our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we do repair wetsuit seams. Please reach out to our customer service team for more info on how to get your suit repaired.

January 15, 2021

Overall a good suit

I've had the suit for half a winter now and it has kept me warm in the harsh Great Lakes conditions. There are a couple of issues I have with it though. First, the hood does not seal to my face as well as some other hoods I've used. This causes some very bone chilling duck dives and water in the ears sometimes. Second, the wrists already ... Read Morehave some significant fraying. Third, the ankles of the suit transition from the yulex material to a woven cloth which does make it easier to get the suit on and off, but causes my booties to flood much more than with a traditional suit. Lastly, the suit does a good job of not flushing, but when initially entering the water, the suit floods more than other suits I have had in the past, causing a very chilly start to a session. Overall the suit does feel warm and flexible, but I am questioning some of the design decisions and durability.

January 7, 2021

Durability concerns

As a cold water surfer in Maine, my winter suit is the most important piece of equipment to extend sessions when temps really drop. On average i've gotten 2 seasons out of my winter suits in the past and was hoping/assuming that this suit would exceed expectations for warmth and durability given Patagonia's quality and expertise. Sadly, t... Read Morehat is not the case (for me). After a handful of uses, the suit developed a significant leak in the crotch (imagine ~40 degree water in that area when you're trying to surf....). Needless to say, the wetsuit repair team accepted my repair request and sent back to me with a newly stitched seam. After using the suit only a hand full of times since the repair, the leak is back and even worse.... As a huge fan of Patagonia, I have to say that I am very discouraged given the price point to quality. While the environmental impacts may be significantly lower, I don't believe the cost of this suit is worth less than 1 season.

December 13, 2020

Women's winter wetsuit needed.

I am not sure where this idea came from, but to correct it, WOMEN DONT SIT ON THE COUCH DURING THE WINTER. Currently, there is only one wetsuit company that sells a 6/5 for women in the US, and their sizing doesn't work for me. Patagonia is perfectly poised to do better, and it would be great to see a women's R5. I am 5'9.5", 15... Read More0 pounds, with a relatively straight shape so mens wetsuits sometimes work but, unfortunately, the mens R5, size medium, was too broad in the shoulders. It fit well in the hips, is long enough, and was easier to get into than other wetsuits (thanks for the smooth liner fabric!) but was simply too bunchy through the shoulders and I returned it. A size small may work and if it fits, I think it would be a winner.

November 27, 2020

Quality product

This suit kept me warm in some pretty cold water for hours.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches