burgerburgerchevron leftchevron leftchevron rightchevron rightellipsesellipsespro logopro logopro logopro logologologonavigation primary cartnavigation primary cartnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary cart fullnavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary hamburgernavigation primary searchnavigation primary searchnavigation primary xnavigation primary xLoading ...Patagonia Loading Iconplayplaysearchsearchshopping bagshopping bagshopping bag filledshopping bag filledxx
Back to Product

Men's R5® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit Reviews

Write Your Review

4.0/5

True To Size

Filter Reviews

Rating
Fit
  • Runs Small
  • Kinda Small
  • True To Size
  • Kinda Large
  • Runs Large
Height
  • 5'0 or less
  • 5'1 - 5'3
  • 5'4- 5'6
  • 5'7 - 5'9
  • 5'10 - 6'0
  • 6'1 - 6'3
  • 6'4 - 6'6
  • 6'7 or above
Size
  • S
  • MS
  • M
  • MT
  • LS
  • L
  • LT
  • XLS
  • XL
  • XXL
Activity
Sort By
Newest
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating
  • Lowest Rating
  • Most Votes
  • Least Votes

All 19 Reviews

Clear All

Men's R5® Yulex® Front-Zip Hooded Full Suit

4.0/5
True To Size
December 30, 2022

Toasty suit

This is a great flexible warm suit for the PNW!

October 19, 2022

Super warm

Yet to try out in conditions I bought it for (Lake Superior surfing in winter) but it fit great and felt insanely warm right away.

September 21, 2022

Trusty companion river surfing cold, cold waters

I have a 5.4mm wetsuit made of yamamoto neoprene that works well down to 38-40 degrees F water temperature, but I wanted to river surf down to freezing and needed something a bit warmer. This wetsuit combined with the R5 booties turned me into Wim Hof. I used to be afraid of cold waters, but now I embrace them. The yulex material is warm and supple... Read More even given how thick it needs to be to stay warm. When I really take a tumble the suit can flush, but as long as I keep moving I stay warm.

May 2, 2022

Warm, but Restricting

I previously wrote a review on this product in February of 2021 (Furnace of a Wetsuit). I have a lot of the same feelings about the wetsuit. It is warm, it has minimal flush, and the seams held for almost a full 3 surf seasons. In the past month, I noticed that there is a pinhole size leak in the crotch area. It doesn't create flush, but certa... Read Moreinly noticeable when getting into the water. Once I start moving around and warm up the water in the suit, it isn't an issue. I surf on Lake Superior with water temps hovering around 33 degrees and air temps as low as -5, I am able to stay out longer than most due to warmth. Now for the drawbacks... The material used in Patagonia's wetsuits is not as malleable or flexible as other brands. This has an effect in a couple of areas. Putting the suit on is a workout, I will have sweat dripping off of me by the time I am getting ready for the chest zipper. The lack of mobility causes for faster fatigue, my triceps would start cramping as I paddled out the the lineup. The lack of mobility also makes it much more difficult to stick a quick pop up. I recently switched to a 5/4 of a different brand and I wish I had done so earlier. It is so easy to get the new suit on and off - the mobility is out of this world, plus I was just as warm in the other suit. It has made cold water surfing so much easier and I was able to catch so many more waves because I wasn't as fatigued and was able to easily pop up. I tested the new suit back to back days in 34 degree water.

April 10, 2022

Very Warm, Shoulder fit is a little weird

Bought for Lake Superior winter surfing. Much warmer than my last wetsuit, and easier to get in and get off. The construction, seams, and zippers all seem well thought out and high quality. The only downside so far is that its a bit restrictive in my shoulders and led to some pain post surf. Im going to play around with the fit next time to see if ... Read Moreit help. Worn three times now and like very much. Ill edit/add to the review in a year.

Response from Patagonia
April 12, 2022

We appreciate your feedback, Brendan! Don't hesitate to reach out to our [wetsuit specialists](https://www.patagonia.com/on/demandware.static/-/Library-Sites-PatagoniaShared/default/dw297d2869/slots/RMA/PAT_F20_Wetsuit_Repair_Form.pdf) if you'd like to discuss any options for alteration, repair or design input. Thanks for taking the time to review your suit!

March 31, 2022

leaky

I'm using this suit for river surfing that the temps run in the low to mid 40's, I also have the older version (10+ years old with wool liner) so I have a comparison. This new R5 flushes really bad through the front zipper and through seams in the left knee and right pit. It's not even close to the warmth of the old suit, yulex R5 is... Read More more mobil and light but not even close to the warmth I expected.

Response from Patagonia
April 1, 2022

Hey Casey, we're sorry to hear of the disappointment with the R5 Yulex Front-Zip Hooded Full Wetsuit and we appreciate the feedback. If you think you might have a warranty issue on your hands, we encourage you to reach out to our wetsuit repair team at wetsuitrepairs@patagonia.com. They can inspect the wetsuit to see if this is a warranty issue or something that could be repaired.

March 19, 2022

Very Warm All Winter, But needs design improvements

The suit is very warm, it was the warmest I have had, so I do recommend it for sure. However it really wears out. Granted I am perhaps very lucky and probably crazy. Since I live 6miles from a beach here in Maine I have been surfing every day in the winter (39F water and sometimes 0F air plus windchill). being close to the ocean allows me to ride m... Read Morey bicycle to the beach every morning to surf, and I wear the suit to and from which gets chilly on the ride back when it freezes up, but not quite hypothermia cold. Unfortunately this routine is too much for the product, after about 4months of daily use, the lower leg cuffs are really leaky and the lower seam for one cuff has separated causing it to be really cold. The Zipper handle has also corroded and fell off, so getting it zipped is tricky Also the seems are leaking now. All in all it almost made it the whole winter this year. I have the following recommendations: 1- the lower cuff material, why is that needed? I would just say it would be better if there was no seem down there and was the same as the arm cuffs 2- need a better zipper 3- I wish the seems were better sealed but understand my usage is probably over the top. I am planning on sending it back for repair, and really hope that works out because I do like it a lot and hope to reduce waste by not getting another one next winter. Thanks!

Response from Patagonia
March 28, 2022

Thank you for this feedback, Jesse. It's extremely useful to our product team in making revisions for future seasons. And yes, you can absolutely send it in for repair when you need to!

February 1, 2022

Solid, warm winter wetsuit with one critical flaw

I'm 5'7, 150lbs, and the size S fits perfectly. This is my second winter wearing the suit in Nova Scotia, typically getting out weekly, swell depending. The good: 80% of the suit is super warm, comfortable, and as flexible as you can expect 6.5mm of rubber to be. I can sit out in -10C in the wind (in 1.5C water), and my core and arms do... Read More fine, past the hour mark. Seams all look great still. The bad: the flexible cuff material at the ankles (different material than the rest of the legs) lets water in immediately. I have paired the suit with high end winter surf boots with narrow cuffs, so it shouldn't be the boots - it seems like the wetsuit cuff material just isn't tight/thick/something enough to prevent water from rushing in, traveling up the legs, so my ankles/legs get cold faster. I have narrow feet, so potentially narrow ankles are part of the issue but I haven't had this problem with other winter suits. It's a shame as most of the suit is 5 star excellent, but this issue is inconvenient enough to drag the rating down. I had a previous model year of the same suit for a few sessions that was warrantied for a minor manufacturing issue by Patagonia (props to their customer service - they are awesome) with the same cuff design and it did the same leaking. Unless they change the cuff design I will probably have to look elsewhere for my next suit.

December 9, 2021

Excellent product.

I am giving a maximum rating to the customer service people at Patagonia.

June 30, 2021

Best winter suit I've owned so far

I'm 5'11", 155 lbs, 30" inseam, 31" waist patagonia pant. Surfed about 10 sessions in NJ this past winter with the R5 in a Medium. Water temps in the low 30's F and air temp about the same. Like any winter suit, it's not easy to paddle but I feel more mobility and warmth than any of the other 3 winter suits from o... Read Morether makers I've owned over the past 20 years. Suit has held up very well thus far in year one.

March 15, 2021

Warmth and Flexability

I use this wetsuit for winter swims and workout twice a week in New England. Water temp has been around 37F. Well constructed for a snug fit. Keeps me warm except during body surfing when the top part gets cold. Very flexible for a heavy duty suit. Would like to see the zipper shifted to the left some to make it easier to connect.

February 5, 2021

Furnace of a Wetsuit

I surf on the MN shores of Lake Superior. Water temps are in the low 30s for most of the winter. This suit is a furnace in the water. I rarely get water flushing through on duck dives or the occasional wipeout. I tend to stay out in the water longer than my friends because I don't get cold in this suit. The sizing is pretty spot on. I got a... Read More MT (I am 6'1" and ~180lbs) I am able to get it on and off independently, although it took some practice on removal. Rather than trying to pop it off of your arms right away, shimmy the suit down your torso, then go for the arms. I am in my second season with the suit and incredibly happy with my purchase. Always great to support a company that is so conscientious of the quality of their products as well as environmental impact. I paired this with the R5 booties and R5 mittens. Hands stay plenty warm. Feet are chilly, but still plenty tolerable after about 2 hours in the water.

February 5, 2021

Best wetsuit for super cold conditions

This is an expensive wetsuit, but like all things you buy from Patagonia, you get what you pay for. You will not find a better, more flexible wetsuit for keeping you warm in water that is at or just above freezing. As a windsurfer in the mid-west, this suit allows me to extend my season to "year-round", as long as it's above freezing... Read More and the lakes aren't frozen. The design keeps you completely warm, like a thermal armor! It's flexible enough to easily allow for all the crazy freestyle moves I do, and is pretty light weight for this thick of a suit. The only downside, is that it is difficult to put on and take off. If you are fatigued after an hours long session, you may actually need help to get out of the thing.

January 27, 2021

Super warm amazing product

Super warm amazing product...Ive been surfing for over 40 years and this is the best Ive had...My only complaint is although the sizing is correct it caters to Someone who might be 6ft 2 and taller

January 25, 2021

Seams - worst in the industry.

The second R5 winter suit I purchased where the seams didn't hold up in season 2 - even after very good care after use (and careful putting on and taking off). Really disappointing and don't think I'll be back for a third. It's almost a great suit - but the seams are critical. C'mon guys...

Response from Patagonia
February 26, 2021

Thank you for your feedback on the seams. Our gear is covered by our Ironclad Guarantee and we do repair wetsuit seams. Please reach out to our customer service team for more info on how to get your suit repaired.

January 15, 2021

Overall a good suit

I've had the suit for half a winter now and it has kept me warm in the harsh Great Lakes conditions. There are a couple of issues I have with it though. First, the hood does not seal to my face as well as some other hoods I've used. This causes some very bone chilling duck dives and water in the ears sometimes. Second, the wrists already ... Read Morehave some significant fraying. Third, the ankles of the suit transition from the yulex material to a woven cloth which does make it easier to get the suit on and off, but causes my booties to flood much more than with a traditional suit. Lastly, the suit does a good job of not flushing, but when initially entering the water, the suit floods more than other suits I have had in the past, causing a very chilly start to a session. Overall the suit does feel warm and flexible, but I am questioning some of the design decisions and durability.

January 7, 2021

Durability concerns

As a cold water surfer in Maine, my winter suit is the most important piece of equipment to extend sessions when temps really drop. On average i've gotten 2 seasons out of my winter suits in the past and was hoping/assuming that this suit would exceed expectations for warmth and durability given Patagonia's quality and expertise. Sadly, t... Read Morehat is not the case (for me). After a handful of uses, the suit developed a significant leak in the crotch (imagine ~40 degree water in that area when you're trying to surf....). Needless to say, the wetsuit repair team accepted my repair request and sent back to me with a newly stitched seam. After using the suit only a hand full of times since the repair, the leak is back and even worse.... As a huge fan of Patagonia, I have to say that I am very discouraged given the price point to quality. While the environmental impacts may be significantly lower, I don't believe the cost of this suit is worth less than 1 season.

December 13, 2020

Women's winter wetsuit needed.

I am not sure where this idea came from, but to correct it, WOMEN DONT SIT ON THE COUCH DURING THE WINTER. Currently, there is only one wetsuit company that sells a 6/5 for women in the US, and their sizing doesn't work for me. Patagonia is perfectly poised to do better, and it would be great to see a women's R5. I am 5'9.5", 15... Read More0 pounds, with a relatively straight shape so mens wetsuits sometimes work but, unfortunately, the mens R5, size medium, was too broad in the shoulders. It fit well in the hips, is long enough, and was easier to get into than other wetsuits (thanks for the smooth liner fabric!) but was simply too bunchy through the shoulders and I returned it. A size small may work and if it fits, I think it would be a winner.

November 27, 2020

Quality product

This suit kept me warm in some pretty cold water for hours.

Sorry, no reviews match your criteria. Clear or modify your filters and try again.

Popular searches